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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12 ‘ M s

Balﬂmore’ Malyland 21244-1850 CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAII SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
December 18, 2019

Adam Proffitt, State Medicaid Director

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Division of Health Care Finance

Landon State Office Building

900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N

Topeka, KS 66612-1220

RE: Kansas SPA 19-0017
Dear Mr. Proffitt:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 19-0017. This amendment rebases Nursing Facility and
Nursing Facility for Mental Health payment rates for state fiscal year 2020. This SPA also updates
charts and exhibits with the State plan that demonstrate the revised factors and limits applicable to
the rate period beginning with SFY 2020.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State
plan amendment 19-0017 is approved effective July 1, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and
the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429.
Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4,19D
Part 1
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report information from the old and new operators shall be combined to prepare a
12-month calendar year end cost report.

Projected Cost Reports:

The filing of projected cost reports are limited to: 1) newly constructed facilities;
2) existing facilities new to the Medicaid program; or 3) a provider re-entering the
Medicaid program that has not actively participated or billed services for 24 months or
more. The requirements are found in K.A.R. 129-10-17.

2) Rate Determination

Rates for Existing Nursing Facilities

Medicaid rates for Kansas NFs are determined using a prospective, facility-
specific rate-setting system. The rate is determined from the base cost data submitted by
the provider. The current base cost data is the combined calendar year cost data from
each available report submitted by the current provider during 2016, 2017, and 2018.

If the current provider has not submitted a calendar year report during the base
cost period, the cost data submitted by the previous provider for that same period will be
used as the base cost data. Once the provider completes their first 24 months in the
program, their first calendar year cost report will become the provider’s base cost data.

The allowable expenses are divided into three cost centers. The cost centers are
Operating, Indirect Health Care and Direct Health Care. They are defined in K.A.R. 129-
10-18.

The allowable historic per diem cost is determined by dividing the allowable
resident related expenses in each cost center by resident days. Before determining the per
diem cost, each year’s cost data is adjusted from the midpoint of that year to December
31, 2018. The resident days and inflation factors used in the rate determination will be
explained in greater detail in the following sections.

The inflated allowable historic per diem cost for each cost center is then
compared to the cost center upper payment limit. The allowable per diem rate is the lesser
of the inflated allowable historic per diem cost in each cost center or the cost center upper
payment limit. Each cost center has a separate upper payment limit. If each cost center

KS 19-0017 Approval Date: BEC 1 8 2019 Etfective Date: July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

upper payment limit is exceeded, the allowable per diem rate is the sum of the three cost
center upper payment limits. There is also a separate upper payment limit for owner,
related party, administrator, and co-administrator compensation. The upper payment
limits will be explained in more detail in a separate section.

The case mix of the residents adjusts the Direct Health Care cost center. The
reasoning behind a case mix payment system is that the characteristics of the residents in
a facility should be considered in determining the payment rate. The idea is that certain
resident characteristics can be used to predict future costs to care for residents with those
same characteristics. For these reasons, it is desirable to use the case mix classification
for each facility in adjusting provider rates.

There are add-ons to the allowable per diem rate. The add-ons consist of the
incentive factor, the real and personal property fee, and per diem pass-throughs to cover
costs not included in the cost report data. The incentive factor and real and personal
property fee are explained in separate sections of this exhibit. Pass-throughs are
explained in separate subparts of Attachment 4.19D of the State Plan. The add-ons plus
the allowable per diem rate equal the total per diem rate.

Rates for New Construction and New Facilities (New Enrollment Status)

The per diem rate for newly constructed nursing facilities, or new facilities to the
Kansas Medical Assistance program shall be based on a projected cost report submitted
in accordance with K.A.R. 129-10-17.

The cost information from the projected cost report and the first historic cost
report covering the projected cost report period shall be adjusted to December 31, 2018.
This adjustment will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National Skilled Nursing
Facility Market Basket Without Capital Index (JHS Index). The IHS indices listed in the
latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from the
midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2018, The provider shall remain in
new enrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted
cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for
inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the
adjusted cost data for each provider in new enrollment status.

K& 19-0017 Approval Date: I)E!: 1 8 Z][]Q Effective Date: July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

Rates for Facilities Recognized as a Change of Provider (Change of Provider Status)

The payment rate for the first 24 months of operation shall be based on the base
cost data of the previous owner or provider. This base cost data shall include data from
each calendar year cost report that was filed by the previous provider from 2016-2018. If
base cost data is not available the most recent calendar year data for the previous provider
shall be used. Beginning with the first day of the 25% month of operation the payment
rate shall be based on the historical cost data for the first calendar year submitted by the
new provider.

All data used to set rates for facilities recognized as a change-of-provider shall be
adjusted to December 31, 2018. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The
IHS indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2018. The
provider shall remain in change-of-provider status until the base data is reestablished.
During this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the
provider. Any additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established
providers shall be applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in change of
provider status.

Rates for Facilities Re-entering the Program (Reenrollment Status)

The per diem rate for each provider reentering the Medicaid program shali be
determined from a projected cost report if the provider has not actively participated in the
program by the submission of any current resident service billings to the program for 24
months or more. The per diem rate for all other providers reentering the program shall be
determined from the base cost data filed with the agency or the most recent cost report
filed preceding the base cost data period.

All cost data used to set rates for facilitics reentering the program shall be
adjusted to December 31, 2018. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The
THS indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2018. The
provider shall remain in reenrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During
this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any
additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be
applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in reenrollment status.

3) Quarterly Case Mix Index Calculation

K5 19-0017 Approval Date: DEC 18 zm%ffective Date: July 1. 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report and the historic cost report covering the projected cost report period are based
on the actual resident days for the period.

The second exception is for the first cost report filed by a new provider who
assumes the rate of the previous provider. If the 85% minimum occupancy rule was
applied to the previous provider’s rate, it is also applied when the rate is assigned to the
new provider. However, when the new provider files a historic cost report for any part of
the first 12 months of operation, the rate determined from the cost report will be based on
actual days and not be subject to the 85% minimum occupancy rule for the months in the
first year of operation. The 85% minimum occupancy rule is then reapplied to the rate
when the new provider reports resident days and costs for the 13th month of operation
and after.

5) Inflation Factors

Inflation will be applied to the allowable reported costs from the calendar year
cost report(s) used to determine the base cost data from the midpoint of each cost report
period to December 31, 2018. The inflation will be based on the IHS Global Insight,
CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket index.

The IHS Global Insight, CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket
Indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to determine the
inflation tables for the payment schedules processed during the payment rate period. This
may require the use of forecasted factors in the inflation table. The inflation tables will
not be revised until the next payment rate period.

The inflation factor will not be applied to the following costs:
) Owner/Related Party Compensation
2) Interest Expense
3) Real and Personal Property Taxes

The inflation factor for the real and personal property fees will be based on the IHS
index.

6) Upper Payment Limits

There are three types of upper payment limits that will be described. One is the
owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator limit. The second is the real and
personal property fee limit. The last type of limit is an upper payment limit for each cost

DEC 18 2019
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-1
Page 8 of 19

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

center. The upper payment limits are in effect during the payment rate period unless
otherwise specified by a State Plan amendment.

‘Owner/Related Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator Limits:

Since salaries and other compensation of owners are not subject to the usual
market constraints, specific limits are placed on the amounts reported. First, amounts
paid to non-working owners and directors are not an allowable cost. Second, owners and
related parties who perform resident related services are limited to a salary chart based on
the Kansas Civil Service classifications and wages for comparable positions., Owners and
related parties who provide resident related services on less than a full time basis have
their compensation limited by the percent of their total work time to a standard work
week. A standard work week is defined as 40 hours. The owners and related parties
must be professionally qualified to perform services which require licensure or
certification.

The compensation paid to owners and related parties shall be allocated to the
appropriate cost center for the type of service performed. Each cost center has an
expense line for owner/related party compensation. There is also a cost report schedule
titled, “Statement of Owners and Related Parties.” This schedule requires information
concerning the percent of ownership (if over five percent), the time spent in the function,
the compensation, and a description of the work performed for each owner and/or related
party. Any salaries reported in excess of the Kansas Civil Service based salary chart are
transferred to the Operating cost center where the excess is subject to the Owner/Related
Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator per diem compensation limit.

The Schedule C is an array of non-owner administrator and co-administrator
salaries. The schedule includes the calendar year 2018 historic cost reports in the
database from all active nursing facility providers. The salary information in the array is
not adjusted for inflation. The per diem data is calculated using an 85% minimum
occupancy level for those providers in operation for more than 12 months with more than
60 beds. The Schedule C for the owner/related party/administrator/co-adiministrator per
diem compensation limit is the first schedule run during the rate setting.

, The Schedule C is used to set the per diem limitation for all non-owner
administrator and co-administrator salaries and owner/related party compensation in
excess of the civil service based salary limitation schedule. The per diem limit for a 50-
bed or larger home is set at the 90th percentile on all salaries reported for non-owner

K8 19-0017Approval Date: DEC 18 ng Effective Date: July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

administrators and co-administrators. A limitation table is then established for facilities
with less than 50 beds. This table begins with a reasonable salary per diem for an
administrator of a 15-bed or less facility. The per diem limit for a 15-bed or less facility
is inflated based on the State of Kansas annual cost of living allowance for classified
employees for the rate period. A linear relationship is then established between the
compensation of the administrator of the 15-bed facility and the compensation of the
administrator of a 50-bed facility. The linear relationship determines the per diem limit
for the facilities between 15 and 50 beds.

The per diem limits apply to the non-owner administrators and co-administrators
and the compensation paid to owners and related parties who perform an administrative
function or consultant type of service. The per diem limit also applies to the salaries in
excess of the civil service based salary chart in other cost centers that are transferred to
the operating cost center.

Real and Personal Property Fee Limit

The property component of the reimbursement methodology consists of the real
and personal property fee that is explained in more detail in a later section. The upper
payment limit will be 105% of the median determined from a total resident day-weighted
array of the property fees in effect April 1, 2019.

Cost Center Upper Payment Limits

The Schedule B computer run is an array of all per diem costs for each of the
three cost centers-Operating, Indirect Health Care, and Direct Health Care. The schedule
includes a per diem determined from the base cost data from all active nursing facility
providers. Projected cost reports are excluded when calculating the limit.

The per diem expenses for the Operating cost center and the Indirect Health Care
cost center less food and utilities are subject to the 85% minimum occupancy for facilities
over 60 beds. All previous desk review and field audit adjustments are consideted in the
per diem expense calculations. The costs are adjusted by the owner/related
party/administrator/co-administrator limit.

Prior to the Schedule B arrays, the cost data on certain expense lines is adjusted
from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2018. This will bring the
costs reported by the providers to a common point in time for comparisons. The inflation
will be based

DEC 1 8 2018

KS 19-0017Approval Date: Effective Date: July 1. 2019 Supersedes KS 18-06010




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19D

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and per diem add-ons:

INCENTIVE
FACTOR

INCENTIVE OUTCOME PER DIEM
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (5.14), or $3.00
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >=
10% $0.50
Staff retention rate >= 75th percentile, 72% or $2.50
Staff retention rate < 75th percentile but increased >= 10%
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor
costs $0.50
Medicaid occupancy >= 65% $0.75
Quality Measures >=75%" percentile
(640) $1.25
Total Incentive Add-ons-Available $7.50

Nursing Facility for Mental Health Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor:
The Quality and Efficiency Incentive plan for Nursing Facilities for Mental Health
(NFMH) will be established separately from NF. NFMH serve people who often do not need the
NF level of care on a long term basis. There is a desire to provide incentive for NFMH to work
cooperatively and in coordination with Community Mental Health Centers to facilitate the return

of persons to the community.

Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-1
Page 14

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor is a per diem add-on ranging from zero
($0.00) to seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50). It is designed to encourage quality care,
efficiency and cooperation with discharge planning. The incentive factor is determined by five
outcome measures: case-mix adjusted nurse staffing ratio; operating expense; staff turnover rate;
staff retention rate; and occupancy rate. Each provider is awarded points based on their
outcomes measures and the total points for each provider determine the per diem incentive factor

included in the provider’s rate calculation. ,

Providers may earn up to two incentive points for their case mix adjusted nurse staffing
ratio. They will receive two points if their case-mix adjusted staffing ratio equals or exceeds
3.88, which is 120% of the statewide NFMH median of 3.23. They will receive one point if the
ratio is less than 120% of the NFMH median but greater than or equal to 3.55 which is 110% of
the statewide NFMH median. Providers with staffing ratios below 110% of the NFMH median

will receive no points for this incentive measure.

ks 19-0017Approval DaBEC 1 § 2MBAective Date: July 1. 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

NFMH providers may earn one point for low occupancy outcomes measures. If they
have total occupancy less than 90% they will earn a point.

NFMH providers may earn one point for low operating expense outcomes measures.
They will earn a point if their per diem operating expenses are below $22.99, or 90% of the
statewide median of $25.54.

NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their turnover rate outcome measure.
Providers with direct health care staff turnover equal to or below 42%, the 75™ percentile
statewide, will earn two points as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed 10% of the
provider’s total direct health care labor costs. Providers with direct health care staff turnover
greater than 42% but equal to or below 55%, the 50" percentile statewide, will earn one point as
long as contracted labor costs do not exceed 10% of the provider’s total direct health care labor
costs.

Finally, NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their retention rate outcome
measure. Providers with staff retention rates at or above 84%, the 75% percentile statewide will
earn two points. Providers with staff retention rates below 84%, but at or above 60%, the 50"
percentile statewide will earn one point. ' :

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and points:

QUALITY/EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE
QUTCOME _ POINTS
CMI adjusted staffing ratic >= 120% (3.88) of NF-MH median

(3.23), ot 2,or
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.55) and 120% 1
Total occupancy <= 90% 1
Operating expenses < $22.99, 90% of NF-MH median, $25.54 1
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 42% 2, or
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 55% 1
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs

Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 84% 2, or
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 60% i
Total Incentive Points

Available 8

KS 19-0017Approval Dath(: i 8 Zlﬁg‘ective Date: July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part i

Subpart C

INFLATION TABLE Exhibit C-2
EFFECTIVE 07/01/2019 Page 1

MIDPOINT

REPORT MIDPOINT MIDPOINT OF RATE HISTORICAL
YEAR END MIDPOINT OF RYE OF RATE PERIOD INFLATION
(RYE) OF RYE INDEX PERIOD INDEX FACTOR % *
12-15 06-15 1.022 12-18 1.117 9.295%
01-16 07-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
02-16 08-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
03-16 09-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
04-16 10-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
05-16 11-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
06-16 12-15 1.030 12-18 1.117 8.447%
07-16 01-16 1.037 12-18 1117 7.715%
08-16 02-16 1.037 12-18 1.117 7.715%
09-16 03-16 1.037 12-18 1.117 7.715%
10-16 04-16 1.044 12-18 1.117 6.992%
11-16 05-16 1.044 12-18 1.117 6.992%
12-16 06-16 ©1.044 12-18 1.117 6.992%
0117 07-16 1.052 12-18 1.117 8.178%
02-17 08-16 1.052 12-18 1.417 6.179%
03-17 09-16 1.052 12-18 1.117 8.179%
04-17 10-16 1.057 12-18 1.117 5.676%
0517 11-16 1.057 12-18 1117 5.676%
06-17 12-16 1.057 12-18 1.117 5.676%
0717 0117 1.066 12-18 1.117 4.784%
08-17 02-17 1.066 12-18 1.117 4.784%
09-17 03-17 1.066 12-18 1.117 4.784%
10-17 04-17 1.074 12-18 1.117 4.004%
11-17 05-17 1.074 12-18 1.117 4.004%
12-17 06-17 1.074 12-18 1.117 4.004%
01-18 07-17 1.081 12-18 1.117 3.330%
02-18 08-17 1.081 12-18 1117 3.330%
03-18 09-17 1.081 12-18 1.117 3.330%
04-18 10-17 1.086 12-18 1.117 2.855%
05-18 11-17 1.086 12-18 1117 2.855%
06-18 12-17 1.086 12-18 1.147 2.855%
07-18 01-18 1.088 12-18 1.117 1.730%
08-18 02-18 1.008 12-18 1.117 1.730%
09-18 03-18 1.008 12-18 1.117 1.730%
10-18 04-18 1.105 12-18 1.117 1.086%
11-18 056-18 1.105 12-18 1.117 1.086%
12-18 06-18 1.105 12-18 1117 1.086%
01-19 07-18 1111 12-18 1.117 0.540%
02-19 08-18 1.111 12-18 1.117 0.540%
03-19 08-18 1111 12-18 1.117 0.540%
04-19 10-18 1.117 12-18 1.117 0.000%
05-19 11-18 1.117 12-18 1.117 0.000%
06-18 12-18 11417 12-18 1.117 0.000%

* = (Midpeint of rate period index / Midpoint of rye index) -1

KS 19-0017 Approval Date DEC 1 8 ng Effective Date July 1, ﬁ019 Supersedes K5 18-0010




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
SubpartC

COST CENTER LIMITATIONS EFFECTIVE 07/01/2019 Exhibit C-2

COST CENTER

Operating
Indirect Health Care
Direct Health Care

Real and Personal Property Fee

Page 2

UPPER LIMIT

$39.13
$54.45
$129.95

$10.01

* = Base limit for a facility average case mix index of 1.0314

KS 19-0017 Approval Date DEC 1 8 2013

Efective Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
SubpartC
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECT IVE 07/01/19 Exhibit C-2
Page 3a
NF-MH ONLY
INCENTIVE
QUALITY/EFFICIENCY QUTCOME POINTS
1 [CMl adjusted staffing ratio >= 120% (3.88) of NF-MH median (3.18), or 2, or
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.55) and 120% 1
2 {Total occupancy <= 90% . 1
3 |Operating expenses < $22.99, 90% of NF-MH median, $25.54 1
4 {Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 42% 2,0r
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 55% 1
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs
5 |Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 84% 2,0r
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 60% 1
Total Incentive Points Available 8
Total Incentive Points: Incentive Factor Per Diem;
Tier 1: 6-8 points $7.50
Tier 2: 5 points $5.00
Tier 3: 4 points $2.50
Tier 4: 0-3 points $0.00

KS 19-0017 Approval Date DEC 1 8 2019 Efeective Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
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Owner/Related Party Salary Limitations Effective 07/01/2019
Salary Bed Capacity .
Job Classification Range** 0-89 60-120 121+ 0-99 100  Any Size
Administrator * 23 37,003
* 28 47,258
* 31 54,683
Co-Administrator * 19 30,493
* 22 35,235
* 24 38,896
Accountant 1T 25 40,872
Attorney II 33 60,382
Bookkeeper (Accounting Specialist) 20 31,990
Secretary Il (Administrative
Specialist) 20 31,990
Gen. Maint. & Repair Tech Senior 18 29,016
Physical Plant Supervisor ) 24 38,896
Physical Plant Supervisor Senior 26 42,806
Cook Senior 18 29,016
Food Service Supervisor Senior 19 29,016
Housekeeping/Laundry Worker 18 19,635
Director of Nursing { RN
Administrator) * 35 63,336
Registered Nurse * 29 31,990
Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) * 20 30,493
LPN Senior * 21 33,613
Health Care Assistant (CNA IT) * 18 29,016
Licensed Mental Health Technician 18 29,016
Physical Therapist 11 * 27 45,032
Physical Therapist Aide 18 29,016
Occupational Therapist 11 * 26 42,806
Speech Pathologist/Audiologist 1 * 26 42,806
Activity Therapy Tech. 18 29,016
Activity Therapist * 23 37,003
Social Worker Specialist * 25 40,872
Medical Records Administrator 24 38,896
Medical Records Technician 19 30,493
Central Office Staff (3+ Facilities)
Chief Executive Officer 36 69,784
Chief Operating O fficer 34 63,357
All Other Chief Officers 31 54,683

* License/Registration/Certificate Requirement
** Step 7 of the salary range has been used to set the limits.

KS819-0017 Approval Date: DEC i 8 ng

Effective Date; July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

OWNER/ADMINISTRATOR LIMITATION TABLE EFFECTIVE 07/01/19

Number
of Beds

15
16
17
18
19
20
21
2
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

KS819-0017 Approval Date:

Total Maximum
Bed Owner/Admin
Days Compensation
5,490 $23,515
5,856 26,754
6,222 29,993
6,588 33,232
6,954 36,41
7,320 39,710
7,686 42,949
8,052 46,188
8,418 49,427
3,784 52,666
9,150 55,905
9,516 59,144
9,882 62,383
10,248 65,622
10,614 68,861
10,980 72,100
11,346 75,339
11,712 78,578
12,078 81,817
12,444 85,056
12,810 88,295
13,176 91,534
13,542 94,773
13,908 98,012
14,274 101,251
14,640 104,490
15,006 107,729
15,372 110,968
15,738 114,207
16,104 117,446
16,470 120,685
16,836 123,924
17,202 127,163
17,568 130,402
17,934 133,641
18,300 136,880
DEC 1 8 2019

Limit
PPD
$4.28
$4.57
$4.82
$5.04
$5.24
$5.42
$5.59
$5.74
$5.87
$6.00
$6.11
$6.22
$6.31
$6.40
$6.49
$6.57
$6.64
$6.71
$6.77
$6.84
$6.89
$6.95
$7.00
$7.05
$7.09
$7.14
§7.18
$7.22
$7.26
$7.29
$7.33
$7.36
$7.39
$7.42
. $7.45
$7.48

Effective Date; July 1, 2019

76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
85
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
00
01
02
03
04
05
06
07
08
09
10-18
19
20

Attachment 4.19D

Part 1

Subpart C

Exhibit C-2

Page 5
Cost of
Living
Amount State Emp.
1,000 e

10,280 2.800%

10,537 2.500%
11,301 7.250%
11,781 4.250%
12,617 7.100%
13,248 5.000%
14,169 6.500%
14,426 2.250%
15,147 5.000%
15,933 5.190%
16,411 3.000%
16,575 1.000%
17,238 4.000%
17,755 3.000%
18,021 1.500%
18,021 0.000%
18,111 0.500%
18,202 0.500%
18,407 L125%
18,591 1.000%
18,591 0.000%
18,777 1.000%
19,059 1.500%
19,250 1.000%
19,250 0.000%
19,683 2.250%
19,683 0.000%
19,978 1.500%
20,577 3.000%
20,834 1.250%
21,355 2.500%
21,782 2.000%
22,327 2.500%
22,327 0.000%
22941 2.750%
23,515 2.500%

Supersedes KS 18-0010



MEDIAN

MEAN

WTMN

# OF PROV

KS 19-0017 Approval Date

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
Subpart C
Exhibit C-3
COMPILATION OF COST CENTER LIMITATIONS Page 1
- EFFECTIVE 07/01/19
**BEFORE INFLATION*** **AFTER INFLATION***
OPER {DHC DHC RPPF TOTAL OPER IDHC DHC RPPF TOTAL
3562 46.50 89.33 9.53 180.97 3551 47.36 99.95 953 192.35
38.11 49.63 99.05 13.58 20037 3852 50.66 103.53 13.58 206.28
3726 48.61 98.68 1433 198.88 37.36 4935 102.44 14.33 20347
318 318
DEC 182018  Efective Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010




HIGH
99th
95th
90th
85th
80th
75th
70th
65th
60th
55th
50th
40th
30th
20th
10th

1st
LOW

MEAN

WTMN

# of Prov

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-D

COMPILATION OF ADMINISTRATOR, CO-ADMIN OWNER EXPENSE - O/A LIMIT
EFFECTIVE 07/01/19

ADMINISTRATOR

TOTAL

221214
177,400
139,924
122,474
114,721
108,279
102,108
98,269
94,393
90,039
87,376
83,485
77,242
72,435
66,587
50,748
15,306
10,510

86,440

77,117

315

KS 19-0017 Approval Date

PRD

42.39
11.12
821

743 -

6.71
6.32
6.1
5.81
537
5.08
4.94
4.71
4.24
3.73
3.03
2.53
1.55
1.25

4.99

4.28

CO-ADMINISTRATOR  TOTAL ADMN & CO-ADMN
TOTAL

TOTAL

91,726
52,688
52,688
52,688
52,688
42,308
42,308
42,308
40,002
40,002
40,002
30,930
20,488
15,878
13,603

9,603

3,038

3,038

33,502
27,034

1

DEC 1 8 2019

PRD

6.65
6.65
665
3.70
3.70
2.20
2.20
1.56
1.56
1.36
1.36
1.25
1.00
0.84
0.32
0.28
0.26
0.00

1.76

1.27

219,458
177,400
143,873
124,675
115,017

. 109,682

103,487
98,885
95,040
91,033
87,720
84,099
78,000
73,058
66,722
50,748
17,936
14,436

87,610

78,002

315

PRD

14.27
11.35
8.45
7.48
6.78
6.34
6.16
5.86
5.48
5.14
4.95
474
4.25
384
313
2.59
1.48
1.25

5.05

4.33

OWNER
TOTAL

149,235
375,614
407,076
101,659
107,691
80,210
149,235
119,562
93,509
60,657
50,005
22,558
54,311
24,717
73,801
47,992
41,233
21,966

87,434

96,622

35

Partl
Subpart C
Exhibit C-3
Page 2

PRD

11.94
11.94
11.93
10.63
7.95
4.82
4.81
3.85
3.18
2.64
2.39
2.23
1.94
1.93
182
1.58
0.53
1.86

3.83

3.56

Effective Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

COMPILATION OF NF
INCENTIVE PCINTS AWARDED
EFF. Q7/01/19

INCENTIVE
AWARDED

$0.00
$0.50
$0.75
$1.25
$1.75
$2.00
$2.25
$2.50
$3.00
$3.25
$3.75
$4.25
$4.50
$4.75
$5.00
$5.50
$6.25
$6.75
$7.50

TOTALS

PEAK
INCENTIVE
AWARDED

$0.00
$0.50
$1.00
$1.50
$2.00
$2.50
$3.00

TOTALS

NURSING FACILITY

#OF

PROVIDERS

64
20
43
37
10
11
2
22
39
11
14

312

#
OF
PROVIDERS

153
80
0
63

LS & o]

312

Attachment 4.19-D

PERCENTAGE

20.6%
6.4%
13.8%
11.8%
3.2%
3.5%
0.6%
71%
12.5%
3.5%
4.5%
3.5%
1.3%
0.3%
1.3%
3.5%
1.9%
0.6%
0.0%

100.0%

PERCENTAGE

49.1%
25.6%
0.0%
20.2%
1.9%
1.6%
1.6%

100.0%

Part |
Subpart C
Exhibit C-3
Page 3

TN# MS-KS 19-0017 Approval Datg EC1 8 Egrlgctive Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes TN# MS-KS 18-

0010



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D
Part |
Subpart C
Exhibit C-3

COMPILATION OF NF-MH
INCENTIVE POINTS AWARDED Page 3a

EFF. 07/01/19

NURSING FACILITY MENTAL HEALTH

INCENTIVE #
POINTS OF
AWARDED PROVIDERS PERCENTAGE
0 1 10.0%
1 1 10.0%
2 2 20.0%
3 1 10.0%
4 5 50.0%
5 0 0.0%
6 0 0.0%
7 0 0.0%
8 0 0.0%
TOTALS 10 100.0%
PEAK #
INCENTIVE OF
AWARDED PROVIDERS PERCENTAGE
$0.00 2 20.0%
$0.50 3 30.0%
$1.50 5 50.0%
TOTALS 10 100.0%

KS 19-0017 Approval Date__ DEC 18 2013 Effective Date July 1, 2019 SupersedesKS 18-0010




KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-4
Page 1

June 13, 2019

«ADMIN NAME», Administrator
«FAC_NAME»
«FAC_ADDRES»

«CITY», KS «ZIP»

Provider # 104«PROV_NUM=»01
HP Enterprise Services Provider # «EDS_FROV_N»

Dear « ADMIN NAME»:

The per diem rate shown on the enclosed Case Mix Payment Schedule for state fiscal year 2020 has been
forwarded to the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) for processing of future reimbursement payments.
The rate will become effective July 1, 2019.

The Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS), administers the Medicaid nursing
facility services payment program on behalf of Kansas Depariment of Health and Environment. The rate was
calculated by applying the published methodology, including applicable Medicaid program policies and
regulations, to the cost reports (Form MS 2004} data shown on the enclosed payment schedule.

Also enclosed may be an audit adjustment sheet showing adjustments made during the desk review of the
2018 calendar year end cost report. This information is intended to assist you with preparation of future cost
reports.

If you do not agree with this action, you have the right to request a fair hearing appeal in accordance with
K.A.R. 30-7-64 et seq. Your request for fair hearing shall be in writing and deliverad to or mailed to the
agency so that it is received by the Office of Administrative Hearings, 1020 S. Kansas Ave., Topeka, KS
66612-1311 within 30 days from the date of this letter. (Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-531, an additional three days
shall be allowed if you received this ietter by mail). Failure to timely request or pursue such an appeal may
adversely affect your rights.

If you have questions about the adjustments, please contact Shirley Chung at {785) 296-6457 or email at
Shirley.Chung@ks.gov. For questions on the Medicaid Rate, please contact Trescia Power at (785) 368-
6685 or email at Trescia. Power@ks.qgov or Steven Hime at (785) 296-2535 or email atSteven. Hime@ks.gov.

Regards,

Trescia L. Power
Program Finance Oversight Manager
Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services

Enclosures

BEC 1.8 2019

KS 19-0017 Approval Date: Effective Date: July 1, 2019 Supersedes TN-MS18-0010



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.190

Part 1
Kansas Medicaid / MediKan Case Mix Schedule ;ﬁ;’ltﬂgg
1t - 2nd QTR 2020 ANNUAL Page 1

Jrrent Providar Information

Provider Number:

HP Enterprises Provider Number:

15t QTR Medicaid CMI:  0.6363

Facility Nama: Area/County: 2nd QTR Medicaid CMI:  0.9472
Address: Average Medicaid CME  0.9413 1a]
City/Slate/Zip:
Administrator:
ot Report Statisiics
Calendar Year Cost Reports Used For Base Data: 12312016 12312017 1243172018
Infiation Factor: 6.992% 4.004% 1.086%
Facility Cost Report Pesicd CMI: 1.07681 0.9833 0.9803
Statewide Average CMI; 1.0225 1.0302 1.0416 1.0314 [b]
NF Or NFAVH Beds: 39 39 42
Bed Days Avallable: 44,330 14,235 15,330
inpatient Days: 40,483 12,933 14,277
Occupancy Rate: 73.0% 90.9% 93.1%
Medicaid Days: 2,705 4,707 6,365
Calc Days If Appl: 42,181 12,100 13,031
Wculation of Combined Base Year Reimbursement Rale
Operating
Total Repariad Costs: $5%6,408 $579,130  $727,679
Cost Report Adjusiments: $0 $0 {$5,889)
QfA Limit Adjustment: $0 $0 $0
Total Adjusited Costs: 5596408 $579,130  $721,990
Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: $636,544 $601,651 $720,762
Total Combined Ease Cost: $1,867,977
Days {Jsed In Division Opar: 10,463 12,933 14,277 37 B3

52.24 Oper Per Diem
39.13 Oper Per Diem Cost Limitation
39.13 Oper Per Diem Rate (1)

indirect Health Care
Total Reported Costs:
Cost Report Adjustnents:
Total Adjusted Costs:
Total Infiated Adjusted Costs:
Total Combinad Base Cost:
Days Used It Division DHC:

$654,0¢1 $762,651  $961,617

30 §0  ($2,968)
$654,091 $762,081  $958,648
913,722 $793,188  $966,059

10,483 12,933 14,277

$2475,970
37873
71.03 IDHC Per Diem
54.45 IDHC Per Riem Cost Limitation
54,45 |IDHC PerDiem Rate (2)

Direct Heaith Gare
Total Reported Costs:
Cost Report Adjustments:
Total Adjusted Costs:
Total Inflated Adjusted Costs:
Total CMi Adjusted Costs:
Total Combined Base Cost:
Days Used In Division DHC:

$1,964306  $1,776053 $2,129,925

50 ($4,620) $0
51,864,306  $1,773433 $2,129,925
$2,101,050  $%,B44441 $2,163,056
$1,0969668  $1,832414 $2287601

$6,217,073

10,453 12,933 14,277

[el* (Vo]

37873

165.03 Case Mix Adusted DHC Fer Diem
129,95 DHC Per Diam Cost Limitation
129.95 Allowable DHC Per Diem Cost [c}
118,80 Meadicaid Acuity Adjustment (3)

Real and Personal Proparty Fee

12.97 Real and Personal Property Fee
0.00 Inflation {0.600%)
0.00 RPPF Rebase Add On

12.97 RPPF Before Limit

10.01 RPPF Limitatiors

10.01 Allowabie RPPF (4)

Hculation of Medicaid Rate

Operating, IDHG, And DHC Rates and RPPF (1) +{2) + (3) +{4):

Incentive Factor

PEAK2.0

Bed Tax Adjusiment

DME Adjustment

Minimum Wage Adjustment

Total ledlcaid Rate Effective

07i0112018

DEC 18 2019

158 12-0017 Approval Date

Effective Date July 1, 2019

Supersedes K8 18-00%0
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

KANSAS MEDICAID
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY OUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR

Provider Number:;
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number:

Facility Name:

Rate Effective Date: 07/01/19

1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio
Tier 1: At or Above the NF 75th Percentile {5.14)
Tier 2: Below the NF 75th Percentile but Improved At
or Above 10%
Cost Report Year Data:
2 Staff Retention
Tier 1: Af orAbove the NF 75th Percentile (72%)
Tier 2: Below the NF 75th Percentile but Improved At
or Above 10%
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10%
of Total DHC Labor Costs (Contract Labor 8%)
Cost Report Year Data:

3. Occupancy Rate
Medicaid Occupancy At or Above 65%

Cost Report Year Data:

4  Quality Measures
Score At or Above 75th Percentile (640)

Total Incentive before Survey Adjustment

Survey Adjustment and Reduction 0%

Final Incentive Awarded

Peak 2.0 Incentive
Peak 2.0 Survey Adjustment and Reduction 0%

Final PEAK 2.0 Incentive Awarded

DEC 1 8 2019

KS 19-0017 Approval Date

Attachment 4.19D

Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-5
Page 2
Incentive Facility Incentive
Possible Stats Awarded
$§ 300 $ 3.00
$ 050 $ 0.00
5.43
12/31/2018
$ 250 $ 250
$ 050 $ 000
88%
12131/2018
$ 075 $ 000
36%
12/31/2018
$ 125 $§ 125
700
$ 875
$  0.00
$ 675
$ 3.00 $ 000
$ 000
$ 0.00

Effective Date July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010



QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY CUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR

Provider Number:
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number:

Facility Name:

Rate Effective Date: 07101119

1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

KANSAS MEDICAID

Incentive
Possible

Facility
Stats

Tier 1: At or Above 120% of NF-MH Median (3.88)
Tier 2: At or Above 110% of NF-MH Median of (3.50)
{NF-MH Median is 3.23 for an Average Statewide CM| of 1.0416)

Cost Report Year Data:

2. Operating Expense

At or below 90% of NF-MH Median ($22.99)

Cost Report Year Data:

3. Staff Turnover

Tier 1; At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (42%)
Tier 2: At or Below the NF-MH 50th Percentile (55%)
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10% of Total DHC Labor Costs (0.0%)

Cost Report Year Data:

4, Staff Retention

Tier 1; At or Above the NF-MH 75th Percentite (84%)
Tier 2: At or Above the NF-MH 50th Percentile (60%)

Cost Report Year Data:

5. Occupancy Rate

Total Occupancy At or Below 90%

Cost Report Year Data:
Total Points Awarded
Incentive Before Survey Adjustment

Survey Adjustment and Reduction
Final Incentive

Scoring:

Points Per Diem

6-8 $7.50
5 $5.00
4 $2.50

0-3 $0.00

PEAK 2.0 Incentive
Survey Adjustment and Reduction
Total PEAK 2.0 Incentive

KS 19-0017 Approval Date DEC 1 8 2019

0%

0%

2
1

3.23
12/131/2018

$29.51
1213112018

42%
1213172018

100%
1213112018

99%
1213172018

Aftachment 4.19D
Part 1

Subpart C

Exhibit C-5

Page 3

Incentive
~Awarded

L= %]

$2.50
$0.00
§2.50

$ 150
$0.00
$§ 1.50

Effective Date_July 1, 2019 Supersedes KS 18-0010





