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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 

Financial Management Group 

Ms. Dawn Stehle 
Deputy Director for Health and Medicaid Director 
Arkansas Department of Human Services 
112 West 8th Street, Slot S401 
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201-4608 

RE:  Arkansas TN 20-0007 

Dear Ms. Stehle: 

We have reviewed the proposed Arkansas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B 
AR#20-0007, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on 
March 25, 2020.  The State submitted this SPA to adjust the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) rates 
to comply with Section 1903(i)(27) of the Social Security Act (SSA). 

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of April 1, 2020.  We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new 
state plan page. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tamara Sampson at 
214-767-6431 or Tamara.Sampson@cms.hhs.gov. 

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 

June 18, 2020





TN: 20-0007      APPROVAL: EFFECTIVE: April 01, 2020 
SUPERSEDES TN: 02-09 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT  4.19-B 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page  2e 
STATE ARKANSAS 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES - 
OTHER TYPES OF CARE         April 1, 2020 
____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

7. Home Health Services (Continued)

c. Medical Supplies, Equipment and Appliances Suitable for Use in the Home (continued)

(2) Durable Medical Equipment (DME) - Reimbursement is based on amount billed not to
exceed the Title XIX maximum.

Effective for claims with dates of service on or after April 1, 2020, the
reimbursement rate maximums for codes subject to Section 1903(i)(27) of the Social
Security Act will be set annually at the January 1 Medicare non-rural rate for the
State of Arkansas.  All rates are published on the agency’s website
(http://medicaid.mmis.arkansas.gov/).  Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state
developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
providers.

For all other DME claims not covered by Section 1903(i)(27) of the Social Security
Act, rates will be set as follows.

Purchase: The Title XIX maximum for new equipment is based on Medicare’s 1990 DME
Fee Schedule. For those items which Medicare did not have a rate, the lowest manufacturer
cost plus 10% was used.  Arkansas Medicaid is following Medicare’s policy of purchasing
any item that costs $150.00 or less.

Rental or Capped Rental: Capped Rental equipment may not be rented for more than 455
consecutive days.  The reimbursement rates for capped rental items will be established by
dividing the purchase price by 455 days to arrive at a daily rental rate.  Once the 455 day
rental maximum is reached, Arkansas Medicaid will cease to pay rent on the equipment,
however the equipment will remain in the recipient’s home as long as determined medically
necessary by the recipient’s physician.  The equipment will remain the property of the DME
company.

A provider may bill for maintenance. However, this maintenance fee may not be billed until
either 182 days have elapsed after the 455 day rental period or 182 days have elapsed from the 
end of the period the item is no longer covered under the suppliers or manufacturer’s
warranty, whichever is later.  Maintenance will continue to be paid at six-month intervals if
equipment is determined to be medically necessary.  Reimbursement of the maintenance is the 
lesser of the amount billed or the Title XIX maximum.  The Title XIX maximum was
established by arraying all the Title XIX monthly maximums for capped rental items and
utilizing the 50th percentile.

For those items which are rental only, the Medicare 1990 DME Fee Schedule monthly rental
rate was used to calculate the Medicaid daily rental rate.  The Medicare monthly rental rate
was multiplied by 12 to determine the one-year rental amount and divided by 365 to arrive at
the Medicaid daily rental amount.
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