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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES  Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Region IX

Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

No 90 Seventh Stroes, Suite 5-300 (SW)
V15 Sao Francisco, CA 94103-6706

Lillian B. Koller, Esq.

Director, Department of Human Services
P.0. Box 339

Honolulu, HI 96809-0339

Dear Ms. Koller:

Enclosed is an approved copy of Hawaii State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 10-003 which adds
smoking cessation as a covered Medicaid benefit and expands current coverage of prescription
and non-prescription tobaceo cessation agents for the Medicaid eligible population. This SPA is

effective July 1, 2010,
If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Torris Smith at (415) 744-3599 or
Torris.Smith@cms.hhs.gov.
Sincerely,
I !L'L !ag'c
Associate Regional Administrator

Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

Michele Bowser, CMS Center for Medicaid and State Operations (two copies)
Mary Rydell, Pacific Area Representative
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SUPPLEMENT TO ATTACHMENT 3.1-A and 3.1-B

6a. Exclusions to Podiatry services are:
1)  Routine foot care, including debridement not related to infection o injury;
D Treatment of flat feet; and

) Hospits] inpatient services and appliances costing more than $100.00 require prior
approval by the department.

6b.  Approval required for contact lenses, subnormal visual aids costing more than $50.00 and
to replace glasses or contacts within 2 years. Medical justification required for bifocal
lenses prescribed for persons under 40 years of age. .

Orthoptic training is excluded.
6d.  Services of a Psychologist are provided with the following limitations:

1§} Testing is limited to a maximum of 4 hours once every 12 months or to 6 hours, ifa
comprehensive test is justified. : -

2) Prior authorization is required for all psychological testing except for tests that are
roquested by the department’s professional staff.

The providers for SAT services are psychologists, licensed clinical social workers in
behavioral health, advance practice registered nurses (APRN), marriage and family
therapist (MFT), and licensed mental health counselors (MHC), in behavioral health.
Settings where services will be delivered are in outpatient hospitals/clinies including
methadone clinics, and physician/provider offices. Only professional fees are paid when
services are provided in an outpatient or clinic setting and are paid at or below the
Medicare fee schedule rate. SAT services that are medically necessary shall be reimbursed
with the existing approved Medicaid Fee Schedule located in Attachment 4.19-B, Section
1, Hawaii Medicaid Fee Schedule, items (a) and (d) and Section 2. Medicaid Payments for
Other Non-Institutional Ttems and Services are Determined as Follows, item (). Limits
may be exceeded based on medical necessity. '

‘Substance abuse services that are medically necessary shall be provided with no limits on
the number of visits in accordance with the Hawaii substance abuse parity law.
Substance abuse services that are medically necessary shall be reimbursed with the
existing approved Medicaid fee Schedule or PPS methodology.

TH Mo, 10-003
Supersedes Approval Date: NOV 1 5 2010 Effctive Date: 07/01/10
TN No. 08014
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SUPPLEMENT TO ATTACHMENT 3.1-A and 3.1-B

Smoking cessation counseling and pharmacotherapy recommended in the most current
Public Health Service guideline shall be limited to two quit attempts per year. A minimum
of four in person counseling séssions provided by trained and licensed providers practicing
within their scope of practice shall constitute each quit attempt. Two effective components
of counseling, practical counseling and social support delivered as part of the treatments is
emphasized. Settings where services will be delivered are in outpatient hospital/clinics and
physician/provider offices. Limits may be exceeded based on medical necessity.

Smoking cessation counseling services can be provided by the following licensed .
providers: psychologists, licensed clinical social workers in behavioral health, advance
practice registered nurses (APRN), martiage and family therapist (MFT), and licensed
mental health counselors (MHC) in behavioral health.

Home health services means the following items and services, provided to 2
recipient at his/her place of residence on physician’s order as past of a written
planof care:

{1)  Nursing services (as defined in the State Nurse Practice Act and subject to
the limitations set forth in 42 CFR 440:70(b)(}))

(2)  Home health aide service provided by a home health agency;

(3)  Medical supplies, equipment, and appliances suitable for use in the home
(subject to an annual review by a physician of need for the service); and

(4)  Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology an

) d
audiolog : ded by a home gency or by a facility licensed
msmﬁmmﬁdem al reh itation services. WX iy K4

Honme health services shall be reimbursed on the basis of “per visit”; Daily

home visits permitted for home health aide and nursing services in the first two weeks of
patient care if part of the written plan of care; No more than three visits per week for each
service for the third week to the seventh week of care; No more than one visit & week for
each service from the eighth week to the fifteenth week of care; No more than one visit
every other month for each service from the sixteenth week of care, Services excoeding
these parameters shall be prior authorized by the medical consultant or it’s authorized
representative. Medical social services not covered.

Physical and occupational therapy and services for speech, hearing and language disorders
are subject to the limitations set forth in#11.

Medical supplies, equipment and appliances require prior authorization by the department
when the cost exceeds $50.00 per item.

Initial physical therapy and occupational therapy evaluations do not require prior approval.
However, physical and ocoupational therapy and reevaluations require approval of the
medical consultant providing diagnosis, recommended therapy including frequency and
duration, and for chronic cases, long term goals and a plan of care.

All speech, hearing, and language evaluations and therapy require authorization by the
medical consultant including rental or purchase of hearing aids.

Clinical services, same limitations as #2 above.

TN Mo, 10003
Supersedes
TN No. 08:014

Approval Date: _ NOV 1 5 2010 Effective Date; 07/01/10
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SUPPLEMENT TO ATTACHMENT 3.1-A and 3.1-B

- Pediatric Multivitamins, including
those with fluoride (covered for ages
12 years and younger)

- Multivitamins Covered for patients
with BSRD#**

- Vitamin C (all forms covered for
UTH)

- Vitamin B12 {covered for specific
deficiencies**¥)

(@  Nonprescription drugs
(see specific drug categories below)

- Analgesics .

- Antibacterials/Antifungals,

- Antidiarrheals

- Antihemorrhoidals

- Cough & Cold

- Gastrointestinal (H2 & PPI)

- Iron Supplement

- Laxatives

- Minerals

- Miscellaneous, Other

- Miscellaneous, Topical

~ Ophthalmics ’

- Dtics

- Schedule V OTC Products

- Vitamins/Minerals

(&) Barbitorates (see specific drug categories below)
All

L

1) Benzodiazepines (see specific drug categories
below)
« All

& Smoking cessation (except dual eligibles as Part D
will cover) according 1o the most current Public
Health Services guidelines
~ Nicotine Agents
- Non-Nicotine Agents

TN No.  10.003
Supersedes Approval Datdi0V 1 5 2010 Effective Date: _07/01/2010
TNNo.  05-006
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-8

The State assures that the reimbursement to public and private providers of Medicaid services, products or
items are the same and does not subdivide or subclassify its payment rates.

All payment rates and their effective dates shall be reflected in the Division"s website at
www.med-quest.us,

1. HAWAILMEDIC#

The Hawaii Medicaid Fes Schedule was updated on July 1, 2006 and made sffective for
services rendered on or after that date. The current Hawaii Medicaid Fee Schedule is
based on sixty percent of the 2006 Medicare Fee Schedule and itis located at
hitps/iwww.med-questus,

Reimbussement rates, £xpect as specified below and other parts of this Atiachment, for
providers of medical care who are individual practitioners and other providing non~
institutional items and services shall not exceed the maximum permitted under federal
1aws and regulations and shiall be the lower of the Medicare Fes Schedule, the State limits
as provided by the Appropriation Act, the Hawsii Medicaid Fer Schedule or the
provider’s billed amount.

These services include:

{) Physician services;

Payment shall be six ventof the 2006 Medicars Fee Schedule for physici
services. Therate wgsggmd aﬂ‘:ggve onor after }u!ye?, 2009. prpa

b} Podiatric services;
{c} Optometric services;

@ Other practitioner services including nurse midwife, and pediatric nurse
practitioner, advanced practice rogistered nurse in behavioral health are
reimbursed at seventy-five per cont of the Medicaid reimbursement rate for a
psychiatrist. Services provided by s Hcensed clinical social worker, marriage
and family therapist, and licensed mental health counselor are reimbursed at
seventy-five per cent of the Medicaid reimbursement nate for a psychologist,

(e} Physical therapy;
143 Qccupsational therapy;
) Services for persons with speech, language, and hearing disorders;

“TH No. 10-000 .
Supsrsedes spprovaipate: NOV 1 B W0 Exactive Date: 07101108
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B

) Smoking cessation services,
»  Smoking cessation counseling services shall be billed according to the
appropriate Healthcare Common Procedures Coding System (HCPCS) code
of three to ten minutes or greater than ten minutes.

{ Telohealth services:

The spoke site (originating site) is only eligible to receive a Bicility fee not to
exceed the published Medicare payment for telemedicine services for spoke
sites. Ifthe spoke or originsting site is an FQHC/RHC, then the
FQHC/RHC is eligible to receive prospective payment sysiem {PPS) vigit
e,

No payments will be made to Medicaid providers to facilitate telehesith,

Providers are required to identify asynchronous, store and forward
technology, with HIPAA compliance coding.

Providers, physicians, psychologists, nurse midwives, pediatric or family
nurse practitioners, advanced practice registered nurses in behavioral health
and licensed clinical social workers in behavioral health, st the hub site or
distant site will be reimbursed sccording to the payment methodology of the
appropriate service provided as described in other parts of this Attachment.

1f the hub or distant site is an FQHC/RHC, then the FQHC/RHC is eligible
to receive PPS visit rate.

s Transmission fees and iterns such as technical support, line charges,
depreciation on equipment, etc. are not reimbursable services under
telebesith, :

;mnm == Approval Date: NOV 1 5 2010cmecive pot: 0701109
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ATTACHMENT 4.19-B

7. Lodging and meals for Medicaid patients or attendants
authorized by the attending physician, in an emergency
situation, or the Department’s medical consultant shall be paid
through purchase orders to the providers issued by the braach
unit.

8. Payments for non-emergency transportation (¢.g.,
Handicabs, but no taxis), are limited to rates established by the
Department.

c. Reimbursement for hospice services shall be based on the rates
established under Medicare, adjusted to disregard cost offsets
attributable to Medicate coinsurance amounts. The rates, which went
into effect on October 1, 1990, will continue through December 31,
1990, :

d.  Payment for smoking cessation services shall be at the lower of the
billed charge, the rate established by the department or the current
Medicare fee schedule.

TN No. 10-003
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