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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

1301 Young Street, Suite 900 C M s
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

Dallas, Texas 75202

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Regional OperationsGroup

November 13, 2019

Our Reference: TX SPA 19-0034

Ms. Stephanie Muth

State Medicaid Director

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Mail Code: H100

Post Office Box 13247

Austin, TX 78711

Dear Ms. Muth:

We have reviewed the State’s proposed amendment to the Texas State Plan submitted under
Transmittal Number 19-0034, dated September 30, 2019. This amendment adjusts payment rates for
Community First Choice (CFC) services including, STAR+PLUS Personal Assistance Services CFC
and STAR+PLUS Habilitation CFC; Personal Care Services (PCS) Attendant Care CFC; PCS
Habilitation CFC; CFC Consumer Directed Services in support of increasing the attendant base wage
to $8.11 per hour. The amendment increases rates for Home and Community-based Services
Supported Home Living and Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities Residential Habilitation CFC
program and CFC Financial Management Services Agencies. It also aligns service names and
descriptions for improved transparency.

Based on the information submitted, we have approved the amendment for incorporation into the
official Texas State Plan with an effective date change of September 1, 2019. A copy of the CMS-
179, and approved plan pages are enclosed with this letter.

If you have any questions, please contact Ford Blunt of my staff. Mr. Blunt may be reached at (214)
767-6381 or by e-mail at Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Bill Brooks
Director
Regional Operations Group


mailto:Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

2. STATE:
TEXAS

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
19-0034

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) Community First Choice (CFC)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:
September 1, 2019

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):
O NEW STATE PLAN

O AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
Section 1915(k) of the Social Security Act; 42 CFR 441.500-590

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: SEE ATTACHMENT
a. FFY 2019 $ 426,455
b. FFY 2020 $5,346,633
c. FFY 2021 $5,597,683

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:
SEE ATTACHMENT TO BLOCKS 8 & 9

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

SEE ATTACHMENT TO BLOCKS 8 & 9

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

The proposed amendments will adjust payment rates for Community First Choice (CFC) services including, STAR+PLUS
Personal Assistance Services CFC and STAR+PLUS Habilitation CFC; Personal Care Services (PCS) Attendant Care CFC; PCS
Habilitation CFC; CFC Consumer Directed Services in support of increasing the attendant base wage to $8.11 per hour. The
proposed amendment will increase rates for Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities Residential Habilitation CFC program and CFC
Financial Management Services Agencies with the intent to benefit direct care staff, including direct care staff wages. The
proposed amendments will also align services names and descriptions in order to improve transparency.

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):
[0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT

[ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

XI OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor's Office this date.
Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.

. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:

Stephanie Muth

14, TITLE:
State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
September 30, 2019

16. RETURN TO:

Stephanie Muth

State Medicaid Director

Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100
Austin, Texas 78711

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
September 30, 2019

18. DATE APPROVED:
November 13, 2019

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
September 1, 2019

21. TYPED NAME: Bill Brooks

22. TITLE:  Djrector

Regional Operations Group

23. REMARKS:

FORM CMS - 179 (07-92)




Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 of CMS Form 179

Transmittal Number 19-0034

Number of the
Plan Section or Attachment

Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1

Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B
Page 2

Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3

Number of the Superseded
Plan Section or Attachment

Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1 (TN 15-030)
Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B
Page 2 (TN 15-030)
Supplement 4 Attachment 4.19-B

Page 3 (TN 15-030)

State: Texas

Date Received: 09-30-19
Date Approved: 11-13-19
Date Effective: 09-01-19
Transmittal Number: 19-0034
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State of Texas
Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1

Community First Choice (CFC) Reimbursement Methodology

(a) Except as otherwise noted in the plan, State-developed fee schedule rates are
the same for both government and private providers of services provided under
the CFC option. The agency'’s fee schedule is effective for services provided on
or after June 1, 2015. All rates are published at:
https://rad.hhs.texas.gov/ and
http://public.tmhp.com/FeeSchedules/StaticFeeSchedule/FeeSchedules.aspx.

(b) State Plan CFC Services: Rates are established using pre-existing rates from
other programs.

(1) STAR+PLUS Personal Assistance Services (PAS) CFC and STAR+PLUS
Habilitation CFC: Rates will be equal to a weighted average of rates
established for Community Living Assistance and Support Services
(CLASS) waiver habilitation services according to the reimbursement
methodology for the CLASS waiver program and proxy rates for attendant
services used in the calculation of the STAR+PLUS managed care
capitation rates for the Home and Community-based Services (HCBS) risk
group. The weighted average will include applicable attendant
compensation rate enhancements. The fee schedule for STAR+PLUS PAS
and STAR+PLUS Habilitation was revised and posted on the agency
website on September 1, 2019.

(A) Proxy rates are equal to rates established for attendant services under
the Community Based Alternatives (CBA) waiver prior to its
termination, updated for changes in allowable reported expenses and
units of service.

(B) Weighting factors assume that 30 percent of personal attendant
services historically provided to existing recipients in the STAR+PLUS
HCBS risk group and 100 percent of personal attendant services
provided to newly eligible recipients under CFC will be for habilitation.

(C) CLASS waiver habilitation rates and proxy rates for CBA waiver
attendant services are current as of September 1, 2019.

(2) CLASS Habilitation CFC: Rates will be equal to rates established for
CLASS waiver habilitation services, including applicable attendant
compensation rate enhancements, according to the reimbursement
methodology for the CLASS waiver program. The fee schedule for CLASS
waiver habilitationrates was revised and posted on the agency website on
September 1, 2015.

TN: _19-0034 Approval Date: _11-13-19 State: Texas
15-030 Date Received: 09-30-19

Effective Date: 09-01-19 Date Approved: 11-13-19
Date Effective: 09-01-19
Transmittal Number: 19-0034

Supersedes TN:
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State of Texas

Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-B
Page 2

Community First Choice (CFC) Reimbursement Methodology (continued)

(3) Deaf-Blind with Multiple Disabilities (DBMD) Residential Habilitation CFC:
Rates will be equal to rates established for DBMD waiver residential
habilitation services, including applicable attendant compensation rate
enhancements, according to the reimbursement methodology for the
DBMD waiver program. The fee schedule for DBMD waiver residential
habilitation rates was revised and posted on the agency website on
September 1, 2019.

(4) Home and Community-Based Services (HCS) Supported Home Living
(SHL) CFC: Rates will be equal to rates established for HCS waiver SHL
transportation services, including applicable attendant compensation rate
enhancements, according to the reimbursement methodology for the HCS
waiver program. The fee schedule for HCS waiver SHL transportation rates
was revised and posted on the agency website on September 1, 2015.

(5) Texas Home Living (TxHmML) Community Support Services (CSS) CFC:
Rates will be equal to rates established for TXHmML waiver CSS
transportation, including applicable attendant compensation rate
enhancements, according to the reimbursement methodology for the
TxHmL waiver program. The fee schedule for TxXHmML waiver CSS
transportation rates was revised and posted on the agency website on
September 1, 2015.

(6) Personal Care Services (PCS) Attendant Care CFC: Rates will be equal
to rates established for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and
Treatment (EPSDT) PCS attendant services according to Item 32 of
Attachment 4.19-B of this State plan. The fee schedule for PCS attendant
services was revised and posted on the agency website on September 1,
2019.

(7) PCS Habilitation CFC: Rates will be equal to rates established for EPSDT
PCS services for recipients with a behavioral health condition according to
Item 32 of Attachment 4.19-B of this State plan. The fee schedule for PCS
behavioral services rates was revised and posted on the agency website on
September 1, 2019.

(8) CFC Consumer Directed Services (CDS): The rates for CFC services
included in the CDS option provide the funds available to the consumers
participating in CDS. These rates are modeled and based on the rates paid
to contracted agencies for providing services through the agency option.
The fee schedules for CDS rates for all CFC services were revised and
posted on the agency website on September 1, 2019.

State: Texas
. 19-0034 . 11-13-19
T 15-030 Approval Date: _____~__~_ Date Received: 09-30-19
Supersedes TN: Effective Date: _ 09-01-19 Date Approved: 11-13-19
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State of Texas

Supplement 4 to Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3

Community First Choice (CFC) Reimbursement Methodology (continued)

(9) CFC Support Consultation Services: Rates are determined by modeling
the cost of providing this service using staff costs and other statistics
from the most recently audited cost reports from providers for staff
whose required qualifications are similar to the qualifications required
for individuals delivering this service. CFC support consultation services
are only available to consumers participating in CDS and who receive
CFC services that are included in the CDS option. The fee schedules
for CFC support consultation services were revised and posted on the
agency website on September 1, 2019.

(10) CFC Financial Management Services Agencies (FMSA): The monthly
payment to the FMSA is determined by modeling the estimated cost to
carry out the responsibilities of the FMSA. CFC FMSA is only authorized
for consumers participating in CDS and who receive all CDS services
under CFC. The fee schedules for the FMSA payment were revised and
posted on the agency website on September 1, 2019.

(11) Emergency Response Services (ERS) CFC: The Health and Human
Services Commission (HHSC) determines the payment rate through
the analysis of financial and statistical data submitted by provider
agencies on cost reports and, as deemed appropriate, a market survey
analysis of emergency response equipment suppliers.

(A) Allowable expenses are projected from the provider agency’s
reporting period to the rate period using the Personal Consumption
Expenditures (PCE) chain-type price index. Depreciation and
mortgage interest are not adjusted for inflationary increases.

(B) Allowable reported expenses are combined into three cost areas:
responder, program operations, and facility. To determine the
projected cost per unit of service, a contracted provider’s projected
expenses in each cost area are divided by its total units of service
for the reporting period.

(C) The contracted providers’ projected costs per unit of service are ranked
from low to high in each cost area, with corresponding units of service.

(D) The 80th percentile cost, weighted by units of service, is
determined for each cost area. The payment rate is the sum of the
80th percentile costs of the three cost areas.

(E) ERS rates are current as of June 1,2015.

TN: 19-0034 Approval Date: 11-13-19 State: Texas
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