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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

New York Regional Office

26 Federal Plaza, Room 37-100

New York, NY 10278

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID AND CHILDREN’S HEALTH OPERATIONS

DMCHO: JH:SPA-NY-17-0012-Approval
December 11,2017

Jason A. Helgerson

State Medicaid Director

Deputy Commissioner

Office of Health Insurance Programs
NYS Department of Health

Corning Tower (OCP-1211)

Albany, NY 12237

Dear Commissioner Helgerson:

On November 18, 2016, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) received New
York State Plan Amendment (SPA), transmittal number 17-0012, which proposes to revise the
Article 28 Clinic Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) reimbursement methodology to increase rates
of payment due to a minimum wage increase effective January 1, 2017.

Enclosed is a copy of the HCFA-179 form as well as the approved pages for incorporation into the
New York State Plan. At the State’s request, CMS made a pen & ink change to HCFA-179 box 8
to correct the page numbers.

If you have any questions regarding this amendment, please call Joanne Hounsell at 212.616.2446
or e-mail at joanne.hounsell@cms.hhs.gov.

incerel

Michael Melendez, LMSW
Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations

Enclosures: HCFA-179 Form
State Plan Pages

cc: J. Ulberg R. Weaver S. Jew
R. Deyette R. Holligan J. Hounsell
P. LaVenia N. McKnight M. Lopez

M. Levesque M. Tabakov



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED

‘Hlv,-\! TH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION OMB NO.G938-0103
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF I. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: | 2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 17-0012 ;
. New York
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION January 1, 2017

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

CINEW STATE PLAN [J AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN B AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

| 6. FEDERAL STATUTE REGULAT ION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: (in thousands)

Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 447 a. FFY 01/01/17-09/30/17 $1,180.81

b. FFY 10/01/17-09/30/18 $1,911.47

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN

. ) SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):
2(pYGD), 2(p) (i), 2 (p)(iv)
Amendment 4.19-B: #rf}r&f-p—i'-}—l(-p—é-%

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:
Minimum Wage — Article 28 Freestanding Clinics & Amb. Surgery Ctrs.
(FMAP = 50%)

I1. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):
BJ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT (] OTHER. AS SPECIFIED:
[[] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
JNo REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

N o
i 12.8 ,‘N}\T‘U ibl: STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 16. RETURN TO:
N N\ New York State Department of Health
E o ?‘ Bureau of Federal Relations & Provider Assessments

99 Washington Ave — One Commerce Plaza
Suite 1432
Albany, NY 12210

l)cpartmem of Health

| 15 DATE SUBMITTED: NOV 1T 8 205

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY
:CE : 18. DATE AP VED:
17. DATE RECEIVED: %Eé]ﬁvﬁﬁﬁl %R 2017

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:
JANUARY 01, 2017
21. TYPED NAME:
MICHAEL MELENDEZ Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health
23. REMARKS: o, state's reguest dated Decermn be_(olgrf‘tﬁlg 5. GHMS

has corfected  the pPage numbers 1 box €.

22. TITLE:

FORM HCFA-179(07-92)



Attachment 4.19-B
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2(p)(ii)

Minimum Wage — Article 28 Freestanding Clinics

Effective January 1, 2017, and every January 1 thereafter until the minimum wage reaches the

state statutorily described per hour wage as shown below, a minimum wage add-on will be

developed and applied to the Ambulatory Patient Group (APG) rate for freestanding clinics and

ambulatory surgery centers under Article 28.

Minimum Wage (MW) Region 12/31/2016 | 12/31/2017 | 12/31/2018 | 12/31/2019 | 12/31/2020 | 12/31/2021
New York City (Large employers) $11.00 $13.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00 $15.00
New York City (Small employers) $10.50 $12.00 $13.50 $15.00 $15.00 v $15.00
Nassau, Suffolk, & Westchester counties $10.00 $11.00 $12.00 $13.00 $14.00 $15.00
Remainder of the State $9.70 $10.40 $11.10 $11.80 $12.50 $12.50

The minimum wage add-on and the adjusted APG rate will be posted to Health Commerce System

(HCS: https://commerce.health.state.ny.us/public/hcs login.html). The minimum wage add-on

will be developed and implemented as follows;

TN

Supersedes TN

a. Minimum wage costs will mean the additional costs incurred beginning January 1, 2017,

and thereafter, as a result of New York state statutory increases to minimum wage.

i Minimum wage cost development based on survey data collected.

1.
2.

3

4.

Survey data will be collected for facility specific wage data.

Facilities will report by specified wage bands, the total count of FTEs and total
hours paid to employees earning less than the statutory minimum wage
applicable for each MW Region.

Facilities will report an average fringe benefit percentage for the employees
directly affected by the minimum wage increase.

The minimum wage costs are calculated by multiplying the total hours paid by
the difference between the statutory minimum wage and the midpoint of each
wage band where the facility has reported total hours paid. To this result, the
facility’s average fringe benefit percentage is applied and added to the costs.

ii.. Minimum wage cost development based on the AHCF cost report data.

1.

2.

3.

4.

The average hourly wages of employees in occupational titles where the
reported average hourly wage is below the regional statutory minimum wage
are identified.

The total payroll hours of the titles identified are then multiplied by the regional
statutory minimum wage resulting in a projected payroll. The actual payroll as
reported in the AHCF cost report is then subtracted from the projected payroll
resulting in the expected wage costs increase.

The facility’s fringe benefit costs directly affected by the wage increase are
identified, and the average fringe benefit percentage is calculated.

The fringe benefit percentage is applied to the increased wage costs and added
resulting in the minimum wage costs.
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b. The 2017 minimum wage costs will be developed based on collected survey data
received and attested to by clinics and ambulatory surgery centers. If a clinic or
ambulatory surgery center did not submit a survey, its minimum wage costs will be
calculated based on 2014 Ambulatory Health Care Facility (AHCF) Cost Report wage
data. If a clinic or ambulatory surgery center fails to submit both the survey and the
2014 AHCF cost report, its minimum wage add-on will not be calculated.

c. In the subsequent years until the minimum wage is completely implemented statewide,
the Department will survey clinics and ambulatory surgery centers utilizing the
methodology employed in year one. If a clinic or ambulatory surgery center fails to
submit the minimum wage survey, the calculation for minimum wage costs will default
to the use of the personnel wage data reported on the statewide latest available AHCF
cost report. If a clinic or ambulatory surgery center fails to submit both the survey and
the latest AHCF cost report, its minimum wage add-on will not be calculated. Once the
costs are included in the development of the upstate/downstate APG base rate, the

minimum wage add-on will be excluded from the rate.

d. A minimum wage add-on will be developed by multiplying minimum wage costs

pursuant to “a.” above by a percentage of Medicaid visits to total visits, divided by total
Medicaid visits for such services.

e. Minimum Wage Reconciliation - After the end of each calendar year, the Department of
Health will survey providers to obtain the following information for the purpose of
reconciling annual minimum wage reimbursement. The state will release the
reconciliation survey by the end of March and providers will have two weeks to complete
the survey or request an extension if a provider determines it is unable to complete the
survey within that time. Approval of extensions, and the time of the extension, is at the

discretion of the state. If the reconciliation survey is not submitted within the two
weeks or within the extension time frame, should one be granted, the provider’s

minimum wage add-on for the calendar year covered by the survey will be recouped.

i.  Total annual minimum wage funding paid to the provider (as determined from

the minimum wage add-on to claims paid for services rendered in the prior
calendar year) for the Medicaid share of the minimum wage law increase

requirement. (This information will be supplied by the Department of Health.)
Medicaid’s share is the percentage of minimum wage costs that are attributable
to Medicaid services based on the proportion of Medicaid services to a provider’s
total services.

ii. Medicaid’s share of the total amount the provider was obligated to pay to bring
salaries up to the minimum wage for the calendar year. (This information will be
completed by the provider.)

iii. Minimum wage funds to be recouped or additional funds to be received by the
provider. (This information will be completed by the provider.) This will be the

TN #17-0012 Approval Date 12/11/2017
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difference between the amount paid to the provider for the Medicaid share of the

minimum wage law increase requirement and the corresponding amount the
provider determined it was actually obligated to pay.

iv.  The State agency will review providers’ submissions for accuracy and
reasonableness, following which it will process associated payments and

recoupments via retroactive per unit rate adjustments as quickly as practical
thereafter.

The agency’s Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer must sign an Attestation
verifying the data that is supplied in the survey.
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