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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

Financial Management Group 

Jon Hamdorf, Interim Director 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
Division of Health Care Finance 
Landon State Office Building 
900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N 
Topeka, KS 66612-1220 

RE: Kansas State Plan Amendment TN: 17-010 

Dear Mr. Hamdorf: 

DEC 1. 2 2017 

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-010. This amendment re bases Nursing Facility and 
Nursing Facility for Mental Health payment rates for State fiscal year 2018. Payment rates will 
increase on average by 4. 76 percent. This SPA also updates charts and exhibits within the State plan 
that demonstrate the revised factors and limits applicable to the rate period beginning with SFY 2018. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing 
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan 
amendment 17-010 is approved effective July 1, 2017. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the 
amended plan page. 

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429. 

Enclosures 

Sincerely, 

Kristin Fan 
Director 
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KANSAS MEDICAID STA TE PLAN 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health 

Attachment 4.l9D 
Part 1 

Subpart C 
Exhibit C-1 

Page 2 of 19 

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

cost report information from the old and new operators shall be combined to prepare a 
12-month calendar year end cost report. 

Projected Cost Reports: 

The filing of projected cost reports are limited to: 1) newly constructed facilities; 
2) existing facilities new to the Medicaid program; or 3) a provider re-entering the 
Medicaid program that has not actively participated or billed se1vices for 24 months or 
more. The requirements are found in K.A.R. 129-10-17. 

2) Rate Determination 

Rates for Existing Nursing Facilities 
Medicaid rates for Kansas NFs are determined using a prospective, facility­

specific rate-setting system. The rate is determined from the base cost data submitted by 
the provider. The current base cost data is the combined calendar year cost data from 
each available report submitted by the current provider during 2014, 2015, and 2016. 

If the current provider has not submitted a calendar year report during the base 
cost period, the cost data submitted by the previous provider for that same period will be 
used as the base cost data. Once the provider completes their first 24 months in the 
program, their first calendar year cost report will become the provider's base cost data. 

The allowable expenses are divided into three cost centers. The cost centers are 
Operating, Indirect Health Care and Direct Health Care. They are defined in K.A.R. 129-
10-18. 

The allowable historic per diem cost is determined by dividing the allowable 
resident related expenses in each cost center by resident days. Before dete1mining the per 
diem cost, each year's cost data is adjusted from the midpoint of that year to December 
31, 2017. The resident days and inflation factors used in the rate determination will be 
explained in greater detail in the following sections. 

The inflated allowable historic per diem cost for each cost center is then 
compared to the cost center upper payment limit. The allowable per diem rate is the lesser 
of the inflated allowable historic per diem cost in each cost center or the cost center upper 
payment limit. Each cost center has a separate upper payment limit. If each cost center 

TN-KS17-0IO Approval~ 12 2017 Effective Date: July 1,2017 SupersedesTN-KS16-014 
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health 

Attachment 4.l 9D 
Part I 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

upper payment limit is exceeded, the allowable per diem rate is the sum of the three cost 
center upper payment limits. There is also a separate upper payment limit for owner, 
related party, administrator, and co-administrator compensation. The upper payment 
limits will be explained in more detail in a separate section. 

The case mix of the residents adjusts the Direct Health Care cost center. The 
reasoning behind a case mix payment system is that the characteristics of the residents in 
a facility should be considered in determining the payment rate. The idea is that certain 
resident characteristics can be used to predict future costs to care for residents with those 
same characteristics. For these reasons, it is desirable to use the case mix classification 
for each facility in adjusting provider rates. 

There are add-ons to the allowable per diem rate. The add-ons consist of the 
incentive factor, the real and personal property fee, and per diem pass-throughs to cover 
costs not included in the cost report data. The incentive factor and real and personal 
property fee are explained in separate sections of this exhibit. Pass-throughs are 
explained in separate subparts of Attachment4.19D of the State Plan. The add-ons plus 
the allowable per diem rate equal the total per diem rate. 

Rates for New Construction and New Facilities (New Enrollment Status) 

The per diem rate for newly constructed nursing facilities, or new facilities to the 
Kansas Medical Assistance program shall be based on a projected cost report submitted 
in accordance with K.A.R. 129-10-17. 

The cost information from the projected cost report and the first historic cost 
report covering the projected cost report period shall be adjusted to December 31, 2017. 
This adjustment will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National Skilled Nursing 
Facility Market Basket Without Capital Index (IHS Index). The IHS indices listed in the 
latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from the 
midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2017. The provider shall remain in 
new enrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted 
cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for 
inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the 
adjusted cost data for each provider in new enrollment status. 

TN-KS! 7-010 Approval o!lifiC 12 201'1trrective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-KS16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 
Rates for Facilities Recognized as a Change of Provider (Change of Provider Status) 

The payment rate for the first 24 months of operation shall be based on the base 
cost data of the previous owner or provider. This base cost data shall include data from 
each calendar year cost report that was filed by the previous provider from 2014 to 2016. 
If base cost data is not available the most recent calendar year data for the previous 
provider shall be used. Beginning with the first day of the 25th month of operation the 
payment rate shall be based on the historical cost data for the first calendar year 
submitted by the new provider. 

All data used to set rates for facilities recognized as a change-of-provider shall be 
adjusted to December 31, 2017. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The 
IHS indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the 
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2017. The 
provider shall remain in change-of-provider status until the base data is reestablished. 
During this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the 
provider. Any additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established 
providers shall be applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in change of 
provider status. 

Rates for Facilities Re-entering the Program (Reenrollment Status) 

The per diem rate for each provider reentering the Medicaid program shall be 
determined from a projected cost report if the provider has not actively participated in the 
program by the submission of any current resident service billings to the program for 24 
months or more. The per diem rate for all other providers reentering the program shall be 
determined from the base cost data filed with the agency or the most recent cost repo1t 
filed preceding tht) bast) cost data period. 

All cost data used to set rates for facilities reentering the program shall be 
adjusted to December 31, 2017. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Index. The 
IHS indices listed in the latest available quaiterly publication will be used to adjust the 
reported cost data from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2017. 
The provider shall remain in reenrollment status until the base data is reestablished. 
During this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used to determine all rates for the 
provider. Any additional factor for inflation that is applied to cost data for established 
providers shall be applied to the adjusted cost data for each provider in reenrollment 
status. 

3) Quarterly Case Mix Index Calculation 

TN-KS17-0IO Approval ~U. 12, 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-KS16-014 



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health 

Attachment 4.19D 
Patt 1 

Subpatt C 
Exhibit C-1 

Page 7 of 19 

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

cost report and the historic cost report covering the projected cost report period are based 
on the actual resident days for the period. 

The second exception is for the first cost report filed by a new provider who 
assumes the rate of the previous provider. If the 85% minimum occupancy rule was 
applied to the previous provider's rate, it is also applied when the rate is assigned to the 
new provider. However, when the new provider files a historic cost report for any part of 
the first 12 months of operation, the rate dete1mined from the cost report will be based on 
actual days and not be subject to the 85% minimum occupancy rule for the months in the 
first year of operation. The 85% minimum occupancy rule is then reapplied to the rate 
when the new provider reports resident days and costs for the 13th month of operation 
and after. 

5) Inflation Factors 

Inflation will be applied to the allowable reported costs from the calendar year 
cost report(s) used to determine the base cost data from the midpoint of each cost report 
period to December 31, 2017. The inflation will be based on the IHS Global Insight, 
CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket index. 

The IHS Global Insight, CMS Nursing Home without Capital Market Basket 
Indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to determine the 
inflation tables for the payment schedules processed during the payment rate period. This 
may require the use of forecasted factors in the inflation table. The inflation tables will 
not be revised until the next payment rate period. 

The inflation factor will not be applied to the following costs: 
1) Owner/Related Party Compensation 
2) Interest Expense 
3) Real and Personal Property Taxes 

The inflation factor for the real and personal property fees will be based on the IHS 
index. 

6) Upper Payment Limits 

There are three types of upper payment limits that will be described. One is the 
owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator limit. The second is the real and 
personal property fee limit. The last type of limit is an upper payment limit for each cost 

TN-MS-KS17-010Approval~~J 2, 2011 Effective Date: July I 2017 Supersedes TN-MS- KS16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

center. The upper payment limits are in effect dming the payment rate period unless 
othe1wise specified by a State Plan amendment. 

Owner/Related Party/ Administrator/Co-Administrator Limits: 

Since salaries and other compensation of owners are not subject to the usual 
market constraints, specific limits are placed on the amounts reported. First, amounts 
paid to non-working owners and directors are not an allowable cost. Second, owners and 
related parties who perfo1m resident related services are limited to a salary chart based on 
the Kansas Civil Service classifications and wages for comparable positions. Owners and 
related parties who provide resident related services on less than a full time basis have 
their compensation limited by the percent of their total work time to a standard work 
week. A standard work week is defined as 40 hours. The owners and related parties 
must be professionally qualified to perform se1vices which require licensme or 
certification. 

The compensation paid to owners and related parties shall be allocated to the 
appropriate cost center for the type of se1vice performed. Each cost center has an 
expense line for owner/related party compensation. There is also a cost report schedule 
titled, "Statement of Owners and Related Parties." This schedule requires information 
concerning the percent of ownership (if over five percent), the time spent in the function, 
the compensation, and a description of the work performed for each owner and/or related 
party. Any salaries reported in excess of the Kansas Civil Se1vice based salary chart are 
transferred to the Operating cost center where the excess is subject to the Owner/Related 
Party/ Administrator/Co-Administrator per diem compensation limit. 

The Schedule C is an array of non-owner administrator and co-administrator 
salaries. The schedule includes the calendar year 2016 historic cost reports in the 
database from all active nursing facility providers. The salary information in the airny is 
not adjusted for inflation. The per diem data is calculated using an 85% minimum 
occupancy level for those providers in operation for more than 12 months with more than 
60 beds. The Schedule C for the owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator per 
diem compensation limit is the first schedule run during the rate setting. 

The Schedule C is used to set the per diem limitation for all non-owner 
administrator and co-administrator salalies and owner/related party compensation in 
excess of the civil setvice based salary limitation schedule. The per diem limit for a 50-
bed or larger home is set at the 90th percentile on all salaiies reported for non-owner 

TN-MS-KS! 7-0IOApproval £~~: 12. 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS- KS 16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

administrators and co-administrators. A limitation table is then established for facilities 
with less than 50 beds. This table begins with a reasonable salary per diem for an 
administrator of a 15-bed or less facility. The per diem limit for a 15-bed or less facility 
is inflated based on the State of Kansas annual cost of living allowance for classified 
employees for the rate period. A linear relationship is then established between the 
compensation of the administrator of the 15-bed facility and the compensation of the 
administrator of a 50-bed facility. The linear relationship determines the per diem limit 
for the facilities between 15 and 50 beds. 

The per diem limits apply to the non-owner administrators and co-administrators 
and the compensation paid to owners and related parties who perform an administrative 
function or consultant type of service. The per diem limit also applies to the salaries in 
excess of the civil service based salaty chart in other cost centers that are transferred to 
the operating cost center. 

Real and Personal Property Fee Limit 

The property component of the reimbursement methodology consists of the real 
and personal property fee that is explained in more detail in a later section. The upper 
payment limit will be 105% of the median determined from a total resident day-weighted 
array of the property fees in effect April 1, 2017. 

Cost Center Upper Payment Limits 

The Schedule B computer rnn is an array of all per diem costs for each of the 
three cost centers-Operating, Indirect Health Care, and Direct Health Care. The schedule 
includes a per diem determined from the base cost data from all active nursing facility 
providers. Projected cost reports are excluded when calculating the limit. 

The per diem expenses for the Operating cost center and the Indirect Health Care 
cost center less food and utilities are subject to the 85% minimum occupancy for facilities 
over 60 beds. All previous desk review and field audit adjustments are considered in the 
per diem expense calculations. The costs are adjusted by the owner/related 
party/administrator/co-administrator limit. 

Prior to the Schedule B arrays, the cost data on certain expense lines is adjusted 
from the midpoint of the cost report period to December 31, 2017. This will bring the 
costs reported by the providers to a common point in time for comparisons. The inflation 
will be based 

TN-MS-KS 17-0 I OApprovaOJ:i:Gel 2 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS- KS 16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

The first step is to normalize each facility's inflated Direct Health Care costs to 
the statewide average CMI. This is done by dividing the statewide average CMI for the 
cost report year by the facility's cost report period CMI, then multiplying this answer by 
the facility's inflated costs. This step is repeated for each cost report year for which data 
is included in the base cost data. 

The second step is to determine per diem costs and array them to determine the 
median. The per diem cost is determined by dividing the total of each provider's base 
direct health care costs by the total days provided during the base cost data period. The 
median is located using a day-weighted methodology. That is, the median cost is the per 
diem cost for the facility in the array at which point the cumulative total of all resident 
days first equals or exceeds half the number of the total resident days for all providers. 
The facility with the median resident day in the array sets the median inflated direct 
health care cost. For example, if there are eight million resident days, the facility in the 
array with the 4 millionth day would set the median. 

The final step in calculating the base Direct Health Care upper payment limit is to 
apply the percentage factor to the median cost. For example, if the median cost is $60 and 
the upper payment limit is based on 130% of the median, then the upper payment limit 
for the statewide average CMI would be $78 (D=130% x $60). 

7) Quarterly Case Mix Rate Adjustment 

The allowance for the Direct Health Care cost component will be based on the 
average Medicaid CMI in the facility. The first step in calculating the allowance is to 
determine the Allowable Direct Health Care Per Diem Cost. This is the lesser of the 
facility's per diem cost from the base cost data period or the Direct Health Care upper 
payment limit. Because the direct health care costs were previously adjusted for the 
statewide average CMI, the Allowable Direct Health Care Per Diem Cost corresponds to 
the statewide average CMI. 

The next step is to determine the Medicaid acuity adjusted allowable Direct 
Health Care cost. The facility's Medicaid CMI is determined by averaging the facility 
average Medicaid CMI from the two quarters preceding the rate effective data. The 
Medicaid CMI is then divided by the statewide average CMI for the cost data period. 
Finally, this result, is then multiplied by the Allowable Direct Health Care per diem cost. 
The result is referred to as the Medicaid Acuity Adjustment. 

The Medicaid Acuity Adjustment is calculated semi-annually to account for 
changes in the Medicaid CMI. To illustrate this calculation take the following situation: 
The 

TN-KS 17-010 ApprovaPiGe:1 2 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-KS 16-014 
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health 

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and per diem add-ons: 
INCENTIVE 

FACTOR 
INCENTIVE OUTCOME PER DIEM 

CMI adjusted staffing ratio>= 75th percentile (5.26), or $2.25 

CMI adjusted staffing< 75th percentile but improved>= 
10% $0.20 
Staff turnover rate<= 75th percentile, 49 % or $2.25 
Staff turnover rate> 75th percentile but reduced>= 10% 
Contracted labor< 10% of total direct health care labor 
costs $0.20 

Medicaid occuoancv >= 60% $1.00 

Total Incentive Add-ons-Available $5.50 

Nursing Facility for Mental Health Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor: 

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive plan for Nursing Facilities for Mental 
Health (NFMH) will be established separately from NF. NFMH serve people who often 
do not need the NF level of care on a long term basis. There is a desire to provide 
incentive for NFMH to work cooperatively and in coordination with Community Mental 
Health Centers to facilitate the return of persons to the community. 

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor is a per diem add-on ranging from 
zero ($0.00) to seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50). It is designed to encourage quality 
care, efficiency and cooperation with discharge planning. The incentive factor is 
determined by five outcome measures: case-mix adjusted nurse staffing ratio; operating 
expense; staff turnover rate; staff retention rate; and occupancy rate. Each provider is 
awarded points based on their outcomes measures and the total points for each provider 
determine the per diem incentive factor included in the provider's rate calculation. 

Providers may earn up to two incentive points for their case mix adjusted nurse 
staffing ratio. They will receive two points if their case-mix adjusted staffing ratio equals 
or exceeds 3.92, which is 120% of the statewide NFMH median of3.27. They will 
receive one point if the ratio is less than 120% of the NFMH median but greater than or 
equal to 3. 60 which is 110% of the statewide NFMH median. Providers with staffing 
ratios below 110% of the NFMH median will receive no points for this incentive 
measure. 

TN-KS 17-0IOApprovalilDhtel 2 201? Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-KS16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Fo1mula 

NFMH providers may earn one point for low occupancy outcomes measures. If 
they have total occupancy less than 90% they will earn a point. 

NFMH providers may earn one point for low operating expense outcomes 
measures. They will earn a point if their per diem operating expenses are below $20.51, 
or 90% of the statewide median of$22.79. 

NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their turnover rate outcome 
measure. Providers with direct health care staff turnover equal to or below ;950%, the 
75th percentile statewide, will earn two points as long as contracted labor costs do not 
exceed 10% of the provider's total direct health care labor costs. Providers with direct 
health care staff turnover greater than 50% but equal to or below 68%, the 501h percentile 
statewide, will earn one point as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed 10% of the 
provider's total direct health care labor costs. 

Finally, NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their retention rate 
outcome measure. Providers with staff retention rates at or above 73%, the 75th 
percentile statewide will earn two points. Providers with staff retention rates below 73%, 
but at or above 59%, the 50th percentile statewide will earn one point. 

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and points: 

QUALITY /EFFICIENCY 
OUTCOME 
CMI adjusted staffing ratio>= 120% (3.92) ofNF-MH median 
(3.27), or 
CMI adiusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.60) and 120% 
Total occunancv <= 90% 
Onerating exnenses < $20.51, 90% ofNF-MH median, $22.79 
Staff turnover rate<= 75th percentile, 50% 
Staff turnover rate<= 50th percentile, 68% 
Contracted labor< 10% of total direct health care labor costs 
Staff retention>= 75th percentile, 73% 
Staff retention>= 50th oercentile, 59% 
Total Incentive Points 
Available 

INCENTIVE 
POINTS 

2, or 
1 
1 
1 

2, or 
1 

2, or 
1 

8 

TN-KS! 7-0lOApproval~k: 1_2 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-KS16-014 
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Level & Per Diem Summary of Required Nursing Home Incentive Duration 
Incentive Action 

Home completes the KCCI Available beginning July 1 of 
evaluation tool according to the enrollment year. Incentive 

Level 0 
application instructions. Home granted for one full fiscal year. 
participates in all required activities 

The Foundation 
noted in 'Toe Foundation" timeline 
and workbook. Homes that do not 

$0.50 
complete the requirements at this 
level must sit out of the program for 
one year before they are eligible for 
reannlication. 
Homes should submit the KCCI Available beginning July 1 of 
evaluation tool (annually). Home enrollment year. Incentive 
submits an action plan addressing 4 granted for one full fiscal year. 
PEAK 2.0 cores in Domains 1-4. The 
home self-repo1ts progress on the 
action planned cores via phone 
conference with the PEAK team. The 

Level 1 
home may be selected for a random 
site visit. The home must participate 

Pursuit of 
in the random site visit, if selected, to 

Culture Change 
continue incentive payment. Homes 
should demonstrate successful 

$0.50 
completion of75% of core 
competencies selected. A home can 
apply for Levels 1 & 2 in the same 
year. Homes that do not achieve 
Level 2 with three consecutive years 
of participation at Level 1 may return 
to a Level O or sit out for two years 
depending on KDADS and KSU's 
recommendation. 

TN-MS-KS17-010Approvnlii~tel 2 7017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS-KS16-014 
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This is a bridge level to acknowledge Available beginning July I 
achievement in Level I. Homes may following confirmed 

Level 2 receive this level at the same time completion of action plan 
they are working on other PEAK goals. Incentive is granted for 

Culture Change core areas at Level I. Homes may one full fiscal year. 
Achievement receive this incentive for up to 3 

years. If Level 3 is not achieved at 
$1.00 the end of the third year, homes may 

start back at Level O or I depending 
on KDADS and KSU's 
recommendation. 

Demonstrates minimum competency Available beginning July I 

Level 3 
as a person-centered care home (see following confirmed minimum 
KDADS full criteria). This is competency as a person-

Person-
confirmed through a combination of centered care home. Incentive 

Centered Care 
the following: High score on the is granted for one full fiscal 

Home 
KCCI evaluation tool. Demonstration year. Renewable bi-annually. 
of success in other levels of the 

$2.00 
program. Performing successfully on 
a Level 2 screening call with the 
KSU PEAK 2.0 team. Passing a full 
site visit. 

Level 4 Homes earn person-centered care Available beginning July I 
home award two consecutive years. following confirmation of the 

Sustained upkeep of minimum person-
Person- centered care competencies. 
Centered Care Incentive is granted for two 
Home fiscal years. Renewable bi-

annually. 
$3.00 

ni:c 1 2 2011 . TN-MS-KS17-010Approva'J'bate: . Effectlve Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS-KS16-014 
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula 

Retroactive adjustments, as in a retrospective system, are made for the following 
three conditions: 

A retroactive rate adjustment and direct cash settlement is made if the agency 
determines that the base year cost report data used to determine the prospective payment 
rate was in error. The prospective payment rate period is adjusted for the corrections. 

If a projected cost report is approved to determine an interim rate, a settlement is 
also made after a historic cost report is filed for the same period. 

All settlements are subject to upper payment limits. A provider is considered to 
be in projection status if they are operating on a projected rate and they are subject to the 
retroactive rate adjustment. 

Budget Adjustments 

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017, the calculated per diem 
reimbursement for all nursing facilities shall be reduced by an amount equal to 3.65%. 
The per diem reduction will be calculated for each nursing facility by multiplying the 
total calculated per diem rate for each provider by 3.65%. The per diem reduction 
amount will be subtracted from each nursing facility's total calculated per diem to 
determine the facility's final rate. 

TN-MS-KS17-0IO Approval DateDEC 12 .2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS-KS16-014 



OPER 
MEDIAN 32.95 

MEAN 35.57 

WTMN 34.44 

#OF PROV 322 

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN 

COMPILATION OF COST CENTER LIMITATIONS 
EFFECTIVE 07/01/17 
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Subpart C 
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Page 1 

***BEFORE INFLATION*** ***AFTER INFLATION*** 
IDHC DHC RPPF TOTAL OPER IDHC DHC RPPF TOTAL 
43.95 88.02 9.29 174.21 34.94 47.22 93.95 9.29 185.40 

46.38 92.38 12.39 186.72 37.51 49.87 98.49 12.39 198.26 

45.27 92.08 12.56 184.35 36.44 48.78 97.71 12.56 195.49 

322 
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INFLATION Part I 

TABLE Subpart C 
EFFECTIVE 07/01/17 

Exhibit C-2 
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MIDPOINT 

REPORT MIDPOINT MIDPOINT OF RATE HISTORICAL 

YEAR END MIDPOINT OF RYE OF RATE PERIOD INFLATION 

(RYE) OF RYE INDEX PERIOD INDEX FACTOR%* 

12-13 06-13 1.283 06-16 1.430 11.458% 

01-14 07-13 1.287 06-16 1.430 11.111% 

02-14 08-13 1.287 06-16 1.430 11.111% 

03-14 09-13 1.287 06-16 1.430 11.111% 

04-14 10-13 1.286 06-16 1.430 11.198% 

05-14 11-13 1.286 06-16 1.430 11.198% 

06-14 12-13 1.286 06-16 1.430 11.198% 

07-14 01-14 1.300 06-16 1.430 10.000% 

08-14 02-14 1.300 06-16 1.430 10.000% 

09-14 03-14 1.300 06-16 1.430 10.000% 

10-14 04-14 1.305 06-16 1.430 9.579% 

11-14 05-14 1.305 06-16 1.430 9.579% 

12-14 06-14 1.305 06-16 1.430 9.579% 

01-15 07-14 1.313 06-16 1.430 8.911% 

02-15 08-14 1.313 06-16 1.430 8.911% 

03-15 09-14 1.313 06-16 1.430 8.911% 

04-15 10-14 1.320 06-16 1.430 8.333% 

05-15 11-14 1.320 06-16 1.430 8.333% 

06-15 12-14 1.320 06-16 1.430 8.333% 

07-15 01-15 1.329 06-16 1.430 7.600% 

08-15 02-15 1.329 06-16 1.430 7.600% 

09-15 03-15 1.329 06-16 1.430 7.600% 

10-15 04-15 1.336 06-16 1.430 7.036% 

11-15 05-15 1.336 06-16 1.430 7.036% 

12-15 06-15 1.336 06-16 1.430 7.036% 

01-16 07-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

02-16 08-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

03-16 09-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

04-16 10-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

05-16 11-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

06-16 12-15 1.347 06-16 1.430 6.162% 

07-16 01-16 1.362 06-16 1.430 4.993% 

08-16 02-16 1.362 06-16 1.430 4.993% 

09-16 03-16 1.362 06-16 1.430 4.993% 

10-16 04-16 1.370 06-16 1.430 4.380% 

11-16 05-16 1.370 06-16 1.430 4.380% 

12-16 06-16 1.370 06-16 1.430 4.380% 

01-17 07-16 1.380 06-16 1.430 3.623% 

02-17 08-16 1.380 06-16 1.430 3.623% 

03-17 09-16 1.380 06-16 1.430 3.623% 

04-17 10-16 1.389 06-16 1.430 2.952% 

05-17 11-16 1.389 06-16 1.430 2.952% 

06-17 12-16 1.389 06-16 1.430 2.952% 

* = (Midpoint of rate period index/ Midpoint of rye index) -1 

TN# MS-KS17-010Approval DatJlEC 12 2017 Effective Date July 1. 2017 Supersedes TN# MS-KS-16-014 
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COST CENTER 

Operating 

Indirect Health Care 

Direct Health Care 

Real and Personal Property Fee 

* = Base limit for a facility average case mix index of 1 .200 

UPPER LIMIT 

$38.43 

$54.30 

$122.14* 

$9.75 

TN#MS-KS17-010 Approval oe\iC 12 2017 Effective Date July 1. 2017Supersedes TN#MS-KS16-014 
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment4.19-D 
Part I 

Subpart C 
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/17 Exhibit C-2 

NF ONLY 

INCENTIVE OUTCOME 
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (5.26), or 
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >= 10% 
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 49% or 
Staff turnover rate > 75th percentile but reduced >= 10% 
Medicaid occupancv >= 60% 

Total Incentive Points Available 

INCENTIVE 
POINTS 
$2.25 
$0.20 
$2.25 
$0.20 
$1.00 

$5.50 

Page3 
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Page 3a 
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/17 

NF-MH ONLY 

QUALITY/EFFICIENCY OUTCOME 
CMI adjusted staffing ratio>= 120% (3.92) ofNF-MH median (3.27), or 
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.60) and 120% 
Total occupancy<= 90% 
Operating expenses < $20.51, 90% of NF-MH median, $2. 79 
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 50% 
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 68% 
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs 
Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 73% 
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 59% 
Total Incentive Points Available 

Total Incentive Points: 
Tier 1: 6-8 points 
Tier 2: 5 points 
Tier 3: 4 points 
Tier 4: 0-3 points 

Incentive Factor Per Diem: 
$7.50 
$5.00 
$2.50 
$0.00 

INCENTIVE 
POINTS 

2,or 
1 
1 
1 

2,or 
1 

2,or 
1 
8 
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Level & Per Diem 
Incentive 

Level 0 

The Foundation 

$0.50 

Level I 

Pursuit of 
Culture Change 

$0.50 

Level 2 

Culture Change 
Achievement 

$1.00 

KANSAS MEDICAID STA TE PLAN 
Attachment 4.19D 

Part I 
Subpart C 

Exhibit C-2 
Page 3b 

PEAK INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07 /01/17 

Summary of Required Nursing Home Incentive Duration 
Action 
Home completes the KCCI evaluation tool Available beginning July I of 
according to the application instructions. enrollment year. Incentive 
Home participates in all required activities granted for one full fiscal year. 
noted in 'The Foundation"timeline and 
workbook. Homes that do not complete 
the requirements at this level must sit out 
of the program for one year before they are 
eligible for reannlication. 
Homes should submit the KCCI evaluation Available beginning July 1 of 
tool (annually). Home submits an action enrollment year. Incentive 
plan addressing 4 PEAK 2.0 cores in granted for one full fiscal year. 
Domains 1-4. The home self-reports 
progress on the action planned cores via 
phone conference with the PEAK team. 
The home may be selected for a random 
site visit. The home must participate in the 
random site visit, if selected, to continue 
incentive payment. Homes should 
demonstrate successful completion of75% 
of core competencies selected. A home can 
apply for Levels I & 2 in the same year. 
Homes that do not achieve Level 2 with 
three consecutive years of participation at 
Level I may return to a Level O or sit out 
for two years depending on KDADS and 
KSU's recommendation. 
This is a bridge level to acknowledge Available beginning July 1 
achievement in Level I. Homes may following confirmed 
receive this level at the same time they are completion of action plan 
working on other PEAK core areas at Level goals. Incentive is granted for 
I. Homes may receive this incentive for up one full fiscal year. 
to 3 years. If Level 3 is not achieved at the 
end of the third year, homes may start back 
at Level O or 1 depending on KDADS and 
KSU's recommendation. 

TN#MS-KS 17-010 Approval oR&:C l 2 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 SupersedesTN#MS-KS 16-014 
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OWNER/ADMINISTRATOR LIMITATION TABLE EFFECTIVE 07/01/ 17 

Total Maximum Cost of 
Number Bed Owner/ Admin Limit Living 

State 
of Beds Days Comeensation PPD FIY Amount Erne. 

15 5,475 $22,327 $4.08 90 17,755 3.000% 
16 5,840 $25,261 $4.33 91 18,021 1.500% 

17 6,205 $28,195 $4.54 92 18,021 0.000% 

18 6,570 $31,129 $4.74 93 18,111 0.500% 

19 6,935 $34,063 $4.91 94 18,202 0.500% 

20 7,300 $36,997 $5.07 95 18,407 1.125% 

21 7,665 $39,931 $5.21 96 18,591 1.000% 

22 8,030 $42,865 $5.34 97 18,591 0.000% 

23 8,395 $45,799 $5.46 98 18,777 1.000% 

24 8,760 $48,733 $5.56 99 19,059 1.500% 

25 9,125 $51,667 $5.66 00 19,250 1.000% 

26 9,490 $54,601 $5.75 01 19,250 0.000% 

27 9,855 $57,535 $5.84 02 19,683 2.250% 

28 10,220 $60,469 $5.92 03 19,683 0.000% 

29 10,585 $63,403 $5.99 04 19,978 1.500% 

30 10,950 $66,337 $6.06 05 20,577 3.000% 

31 11,315 $69,271 $6.12 06 20,834 1.250% 

32 11,680 $72,205 $6.18 07 21,355 2.500% 

33 12,045 $75,139 $6.24 08 21,782 2.000% 

34 12,410 $78,073 $6.29 09 22,327 2.500% 

35 12,775 $81,007 $6.34 10 22,327 0.000% 

36 13,140 $83,941 $6.39 11 22,327 0.000% 

37 13,505 $86,875 $6.43 12 22,327 0.000% 

38 13,870 $89,809 $6.48 13 22,327 0.000% 

39 14,235 $92,743 $6.52 14 22,327 0.000% 

40 14,600 $95,677 $6.55 15 22,327 0.000% 

41 14,965 $98,611 $6.59 16 22,327 0.000% 

42 15,330 $101,545 $6.62 17 22,327 0.000% 

43 15,695 $104,479 $6.66 18 22,327 0.000% 

44 16,060 $107,413 $6.69 

45 16,425 $110,347 $6.72 

46 16,790 $113,281 $6.75 

47 17,155 $116,215 $6.77 

48 17,520 $119,149 $6.80 

49 17,885 $122,083 $6.83 

50 18,250 $125,017 $6.85 

TN-MS-KS! 7-010 Approval DQfC 12 2017 Effective Date: July I, 2017 Supersedes TN-MS- KS16-014 
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1st- 2nd QTR 2018ANNUAL 

Current Provider lnfonnat1on 

Provider Number: HP Enterpr1ses Provider Number: 

Facility Name: Area/County: 
Address: 
City/Stale/Zip: 
Administrator: 

Cost Re ort Statistics 

Calendar Year Cost Reports Used For Base Data: 12/31114 
Inflation Factor: 9.579% 
Facility Cost Report Period CMI: 1.0510 
Statewk:le Average CMI: 1.0145 
NF Or NF/MH Beds: 95 
Bed Days Available: 32,865 
Inpatient Days: 27,968 
Occupancy Rate: 85.1% 
Medicaid Days: 16,802 
Cale Days If Appl: 27935 

Calculation of Combined Base Year Reimbursement Rate 

Total Reported Costs: 

Cost Report Adjustments: 

0/A Limit Adjustment: 

Total Adjusted Costs: 

Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: 

Tola\ Combined Base Cost: 

Days Used In Division Oper: 

Operating 

Indirect Health Care 
Tola! Reported Costs: 

Cost Report Adjustments: 

Total Adjusted Costs: 

Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: 

Total Combined Base Cost: 

Days Used In Divis!on IDHC: 

Cirect Health Care 
Total Reported Costs: 

Cost Report Adjustments: 

Total Adjusted Costs: 

Total Inflated Adjusted Costs: 

Tota! CMI Adjusted Costs: 

Tota\ Combined Base Cost: 

Days Used In Division DHC: 

Real and Personal Property Fee 

Calculation of Medicaid Rate 

$693,546 
$0 

($7,556) 
$685,990 
$726,160 

27,968 

$1,258,374 
$0 

$1,258,374 
$1,378,914 

27,968 

$1,875,091 
$0 

$1,875,091 
$2,050,445 
$1,979,235 

27,966 

12/31/15 
7.036% 
1.0429 
1.0231 

65 
32,225 
27,002 
83.8% 
17,585 
27,391 

$610,329 
$20,449 
($90,563) 
$740,215 
$775,955 

27,391 

$1,064,913 
$0 

$1,064,913 
$1,139,840 

27,391 

$1,939,570 
($23,413) 

$1,916,157 
$2,047 ,'18'1 
$2,008,611 

27,002 

OperaUng, !DHC, And DHC Rates and RPPF (1) +(2) + (3) +(4): 

Incentive Factor 

PEAK2.0 
Bed Tax Pass Through 

DME Pass Through 
Minimum Wage Pass Through 

Medicaid Rate Subtotal 

Budget Adjustment Using (3.650%) 
Total Medicaid Rate Effective 

12/31/16 
4.380% 
1.0886 
1.0225 

65 
31,110 
23,095 
74.2% 
14,220 
26,444 

$827,212 
$0 
$0 

$827,212 
$856,629 

26,444 

$967,021 
$0 

$967,021 
$1,009,377 

26,444 

$1,630,983 
$0 

$1,630,983 
$1,911,180 
$1,795,133 

23,095 

[c)'([a]/(b]) 

7/1/2017 

1.0200 [b] 

$2,358,744 
81,803 

1stQTRMedicaidCM!: 1.0444 
2nd QTR Medicaid CMI: 1.0241 
Average Medicaid CMI: 1.0343 [a) 

28.83 Oper Per Diem 

38.43 Oper Per Diem Cost Limitation 

28.83 Oper Per Diem Rate (1) 

$3,528,131 
61,803 

43.79 IDHC Per D!em 

54.30 IDHC Per Diem Cost Limitation 

43.79 IDHC Per Diem Rate (2) 

$5,782,979 
78,065 

74.08 Case Mix Adjusted DHC Per Diem 

122.14 DHC Per Diem Cost Llmltation 

74.08 Allowable DHC Per Diem Cost [c] 

75.12 Medk:ald Acuity Adjustment (3) 

12.87 Real and Personal Property Fee 

0.00 Inflation (0.000%) 
0.00 RPPF Rebase Add On 

12.67 RPPF Before Limit 

9.75 RPPF Limitation 

9.75 Allowable RPPF (4) 

176.56 
1.20 
0.50 
3.01 
0.00 
0.00 

162.20 
(5.92) 

156.28 
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN 

KANSAS MEDICAID 
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY OUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR 

Provider Number: 
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number: 

Facility Name: 

Rate Effective Date: 07/01/17 

1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio 
Tier 1: At or Above the NF 75th Percentile (5.26) 
Tier 2: Below the NF 75th Percentile but Improved At 

or Above 10% 

Cost Report Year Data: 

2. Staff Turnover 
Tier 1: At or Below the NF 75th Percentile (49%) 
Tier 2: Above the NF 75th Percentile but Reduced At 

or Above 10% 
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10% 
of total DHC Labor Costs (Contract Labor 41%) 

Cost Report Year Data: 

3. Occupancy Rate 
Medicaid Occupancy At or Above 60% 

Cost Report Year Data: 

Total Incentive before Survey Adjustment 

Survey Adjustment and Reduction 

Final Incentive Awarded 

Peak 2.0 Incentive 

Peak 2.0 Survey Adjustment and Reduction 

Final PEAK 2.0 Incentive Awarded 

0% 

0% 

Incentive 
Possible 

$ 2.25 

$ 0.20 

$ 2.25 

$ 0.20 

$ 1.00 

$ 4.00 

Facility 
Stats 

6.22 
12/31/2016 

37% 

12/31/2016 

38% 
12/31/2016 

Attachment 4.19D 
Part 1 
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Incentive 
Awarded 

$ 2.25 

$ 0.00 

$ 2.25 

$ 0.00 

$0.00 

$ 4.50 

$ 0.00 

$ 4.50 

$ 0.50 

$ 0.00 

$ 0.50 
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN 

KANSAS MEDICAi D 
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY OUTCOMES INCENTIVE FACTOR 

Provider Number: 
HP Enterprise Services Provider Number: 

Facility Name: 

Rate Effective Date: 07/01/17 

1. Case Mix Adjusted Nurse Staff Ratio 
Tier 1: At or Above 120% of NF-MH Median (3.92) 
Tier 2: At or Above 110% of NF-MH Median of (3.60) 
(NF-MH Median is 3.27 for an Average Statewide CMI of 1.0225) 

Cost Report Year Data: 

2. Operating Expense 
At or below 90% of NF-MH Median ($20.51) 

Cost Report Year Data: 

3. Staff Turnover 

Incentive 
Possible 

2 
1 

Tier 1: At or Below the NF-MH 75th Percentile (50%) 2 
Tier 2: At or Below the NF-MH 50th Percentile (68%) 1 
And Contract Nursing Labor Less than 10% of Total DHC Labor Costs (0.0%) 

Cost Report Year Data: 

4. Staff Retention 
Tier 1: At or Above the NF-MH 75th Percentile (73%) 
Tier 2: At or Above the NF-MH 50th Percentile (59%) 

Cost Report Year Data: 

5. Occupancy Rate 
Total Occupancy At or Below 90% 

Cost Report Year Data: 

Total Points Awarded 

Incentive Before Survey Adjustment 
Survey Adjustment and Reduction 
Final Incentive 

Scoring: 
Points 
6-8 
5 
4 
0-3 

PEAK 2.0 Incentive 

Per Diem 
$7.50 
$5.00 
$2.50 
$0.00 

Survey Adjustment and Reduction 
Total PEAK 2.0 Incentive 

0% 

0% 

2 
1 

Facility 
Stats 

4.77 

12/31/2016 

$31.06 
12/31/2016 

50% 

12/31/2016 

59% 
12/31/2016 

97% 
12/31/2016 
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Incentive 
Awarded 

2 
0 

0 

2 
0 

0 
1 

6 

$ 7.50 
$0.00 

$ 7.50 

$ 1.50 
$0.00 

$ 1.50 
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