
 

 

 

 

July 28, 2023 

 

Traylor Rains 

Chief Medicaid Director 

Oklahoma Health Care Authority  

4345 N. Lincoln Boulevard 

Oklahoma City, OK  73105 

 

Dear Traylor Rains: 

 

In response to the section 1115(a) demonstration opportunity announced to states on March 22, 

2020, in State Medicaid Director Letter (SMDL) #20-002,1 on April 4, 2022, Oklahoma 

submitted a request for an amendment to the SoonerCare section 1115(a) demonstration (Project 

Number 11-W-00048/6) to address the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE), which 

ended on May 11, 2023.2  CMS has determined that the state’s application is complete, 

consistent with the exemptions and flexibilities outlined in 42 CFR 431.416(e)(2) and 

431.416(g).3  CMS expects that states will offer, in good faith and in a prudent manner, a post-

submission public notice process, including tribal consultation as applicable, to the extent 

circumstances permit.  This letter serves as a time-limited approval of the state’s requests, which 

will be approved as an amendment under the SoonerCare demonstration and which is hereby 

authorized retroactively from March 1, 2020, and ending September 30, 2024.   

 

CMS has determined that the COVID-19 PHE amendment to the SoonerCare demonstration is 

necessary to assist the state in delivering the most effective care to its beneficiaries in light of 

the COVID-19 PHE.  The demonstration amendment is likely to assist in promoting the 

objectives of the Medicaid statute because it is expected to help the state furnish medical 

assistance in a manner intended to protect, to the greatest extent possible, the health, safety, 

and welfare of individuals who may be affected by COVID-19.  This approval allows the state 

to exempt SoonerCare members from cost-sharing for treatment related to COVID-19 or for 

services/treatment of any condition that may seriously complicate the treatment of COVID-19.  

This amendment approval aligns with the requirements under section 9811 of the American 

 
1 See SMDL #20-002, “COVID-19 Public Health Emergency Section 1115(a) Opportunity for States,” available at 

https://www.medicaid.gov/sites/default/files/Federal-Policy-Guidance/Downloads/smd20002-1115template.docx. 
2 https://aspr.hhs.gov/legal/PHE/Pages/COVID19-9Feb2023.aspx  

https://www.hhs.gov/about/news/2023/02/09/letter-us-governors-hhs-secretary-xavier-becerra-renewing-covid-19-

public-health-emergency.html 
3 Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.416(g), CMS has determined that the existence of unforeseen circumstances resulting 

from the COVID-19 PHE warrants an exception to the normal state and federal public notice procedures to expedite 

a decision on a proposed COVID-19 section 1115 demonstration or amendment.  States applying for a COVID-19 

section 1115 demonstration or amendment are not required to conduct a public notice and input process.  CMS is 

also exercising its discretionary authority to expedite its normal review and approval processes to render timely 

decisions on state applications for COVID-19 section 1115 demonstrations or amendments.  CMS will post all 

section 1115 demonstrations approved under this COVID-19 demonstration opportunity on the Medicaid.gov 

website.    

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Faspr.hhs.gov%2Flegal%2FPHE%2FPages%2FCOVID19-9Feb2023.aspx&data=05%7C01%7CDonald.Kosin%40HHS.GOV%7Cb8a486eb5c2444948e9c08db41cd22e5%7Cd58addea50534a808499ba4d944910df%7C0%7C0%7C638176121524204875%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=b66%2B03rPFY3Prq3tX1Ux%2B0PbF%2F2QQpE4n7zpaR1aoTw%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hhs.gov%2Fabout%2Fnews%2F2023%2F02%2F09%2Fletter-us-governors-hhs-secretary-xavier-becerra-renewing-covid-19-public-health-emergency.html&data=05%7C01%7CDonald.Kosin%40HHS.GOV%7Cb8a486eb5c2444948e9c08db41cd22e5%7Cd58addea50534a808499ba4d944910df%7C0%7C0%7C638176121524204875%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=Lk9fIuJQzqWg2cAso90EfqamuBCo7U6Xx5OOPsDIYG4%3D&reserved=0
https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.hhs.gov%2Fabout%2Fnews%2F2023%2F02%2F09%2Fletter-us-governors-hhs-secretary-xavier-becerra-renewing-covid-19-public-health-emergency.html&data=05%7C01%7CDonald.Kosin%40HHS.GOV%7Cb8a486eb5c2444948e9c08db41cd22e5%7Cd58addea50534a808499ba4d944910df%7C0%7C0%7C638176121524204875%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C3000%7C%7C%7C&sdata=Lk9fIuJQzqWg2cAso90EfqamuBCo7U6Xx5OOPsDIYG4%3D&reserved=0
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Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARP) (Pub. L. 117-2)4 for state Medicaid and CHIP programs to 

cover COVID-19-related treatments without cost-sharing and extends cost sharing exemptions 

to additional populations in the SoonerCare demonstration.5  The COVID-19 treatment 

coverage requirements under Section 9811 of the ARP expire September 30, 2024.  As such, 

the authorities granted under this amendment will also expire on September 30, 2024.6  

 

In addition, in light of the unprecedented emergency circumstances associated with the 

COVID-19 pandemic and in consequence of the time-limited nature of this demonstration 

amendment, CMS did not require the state to submit budget neutrality calculations for this 

COVID-19 PHE amendment to the SoonerCare demonstration.  In general, CMS has determined 

that the costs to the federal government are likely to have been otherwise incurred and allowable. 

Oklahoma will still be required to track demonstration expenditures and will be expected to 

evaluate the connection between those expenditures and the state’s response to the PHE, as well 

as the cost-effectiveness of those expenditures.  Due to the highly limited scope of the changes 

under the amendment, CMS is incorporating this amendment as Attachment F to the SoonerCare 

Special Terms and Conditions (STCs).  

 

Requests CMS is Approving at this Time   

 

CMS is approving the Medicaid waiver authority, as described below, retroactively starting 

March 1, 2020, and ending on September 30, 2024.  

 

1. Comparability: Section 1902(a)(17).  To the extent necessary to enable the state to vary 

cost sharing requirements for title XIX state plan beneficiaries from cost sharing to which 

they otherwise would be subject under the state plan.  This waiver specifically enables 

the state to exempt cost sharing for treatment of COVID-19, or for services/treatment of 

any condition that may seriously complicate the treatment of COVID-19, for individuals 

who are diagnosed with or presumed to have COVID-19 during the period such an 

individual has (or is presumed to have) COVID–19. 

 

CMS is approving the Medicaid expenditure authority, as described below, retroactively starting 

March 1, 2020, and ending on September 30, 2024.  

 

1. Cost Sharing for COVID-19 Treatment.  Expenditures to exempt beneficiary cost-

sharing for the treatment of COVID-19, or for services and/or treatment of any 

condition that may seriously complicate the treatment of COVID-19. This authority 

applies for current title XIX state plan beneficiaries and individuals in demonstration 

populations 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 who are diagnosed with or presumed to 

have COVID-19, during the period such an individual has (or is presumed to have) 

COVID–19.  

 
4 These coverage requirements can be found in Title XIX of the Social Security Act under section 1905(a)(4)(F). 
5 See State Health Official Letter #21-006, “Mandatory Medicaid and CHIP Coverage of COVID-19- Related 

Treatment under the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021,” available at https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-

guidance/downloads/sho102221.pdf  
6 See CMCS Informational Bulletin dated May 8, 2023, “End of the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (PHE) 

and the COVID-19 National Emergency and Implications for Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance 

Program (CHIP),” available at https://www.medicaid.gov/state-resource-center/downloads/cib050823.pdf  

https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/sho102221.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/sho102221.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/state-resource-center/downloads/cib050823.pdf
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CMS is approving the Title XIX Requirements Not Applicable to the Demonstration Expenditure 

Authority described above, retroactively starting March 1, 2020, and ending on September 30, 

2024: 

 

1. Comparability: Section 1902(a)(17).  To the extent necessary to enable the state to vary 

cost sharing requirements for individuals in populations 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 from cost 

sharing to which they otherwise would be subject. This non-applicable specifically 

enables the state to exempt cost sharing for treatment of COVID-19, or for 

services/treatment of any condition that may seriously complicate the treatment of 

COVID-19, for individuals who are diagnosed with or presumed to have COVID-19 

during the period such an individual has (or is presumed to have) COVID–19. 

 

Monitoring and Evaluation Requirements  

 

Under this amendment, the state will test whether and how the approved authorities facilitate the 

state’s response to the PHE.  To that end, CMS expects the state to undertake data collection and 

analyses that are meaningful; CMS believes that these will not be unduly burdensome. The state 

must submit an Evaluation Design to CMS no later than 60 days after the demonstration 

amendment is approved. As described further in Attachment F, the state is expected to describe 

its plans to collect quantitative and qualitative data in the Evaluation Design.  The Evaluation 

Design should describe how the state may leverage, for example, qualitative methods and 

descriptive data to help address evaluation questions that will support understanding the 

successes, challenges, and lessons learned in implementing the demonstration amendment.  The 

state is required to post its Evaluation Design to the state’s website within 30 days of CMS 

approval of the Evaluation Design, per 42 CFR 431.424(e).       

 

Furthermore, in alignment with the approved Evaluation Design, no later than one year after the 

end of the amendment approval period, the state must submit a Final Report.  The Final Report 

will consolidate the monitoring and evaluation reporting requirements for these authorities. The 

Final Report will undertake qualitative and descriptive assessment on the demonstration 

implementation, lessons learned, and best practices for similar situations. The Final Report 

should also outline any challenges and limitations that might be encountered in the planning and 

conduct of the monitoring and evaluation activities.  Per 42 CFR. 431.420(f), the state must 

comply with any requests for data from CMS or its federal evaluation contractors.  Per the 

standard Public Access requirement associated with section 1115 demonstration deliverables, the 

state will post the CMS-approved Final Report to its website within 30 calendar days of CMS 

approval. 

     

Approval of this demonstration amendment is subject to the limitations specified in the 

approved waiver and expenditure authorities and the enclosed Attachment F to the STCs.  The 

state may deviate from its Medicaid state plan requirements only to the extent specific in the 

approved waiver and expenditure authorities and the enclosed STCs for the demonstration.  

This approval is conditioned upon continued compliance with the previously approved STCs, 

which set forth in detail the nature, character, and extent of anticipated federal involvement in 

the project. 
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The award is subject to CMS receiving written acceptance of this award within 15 days of the 

date of this approval letter.  Your project officer is Kamia Rathore. Kamia is available to 

answer any questions concerning implementation of the state’s section 1115(a) demonstration 

amendment and may be contacted at Kamia.Rathore@cms.hhs.gov.  

 

We appreciate your state’s commitment to addressing the significant challenges posed by the 

COVID-19 pandemic, and we look forward to our continued partnership on the SoonerCare 

section 1115(a) demonstration.  If you have any questions regarding this approval, please contact 

Ms. Mehreen H. Rashid, Acting Director, State Demonstrations Group, Center for Medicaid and 

CHIP Services, at (443) 257-5069. 

 

Sincerely, 

  

      

 

      Chiquita Brooks-LaSure 

       

 

 

Enclosure 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:Kamia.Rathore@cms.hhs.gov


cc: Michala Walker, State Monitoring Lead, Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 
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Attachment F 

 

Time-limited Expenditure Authority and Associated Requirements for the COVID-19 

Public Health Emergency (PHE) Demonstration Amendment 

 

Waiver Authority 

 

Under the authority of section 1115(a)(1) of the Social Security Act (the Act), the following 

waiver is granted to enable Oklahoma to operate the Oklahoma SoonerCare Medicaid section 

1115 demonstration. These waivers are effective for the period retroactively from March 1, 2020 

and ending on September 30, 2024. 

 

1. Comparability: Section 1902(a)(17). To the extent necessary to enable the state to vary 

cost sharing requirements for individuals from cost sharing to which they otherwise 

would be subject under the state plan to enable the state to exempt cost sharing for 

treatment of COVID-19, or for services/treatment of any condition that may seriously 

complicate the treatment of COVID-19, for individuals who are diagnosed with or 

presumed to have COVID-19 during the period such an individual has (or is presumed to 

have) COVID–19. 

 

Expenditure Authority 

 

Under the authority of section 1115(a)(2) of the Social Security Act (the Act), expenditures made 

by the state for the items identified below, which are not otherwise included as expenditures 

under section 1903 of the Act shall, for the period retroactively from March 1, 2020 and ending 

on September 30, 2024, be regarded as expenditures under the state’s title XIX plan.  

 

1. Cost Sharing for COVID-19 Treatment.  Expenditures to exempt enrollee cost-

sharing for the treatment of COVID-19, or for services and/or treatment of any 

condition that may seriously complicate the treatment of COVID-19. This authority 

applies for individuals in demonstration populations 1, 2, 3, 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 

who are diagnosed with or presumed to have COVID-19, during the period such an 

individual has (or is presumed to have) COVID–19. Authority applies retroactively for 

the period between March 1, 2020 and ending on September 30, 2024. 

 

Title XIX Requirements Not Applicable to the Demonstration Expenditure Authority 

 

1. Comparability: Section 1902(a)(17). To the extent necessary to enable the state to vary 

cost sharing requirements for individuals in populations 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 from cost 

sharing to which they otherwise would be subject to enable the state to exempt cost 

sharing for treatment of COVID-19, or for services/treatment of any condition that may 

seriously complicate the treatment of COVID-19, for individuals who are diagnosed with 

or presumed to have COVID-19 during the period such an individual has (or is presumed 

to have) COVID–19. 

 

 



 

Attachment - Page 2 
 

Monitoring and Evaluation Requirements 

 

1. Evaluation Design. The state must submit an Evaluation Design to CMS within 60 days 

of the demonstration amendment approval. CMS will provide technical assistance on 

developing the Evaluation Design. For this demonstration amendment, the state will test 

whether and how the approved authorities facilitated the state’s response to the COVID-

19 PHE, and helped promote the objectives of Medicaid. To that end, the evaluation will 

address thoughtful evaluation questions that support understanding the successes and 

challenges in implementing the expenditure authority. The state is required to post its 

Evaluation Design to the state’s website within 30 days of CMS approval of the 

Evaluation Design, per 42 CFR 431.424(e).  

 

2. Final Report. The state is required to submit a Final Report, which will consolidate 

monitoring and evaluation reporting requirements for these authorities. The state must 

submit the draft Final Report no later than one year after the expiration of the 

demonstration approval period. The Final Report should include a background 

description of the scope and objectives of the amendment, and in alignment with 

proposed evaluation questions and approaches in the approved Evaluation Design, an 

assessment of the implementation of the demonstration amendment, lessons learned 

thereof, and best practices for similar situations. The state will be required to track 

expenditures associated with this amendment, including but not limited to, administrative 

costs and program expenditures. The Final Report shall include an assessment of the 

linkage between those expenditures and the state’s response to the PHE. The state should 

customize the content of the Final Report to align with the specific scope of the 

demonstration amendment. CMS will provide additional technical assistance on the 

structure and content of the Final Report. 
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