## **Table of Contents**

State/Territory Name: Louisiana

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 16-0021

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved Page

## DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



## NOV 04 2016

Mrs. Jen Steele, Director Bureau of Health Services Financing Department of Health and Hospitals Post Office Box 91030 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030

RE: Louisiana 16-0021

Dear Mrs. Steele:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 16-0021. This amendment proposes to revise the pass through component of the Nursing Facility reimbursement methodology to reflect the increase in provider fees. The Medicaid nursing facility provider fee increased from \$10.00 to \$12.08.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C.

Based upon the information provided by the State, Medicaid State plan amendment 16-0021 is approved effective September 1, 2016. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the new plan page.

If you have any questions, please call Tamara Sampson at (214) 767-6431.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director

**Enclosures** 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICE	S FORM APPROVED	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION  TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	OMB NO. 0938-0193 2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL		2. SIAIE
STATE FLAN WATERIAL	16-0021	Louisiana
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	Santambar 1 2016	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	September 1, 2016	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
□ NEW STATE PLAN □ AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN ☑ AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME		amendment)
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	00.040.7#
42 CFR 447 Subpart C	a. FFY 2016 b. FFY 2017	\$8,948.65 \$8,544.41
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	
Attachment 4.19-D, Page 9.a.	Same (TN 13-15)	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: The purpose of this SPA is to amend the provisions governing nursing facilities reimbursement to include the provider fee increase in the nursing facility pass through rate.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):  ☐ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT ☐ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED ☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	☑ OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:  The Governor does not review	v state plan material.
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
	Jen Steele, Medicaid Director	r
13. TYPED NAME:	State of Louisiana	
Rebekah E. Gee MD, MPH	Department of Health	
14. TITLE:	1201 Capitol Access Road	
Secretary	PO Box 91030	
15. DATE SUBMITTED: September 27, 2016	Baton Rouge, LA 70821-903	10
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	10 TO LOTE LANDOTTED	^^4A
September 27, 2016	18. DATE APPROVED: NOV 04	2016
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED		
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20 SIGNATURE OF RECIONAL OFFI	TIAL:
September 1, 2016	100012	
21. TYPED NAME:	22. TITLE:	
Mristin FAN	Director, FMC	
23. REMARKS:	·	

project will be determined by dividing the cost of the renovation/improvement project by the accumulated depreciation per bed of the facility's existing beds immediately before the renovation/improvement project The equivalent number of new beds will be used to determine the weighted average age of all beds for this facility.

Major renovation/improvement costs must be documented through cost reports, depreciation schedules, construction receipts or other auditable records. Costs must be capitalized in compliance with the Medicare provider reimbursement manual in order to be considered in a major renovation/improvement project The cost of the project shall only include the cost of items placed into service during a time period not to exceed the previous 24 months prior to a re-aging. Entities that also provide non-nursing facility services or conduct other non-nursing facility business activities must allocate their renovation cost between the nursing facility and non-nursing facility business activities. Documentation must be provided to the Department or its designee to substantiate the accuracy of the allocation of cost. If sufficient documentation is not provided, the renovation/improvement project will not be used to re-age the nursing facility.

Weighted average age changes as a result of replacements/ improvements and/or new bed additions must be requested by written notification to the Department prior to the rate effective date of the change and separate from the annual cost report. The written notification must include sufficient documentation as determined the Department. All valid requests will become part of the quarterly case-mix FRV rate calculation beginning January 1, 2007.

## iv. Pass-Through Component of the Rate.

The nursing facility's per diem property tax and property insurance cost is determined by dividing the facility's property tax and property insurance cost during the base year cost reporting period by the facility's actual total resident days. These costs shall be trended forward from the midpoint of the facility's base year cost report period to the midpoint of the rate year using the index factor. The pass through rate is the sum of the facility's per diem property tax and property insurance cost trended forward plus the provider fee determined by the Department of Health and Hospitals.

Effective July 1, 2007, an add-on amount of \$8.02 shall be added to each facility's per diem rate in order to reimburse providers for Medicaid's share of the costs associated with payment of provider fees.

Effective March 1, 2013, an add-on amount of \$10.00 shall be added to each facility's per diem rate in order to reimburse providers for Medicaid's share of the costs associated with payment of provider fees.

Effective September 1, 2016, the pass through rate shall be increased as a result of the provider fee increase on nursing facility days from \$10.00 per day up to \$12.08 per day per occupied bed.

State: Louisiana

Date Received: September 27, 2016
Date Approved: NOV 0 4 2006
Date Effective: September 1, 2016
Transmittal Number: 16-0021

TN 16-0021 Supersedes TN 13-15 Approval Date NOV 0.4 2016

Effective Date 9-1-2016