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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

1600 Broadway, Suite 700

Denver, CO 80202-4967

Region VIII

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDHCARE & MEDICA SERVITES

December 4, 2014

Mary Dalton, Medicaid & Health Services Manager
Montana Department of Health & Human Services
1400 Broadway

PO Box 202951

Helena, MT 59620

Re: SPA MT-14-006

Dear Ms. Dalton:

We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal
number MT-14-006. This SPA amends Hearing Aids Services to include language to increase
non-Medicare fees approximately 2%, and to clarify the pricing methodology used for items or
services where no Medicare fee is available, or when there is no Medicaid history data available

for establishing a fee.

Please be informed that this State Plan Amendment was approved today with an effective date of
July 1, 2014. We are enclosing the summary page and the amended plan page(s).

In order to track expenditures associated with this amendment, Montana should follow the CMS-
64 reporting instructions outlined in Section 2500 of the State Medicaid Manual (SMM).

For those individuals whose expenditures qualify for the newly eligible federal medical
assistance percentage report on the Form CMS-64.9 VIII and those not enrolled in the new adult

group, claims should be reported on the Form CMS-64.9 Base.

This amendment would affect expenditures reported on Line 32.

If you have any questions regarding this SPA please contact Cindy Smith at 303-844-7041.

Sincerely,

/s/

Richard C. Allen

Associate Regional Administrator
Division for Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations

Cc: Richard Opper, Department Director
Duane Preshinger
Jo Thompson
Mary Eve Kulawik



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION OMB NO. 09380193
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 1. TR?NSMITT AL NUMBER: 2. STATE
14-00 Montana

STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: Title XIX of the
Social Security Act (Medicaid)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
July 1, 2014

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

] NEW STATE PLAN

] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. EEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
Section 1902(a)(30)(A)

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:

a. FFY 2014 $569
b. FFY 2015 $2,261
c. FFY 2016 $2,240

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:
Page(s) 1 and 2 of 2

Attachment 4.19B

Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

Service 12.¢ Hearing Aids

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Page(s) 1 of 1

Attachment 4.19B

Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates

Service 12.c Hearing Aids

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

Amend Hearing Aids Services 12.c to include language to increase non- Medicare fees approximately 2%, and to clarify the pricing
methodology used for items or services where no Medicare fee is available, or when there is no Medicaid history data available for
establishing a fee. The Attachment 4.19B Introduction Page is being amended to update the date of the fee schedule.

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):
[] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
[] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

[X) OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: SINGLE
AGENCY DIRECTOR REVIEW

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:

13. TYPED NAME: g ary E. Dalton

14. TITLE: State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED: 6 . \? _ \LJ\

16. RETURN TO:

Montana Dept. of Public Health and Human Services
Mary E. Dalton

State Medicaid Director

Attn: Mary Eve Kulawik

PO Box 4210

Helena, MT 59604

¥OR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED: 6/18/14

18. DATE APPROVED: 12/04/14

PLAN APPROVED -- ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
7/1/14

20. SIGNATURE OF Rl;:sGIIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME:
Richard C. Allen

22. TITLE: ARA, DMCHO

23. REMARKS:

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)
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Attachment 4.19B

Methods & Standards For
Fstablishing Payment Rates,
Service 12.e,

Hearing Ailds

MONTANA

T. Reimbursement for Hearing Aid Services (excluding hearing aids)
shall be the lower of the following:

a. The provider’s usual and customary charge for the service; or
b. The Department’s fee schedule.

IT. Reimbursement for Hearing Aid{s) shall be:
a. The invoice cost for hearing aids from the manufacturer not to

exceed the established rate on the fee schedule;

b. The invoice cost from the manufacturer for hearing ald
repalrs; or

c. 100% of the Medicare Region D fee for other hearing devices and
accessories.
ITI. For new services or items that do not have an established set fee, the

Department’s fee schedule is determined by:

a2. For services that have been billed less than 50 times by all
providers in the aggregate during the previous 12-month period, a
fee shall be set at the same rate as a service similar in scope.

b. For each service which has been billed at least 50 times by all
providers in the aggregate during the previous 12-month period,
the “ee will be set at 44% of the average charge billed by all
providers.

c. For supplies and equipment billed less than 50 times during the
previous 12-month period, the Department’s fee schedule amount
will be 75% of the provider’s usual and customary charge. A
provider’s usual and customary charge may not exceed the
reasonable charge usually and customarily charged by the provider
to all payers. The charge will be considered reasonable if less
than or equal to the manufacturer’s suggested list price. For
items without a manufacturer’s suggested list price, the charge
will be considered reasonable if the provider’s acquisition cost
from the manufacturer is at least 50% of the charge amount.

TN 14-006 Approved: 12/04/14 Effective 07/01/2014
Supersedes TN 13-026
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Attachment 4.19B
Methods & Standards For

Establishing Payment Rates,
Service 12.e,
Hearing Aids

IV. The agency’s rates are set as of the date on the Attachment 4.19B

Introduction Page and are published at www.mtms «licaid.org. Unless
otherwise noted in the plan, State-develcoped fee schedule rates are the

same for both governmental and private providers.

TN 14-006 Approved: 12/04/14 Effective 07/01/2014

Supersedes TN 13-026



