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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
150 S. Independence Mall West 
Suite 216, The Public Ledger Building 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania  19106-3499 

Region III/Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations 
SWIFT # 101920164079 

December 1, 2016 

Shannon McMahon, Deputy Secretary 
Health Care Financing 
Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 
201 West Preston Street, Room 525 
Baltimore, MD  21201 

Dear Ms. McMahon: 

Enclosed is a copy of the approved State Plan Amendment (SPA), Transmittal Number 16-0007. 
This SPA updates Maryland’s State Plan to clean-up inconsistencies between the State Plan and 
regulations, as well as fix broken website links caused during Maryland’s website migration. 

The effective date for this amendment is July 1, 2016. The CMS 179 form and the Approved 
State Plan pages are attached. 

If you have questions about this SPA, please contact Lieutenant Commander Andrea 
Cunningham of my staff at 215-861-4325.   

Francis McCullough 
Associate Regional Administrator 

Enclosures 

Sincerely,  
/S/



 

/S/
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND
6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care under State Law, furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State Law.

d. Nutritionist

A. The Nutrition Therapy Program covers medically necessary counseling and education
services to nutritionally high-risk children under the age of 21 years and pregnant women
of all ages. The services are provided by appropriately qualified staff as described below.
Services must be directly related to a written treatment plan.

B. Nutrition services covered by Maryland Medicaid include:

(1) Assessment – Making a nutritional assessment of individual food practices and
nutritional status using anthropometric, biochemical, clinical, dietary, and
demographic data;

(2) Developing an individualized plan that establishes priorities, goals, and objectives for
meeting nutrient needs for child; and

(3) Nutrition counseling and education to achieve care plan goals and includes strategies
to educate client, family, caregivers, or others in carrying out appropriate
interventions.

C. Nutritionist and dietitians shall be licensed by the Maryland State Board of Dietetic
Practice, as defined in Health Occupations Article, Title 5, Annotated Code of Maryland,
or by the appropriate licensing body in the jurisdiction where the nutrition counseling
services are performed.

D. The Maryland Medicaid Nutrition Services Program does not cover:

(1) Services for non-pregnant adults ages 21 and over;
(2) More than one visit per day; and
(3) Services provided by a school health-related services provider that are not included

on a child’s IEP or IFSP.
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G. A residential treatment center admits patients between the ages of 12 and 21. The
Department reimburses a residential treatment center, except an in-state children’s
residential treatment center, the lesser of, the provider’s usual and customary charge
unless the service is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid, the provider’s per diem
cost for covered services established in accordance with Medicare principles of
reasonable cost reimbursement as described in 42 CFR 413 or $300 per day effective
October 1, 2009. The $300 per day will be updated annually by the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Service’s published federal fiscal year market basket increase percentage
relating to hospitals excluded from the prospective payment system.

1. Qualified non-facility individual practitioners may be directly reimbursed for somatic,
dental, or other medically necessary services not included in the per diem rate which are
provided to children in a residential treatment center.

2. Such reimbursement is subject to the payment methodologies that are otherwise specified
in the State Plan.

H. Children’s residential treatment center: A children’s residential treatment center is a
residential treatment center that admits patients 12 years of age and under. An in-state
children’s residential treatment center shall be reimbursed the lesser of: (1) the provider’s
usual and customary charge unless the service is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid
or (2) the provider’s per diem cost for covered services established in accordance with
Medicare principles of reasonable cost as described in 42 CFR 413, or $600 per day effective
December 1, 2009. The $600 per day will be updated annually by the Centers for Medicare
and Medicaid Services’ published federal fiscal year market basket increase percentage
relating to hospitals excluded from the prospective payment system.

1. Qualified non-facility individual practitioners may be directly reimbursed for somatic,
dental, or other medically necessary services not included in the per diem rate which are
provided to children in a residential treatment center.

2. Such reimbursement is subject to the payment methodologies that are otherwise specified
in the State Plan.

TN # _16-0007__ Approval Date: _____________ Effective Date: _____________ 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland
Nutritionist Rates

12.a. The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by a nutritionist were set as of
7/1/2010 and are effective for services on or after that date. All nutritionist must be 
licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services. Services and provider
qualifications are limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. The 
nutritionist will be paid the lower of the nutritionist’s customary charge to the general 
public unless the service is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid or the published 
fee schedule.

12.b. All nutritionists, both government and non-government, are reimbursed pursuant to the
same fee schedule. Nutritionists are paid by CPT codes which are based on a percentage 
of Medicare reimbursement. All rates are published to the Agency’s website at: 
http://www.dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

12.c. The Agency reimburses schools for nutritional assessments and interventions and
nutritional reassessments and interventions when required under an Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) or Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP) and when provided 
by nutritionists that are licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services. For all 
dates beginning January 1, 2010, the State will reimburse for this service at the same rate 
that it reimburses all other non-governmental community-based licensed nutritionists as 
described in 12.b. 

12.d. Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct, face-to-face,
patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested by another

licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

TN #:  __16-0007____ Approval Date: ______________ Effective Date: ______________ 
Supersedes TN #: 13-07 
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

13. Other diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than those
provided elsewhere in the plan.

C. Diagnostic Services Environmental Lead Investigations

Covered Services:
1. The service includes one on-site environmental lead inspection per primary dwelling.

2. The service is limited to Medicaid enrollees under age 21 with confirmed elevated blood
lead 

Limitations:
Provider limitations: Investigations shall be performed by Lead Risk Assessors who are 
accredited by the Maryland Department of the Environment with enforcement authority 
to ensure that lead risks are abated.

TN No: 16-0007 Approval Date: ___________ Effective Date: ____________ 
Supercedes TN No. 09-05 
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OVERHEAD

Rent/Utilities –  $ 34.20 
Accounting, Audits and IT Support (5% of total salary and fringe) $ 11.98 
Telephone charges –  $ 14.40 

Total Overhead/Case $ 60.58 

EQUIPMENT AND OVERHEAD TOTAL $ 93.63 

TIME, SALARY & FRINGE TOTAL $239.66
EQUIPMENT AND OVERHEAD TOTAL  $  93.63 
TOTAL COST PER ENVIRONMENTAL INSPECTION $333.29

1. Effective July 1, 2009, the service will be covered using the provide code T1029 –
On-site Environmental Lead Inspection, per primary dwelling – at a rate of $333.29.
Subsequently, the rate will increase by 2% annually. This rate can be found on the
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene’s website at:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

2. Payment is limited to providers’ that are Lead Risk Assessors accredited by the
Maryland, Department of the Environment with enforcement authority to ensure that
lead risks are abated.

3. The Department will conduct post-payment audits to ensure that providers are not
paid for testing environmental substances such as water or soil and only pays:

Once for each dwelling; and
 5 μg/dL

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIXI OF THE SOCIAL SECRITY ACT

State of Maryland

10. Dentist Rates

10.a The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by a dentist and outlined
per Attachment 3.1, page 23, were set as of 1/1/15 and effective for services on or 
after that date. All dentists must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which they 
provide services. Services are limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland 
State Plan. The dentist will be paid the lower of the dentist’s customary fee 
schedule to the general public unless it is free to individuals not covered by 
Medicaid or the published fee schedule. 

10.b. All dentists, both government and non-government, are reimbursed pursuant to
the same fee schedule. Dentists are paid by CDT codes. Effective as of 1/1/2015, 
all rates are published on the Agency’s website at:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

10.c. Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for drugs administered by dentists that have been
obtained from manufacturers which do not participate in the federal Drug
Rebate Program.
The Department will not pay for disposable medical supplies usually included
with the office visit.
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct, face-to-
face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill for the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested by

another licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland
Optometrist Rates 

11.a The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by an optometrist were set
as of 7/1/10 and are effective for services on or after that date. All optometrists 
must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services. Services are 
limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. The optometrist will 
be paid the lower of the optometrist’s customary fee schedule unless it is free to 
individuals not covered by Medicaid or the published fee schedule. 

11.b All optometrists, both government and non-government, are reimbursed pursuant
to the same fee schedule. Optometrists are paid based on a percentage of 
Medicare reimbursement. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

11.c Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for practitioner-administered drugs obtained
from manufacturers which do not participate in the federal Drug Rebate
Program.
The Department will not pay for disposable medical supplies usually included
in the office visit.
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct, face-to-
face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone;
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland
4. Reimbursement Methodology for Mental Health Case Management

4.a Effective September 1, 2009, payments shall be made with the fee-for-service
schedule for mental health case management services specified in 4c. This rate 
can be found on the Mental Health Administration’s website at: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo
Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private providers. 

4.b “Unit of service” means a face-to-face contact for a minimum of one hour per day
by the community support specialist of the community support specialist associate 
with the participant or, if the participant is a minor, the minor’s parent or 
guardian. Mental health case management services are only performed by 
providers that meet the criteria outlined per Attachment 3.1A, Section E. Services 
shall be provided according to the following: 

a. Level 1 – General: A minimum of one and a maximum of two units of service
each month. At a minimum, every 90 days, one service shall include a visit to
the participant’s home or another suitable site for a participant who is
homeless.

b. Level II – Intensive: A minimum of two and a maximum of five units of
service each month.  At a minimum, every 90 days, one service shall include a
visit to the participant’s home or another suitable site for a participant who is
homeless.

c. One additional unit of service above the monthly maximum may be billed
during the first month of service to a participant in order to complete the
comprehensive assessment.

4c. Rate development – The rate for this service follows the CMS-accepted 
Methodology for cost-based rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect 
costs, and transportation costs based on the average of the mileage of current case 
management providers who are receiving state general funds for case
management.

4d. Case management services shall not be reimbursed for individuals in public 
institutions, IMDs, juvenile detention centers or PTRFs. 

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland

4. Reimbursement Methodology for Mental Health Case Management: Care
Coordination for Children

4a. Effective, October 1, 2014, payment shall be made with the fee-for-service schedule 
mental health care management services specified in 4c. This rate can be found on the 
Mental Hygiene Administration’s website at: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo
Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same
for both governmental and private providers. 

4b. “Unit of service” means 15 minutes of contact, which may include face-to-face and 
non-face-to-face contacts with the participant, or if the participant is a minor, the 
minor’s parent or guardian, and indirect collateral contact on behalf of the participant 
with other community providers. Services shall be provided according to the 
following: 
1) Level 1 – General Coordination allows a maximum of 12 units of service per

month with a minimum of two units of face-to-face contact.
2) Level II – Moderate Care Coordination allows a maximum of 30 units of service

per month, with a minimum of four units of face-to-face contact.
3) Level III – Intensive Care Coordination allows a maximum of 60 units of service

per month, with a minimum of six units of face-to-face contact.
4) For Level I and Level II four additional units of service above and beyond the

monthly maximum may be billed during the first month of service to the
participant and every six months thereafter to allow for comprehensive
assessment and reassessment of the participant.

5) A unit of service for telephonic contact may not be reimbursed unless the
provider has delivered at least eight minutes of service.

4c. Rate development – The rate was for the mental health case management care 
coordination for children and youth was developed following CMS-accepted 
methodology for cost-based rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect 
costs, and transportation costs. 

4d. Reimbursement shall not be made for care coordination services if the participant is 
receiving a comparable care coordination service under another Program authority; 
the direct delivery of an underlying medical, educational, social, or other service to 
which a participant has been referred; activities integral to the administration of foster 
care programs; activities not consistent with the definition of case management 
services under Section 6052 of the federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (P.L. 109-
171); activities for which third parties are liable to pay; and activities delivered as
part of institutional discharge planning. A participant’s care coordinator may not be 
the participant’s family member or a direct service provider for the participant. 

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland
Mental Health Case Management

The agency’s rates for Mental Health Case Management were set as of July 1, 2013 and 
are effective for services on or after that date. Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state 
developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. 
All rates for Maryland’s Public Mental Health System are published on the Maryland 
Department of Mental Hygiene’s website at the following link: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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Reimbursement Methodology for HIV Targeted Case Management Services

1. Effective for services on or after February 1, 2012, HIV targeted case
management, including diagnostic evaluation services (DES) and ongoing
case management services are paid as outlined in MD fee-for-service
schedule. Except as otherwise noted in the Plan, state developed fee schedule
rates are the same for both government and nongovernmental and private
individual practitioners. Fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to
the fee schedule are published on MD website at the following web address:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

2. HIV targeted case management services rendered shall be submitted by an
approved provider according to procedures established by the Department of
Health and Mental Hygiene, and as outlined in the MD State Plan,
Supplement 3 to Attachment 3.1A, page 4. Payment requests which are not
properly prepared or submitted may not be processed, but will be returned
unpaid to the provider.

3. A Diagnostic Evaluation Services (DES) “unit of service” is the completion of
the bio-psychosocial assessment and plan of care including signatures of all
members involved. Reimbursement is paid using a flat rate to the DES
provider for completion of the bio-psychosocial assessment and plan of care.

4. An Ongoing Case Management “unit of service” is a 15-minute period in
which ongoing case management services were provided. An ongoing case
manager participating in the DES process, when not a representative of the
DES provider, may be bill up to six units for his or her involvement in the
DES process. Ongoing case management, as prescribed in the plan of care,
shall be reimbursed up to 96 units of service per year following the date of
service for diagnostic evaluation services.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State of Maryland 
Occupational Therapist Rates 

13.a The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by an occupational
therapist were set as of 7/1/10 and are effective for services on or after that 
date. All occupational therapists must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which 
they provide services. Services and provider qualifications are limited to 
those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. The occupational therapist 
will be paid the lower of the occupational therapist’s customary fee schedule 
to the general public unless the service is free to individuals not covered by 
Medicaid or the published fee schedule. 

13.b All occupational therapists, both government and non-government, are
reimbursed pursuant to the same fee schedule. Occupational therapists are 
paid by CPT codes which are based on a percentage of Medicare 
reimbursement.  All rates are published on the Agency’s website at: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo 

13c. The Agency reimburses schools for occupational therapy evaluations and re-
evaluations, individual occupational therapy sessions, and group 
occupational therapy when required under an Individualized Education 
Program (IEP) or Individual Family Services Plan (IFSP) and when provided 
by occupational therapists that are licensed in the jurisdiction in which they 
provide services. For all dates beginning January 1, 2010, the State will 
reimburse for this service at the same rate that it reimburses all other non-
governmental community-based licensed occupational therapists as 
described in 13.b. 

13.d Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct,
face-to-face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested

by another licensed provider on behalf of the recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State of Maryland 

Speech Therapist Rates 

14.a The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by a speech-language
pathologist were set as of 7/1/10 and are effective for dates of services on or 
after that date. All speech-language pathologists must be licensed in the 
jurisdiction in which they provide services. Services and provider 
qualifications are limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. 
The speech-language pathologist will be paid the lower of the speech-
language pathologist’s customary fee schedule to the general public unless 
the service is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid or the published fee 
schedule. 

14.b All speech-language pathologists, both government and nongovernment, are
reimbursed pursuant to the same fee schedule. Speech-language pathologists 
are paid by CPT codes which are based on a percentage of Medicare 
reimbursement.  All rates are published on the Agency’s website at: http://
dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

14.c The Agency reimburses schools for speech/hearing evaluation, individual
speech therapy, and group speech therapy when required under an 
Individualized Education Program (IEP) or Individualized Family Service 
Plan (IFSP) and when provided by speech-language pathologists that are 
licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide services. For all dates 
beginning January 1, 2010, the State will reimburse for this service at the 
same rate that it reimburses all other non-governmental community-based 
speech-language pathologists as described in 14b. 

14.d Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct,
face-to-face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested

by another licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State of Maryland 

Audiologist Rates 

15.a The Agency’s rates for professional services rendered by an audiologist were
set as of 7/1/10 and are effective for dates of services on or after that date. 
All audiologists must be licensed in the jurisdiction in which they provide 
services. Services and provider qualifications are limited to those outlined in 
3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. The audiologist will be paid the lower of the 
audiologists customary fee schedule to the general public unless the service 
is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid or the published fee schedule. 

15.b All audiologists, both government and nongovernment, are reimbursed
pursuant to the same fee schedule. Audiologists are paid by CPT codes which 
are based on a percentage of Medicare reimbursement. All rates are 
published on the Agency’s website at: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

15.c The Agency reimburses schools for audiology evaluations when required
under an Individualized Education Program (IEP) or Individualized Family 
Service Plan (IFSP) and when provided by audiologists that are licensed in 
the jurisdiction in which they provide services. For all dates beginning 
January 1, 2010, the State will reimburse for this service at the same rate that 
it reimburses all other non-governmental community-based audiologists as 
described in 15b. 

15.d Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct,
face-to-face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested

by another licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State of Maryland 

16. Therapeutic Behavioral Aide Rates

16.a The Agency’s rates for one-on-one therapeutic behavioral aide services
performed by therapeutic behavioral aides were set as of 1/1/10 and are 
effective for services on or after that date. Services and provider 
qualifications are limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. 
The therapeutic behavioral aide will be paid the lower of the therapeutic 
behavioral aide’s customary fee schedule to the general public unless the 
service is free to individuals not covered by Medicaid or the published fee 
schedule. 

16.b All therapeutic behavioral aides, both government and nongovernment, are
reimbursed pursuant to the same fee schedule. Therapeutic behavioral aides 
are paid a fixed amount per each 15 minute increments. The rate is published 
on the Agency’s website at: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

16.c The Agency reimburses schools for therapeutic behavioral aide services
when required under an Individualized Education Program (IEP) or 
Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) and when provided by a qualified 
therapeutic behavioral aide provider. For all dates beginning January 1, 
2010, the State will reimburse for this service at the same rate that it 
reimburses all other non-governmental therapeutic behavioral aides as 
described in 16b. 

16.d Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct,
face-to-face, patient contact.
The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested

by another licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No. 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 
State of Maryland 

EPSDT – Private Duty Nursing and Other Licensed Practitioners 

17.a The Agency reimburses private duty nursing agencies for an initial
assessment fee and supervisory visit. All other private duty nursing services 
are paid fixed amount per 15 minute intervals depending on whether the 
provider is serving one or more children. The rates are specified in the 
established and published fee schedule. Except as otherwise noted in the 
Plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental 
and private providers of private duty nursing, CAN/CMTs, and HHA/CMTs. 
The agency’s fee schedule rate was set as of March 1, 2014 and is effective for 
services provided on or after that date. Services and provider qualifications 
are limited to those outlined in 3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. All rates are 
published at: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

17.b The Agency reimburses schools for private duty nursing services when
required under an Individualized Education Program (IEP) or Individualized 
Family Service Plan (IFSP) and when provided by a qualified private duty 
nursing provider. The State will reimburse for this service at the same rate 
that it reimburses all other non-governmental private duty nursing providers 
in accordance with 17a and 17b. 

17.c Payment limitations:
The Department will not pay for services which do not involve direct,
face-to-face, patient contact.
The provider may not bills the Program or the recipient for:

o Completion of forms and reports;
o Broken or missed appointments;
o Professional services rendered by mail or telephone; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient’s medical record when requested

by another licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.

Approval Date: _______________ Effective Date: ______________ TN No. _16-0007____ 
Supersedes TN No.  



Attachment 4.19B 
Page 28

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

State of Maryland
18. Licensed Mental Health Practitioners:

Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner with a specialty in Psychiatry
Certified Advanced Practice Registered Nurse/Psychiatric Mental health
Licensed clinical professional counselor and therapist
Licensed Psychologist
Licensed Clinical Social worker

18a. The Agency reimburses a number of classes of private practitioners identified as 
“mental health professionals” differentially dependent on their licensure class. 
The classes eligible for reimbursement are licensed under State law and include 
nurse psychotherapists, licensed doctoral psychologists, licensed and certified 
social workers, licensed and certified professional counselors, and certified nurse 
practitioners. Services and provider qualifications are limited to those outlined in 
3.1A of the Maryland State Plan. 

18b. Maryland bases the rates on market factors, primarily comparable rates from other 
insurers. For each class of mental health professional and for each CPT procedure 
code, rates paid by other insurers are reviewed. Since Maryland reimburses for a 
broader range of services than many insurers, some adjustments and 
interpolations are required. In order to establish rates for similar procedures are 
adjusted based upon time and intensity of effort required for the procedure in 
question. Whenever possible, rates are then benchmarked against Medicare rates 
for similar procedure codes. On average, State rates are below allowable 
Medicare rates. The rates were last set on 07/01/08 and can be found at:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

18c. The Agency reimburses schools for certain mental health services when required 
under an Individual Education Program (IEP) or Individual Family Service Plan 
(IFSP) and when provided by a licensed mental health provider. These services 
include: individual psychotherapy, family psychotherapy, group psychotherapy, 
and psychological testing. For all dates beginning January 1, 2010, the State will 
reimburse for this service at the same rate that it reimburses all other non-
governmental metal health providers as described in 18b. 
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Specific Payment Procedures for Urgent Care Centers

A. Urgent care centers are reimbursed a $50 facility fee, which is determined by the
Program. The rate is set as of January 1, 2014 and is effective for services
provided on or after that date. The rate is the same for both governmental and
private individual providers.

B. In addition to the facility fee, the Program shall reimburse for services rendered
by the physician during the visit at the free-standing urgent care center when
performed by a physician, or by other authorized personnel under that physician’s
supervision. The physician fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to
the fee schedule, are published on the DHMH website using the link provided:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

C. The provider may not bill the Program or the recipient for:

1. Completion of forms or reports;
2. Broken or missed appointments;
3. Providing a copy or a recipient’s medical record when requested by another

licensed provider on behalf of the recipient.

D. The Program makes no direct payments to recipients.

E. The billing time limitations are set forth in the Preface to Attachment 4.19B.
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

2a. OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SERVICES

1) All hospitals located in Maryland which participate in the Program and are regulated by the
All Payer Hospital Rate Syste , except those listed in 2 through 6 below, will charge-and
payers will reimburse—according to rates approved by the HSCRC, pursuant to the HSCRC
statue and regulation. Under this system, all regulated hospitals are required to submit to the
HSCRC base year data using a uniform accounting and reporting system. The HSCRC
established approved rates for units of service in the various revenue producing departments
(rate centers). The rates include adjustments for such items as inflation, volume changes,
pass-through costs, and uncompensated care. A description of the HSCRC’s uncompensated
care methodology is described in Attachment 4.19A Section 1. A. The HSCRC posts each
hospital’s rates by rate center on the HSCRC website:
http://www.hscrc.maryland.gov_Rates2.cfm

2) The Program will make no direct reimbursement to any Maryland State-operated chronic
hospital, or psychiatric hospital.

3) An acute general or special hospital not located in Maryland or DC will be paid the host State
Medicaid rate.

4) Beginning with fiscal year 2007, private freestanding pediatric rehabilitation hospitals in
Maryland not approved for reimbursement according to the HSCRC rates, shall be
reimbursed for outpatient expenditures using a prospective rate which is calculated based on
the lower of cost from the Medicare 2552 Cost Report or up to 100% of outpatient charges.
The percentage of charges reimbursed is adjusted annually by increasing the audited 2004
Medicare 2552 cost report trended forward times the Outpatient Prospective Payment System
market basket update factor.

5) Psychiatric Hospitals Outpatient costs are reimbursed based on Medicare’s retrospective cost
reimbursement principles utilizing the Medicare cost report. The percentage of charges is
calculated by taking outpatient charges divided by outpatient cost.

a. Medicare standards for retrospective cost reimbursement described in 42 CFR Part
413 as filed in the Medicare 2552 cost report; or

b. On the basis of charges if less than reasonable cost.
In calculating retrospective cost reimbursement rates, the Program or its designee
will deduct from the designated costs or group of costs those restricted contributions
which are designated by the donor for paying certain provider operating costs, or
groups of costs, or costs of specific groups of patients. When the cost, or group, or
groups of costs, designated, cover services rendered to all patients, including MA
recipients, operating costs applicable to all patients will be reduced by the amount of
the restricted grants, gifts, or income from endowments thus resulting in a reduction
of allowable costs.
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Disposable Medical Supplies and Durable Medical Equipment 

Medical equipment services reimbursed above $1,000 and medical supply services 
reimbursed above $500 require prepayment authorization. A unit of service is an item and 
quantity as prescribed by the physician.

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Disposable medical supplies usually included with the office visit;
(2) Completion of forms and reports; and
(3) Fitting, dispensing, or follow-up care.

State-developed fee schedule rates are in effect as of July 1, 2012 and are the same for 
both governmental and private individual practitioners and are published on the DHMH 
website using the link provided: 

Oxygen and Related Respiratory Equipment 

Payment for oxygen and respiratory equipment includes: equipment delivery, set up, 
training for use in the home, and data downloads. A unit of service is an item and 
quantity as prescribed by the physician.

Oxygen and related respiratory equipment services reimbursed above $1,000 and oxygen 
and respiratory supplies reimbursed above $500 require prepayment authorization. 

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Completion of forms and reports; or
(2) Fitting, dispensing, or follow-up care.

State-developed fee schedule rates are in effect as of July 1, 2012 and are the same for 
both governmental and private individual practitioners and are published on the DHMH 
website using the link provided: 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Attachement 3.1A Item 12D:  Eyeglasses

State-developed fee schedule rates are in effect as of July 1, 2011 and are the 
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and are published 
on the DHMH website using the link provided, and selecting the most recent 
year’s link:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo   

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Eyeglasses, ophthalmic lenses, optical aids, and optician services rendered to
recipients 21 years old and older;

(2) Repairs, except when repairs to eyeglasses are more cost-effective than replacing
with new eyeglasses; or

(3) Routine adjustments.
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

3. Other Lab and x-ray Services: Laboratory Services

In accordance with CFR §440.30, laboratory services means a professional and 
technical laboratory service.  

State-developed fee schedule rates are in effect as of July 1, 2012 and are the same for 
both governmental and private individual practitioners and are published on the DHMH 
website using the link provided: 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Services for which the medical laboratory provider cannot supply a properly
completed order or standing order identifying the authorized ordering practitioner;

(2) Services not adequately documented in the recipient’s medical records;
(3) Services denied by Medicare as not medically necessary;
(4) Clinical laboratory services, for which certification by CMS under CLIA is

required, when these services are performed by laboratories that are not certified
to perform those services;

(5) Procedures that are investigational or experimental in nature;
(6) Services included by the Program as part of the charge made by an inpatient

facility, hospital outpatient department, freestanding clinic, or other Program-
recognized entity;

(7) Medical laboratory services related to autopsies; or
(8) Medical laboratory services for which there was insufficient quantity of specimen,

improper specimen handling, or other circumstances that would render the results
unreliable.
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

3. Other Lab and x-ray Services: Laboratory Services

In accordance with CFR §440.30, X-ray services means a professional and 
technical radiological service. 

State-developed fee schedule rates are in effect as of July 1, 2012 and are the same for 
both governmental and private individual practitioners and are published on the DHMH 
website using the link provided: 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Services not medically necessary;
(2) Investigational and experimental drugs and procedures;
(3) Services denied by Medicare as not medically necessary; or
(4) Services which do not involve direct patient contact (face-to-face).
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Family Planning Clinics

State-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private 
individual practitioners and are published on the DHMH website using the link provided: 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

Physicians are reimbursed based on the current fee schedule which is effective as of 
January 1, 2012. A unit of service is a visit or procedure as defined in the American 
Medical Association Current Procedural Terminology (AMA CPT). For dates of service 
between January 1, 2013 and December 30, 2014, provider rates for Evaluation and 
Management (E&M) procedure codes will be set at 100% of Medicare mean. In addition 
the State will pay the federally calculated VFC vaccine administration charge. The fee 
schedule is located by selecting the link for the Physicians Fee Schedule for the most 
recent year posted.

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Any services identified by the Department as not medically necessary or not
covered;

(2) Investigational and experimental drugs and procedures;
(3) Visits solely for the purpose of one or more of the following;

a. Prescription, drug or supply pick-up, or collection of laboratory
specimens;

b. Ascertaining the patient’s weight; and
c. Measurement of blood pressure;

(4) Injections and visits solely for the administration of injections;
(5) Immunizations required for travel outside of the Continental U.S.;
(6) Separate billing for services which are included as part of another service; or
(7) Separate reimbursement to a physician for services provided in a clinic in addition

to the clinic reimbursement.
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Outpatient Mental Health Clinics

The Mental Health Administration (MHA) reimburses Outpatient Mental Health
Centers (OMHCs) for outpatient therapeutic treatment services on a per session
basis. Sessions are delivered in units of time ranging from 20 minutes to 80
minutes. OMHCs may also be reimbursed for psychological testing and
interpretation of test results. OMHC staff must include staff from two different
licensed mental health professional classes, which include: psychiatrists, licensed
doctoral psychologists, nurse psychotherapists, licensed and certified social
workers, licensed and certified professional counselors, and certified nurse
practitioners. Services and provider qualifications are limited to those outlined in
Attachment 3.1A page 22 of the Maryland State Plan.

Limitations:

o All services must be preauthorized by the Mental Health Administration
(MHA) or its designee;

o MHA does not reimburse for outpatient mental health services provided to
an individual when the individual is in a hospital, institution for mental
disease (IMD), or residential treatment center;

o MHA does not reimburse a psychologist for more than eight (8) hours of
psychological testing per patient per year;

o MHA does not reimburse services provided by a school health-related
service provider that are not included on a child’s Individualized
Education Plan (IEP) or Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP);

o MHA does not reimburse for services which do not involve direct, face-to-
face, patient contact; and

o MHA does not cover investigational and experimental drugs, procedures,
or therapies.

Both government and non-government practitioners are reimbursed pursuant to
the same fee schedule. OMHCs are paid by CPT code or HCPCS codes which are
based on Medicare reimbursement. The Agency’s rates for OMHC providers are
in effect as of .

State-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private
Outpatient Mental Health Clinics and are published:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo
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STATE PLAN FOR MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

STATE OF MARYLAND

Prosthetic Devices

A unit of service is an item and quantity as prescribed by the physician.

The Department does not pay for: 

(1) Items which are investigational or experimental in nature; or
(2) Completion of forms and reports.

State-developed fee schedule rates are effective as of July 1, 2012 and are the same for 
both governmental and private practitioners and are published on the DHMH website 
using the link provided: 

http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo
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Reimbursement Methodology: Hospice Care 

1. The Program will pay a hospice care provider at one of four rates for each day
that a participant is under the provider’s care. The daily payment rates for a
provider for routine home care, continuous home care, general inpatient care, and
inpatient respite care will be in accordance with the Medicaid payment rates and
the Medicare Wage Index established by the Centers Medicare and Medicaid
Services (CMS) of the U.S Department of Health and Human Services for hospice
care under a Medical Assistance Program. The rates and wage index are effective
for services provided on or after the CMS publication date. Except as otherwise
noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules and rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers. Rates and fees can be found by accessing:
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo

2. The four daily rates are prospective rates, and there will be no retroactive
adjustment other than a limitation on payments for inpatient care.

a. During the 12-month cap period beginning November 1 of each year and
ending October 31 of the following year, the aggregate number of
inpatient days (both for general inpatient care and inpatient respite care)
may not exceed 20 percent of the aggregate total number of days of
hospice care the provider furnished to Medical Assistance hospice
participants during the same period.

b. If the aggregate number of inpatient care days exceeds the maximum
allowable number, the limitation on reimbursement for inpatient care will
be determined in accordance with the methodology established by CMS,
and any excess reimbursement will be refunded to the Program by the
provider.

c. Any days of care furnished to participants diagnosed with Acquired
Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS) will be excluded in calculating the
limitation on payment for inpatient care.

3. In addition to the daily rates for hospice care, the Program will make separate
payment to the hospice care provider for physician services subject to the
following requirements:

a. The services must be direct patient care services furnished to a participant
under the care of the provider;
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of Maryland  

1915(b)(4) Waivers      Maryland Community First Choice 4.19B 
1915 – K Community First Choice State Plan Option Reimbursement

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for 
both government and private providers of services provided under the Community First 
Choice Option. The agency’s fee schedule is effective for services provided on or after 
January 6, 2014. All rates are published at: 
http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo  

The following 1915(k) provider types are reimbursed in the manner described: 

I. State Plan Services
A. Personal Assistance Services:  Rates are established using several factors.

Preexisting rates across programs, collective bargaining with the Union,
and the State’s budget are all considered. Payment is based upon the total
yearly budget established for personal assistance services for each
participant as outlined per attachment 3.1 - K, page 3. Participants
choosing to self direct will be able to set their rate, for independent
providers, within a prescribed range.  Providers of this service use a call-in
system to clock in and out. Billing occurs based on an electronic claim
generated by the call-in system in 15 minute increments. All rates and rate
ranges are defined in the above fee schedule.

B. Nurse Monitoring:  The rate was developed based on preexisting rates
across programs. The State also used rate comparisons of state salaries
listed on the Department of Budget and Management website located at
http://dbm.maryland.gov/Pages/home.aspx.  As local health departments
are sole providers of this service, in accordance with a 1915(b) waiver,
one rate has been published for this service.  Frequency for this service is
established using criteria from the Maryland Nurse Practice Act. Billing
occurs in 15 minute increments for this service.

C. Consumer Training: The rate was based on existing rates for the service.
Billing occurs in 15 minute increments for the service provided to the
participant.
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Total cost for 1 FTE respite care worker $
15,469.50

Hourly Rate--Not Including Respite Care Worker (Based on 1386 hours) $          11.16 
Hourly Rate for Administration + Respite Care Worker + $1 Youth 
Activity Fee $          25.16 

Assumptions
68% billable time
Respite Care worker has caseload of 15
Hourly rate is added to hourly pay for respite care worker of $13/hour
Additional $1 youth activity fee per hour is added to total

Payment for Community Based Respite Care service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 
24-25 and is reimbursed at an hourly unit of service. Community Based Respite Care 
providers are defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 25-26. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo . State developed fee schedule rates are the same 
for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule and any 
annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above website address.

OUT OF HOME RESPITE CARE
Out of Home respite services are provided on an overnight basis for a minimum of 12 
hours, and are reimbursed using a flat per diem rate. The service has a maximum of 24 
units per year, subject to medical necessity criteria override. The service may not be billed 
on the same day as community-based respite. 

Out-of-Home Respite
Median per diem rate for 109 "preferred" programs 181.31
10% Administrative Charge 18.13
Total 199.44

The rate development is based on the Fiscal Year 2012 Maryland Interagency Rates 
Committee (IRC) rates for residential child care facilities and child placement agencies.  
The IRC is charged with developing and operating a rate process for residential child care 
and child placement agency programs that is fair, equitable and predictable, and is 
comprised of representatives from the Department of Budget and Management, 
Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Administration/Mental Hygiene 
Administration, Department of Human Resources/Social Services Administration, 
Department of Juvenile Services, Governor's Office for Children and the Maryland State 
Department of Education 
(http://www.marylandpublicschools.org/MSDE/divisions/earlyinterv/IRC).
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The IRC identifies programs as "preferred" or "non-preferred."  For this rate development, 
only preferred provider rates were incorporated.  Additionally, only the per diem rates for 
group homes, therapeutic group homes, and treatment foster care providers were included. 

The fiscal model identified in the August 2006 Real Choice Systems Change Grants for 
Community Living: A Feasibility Study to Consider Respite Services for Children with 
Disabilities in Maryland prepared by The Hilltop Institute (formerly the Center for Health 
Program Development and Management) at UMBC included a 10% administrative cost for 
training, family support, outreach and provider recruitment that was specific to the youth at 
the highest levels of care.  A similar finding of a need for additional administrative funds 
was identified by the Respite Care Committee under the Maryland Blueprint for Children's 
Mental Health Committee.

Payment for Out Of Home Respite Care service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 24-
25 and is reimbursed at a hourly unit of service. Out Of Home Respite Care providers are 
defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 25-26. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the same 
for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule and any 
annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above website address.

For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services:
HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services

HCBS Psychosocial Rehabilitation
Intensive In-Home Services (IIHS) - EBP

Personnel

Annual 
Amount or 

Rate

%
FT
E

Salary 
Cost

Fringe 
Benefits 
(25%)

Salary + 
Fringe Cost

Therapist $  50,000 1 $ 50,000 $ 12,500 
$

62,500.00
Supervisor/Clinical 
Lead $  75,000 0.20 $ 15,000 $  3,750 

$
18,750.00

Clinical Director $  100,000 0.09 $   9,000 $  2,250 
$

11,250.00
Quality 
Assurance/Manageme
nt Info. Systems 
Director $  90,000 0.09 $   8,100 $  2,025 

 $
10,125.00

Admin. Assistant $  35,000 0.25 $   8,750 $  2,188 
$

10,937.50
Billing Support 
Specialist $  35,000 0.05 $   1,750 $  438 $   2,187.50 
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a. are derived from rigorous, scientifically controlled research; and
b. can be applied in community settings with a defined clinical

population;
2. has a consistent training and service delivery model;
3. utilizes a treatment manual; and
4. has demonstrated evidence that successful program implementation results

in improved, measureable outcomes for recipients of the service
intervention.

The rate for the IIHS-EBP (and, in particular, the caseload used) was based on 
Functional Family Therapy, an established EBP in Maryland.  The rate is higher for 
those programs that are identified as an EBP, in keeping with the established practice 
of different reimbursement rates for an EBP versus non-EBP service (e.g., Mobile 
Treatment Services and Assertive Community Treatment).

The weekly rate for the IIHS-EBP program is based on the cost of a therapist with a 
maximum caseload of 11 and a maximum length of stay in the program of 16 weeks. 
The supervisor caseload is a ratio of 1:5.  The rate includes other costs, including 
mileage costs (at least 50% of face-to-face contacts must be in the home or 
community, and the therapist must see the youth and family face-to-face at least 
once each week), rent, and communications costs.   

Payment for Intensive In-Home service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 15-16 
and is reimbursed a weekly unit of service. Intensive In-Home providers are defined 
per Attachment 3.1-i page 16-19. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are 
the same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee 
schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at 
the above website address.

INTENSIVE IN-HOME SERVICES (IIHS)--NON 
EBP

Personnel

Annual 
Amount 
or Rate

%
FT
E

Salary 
Cost

Fringe 
Benefit

s
(25%)

Salary + 
Fringe Cost 

Therapist $ 50,000 0.50 $ 25,000 
$

6,250 $ 31,250.00 
Supervisor/Clinical 
Lead $ 75,000 0.20 $ 15,000 

$
3,750 $ 18,750.00 

In-Home Stabilizer $ 40,000 0.50 $ 20,000 
$

5,000 $ 25,000.00 

Clinical Director
$

100,000 0.08 $ 8,000 
$

2,000 $ 10,000.00 
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in the youth’s home or community, as documented in the case notes.   An individual 
can only receive IIHS services from one provider at a time.  Partial 
hospitalization/day treatment, mobile crisis response services (MCRS), and other 
family therapies cannot be charged at the same time.  IIHS providers are expected to 
provide crisis response services for the youth on their caseload.

The weekly rate for the IIHS program is based on the cost of a therapist (.5 FTE) and 
in-home stabilizer (.5 FTE) with a shared caseload of 1:12.  An in-home stabilizer 
provides some of the face-to-face services.  The supervisor caseload is a ratio of 1:5.  
The rate includes other costs, such as rent, communications (phone, internet), and 
mileage.

Payment for Intensive In-Home service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 15-16 
and is reimbursed a weekly unit of service. Intensive In-Home providers are defined 
per Attachment 3.1-i page 16-19. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule 
and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above 
website address.

MOBILE CRISIS RESPONSE SERVICES 

Mobile Crisis Response and Stabilization (MCRS) providers may be reimbursed at a 
15 minute service interval.  There is also a single assessment rate for the 
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development of the initial crisis plan with the care coordinator and family at the 
beginning of services under the 1915(i) HCBS benefit. The approved MCRS 
providers will bill the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene directly for the 
services rendered.  No more than one unit of service may be billed for services 
delivered at the same time by the same staff. Private and public MCRS providers 
will be reimbursed at the same rate.  

The rate development adheres to the CMS-accepted methodology for cost-based 
rates, which includes salary, fringe benefits, indirect costs, and transportation costs
based on an average of the mileage experience in similar non-office based programs.  
(Salaries are assumed based on the credentials for the personnel and the salaries paid 
to similar individuals in other programs.) 

The design of MCRS was based in part on the Mobile Urgent Treatment Team 
(MUTT) in Milwaukee, which is a part of Wraparound Milwaukee.  MUTT has 
identified that approximately 50% of a MUTT clinician’s time is spent in face-to-
face clinical care, with the remaining time spent in travel, documentation, and non-
face to face activities.    For every crisis responder that is employed, there needs to 
be a percentage of a clinical supervisor and a crisis stabilizer to ensure that the crisis 
calls are appropriately triaged and the necessary level of clinical expertise is 
available.  

Payment for Mobile Crisis Response service as outlined per Attachment 3.1-i page 
19 and is reimbursed per fifteen minute unit of service. Mobile Crisis Response
providers are defined per Attachment 3.1-i page 21-22. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule 
and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above 
website address.

EXPRESSIVE AND EXPERIENTIAL BEHAVIORAL SERVICES
Proposed Rates
Expressive Therapies--Individual, LMHP 45-50 minutes $68.41
Expressive Therapies--Individual, LMHP 75-80 minutes $89.62
Expressive Therapies--Individual, non LMHP 45-50 minutes $62.19
Expressive Therapies--Individual, non LMHP 75-80 minutes $80.85
Expressive Therapies--Group, LMHP 45-60 minutes $24.16
Expressive Therapies--Group, LMHP 75-90 minutes $31.41
Expressive Therapies--Group, non LMHP 45-60 minutes $27.20
Expressive Therapies--Group, non LMHP 75-90 minutes $35.36

LMHP=Licensed Mental Health Practitioner
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ascertain how many of the expressive and experiential behavioral service providers 
were also licensed mental health clinicians and 2) encourage licensed mental health 
clinicians who were already Public Mental Health System providers to enroll to 
provide the additional service (a necessary step in helping families and youth to 
identify the most appropriate provider to address their needs).  As a result, the higher 
rate was developed to address both of these issues through a mechanism to 
encourage provider enrollment and more accurately track provider utilization. The 
group rates were set based on the C&A Group Psychotherapy Rates.

Payment for Expressive and Experiential Behavioral service as outlined per 
Attachment 3.1-i page 29-30 and is reimbursed either a 45-50 unit of service or a 75-
80 unit of service.  Expressive and Experiential Behavioral providers are defined per 
Attachment 3.1-i page 27-29. 

The agency's fee schedule was set as of October 1, 2014 and is effective for services 
provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule 
and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above 
website address.

FAMILY PEER SUPPORT

Personnel

Annual 
Amount 
or Rate

%
FT
E

Salary 
Cost

Fringe 
Benefits 
(25%)

Salary + 
Fringe 
Cost

Family Support Partner
$

36,000 1 $ 36,000 $ 9,000 
$
45,000.00

Family Support Partner 
Supervisor

$
58,500 0.10 $  5,850 $ 1,463 

$
7,312.50

Administrative 
Assistant

$
35,000 0.25 $  8,750 $ 2,188 

$
10,937.50

Billing Support 
Specialist

$
35,000 0.05 $  1,750 $    438 

$
2,187.50

Administrator
$

55,000 0.05 $  2,750 $    688 
$
3,437.50

Total 1.45 $ 55,100 $ 13,775 
$
68,875.00

Billable Time

Family Support Partner 2080
Total work hours per year (8 hour day * 260 
days)

Family Support Partner 
Supervisor
Administrative 
Assistant 160

Vacation, sick & holiday leave: 20 days@8 
hours per day

Billing Support 
Specialist 128 Training: 16 days @8hours per day

TN #:  _16-0007               Approval Date ____________________        Effective Date __________________ 
Supersedes TN #:_14-05_



State:    Maryland §1915(i) State plan HCBS Attachment 4.19–B:
Page 65

provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the agency's website 
at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo. State developed fee schedule rates are the 
same for both governmental and private individual practitioners and the fee schedule 
and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published at the above 
website address.

HCBS Clinic Services (whether or not furnished in a facility for CMI)

Other Services (specify below)
CUSTOMIZED GOODS AND SERVICES
Customized Goods and Services are those used in support of the child and family’s Plan of 
Care (POC) for a participant receiving care coordination from a Care Coordination 
Organization (CCO). All customized goods and services expenditures must be used to 
support the individualized POC for the child and family and are to be used for reasonable 
and necessary costs. Reasonable, defined as a cost that, in its nature and amount, does not 
exceed that which would be incurred by a prudent person under the circumstances 
prevailing at the time the decision was made to incur the cost. Necessary, defined as those 
that are likely to improve outcomes or remediate a particular and specified need identified 
in the POC. The CCO must have a written customized goods and services policy and 
procedures to ensure accountability and comply with requirements established by DHMH. 
The CCO shall submit requests for customized goods and services within the bounds of the 
program to the Department or its designee for approval and purchase. 

Reimbursement for purchases under the Goods and Services benefit will require prior 
approval and be reviewed on a per request basis.  Prior to reimbursement, it must be 
demonstrated that the purchaser received multiple quotes and paid a price that a prudent 
buyer would have paid.  Claims under this benefit will be capped at $2,000 per year per 
beneficiary. The state must adhere to CMS record keeping requirements (42 CFR 
§431.107) and providers must keep records of documented medical necessity for CGS

Unallowable costs include, but are not limited to the following: Unallowable costs for 
customized goods and services include, but are not limited to the following:
(1) Alcoholic beverages;
(2) Bad debts;
(3) Contributions and donations;
(4) Defense and prosecution of criminal and civil proceedings, claims, appeals, and patent
infringement;
(5) Entertainment costs
(6) Incentive compensation to employees;
(7) Personal use by employees of organization-furnished automobiles, including
transportation to and from work;
(8) Fines and penalties;
(9) Goods or services for personal use;
(10) Interest on borrowed capital/lines of credit;
(11) Costs of organized fundraising;
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State of Maryland  

Community Personal Assistance Services 4.19B 
State Plan Option Reimbursement

1) Effective October 1, 2015, payments for community personal assistance services as defined per
Attachment 3.1A page 31B shall be reimbursed in 15-minute units. Both government and non-
government providers of community personal assistance services are reimbursed pursuant to the
same fee schedule. The fee schedule is effective for services provided on or after October 1, 2015
and are published on the Department's website at: http://dhmh.maryland.gov/providerinfo.

2) Payment limitations:
The provider may not bill the Department or the recipient for:

o Missed or broken appointments; and
o Providing a copy of a recipient's medical record when requested by another

licensed provider on behalf of a recipient.
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