### **Table of Contents**

**State/Territory Name: Massachusetts** 

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 16-0003

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services JFK Federal Building, Government Center Room 2275 Boston, Massachusetts 02203



### Division of Medicaid and Children's Health Operations/Boston Regional Office

November 3, 2016

Marylou Sudders, Secretary Executive Office of Health and Human Services One Ashburton Place, Room 1109 Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Dear Secretary Sudders:

We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 16-003 submitted to CMS on March 31, 2016. This SPA was submitted to revise your approved Title XIX State plan to update the payment rates for personal care attendants, including provisions around overtime pay in accordance with the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act, and the accrual of earned sick time in accordance with Section 148C(d)(5) of M.G.L. Chapter 149. This SPA has been approved effective January 1, 2016.

Enclosed are copies of the following approved State plan pages.

Attachment 4.19-B, pages 3.2 and 3.2a.

If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Julie McCarthy at (617) 565-1244 or by e-mail at <u>Julie.McCarthy@cms.hhs.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

/s/

Richard R. McGreal Associate Regional Administrator

Enclosure/s

cc: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary for MassHealth, Medicaid Director Kaela Konefal, Federal Authority Policy Analyst/State Plan Coordinator

	The same of the sa	O CTATE
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	I. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	16-003	MA
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TIT	
	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION, IT	AID)
	SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	Section 18 to 19 t	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	January 1, 2016	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
		==\m\
☐ NEW STATE PLAN ☐ AMENDMENT TO BE C	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	☑ AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMEN	NDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each	amendment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7 FEDERAL BUIDGET IMPACT:	
0,1222	a. FFY16 \$21,979	5640 \$19,600,000
42.CFR 440.167	b. FFY17 <del>\$29,306</del>	,186\$ 28,600,000
	O DACENHADED OF THE CUREDO	EDED DI AN SECTIONI
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION	
	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	•
20 20 21	Attachment 4 19-R	Page 3.2 and 3.2a
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 3.2a 3.2 and 3.2a	Attachment 4.15-B,	inge size of a toria 5.000
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:		2410
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT.		
Personal Care At	tendant Overtime	
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):	T COURT AS OFFI	NEIPD.
☐ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	☑ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED	Not required under 42 CFR 430.12(b)(2)(i)	
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	42 CFR 430.12(D	)(2)(1)
	Lic perinal ro	
12. SIGNATUREIOF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
/s/	Daniel Cohen	
13. TYPED NAME: V	Interim State Plan Coordinator	
Marylou Sudders	Executive Office of Health and Human Services	
14. TITLE:	Office of Medicaid	
Secretary	One Ashburton Place, 11th Floor	
15. DATE SUBMITTED:	Boston, MA 02108	5
March 31, 2016		AMOUNT OF THE PARTY OF THE PART
	FICE USE ONLY	DJ NJ LANGS DESCRIPTION OF SELECTION
17. DATE RECEIVED: 03/31/2016	18. DATE APPROVED: 11/03/2016	
	IR GODY ATTACKED	
PLAN APPROVED - ON	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL O	REICIAN
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:01/01/2016	20, SIGNATURE OF REGIOVAL OF	JASIBBI SI
A STATE WAY Dishard D. McCorel	22, TITLE: Associate Regional Admini	strator. Division of Medicaid &
21, TYPED NAME: Richard R. McGreal	Children's Health Operation	ns, Boston, MA
OC DESCADOS		aparting was a spirit
23. REMARKS:		

## State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act State: Massachusetts Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care



#### u. Personal Care Services:

#### I. General Description of Payment Methodology

The following section describes the methods and standards utilized by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services (EOHHS) to establish rates of payment for personal care attendant (PCA) services. These services are described under Supplements to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-B. Fee schedules are established as follows:

#### II. Fee Schedules

The fee schedules for Personal Care Attendant Services are established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. The regulation, administrative bulletins, and fee schedules are published at <a href="http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf">http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf</a> and <a href="http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/101-cmr-309.pdf">http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/101-cmr-309.pdf</a>. <a href="http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-health-care-providers-ambulatory-care.html#114">http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-health-care-providers-ambulatory-care.html#114</a> 3 9

Effective January 1, 2016, the fee schedule used to pay for personal care services provided by Personal Care Attendant providers is \$3.88 per 15 minute unit or \$15.52 per hour, inclusive of the PCA wage, employer required taxes, and workers' compensation insurance for PCA services provided during the day or night. Personal care attendants who are authorized by MassHealth to work emergency overtime or work on one of four holidays (New Year's Day, July 4, Thanksgiving Day or Christmas) receive premium pay in addition to regular pay, equal to \$1.94 per 15 minute unit, or \$7.76 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers' compensation insurance.

Effective July 1, 2014, EOHHS will provide a 3 hour paid Orientation for newly hired PCAs. The fee schedule for the 3 hour Orientation is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on the date the newly hired PCA receives orientation.

Effective January 1, 2016, PCAs are eligible to accrue earned sick time from the first date of work and can begin using earned sick time 90 days after the first date of work at a rate of one hour per 30 hours worked, including overtime hours, up to 40 hours per benefit year. PCAs may use up to 40 hours of earned sick time per 12-month period as designated by EOHHS. The fee schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect at the time the earned sick time is used.

Effective January 1, 2016, PCAs are eligible to receive overtime pay in accordance with the requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act. PCA overtime pay is equal to \$0.13 per 1 minute unit, or \$7.76 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers'

TN: 016-003 Approval Date: 11/03/2016 Effective Date: 01/01/16

Supersedes: 014-016

# State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act State: Massachusetts Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates – Other Types of Care



compensation insurance.

The fee used for Transitional Living providers of personal care services is a provider specific rate established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. Such regulations are entitled: Rates for Certain Social, Rehabilitation and other Health Care Services. The regulation is published at

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf.

Each Transitional Living provider's rate is an all-inclusive per diem rate for the provision of personal care services and is based on an annual program budget, and delineates costs for direct care services and necessary administrative activities. Rate development for transitional living services includes the collection and review of service data maintained by the transitional living provider. Costs for room and board and other unallowable costs are excluded from the rate.

The table below contains the rates used for Transitional Living providers and the effective dates of the rates.

Provider Provider	Per diem rate	Effective date
Advocates, Inc., Douglas House	\$233.52	October 12, 2008
Advocates, Inc., McLaughlin House	\$277.41	August 1, 2013
	\$280.87	July 1, 2014
Advocates, Inc., Warren House	\$223.45	August 1, 2007
CCHIP House	\$190.32	July 1, 2013

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules are the same for both governmental and private providers.

TN: 016-003 Approval Date: 11/03/2016 Effective Date: 01/01/16

Supersedes: 014-016