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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Atlanta Regional Office 
61 Forsyth Street, Suite 4T20 
Atlanta, Georgia 30303 
 
DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN’S HEALTH OPERATIONS 
 
November 14, 2018 
 
 
Blake Fulenwider 
Deputy Commissioner, Medicaid Chief 
Georgia Department of Community Health 
2 Peachtree Street, NW, Suite 36-450 
Atlanta, GA  30303 
 
RE:  Title XIX State Plan Amendment, GA 18-0010 
 
Dear Mr. Fulenwider: 
 
We have reviewed the proposed State Plan Amendment, GA 18-0010, which was submitted to the 
Atlanta Regional Office originally on September 19, 2018.  This state plan amendment proposes to 
increase the hospitals triage rate from $50 to $70 for rural hospitals and from $50 to $60 
for all other hospitals. 
 
Based on the information provided, the Medicaid State Plan Amendment GA 18-0010 was 
approved on November 13, 2018. The effective date is July 1, 2018.  We are enclosing the 
approved HCFA-179 and the plan pages. 
 
If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Amr Ali at 
(404) 562-7338 or Amr.Ali@cms.hhs.gov. 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
      /s/ 
 
      Shantrina D. Roberts, MSN 
      Associate Regional Administrator 
      Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations 
 
Enclosures 
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1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
18-0010 

2. STATE 
  GEORGIA  

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL 
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
       CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES 
       DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE: 
July 1, 2018 
 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 
 
   NEW STATE PLAN                                AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN                       AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment) 
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 
42 CFR 447.205, 42 CFR 440.10 
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Attachment 4.19-B, pages 8.1, 8.2, 8.3, 8.4, 8.5 
 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION  
    OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 
   
Attachment 4.19-B, pages 8.1, 8.2, 8.3, 8.4, 8.5 
 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:  State Plan Amendment 18-0010, Hospital Triage Rate Increase 
 

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One): 
        GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT                                             OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
        COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED                                      Single State Agency Comments Attached                                 
        NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 
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POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE 

 
R. OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL  SERVICES 

 
1. Outpatient services by Georgia hospitals are reimbursed on a determination of  

allowable costs.  The determination of allowable costs is made retrospectively and is 
based on an appropriate CMS Form 2552 cost report submitted by the hospital and 
audited by the Department or its agents. Only costs incurred in providing patient care  
are eligible for reimbursement. Fees paid to the Department of Community Health 
pursuant to the Hospital Medicaid Financing Program Act of 2013 shall be   
considered allowable cost but will not be included in the retrospective cash 
settlement and reconciliation of the providers cost report. 

 
Allowable costs will not include costs that are in excess of charges.  Allowable costs  
are documented costs that are ordinary and necessary in the delivery of a cost  
effective service.  Allowable costs shall be determined in accordance with the  
CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual 15, except as may be modified in this plan or 
modified in the Department's "Policies and Procedures for Hospital Services" as  
published on January 1, 2013. 

 
The amount of interim payment is calculated as a percentage of covered charges.  
This payment rate is defined by covered as allowable outpatient costs divided by 
outpatient charges. An interim payment rate cannot exceed one hundred percent of 
covered charges and is subject to cash settlement determination after an audited cost 
report is received, reviewed and accepted. 

 
Clinical diagnostic laboratory services performed for outpatients and non-hospital 
patients are reimbursed at the lesser of the submitted charges or at the Department's  
fee schedule rates used for the laboratory services program. 

 
Clinical diagnostic laboratory services are subject to an upper payment limit (UPL) at 
section 1903(i)(7) of the Act, which is the amount Medicare would pay on a per test  
basis (or per billing code basis for a bundled/panel  of tests) from Medicare's clinical 
laboratory fee schedule.  Federal matching funds are available to the extent a state  
pays at or below the per test rate paid by Medicare for these services. 

 
2.    The Department will provide for appropriate audit to assure that payments made to 

providers for outpatient hospital services meet the requirements of reasonable cost. 
 

3. Outpatient services provided by non-participating non-Georgia hospitals are 
reimbursed at 45% of covered charges. 

 
4. The maximum allowable payment for outpatient services will be 85.6% of the 

hospital specific inpatient per case rate, which includes the base rate amount plus 
8.1 

 
TN No. 18-0010 
Supersedes   Approval Date: 11/13/2018            Effective Date: July 1, 2018 
TN No. 13-0005
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POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE 

 
Capital add-on, Graduate Medical Education add-on, Newborn add-on and the Hospital 
Provider Fee rate add-on, for enrolled Georgia hospitals. This case  
rate for enrolled non-Georgia hospitals does not include the Hospital Provider  
Fee add-on amount. 

 
5. Emergency room visits to rural hospitals for minor and non-acute illnesses which are 

not considered as true or potential medical emergencies will be reimbursed at an  
all-inclusive rate of $70.00.  A “rural hospital” shall be defined as a hospital in a 
Georgia county that has a population of less than 50,000 according to the United States 
decennial census of 2010, less any military personnel and their dependents. 
 
Emergency room visits to hospitals that are not a rural hospital for minor and non-acute 
illnesses which are not considered true or potential medical emergencies will be 
reimbursed as an all-inclusive rate of $60.00. 

  
6. The maximum allowable payment to enrolled Georgia and non-Georgia  

hospitals for Medicare outpatient coinsurance (crossover claims) will be  
85.6% of the hospital-specific Medicaid per case rate. The maximum  
allowable payment to non-Georgia hospitals not enrolled the Georgia  
Medicaid program for Medicare outpatient crossover claims will be 85.6% of  
the average hospital-specific inpatient per case rate for enrolled non-Georgia  
hospitals. 

 
7. For the determination of reasonable and reimbursable costs, the costs listed  

below are non-allowable (this list is not exhaustive): 
 

a) Costs related to lobbying and government relations, including costs for 
employees with duties related to lobbying and government relations, 
honorariums and reimbursement of travel or other expenses of elected 
officials; 

 
b) Memberships in civic organizations; 

 
c) Out-of-state travel paid by the provider for persons other than board  

 members or those employed or contracted by the provider. Out-of-state  
 travel for provider personnel must be related to patient care; 
 

d) Vehicle depreciation or vehicle lease expense in excess the lesser of IRS  
limits per vehicle or the amount allowed under Medicare reimbursement 
principles; provided, however, such limit shall not apply to specialized  
patient transport vehicles(e.g., ambulances); 

8.2 
 

TN No. 18-0010 
Supersedes   Approval Date: 11/13/2018            Effective Date: July 1, 2018 
TN No. 13-005
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POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE 

 
e) Air transport vehicles that are not used to transport patient care staff or  

patients.  If these vehicles are sometimes used for patient care staff or  
patient transport, the portion of cost that is unrelated to patient care staff or  
patient transport is non-allowable; 

 
f) Fifty percent (50%) of membership dues for national, state, and local 

associations; 
 

g) Legal services for an administrative appeal or hearing, or court proceeding 
involving the provider and the Department or any other state agency when 
judgment or relief is not granted to the provider. Legal services associated  

 with certificate of need issuance reviews, appeals, disputes or court  
 proceedings are not allowable regardless of outcome. Legal services  
 associated with a provider's initial certificate of need request shall be  
 allowable; and 
 

h) Advertising costs that are (a) for fund-raising purposes, (b) incurred in the  
sale or lease of a facility or agency or in connection with issuance of the provider's 
own stock, or the sale of stock held by the provider in another corporation, (c) for 
the purpose of increasing patient utilization of the  
provider's facilities, (d) for public image improvement, or (e) related to 
government relations or lobbying. 

 
8. When the outpatient cost-based settlements are made, claims for outpatient 

services which were paid at the per case rate will be excluded from the  
settlement calculations. 

 
9. Hospital-based physicians services will not be reimbursed if billed to the  

Hospital program. These services must be billed to the Physician program in  
order to be reimbursed by the Department. 
 

10. The Department will limit payment on outpatient Medicare crossover claims  
as using the following steps: 

 
(a) multiply the allowable deductible and coinsurance amount by the hospital specific 
percent of charges rate in effect on the date of payment; 
(b) compare the dollar amount from (a) to the hospital's inpatient per case rate  
in effect on the date of payment and, 
(c) reimburse the lower of these two amounts. 

 
 

8.3 
 

TN No. 18-0010 
Supersedes   Approval Date: 11/13/2018            Effective Date: July 1, 2018 
TN No. 13-005
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POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE 

 
11. A $3.00 recipient co-payment is required on all non-emergency outpatient 

hospital visits. Pregnant women, recipients under twenty-one years of age, 
nursing home residents, and hospital care recipients are not subject to the co 
payment. Emergency services and family planning services are exempt from 
co-payment. When the outpatient cost-based settlements are made for hospital 
services, the co-payments plus Medicaid and certain third party payments will 
be compared to the allowable cost to determine the amount of final settlement. 

 
12. The Department shall exclude from paid claims data used to calculate settlement 

claims for which a third party paid at or in excess of the amount Medicaid 
would pay. Third party payments which were below the Medicaid payment 
amount will be included in the interim payment amounts that are compared to 
reimbursable costs. The paid claims data used in the initial determination of 
outpatient settlements will be used when such settlements are adjusted. 

 
13. Effective July I, 2013, an adjustment will be added to the hospital outpatient 

payment rate.  Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs) Psychiatric Hospitals and 
State-Owned I State-Operated Hospitals are exempt from the provider fee  and 
the rate increase.  Trauma hospitals will participate in the provider fee but at a 
lower percentage than other participating hospitals.  The table below shows 
the provider fee and associated rate adjustment for different classes of 
hospitals. 

 
Provider Type Provider Fee Percent Rate Increase Percent 
Participating 
Acute Care 
Hospitals and 
Specialty 
Hospitals 

1.45% 11.88% 

Trauma Hospitals 1.40% 11.88% 
Critical Access 
Hospitals, State- 
Owned and State- 
Operated 
Hospitals, Out-of- 
State Hospitals 

N/A N/A 

 
 

8.4 
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POLICY AND METHODS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES FOR OTHER 
TYPES OF CARE OR SERVICE 

 
 
 

This new base rate change will be a multiplier, which will be expressed as a 
constant percentage of the Allowed Charge. There will be three different 
values for this Base Rate Change factor. One will be used for Inpatient 
Medicare Crossover claims. The second will apply to Outpatient Medicare 
Crossover claims. The Third will apply to non-Crossover Hospital claims. 

 
When calculating the Final Allowed Charge, the addition of this new Base  
Rate Change Add-on will be the final step before any cutbacks are considered. 
The dollar amount will be calculated as a percentage of the Allowed Charge at 
that point in adjudication. 

 
Outpatient Cost-to-Charge Ratio Base Payment is Calculated as: 

 

CCR Base Payment = Total Calculated Allowed Charge•• x Cost-To-Charge 
Ratio (CCR)* percent 

 

CCR Base Payment + Cap/GME Add-on + Newborn Add-on = Allowed 
Charge 
Allowed Charge x .1188 Base Rate Change Factor)= Base Rate Change Add 
on 
Allowed Charge + Base Rate Change Add-on - deductions (Copay, COB, 
Patient Liability) = Reimbursement Amount 
The payment is the lower of the reimbursement amount or the inpatient per 
case rate plus Base Rate Change add on. 

 
 
 

*The system finds the provider's Cost-To-Charge Ratio (CCR) percent on the 
reference institutional rate table using the provider number and the claim's 
admission date. 

 
••Calculation of the Allowed Charge occurs for each claim line.  The total of 
the claim line Allowed Charges is used to calculate the cost-to-charge ratio 
(CCR) base payment. 
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