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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Dallas Regional Office 
1301 Young Street, Suite 833 
Dallas, Texas  75202 

 
 
DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN’S HEALTH   - REGION VI 
 
March 21, 2016 
 
Our Reference: SPA TX 15-038 
 
Mr. Gary Jessee 
State Medicaid/CHIP Director 
Health and Human Services Commission 
Post Office Box 13247 
Mail Code H100 
Austin, Texas 78711 
 
Dear Mr. Jessee: 
 
We have reviewed the State's proposed amendment to the Texas State Plan submitted under 
Transmittal Number 15-038, dated December 28, 2015. This state plan amendment updates the 
clinical diagnostic laboratory fee schedule. 
 
Based on the information submitted, we have approved the amendment for incorporation into the 
official Texas State Plan with an effective date change of November 1, 2015. A copy of the 
CMS- 179 and approved plan page are enclosed with this letter. 
 
If you have any questions please contact Suzette Seng of my staff.  Ms. Seng may be reached at 
(214) 767-6478 or by Email at Suzette.Seng@cms.hhs.gov. 
 
 
       Sincerely,  
 
 
 
       Bill Brooks  
       Associate Regional Administrator 
 
cc: Dana Williamson, Manager, Policy Development Support  

file://RO-Dal-Adhome/home/GRI3/Suzette.Seng@cms.hhs.gov.
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Bill Brooks

Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children's Health
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Attachment to Blocks 8 & 9 of CMS Form 179  
 

Transmittal Number 15-038 
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State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B

Page 1c

TN: ____________ Approval Date: ____________ Effective Date: ____________
Supersedes TN: ____________

3. Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory Services

Medicaid providers of clinical diagnostic laboratory (CDL) services are reimbursed 
based on fee schedules as follows:

(a) The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) Laboratory provides 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) medical and 
newborn screening services through a federal freedom-of-choice exemption as 
well as any other laboratory services provided that are not covered by this 
exemption. 

The DSHS laboratory is reimbursed for all laboratory services provided at 100
percent of the Medicare fees.

(b) Sole community hospitals are reimbursed the lesser of their billed charges or the 
fee determined by HHSC, which is 100 percent of the Medicare fee. Under 
Medicare the fee schedule amount paid to sole community hospitals is three and 
one third percent higher than the fee schedule amount paid to other types of 
providers of CDL service.   

The Medicaid fee for any new procedure codes added during the year will be 
based on 86.8 percent of the Medicare fees in effect as of January 1 of that same 
year.  

(c) The remaining providers of these services are reimbursed the lesser of their 
billed charges or the fee determined by HHSC, which is 100 percent of the 
Medicare fee.  

The Medicaid fee for any new procedure codes added during the year will be 
based on 84 percent of the Medicare fees in effect as of January 1 of that same 
year.  

(d) The reimbursement methodologies in 3(a) – (c) ensure that Medicaid payments 
to these providers for these services meet the upper payment limit requirements 
in Section 1903(i)(7) of the Social Security Act, which requires that Medicaid 
payments for clinical laboratory services must not exceed the Medicare fee for 
the service.

(e) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as outlined on 
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1.

(f) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for clinical diagnostic 
laboratory services effective November 1, 2015, and was posted on the agency's 
website on November 13, 2015.
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