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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
November 19, 2019

Adam Proffitt, State Medicaid Director

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Division of Health Care Finance

Landon State Office Building

900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N

Topeka, KS 66612-1220

RE: Kansas SPA 19-0013

Dear Mr. Proffitt:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 19-0013. This amendment increases the Nursing Facility
24-hour Ventilator Dependent Program Per Diem rate to $534.71.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State
plan amendment 19-0013 is approved effective August 16, 2019. We are enclosing the CMS-179
and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429.

Sincerely,

" Kristin Fan
Director
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19 D
Part I

Subpart 1

Page 1 of 2

Method and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates:
Nursing Facilities

Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Resident

The following are the policies and procedures for determining a rate for a ventilator-
dependent resident in a nursing facility.

¢} The request for additional reimbursement for a ventilator-dependent resident shall
be submitted to the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services
(KDADS) in writing for prior approval. Each request shall include the most
current Minimum Data Set (MDS) resident assessment.

(2)  All of the following criteria shall be present in order for a resident to be
considered ventilator dependent:

(A)  The resident shall not be able to breathe without a volume ventilator with
a backup.

(B)  The resident shall use the ventilator 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
(C) The resident shall have a tracheostomy or endotracheal tube.

(3)  Requests for additional reimbursement for ventilator dependent residents shall be
submitted to the agency in writing for prior approval. Rates are modified as
appropriations are made available and are negotiated with the nursing facility
providing ventilator services. The nursing facility per diem rate for the ventilator
dependent resident shall be set with consideration of the following:

(A)  The provider’s current Kansas Medical Assistance Program per diem rate.

(B)  The provisions outlined in K.A.R. 129-10-18.

(C)  The additional costs anticipated to provide ventilator services.

(D)  The cost of durable medical equipment shall be reimbursed separately
from the ventilator per diem rate.

(E)  The direct and indirect costs of providing 24-hour a day ventilator services
to a resident with a tracheostomy or endotracheal tube.

The additional reimbursement for the ventilator dependent resident shall be offset to the
cost center of benefit on the Nursing Facility Financial and Statistical Report.

KS 19-0013 Approval Date NOV 19 2018 fective Date 08/16/2019 Supersedes TN# MS-07-01



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19 D
Part

Subpart 1

Page 2 of 2

Method and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates:
Nursing Facilities

Nursing Facility Rate Determination for Ventilator Dependent Resident

4 Reimbursement will be limited to the current Kansas Medical Assistance
Program nursing facility daily until the service is prior authorized by KDADS.

(5)  The criteria shall be reviewed quarterly to determine if the resident continues to be
ventilator-dependent. If a resident is no longer ventilator-dependent, the provider
shall not receive additional reimbursement beyond the Kansas Medical Assistance
Program per diem rate determined for the facility.

(6) The agency’s fee schedule rate was set as of August 16, 2019 and is effective for
services provided on or after this date. All fee schedule rates are available through
the agency’s website at https://www.kmap-state-ks.us. Except as otherwise noted
in the state plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of 24-hour ventilator dependent services and
care.
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