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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

New York Regional Office

26 Federal Plaza, Room 37-100

New York, NY 10278

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND CHILDREN’S HEALTH OPERATIONS
DMCHO: BP:SPA-NY-18-0023-Approval

September 7, 2018

Ms. Donna Frescatore

State Medicaid Director

Office of Health Insurance Programs
NYS Department of Health

One Commerce Plaza, Suite 1211
Albany, NY 12210

Dear Ms. Frescatore:

This letter is to notify you that New York State Plan Amendment (SPA) #18-0023 has been
approved for adoption into the State Medicaid Plan with an effective date of April 1, 2018. This
SPA provides increases to hospice provider reimbursement rates due to the state’s statutorily
increases to hourly minimum wages.

Enclosed are copies of the Plan Pages for SPA #18-0023 and the HCFA-179 form, as approved.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please call Betsy Pinho at 518.396.3810 or
e-mail at Betsy.Pinho@cms.hhs.gov.

" Ricardo Holligan
Acting Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations

Enclosures: HCFA-179 Form
State Plan Pages

cc: R. Deyette R. Holligan
P. LaVenia N. McKnight
M. Levesque M. Tabakov
J. Yungandreas B. Pinho

R. Weaver M. Lopez



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
18-0023

2, STATE

New York

3. PROGRAM IDENTIF ICATION.’ TITLE XIX OF THE
- SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
April 1, 2018

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[INEW STATE PLAN

[[] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: (in thousands)
a, FFY 04/01/18-09/30/18 $22.50
b. FFY 10/01/18-09/30/19 $45.00

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THEPLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 4.19-B — Page 6(b), 6(b)(1)

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN
SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (I dpplicable):

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:
Minimum Wage — Hospice Non-Residence
(FMAP = 50%)

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):
GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
7] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

[1 OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:

12. SIGNATURE-QF STATE AGENCY QFFICIAL:

13. TYPED NAME: Donna Frescatore

14. TITLE: Medicaid Director
Department of Health

15. DATE SUBMITTED:

JUN 2 6 2018

16. RETURN TO:

New York State Department of Health
Division of Finance & Rate Setting

99 Washington Ave — One Commerce Plaza
Suite 1432

Albany, NY 12210

ORI




New York

6(b)

Attachment4.19-B

Hospice Services — Adjustment for Minimum Wage Increases

Effective April 1, 2018 , and every January 1, thereafter until the minimum wage reaches the

statutorily described per hour wage as shown below, the rates of payment for services provided

by Non-Residence Hospice providers include a rate add-on to reimbursement in accordance with

the wage chart shown below to address increases in labor costs.

Minimum Wage Chart

12/31/2016 | 12/31/2017 | 12/31/2018 | 12/31/2019 | 12/31/2020 | 12/31/2021
New York City $10.50 $12.00 $13.50 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00
Nassau, Suffolk, & Westchester | ¢, $11.00 $12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00
counties
Remainder of the State $9.70 $10.40 $11.10 $11.80 $12.50 $12.50

The minimum wage adjustment will be developed and implemented as follows:

1. Minimum wage costs will mean the additional costs incurred beginning April 1, 2018 and

thereafter, as a result of New York State statutory increases to minimum wages.

2. The 2018 provider specific minimum wage add-on will be developed based on collected survey

data received and attested to by hospice providers. If a hospice provider fails to submit the

attested survey data, the provider will not receive a minimum wage add-on.

i Minimum wage cost development based on survey data collected.

a. Survey data will be collected for provider specific wage data.

b. Providers will report by wage bands, the total count of FTEs and total hours paid to all

employees (contracted and non-contracted staff) earning less than the statutory

minimum wage applicable for each region.

c. Providers will report an average fringe benefit percentage for the employees directly

affected by the minimum wage increase.

d. The minimum wage costs are calculated by multiplying the total hours paid by the

difference between the statutory minimum wage and the midpoint of each wage band

where the provider has reported total hours paid. To this result, the provider’s

average fringe benefit percentage is applied and added to the costs.

3. The provider specific cost amount will be adjusted by a factor calculated by dividing the

provider’'s average dollar per hour under minimum wage by the regional average. The

resulting amount will be divided by patient days to arrive at a rate per diem add on, which will

be applied to only Medicaid days for purposes of Medicaid reimbursement.

4. In subsequent years until the minimum wage is completely implemented statewide, the

Department will survey facilities utilizing the same methodoloqy.
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Attachment4.19-B

New York

6(b)(1)

5. Minimum Wage Reconciliation - After the end of each calendar year, the Department of
Health will survey providers to obtain the following information for the purpose of
reconciling annual minimum wage reimbursement. The state will release the reconciliation
survey by the end of March and providers will have two weeks to complete the survey or
request an extension if a provider determines it is unable to complete the survey within that
time. Approval of extensions, and the time of the extension, is at the discretion of the
state. If the reconciliation survey is not submitted within the two weeks or within the
extension time frame, should one be granted, the provider's minimum wage add-on for the
calendar year covered by the survey will be recouped.

i Total annual minimum wage funding paid to the provider (as determined from the
minimum wage add-on to claims paid for services rendered in the prior calendar
year) for the Medicaid share of the minimum wage law increase requirement. (This
information will be supplied by the Department of Health.) Medicaid’s share is the
percentage of minimum wage costs that are attributable to Medicaid services based
on the proportion of Medicaid services to a provider’s total services.

ii. Medicaid’s share of the total amount the provider was obligated to pay to bring
salaries up to the minimum wage for the calendar year. (This information will be
completed by the provider.)

iii. Minimum wage funds to be recouped or additional funds to be received by the
provider. (This information will be completed by the provider.) This will be the
difference between the amount paid to the provider for the Medicaid share of the
minimum wage law increase requirement and the corresponding amount the
provider determined it was actually obligated to pay.

iv. The State agency will review providers’ submissions for accuracy and
reasonableness, following which it will process associated payments and
recoupments via retroactive per unit rate adjustments as quickly as practical
thereafter.

6. The agency’s Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer must sign an Attestation
verifying the data that is supplied in the survey.
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