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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 

APR 2 5 2014 

Kari Bruffet, Director 
Division of Health Care Finance 
Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
900 SW Jackson, Room 900N 
Topeka, KS 66612-1220 

RE: Kansas State Plan Amendment TN: 13-12 

Dear Ms. Bruffet: 

CMS 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 13-12. This amendment updates provisions of the Nursing 
Facility (NF) and Nursing Facility for Mental Health (NF-MH) Quality Care Assessment Pass­
Through. The Pass-Through is being changed from a lump-sum payment to a per diem add-on. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing 
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan 
amendment 13-12 is approved effective July 1, 2013. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the 
amended plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429. 

Enclosures 

Director 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
SPA #KS 13-12 

FORM APPROVED 
OMB NO. 0938-0193 

2. STATE 
Kansas 

3. : TITLE XIX OF THE 
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

4. EFFECTIVE DATE 
July 1, 2013 

0 NEW STATE PLAN 0 AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT 

42 CFR447.20 42 CFR442.10 
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 

Attachment 4.19D, Part I, Subpart U, Page 1 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 
Nursing facility provider assessment pass-through payments 

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): 
0 GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT 
0 COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED 
0 NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 

13. TYPED NAME: 
for Karl Bruffett 

FORM HC:FA-17Q (07-Q?) 

a. FFY 2013 $0.00 
b. FFY 2014 $0.00 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION 
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 

Attachment 4.19D, Part I, Subpart U, Page 1 

X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 

16. RETURN TO: 
Karl Bruffett 

Karl Bruffett is the 
Governor's Designee 

KDHE: Division of Health Care Finance 
Landon State Office Building 
900 SW Jackson, Room 900-N 
Topeka, KS 66612-1220 



KANSAS MEDICAID STATE PLAN 
Attachment 4.19D 

Part I 
Subpart U 

Page 1 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
Skilled Nursing and Intermediate Care Facility Rates 

(NFs and, NFs-MH) 

Quality Care Assessment Pass-Through 

To compensate providers for increased expenses incurred due to the quality care assessment, a 
per diem pass-through will be determined and paid to each Medicaid provider. The per diem will 
be added to the nursing facility Medicaid per diem rate. The quality care assessment pass­
through will not be subject to cost center limits or the 85% occupancy rule. 

1) Qualifying Providers 

All providers currently enrolled in the Medicaid program that also provided Medicaid nursing 
facility services during the most recent cost report period will be eligible for the quality care 
assessment pass-through per diem. 

2) Pass-Through Calculation 

The quality care assessment pass-through per diem will be determined by multiplying the 

quarterly quality care assessment paid by each qualifying provider by four to determine an 

annualized assessment expense. The annualized assessment expense will be divided by the total 

resident days from the calendar year cost report preceding the start of the fiscal year. For 

example, during fiscal year 2014 (July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014), the resident day total 

from the calendar year 2012 cost report will be used to determine the per diem pass-through. For 

providers filing a projected cost report the projected resident day total will be used to initially 

calculate the pass-through per diem. The per diem pass-through will be adjusted retroactively for 
an historical cost report covering the projection period. 

TN# KS-13-12 Approval nAPR Z 5 2014 Effective Date 07/0112013 Supersedes TN# MS-10-10 
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