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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Se1vices 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 

Febrnaiy 8, 2023 

Janet Mann 
Deputy Director of Health and Medicaid Director 
Arkansas Depaiiment of Human Services 
112 West 8th Street, Slot S401 
Little Rock, AR 72201-4608 

Re: Arkansas State Plan Am endment (SPA) AR-22-0008 

Dear Director Mann: 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEOICAIO SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDIC41D & CHIP SERVICES 

The Centers for Medicai·e & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan 
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) AR-22-0008. This amendment 
proposes to establish rnles for cost sharing in Arkansas. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statuto1y requirements in Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act, 
and 42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57. This letter is to infonn you that Arkansas Medicaid SPA AR-
22-0008 was approved on Febrna1y 8, 2023, with an effective date of Janua1y 1, 2023. 

If you have any questions, please contact Lee Rerko at 570-230-4048 or via email at 
lee.herko@cms.hhs.gov . 

Enclosures 

cc: Elizabeth Pitman 
David Jones 
Jack Tiner 
Lisa Teague 
Mac Golden 

Sincerely, 

James G. Scott, Director 
Division of Program Operations 



Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing: Summary Page (CMS 179) 

St.at.e/Ienitory name: Arkansas 
Transmittal Number: 

Please enter tlte Transmittal Number (TN) in tlte format ST-YY-0000 wltere S T= the state abbreviation, YY= tlte last hvo digUs of the submission 
.!'.ear, and 0000 = a four digit number with leading zeros. TIie dashes must also be entered. 

IAR-22-0008 I 

Proposed Effective Date 

101/01/2023 I (mm/dd/yyyy) 

Federal Statute/Regulation Citation 

11916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act, and 42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 

Federal Budget Impact 
Fede1·al Fiscal Year 

First Year 12023 $1-6136.00 

Second Year 12024 $1-8181.00 

Subject of Amendment 

To establish rules for cost sharing in Arkansas. 

Governor's Office Review 

Governor's office reported no comment 

Comments of Governor's office received 
Describe: 

No reply received within 45 days of submittal 

Other, as specified 
Describe: 

Signature of State Agency Official 

Submitted By: 

Last Revision Date: 

Submit Date: 

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW 

Lisa Teague 

Jan 30, 2023 

Nov 15, 2022 

Approval Date: Februa1y 8, 2023 
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name: Arkansas OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: AR - 22 - 0008

Cost Sharing Requirements G1

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.50 through 447.57 (excluding 447.55)

The state charges cost sharing (deductibles, co-insurance or co-payments) to individuals covered under Medicaid. Yes

The state assures that it administers cost sharing in accordance with sections 1916 and 1916A of the Social Security Act and 42
CFR 447.50 through 447.57.

General Provisions

The cost sharing amounts established by the state for services are always less than the amount the agency pays for the
service.

No provider may deny services to an eligible individual on account of the individual's inability to pay cost sharing, except as
elected by the state in accordance with 42 CFR 447.52(e)(1).

The process used by the state to inform providers whether cost sharing for a specific item or service may be imposed on a
beneficiary and whether the provider may require the beneficiary to pay the cost sharing charge, as a condition for receiving
the item or service, is (check all that apply):

The state includes an indicator in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS)

The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility and Enrollment System

The state includes an indicator in the Eligibility Verification System

The state includes an indicator on the Medicaid card, which the beneficiary presents to the provider

Other process

Contracts with managed care organizations (MCOs) provide that any cost-sharing charges the MCO imposes on Medicaid
enrollees are in accordance with the cost sharing specified in the state plan and the requirements set forth in 42 CFR 447.50
through 447.57.

Cost Sharing for Non-Emergency Services Provided in a Hospital Emergency Department

The state imposes cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in a hospital emergency department. Yes

The state ensures that before providing non-emergency services and imposing cost sharing for such services, that the
hospitals providing care:

Conduct an appropriate medical screening under 42 CFR 489.24, subpart G to determine that the individual does
not need emergency services;

Inform the individual of the amount of his or her cost sharing obligation for non-emergency services provided in
the emergency department;

Provide the individual with the name and location of an available and accessible alternative non-emergency
services provider;

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Determine that the alternative provider can provide services to the individual in a timely manner with the
imposition of a lesser cost sharing amount or no cost sharing if the individual is otherwise exempt from cost
sharing; and

Provide a referral to coordinate scheduling for treatment by the alternative provider.

The state assures that it has a process in place to identify hospital emergency department services as non-emergency for
purposes of imposing cost sharing. This process does not limit a hospital's obligations for screening and stabilizing
treatment of an emergency medical condition under section 1867 of the Act; or modify any obligations under either
state or federal standards relating to the application of a prudent-layperson standard for payment or coverage of
emergency medical services by any managed care organization.

The process for identifying emergency department services as non-emergency for purposes of imposing cost sharing is:

The state relies on monographs developed by its designated utilization management contractor to assess whether a
hospital's triage protocols are sufficiently effective to ensure the correct level of treatment is determined. Because
emergency department services are part of the overall retrospective review process, if non-emergency services are billed at
the higher emergency level incorrectly, the entire service would be recouped and the emergency department could bill
Medicaid for the non-emergency level and be paid the amount minus the cost share. They would not be allowed to charge
the beneficiary for the cost share because the hospital is responsible for the error in claims processing.

Cost Sharing for Drugs

The state charges cost sharing for drugs. Yes

The state has established differential cost sharing for preferred and non-preferred drugs. Yes

The state identifies which drugs are considered to be non-preferred.

The state assures that it has a timely process in place to limit cost sharing to the amount imposed for a preferred
drug in the case of a non-preferred drug within a therapeutically equivalent or similar class of drugs, if the
individual's prescribing provider determines that a preferred drug for treatment of the same condition either will be
less effective for the individual, will have adverse effects for the individual, or both.  In such cases, reimbursement
to the pharmacy is based on the appropriate cost sharing amount.

Beneficiary and Public Notice Requirements

Consistent with 42 CFR 447.57, the state makes available a public schedule describing current cost sharing
requirements in a manner that ensures that affected applicants, beneficiaries and providers are likely to have access to
the notice.  Prior to submitting a SPA which establishes or substantially modifies existing cost sharing amounts or
policies, the state provides the public with advance notice of the SPA, specifying the amount of cost sharing and who is
subject to the charges, and provides reasonable opportunity for stakeholder comment. Documentation demonstrating
that the notice requirements have been met are submitted with the SPA.  The state also provides opportunity for
additional public notice if cost sharing is substantially modified during the SPA approval process.

Other Relevant Information

Cost sharing requirements are published in the provider manuals and a hyperlink is used to send the provider to the
coinciding table housing the amount of the cost share, which is also published on the Arkansas Medicaid Website. Division
of Provider Services and Quality Assurance (DPSQA) maintains the Choices in
Living Resource Center, where Arkansas citizens can call for assistance, including telephone information and brochures for
the Workers with Disabilities program. Various brochures are available at the DHS website:
https://humanservices.arkansas.gov/, and are distributed throughout the state in the county offices where the

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing
Division of County Operations are housed.

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name: Arkansas OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: AR - 22 - 0008

Cost Sharing Amounts - Categorically Needy Individuals G2a

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state charges cost sharing to all categorically needy (Mandatory Coverage and Options for Coverage) individuals. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name: Arkansas OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: AR - 22 - 0008

Cost Sharing Amounts - Medically Needy Individuals G2b

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state charges cost sharing to all medically needy individuals. No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name: Arkansas OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: AR - 22 - 0008

Cost Sharing Amounts - Targeting G2c

1916
1916A
42 CFR 447.52 through 54

The state targets cost sharing to a specific group or groups of individuals. Yes

Population Name (optional): Workers with Disabilities, Interim Alternative Benefits Plan, and Transitional Medicaid

Eligibility Group(s) Included: 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV); 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII); and 408(a)(11)(A), 1902(a)(52), 1902(e)(1), 1925,
1931(c)(2)

Incomes Greater than 20% TO Incomes Less than or Equal to

Add Service Amount
Dollars or
Percentage Unit Explanation Remove

Add

Physician visit (including
PCP/specialist/audiologist/podiatri
st visit, excluding preventive
service

4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Other Practitioner Office Visit
(Nurse, Physician Assistant)

4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Federally Qualified Health Center
(FQHC)

4.70

$ Encounter

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Rural Health Clinic 4.70

$ Encounter

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Ambulatory Surgical Center 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Add Service Amount
Dollars or
Percentage Unit Explanation Remove

Add

Chiropractor 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Pharmacy/Generics 4.70

$ Prescription

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Pharmacy/Preferred Brand Drugs 4.70

$ Prescription

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Pharmacy/Non-Preferred Brand
Drugs

9.40

$ Prescription

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Pharmacy/Specialty Drugs (i.e.,
High-Cost)

9.40

$ Prescription

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

X-rays and Diagnostic Imaging 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Imaging (CT/Pet Scans, MRIs) 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Laboratory Outpatient and
Professional Services

4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Add Service Amount
Dollars or
Percentage Unit Explanation Remove

Add

Allergy Testing 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Non-Emergency Use of the
Emergency Department

9.40

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Urgent Care Centers or Facilities 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Durable Medical Equipment 4.70

$ Item

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Prosthetic Devices 4.70

$ Item

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Orthotic Appliances 4.70

$ Item

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Mental/Behavioral Health and
SUD Outpatient Services

4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Rehabilitative Occupational
Therapy

4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add Rehabilitative Speech Therapy 4.70 $ Visit Remove

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Add Service Amount
Dollars or
Percentage Unit Explanation Remove

Add

Rehabilitative Physical Therapy 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Outpatient Rehabilitation Services 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Habilitation Services 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Outpatient Surgery
Physician/Surgical Services

4.70

$ Procedure

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Chemotherapy 4.70

$ Procedure

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Radiation 4.70

$ Procedure

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Infusion Therapy 4.70

$ Procedure

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Add

Accidental Dental 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Add Service Amount
Dollars or
Percentage Unit Explanation Remove

Add

Home health Care Services 4.70

$ Visit

The state has aligned cost sharing for
Workers with Disabilities,
Transitional Medicaid and Interim
Alternative Benefit Program with the
copays calculated for Alternative
Benefit Plan members.

Remove

The state permits providers to require individuals to pay cost sharing as a condition for receiving items or services, subject to
the conditions specified at 42 CFR 447.52(e)(1). This is only permitted for non-exempt individuals with family income above
100% FPL.

No

Cost Sharing for Non-preferred Drugs Charged to Otherwise Exempt Individuals

If the state targets cost sharing for non-preferred drugs to specific groups of individuals (entered above), answer the following
question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-preferred drugs to otherwise exempt individuals. No

Cost Sharing for Non-emergency Services Provided in the Hospital Emergency Department Charged to Otherwise Exempt
Individuals

If the state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department to specific individuals
(entered above), answer the following question:

The state charges cost sharing for non-emergency services provided in the hospital emergency department to otherwise
exempt individuals. No

Remove Population

Add Population

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20181119

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

State Name: Arkansas OMB Control Number: 09381148

Transmittal Number: AR - 22 - 0008

Cost Sharing Limitations G3

42 CFR 447.56
1916
1916A

The state administers cost sharing in accordance with the limitations described at 42 CFR 447.56, and 1916(a)(2) and (j) and
1916A(b) of the Social Security Act, as follows:

Exemptions

Groups of Individuals - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing upon the following groups of individuals:

Individuals ages 1 and older, and under age 18 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42
CFR 435.118).

Infants under age 1 eligible under the Infants and Children under Age 18 eligibility group (42 CFR 435.118), whose income
does not exceed the higher of:

133% FPL; and

If applicable, the percent FPL described in section 1902(l)(2)(A)(iv) of the Act, up to 185 percent.

Disabled or blind individuals under age 18 eligible for the following eligibility groups:

SSI Beneficiaries (42 CFR 435.120).

Blind and Disabled Individuals in 209(b) States (42 CFR 435.121).

Individuals Receiving Mandatory State Supplements (42 CFR 435.130).

Children for whom child welfare services are made available under Part B of title IV of the Act on the basis of being a child
in foster care and individuals receiving benefits under Part E of that title, without regard to age.

Disabled children eligible for Medicaid under the Family Opportunity Act (1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XIX) and 1902(cc) of the
Act).

Pregnant women, during pregnancy and through the postpartum period which begins on the last day of pregnancy and
extends through the end of the month in which the 60-day period following termination of pregnancy ends, except for cost
sharing for services specified in the state plan as not pregnancy-related.

Any individual whose medical assistance for services furnished in an institution is reduced by amounts reflecting available
income other than required for personal needs.

An individual receiving hospice care, as defined in section 1905(o) of the Act.

Indians who are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service furnished by an Indian health care provider or
through referral under contract health services.

Individuals who are receiving Medicaid because of the state's election to extend coverage to the Certain Individuals Needing
Treatment for Breast or Cervical Cancer eligibility group (42 CFR 435.213).

Groups of Individuals - Optional Exemptions
Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

The state may elect to exempt the following groups of individuals from cost sharing:

The state elects to exempt individuals under age 19, 20 or 21, or any reasonable category of individuals 18 years of age
or over. Yes

Indicate below the age of the exemption:

Under age 19

Under age 20

Under age 21

Other reasonable category

The state elects to exempt individuals whose medical assistance for services furnished in a home and community-based
setting is reduced by amounts reflecting available income other than required for personal needs. No

Services - Mandatory Exemptions

The state may not impose cost sharing for the following services:

Emergency services as defined at section 1932(b)(2) of the Act and 42 CFR 438.114(a).

Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Act, including contraceptives and
pharmaceuticals for which the state claims or could claim federal match at the enhanced rate under section 1903(a)(5) of the
Act for family planning services and supplies.

Preventive services, at a minimum the services specified at 42 CFR 457.520, provided to children under 18 years of age
regardless of family income, which reflect the well-baby and well child care and immunizations in the Bright Futures
guidelines issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Pregnancy-related services, including those defined at 42 CFR 440.210(a)(2) and 440.250(p), and counseling and drugs for
cessation of tobacco use.  All services provided to pregnant women will be considered pregnancy-related, except those
services specificially identified in the state plan as not being related to pregnancy.

Provider-preventable services as defined in 42 CFR 447.26(b).

Enforceability of Exemptions

The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exemptions from cost sharing contained in 42 CFR 447.56 are (check all that
apply):

To identify that American Indians/Alaskan Natives (AI/AN) are currently receiving or have ever received an item or service
furnished by an Indian health care provider or through referral under contract health services in accordance with 42 CFR
447.56(a)(1)(x), the state uses the following procedures:

The state accepts self-attestation

The state runs periodic claims reviews

The state obtains an Active or Previous User Letter or other Indian Health Services (IHS) document

The Eligibility and Enrollment and MMIS systems flag exempt recipients

Other procedure

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

To identify all other individuals exempt from cost sharing, the state uses the following procedures (check all that apply):

The MMIS system flags recipients who are exempt

The Eligibility and Enrollment System flags recipients who are exempt

The Medicaid card indicates if beneficiary is exempt

The Eligibility Verification System notifies providers when a beneficiary is exempt

Other procedure

Additional description of procedures used is provided below (optional):

Payments to Providers

The state reduces the payment it makes to a provider by the amount of a beneficiary's cost sharing obligation, regardless of
whether the provider has collected the payment or waived the cost sharing, except as provided under 42 CFR 447.56(c).

Payments to Managed Care Organizations

The state contracts with one or more managed care organizations to deliver services under Medicaid. Yes

The state calculates its payments to managed care organizations to include cost sharing established under the state plan for
beneficiaries not exempt from cost sharing, regardless of whether the organization imposes the cost sharing on its recipient
members or the cost sharing is collected.

Aggregate Limits

Medicaid premiums and cost sharing incurred by all individuals in the Medicaid household do not exceed an aggregate limit of 5
percent of the family's income applied on a quarterly or monthly basis.

The percentage of family income used for the aggregate limit is:

5%

4%

3%

2%

1%

Other: %

Transmittal Number: AR-22-0008 
Supersedes Transmittal Number: NEW

Approval Date: February 8, 2023 Effective Date: January 1, 2023

~ 

~ 

□ 

□ 

□ 

□ 

0 
-

D 
0 

0 

~ 

r. 
r 
r 
r 
r 
r D 



Page 4 of 5

Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

The state calculates family income for the purpose of the aggregate limit on the following basis:

Quarterly

Monthly

The state has a process to track each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing through a mechanism that does not
rely on beneficiary documentation. Yes

Describe the mechanism by which the state tracks each family's incurred premiums and cost sharing (check all that
apply):

As claims are submitted for dates of services within the family's current monthly or quarterly cap period, the state
applies the incurred cost sharing for that service to the family's aggregate limit. Once the family reaches the
aggregate limit, based on incurred cost sharing and any applicable premiums, the state notifies the family and
providers that the family has reached their aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period, and are
no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing.

Managed care organization(s) track each family's incurred cost sharing, as follows:

Other process:

Describe how the state informs beneficiaries and providers of the beneficiaries' aggregate family limit and notifies
beneficiaries and providers when a beneficiary has incurred premiums and cost sharing up to the aggregate family limit
and individual family members are no longer subject to premiums or cost sharing for the remainder of the family's
current monthly or quarterly cap period:

The DHS eligibility system identifies and sends notice to beneficiaries of the initial aggregate family limit when
applicable. The MMIS system sends beneficiary letters regarding incurred cost sharing and when the family limit has
been met. The provider is notified via the eligibility verification system and upon explanation of benefits when limit
has been met.

The state has a documented appeals process for families that believe they have incurred premiums or cost sharing over
the aggregate limit for the current monthly or quarterly cap period. Yes

Describe the appeals process used:

The state uses its standard Medicaid fair hearing process.

Describe the process used to reimburse beneficiaries and/or providers if the family is identified as paying over the aggregate
limit for the month/quarter:

The MMIS system stops deducting the cost sharing amount once met. The provider is required to refund any cost sharing it
has collected upon notification via MMIS that cost sharing was met.

Describe the process for beneficiaries to request a reassessment of their family aggregate limit if they have a change in
circumstances or if they are being terminated for failure to pay a premium:

Beneficiaries may notify their local eligibility office of changes in circumstances adversely affecting their family aggregate
limit.
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Medicaid Premiums and Cost Sharing

The state imposes additional aggregate limits, consistent with 42 CFR 447.56(f)(5). No

PRA Disclosure Statement
According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a
valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 09381148. The time required to complete
this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data
resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of
the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance
Officer, Mail Stop C42605, Baltimore, Maryland 212441850.

V.20160722
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