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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
JFK Federal Building, Government Center 
Room 2275 
Boston, Massachusetts 02203 
 
Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations / Boston Regional Office 
 

October 18, 2018 
 
Marylou Sudders, Secretary 
Executive Office of Health and Human Services 
One Ashburton Place, Room 1109 
Boston, Massachusetts 02108 
 
Dear Secretary Sudders: 
 
We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 
18-014 submitted to CMS on September 28, 2018.  This SPA was submitted to revise your 
approved Title XIX State plan to update the payment rates for personal care attendant services.  
This SPA has been approved effective September 12, 2018. 
 
Enclosed are copies of the following approved State plan pages. 

• Attachment 4.19-B, pages 3.2 and 3.2a. 
 
If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Julie McCarthy at (617) 565-
1244 or by e-mail at Julie.McCarthy@cms.hhs.gov. 
 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
Richard R. McGreal 
Associate Regional Administrator 

 
 
Enclosure/s 
 
 
cc: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth, Medicaid Director 
 Kaela Konefal, Federal Authority Policy Analyst/State Plan Coordinator 
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Attachment 4.19-B 
Page 3.2 

State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
State:  Massachusetts 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care 

TN:  018-014 Approval Date:  10/18/2018 Effective Date:  09/12/18 
Supersedes:   017-008 

u. Personal Care Services:

I. General Description of Payment Methodology

The following section describes the methods and standards utilized by the Executive Office of 
Health and Human Services (EOHHS) to establish rates of payment for personal care attendant 
(PCA) services.  These services are described under Supplements to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-
B. Fee schedules are established as follows:

II. Fee Schedules

The fee schedules for Personal Care Attendant Services are established by the Executive Office of 
Health and Human Services. The regulation, administrative bulletins, and fee schedules are 
published at  http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf  
and http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/101-cmr-309.pdf. 
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-health-care-providers-ambulatory-
care.html.  

Effective September 12, 2018, the fee schedule used to pay for personal care services provided by 
Personal Care Attendant providers is $4.25 per 15 minute unit or $17.00 per hour, inclusive of the 
PCA wage, employer required taxes, and workers’ compensation insurance for PCA services 
provided during the day or night. Personal care attendants who are authorized by MassHealth to 
work emergency overtime or work on one of four holidays (New Year’s Day, July 4, 
Thanksgiving Day or Christmas) receive premium pay in addition to regular pay, equal to $2.13 
per 15 minute unit, or $8.50 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ 
compensation insurance. 

Effective July 1, 2014, EOHHS will provide a 3 hour paid Orientation for newly hired PCAs. The 
fee schedule for the 3 hour Orientation is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date the 
newly hired PCA receives orientation. 

Effective January 1, 2016, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned sick time from the first date of 
work and can begin using earned sick time 90 days after the first date of work at a rate of one 
hour per 30 hours worked, including overtime hours, up to 40 hours per benefit year. PCAs may 
use up to 40 hours of earned sick time per 12-month period as designated by EOHHS. The fee 
schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect at the time the earned sick time is used. 

Effective January 1, 2016, PCAs are eligible to receive overtime pay in accordance with the 
requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act.  Effective September 12, 2018, PCA overtime pay 
is equal to $0.15 per 1 minute unit, or $8.50 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and 
workers’ compensation insurance.  Effective September 12, 2018, PCA travel time pay is equal to 
$0.28 per 1 minute unit, or $17.00 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ 
compensation insurance.   

The fee used for Transitional Living providers of personal care services is a provider specific rate 
established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. Such regulations are entitled: 
Rates for Certain Social, Rehabilitation and other Health Care Services. The regulation is  
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act 
State:  Massachusetts 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care 
  
 

  
 
TN:  018-014 Approval Date:  10/18/2018  Effective Date:  09/12/18 
Supersedes:   017-008 

 published at     
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf. 
 
Each Transitional Living provider’s rate is an all-inclusive per diem rate for the provision of 
personal care services and is based on an annual program budget, and delineates costs for direct 
care services and necessary administrative activities. Rate development for transitional living 
services includes the collection and review of service data maintained by the transitional living 
provider. Costs for room and board and other unallowable costs are excluded from the rate.  
 
The table below contains the rates used for Transitional Living providers and the effective dates 
of the rates. 

Provider Per diem rate Effective date 
Advocates, Inc., Douglas House $207.53 July 1, 2016 

Advocates, Inc., McLaughlin House $288.29 July 1, 2016 
Advocates, Inc., Warren House $247.60 July 1, 2016 

CCHIP House $206.73 July 1, 2016 
Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules are the same for both 
governmental and private providers. 
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