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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
March 25, 2020

Melody Anthony

State Medicaid Director

4345 N. Lincoln Blvd.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73105

Our Reference: SPA OK 19-0028
Dear Ms. Anthony:

We have reviewed the proposed State plan amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-A of your
Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 19-0028. This SPA revises the
payment methodology in Acute Level 2 settings of private psychiatric hospitals and general
hospitals with psychiatric units and in psychiatric residential treatment facilities (PRTFS), to
allow an additional patient-specific specialty add-on per diem rate of $210 for children with
specialized treatment needs.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1923, and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 19-0028 is approved effective
September 1, 2019. The CMS-179 and the amended plan page(s) are attached.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tamara Sampson at
214-767-6431 or Tamara.Sampson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director

Enclosures
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State: OKLAHOMA Attachment 4.19-A

Page 34

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

16. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals under Age 21 (42 CFR 440.160) (continued)

16.a. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals under Age 21 (continued)

(C) Payment to State—licensed, Private Psychiatric Hospitals and General Hospitals with Psychiatric
Units (continued)

Add-on Payments

@)

(b)

(©)

Intensive Treatment Services (ITS) Add-on Per Diem

An ITS per diem of $110.99 will be allowed for children requiring intensive staffing supports in
an acute level 2 setting when it is determined that there is medical necessity for non-acute
care, the services are documented in the facilities' records, and are prior authorized.

Prospective Complexity Add-on Per diem for Non-verbal Children

A per diem of $77.51 will be allowed to recognize the increased cost of serving children with
a mental health diagnosis complicated with non-verbal communication in an acute level 2
setting. These services must be medically necessary, documented in the facilities’ record, and
prior authorized.

Specialty Add-on Per Diem

A per diem of $210.00 will be allowed to recognize the increased cost of serving children with
specialized needs in an acute level 2 setting. These services must be medically necessary,
documented in the facility’s record, and prior authorized.

Outlier Intensity Adjustment

@)

(b)
(©)

(d)

An outlier payment adjustment may be made on a case by case basis for complex cases. The
intent of the outlier payment is to promote access to inpatient psychiatric services for
individuals under 21 for those patients who require services beyond the cost of services
provided by ITS, Prospective Complexity, and Specialty add-on payments.

The outlier adjustment may be a short stay outlier adjustment or a high cost outlier adjustment.

In order to be eligible for the short stay outlier adjustment:

1. The private psychiatric hospital and general hospital with a psychiatric unit must submit an
annual cost report in a format prescribed by the agency and request the outlier adjustment
only upon the member’s discharge; and

2. The total length of stay must be less than 6 days.

3. The outlier adjustment will be the lessor of the following:

a. 100% of the private psychiatric hospital’'s and general hospital’'s with a psychiatric unit
cost; or
b. 120% of the peer group per diem multiplied by the LOS.

In order to be eligible for the high cost outlier adjustment:

1. The private psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit must submit an
annual cost report in a format prescribed by the agency and request the outlier adjustment
only upon the member’s discharge; and

2. The outlier payment will be made if the psychiatric hospital’s or general hospital’'s with a
psychiatric unit total cost of care exceeds 115% of the Medicaid payment.

3. The appropriate outlier amount will be determined by comparing the total cost and 115%
of the Medicaid payment for the entire stay, and multiplying the difference by a loss sharing
ratio of .20 to the psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit and .80 to
the state, if the stay is less than or equal to 90 days, and .40 to the Medicare certified
hospital and .60 to the state for a stay > 90 days.

Revised 09-01-19

TN#

Approval Date_03/25/20 Effective Date
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State: OKLAHOMA Attachment 4.19-A

Page 34a
METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
INPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

16. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for individuals under age 21 (42 CFR 440.160) (continued)
16.a. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for Individuals under Age 21 (continued)
(C) Payment to State—licensed, Private Psychiatric Hospitals and General Hospitals with Psychiatric
Units (continued)

V.

Services Provided under Arrangement

Separate payment may be made directly to individual practitioners or suppliers for services
provided under arrangement using existing State plan methodologies and fees. The State assures
there is no duplication of payment between the psychiatric hospitals’ or general hospitals with
psychiatric units’ base rate and the items paid for separately. The State also assures that no
duplication of payment will be made for transitioning services to both a community Case Manager
provider and a Health Home provider for the same person.

(a) Case Management Transitioning Services — Transitional case management services are
considered to be psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit services, when
services exceed and do not duplicate inpatient discharge planning during the last 30 days of a
covered stay. Case management transitioning services to assist children transitioning from a
psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit to a community setting will not
duplicate inpatient discharge planning services. Case management transitioning services will
be billed by the psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit as inpatient
psychiatric services for individuals under age 21 services and claimed as inpatient psychiatric
services for individuals under age 21 services. Payment for Case Management transition
services provided under arrangement with the psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a
psychiatric unit will be directly reimbursed to a qualified community-based Case Management
provider. Payment is made to Outpatient Behavioral Health Agencies with qualified case
managers in accordance with the methodology in Attachment 4.19-B, Page 22.

(b) Health Home Transitioning Services — Health Home services are considered to be inpatient
psychiatric services for individuals under age 21, when services exceed and do not duplicate
inpatient discharge planning during the last 30 days of a covered stay. Payment for Health
Home transitioning services provided under arrangement with the psychiatric hospital or
general hospital with a psychiatric unit will be directly reimbursed to the Health Home. Payment
is made to certified Health Homes at the Tier 2 Resource Coordination level of care rate, in
accordance with the methodology in OK HHA Page 22.

Transitional services are exempt from the payment methodology at 16.a.C.ii on Attachment 4.19-
A, Page 33.

(c) Evaluation and psychological testing by a licensed Psychologist - Payment is made in
accordance with the methodology in Attachment 4.19-B, Page 8.

(D) Payment for Out—of-State Services

Reimbursement for out-of-state placements for individuals under the age of 21 shall be made in the
same manner as in-state providers. In the event that comparable services cannot be purchased
from an out-of-state provider using Medicaid established rates, a rate may be negotiated that is
acceptable to both parties. The rate will generally be the lesser of usual and customary charges or
the Medicaid rate in the state in which services are provided. Reimbursement shall not be made for
inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under age 21 provided out of state unless the services
are medically necessary and are not available within the State and prior authorization has been
granted.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental
and private providers of inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under 21. The agency’s fee schedule rate
was set as of May 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published
on the Agency’s website www.okhca.org/feeschedules.

Revised 09-01-19

TN#

Approval Date 03/25/20 Effective Date
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State: OKLAHOMA Attachment 4.19-A

Page 35

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for individuals under age 21 (42 CFR 440.160) (continued)

16.b. Residential Level of Care in a Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF)

(A) Payment to State-owned Government Providers

State-owned PRTF will be paid an interim rate based on the previous year's cost report (HCFA 2552)
data and settled to total allowable costs determined by usual and customary charges. The agency may
pay the customary charges of the provider but must not pay more than the prevailing charges in the
locality for comparable services under comparable circumstances in accordance with 42 CFR 447.325.

(B) Payment to PRTFs with 17 beds or more

Base Rate.

A prospective per diem payment is made based on the facility peer group for a comprehensive
package of services and room and board which requires 24-hour nursing care supervised by an
RN. An RN or LPN must be onsite to meet the ratio of 1:30 during routine waking hours and 1:40
during times residents are asleep.

The following services will not be reimbursed outside of the base rate:
Dental (excluding orthodontia);

Vision;

Prescription drugs;

Practitioner services; and

Other medically necessary services not otherwise specified.

The rates listed below are effective as of 05-01-2016 and are equivalent to a 15 percent rate
reduction from the rates in effect on 04-30-2016 for private, in-state PRTFs with 17 beds or more.

Facility Peer Group Base Rate
Special Populations (Developmental Delays, Eating Disorders) $340.04
Standard $286.08
Extended $271.61

(C) Payment to Private, in-state PRTFs with 16 beds or less

Base Rate
The rate listed below is effective as of 05-01-2016 and is equivalent to a 15 percent rate
reduction from the rate in effect on 04-30-2016 for private, in-state PRTFs with 16 beds or less.

A prospective per diem payment of $187.42 is made for a comprehensive package of services
provided under the direction of a physician, as well as and room and board.

Physician and Other Ancillary Services

All other medically necessary services, i.e., EPSDT services, are arranged by the PRTF with 16
beds or less and billed separately. The reimbursement for the EPSDT service does not duplicate
billing for inpatient psychiatric services under section 1905(a)(16)(A) of the Act by the PRTF with
16 beds or less or a provider furnishing inpatient psychiatric services under arrangement with
the PRTF with 16 beds or less. Payment for the EPSDT service is made in accordance with the
applicable State plan payment methodologies and fees. Claiming of such expenditures for
federal financial participation (FFP) are in accordance with the CMS-64 form claiming guidance
for EPSDT services

Revised 09-01-19
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State: OKLAHOMA Attachment 4.19-A
Page 36

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for individuals under age 21 (42 CFR 440.160) (continued)

16.b. Residential Level of Care in a PRTF (continued)

(D) PRTF Add-on Payments
(a) Intensive Treatment Services (ITS) Add-on Per Diem
An ITS per diem of $110.99 will be allowed for children requiring intensive staffing supports in a
PRTF setting when it is determined that there is medical necessity for non-acute care, the
services are documented in the facilities' records, and are prior authorized.

(b) Prospective Complexity Add-on Per diem for Non-verbal Children
A per diem of $77.51 will be allowed to recognize the increased cost of serving children with a
mental health diagnosis complicated with non-verbal communication in a PRTF setting. These
services must be medically necessary, documented in the facilities’ record, and prior authorized.

(c) Specialty Add-on Per Diem
A per diem of $210.00 will be allowed to recognize the increased cost of serving children with
specialized needs in a PRTF setting. These services must be medically necessary, documented
in the facility’s record, and prior authorized.

(E) Outlier Intensity Adjustment
(A) An outlier payment adjustment may be made on a case by case basis for complex cases. The
intent of the outlier payment is to promote access to inpatient psychiatric services for individuals
under 21 for those patients who require services beyond the cost of services provided by ITS,
Prospective Complexity, and Specialty add-on payments.
(B) The outlier adjustment may be a short stay outlier adjustment or a high cost outlier adjustment.
(C) In order to be eligible for the short stay outlier adjustment:
1. The facility must submit an annual cost report in a format prescribed by the agency and
request the outlier adjustment only upon the member’s discharge; and
2. The total length of stay must be less than 6 days.
3. The outlier adjustment will be the lessor of the following:
a. 100% of the facility’s cost; or
b. 120% of the peer group per diem multiplied by the LOS.
(D) In order to be eligible for the high cost outlier adjustment:
1. The facility must submit an annual cost report in a format prescribed by the agency and
request the outlier adjustment only upon the member’s discharge; and
2. The outlier payment will be made if the facility’s total cost of care exceeds 115% of the
Medicaid payment.
3. The appropriate outlier amount will be determined by comparing the total cost and 115% of
the Medicaid payment for the entire stay, and multiplying the difference by a loss sharing ratio
of .20 to the facility and .80 to the state, if the stay is less than or equal to 90 days, and .40
to the facility and .60 to the state for a stay > 90 days.

(F) PRTF Services Provided under Arrangement
Separate payment may be made directly to individual practitioners or suppliers for services provided
under arrangement using existing State plan methodologies and fees. The State assures there is no
duplication of payment between the psychiatric hospitals’ or general hospitals with psychiatric units’
base rate and the items paid for separately. The State also assures that no duplication of payment
will be made for transitioning services to both a community Case Manager provider and a Health
Home provider for the same person.

Revised 09-01-19
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State: OKLAHOMA Attachment 4.19-A

Page 37

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES
OTHER TYPES OF CARE

16. Inpatient Psychiatric Services for individuals under age 21 (42 CFR 440.160) (continued)

16.b. Residential Level of Care in a PRTF (continued)

(E) PRTF Services Provided under Arrangement (continued)

(G)

(@)

(b)

Case Management Transitioning Services — Transitional case management services are
considered to be psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit services, when
services exceed and do not duplicate inpatient discharge planning during the last 30 days of a
covered stay. Case management transitioning services to assist children transitioning from a
psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit to a community setting will not
duplicate inpatient discharge planning services. Case management transitioning services will be
billed by the psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit as inpatient psychiatric
services for individuals under age 21 services and claimed as inpatient psychiatric services for
individuals under age 21 services. Payment for Case Management transition services provided
under arrangement with the psychiatric hospital or general hospital with a psychiatric unit will be
directly reimbursed to a qualified community-based Case Management provider. Payment is
made to Outpatient Behavioral Health Agencies with qualified case managers in accordance
with the methodology in Attachment 4.19-B, Page 22.

Health Home Transitioning Services — Health Home services are considered to be inpatient
psychiatric services for individuals under age 21, when services exceed and do not duplicate
inpatient discharge planning during the last 30 days of a covered stay. Payment for Health Home
transitioning services provided under arrangement with the psychiatric hospital or general
hospital with a psychiatric unit will be directly reimbursed to the Health Home. Payment is made
to certified Health Homes at the Tier 2 Resource Coordination level of care rate, in accordance
with the methodology in OK HHA Page 22.

Transitional services are exempt from the payment methodology at 16.b.B.ii on Attachment 4.19-A,
Page 35 and 16.b.C.ii on Attachment 4.19-A, Page 36.

(€)

Evaluation and psychological testing by a licensed Psychologist - Payment is made in
accordance with the methodology in Attachment 4.19-B, Page 8.

PRTF Payment for Out—of-State Services

Reimbursement for out-of-state placements for individuals under the age of 21 shall be made in the
same manner as instate providers. In the event that comparable services cannot be purchased from
an out-of-state provider using Medicaid established rates, a rate may be negotiated that is acceptable
to both parties. The rate will generally be the lesser of usual and customary charges or the Medicaid
rate in the state in which services are provided. Reimbursement shall not be made for private PRTF
services provided in out of state unless the services are medically necessary and are not available
within the State and prior authorization has been granted.
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