### Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Texas

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 18-0008

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Superseding Page Listing
- 4) Approved Page



#### DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN'S HEALTH - REGIONVI

June 29, 2018

Our Reference: TX SPA 18-0008

Ms. Stephanie Muth State Medicaid Director Texas Health and Human Services Commission Mail Code: H100 P.O. Box 13247 Austin, Texas 78711

Dear Ms. Muth:

We have reviewed the State's proposed amendment to your Medicaid State Plan submitted under Transmittal Number (TN) 18-0008, dated May 30, 2018. This amendment updates the Early and Periodic Screening Treatment and Diagnosis (EPSDT) fee schedule.

Based on the information submitted, we have approved the amendment for incorporation into the official Texas state plan with an effective date of April 1, 2018, as requested. A copy of the CMS-179 form as well as the approved plan pages are included with this letter.

If you have any questions, please contact Ford Blunt of my staff. Mr. Blunt may be reached at (214) 767-6381 or by e-mail at Ford.Blunt@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Bill Brooks Associate Regional Administrator

Cc: Dana Williamson, Manager, Policy Development Support

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES				
	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE:		
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	18-0008	TEXAS		
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)			
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:			
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	April 1, 2018			
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):				
NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT				
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (				
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:		E ATTACHMENT		
42 C.F.R. §§ 440.40 and 441.56; §1905(r) of Social Security Act, relating to Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment.	a. FFY 2018\$ 499b. FFY 2019\$ 1,035c. FFY 2020\$ 1,080			
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):			
SEE ATTACHMENT TO BLOCKS 8 & 9	SEE ATTACHMENT TO BLOCKS 8 & 9			
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:				
The proposed amendment updates the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) program fee schedule.				
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):				
GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor's Office this date. Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.			
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED				
□ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL				
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:			
	Stephanie Muth			
13. TYPED NAME:	State Medicaid Director Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100 Austin, Texas 78711			
Stephanie Muth				
14. TITLE:				
State Medicaid Director				
15. DATE SUBMITTED:				
May 30, 2018				
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY				
17. DATE RECEIVED: May 30, 2018	18. DATE APPROVED: June 29, 2018			
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED				
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: April 1, 2018	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICI	AL:		
21. TYPED NAME: Bill Brooks	22. TITLE: Associate Regional Administrator Division of Medicaid and Children's Health			
23. REMARKS:				

### Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 of CMS Form 179

#### **Transmittal Number 18-0008**

Number of the Plan Section or Attachment Number of the Superseded Plan Section or Attachment

Attachment 4.19-B Page 25d Page25i Attachment 4.19-B Page 25d (TN 15-0037) Page 25i (TN 18-0004)

> State: Texas Date Received: 05-30-18 Date Approved: 06-29-18 Date Effective: 04-01-18 Transmittal Number: 18-0008

## 32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Services (continued)

- (5) Private duty nursing services, including, but not limited to, registered nurse (RN) services, and licensed vocational nurse/licensed practical nurse (LVN/LPN) services require prior authorization and are reimbursed based on the lesser of the provider's billed charges or fees established by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC).
  - a) Eligible providers include: independently enrolled RNs, independently enrolled LVNs/LPNs, RNs employed by or contracted with home health agencies, and LVNs/LPNs employed by or contracted with home health agencies.
  - b) The fees are access-based fees and are reviewed every two years. The fees are based on historical charges, a review of Medicaid fees paid by other states, a survey of costs for a representative sample of providers, an analysis of cost reports provided by home health agencies of similar nursing services, modeling using an analysis of other data available to HHSC, or a combination thereof. Payments based on a fee schedule are made for these services.
  - c) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.
  - d) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT private duty nursing services effective April 1, 2018. The fee schedule will be posted on the agency website on April 5, 2018.

# 32. Reimbursement Methodologies for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) Services - continued

#### (10) Physician services

(a) Services reimbursable only for Medicaid-eligible clients under age 21 include:

(1) Vaccines not covered by the Texas Vaccines for Children Program (TVCP) for clients under age 21 which are reimbursed as accessed-based fees in accordance with Item 1 of Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for physicians and certain other practitioners. Payments based on a fee schedule are made for these services.

(2) Services delivered by school districts, in accordance with Item 32(17) of Attachment 4.19-B, relating to the reimbursement methodology for School Health and Related Services (SHARS).

- (b) For dates of service on or after December 1, 2017, the reimbursement for services provided by a therapy assistant will be reimbursed at 85 percent of the rate paid to a licensed therapist for the same services.
- (c) For dates of service on or after September 1, 2018, the reimbursement for services provided by a therapy assistant will be reimbursed at 70 percent of the rate paid to a licensed therapist for the same services.
- (d) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.
- (e) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for EPSDT physician services effective April 1, 2018. The fee schedule was posted on the agency website on April 5, 2018.

TN: _	18-0008	Approval Date:	06-29-18
Supersedes TN:	18-0004	Effective Date:	04-01-18

State: Texas Date Received: 05-30-18 Date Approved: 06-29-18 Date Effective: 04-01-18 Transmittal Number: 18-0008