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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES (M j
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, M/S S3-13-15 P e
Baltimore, MD 21244.1850 CENTERS for MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services (CMCS)

Dr. Judy Ann Bigby, Secretary

Executive Office of Health and Human Services

State of Massachusetts

One Ashburton Place MAY 81 we
Boston, MA 02108

RE: TN 11-013
Dear Dr. Bigby:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 11-013. This amendment updates the methodology used
to calculate payment rates for nursing facility services. Specifically it: applies a total increase of
$23.3 million to the current nursing facility user fee adjustment for fiscal year 2012 only; applics a
total increase of $3.7 million for an additional one-time add on payment based on each facility’s
user fee class; revises the determination of the Pediatric nursing facility rate based on 2006 cost
reports instead of the most recently filed cost report; clarifies the criteria and documentation
requirements for eligibility to receive PAP payments; and clarifies the provision for leave of
absence days.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the
implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that
Medicaid State plan amendment 11-013 is approved effective September 1, 2011. We are
enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Novena James-Hailey at (617) 565-1291.

Sincerely,

C'indy Mann
Director (CMCS)
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Attachment 4.19-D (4)
Page 1
State Plan under Title XIX of the Secial Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

General Description of Payment Methodology

A.  Overview. Nursing facility payments for services rendered to MassHealth members are
governed by the Division of Health Care Finance and Policy (DHCFP) regulation, 114.2
CMR 6.00: Standard Payments to Nursing Facilities. This attachment describes the
methods and standards used to establish payment rates for nursing facilities effective
September 1, 2011

B.  Chief Components. The payment method describes standard payments for nursing facility
services. Standard payments are derived from reported median base-year costs for Nursing
and Other Operating Costs as well as a capital payment component. Nursing and Other
Operating Standard Payment rates were calculated using Calendar Year (CY) 2005 costs
The allowable basis for capital was updated using CY 2005 data.

TN: 011-013 ApprovalDate:  MAY $1 2012  Effective Date: 09/01/11
Supersedes: 09-008
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

I Cost Reporting Requirements and Cost Finding

A‘

Required Reports. Each provider of long-term care facility services under the State Plan
must complete an annual report (the “Annual Cost Report™) containing cost information for
the cost reporting year on the basis of generally accepted accounting principles and the
accrual method of accounting. There are six reports required: a) Nursing Facility Cost
Report; b) Realty Company Cost Report; ¢) Management Company Cost Report, d)
Financial Statements, and €) Clinical Data. All cost reporting must meet the requirements
set forth in 114.2 CMR 6.08 (1) There are special cost reporting requirements for
Hospital-Based Nursing Facilities and facilities that operate other programs such as Adult
Day Health, Assisted Living or Outpatient Services. These requirements are outlined in
114.2 CMR 6.08 (2)(f)

Filing Dates: Required Reports. Except as provided below, providers must file Required
Reports for the calendar year by 5:00 PM of April 1 of the following calendar year. If
April 1 falls on a weekend or holiday, the Required Reports are due by 5.00 PM of the
following business day.

1.  Change of Ownership. Where there has been a change of ownership, the transferor
shall file the report(s) within 60 days after the transfer of ownership. Where the
transferor fails to submit the Report(s), DHCFP may request the Commonwealth’s
Medicaid program (“MassHealth Program™) to withhold payment to the transferee
until such reports are appropriately filed.

2. New Facilities and Facilities with Major Additions. For the first two calendar
years of operation, New Facilities and Facilities with Major Additions shall file year-
end Required Reports within sixty (60) days after the close of the calendar year.

3. Hospital-Based Nursing Facilities. A Hospital-Based Nursing Facility is a
separately licensed unit housed on the premises of a facility that is licensed for both
hospital and long-term care services, where the long-term care beds were converted
from licensed hospital beds or otherwise acquired. Hospital-Based Nursing Facilities
must file the Required Report(s) on a fiscal year basis that is consistent with the filing
of such facilities’ hospital cost reports. The Required Report(s) is due no later than
ninety (90) days after the close of the facility’s fiscal year.

4. Termination of Provider Contract. Whenever a provider contract between the
provider and the MassHealth program is terminated, the provider shall file reports
covering the current reporting period portion thereof covered by the contract and any
other reports required by DHCFP, within 60 days of such termination. When the
provider fails to file the Required Reports in a timely fashion, DHCFP shall notify
the provider of this failure by written notice sent registered mail, return receipt
requested.

TN: 011-013

ApprovalDate:  MAY 31 2002 Effective Date: 09/01/11

Supersedes: 09-008



Attachment 4.19-D (4)
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

S.  Appointment of Patient Protector Receiver. If a receiver is appointed pursuant to
court order under M.G.L. c. 111, 5. 72N, the provider must file the Required Reports

for the current reporting period or portion thereof within sixty (60) days of the
receiver’s appointment.

Filing Extensions. DHCFP may grant an extension, up to 30 calendar days, for submission
of the Required Report(s). Extension must: (a) be submitted in writing to DHCFP by the
provider and not by an agent or other representative; (b) show that exceptional
circumstances exist precluding the provider from submitting the Required Report(s) in
timely fashion; and (c) be submitted no later than 30 calendar days before the filing due
date.

Incomplete Submission. DHCFP shall notify the provider in writing within 120 days of
receipt of the Required Reports if it finds that the submission is incomplete and shall
specify what additional information is required to complete the submission. The provider
shall file the necessary information with DHCFP within 25 days of the date of notification
or by March 1 of the year the Required Report is filed, whichever is later. The Required
Reports and all accompanying schedules are deemed to be filed with the DHCFP as of the
date DHCFP receives complete submission.

If DHCFP fails to notify the provider within the 120-day period, the submission is
considered complete and the Required Report(s) and all accompanying schedules are
deemed to be filed with DHCFP as of the date of receipt.

Audits. DHCFP and the MassHealth program may conduct desk or field audits to ensure
accuracy and consistency in reporting. Providers must submit additional data and
documentation relating to the Required Reports, the operations of the provider and any
related party as requested, even if DHCFP has accepted such Required Reports.

Penalties for Failure to File Timely. A provider’s rate for current services will be
reduced in accordance with 114.2 CMR 6.08 (7) if the Required Reports are not filed in a
timely manner. On receipt of such Required Reports, the provider’s rate will be restored
effective on the date of report filing,

General Cost Principles. In order to report a cost as related to MassHealth patient care, a
cost must satisfy the following criteria:

1. the cost is ordinary, necessary, and directly related to the care of publicly aided
patients;

2. thecost is for goods or services actually provided in the nursing facility;
3. the cost must be reasonable; and

4.  the provider must actually pay the cost.

TN: 011-013

ApprovalDate:  MAY 8120 geroctive Date: 000111

Supersedes: 09-008
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

Costs that are not considered related to the care of MassHealth patients include, but are not
limited to: costs that are discharged in bankruptcy; costs that are forgiven; costs that are
converted to a promissory note; and accruals of self-insured costs that are based on

actuarial estimates.
A provider may not report any of the costs that are listed in 114.2 CMR 6.08 (3) (h) as
related to MassHealth patient care.

TN: 011-013 ApprovalDate:  MAY 81 2012 Effective Date: 09/01/11

Supersedes: 09-008



Attachment 4.19-D(4)
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

1I1. Methods and Standards Used to Determine Payment Rates

A.

Prospective Per Diem Rates. The prospective per diem payment rates for nursing
facilities are derived from the Nursing, Other Operating, and Capital payment components.
Each of these components is described in detail in the following sections.

Nursing Cost. The following Nursing Standard Payments (per diem) comnprise the Nursing
Cost component of the prospective per diem payment rates for nursing facilities.

Nursing Standard
Payment Group Management Minute Range Payment

H 0-30 $14.08

JK 30.1-110 $37.55

LM 110.1 - 170 $65.72

NP 170.1 - 225 $95.76

RS 225.1-270 $116.69

T 270.1 & above $137.60

The base year used to develop the Nursing Standard Payments is 2005. Nursing costs
reported in CY 2005 in the following categories are included in the calculation: Director of
Nurses, Registered Nurses, Licensed Practical Nurses, Nursing Aides, Nursing Assistants,
Orderlies, Nursing Purchased Services, Director of Nurses and Nursing Workers’
Compensation, Payroll Tax, and Fringe Benefits, including Pension Expense. The Nursing
Standard Payments are derived from the product of the industry CY 2005 median nursing
costs times the CY 2005 industry median management minutes for each of six payment
groups listed 114.2 CMR 6.04 (1) Appendix A. The base year amounts for each group are
updated to rate year 2007 by a cost adjustment factor of 6.49%.This cost adjustment factor

is based on Massachusetts-specific CPI forecasts as well as national and regional indices
supplied by Global Insight, Inc.

Other Operating Cost. The Other Operating Cost Standard Payment (per diem)
comprises the other operating component of the prospective per diem payment rates for
nursing facilities. The Other Operating Standard Payment, effective September 1, 2009, is
$71.73.

TN: 011-013

Approvaiate: MY S 202 po e Date: 000111

Supersedes: 09-008
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

The base year used to develop the Other Operating Standard Payment of $71.73 is CY
2005. Other operating costs reported in CY 2005 in the following categories are included
in the calculation: variable, administrative and general, and motor vehicle costs. The Other
Operating Standard Payment is set equal to the CY 2005 industry median of these cost
amounts, except for administrative and general costs, which are subject to a ceiling of
$17.99 before combining with other cost components. The calculation of the Other
Operating Standard Payment is reduced by 3.17% to exclude non-allowable reported costs.
The allowable base-year amount is updated by a CAF of 6.49%. This cost adjustment
factor is based on Massachusetts-specific CPI forecasts as well as national and regional
indices supplied by Global Insight, Inc.

D. Capital. The Capital component is computed in accordance with 114.2 CMR 6.05

1. Capital Payments. Capital payments for all facilities except for those identified in
D.2 below, shall be based on the facility’s allowable capital costs, including
allowable depreciation, financing contribution and other fixed costs.

(@) If a facility’s capital payment effective July 31, 2007 is less than $17.29, its
capital payment will be the greater of its July 31, 2007 capital payment or the

payment determined as follows:
- Capital Payment

$0.00 - $4.00 $4.45
$ 4.01-3%6.00 $6.18
$ 6.01-58.00 $8.15
$ 8.01 -8$10.00 $10.13
$10.01 - $12.00 $12.11
$12.01 - 14.00 $14.08
$14.01 - $16.00 ) $16.06
$16.01 - $17.29 $17.29
$17.30 - $18.24 ' $18.24
$18.25 - $20.25 $20.25
>§$20.25 $22.56

(b) If a facility’s revised capital payment effective July 31, 2007 is greater than or
equal to $17.29, the facility’s revised capital payment will equal its July 31, 2007
capital payment.

(¢) If a provider re-licensed beds during the rate period that were out of service, its
capital payment will be the lower (1) the capital payment rate established under
114.2 CMR 6.05(2)(c) or (2) the facility’s most recent capital payment rates.

(d) If a provider’s capital payment is based on a DON approved prior to March 7,
1996 and the provider receives a temporary capital payment in accordance with
6.05 (4) (b) (3), the provider’s capital payment will be revised in accordance with
6.05 (4) (b) (4). :

TN: 011-013 Approval Date: . Effective Date: 09/01/11
Supersedes: 09-008 MAY 31 2012



Attachment 4.19-D(4)
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Social Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

Capital Payments Exceptions. The capital payment for new facilities constructed
pursuant to a Determination of Need approved after March 7, 1996; replacement
facilities that open pursuant to a Determination of Need approved after March 7,
1996; new facilities in urban under bedded areas that are exempt from the
Determination of Need process; new beds that are licensed pursuant to a
Determination of Need approved after March 7, 1996; new beds in twelve-bed
expansion projects not associated with an approved Determination of Need project;
hospital-based nursing facilities; and private nursing facilities that sign their first
provider agreement on or after September 1, 2004 shall be as follows:

Date that New Facilities & Licensed Beds Pﬁyment Amount
became Operational

Prior to 2/1/1998 ( for Hospital based NFs Only) $17.29

02/01/1998 - 12/31/2000 $17.29

01/01/2001 - 06/30/2002 $18.24

07/01/2002 - 12/31/2002 $20.25

01/01/2003 - 08/31/2004 $20.25

09/01/2004 - 06/30/2006 $22.56

07/01/2006 - 07/31/2007 $25.82

08/01/2007 - 07/31/2008 $27.30

08/01/2008 - forward $28.06

Notification of Substantial Capital Expenditures. Any nursing facility that opens,
adds new beds, adds substantial renovations, or re-opens beds after September 1,
2004, is required to notify DHCFP in accordance with 114.2 CMR 6.05 (4) (a) At
that time, the Capital component may be recomputed in accordance with 114.2 CMR
6.05 (4) (b)

E. Retroactive Adjustments. DHCFP will retroactively adjust the Capital Payment
component of the rates if HCFP learns that there was a material error in the rate calculation or
if a nursing facility made a material error in its cost report. A matenal error is any error that
would result in a change to a provider’s rate.

TN: 011-013
Supersedes: 09-008

ApprovalDate: Ay 81 2012 Effective Date: 09/01/11



Attachment 4.19-D(4)
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Sccial Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

Iv. Special Conditions

A.

Innovative and Special Programs. The MassHealth program may contract for special
and/or innovative programs to meet special needs of certain patients, which are not
ordinarily met by existing services in nursing facilities. Currently, these programs include
programs for patients with traumatic brain injury, mental illness and medical illness
(MIMTI’s), technologic dependency, as well as a program for nursing facilities that have a
substantial concentration of patients of the highest acuity level (i.e., Management Minute
Category T).

Rate for Innovative and Special Programs. A provider who seeks to participate in an

innovative and special program must contract with the MassHealth program to provide
special care and services to distinct categories of patients designated by the MassHealth
program. This is usually done through a Request for Responses by the MassHealth
program for special or innovative programs to address special needs of certain patients that
are not ordinarily met by existing services in nursing facilities. Payment under the
innovative and special programs may be calculated based on the added reasonable and
necessary costs and expenses that must be incurred (as determined by the MassHealth
program) by a provider in connection with that program. The provider must verify that
such ‘items or services are furnished because of the special needs of the patients treated as
contemplated in the contract with the MassHealth Program, and that such items or services
are reasonable and appropriate in the efficient delivery of necessary health care. The rate
for an innovative and special program may be established as an add-on to a rate established
by DHCFP under 114.2 CMR 6.00 or as a stand-alone rate established by contract under
M.G.L. c. 118E, §12 that is not subject to the provisions of 114.2 CMR 6.00 . In either
instance, the rate must be consistent with the payment methodology established herein for
long-term care facilities. In the event that the special program is located within a special

unit, the remaining costs of the unit are to be integrated into the cost report for the entire

facility.

Facilities with High-Acuity High-Nursing Need Residents. A provider whose resident
population primarily and consistently consists of high-acuity high-nursing need residents
such that the aggregate need of the entire population requires a staffing level significantly
greater than a typical nursing facility may be reimbursed as a special program, in which
case the increment added to the facility’s rate may apply to all residents of the facility and
will be calculated based on allowable costs associated with the higher care needs of the
patients. In order to be eligible for reimbursement under this paragraph, a nursing facﬂlty
must meet each of the following criteria:

TN: 011-013

Supersedes: 09-008
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Secial Security Act
State. Massachusetts
Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

1.  at least ninety percent (90%) of its residents must have Management Minute (“MM”)
scores that fall in either MM category 9 or 10 and at least seventy-five percent (75%)
of its residents must have MM scores that fall in MM category 10; or (ii) the facility
must be a former acute hospital that has undergone conversion to a nursing facility
under the auspices of the Massachusetts Acute Hospital Conversion Board;

2.  the mean MM score for all residents of the facility in MM category 10 must be at
least fifteen percent (15%) higher than the minimum score needed to qualify for MM
category 10; and

3.  the facility must be a geriatric nursing facility.

Pediatric Nursing Facilities. ~DHCFP will determine payments to facilities licensed to
provide pediatric nursing facility services using allowable reported costs for nursing and
other .operating costs, excluding administration and general costs, from the facility's2006
Cost Report. DHCFP will include an administration and general payment based on 85% of
2005 median statewide administration and general costs. DHCFP will apply an appropriate
cost adjustment factor to nursing, other operating, and administration and general costs.

The nursing and other operating component of the rate is increased by a cost adjustment

factor of 3.89%. This factor is derived from a composite market basket. The labor
component on the market basket is the Massachusetts Consumer Price Index, optimistic
forecast, as provided by Global Insight. The non-labor component is based on the CMS
Skilled Nursing Facility without capital market basket, except for the Food and Health Care
Services subcomponents, which are based on the Regional CPI for New England, as
published by Global Insight.

Beds Out of Service. Facilities with licensed beds that were out of service prior to 2001
that re-open in 2001 will receive the lower of the Standard Payment rates or the most recent
prior payment rates adjusted by the applicable CAF for Nursing and Other Operating Costs.

Legislative Mandate for Rate Relief. A nursing facility with the following conditions shall
have all of its variable costs and nursing cots recognized by DHCFP and its MassHealth rate
adjusted accordingly:

(i)  with rate of public utilization consisting of Medicare, MassHealth, and Commission for
the Blind patients, of ninety percent or more;

(i) located in the service area of a federally designated sole community hospital; and

(iii) with more than 10% of its variable costs and nursing costs disallowed by DHCFP
pursuant to 114.2 CMR 5.00 or any successor regulations.

DHCFP shall adjust the prospective rates for any nursing home that meets the aforementioned
criteria for the rates that were effective January 1, 1994, and for each succeeding rate year that
such nursing home complies with aforementioned criteria. The amount of variable costs and
nursing costs recognized as allowable by DHCFP for any rate for a nursing home is limited to an
amount that will not increase costs to MassHealth in an amount greater than $3,000.

TN: 011-013

Supersedes: 09-008
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State Plan under Title XIX of the Secial Security Act

State. Massachusetts

Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained in this paragraph, in no case shall the
provisions of this paragraph apply to any services rendered prior to February 1, 1998.

Any nursing facility that meets all of either the standards set forth in either Alternative A or
Alternative B below shall have its total acquisition costs allowed as the allowable basis of fixed
assets, notwithstanding any limits on the same that appear elsewhere in this State Plan, when the
MassHealth program calculates the facility’s payment rates. This provision shall only apply to
services rendered on or after February 1, 1998.

a. Alternative A

The owner purchased the nursing home on or after January 1, 1987.

The owner has received a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service
that it is an organization described in section 501 (c) (3) of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1986.

The owner (i) owns a nonprofit hospital (the “Hospital”) located within the
Commonwealth of Massachusetts that is licensed by the Department of Public
Health or (ii) is a nonprofit organization affiliated with a nonprofit hospital that is
organized and operated for the benefit of, to perform one or more functions of, or
to carry out one or more of the purposes of the nonprofit hospital it is affiliated
with, including operation of freestanding nursing homes licensed by the
Department of Public Health.

The owner’s patient population is, on average, not less than 85% MassHealth
recipients.

The Hospital has, on average, not less than 80% occupancy of medical or
surgical beds.

When the owner purchased the nursing facility (i) the change of ownership did
not occur between a person or organization that is associated or affiliated with or
has control of or is controlled by the owner or is related to the owner or any
director, trustee, partner, shareholder, or administrator of the owner by common
ownership or control or in manner specified in section 267 (b) and (c) of the
Internal Revenue Code of 1986; (ii) the change of ownership was made for
reasonable consideration; (iii) the change in ownership was a bona fide transfer
of all powers and indicia of ownership; and (iv) the change of ownership
manifested an intent to sell the assets of the facility rather than implement a
method of financing or refinancing.

b. Alternative B

The owner acquired the nursing facility from an acute care hospital to operate the
facility pursuant to relief granted to the acute care hospital by the Acute Care
Hospital Conversion Board pursuant to M.G.L. c.6A, s.101.

The Acute Care Hospital Conversion Board approved the owner’s acquisition

TN: 011-013
Supersedes: 09-008
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Methods for Establishing Payment Rates - Nursing Facilities

costs of the facility.

e On average, no less than 85% of the nursing facility’s patient population is
MassHealth recipients.

G. Receivership under M.G.L. C.111 5.72N ef seg. In accordance with 114.2 CMR 6.06
(10), effective January 1, 2000 provider rates of a nursing facility in receivership may be
adjusted by DHCFP to reflect the reasonable and necessary costs associated with the court-
approved closure of the facility.

H Review and Approval of Rates and Rate Methodology by the MassHealth program.
Pursuant to M.G.L ¢ 118E, s.13, the MassHealth program shall review and approve or
disapprove any change in rates or in rate methodology proposed by DHCFP. The
MassHealth program shall review such proposed rate changes for consistency with state
policy and federal requirements, and with the available funding authorized in the final
budget for each fiscal year prior to certification of such rates by DHCFP. The MassHealth
program shall, whenever it disapproves a rate increase, submit the reasons for disapproval
to DHCFP together with such recommendations for changes. Such disapproval and
recommendations for changes, if any, are submitted to DHCFP after the MassHealth
program is notified that DHCFP intends to propose a rate increase for any class of provider
under Title XIX but in no event later than the date of the public hearing held by DHCFP
regarding such rate change; provided that no rates shall take effect without the approval of
the MassHealth program. DHCFP and the MassHealth program shall provide
documentation on the reasons for increases in any class of approved rates that exceed the
medical component of the consumer price index to the Massachusetts House and Senate
Committees on Ways and Means.

I.  Statistical Information from DHCFP. DHCFP shall supply the MassHealth program
with all statistical information necessary to carry out the MassHealth Program’s review
responsibilities under this Section.

J  Supplemental Funding. If projected payments from rates necessary to conform to
applicable requirements of Title XIX are estimated by the MassHealth program to exceed
the amount of funding appropriated for such purpose in the budget for the fiscal year, the
MassHealth program and DHCFP shall jointly prepare and submit to the Governor a
proposal for the minimum amount of supplemental funding necessary to satisfy the
requirements of the State Plan developed by the MassHealth program under Title XIX of
the federal Social Security Act.

TN: 011-013 Approval Date: jjAY 81 2012 Effective Date: 09/01/11
Supersedes: 09-008
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Appeals. A provider may file an appeal at the Division of Administrative Law Appeals of
any rate established pursuant to 114.2 CMR 6.00 within 30 calendar days after DHCFP
files the rate with the State Secretary. DHCFP may amend a rate or request additional
information from the provider even if the provider has filed a pending appeal.

Department of Developmental Services (DDS) Requirements. As part of the per diem
rate calculation, an adjustment to the per diem rate will be calculated under 114.2 CMR
6.06(6) for nursing facilities that serve persons with mental retardation and developmental
disabilities and that maintain clinical and administrative procedures in a manner that
complements DDS interdisciplinary service planning activities.

1. Eligibility. Eligible facilities are those identified by DMR as providers of care to
nursing facility residents with mental retardation or developmental disabilities as of
July 25, 2003. A facility may become ineligible for the allowance and its calculated
per diem add-on may be rescinded if the facility fails to comply with DDS
interdisciplinary service planning requircments.

2.  Total Add-On Allowance Amount. The total allowance amount to be allocated to
all eligible facilities be equal to the number of Medicaid eligible residents identified
by DMR as of June 14, 2007 as having mental retardation or developmental
disabilities, times $3.00, times 366 days.

3. - Add-On Calculation. The per diem amount to be included in the payment rate for an
eligible facility is calculated by dividing the total add-on allowance amount
calculated above by the product of:

a.  Current licensed bed capacity for the rate period, times 366,
b.  Reported 2005 actual utilization percentage, times
c.  Reported 2005 Medicaid utilization percentage

Kosher Kitchens. Pursuant to Chapter 149 of the Acts of 2004, nursing facilities with
kosher kitchen and food service operations shall receive an add-on of up to $ 5.00 per day
to reflect any additional cost of these operations. Eligibility requirements and determination
of payment amounts are described in section 114.2 CMR 6.06 (4)
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N. Annualization Adjustment. This adjustment modifies nursing facility per diem rate
increases to make prospective payments for reasonable costs of nursing facility over the
expected duration of the rate period, rather than the customary July 1 State Fiscal Year
(SFY) start date. The adjustment is applied solely to the per diem rates paid for the dates of
service beginning on and after August 1, 2007. The adjustment is computed under 114.2
CM 6.06 (7)

O. Large Medicaid Provider Add-On. The payment of this add-on amount is contingent on
Medicaid utilization in nursing facilities. In the event that Medicaid utilization is reduced
in a fiscal year, an add-on payment is calculated based on the amount of authorized funds
remaining in the Health Care Quality Improvement Trust Fund account at the close of the
fiscal year. Funds in the account are authorized legislatively for Medicaid payments to
nursing facilities. In the event that Medicaid utilization does not decline, no add-on
payment is made.

The method of this add-on, which is unchanged from prior years and is contained in
Appendix A:

(5) Large Medicaid Provider Payment. Subject to available funding, a facility will be
eligible for a Large Medicaid Provider Payment as follows.
(a) Eligibility. A facility will be eligible for payment if:

1. The facility had at least 188 licensed beds

2. the facility’s 2002 Medicaid days divided by total patient days, as report in

its 2002 HCF-1, was equal to or greater than 70% and

3. the facility received a score of at least 123 on the Department’s Nursing

Facility Survey Performance Tool as received by the Division on March
25,2005
(b) Calculation of Payment. The Division will calculate the amount of the payment
received by each eligible facility as follows:

1. The Division will divide the number of reported 2002 Medicaid days for
each eligible facility by the total number of Medicaid days in all eligible
facilities
The Division will multiply the resulting percentage by $3,198,812
The Division will divide the amount calculated above by the product of:

a. current licensed bed capacity for the rate period, times 365, times
b. reported 2002 Actual Utilization, time

c. reported 2002 Medicaid Utilization

(¢) The amount will be included as add-on to each Provider’s rate.

we
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P.

State-operated Nursing Facilities. A Facility operated by the Commonwealth will be

paid at the Facility’s reasonable cost of providing covered Medicaid services to eligible
Medicaid recipients.

(a) DHCFP will establish an Interim per diem rate using a FY06 base year CMS-2540
cost report inflated to the rate year using the cost adjustment factor calculated pursuant to
(b) below,

(b) DHCFP will use a 5.19% cost adjustment factor for the period FY06 through FY08
using a composite index using price level data from the CMS Nursing Home without
capital forecast, and regional health care consumer price indices, and the Massachusetts-
specific consumer price index (CPI), optimistic forecast. DHCFP will use the
Massachusetts CPI as proxy for wages and salaries.

(c) DHCFP will retroactively adjust the final settled amount when the Medicare CMS-
2540 cost report is re-opened or for audit adjustments. Adjustments will be made on an
annual basis to update the base year and cost adjustment factor with the most recent
data. '

Publicly-operated Nursing Facilities. Effective September 1, 2009, the payment of this
add-on amount is contingent upon overall Medicaid utilization in nursing facilities. In the
event that overall Medicaid utilization is reduced in a fiscal year, an add-on payment is
calculated based on the funds in the Health Care Quality Improvement Trust Fund
Account at the close of the fiscal year. Funds in the account are authorized legislatively for
Medicaid payments to nursing facilities. In the event that overall Medicaid utilization
does not decline, no add-on payment is made. Nursing facilities will be eligible for an add-
on if they are owned and operated by a town, city or state government entity. The add-on
will be calculated as follows:

(a) will divide the number of reported 2002 Medicaid days for each eligible
~ facility by the total number of Medicaid days in all eligible facilities.

(b) will multiply the resulting percentage by the sum of the total add-on
payments
(c) will divide the amount calculated by the product of:
1. current licensed bed capacity for the rate period, times 365, times
2. reported 2003 Actual Utilization times
3. reported 2002 Medicaid Utilization
(d) This amount will be included as an add-on to the rates established by DHCFP
under 114.2 CMR 6.06 (9). ‘
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R. Nursing Facility Pay for Performance Incentive Payments

(1) General. An incentive payment will be calculated for nursing facilities through the
Nursing Facility Pay for Performance (P4P) Program. Incentive Payments are calculated
subject to the following criteria.

(a) Criteria: To be eligible for any P4P incentive payment, a nursing facility
must:
1. be enrolled as a MassHealth Nursing Facility for at least one day
between September 1, 2011, and June 30, 2012;
2. have at least one paid MassHealth day during the Measurement Year
of FY 2012 (September 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012);
3. not be designated by CMS as a Special Focus Nursing Facility and
4, not have an immediate jeopardy designation by the Massachusetts
Department of Public Health.

(b) SFY 2012 Incentive Payments:

(1) SFY 2012 incentive payments will be made on a pro rata basis to nursing
facilities who demonstrate that they meet the threshold criteria described above
and:

Provide documentation on or before March 20, 2012, to the MassHealth
Office of long Term Care Services and Support-that includes all pertinent
information and data documenting the existence of the:

o nursing facility’s consistent staff assignment policy and

o nursing facility’s cooperative effort policy.

(2) For SFY 2012, the sum of all Pay for Performance incentive payments will be
$2.8M and will be paid to all Nursing Facilities that meet the general eligibility
criteria described in 114.2 CMR 6.07 (2) and attain performance measures in the
Nursing Facility Pay for Performance program.
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Certification of Public Expenditures of a Nursing Facility owned and operated by a
municipality.

1. Within 60 days after the filing of its Medicare CMS-2540 cost report, a nursing
facility, -which is owned and operated by a municipality, may submit a request for
Certified Public Expenditures (CPE) to the Division of Health Care Finance and Policy
(DHCFP). This CPE will account for its public expenditures of providing Medicaid
services to eligible Medicaid recipients. The submission shall be based on the_inpatient
routine service cost reported on the 2540 Medicare cost report.

2. Following review of the facility’s submission, DHCFP within 60 days of the
submission, will approve, deny, or revise the amount of the Certified Public Expenditure
request based upon its evaluation of the reported costs and payments. The final approved
amount will be equal to the difference between the Medicaid interim payments and the
total allowable Medicaid costs as determined by DHCFP and this final determined
amount will be certified by the municipality as eligible for federal match.

3. Interim Payments are based on the reimbursement methodology contained in Section
III of the State plan Attachment 4.19 - D (4).
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4. The determination of allowable (CPE) Medicaid costs will be based on the Medicare
CMS - 2540 Cost Report and will be determined on a per diem rate calculated as
follows:

L Skilled Nursing Facility Inpatient Routine Service Costs

(A) Total Allowable Costs - Worksheet B, Part I, Line /6, Column 18
(B) Total Days - Worksheet S-3, Line 1, Column 7

(C) Per Diem Rate - (A)/(B)

(D) Medicaid Days - Worksheet S-3, Line 1, Column 5

(E) Medicaid Allowable Skilled Nursing Facility Costs - (C) X (D)

II. Nursing Facility Inpatient Service Costs

(A) Total Allowable Costs - Worksheet B, Part I, Line /8, Column 18
(B) Total Days - Worksheet S-3, Line 3, Column 7

(C) Per Diem Rate - (A)/(B)

(D) Medicaid Days - Worksheet S-3, Line 3, Column 5

(E) Medicaid Allowable Nursing Facility Costs - (C) X (D)

I Total Allowable Medicaid Costs

1 (E) Skilled Nursing Facility Inpatient Costs + II (E) Nursing Facility Inpatient Costs

5. An interim reconciliation will be computed by the Division of Health Care Finance and
Policy based on the difference between the interim payments and total allowable Medicaid
costs from the as filed CMS - 2540 Cost Report. When the CMS-2540 is reopened the facility
must immediately notify the Division of Health Care Finance and Policy. Within 60 days
after receiving notification of the final Medicare settlement the Division will retroactively
adjust the final settlement amount.

Leaves of Absence.

(a) For the purposes of a medical leave of absence for Medicaid eligible residents, a facility
must ensure that the bed in the facility occupied by said resident before the hospitalization
will be available upon the return of said resident from an inpatient acute hospital stay for a
period of not less than ten (10) days. .

(b) The current payment rate for medical or non-medical leave of absence is $80.10 per
day.
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V. 2002 State Legislative Changes

1.

Nursing Facility Assessments. An adjustment to nursing facility
payment rates is established, effective October 1, 2002, to reimburse
participating MassHealth nursing facilities for the providers’ assessment
costs that are incurred for the care of MassHealth members only,
reflecting a portion of the providers' total assessment costs. No
reimbursement is made for the providers’ assessment costs that are
incurred for the care of privately paying residents or others who are not
MassHealth members.

The rate adjustments for the Nursing Facility Assessment (User Fee)
reflect Medicaid’s partial share of the tax costs as an allowable cost for
purposes of developing Medicaid payment rates and do not provide for a
hold harmless arrangement with providers.

(2) Except as provided in section V.1. (b) below, the user fee adjustment will be based on the
Nursing Facility Class under 114.5 CMR 12.04, as follows:

1 $1547
2 $1.55
3 $1.55
4 0

(b) In accordance with the provisions of section 139 of Chapter 68 of the Acts of 2011,

for the period from September 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012, the user fee adjustment
will be as follows: ‘

1 $18.41
2 $1.84
3 $1.84
4 0
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(c) A prior rate period may be recertified to exclude this add-on if the Nursing Facility
fails to incur the cost of the Nursing Facility user fee assessment within 120 days of
the assessment due date.

(d) The add-on amount may be adjusted to reflect a change in the amount of the Nursing
Facility user fee assessment under 114.5 CMR 12.04

2. FY 2012 Rate Add-on. In accordance with the provisions of Section 139 of
Chapter 68 of the Acts of 2011, for the period from September 1, 2011 through June
30, 2012, Nursing Facility payments will include a rate add-on based on the Nursing
Facility class established under 114.5 CMR 12.04, as listed below. The add-on will not
be included in the Residential Care rates.

Nursing Facility | FY 2012 Add-on .
Class Amount ‘
1 $0.26
2 $2.91
3 $2.91
4 $3.20

3.  Multiple Sclerosis Primary Diagnosis. In accordance with the provisions of St. 2002, c.
184, §180, as amended by St. 2002, c. 300, §43, and Chapter 151 of the Acts of 1996, a rate
add-on is computed, for eligible nursing facilities that serve a patient population of which
more than 75% of the residents have a primary diagnosis of multiple sclerosis to reflect the
difference between the standard payment amounts for nursing and the actual base year
pursing costs of the eligible nursing facility. Therefore, an eligible nursing facility would get
full recognition of its actual base year nursing costs in its rates.
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V1. Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded (ICFs/MR)

Payments for services provided by Intermediate Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded to
publicly assisted residents are governed by the Division of Health Care Finance and Policy
(DHCFP) regulation, 114.1 CMR 29.00: Rate and Charge Determination for Certain Intermediate
Care Facilities for the Mentally Retarded Operated by the Department of Mental Retardation,
effective October 1, 2002 .
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