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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
JFK Federal Building, Government Center

Room 2275
Boston, Massachusetts 02203 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations / Boston Regional Office

April 15,2015

Marylou Sudders, Secretary

Executive Office of Health and Human Services
One Ashburton Place, Room 1109

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Dear Ms. Sudders:

We are pleased to enclose a copy of approved Massachusetts State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 14-0016

submitted to CMS on 09/18/2014. This SPA was submitted to revise your approved Title XIX State plan

to update the personal care attendant wage and employer expense components of the rates. This SPA has

been approved effective 07/01/2014. )

Enclosed are copies of the following State plan pages to be incorporated within your approved State plan.
e Attachment 4.19-B, pages 3.2 and 3.2a.

If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Julie McCarthy at (617) 565-1244 or by
e-mail at Julie.McCarthy@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,
Is/
Richard R. McGreal
Associate Regional Administrator

Enclosure/s

cc: Daniel Tsai, Assistant Secretary and Director of MassHealth
Michael Coleman, State Plan Coordinator
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O F F E C E AL Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3.2
State Plan under Title XTX of the Social Security Act
State: Massachusetts

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care

u. Personal Care Services:

I. General Description of Payment Methodology

The following section describes the methods and standards utilized by the Executive Office of
Health and Human Services (EOHHS) to establish rates of payment for personal care attendant
(PCA) services. These services are described under Supplements to Attachments 3.1-A and 3.1-
B. Fee schedules are established as follows:

II. Fee Schedules

The fee schedules for Personal Care Attendant Services are established by the Executive Office of
Health and Human Services. The fees published are effective as of July 1, 2014. The regulation,
administrative bulletins, and fee schedules are published at
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf

and http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/gov/laws-regs/hhs/community-health-care-providers-ambulatory-
care.html#114 3 9

Effective July 1, 2014 the fee schedule used to pay for personal care services provided by
Personal Care Attendant providers is $3.79 per 15 minute unit, or $15.16 per hour, inclusive of
the PCA wage, employer required taxes, and workers’ compensation insurance for PCA services
provided during the day or night. Personal care attendants who are authorized by MassHealth to
work overtime or work on one of four holidays (New Year’s Day, July 4, Thanksgiving Day or
Christmas) receive premium pay in addition to regular pay, equal to $1.89 per 15 minute unit, or
$7.58 per hour, inclusive of employer required taxes and workers’ compensation insurance.

Effective July 1, 2014, EOHHS will provide a 3 hour paid Orientation for newly hired PCAs. The
fee schedule for the 3 hour Orientation is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on July 1, 2014.

Effective July 1, 2014 and annually thereafter, PCAs who worked at least 100 paid hours per
month in the three months that immediately precede July shall be credited with five hours of paid
time off (PTO). On February 1* of each year, PCAs who worked at least 100 paid hours per
month in the three months that immediately precede February shall be credited with five hours of
PTO. The fee schedule is based on the hourly PCA rate in effect on July 1, 2014.

The fee used for Transitional Living providers of personal care services is a provider specific rate
established by the Executive Office of Health and Human Services. Such regulations are entitled:
Rates for Certain Social, Rehabilitation and other Health Care Services. The regulation is
published at

http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/eohhs/eohhs-regs/114-5-4.pdf.

Each Transitional Living provider’s rate is an all-inclusive per diem rate for the provision of
personal care services and is based on an annual program budget, and delineates costs for direct
care services and necessary administrative activities. Rate development for transitional living
services includes the collection and review of service data maintained by the transitional living

TN: 014-016 Approval Date: 04/15/2015 Effective Date: 07/01/14
Supersedes: 013-014



O F F E C E AL Attachment 4.19-B
Page 3.2a
State Plan under Title XTX of the Social Security Act
State: Massachusetts

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care

provider. Costs for room and board and other unallowable costs are excluded from the rate.

The table below contains the rates used for Transitional Living providers and the effective dates

of the rates.
Provider Per diem rate Effective date
Advocates, Inc., Douglas House $233.52 October 12, 2008
$277.41 August 1, 2013
Advocates, Inc., McLaughlin House $280.87 Tuly 1, 2014
Advocates, Inc., Warren House $223.45 August 1, 2007
CHIPs House $190.32 July 1, 2013

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedules are the same for both
governmental and private providers.

TN: 014-016 Approval Date: 04/15/2015 Effective Date: 07/01/14
Supersedes: New



