Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: Louisiana

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 12-08

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S3-14-28 Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850



Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services

Mr. Don Gregory, Director Bureau of Health Services Financing Department of Health and Hospitals Post Office Box 91030 Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030

JUN 18 2012

Attention:

Darlene York

RE: Louisiana 12-08

Dear Mr. Gregory:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 12-08. The purpose of this amendment is to reduce the nursing facilities rate in effect on June 30, 2012 by \$32.37, followed by a rebasing of the rate effective July 1, 2012.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. As part of the review process the State was asked to provide information regarding funding of the State share of expenditures under Attachment 4.19-D. Based upon your assurances, Medicaid State plan amendment 12-08 is approved effective July 1, 2012. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan page.

If you have any questions, please call Sandra Dasheiff, CPA at (214) 767-6490.

Sincerely,

Cindy Mann

Director

Center for Medicaid and CHIP Services

Enclosures

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92) * Pen and ink changes requested by Keydra Singleton, Medicaid Program Manager, on 6/7/12 and 6/11/12.

v. Adjustment to the Rate

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2004, for state fiscal year 2005 and state fiscal year 2006, each private nursing facility's per diem case mix adjusted rate shall be reduced by \$0.85.

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2005, for state fiscal year 2006 only, each private nursing facility's per diem case mix adjusted rate shall be reduced by \$2.99.

Effective for dates of service on or after January 1, 2006, the previous reduction of \$2.99 in each private nursing facility's per diem case mix adjusted rate is restored for the remainder of state fiscal year 2006.

In the event the Department is required to implement reductions in the nursing facility program as a result of a budget shortfall, a budget reduction category shall be created. This category shall reduce the statewide average Medicaid rate, without changing the established parameters, by reducing the reimbursement rate paid to each nursing facility using an equal amount per patient day.

- Effective for dates of service on or after January 22, 2010, the case-mix adjusted nursing facility rate of each non-State nursing facility shall be reduced by \$1.95 per day (1.5 percent of the per diem rate on file as of January 21, 2010) until such time as the rate is rebased on July 1, 2010.
- (2) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, the per diem rate paid to non-state nursing facilities shall be reduced by an amount equal to 10.52 percent of the non-state owned nursing facilities statewide average daily rate in effect on June 30, 2010 until such time as the rate is rebased on July 1, 2010.
- (3) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2010, the per diem reimbursement for non-state nursing facilities shall be reduced by an amount equal to 4.8 percent of the non-state owned nursing facilities statewide average daily rate on file as of July 1, 2010 (as described in Attachment 4.19-D, §I.C.2.v (2)) until such time as the rate is rebased on July 1, 2010.
- (4) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2011, the per diem reimbursement for non-state nursing facilities, excluding the provider fee, shall be reduced by \$26.98 of the rate on file as of June 30, 2011 (as described in Attachment 4.19-D, §I.C.2.v.(3)) until such time as the rate is rebased on July 1, 2011.

TN# 12-08 Approval Date JUN 1 8 2012 Effective Date 07-01-12
Supersedes
TN# 11-24

- (5) Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, the per diem reimbursement for non-state nursing facilities, excluding the provider fee, shall be reduced by \$32.37 of the rate on file as of June 30, 2012 (as described in Attachment 4.19-D, §I.C.2.v.(4)) until such time as the rate is rebased on July 1, 2012.
- d. All capitalized costs related to the installation or extension of supervised automatic fire sprinkler systems or two-hour walls placed in service on or after July 1, 2006 will be excluded from the renovation/improvement costs used to calculate the FRV to the extent the nursing home is reimbursed for said costs in accordance with section 6.