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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355
Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

October , 2020 

Sarah Fertig, Medicaid Director
Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
Division of Health Care Finance
Landon State Office Building 
900 SW Jackson, Suite 900N
Topeka, KS 66612-1220 

Dear Ms. Fertig:

On June 29, 2020, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) received Kansas’ State Plan
Amendment (SPA) transmittal #20-0015, which establishes the reimbursement rate for wheelchair seating
assessments and caps those assessments at $500 per year per beneficiary.

Based upon the information received, we are now ready to approve SPA #20-0015 as of October 14, 2020,
with an effective date of July 1, 2020, as requested by the State.

Enclosed is a copy of the CMS-179 form, as well as the approved pages for incorporation into the Kansas 
State Plan.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please contact Michala Walker at (816) 426-5925. 
We hope this information is helpful.  If you have further questions regarding this response, please direct them 
to Michala Walker of my staff, at Michala.walker@cms.hhs.gov or 816-426-5925. 

Sincerely,

, Director
Division of Program Operations
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*pen and ink change per state IRAI response on 9/1/20.
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 3.1-A 
#11.a. 

Physical Therapy Services

Physical therapy services must be rehabilitative and restorative in nature and provided 
following physical debilitation due to acute physical trauma or illness and must be 
prescribed by the attending physician. Physical therapy services are limited to 6 months 
for participants over the age of 20 (except the provision of therapy under HCBS) per 
injury, to begin at the discretion of the provider. There are no time limits for participants 
from birth through age 20. Rehabilitative therapy evaluations and re-evaluations may be 
done when reasonable and necessary for wheelchair seating assessments. Wheelchair 
seating assessment reimbursements are capped at $500 per participant per year.

Physical therapy services are provided in accordance with 1905(a)(11) of the Social 
Security Act and all applicable federal regulations, including 42 CFR 440.110. 

Physical therapy services are performed by a qualified physical therapist or furnished by 
a certified physical therapy assistant working under the supervision of a qualified 
physical therapist.

Physical therapy must be provided by a physical therapist registered, licensed, or certified 
in the jurisdiction where the service is provided or licensed by the Kansas Board of 
Healing Arts.

Refer also to General Limitations page.

KS 20-0015 Approval Date Effective Date 7/01/20 Supersedes  #08-03  



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 3.1-A 
#11.b.

Occupational Therapy Services

Occupational therapy services must be rehabilitative and restorative in nature and provided 
following physical debilitation due to acute physical trauma or illness and must be prescribed by 
the attending physician.  Occupational therapy services are limited to 6 months for participants 
over the age of 20 (except the provision of therapy under HCBS) per injury, to begin at the 
discretion of the provider.  There are no time limits for participants from birth through age 20. 
Rehabilitative therapy evaluations and re-evaluations may be done when reasonable and 
necessary for wheelchair seating assessments. Wheelchair seating assessment reimbursements 
are capped at $500 per participant per year.

Occupational therapy services are provided in accordance with 1905(a)(11) of the Social 
Security Act and all applicable federal regulations, including 42 CFR 440.110.  

Occupational therapy services are performed by a qualified occupational therapist or by a 
certified occupational therapy assistant working under the supervision of a qualified occupational 
therapist.

Occupational therapy must be provided by an occupational therapist registered, licensed, or 
certified in the jurisdiction where the service is provided or licensed by the Kansas Board of 
Healing Arts.

Refer also to General Limitations page.

KS 20-0015 Approval Date Effective Date 7/01/20 Supersedes TN#08-03 



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-B 
#11 a, b, c, d

Methods and Standards for Establishing Rates

#11 a, b, c, d. Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech, Hearing, and Language Disorders,
Wheelchair Seating Assessments

Inpatient Hospital – services are reimbursed in accordance with the payment methodology described in 
Attachment 4.19-A 

Outpatient Hospital – services are reimbursed in accordance with the payment methodology described in 
Attachment 4.19-B #1

Home Health Agency – services are reimbursed in accordance with the payment methodology described in 
Attachment 4.19-B #7

Physician – services are reimbursed in accordance with the payment methodology described in Attachment 
4.19-B #5

Hearing aid services are reimbursed on the basis of reasonable fees as related to Medicaid customary 
charges except no fee is reimbursed in excess of a statewide maximum. Provider representatives are 
consulted in reviewing the maximum rate. The statewide maximum rate is found on the fee schedule 
referenced in the payment methodology described in Attachment 4.19-B #12c, Paragraph 5.

Wheelchair seating assessment reimbursements are capped, except as medically necessary, at $500 per 
beneficiary per year. The reimbursement codes are set at 85% of non-rural Medicare rates as set on 
January 1 of each year. Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private providers for wheelchair seating assessments and hearing aid 
services. The agency’s fee schedule rate for wheelchair assessment services and hearing aid services were 
set as of July 1, 2020 and January 1, 2019, respectively, and are effective for wheelchair seating 
assessments and hearing aid services provided on or after those dates, with the wheelchair assessment 
rates updated on an annual basis as noted above and effective beginning January 1 of each year beginning 
January 1, 2021. The agency’s established fee schedule rates are published on the agency’s website at
https://www.kmap-state-ks.us/Provider/PRICING/RefCode.asp

When the user is on the landing page of the above link, select the link Download Fee Schedules.  This link 
will take the user to a page titled “Reference Copyright Notice.”  Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on 
the word “Accept” to access the fee schedule.  The next page that appears is titled “KMAP Fee Schedules.”   
To access a fee schedule:

a. Select the program from the drop-down list -TXIX;
b. Choose the type of rates – Medicaid;
c. After choosing the rate type, the user will see a list of the current and historical versions of the

corresponding schedule;
d. Click the schedule TXIX.

KS 20-0015  Approval Date Effective Date 7/1/20 Supersedes TN# 83-49




