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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

MAY 11 2016

Michael Randol, Director

Division of Health Care Finance

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Landon State Office Building

900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N

Topeka, KS 66612-1220

RE: Kansas State Plan Amendment TN: 15-008

Dear Mr. Randol:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 15-008. This amendment updates components of the
nursing facility rate setting methodology and updates numerous charts and exhibits within the State
plan that demonstrate the revised factors and limits applicable to the new rate period beginning with
SFY 2016. This SPA also clarifies provisions of the Quality and Incentive per diem add-on program
and the Culture Change/Person-Centered Care Incentive Program (referred to as PEAK).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan
amendment 15-008 is approved effective July 1, 2015. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the

amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director

Enclosures
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report information from the old and new operators shall be combined to prepare a
12-month calendar year end cost report.

Projected Cost Reports:

The filing of projected cost reports are limited to: 1) newly constructed facilities;
2) existing facilities new to the Medicaid program; or 3) a provider re-entering the
Medicaid program that has not actively participated or billed services for 24 months or
more. The requirements are found in K.A.R. 129-10-17.

2) Rate Determination

Rates for Existing Nursing Facilities

Medicaid rates for Kansas NFs are determined using a prospective, facility-
specific rate-setting system. The rate is determined from the base cost data submitted by
the provider. The current base cost data is the combined calendar year cost data from
each available report submitted by the current provider during 2010, 2011, and 2012.

If the current provider has not submitted a calendar year report between 2010 and
2012, the cost data submitted by the previous provider for that same period will be used
as the base cost data. Once the provider completes their first 24 months in the program,
their first calendar year cost report will become the provider’s base cost data.

The allowable expenses are divided into three cost centers. The cost centers are
Operating, Indirect Health Care and Direct Health Care. They are defined in K.A.R. 129-
10-18.

The allowable historic per diem cost is determined by dividing the allowable
resident related expenses in each cost center by resident days. Before determining the per
diem cost, each year’s cost data is adjusted from the midpoint of that year to 12/31/12.
The resident days and inflation factors used in the rate determination will be explained in
greater detail in the following sections.

The inflated allowable historic per diem cost for each cost center is then
compared to the cost center upper payment limit. The allowable per diem rate is the lesser
of the inflated allowable historic per diem cost in each cost center or the cost center upper
payment limit. Each cost center has a separate upper payment limit. If each cost center

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval MAY: 1 1 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS12-06
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

upper payment limit is exceeded, the allowable per diem rate is the sum of the three cost
center upper payment limits. There is also a separate upper payment limit for owner,
related party, administrator, and co-administrator compensation. The upper payment
limits will be explained in more detail in a separate section.

The case mix of the residents adjusts the Direct Health Care cost center. The
reasoning behind a case mix payment system is that the characteristics of the residents in
a facility should be considered in determining the payment rate. The idea is that certain
resident characteristics can be used to predict future costs to care for residents with those
same characteristics. For these reasons, it is desirable to use the case mix classification
for each facility in adjusting provider rates.

There are add-ons to the allowable per diem rate. The add-ons consist of the
incentive factor, the real and personal property fee, and per diem pass-throughs to cover
costs not included in the cost report data. The incentive factor and real and personal
property fee are explained in separate sections of this exhibit. Pass-throughs are
explained in separate subparts of Attachment 4.19D of the State Plan. The add-ons plus
the allowable per diem rate equal the total per diem rate.

Rates for New Construction and New Facilities (New Enrollment Status)

The per diem rate for newly constructed nursing facilities, or new facilities
to the Kansas Medical Assistance program shall be based on a projected cost report
submitted in accordance with K.A.R. 129-10-17.

The cost information from the projected cost report and the first historic cost
report covering the projected cost report period shall be adjusted to 12/31/12. This
adjustment will be based on the THS Global Insight, National Skilled Nursing Facility
Market Basket Without Capital Index. The IHS indices listed in the latest available
quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from the midpoint of
the cost report period to 12/31/12. The provider shall remain in new enrollment status
until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted cost data shall be used
to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for inflation that is applied
to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the adjusted cost data for each
provider in new enrollment status.

Rates for Facilities Recognized as a Change of Provider (Change of Provider Status)

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval mﬁ\f 11 2015 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS12-06
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

The payment rate for the first 24 months of operation shall be based on the base
cost data of the previous owner or provider. This base cost data shall include data from
each calendar year cost report that was filed by the previous provider from 2010 to 2012.
If base cost data is not available the most recent calendar year data for the previous
provider shall be used. Beginning with the first day of the 25" month of operation the
payment rate shall be based on the historical cost data for the first calendar year
submitted by the new provider.

All data used to set rates for facilities recognized as a change-of-provider shall be
adjusted to 12/31/12. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National
Skilled Nursing Facility Market Basket without Capital Index. The THS indices listed in
the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from
the midpoint of the cost report period to 12/31/12. The provider shall remain in change-
of-provider status until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted cost
data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for
inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the
adjusted cost data for each provider in change of provider status.

Rates for Facilities Re-entering the Program (Reenrollment Status)

The per diem rate for each provider reentering the Medicaid program shall be
determined from a projected cost report if the provider has not actively participated in the
program by the submission of any current resident service billings to the program for 24
months or more. The per diem rate for all other providers reentering the program shall be
determined from the base cost data filed with the agency or the most recent cost report
filed preceding calendar year 2010.

All cost data used to set rates for facilities reentering the program shall be
adjusted to 12/31/12. This adjustment will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National
Skilled Nursing Facility Market Basket Without Capital Index. The IHS indices listed in
the latest available quarterly publication will be used to adjust the reported cost data from
the midpoint of the cost report period to 12/31/12. The provider shall remain in
reenrollment status until the base data is reestablished. During this time, the adjusted cost
data shall be used to determine all rates for the provider. Any additional factor for
inflation that is applied to cost data for established providers shall be applied to the
adjusted cost data for each provider in reenrollment status.

3) Quarterly Case Mix Index Calculation

AY 11 2016

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval Date: Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS12-06



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exliibit C-1
Page 7 of 19

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

cost report and the historic cost report covering the projected cost report period are based
on the actual resident days for the period.

The second exception is for the first cost report filed by a new provider who
assumes the rate of the previous provider. If the 85% minimum occupancy rule was
applied to the previous provider’s rate, it is also applied when the rate is assigned to the
new provider. However, when the new provider files a historic cost report for any part of
the first 12 months of operation, the rate determined from the cost report will be based on
actual days and not be subject to the 85% minimum occupancy rule for the months in the
first year of operation. The 85% minimum occupancy rule is then reapplied to the rate
when the new provider reports resident days and costs for the 13th month of operation
and after.

5) Inflation Factors

Inflation will be applied to the allowable reported costs from the calendar year
cost report(s) used to determine the base cost data from the midpoint of each cost report
period to 12/31/12. The inflation will be based on the IHS Global Insight, National
Skilled Nursing Facility Market Basket Without Capital Index.

The IHS Indices listed in the latest available quarterly publication will be used to
determine the inflation tables for the payment schedules processed during the payment
rate period. This may require the use of forecasted factors in the inflation table. The
inflation tables will not be revised until the next payment rate period.

The inflation factor will not be applied to the following costs:
1) Owner/Related Party Compensation
2) Interest Expense
3) Real and Personal Property Taxes

The inflation factor for the real and personal property fees will be based on the IHS
Global Insight, National Skilled Nursing Facility Total Market Basket.

6) Upper Payment Limits
There are three types of upper payment limits that will be described. One is the

owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator limit. The second is the real and
personal property fee limit. The last type of limit is an upper payment limit for each cost

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval WA¥: 1 1 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 12-06
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Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

center. The upper payment limits are in effect during the payment rate period unless
otherwise specified by a State Plan amendment.

Owner/Related Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator Limits:

Since salaries and other compensation of owners are not subject to the usual
market constraints, specific limits are placed on the amounts reported. First, amounts
paid to non-working owners and directors are not an allowable cost. Second, owners and
related parties who perform resident related services are limited to a salary chart based on
the Kansas Civil Service classifications and wages for comparable positions. Owners and
related parties who provide resident related services on less than a full time basis have
their compensation limited by the percent of their total work time to a standard work
week. A standard work week is defined as 40 hours. The owners and related parties
must be professionally qualified to perform services which require licensure or
certification.

The compensation paid to owners and related parties shall be allocated to the
appropriate cost center for the type of service performed. Each cost center has an
expense line for owner/related party compensation. There is also a cost report schedule
titled, “Statement of Owners and Related Parties.” This schedule requires information
concerning the percent of ownership (if over five percent), the time spent in the function,
the compensation, and a description of the work performed for each owner and/or related
party. Any salaries reported in excess of the Kansas Civil Service based salary chart are
transferred to the Operating cost center where the excess is subject to the Owner/Related
Party/Administrator/Co-Administrator per diem compensation limit.

The Schedule C is an array of non-owner administrator and co-administrator
salaries. The schedule includes the calendar year 2012 historic cost reports in the
database from all active nursing facility providers. The salary information in the array is
not adjusted for inflation. The per diem data is calculated using an 85% minimum
occupancy level for those providers in operation for more than 12 months with more than
60 beds. The Schedule C for the owner/related party/administrator/co-administrator per
diem compensation limit is the first schedule run during the rate setting.

The Schedule C is used to set the per diem limitation for all non-owner
administrator and co-administrator salaries and owner/related party compensation in
excess of the civil service based salary limitation schedule. The per diem limit for a 50-
bed or larger home is set at the 90th percentile on all salaries reported for non-owner

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approvamélz L i 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 12-06
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

administrators and co-administrators. A limitation table is then established for facilities
with less than 50 beds. This table begins with a reasonable salary per diem for an
administrator of a 15-bed or less facility. The per diem limit for a 15-bed or less facility
is inflated based on the State of Kansas annual cost of living allowance for classified
employees for the rate period. A linear relationship is then established between the
compensation of the administrator of the 15-bed facility and the compensation of the
administrator of a 50-bed facility. The linear relationship determines the per diem limit
for the facilities between 15 and 50 beds.

The per diem limits apply to the non-owner administrators and co-administrators
and the compensation paid to owners and related parties who perform an administrative
function or consultant type of service. The per diem limit also applies to the salaries in
excess of the civil service based salary chart in other cost centers that are transferred to
the operating cost center.

Real and Personal Property Fee Limit

The property component of the reimbursement methodology consists of the real
and personal property fee that is explained in more detail in a later section. The upper
payment limit will be 105% of the median determined from a total resident day-weighted
array of the property fees in effect April 1, 2012.

Cost Center Upper Payment Limits

The Schedule B computer run is an array of all per diem costs for each of the
three cost centers-Operating, Indirect Health Care, and Direct Health Care. The schedule
includes a per diem determined from the base cost data from all active nursing facility
providers. Projected cost reports are excluded when calculating the limit.

The per diem expenses for the Operating cost center and the Indirect Health Care
cost center less food and utilities are subject to the 85% minimum occupancy for facilities
over 60 beds. All previous desk review and field audit adjustments are considered in the
per diem expense calculations. The costs are adjusted by the owner/related
party/administrator/co-administrator limit.

Prior to the Schedule B arrays, the cost data on certain expense lines is adjusted

from the midpoint of the cost report period to 12/31/12. This will bring the costs reported
by the providers to a common point in time for comparisons. The inflation will be based

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approvali¥e:1 1 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 12-06



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-1
Page 14 of 19

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates
Nursing Facilities and Nursing Facilities-Mental Health

Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and per diem add-ons:

INCENTIVE

INCENTIVE OUTCOME POINTS
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (4.93), or $2.25
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >=

10% . $0.20
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 46 % or $2.25
Staff turnover rate > 75th percentile but reduced >= 10% $0.20
Medicaid occupancy >= 60% _ $1.00
Total Incentive Points Available ‘ $5.90

Nursing Facility for Mental Health Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor:

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive plan for Nursing Facilities for Mental
Health (NFMH) will be established separately from NF. NFMH serve people who often
do not need the NF level of care on a long term basis. There is a desire to provide
incentive for NFMH to work cooperatively and in coordination with Community Mental
Health Centers to facilitate the return of persons to the community.

The Quality and Efficiency Incentive Factor is a per diem add-on ranging from
zero to three dollars. It is designed to encourage quality care, efficiency and cooperation
with discharge planning. The incentive factor is determined by five outcome measures:
case-mix adjusted nurse staffing ratio; operating expense; staff turnover rate; staff
retention rate; and occupancy rate. Each provider is awarded points based on their
outcomes measures and the total points for each provider determine the per diem
incentive factor included in the provider’s rate calculation.

Providers may earn up to two incentive points for their case mix adjusted nurse
staffing ratio. They will receive two points if their case-mix adjusted staffing ratio equals
or exceeds 3.78, which is 120% of the statewide NFMH median of 3.47. They will
receive one point if the ratio is less than 120% of the NFMH median but greater than or
equal to 3.15 which is 110% of the statewide NFMH median. Providers with staffing
ratios below 110% of the NFMH median will receive no points for this incentive
measure.

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval {#¢: 1 1 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 14-20
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

NFMH providers may earn one point for low occupancy outcomes measures. If
they have total occupancy less than 90% they will earn a point.

NFMH providers may earn one point for low operating expense outcomes
measures. They will earn a point if their per diem operating expenses are below $19.35,
or 90% of the statewide median of $21.50.

NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their turnover rate outcome
measure. Providers with direct health care staff turnover equal to or below 44%, the 75"
percentile statewide, will earn two points as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed
10% of the provider’s total direct health care labor costs. Providers with direct health
care staff turnover greater than 44% but equal to or below 52%, the 50™ percentile
statewide, will earn one point as long as contracted labor costs do not exceed 10% of the
provider’s total direct health care labor costs.

Finally, NFMH providers may earn up to two points for their retention rate
outcome measure. Providers with staff retention rates at or above 73%, the 75t
percentile statewide will earn two points. Providers with staff retention rates at or above
67%, the 50" percentile statewide will earn one point.

The table below summarizes the incentive factor outcomes and points:

QUALITY/EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE
OUTCOME POINTS
CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 120% (3.78) of NF-MH median

(3.47), or 2, 0or
CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.15) and 120% 1
Total occupancy <= 90% 1
Operating expenses < $19.35, 90% of NF-MH median, $21.50 1
Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 44% 2,0r
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 52% 1
Contracted labor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs

Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 73% 2, 0r
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 67% 1
Total Incentive Points

Available 8

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approval {##%¢:_1 1 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 14-20
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Level 2

Culture Change
Achievement

$1.00

This is a bridge level to acknowledge
achievement in Level 1. Homes may
receive this level at the same time
they are working on other PEAK
core areas at Level 1. Homes may
receive this incentive for up to 3
years. If Level 3 is not achieved at
the end of the third year, homes must
start back at Level 0 or 1 depending
on KDADS and KSU’s

recommendation.

Available beginning July 1
following confirmed
completion of action plan
goals. Incentive is granted for
one full fiscal year.

Level 3
Person-

Centered Care
Home

$2.00

Demonstrates minimum competency
as a person-centered care home (see
KDADS full criteria). This is
confirmed through a combination of
the following: High score on the
KCCI evaluation tool. Demonstration
of success in other levels of the
program. Performing successfully on
a Level 2 screening call with the
KSU PEAK 2.0 team. Passing a full
site visit.

Auvailable beginning July 1
following confirmed minimum
competency as a person-
centered care home. Incentive
is granted for one full fiscal
year. Renewable bi-annually.

Level 4

Sustained
Person-
Centered Care
Home

$3.00

Homes earn person-centered care
home award two consecutive years.

Available beginning July 1
following confirmation of the
upkeep of minimum person-
centered care competencies.
Incentive is granted for two
fiscal years. Renewable bi-
annually.

TN-MS-KS 15-008 Approvalme: 11 2016 Effective Date: July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN-MS-KS 14-20
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$0.40
$1.00
$1.20
$1.40
$2.25
$2.45
$3.25
$3.45
$4.50
$5.50

TOTALS

PEAK
INCENTIVE
AWARDED

$0.00
$0.50
$1.00
$1.50
$2.00
$3.00
$4.00

TOTALS

NURSING FACILITY

#
OF
PROVIDERS

81
26
1
65
29
4
61
4
20
1
21
7

320

#
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96
160
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320
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PERCENTAGE

25.3%
8.1%
0.3%

20.3%
9.1%
1.3%

19.1%
1.3%
6.3%
0.3%
6.6%
2.2%

100%

PERCENTAGE

30.0%
50.0%
0.3%
16.9%
0.6%
0.3%
1.9%

100.0%
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Narrative Explanation of Nursing Facility Reimbursement Formula

facility’s direct health care per diem cost is $60.00, the Direct Health Care per diem limit
is $78.00, and these are both tied to a statewide average CMI of 1.000, and the facility’s
current Medicaid CMI is 0.9000. Since the per diem costs are less than the limit the
Allowable Direct Heath Care Cost is $60.00, and this is matched with the statewide
average CMI of 1.0000. To calculate the Medicaid Acuity Adjustment, first divide the
Medicaid CMI by the statewide average CMI, then multiply the answer by the Allowable
Direct Health Care Cost. In this case that would result in $54.00 (0.9000/1.0000 x
$60.00). Because the facility’s current Medicaid CMI is less than the statewide average
CMI the Medicaid Acuity Adjustment moves the direct health care per diem down
proportionally. In contrast, if the Medicaid CMI for the next quarter rose to 1.1000, the
Medicaid Acuity Adjustment would be $66.00 (1.1000/1.0000 x $60.00). Again the
Medicaid Acuity Adjustment changes the Allowable Direct Health Care Per Diem Cost to
match the current Medicaid CML.

8) Real And Personal Property Fee

The property component of the reimbursement methodology consists of the real
and personal property fee (property fee). The property fee is paid in lieu of an allowable
cost of mortgage interest, depreciation, lease expense and/or amortization of leasehold
improvements. The fee is facility specific and does not change as a result of a change of
ownership, change in lease, or with re-enrollment in the Medicaid program.

The real and personal property fee is calculated by adding the facility’s applicable
Mortgage Interest, Lease/Improvements, and Depreciation, and dividing the total by the
number of Census days per MS-2004 (or calculated by 85% rule, if applicable). The
property fee will be the lower of the facility-specific inflated property fee or the upper
payment limit.
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
Subpart C
INFLATION TABLE Exhibit C-2
EFFECTIVE 07/01/15 Page 1
MIDPOINT
REPORT MIDPOINT MIDPOINT OF RATE HISTORICAL
YEAR END MIDPOINT OF RYE OF RATE PERIOD INFLATION
(RYE) OF RYE INDEX PERIOD INDEX FACTOR % *
12-09 06-00 7.180 12-12 71267 7.373%
01-10 07-09 1.187 12-12 1.267 6.740%
02-10 08-09 1.187 12-12 1.267 6.740%
03-10 09-09 1.187 12-12 1.267 6.740%
04-10 10-09 1.189 12-12 1.267 6.560%
05-10 11-09 1.189 12-12 1.267 6.560%
06-10 12-09 1.189 12-12 1.267 6.560%
07-10 01-10 1.200 12-12 1.267 5.583%
08-10 02-10 1.200 12-12 1.267 5.583%
09-10 03-10 1.200 12-12 1.267 5.583%
10-10 04-10 1.203 12-12 1.267 5.320%
11-10 05-10 1.203 12-12 1.267 5.320%
12-10 06-10 1.203 12-12 1.267 5.320%
01-11 07-10 1.210 12-12 1.267 4.711%
02-11 08-10 1.210 12-12 1.267 4.711%
03-11 09-10 1.210 12-12 1.267 4711%
04-11 10-10 1.212 12-12 1.267 4.538%
05-11 11-10 1.212 12-12 1.267 4.538%
06-11 12-10 1.212 12-12 1.267 4.538%
07-11 01-11 1.224 12-12 1.267 3.513%
08-11 02-11 1.224 12-12 1.267 3.513%
09-11 03-11 1.224 12-12 1.267 3.513%
10-11 04-11 1.231 12-12 1.267 2.924%
11-11 05-11 1.231 12-12 1.267 2.924%
12-11 06-11 1.231 12-12 1.267 2.924%
01-12 07-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
02-12 08-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
03-12 09-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
04-12 10-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
05-12 11-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
06-12 12-11 1.239 12-12 1.267 2.260%
07-12 .01-12 1.252 12-12 1.267 1.198%
08-12 02-12 1.252 12-12 1.267 1.198%
09-12 03-12 1.252 12-12 1.267 1.198%
10-12 04-12 1.255 : 12-12 1.267 0.956%
11-12 05-12 1.255 12-12 1.267 0.956%
12-12 06-12 1.255 12-12 1.267 0.956%
01-13 07-12 1.263 12-12 1267 . 0.317%
02-13 08-12 1.263 12-12 1.267 0.317%
03-13 09-12 1.263 12-12 1.267 0.317%
04-13 10-12 1.267 12-12 1.267 0.000%
05-13 11-12 1.267 12-12 1.267 0.000%
06-13 12-12 1.267 12-12 1.267 0.000%

* = (Midpoint of rate period index / Midpoint of rye index) -1
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |

Subpart-C

COST CENTER LIMITATIONS EFFECTIVE 07/01/15 Exhibit C-2
Page 2

COST CENTER UPPER LIMIT
Operating $32.25
Indirect Health Care $47.78
Direct Health Care 103.69*

Real and Personal Property Fee $9.38

* = Base limit for a facility average case mix index of 1.0124

TN#MS-KS15-008 Approval MA¥% 11 2018 Effective Date July 1, 2015 Supersedes TN#MS-KS12-06



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |
Subpart-C
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/15 Exhibit C-2
Page 3a
NF-MH ONLY
INCENTIVE
QUALITY/EFFICIENCY OUTCOME POINTS
1 |CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 120% (4.20) of NF-MH median (3.05), or 2, 0r
|CMI adjusted staffing ratio between 110% (3.85) and 120% 1
2 |Total occupancy <= 90%
3 |Operating expenses < $19.11, 90% of NF-MH median, $21.23 1
4 |Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 24% 2,0r
Staff turnover rate <= 50th percentile, 36% 1
Contracted iabor < 10% of total direct health care labor costs
5 |Staff retention >= 75th percentile, 84% 2,or
Staff retention >= 50th percentile, 75% 1
Total Incentive Points Available 8
Total Incentive Points: Incentive Factor Per Diem:
Tier 1. 6-8 points $7.50
Tier 2: 5 points $5.00
Tier 3: 4 points $2.50
Tier 4: 0-3 points $0.00
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN ' Attachment 4.19-D

Part 1
Subpart C
QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY INCENTIVE FACTOR EFFECTIVE 07/01/15 Exhibit C-2
Page 3
NF ONLY
INCENTIVE
INCENTIVE OUTCOME POINTS
1 |CMI adjusted staffing ratio >= 75th percentile (4.93), or $2.25
CMI adjusted staffing < 75th percentile but improved >= 10% $0.20
2 |Staff turnover rate <= 75th percentile, 40.66% or $2.25
Staff turnover rate > 75th percentile but reduced >= 10% $0.20
3 [Medicaid occupancy >= 60% $1.00
Total Incentive Points Available $5.50
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN

Attachment 4.19-D
Part |

Subpart:C
Exhibit C-3
COMPILATION OF COST CENTER LIMITATIONS Pége 1
EFFECTIVE 07/01/15
**BEFORE INFLATION*** A **AFTER INFLATION***
OPER IDHC DHC RPPF  TOTAL OPER IDHC DHC RPPF  TOTAL
28.93 4014  78.81 '8.93  156.81 29.32 4155  79.76 893  159.56
3022 4154 8042 9.44  161.62 30.76  42.91 83.55 9.44  166.66
2078 41.06  80.99 952 161.35 30.38 4245  83.31 9.52  165.66
308 308
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HIGH
99th
95th
90th
85th
80th
75th
70th
65th
60th
55th
50th
40th
30th
20th
10th

1st

Low

MEAN

WTMN

# of Prov

KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN Attachment 4.19-D

Part |

Subpart C

Exhibit C-3

COMPILATION OF ADMINISTRATOR, CO-ADMIN OWNER EXPENSE - O/A LIMIT Page 2

EFFECTIVE 07/01/15
ADMINISTRATOR CO-ADMINISTRATOR TOTAL ADMN & CO-ADMN OWNER
TOTAL  PRD TOTAL PRD TOTAL PRD TOTAL PRD
246,357 10.53 87,847 3.12 246,357 10.53 250,618 10.83
182,183 8.30 74,061 2.58 190,621 8.61 228,955 8.00
123,262 6.95 74,061 2.58 123,520 7.07 226,620 6.66
99,990 6.02 74,061 2.58 100,834 6.07 172,213 6.43
93,028 5.40 69,915 2.23 94,683 5.44 97,199 5.30
89,004 5.00 69,915 2.23 89,004 5.00 91,802 511
84,277 473 69,915 2.23 84,277 4.73 89,040 4.42
81,843 4.50 69,708 1.66 81,843 4.50 79,604 3.27
77,406 4.22 69,708 1.66 77,482 4.23 75,662 3.04
73,535 4.02 25,158 1.64 73,690 4.04 67,332 2.82
71,518 3.76 25,158 1.64 71,518 3.76 60,106 2.77
69,967 3.59 25,158 1.64 69,967 3.59 57,369 2.57
65,734 3.26 20,354 0.50 65,734 3.26 50,036 2.27
60,236 2.81 1,672 0.09 60,236 2.81 25,757 1.09
52,890 2.51 1,672 0.09 52,890 2.51 12,362 0.46
35,330 2.04 242 0.01 35,330 2.04 7,449 0.22
11,826 1.09 242 0.01 11,826 1.09 4,321 0.19
3,137 0.87 242 0.01 3,137 0.87 3,644 0.18
72,480 3.84 87,847 3.12 72,480 3.84 97,633 4.18
82,861 3.41 87,847 3.12 82,861 3.41 99,971 4.13
297 8 297 40
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KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN
Attachment 4.19D
Part 1
Subpart C
Exhibit C-4

Page 1
June 11, 2015

«ADMIN_NAME», Administrator
«FAC_NAME»
«FAC_ADDRES»

«CITY», KS «ZIP»

Provider #: 104«PROV_NUM»01
HP Enterprise Services Provider # «EDS_PROV_N»

Dear «<ADMIN_NAME»:

The per diem rate shown on the enclosed Case Mix Payment Schedule for state fiscal year 2016 has been
forwarded to the Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) for processing of future reimbursement payments.
The rate will become effective July 1, 2015.

The Kansas Department on Aging and Disability Services(KDADS), administers the Medicaid nursing facility
services payment program on behalf of Kansas Department of Health and Environment. The rate was
calculated by applying the published methodology, including applicable Medicaid program policies and
regulations to the cost reports (Form MS 2004) data shown on the enclosed payment schedule.

Also enclosed may be an audit adjustment sheet showing adjustments made during the desk review of the
2014 calendar year end cost report. This information is intended to assist you with preparation of future cost
reports. The calendar years of 2010, 2011 and 2012 will be used as the base years for the purpose of
setting; rates. These adjustments do not have any effect upon reimbursement. However, should you
disagree with any adjustment, please email or mail me any information you have that supports your position.
We will file the information with the cost report and will use that information to reevaluate the adjustments
based on the documentation supplied.

If you do not agree with this action, you have the right to request a fair hearing appeal in accordance with
K.A.R. 30-7-64 et seq. Your request for fair hearing shall be in writing and delivered to or mailed to the
agency so that it is received by the Office of Administrative Hearings, 1020 S. Kansas Ave., Topeka, KS
66612-1311 within 30 days from the date of this letter. (Pursuant to K.S.A. 77-631, an additional three days
shali be allowed if you received this letter by mail). Failure to timely request or pursue such an appeal may
adversely affect your rights.

If you have questions about the adjustments, please contact John Oliver at (785) 296-6457 or email at
John.Oliver@kdads ks.gov . For questions on the Medicaid Rate, please contact Chris Chase at (785) 296-
0703 or email at Chris.Chase@kdads.ks.gov.

Sincerely,

Rhonda Boose, Reimbursement Manager
NF Reimbursement Program
Financial and Information Services

RB:cke
Enclosures
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