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12.a. Prescribed drugs.

The following providers are eligible for payment for
dispensing prescribed drugs:

(1) A pharmacy that is licensed by the Minnesota Board
of Pharmacy.

(2) An out of state pharmacy that complies with the
licensing and certification requirements of the
state in which it is located.

(3) A physician located in a local trade area where
there is no Medicaid enrolled pharmacy. To be
eligible for payment, the physician shall personally
dispense the prescribed drug according to applicable
Minnesota Statutes and shall adhere to the labeling
requirements of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy.

(4) A physician, physician assistant or nurse
practitioner employed by or under contract with a
community health board, for the purposes of
communicable disease control.

The following limitations apply to pharmacy services:

(1) Withthe exeeption—noted-belew, £The prescribed drug

must be a drug or compounded prescription for which
medical value has been established and that is made
by a manufacturer that has a rebate with the Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and included
in the Minnesota Department of Human Services drug
formulary. The formulary is established in
accordance with §1927(d) {(4) of the Social Security
Act. See Drug Formulary.
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(2) A prescribed drug must be dispensed in the quantity
specified on the prescription unless the pharmacy is
using unit dose dispensing, the specified quantity
is not available in the pharmacy when the
prescription is dispensed, or the specified quantity
exceeds a 34-day supply.
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12.a. Prescribed drugs.

The following providers are eligible for payment for
dispensing prescribed drugs:

(1) A pharmacy that is licensed by the Minnesota Board
of Pharmacy.

(2) An out of state pharmacy that complies with the
licensing and certification requirements of the
state in which it is located.

(3) A physician located in a local trade area where
there is no Medicaid enrolled pharmacy. To be
eligible for payment, the physician shall personally
dispense the prescribed drug according to applicable
Minnesota Statutes and shall adhere to the labeling
requirements of the Minnesota Board of Pharmacy.

(4) A physician, physician assistant or nurse
practitioner employed by or under contract with a
community health board, for the purposes of
communicable disease control.

The following limitations apply to pharmacy services:

(1) With—theexception—notedbelows tThe prescribed drug

must be a drug or compounded prescription for which
medical value has been established and that is made
by a manufacturer that has a rebate with the Centers
for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and included
in the Minnesota Department of Human Services drug
formulary. The formulary is established in
accordance with §1927(d) (4) of the Social Security
Act. See Drug Formulary.
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(2) A prescribed drug must be dispensed in the quantity
specified on the prescription unless the pharmacy is
using unit dose dispensing, the specified quantity
is not available in the pharmacy when the
prescription is dispensed, or the specified quantity
exceeds a 34-day supply.
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12a. Prescribed Drugs

Payment is determined in accordance with 42 CFR §§447.331
to 447.333.

For drugs dispensed by a pharmacy, payment £er
preseription—drugs is the lower of:

(1) the actual acquisition costs of the drugs, plus a
fixed dispensing fee;

(2) the maximum allowable cost set by the State
agency not to exceed in the aggregate the upper
limits established under 42 CFR §447.332 for
multiple source drugs, plus a fixed dispensing
fee; or

(3) the provider’s usual and customary charge to the
general public.

Effective Judy—3+—2068 July 1, 2009, the State agency
establishes the actual acquisition cost to equal 86% 85%
of the average wholesale price (wholesale price minus +4
15 percent).

Payment for over-the-counter drugs follows the
methodology for drugs dispensed by a pharmacy described
above—&s—a%—%he—pfev&def—s—ﬁsﬁa%—aﬁé—e&s%emafy—eha%ge—%e
the—geperal-publie. If the pharmacy is not accessible

to, or frequented by, the general public, or if the over-
the-counter drug is not on display for sale to the
general public, the usual and customary charge is the
actual acquisition costs plus a 50 percent add-on based
on the actual acquisition cost.






