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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-13-15

Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 : CENTERS for MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services (CMCS)

Mr. Stephen Fitton, Director

Medical Services Administration MAR 21 200
Department of Community Health :

400 South Pine

Lansing, MI 48933

RE: Michigan State Plan Amendment (SPA) 11-15

Dear Mr. Fitton:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 11-15. Effective for services on or after October 1,
2011, this amendment makes technical changes to eligibility criteria for alternate rate setting
methodology for certain nursing facilities (NF).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the regulations
at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We hereby inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 11-15 is
approved effective October 1, 2011. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan
pages.

If you have any questions, please call Todd McMillion at (608) 441-5344.

Sincerely,

indy Mann,
Director (CMCS)

Enclosure



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED
HEALTHCARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION : OMB NO. 0938-0193
1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE:
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 11 -15 Michigan
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 4

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION:
TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
October 1, 2011

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

"1 NEW STATE PLAN

[] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF TH!IS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
42 CFR 447.252

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
a. FFY 2012 $0
b. FFY 2013 $0

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:
Attachment 4.19-D, Section IV, Pages 17-19

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Attachment 4.19-D, Section 1V, Pages 17-19

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

This amendment changes the eligibility criteria for Class | Nursing Facility Rate Relief.

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):

[] GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[ ] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED

[[] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
Stephen Fitton, Director
"Medical Services Administration

13.
Stephen Fitton

14. TITLE:
Director, Medical Services Administration

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
December 22, 2011

FORM HCFA-179(07-92)

16. RETURN TO:

Medical Services Administration
Actuarial Division

Capitol Commons Center - 7th Floor
400 South Pine Street

Lansing, Michigan 48933

Attn: Loni Hackney
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Attachment 4.19-D
Section IV Page 17

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of MICHIGAN

Policy and Methods for Establishing Paymenthates
(Long Term Care Facilities)

c. The provider's variable rate base is determined as the lesser of the CALCULATED variable
rate base or the provider’s class wide variable cost limit (VCL), where (continued)

3) The variable cost limit for private institutions for the mentally ill and mentally retarded is
computed by adding the VCL for Class | nursing facilities plus the cost of additional
nursing hours per patient care day plus the cost of additional services as required by the
Department, as outlined in the Supplement to Attachment 3.1-A.

4. Nursing Facility Class | Rate Relief

a. Criteria for Eligibility for NF Class | Rate Relief — A Class | nursing facility provider may apply
for rate relief from the usual rate setting process if they meet the following eligibility criteria:

1) The provider must demonstrate that the current Medicaid reinibursement does not
provide them with adequate funding to deliver the level of care to the Medicaid
beneficiaries in the facility such that “each resident attains and maintains the highest
practicable physical, mental and psycho-social well-being” as required by the Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act (OBRA) of 1987.

2) The nursing facility Variable Rate Base amount meets the following criteria:

a) For a current provider — The facility’s Variable Rate Base is at or below the
corresponding class Average Variable Cost. The class Average Variable Cost used
for this determination is the one that corresponds with the October 1 to September 30
rate year for which rate relief has been requested; or,

b) For a new provider in a Medicaid-enrolled nursing facility — The facility's current
Variable Rate Base is at or less than 80 percent of the corresponding class Average
Variable Cost. The class Average Variable Cost used for this determination is the
one that corresponds with the October 1 to September 30 rate year for which rate
relief has been requested. (A new facility with a Variable Rate Base between 80 and
100% of the corresponding class Average Variable Cost will be eligible for
accelerated rebasing and will be treated as a current provider)

3) A current Medicaid provider agreement for the facility is in effect, except when applying
under criteria 4) e). The rate relief period will be based on the facility, and not the owner,
provider, or licensee. A change of ownership, provider, or licensee during the rate relief
period would not end the agreement for rate relief under this policy, so long as the new
owner, provider, or licensee fully complies with the requirements of the rate relief
agreement.

TN NO.: 11-15 Approval Date: MAR 21 2012 Effective Date: 10-01-2011

Supersedes -
TN No.: 05-11



Attachment 4.19-D
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of MICHIGAN

Policy and Methods for Establishing Payment Rates
(Long Term Care Facilities)

4) The provider must also meet at least one of the following five criteria:

a) The sum of the provider's Variable Rate Base, Economic Inflation Update and other

associated rate add-ons (excluding Nurse Aide Training and Testing reimbursement),
plus the net Quality Assurance Supplement, must be less than the provider’s audited
Medicaid variable cost per RESIDENT patient day for the PROVIDER'S TWO
FISCAL COST REPORTING PERIODS OF NOT LESS THAN SEVEN MONTHS
IMMEDIATELY PRIOR TO THE FIRST PERIOD OF RATE RELIEF. twe-years-priof
Costs for Nurse Aide Training and Testing are not
included in the Medicaid vanable costs. To demonstrate this difference, the provider
must submit an analysis comparing their variable costs incurred and variable costs
reimbursed for the two years previous to the year for which rate relief is requested.

b) The provider is required, as a result of a survey by the State Survey Agency (SSA),

d)

state or federal regulatory agency, to correct one or more substandard quality of care
deficiencies to attain or sustain compliance with Medicaid certification requirements.
The survey must have occurred within six months prior to the provider’s request for
rate relief. The provider must submit a copy of the citation and an approved Plan of
Correction outlining the action being taken by the provider to address the
DEFICIENCIES requirement{s). A COPY OF FACILITY STAFFING LEVELS
BEFORE AND AFTER THE SURVEY CITATION MUST BE PROVIDED TO
DEMONSTRATE THE STAFFING INCREASE IS SUSTAINED AND IS NOT FOR
SHORT TERM TRAINING PURPOSES ONLY; or

The facility has a significant change in the level of care needed for current Medicaid
residents. A significant charge is defined as an increase of at least 10 minutes of
nursing care per patient resident per day as demonstrated by Minimum Data Set
(MDS) data, which results in a corresponding increase in direct care staffing equal to
or greater than the increase in patient minutes per day. The provider must submit an
analysis comparing resident acuity levels from the rate base year to current resident
acuity levels. The Minimum Data Set (MDS) data must be used for this comparison.
This data will be subject to a clinical review by DCH clinical staff. The analysis must
also include a comparison of the previous and current nursing staffing levels required
based on actual residential census or actual patient days and other nursing related
costs or requirements likely o increase the operational costs. This does not include
nursing administration staff; or

The provider is new in a Medicaid Enrolled facility and the facility’s most recent cost
report submitted to DCH was incomplete, undocumented or had unsubstantiated cost
data by the previous provider. Inadequate cost reporting would include non-payment
of accrued liabilities due to the previous provider's bankruptcy as determined by
Medicaid auditors in accord with Medicaid allowable costs, or inadequate records to
support the filed cost report. Proof of the change of ownership must be submitted

along with an explanation of why the cost report data is inadequate to calculate the
provider’s reimbursement rate; or,

Supersedes

TN No.: 03-12

MAR 21 201

Approval Date: Effective Date: 10-01-2011




Attachment 4.19-D
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of MICHIGAN

Policy and Methods for Establishing Payment Rates
(Long Term Care Facilities)

e) Rate relief is needed because the facility will be closed due to a regulatory action by
the State Survey Agency (SSA) state or federal regulatory agency where the facility's
closure will result in severe hardship for its residents and their families due to the
distance to other nursing facilities, and no new provider will operate the facility at it's
current reimbursement rate. A facility would meet this hardship criteria only if a new
owner has agreed to take over its operation and if it is either the only nursing facility
in the county or, the closing facility has at least sixty-five percent of the Medicaid
nursing facility (Class |, Ili and V) certified beds in that county.

TN NO.: 11-15 Approval Date: MAR 2 1 2012 Effective Date: 10-01-2011

Supersedes
TN No.: 03-12






