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Medicaid Covered Outpatient Prescription Drug Reimbursement Information by State  

Quarter Ending September 2016 

 
340B=prices charged to covered entities under the Public Health Services Act, AAC=actual acquisition cost, ASP=average sale price, 
AWP=average wholesale price, DP=Direct Price, FFS=fee for service, FUL=Federal upper limit, NADAC= National Averaged Drug Acquisition 
Cost, State MAC=State Maximum Allowance Cost, U/C=Usual and Customary, WAC=wholesaler acquisition cost 
FQHC=Federally Qualified Health Centers, NH=nursing home 
*CMS Approved State Plans or State Source   
Revised – 09/30/16 
 
Copayment information has been deleted from this reimbursement chart.  You can locate general copayment information at 
http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html. 
 

STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Alabama 

Ingredient cost is AAC or if not available WAC, or 
U/C; ASP +6% (blood clotting factors) 
 

Dispensing fee is $10.64  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Alaska 

Ingredient cost is NADAC or if not available WAC 
plus 1%  

Dispensing fee is $13.36 (pharmacy located on 
the road system); $16.58 (mediset pharmacy); 
$21.28 (pharmacy not located on the road 
system); $10.76 (out-of-state pharmacy) 
 

STATE MAC Yes  

State of 
Arizona 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15%; FQHCs and 
FQHC Look-alikes at the lesser of billed charges or the 
340B ceiling price 
 

Dispensing fee is $2.00 (FFS only); $8.75 
(FQHCs and FQHC Look-alikes)  

STATE MAC No 

State of 
Arkansas 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 20% (generic); AWP 
minus 14% (brand) 
 

Dispensing fee is $5.51  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
California 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17%; ASP plus 6% 
(physician administered drugs) 

Dispensing fee is $7.25; $8.00 (legend drugs 
dispensed to residents in skilled nursing facilities 
or intermediate care facilities) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

http://medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Cost-Sharing/Cost-Sharing.html
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Colorado 

Ingredient cost for all drugs for retail pharmacies, 
340B pharmacies, institutional pharmacies, 
government pharmacies, and mail order pharmacies 
shall be based upon the lower of:  
 

1. The usual and customary charge to the public 
minus the client’s copayment; or  

2. The allowed ingredient cost,  
 

The allowed ingredient cost is the lesser of AAC or 
submitted ingredient cost.  If AAC is not available the 
allowed ingredient cost is the lesser of WAC or the 
submitted drug ingredient cost. 
 
Submitted Ingredient Cost means a pharmacy’s 
calculated ingredient cost.  For drugs purchased 
through the 340B Drug Pricing Program, the submitted 
ingredient cost means the 340B purchase price.    
 
Ingredient cost for designated rural pharmacies:  
• The allowed ingredient cost shall be AAC.  If AAC 

is not available, the allowed ingredient cost shall be 
WAC.   
 

The dispensing fees for retail pharmacies, 340B 
pharmacies, institutional pharmacies, and mail 
order pharmacies shall be tiered based upon 
annual total prescription volume. The dispensing 
fees shall be tiered at: 
 
• Less than 60,000 total prescriptions filled per 

year = $13.40 
• Between 60,000 and 90,000 total 

prescriptions filled per year = $11.49 
• Between 90,000 and 110,000 total 

prescriptions filled per year = $10.25 
• Greater than 110,000 total prescriptions filled 

per year = $9.31 
 
Dispensing fee is $14.41 (rural pharmacies); no 
dispensing fee (government pharmacies) 
 

STATE MAC No 
 

State of 
Connecticut 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 72% to step down tiers 
through AWP minus 20 percent based on meeting 
specific invoice pricing criteria (selected multi-source 
brand and generic); AWP minus 16% (brand) 
 

Dispensing fee is $1.70*  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Delaware 

Ingredient cost is NADAC Dispensing fee is $10.00  STATE MAC Yes 

District of 
Columbia 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 3%, Chemotherapy drugs 
administered on or after May 1, 2016 at 100% of the 
Medicare fee schedule. 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.50  STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Florida 

Ingredient cost is lower FUL, WAC plus 1.5%, 
SMAC, provider’s U&C,  AAC (for 340B covered 
entities, and FQHC or their contract agents) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.73 (for non-340B billed 
drugs); $7.50 (340B billed drugs) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Georgia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11%; Select Specialty 
Pharmacy Rate for certain disease states that are rare 
and/or complex with a reimbursement methodology 
determined by wholesaler/manufacturer data, a 
comparison to other State agencies’ reimbursement 
information, and publicly available drug prices from 
other payers;  
 
Maximum allowable reimbursement for an injectable 
drug administered by a provider or their designee in an 
outpatient setting is ASP plus 6% as determined on 
January 1st of the applicable year; 
 
Most Favored Nations rate submitted by the provider 
and accepted by the State 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.63 (for-profit pharmacy); 
$4.33 (not-for-profit) 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Hawaii 

Ingredient cost is WAC  Dispensing fee is $5.00  STATE MAC Yes 

State of  
Idaho 

Ingredient cost is AAC, or where there is no AAC 
reimbursement is WAC 

Tiered dispensing fees:  
Less than 39,999 claims a year = $15.11 
Between 40,000 and 69,999 claims per year = 
$12.35 
70,000 or more claims per year = $11.51 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Illinois 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 1% (multiple source 
legend); WAC plus 1% (single source legend); WAC 
plus 25% (over-the-counter drugs); AAC for 
implantable contraceptive devices purchased under the 
340B Drug Pricing Program via FQHC or rural health 
centers 
 

Dispensing fee is $5.50 (multiple source);  
$2.40 (single source); $12.00 for both single 
source and multiple source drugs purchased 
through the 340B Drug Pricing Program 
(May 1, 2015-June 30, 2015 only - Dispensing 
fee is $4.50 (multiple source);  
$1.40 (single source); $11.00 for both single 
source and multiple source drugs purchased 
through the 340B Drug Pricing Program) 
 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Indiana 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (brand); AWP 
minus 20% (generic); Reimbursement for physician 
administered drugs is WAC plus 5% or ASP plus 6% 
for those drugs without a published WAC 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.90  STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of Iowa Ingredient cost is AAC as determined from surveys or 
where there is no AAC reimbursement is WAC 
 

Dispensing fee is $11.73 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Kansas 

Ingredient cost is WAC minus 8.6% (generic); WAC 
plus 4.6% (brand); Invoice pricing for drugs without 
WAC or SMAC 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.40  STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Kentucky 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 3.2% (generic); WAC 
plus 2%; or if WAC is not available, the provider will 
be required to contact the manufacturer for WAC or 
produce an invoice price  

Dispensing fee is $5.00 (generic); $4.50 (brand)  STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Louisiana 

Ingredient cost is AAC of the drug dispensed or where 
there is no AAC reimbursement is WAC 
 
Reimbursement for Cost of the Influenza Vaccine at: 
$17. 37 for intramuscular injected influenza vaccine - 
preservative free, $13.22 for intramuscular injected 
influenza vaccine, and $22.03 for intranasal influenza 
vaccine or billed charges, whichever is the lesser 
amount   
 

Dispensing fee is $10.51 includes State provider 
fee; $10.51 for drugs obtain through the 340B 
Drug Pricing Program which includes the State 
provider fee 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of  
Maine 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (brand); AWP 
minus 13% (generic); AWP minus 17% (specialty 
pharmacy); AWP minus 20% (mail order brand); AWP 
minus 60% (mail order generic) 

Dispensing fee is $3.35; $2.50 (mail order brand 
& generic); 
$4.35 and $5.35 (compounding); $12.50 (filling 
insulin syringe) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Maryland 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%, WAC 
plus 8%, direct price plus 8% or distributor price when 
available  

Dispensing fee is $3.51 (generic); $2.56 (brand); 
$4.46 (generic to NH); $3.51 (brand to NH); 
$6.89 (home IV therapy) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Massachusetts 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 5% (all drugs except 
340B billed drugs); actual acquisition cost (340B billed 
drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (all drugs except 340B 
billed drugs); $10 (340B billed drugs) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Michigan 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.5 % or WAC plus 
3.80 % (independent pharmacy (and chain pharmacies 
fewer than 5 stores); AWP minus 15.1% or WAC plus 
1.88% (chain pharmacies and pharmacies serving 
nursing facilities)  

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (long term care); $2.75 
all other providers; $6.00 (cream, emulsion, 
nasal drops, ointments or optic drugs); $10.00 
(compounded capsules, powders or 
suppositories) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Minnesota 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2%; 
WAC plus 4% (independently owned pharmacies 
located in a small rural or isolated rural location); 
WAC minus 40% (340B billed drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.65 ( plus $0.30 for legend 
unit dose drugs); 
Dispensing fee for over-the-counter drugs in a 
nursing facility through the use of an automated 
dispensing system is $1.31 when the amount 
dispensed is less than the amount contained in 
the manufacturer’s original packaging. 

STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of 
Mississippi 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12% or WAC 
plus 9% (brand); AWP minus 25% (generic); ASP plus 
6% (chemotherapy drugs and concomitant non-
chemotherapy drugs administered during the 
chemotherapy treatment and billed on the same claim 
as the chemotherapy treatment) 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.91 (brand); $4.91 (generic) STATE MAC No 

State of 
Missouri 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 10.43% or 
WAC plus 10% 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.09  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Montana 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% Dispensing fee is $6.78; $12.50 to $22.50 
(compounding)  
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Nebraska 

Ingredient cost is AWP (Nebraska Point of Purchase – 
NE-POP) minus 11% or WAC plus 6.8% 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.45 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Nevada 

Ingredient cost is NADAC Dispensing fee is $9.47  
 

STATE MAC No 

State of New 
Hampshire 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% or WAC plus 0.8% Dispensing fee is $1.75; Compound dispensing 
fee is $1.75 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of New 
Jersey 

Ingredient cost is WAC minus 1% Dispensing fee is $3.73 up to $3.99 (twenty-four 
hour emergency service and impact area 
location)* 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of New 
Mexico 
 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 14%; WAC as 
submitted to State; manufacturer price as submitted to 
State; pharmacy invoice price as obtained through 
audits 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.65  STATE MAC Yes 
 
 
 

State of New 
York 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 17% (brand); AWP 
minus 25% (generic) 
  

Dispensing fee is $3.50 (generic); $3.50 (brand) STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of North 
Carolina 

Ingredient cost is NADAC. If NADAC pricing is not 
available, AAC will be WAC + 0%.  
 
Physician administered drugs ASP plus 6% or AWP 
minus 10%; for the contraceptive drugs (Implanon and 
Mirena) WAC plus 6% 
 

Tiered professional dispensing fee: 
 $13.00 when 85% or more of claims per quarter 
are for generic or preferred brand drugs 
 $7.88 when less than 85% of claims per quarter 
are for generic or preferred brand drugs and  
$3.98 for non-preferred brand drugs.  

STATE MAC Yes 

State of North 
Dakota 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 8%, DP plus 8% (if no 
WAC available) 

Dispensing fee is $5.60 (generic legend drugs); 
$4.60 (brand legend drugs); 1.5 times the 
allowed amount (EAC, FUL, or MAC) up to a 
maximum of $4.60 (non-legend drugs that are 
prescribed; $10 (compounds); plus $0.15 per pill 
(pill splitting) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of Ohio Ingredient cost is WAC plus 7%; AWP minus 14.4% 
(if WAC cannot be determined)  
 

Dispensing fee is $1.80  STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Oklahoma 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 12%; 
WAC + 5.6% (if AWP is not available); ASP +6% 
(injectable drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.02 STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Oregon 

Ingredient cost for single source and multiple source 
drugs is AAC  

Dispensing fee varies by claims volume; less 
than 30,000 claims a year is $14.01; between 
30,000 and 49,999 claims per year is $10.14; 
50,000 or more claims per year is $9.68 

STATE MAC No 
 
 
 
 

State of 
Pennsylvania 

Ingredient cost WAC plus 3.2% (brand) and WAC 
(generic)  
 

Dispensing fee is $2.00; $3.00 (compounding) STATE MAC Yes 

State of Rhode 
Island 

Ingredient cost is WAC Dispensing fee is $3.40 (outpatient); $2.85 (long 
term care) 
 

STATE MAC No 

State of South 
Carolina 

Ingredient cost is lower of AWP minus 16% or WAC 
plus 0.8% 

Dispensing fee is $3.00 (independent pharmacy); 
$3.00 (institutional pharmacies) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of South 
Dakota 

Ingredient cost is Consolidated Price (WAC multiplied 
by 1.2) for the drug less 13%; If no WAC, then Direct 
Price multiplied by 1.2 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.40 plus an additional $.80 
for unit dose dispensing 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Tennessee 

Ingredient cost AWP minus 13% for generic drugs; 
AWP minus 15%  for brand name drugs, MAC or FUL 
(whichever is lower) for TennCare Pharmacy Network; 
Specialty Pharmacy Rates are set separately   

Dispensing fee for TennCare Pharmacy Network 
is $2.50 (brand); $3.00 (generic); $5.00 (brand 
nursing home) $6.00 (generic nursing home); 
Compounded prescriptions$10 ( requiring 0-15 
minutes to compound), $15 (requiring 16-30 
minutes), $25 (requiring 31 or minutes) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 
 
 
 

State of Texas Estimated acquisition cost (EAC) is the lower of:   
AWP minus 15%; Net cost to wholesaler plus 12%; 
Average Direct Chain Contract Price; or MAC   

Dispensing fee is $6.50 STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of Utah Ingredient cost is the lesser of AWP minus 17.4%,  
FUL, Utah Maximum Allowable Cost, or the 
ingredient cost submitted; Ingredient cost for 340B 
drugs is no more than the 340B ceiling price 
 

Dispensing fee is $3.90 (urban); $4.40 (rural) 
Dispensing fee is $12.39 for 340B billed drugs 

STATE MAC Yes 
 

State of 
Vermont 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 14.2% (multiple and 
single source); AWP minus 16.5% (large volume out-
of-state mail order specialty pharmacies); 93% of 
Medicare’s ASP plus 6% (physician administered 
drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee $4.75 (In-State); $2.50 (Out-of-
State); $19.75 (compound drug fee in-state); 
$17.50 (compound drug fee out-of-state) 
 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Virginia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 13.1% Dispensing fee is $3.75  STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Washington 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 16% (single source 
drugs); AWP minus 16% (multi-source drugs with four 
or fewer manufacturers/labelers); AWP minus 50% 
(multi-source drugs with five or more 
manufacturers/labelers and no MAC or FUL); 
ASP plus 6% (physician administered drugs) 
 

Dispensing fee is $4.24 to $5.25 (based on 3-
tiered pharmacy volume) 

STATE MAC Yes 
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STATE INGREDIENT COST DISPENSING FEE STATE MAC 
State of West 
Virginia 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 15% (brand); AWP 
minus 30% (generic) 
 

Dispensing fee is $2.50 (brand); $5.30 (generic); 
$8.25 (340B billed drugs) 

STATE MAC Yes 

State of 
Wisconsin 

Ingredient cost is WAC plus 2% (single source drugs); 
WAC minus 3.8% (multi-source drugs)  

Dispensing fee is $3.44 (brand); $3.94 (generic); 
$0.015 per unit (for repackaging); $9.45 to 
$22.16 (compound drug fee); $9.45 to $40.11 
(pharmaceutical care dispensing fee)  
 

STATE MAC Yes 
 
 

State of 
Wyoming 

Ingredient cost is AWP minus 11%  Dispensing fee is $5.00  STATE MAC No 
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