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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES :
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services . .

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop 52-26-12 ‘ M s
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group
APR 37 2018

Charles M. Palmer, Director

Iowa Department of Human Services
1305 East Walnut, 5% Floor

Des Moines, IA 50319-0114

RE: Iowa State Plan Amendment TN: 14-013
Dear Mr. Palmer:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 14-013. This amendment establishes reimbursement for
non-state Psychiatric Medical Institutions for Children (PMICs) services through the use of provider
specific per diem rates, consistent with the Jowa Plan for Behavioral Health.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing
Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan
amendment 14-013 is approved effective July 1, 2014. We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the
amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Tim Weidler at (816) 426-6429.

Sincerely,

Timothy Hill
Director

v

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

" TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB No, 0888-0163
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Attackment 4.19-A, Page 34, 35, 36

10, SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT

Thiz changes the reimbursement methodology for non-state PNIC facilities,

This §PA request

iz 2 continuation of the transition of Medicaid funded mental health mervices to the Iowa

rlan for Behavioral Health.

]

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One)
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Attachment 4.19-A
PAGE -34-

State/Territory: “JOWA

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rafes for Inpatient Psychiatric
Services for Individuals Under 21 Years of Age

1. Neon-State Owned Providers

For services provided by non-state-owned providers on July 1, 2014 and after,
inpatient psychiatric services for individuals under 21.years of age will be
reimbursed according to the lowa Plan for Behavioral Health Contractor provider
specific per diem rate without reconciliation. The agency’s fees were set as of
July 1, 2014 and are effective for dates of service provided on or after that date.
All rates are published on the Department of Human Services website:

www.dhs jowa.gov.

2. State-Owned Providers

The basis of payment for state-owned providers of inpatient psychiatric services
for individuals under 21 years of age is 100 percent of actual and allowable cost.
Actual and allowable cost is based on the cost report information the facility
submits to the Department on Form 470-0664, Financial and Statistical Report.
Rates are calculated as total actual and allowable cost divided by total patient
days on a retrospective cost-related basis and adjusted retroactively.

Interim Rates
Providers shall be reimbursed through a prospective interim rate equal to the
previous year’s retrospectively calculated cost per day.

Retroactive Cost Adjustment
Reimbursement payments made to state-owned psychiatric institution providers

for services on or after July 1, 2009, shall be cost settled to actual cost. Following
completion of a cost report desk review, cost setilement will be calculated using
reasonable and proper actual cost per day from a 12-month period through
retroactive adjustments. The retroactive adjustment represents the difference
between the amount received by the provider during the year for covered services
and the amount determined in accordance with an accepted method of cost
apportionment to be the actual cost of service rendered, not to exceed the
maximum reimbursement rate. Providers will receive advance notice of the
retroactive adjustments and will also receive transaction detail after the
adjustments have been completed.

StatcPlan TN# _IA-14-013 Effective JUL 01 2014

Superseded TN#  1A-11-006 Approved APR-$7-2015 '




Attachment 4.19-A
PAGE -35-

State/Territory: JOWA

Definition of Allowable Costs and Reimbursement Principles
The actual and allowable costs of services rendered to Medicaid recipients are

those that meet the principles specified in OMB Circular A-87 and the Medicare
Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS Publication 15-1). Actual and allowable
costs must be reasonable and directly related to patient care.

Costs reported under inpatient psychiatric services shall not be reported as
reimbursable costs under any other funding source. Cost incurred for other
services shall not be reported as reimbursable costs under inpatient psychiatric
services. Mileage reimbursement shall be limited to the maximum reimbursement
rate allowed State employees at the time of service provision,

Cost Reporting Requiremenis

All state-owned providers shall submit the Medicaid cost report, Form 470-0664,

Financial and Statistical Report, on an annual basis. Financial information shall

be based on the provider’s financial records. When records are not kept on an

accrual basis of accounting, the provider shall make the adjustments necessary to
convert the information to an accrual basis for reporting. Failure to maintain -
records to support the cost report may result in adjustment to the reimbursement

rate, claim denial, recoupment or termination of the provider’s enrollment with

the Iowa Medicaid program. The Department may require that an opinion of a

certified public accountant accompany the report when a provider has a history of

cost report adjustments or inability to support cost report data.

Providers shall submit completed cost reports to the IME Provider Cost Audit and
Rate Setting Unit, P.O. Box 36450, Des Moines, A 50315. Cost reports shall be
submitted on or before the last day of the third month after the end of the
provider’s fiscal year end. Hospital-based providers will be required to submit
their cost report within five months from the end of the provider’s fiscal year end.
The submission must include a working frial balance. Cost reports submitted
without a working trial balance will be considered incomplete.

A provider may obtain a 30-day extension for submitting the cost report by
sending a letter to the IME provider cost audit and rate setting unit before the cost
report due date. No extensions will be granted beyond 30 days.

If a provider fails to submit a complete cost report, including the working trial
balance, the department shall reduce payment to 75 percent of the current rate.
The reduced rate shall be paid for not longer than three months, after which time
no further payments will be made.

State Plan TN # 1A-14-013 Effective JUL 01 2014

Superseded TN # _IA-11-006 - Approved APR 27 2018



Attachment 4.19-A
PAGE -36-

State/Territory: IOWA

3. Provider Appeals

In accordance with 42 CFR 447.253(c), if a provider of service disagrees with the
reimbursement determination, the provider may file an appeal and request
reconsideration from the Administrator of the Division of Medical Services in the
Department. The appeal must be in writing, clearly state the nature of the appeal,
and be supported with all relevant data. Appeals must be submitted within 30
days of the date of the decision.

The Administrator of the Division of Medical Services will review the material
submitted, render a decision and advise the provider accordingly within a period
of 90 days.

StatePlan TN# _IA-14-013 Bfective _ So- 01 201
Superseded TN# 1A-09-018 Approved APR 27 2015
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