## **Table of Contents**

State/Territory Name: Idaho

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 17-0012

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, MD 21244-1850



## **Financial Management Group**

OCT 18 2017

Russ Barron, Director Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Post Office Box 83720 Boise, Idaho 83720-0036

RE: ID State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number #17-0012 - Approval

Dear Mr. Barron:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 17-0012. This SPA shortens the initial cost reporting period for new Behavioral Care Units (BCUs) from one-year to 60 days minimum.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 17-0012 is approved effective as of September 1, 2017. For your files, we are enclosing the HCFA-179 transmittal form and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions concerning this state plan amendment, please contact Tom Couch, CMS' RO NIRT Representative at 208-861-9838 or <a href="mailto:Thomas.Couch@cms.hhs.gov">Thomas.Couch@cms.hhs.gov</a>.

Sincerely,

Kristin Fan
Director

**Enclosures** 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17-0012	IDAHO
STATE FLAN MATERIAL		
TOTAL THE CARE PINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION		
TO DECIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	September 01, 2017	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	September 01, 2017	
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
J. TITE OF TEAT WATERINE (CIRCUI ONC).		
	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
1905(a)(6) and 2110(a)(24) of the Social Security Act	\$0.00 (P&I) FY17: \$0	
	FY18: \$0	DDED DE AM OPOTION
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS	
Attachment 4.19-D, adding pages 15b and 15c (P&I)	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):	
Attachment 4.19 D, pages 15a, 15b and 15c (P&I)	N/A (P&I) Attachment 4.19 D, page 15a (P&I)	
Attachment 4.19-D pages 15b and 15c	Attuenment 1.15 D, page 154 (1 oct)	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:	N. I. Com Well to and	the moulest
These proposed changes will make it easier for providers who wish to start up a Behavioral Care Unit to enter the market. Currently a provider must self-fund the first year of operations in order to generate a full year of cost reporting. After the initial		
Currently a provider must self-fund the first year of operations in or	there to generate a full year of cost repor	ges will shorten the cost
year, reimbursement for providing services as a Behavioral Care Unit can commence. These proposed changes will shorten the cost		
reporting period from a full year to a minimum of 60 calendar days. The expedited reimbursement will allow more providers to enter the market and improve access to these services throughout the state.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One).	OTHER, AS SPEC	IFIED:
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED		
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
		to the second se
12 SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
13. TYPED NAME:	Lisa Hettinger, Deputy Director	
LISA HETTINGER	Idaho Department of Health and Welfar	e
14. TITLE:	Division of Medicaid	
Deputy Director	PO Box 83720	
15 DATE SUBMITTED.	Boise ID 83720-0009	
08/10/2017		
FOR REGIONAL OF		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED: OCT 1	8 2017
8/16/17		O EON
PLAN APPROVED – ON	20, SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OF	WOLAL .
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20. SIG.	
SEP 0°1 2017	OO THE A	
21. TYPED NAME:	22. TITLE: Director, FMG	
DRISTIN TAN	Julieus, 1100	
23. REMARKS:		
8/17/17: State authorized P&I change to boxes 7, 8, and 9		
8/25/17: State authorized P&I change to box 8 and 9		

- O1. Treatment of Newly Licensed Facilities With Behavioral Care Units (BCUS). Criteria to Qualify as a New BCU. Facilities licensed on or after September 1, 2017, must meet the qualifications for a BCU described in Subsections 266.02, 266.03, and 266.05 through 266.15 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule). BCU facilities existing prior to this date that receive a new license due to a change of ownership will not be subject to the provisions of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
  - a. Reimbursement for Years One (1) Through (3). Beginning with the first day of the first month following approval of the BCU license and when the provider can demonstrate that BCU days from a minimum of sixty (60) calendar days, regardless of payer source, divided by total census days for that same sixty (60) day period, equals or exceeds a minimum of twenty percent (20%), the provider's rate will change to reflect BCU services. The provider will be reimbursed at the median rate for BCU facilities of that type, either freestanding or hospital-based, for the remaining period within the first three (3) full years of operation. If there are no facilities of the same type (for example, no other hospital-based BCUs), the provider will receive the median rate for their type, but the direct care portion of the rate will be revised to the median rate of existing BCUs. The rate change to reflect BCU services will not be retroactive to rate quarters paid prior to meeting the 20% BCU occupancy requirement.
  - b. A nursing facility must apply for BCU eligibility on an annual basis in accordance with Subsection 266.07 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule). If the provider did not meet the BCU qualifications described in Section 266 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule), with the exception of Subsections 266.01 and 266.04, for a full cost report year corresponding to the initial application year, the 20% BCU day requirement will apply only to days beginning with the first day of BCU eligibility to the end of the year.
  - c. During the period of limitation, the facility's rate will be modified annually on July 1st to reflect the current median rate for skilled care facilities of that type. After the first three (3) complete years of operations, the facility will have its rate established at the next July 1st with the existing facilities in accordance with Subsections 266.03 and 266.05 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
  - d. During the period of limitation, providers must demonstrate annually that BCU days were equal to or exceeded twenty percent (20%), as described in Subsection 267.02 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule). Providers must provide a report to the Department with a calculation of BCU days for each month during the period being reviewed. If the twelve (12) month average falls below twenty percent (20%), then the BCU reimbursement will revert back to the median rate per Section 260 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule). Once the Department has established the provider has met the requirements of Subsection 267.01, they will be eligible for a new rate outlined in Subsection 267.02.b of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
- 02. Existing Provider Elects to Add Behavioral Care Unit (BCU). An existing nursing facility provider that elects to add a BCU on or after September 1, 2017, may be deemed eligible after meeting the following requirements:
  - a. **Meet Criteria for BCU.** The nursing facility provider must meet the criteria for a BCU described in Section 266 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
  - b. **BCU Eligible Days.** The provider must demonstrate that BCU days from a minimum of sixty (60) calendar days, regardless of payer source, divided by total census days for that same sixty (60) day period, equals or exceeds a minimum of twenty percent (20%).
  - c. **BCU Payments.** Once the provider has met the requirements of Section 268.01 and 02 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule), beginning with the first day of the first quarter following BCU license, the provider's rate will change to reflect BCU services. At no time will the rate be adjusted mid-quarter. The rate will be calculated as follows.
    - The indirect costs, costs exempt from limitations, and property costs will be reimbursed in the same manner as all other providers in accordance with reimbursement provisions contained in IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).

TN: 17-0012 Approved Date: 0CT 1 8 2017 Effective Date: 09/01/17

- ii. The direct cost portion of the rate will be reimbursed as a prospective rate not subject to a change from an interim rate to a final rate. The direct care portion of the rate will be calculated by determining the median direct care rate for BCU facilities of that type (freestanding or hospital-based) effective on July 1 of the rate year. If there are no facilities of the same type (for example no other hospital-based BCUs), the direct care portion of the rate will be set at the median rate of existing BCUs. The direct care portion of the rate will be updated on July 1 of each rate year until the provider has a qualifying 12-month cost report, as described in Section 268.03.d. of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
- iii. The provider's total calculated rate will be subject to customary charge limitations and any other rate reductions implemented for other providers.
- iv. Once the provider has a twelve (12) month cost report that contains a full year of BCU costs, their rate will be calculated in the same manner as other providers in accordance with IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule).
- v. A nursing facility must apply for BCU eligibility on an annual basis in accordance with Section 266 of IDAPA 16.03.10 (effective date 9/1/17 temporary rule). If the provider was not a BCU for a full cost report year, the 20% BCU day requirement will apply only to days beginning with the first day of BCU eligibility to the end of the year.

TN: 17-0012 Approved Date: 0CT 18 2017 Effective Date: 09/01/17

Supersedes TN: NEW