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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland   21244-1850 
 
 
Financial Management Group 
 
December 11, 2019 
 
Ms. Beth Kidder 
Deputy Secretary for Medicaid 
Agency for Health Care Administration 
2727 Mahan Drive, MS #8 
Tallahassee, Florida 32308 
 
RE:  State Plan Amendment (SPA) FL 19-0011 
 
Dear Ms. Kidder: 
  
We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan 
submitted under transmittal number 19-0011.  This amendment proposes to adjust reimbursement for 
Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF-IID).  Specifically this 
amendment proposes to increase reimbursement by $345,643 FFP for FFY 2019 and $1,036,929 FFP 
for FFY 2020 in accordance with the 2018 Florida legislative session.  
  
We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal 
regulations at 42 CFR Part 447. We have found that the proposed reimbursement methodology 
complies with applicable requirements and therefore have approved them with an effective date of 
July 1, 2019.   We are enclosing the CMS-179 and the amended approved plan pages. 
 
If you have any questions, please call Anna Dubois at (850) 878-0916. 

 
 
Sincerely, 
 
/s/ 
 
Kristin Fan 
Director   
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FLORIDA TITLE XIX REIMBURSEMENT PLAN FOR SERVICES IN FACILITIES NOT PUBLICLY 

OWNED AND NOT PUBLICLY OPERATED  

VERSION XV 

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2019 
 

I. Cost Finding and Cost Reporting 
 
A. Each intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual disabilities (ICF/IID) that is not 

publicly owned and not publicly operated participating in the Florida Medicaid program and being 

reimbursed under the provisions of this reimbursement plan shall submit a cost report to the 

Florida Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) postmarked, or accepted by a common 

carrier, no later than five calendar months after the close of its cost reporting year.  No exceptions 

will be granted to the filing time limits.  Two complete, legible, copies of the cost report shall be 

submitted to AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, Division of Cost Reimbursement, 

2727 Mahan Drive, Mailstop 23, Tallahassee, FL 32308.  The cost reporting forms and 

instructions shall be the same as used for facilities reimbursed in accordance with Rule 59G-6.040, 

Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.). 

 B. The most current cost report received by AHCA on or before February 1st each year shall be used 

to establish rates effective July 1 for all facilities that were being reimbursed in accordance with 

Rule 59G-6.040, F.A.C. 

 C. All providers are required to detail all of their costs for their entire reporting period, making 

appropriate adjustments as required by this plan for determination of allowable costs.  The cost 

report shall be prepared using the accrual basis of accounting in accordance with generally 

accepted accounting principles and the methods of reimbursement in accordance with Medicare 

(Title XVIII) Principles of Reimbursement, the Provider Reimbursement Manual Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) PUB.15-1, incorporated by reference in Rule 59G-6.010, 

F.A.C., except as modified by the Florida Title XIX  Reimbursement Plan for Services in 

Facilities Not Publicly Owned and Not Publicly Operated, and State of Florida administrative 

rules.  The CMS PUB.15-1 Manual may be obtained from the regional CMS office in Atlanta.  
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The person preparing the cost report shall sign the cost report as the preparer and include contact 

information.  Cost reports not signed will not be accepted. 

 D. If a provider files a cost report late, after the five month period, and that cost report would have 

been used to set a lower reimbursement rate for a rate period had it been filed within five months, 

then the provider's rate for that rate period shall be retroactively calculated using the new cost 

report, and full payments at the recalculated rate shall be effected retroactively. 

 E. A provider who voluntarily (or involuntarily) ceases to participate in the Florida Medicaid 

program or experiences a change of ownership (CHOW) shall file a final cost report within 90 

days of withdrawal from the program when that provider has been receiving an interim 

reimbursement rate. 

 F. All providers are required to maintain financial and statistical records in accordance with 42 Code 

of Federal Regulations (CFR), sections 413.24 (a), (b), (c) and (e).  The cost report is to be based 

on financial and statistical records maintained by the provider.  Cost information shall be current, 

accurate, and in sufficient detail to support costs set forth in the report.  This includes all ledgers, 

books, records, original evidence of cost and other records in accordance with CMS PUB.15-1 

which pertain to the determination of allowable costs, and shall be capable of being audited and 

available within the State of Florida for auditing by state and federal agencies and their 

representatives within 20 days of the request.  All accounting and other records shall be brought 

up to date within 30 days of the end of each fiscal quarter.  These records shall be retained by the 

provider for a minimum of three years following the date the cost report was filed with AHCA. 

 G. Records of organizations determined by AHCA to be related as defined by 42 CFR 413.17 shall be 

available upon demand within the State of Florida to representatives, employees, or contractors of 

AHCA, the Florida Auditor General, U.S. General Accounting Office (GAO), or U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services (HHS). 

 H. AHCA shall retain all uniform cost reports submitted for a period of at least three years following 

the date of submission of such reports and shall maintain those reports pursuant to the record-
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keeping requirements of 42 CFR 431. 17.  Access to filed cost reports shall be in accordance with 

Chapter 119, Florida Statutes (F.S.). 

 I New providers entering the program shall submit a cost report for a period of not less than 12 

months and not greater than 23 months for purposes of setting prospective rates.  Initial cost report 

must be filed not than 5 calendar months after the cost of the provider’s fiscal year end and are due 

not later than 23 months after the provider’s CHOW effective date. A partial-year cost report may 

be filed initially, but may only be used to adjust the interim budgeted rate in effect. 

 J.  The provisions of this reimbursement plan shall apply to all ICF/IID facilities not publicly owned 

and not publicly operated.  These facilities shall include ICF/IID facilities that are publicly owned 

and the State of Florida is the Medicaid provider of record, but are operated or managed by a not-

for profit or for profit organization. 

K. Unless specifically noted, the terms facility and provider shall have the same meaning for all 

sections of this reimbursement plan. 

L. Cost reports shall include the following statement immediately preceding the dated signature of the 

provider’s administrator or chief financial officer:  “I certify that I am familiar with the laws and 

regulations regarding the provision of health care services under the Florida Medicaid program, 

including the laws and regulations relating to claims for Medicaid reimbursements and payments, 

and that the services identified in this cost report were provided in compliance with such laws and 

regulations.” 

M. AHCA reserves the right to refer providers found to be out of compliance with any of the policies 

and procedures regarding cost reporting to the Bureau of Medicaid Program Integrity for 

investigation.  

N. Providers are subject to sanctions pursuant to sections 409.913(15)(c) and 409.913(16)(c), F.S., 

for late cost reports.  The amount of sanctions can be found in Rule 59G-9.070, F.A.C. A cost 

report is late if it is not received by AHCA on the first cost report acceptance cut-off date after the 

cost report due date.   
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II. Audits 

 All cost reports filed by the providers shall be either field or desk audited at the discretion of AHCA. 

 A. Description of AHCA's Procedures for Audits - General 

1. Primary responsibility for the audit of providers shall be assumed by AHCA.  The efforts 

of AHCA audit staff may be augmented by contracts with certified public accountant 

(CPA) firms to ensure that the requirements of 42 CFR447.202 are met.  AHCA shall 

determine the scope and format for on-site audits, desk audits of cost reports, and 

financial records of providers. 

2. All audits shall be based on generally accepted auditing standards of the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants. 

3. Upon completion of each field audit, the auditors shall issue a report which meets the 

requirements of 42 CFR 447. 202 and generally accepted auditing standards.  The auditor 

shall express an opinion as to whether, in all material respects, the financial and statistical 

report submitted complies with all federal and state regulations pertaining to the 

reimbursement program for long-term care facilities.  All reports shall be retained by 

AHCA for three years. 

4. Providers shall have the right to petition for an administrative hearing in accordance with 

Chapter 120, F.S. 

 B. Desk Audit Procedures 

  l. Cost reports shall be reviewed for completeness, accuracy, consistency, and compliance 

with Florida Medicaid regulations.  Necessary adjustments shall be made.  All findings 

and adjustments shall be summarized in writing. 

  2. A concurrence letter will be prepared and sent to the provider, showing all adjustments 

and changes and the authority for each. 
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III. Allowable Costs 

 A. The cost report shall include all items of expense which a provider shall incur in meeting: 

  l. The definition of intermediate care facility set forth in 42 CFR 440.l50. 

  2. The standards prescribed by the Secretary of HHS for intermediate care facilities in 

regulations under the Social Security Act (SSA) in 42 CFR 442, Subpart C.  

  3. The requirements established by AHCA under the authority of 42 CFR 43l.610. 

 B. All therapy required by Medicare or Medicaid certification standards and prescribed by the 

physician of record shall be considered as covered services and all costs, direct or indirect, shall be 

included in the cost report.  These therapeutic opportunities shall include habilitative, 

rehabilitative, or other professional treatments which shall be composed of medical, dental, 

nutritional, nursing, pharmacy, physical therapy, occupational therapy, psychological, recreational, 

social work, speech therapy, or other  intellectual disability specialized services as appropriate. 

 C. Implicit in any definition of allowable costs is that those costs do not exceed what a prudent and 

cost-conscious buyer pays for a given service or item.  If costs are determined by AHCA, utilizing 

the Title XVIII Principles of Reimbursement, CMS PUB.15-1, and this plan, to exceed what a 

prudent buyer would pay, then the excess costs shall not be reimbursable under this plan. 

 D. All items of expense that providers incur in the provision of routine services, such as the regular 

room, dietary and nursing services, medical supplies, and the use of equipment and facilities, are 

allowable.   Expenses excluded from the cost report and reimbursable outside the per diem rate 

include: 

• Practitioner services for acute events, including one visit per month for chronic care 

management 

• Dialysis services rendered in the outpatient hospital or freestanding dialysis center setting 

• Podiatry services 

• Flu and pneumonia vaccines 
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 E. Bad debts other than Title XIX, charity, and courtesy allowances shall not be included in 

allowable costs.  Bad debts for Title XIX shall be limited to Title XIX uncollectible deductible and 

co-payments and the uncollectible portion of eligible Medicaid recipients' responsibilities.  

Example:  Daily Medicaid reimbursement rate is $50.00; State pays $40.00 and resident is to pay 

$l0.00.  If the Medicaid resident pays only $8.00, then $2.00 would be an allowable bad debt.  

Medicaid bad debts are allowable if revenue was earned in the prior year and two collection letters 

were sent to the appropriate party responsible for the debt within l2 months of revenue 

recognition. 

 F. Costs applicable to services, facilities, and supplies furnished to a provider by organizations 

related to a provider will be governed by 42 CFR 413.17, Medicare (Title XVIII) Principles of 

Reimbursement, and Chapter l0, CMS PUB.15-1.  Providers shall identify such related 

organizations and costs in their cost reports. 

 G. Other allowable costs shall be limited by the following provisions: 

  l. The owner administrator and owner assistant administrator compensation shall be limited 

to reasonable levels determined in accordance with CMS PUB.15-1 or as may be 

determined by surveys conducted by AHCA. 

  2. Limitation of rents: 

   a. It is the intent of the Medicaid program to limit lease cost reimbursement (rent) 

to the allowable ownership costs associated with the leased land, building, and 

equipment.  For the purposes of this provision, allowable ownership costs of the 

leased property shall be defined as the sum of: 

    (1) Depreciation, property-related interest, property taxes including 

personal and real property, property insurance, and other property-

related costs as allowed under the provisions of this plan; 

    (2) Sales tax on lease payments, if applicable; and 
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    (3) Return on equity (ROE) that would be paid to the owner if he were the 

provider, as per section H. below. 

   b. Implementation of this provision shall be in accordance with the following: 

    (1) Reimbursable lease costs of existing providers will remain unchanged 

until such time as the provider documents that ownership costs, as 

defined above, exceed the Medicaid rent costs allowed.  No other 

upward adjustments shall be made to allowable lease costs, that is, 

increased rent associated with negotiated or renewed leases of existing 

providers shall not be allowed, except for those legally binding 

agreements entered into by the lessee and lessor before July 18, 1984. 

    (2a) For currently participating non-leased facilities that subsequently are 

operated under a lease agreement with no change in ownership, the 

Medicaid rent costs allowed for reimbursement will be the lesser of 

actual rent paid or the allowable ownership costs of the leased property 

immediately prior to the commencement of the lease arrangement, 

adjusted subsequently only for cost increases that would have been 

allowable for the owner, for example, increases in property taxes.  This 

provision does not apply to lease costs for equipment that is not being 

leased from the owner of the facility. 

    (2b) For leased facilities that subsequently undergo a change of ownership, 

the lease costs shall be limited to the ownership costs of the original 

owner of record or the rent, whichever is lower. 

    (3) For new providers entering the Medicaid program, lease payments shall 

be the lesser of actual rent paid or allowable ownership costs as 

determined by the provisions of this plan.  Allowable ownership costs 
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shall be adequately documented by the provider. This provision does 

not apply to lease costs for equipment that is not being leased from the 

owner of the facility. 

    (4) In no case shall Florida Medicaid reimburse a provider for costs not 

properly documented per the provisions of this plan.  Providers 

showing rent costs, with the exception of providers who have entered 

into legally binding lease agreements prior to July 18, 1984, shall not 

be reimbursed for such costs if proper documentation of the owner's 

costs are not submitted to AHCA.  The owner shall be required to sign 

a letter to AHCA which states that the documentation submitted 

presents to the best of his knowledge true and correct information.  The 

letter signed by the owner shall also state that the owner agrees to make 

his books and records of original entry related to the ICF/IID properties 

available to auditors or official representatives of AHCA, and that he 

agrees to abide by the depreciation recapture provisions of this plan set 

forth in section III.G.(3).  

    (5) AHCA shall not make a determination that a provider has shown 

adequate proof of financial ability to operate if the provider is leasing 

the facility and does not submit the documentation of the owner's costs 

with the letter signed by the owner as per four above. 

  3. Basis for depreciation and calculation: 

   a. Cost. 

    Historical cost of long-term care facilities shall be the basis for calculating 

depreciation as an allowable cost subject to the provisions of subsection b.  All 
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other provisions of the Medicare (Title XVIII) Principles of Reimbursement and 

CMS PUB.15-1 shall be followed. 

   b. Change in ownership of depreciable assets.  For purposes of this plan, a change 

in ownership of assets occurs when unrelated parties purchase the depreciable 

assets of the facility, or purchase l00 percent of the stock of the facility, and 

within one year, merge the purchased facility into an existing corporate structure 

or liquidate the purchased corporation and create a new corporation to operate as 

the provider.  In compliance with section 1902(a)(13)(c) of the SSA, in a case in 

which a change in ownership of a provider's or lessor's depreciable assets 

occurs, and if a bona fide sale is established, the valuation of capital assets for 

determining payment rates for intermediate care facilities for individuals with 

intellectual disabilities for facilities not publicly owned and publicly operated 

shall be increased (as measured from the date of acquisition by the seller to the 

date of the change of ownership), solely as a result of a change of ownership, by 

the lesser of: 

    (1) One-half of the percentage increase (as measured over the same period 

of time, or, if necessary, as extrapolated retrospectively by the 

Secretary of HHS.) in the current Dodge Construction Systems Cost for 

Nursing Homes, applied in the aggregate with respect to those facilities 

which have undergone a change of ownership during the fiscal year; or 

    (2) One-half of the percentage increase (as measured over the same period 

of time) in the current consumer price index for all urban consumers 

(United States city average). 

    In any change in ownership, the total valuation of capital assets allowed for 

determining payment rates shall not exceed the lessor of: 
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    (1) The acquisition cost of the facility to the new owner; or 

    (2) The fair market value of the facility at the time of purchase. 

    This valuation shall be used to calculate depreciation, interest on capital 

indebtedness, and, if applicable, ROE. 

Example 1:  The allowable acquisition cost of the facility to the seller in 1985 was $500,000.  A new 

owner purchases the facility in 1990 for $700,000.  The increase in the Dodge 

Construction Index and the Consumer Price Index from the date of acquisition by the 

seller to the date of change in ownership is 25% and 20% respectively.  The new owner's 

allowable depreciable basis is $550,000. 

Example 2:  The allowable acquisition cost of the facility to the seller in 1985 was $1,500,000.  A new 

owner purchases the facility in 1990 for $1,250,000.  The new owner's allowable 

depreciable basis is $1,250,000. 

   c. Recapture of depreciation resulting from sale of assets.  The sale of depreciable 

assets, or a substantial portion thereof, at a price in excess of the cost of the 

property as reduced by accumulated depreciation, resulting in, a gain on sale, 

and calculated in accordance with Medicare (Title XVIII) Principles of 

Reimbursement indicates the fact that depreciation used for the purpose of 

computing allowable costs was greater than the actual economic depreciation.  

The amount of the recapture shall be determined as follows: 

    (1) The gross recapture amount shall be the lesser of the actual gain on the 

sale or the Florida Medicaid portion of accumulated depreciation. 

     The gross recapture amount shall be reduced by .877193 percent for 

each month in excess of 48 months participation in the Florida 

Medicaid program.  Additional beds and other related depreciable 

assets put into service shall be subject to the same thirteen and one-half 
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year depreciation recapture phase out schedule beginning at the time 

the additional beds are put into service.  The gross recapture amount 

related to the additional beds shall be reduced by .877193 percent for 

each month in excess of 48 months participation in the Florida 

Medicaid program subsequent to the date the additional beds were put 

into service.  To determine the amount of gain associated with 

additional beds, the portion of the sale price associated with all 

depreciable assets shall be allocated to the older and new portions of a 

facility as follows:  For each part of the facility, determine the 

proportion of beds to the facility's total number of beds.  Multiply the 

proportion of beds in that part of the facility by the sale price.  The 

result is the portion of the sales price allocable to that part of the 

facility. 

Example: 

Sales Price:  $6,000,000 

Older Portion of Facility: 

Number of beds = 60 

Newer portion of facility: 

Number of beds = 120 

Allocation to older portion: (60/180) x 6,000,000 = $2,000,000 

Allocation to new portion:  (120/180) x 6,000,000 = $4,000,000 

Sale Price = $6,000,000 

    (2) The adjusted gross recapture amounts as determined in one above shall 

be allocated for fiscal periods from January 1, 1972, through the date of 

sale.  The adjusted gross recapture amounts shall be allocated to each 
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fiscal period in the same ratio as depreciation amounts claimed for the 

respective portions of the facility.  Allowable costs shall be computed 

for each period after depreciation recapture.  The recomputed allowable 

costs shall be used to determine if there should be an adjustment to the 

payment rate, and any resulting overpayment shall be recovered. 

    (3) The net recapture amount, if any, so determined in two above shall be 

paid by the former owners, to AHCA.  If the net recapture amount is 

not paid by the former owner, in total or in part, the amount not paid 

shall be deducted from the future payments by AHCA to the buyer until 

the net recapture has been received.  AHCA shall grant terms of 

extended payment when the facts and circumstances of the unrecovered 

recapture from the seller justify the extension. 

   d. Depreciation recapture resulting from leasing the facility or withdrawing from 

Florida Medicaid program. 

    (1) In cases where an owner-operator withdraws from the Florida Medicaid 

program as the provider, but does not sell the facility, the depreciation 

paid by Florida Medicaid to the owner during the same time he was the 

Florida Medicaid provider shall be subject to the depreciation recapture 

provisions of this plan when the owner sells the facility.  This includes 

cases where an owner-provider leases a facility to another unrelated 

licensed operator after having operated the facility as the licensed 

Florida Medicaid provider.  In addition, if an owner-operator elects to 

withdraw from the Florida Medicaid program and lease the facility to 

an operator who continues to participate in the Florida Medicaid 

program, the portion of the reimbursable rent payment that represents 
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depreciation expenses shall be subject to the depreciation recapture 

provisions of this plan, section III.G.3.c, at the time the facility is sold.  

All owner-providers that withdraw from the Florida Medicaid program 

shall be required to sign a contract with the Agency for Persons with 

Disabilities (APD) creating an equitable lien on the owner's capital 

assets.  This lien shall be filed by APD with the clerk of the circuit 

court in the judicial circuit within which the facility is located.  The 

contract shall specify that the method for computing depreciation 

recapture shall be in accordance with the provisions of this plan, and 

the contract shall state that such recapture so determined shall be due to 

AHCA upon sale of the facility.  In the event that a provider fails to 

sign and return the contract to APD, the Proof of Financial Ability, 

which is required for the prospective operator of the facility to be 

licensed, shall not be approved. 

    (2) For lessees entering the Florida Medicaid program and for existing 

Florida Medicaid providers who are granted an upward adjustment to 

their allowable lease costs, the portion of the Florida Medicaid 

reimbursement rent payment that represents depreciation expense shall 

be subject to the depreciation recapture provisions of the plan at the 

time the facility is sold. 

     The recapture amount owed by the owner shall be computed using the 

amount of depreciation claimed by the owner and allowed by Florida 

Medicaid during the months that he was the Florida Medicaid provider 

or a lessor to a Florida Medicaid provider, or both. 
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  4. Limitations on interest.  For reimbursement purposes, the amount of interest allowed to a 

new provider in a change of ownership is limited by the allowed basis for depreciation.  

If the new owner's equity in the facility is less than the allowed basis for depreciation, the 

owner shall be allowed interest expense on the difference between the allowed basis and 

the equity.  If the new owner's equity in the facility is more than the allowed basis for 

depreciation, no interest shall be allowed. 

Example 1:  The original owner's acquisition cost is $1,000,000. 

   A new owner purchases the facility in 1985 for $2,000,000, putting $500,000 down and 

financing $1,500,000 at 15 percent.  The new owner's allowable depreciation basis is 

$1,000,000, and he can be reimbursed interest on $500,000 at 15 percent, that is, 

$1,000,000 - $500,000 = $500,000 at current rate of 15 percent. 

Example 2:  The original owner's acquisition cost is $1,000,000. 

   A new owner purchases the facility in 1985 for $2,000,000, putting $1,250,000 down and 

financing $750,000 at 15 percent.  The new owner's allowable depreciation basis is 

$1,000,000 which is less than the equity, so he receives no interest reimbursement. 

  5. Limitations on ROE.  ROE is also limited by the new owner's allowed acquisition cost.  

The new owner can receive an ROE upon his actual equity, up to the allowed acquisition 

cost. 

Example 1:  The original owner's acquisition cost is $1,000,000. 

   A new owner purchases the facility in 1985 for $2,000,000, putting down $750,000.  The 

new owner's allowable depreciation basis is $1,000,000, and he can receive an ROE 

reimbursement on the $750,000. 

Example 2:  The original owner's acquisition cost is $1,000,000. 

   A new owner purchases the facility in 1985 for $2,000,000, putting down $1,250,000.  

His equity amount for reimbursement purposes shall be limited to $1,000,000. 
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  6. Property-related costs allowed for reimbursement purposes shall be limited by the 

following provisions. 

   a. Costs that are capitalized as per CMS PUB.15-1 provisions other than land, 

buildings, construction loan costs, and equipment shall not exceed what a 

prudent and cost-conscious buyer would pay for the given service or item.  If 

such costs are determined by AHCA, utilizing the Title XVIII Principles of 

Reimbursement, CMS PUB.15-1, and this Plan to exceed the level that a prudent 

buyer would incur, then the excess costs shall not be reimbursed under the plan.  

Examples of such costs include but are not limited to legal fees, developers' fees, 

underwriters' fees, bond discount, loan points, trustee fees, interest cost on debt 

reserve requirements, and costs of feasibility studies. 

   b. All allowable capitalized costs included in (a) above plus all interest costs 

incurred as a result of financing the land, building, and equipment, including 

building equipment, major movable equipment, and minor equipment as 

described in CMS PUB.15-1, shall be limited in total to the amount of interest 

cost that would be incurred if the land, building, and equipment had been 

financed through a "conventional financing" debt instrument over a 25-year 

period, with a ten percent cash down payment, at an interest rate equal to the 

lesser of 15 percent or the prime rate plus two percent.  In cases where the 

provider obtained greater than 90 percent financing, the difference between the 

actual down payment and a ten percent cash down payment in this financing 

limit method shall be included with the balance sheet average equity for the 

period for purposes of computing an incremental change in ROE or use 

allowance that would have occurred had a full ten percent down payment 

actually been made.  If the total ROE payment would increase from zero to a 
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positive dollar amount, then the financing cost limitation on interest expense 

shall increase by that positive dollar amount.  If the total ROE payment would 

increase from a positive payment to a greater amount, then the financing cost 

limitation on interest expense shall increase by the difference between the two 

amounts.  For purposes of this provision, the "conventional financing" 

amortization schedule used shall provide for equal installments, that is, 

payments, with amortization of the principal beginning in the first year, that is, a 

25-year payoff schedule.  The prime rate used shall be the prime rate as stated 

by the Chase Manhattan Bank in New York as of the date the provider received 

a loan commitment from the lending institution, or the date AHCA received the 

provider's acceptable budgeted cost proposal if no commitment date can be 

documented.  Providers with variable rate debt instruments that are initially 

approved within these cost limitations shall be granted cost increases due to an 

increase in their interest rate, but not to exceed that cost which would be 

incurred at an interest rate of l5 percent per annum. 

   c. Additional costs due to refinancing shall not be allowed if refinancing was not 

necessary in order to meet the final payments of the former debt instrument, that 

is, in cases where balloon payments are due, or to finance the addition of new 

beds. 

   d. AHCA shall make exceptions to the financing limitations set forth in (a) and (b) 

above when, in consultation with the Agency for Persons with Disabilities 

(APD), it is in the best interest of the State.  Exceptions to the financing 

limitations shall be considered when it has been demonstrated through the 

Certificate of Need (CON) or Request for Proposal (RFP) process that financing 

within the limitations of this plan is not available. 
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    Should that decision be made, the APD shall issue a new RFP allowing other 

financing options.  APD shall reject any or all proposals which are made in 

response to a new RFP if APD determines that the rejection is in the best interest 

of the State. 

  7. Additional costs incurred after enrollment in the program that are due to capital additions 

or expansion shall have prior approval by the APD Office of Developmental Services if 

such costs exceed  one percent of the provider's current total reimbursement rate, with the 

exception of the addition of new beds which are approved through the state's CON 

process.  Costs for specific expansions or additions that exceed the one percent limit shall 

not be reimbursable if not previously approved.  Further, financing costs for approved 

expansions or additions shall be limited by the prudent buyer limits established in section 

III.G(4).  

  8. Depreciable basis as a result of capital improvements.  If capital improvements are made 

to a facility, the actual cost of the improvements shall be added to the owner's basis, 

allowing the owner reimbursement of interest, ROE, or both as specified in section III of 

this plan.  

  9. Retirement and replacement of outdated equipment.  Upon a change of ownership of a 

facility, the new provider shall maintain the original owner's records of capital assets.  If 

the new owner subsequently retires outdated equipment, the original owner's cost minus 

any depreciation shall be an allowable write-off.  Replacement equipment costs shall be 

allowed according to capital improvement rules as specified above. 

 H. Return on Equity  

  A reasonable ROE invested and used in providing resident care shall be defined for purposes of 

this plan as an allowable cost.  This ROE shall use the principles stated in Chapter 12, CMS 

PUB.15-1, except that the rate of return shall be equal to the average of the rates of interest on 
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special issues of public debt obligations issued to the Federal Hospital Insurance Trust Fund for 

each of the months during the provider's reporting period or portion thereof covered under the 

Florida Medicaid program.  ROE shall be limited to those providers who are organized and 

operated with the expectation of earning a profit for the owners, as distinguished from providers 

organized and operated on a non-profit basis. 

 I. Use Allowance 

  A use allowance on equity capital invested and used in providing resident care shall be defined for 

purposes of the plan as an allowable cost.  The use allowance shall be allowed only for non-profit 

providers, except for those facilities which are government-owned.  This use allowance shall use 

the principles established in section H. above. 
 
IV. Standards 
 A. In accordance with Chapter l20, F.S., Administrative Procedures Act (APA), this plan shall be 

made available for public inspection, and a public hearing, if requested, shall be held so that 

interested members of the public shall be afforded the opportunity to review and comment on the 

plan. 

 B. Reimbursement rates shall be established prospectively for each individual provider based on the 

most recent historic costs, but historic costs shall be limited to allowable percentage increases 

from period to period, as described in section IV.L. of this plan.  Further, if certain costs are 

determined by the Florida Medicaid program or the Florida Medicaid Division of Audit Services, 

utilizing the Title XVIII Principles of Reimbursement, CMS PUB.15-1 and this plan, to exceed the 

level that a prudent buyer would incur, then the excess costs shall not be reimbursable under the 

plan. 

 C. Prospective payment rates shall be established annually on July 1.  The most current acceptable 

cost report received by AHCA by February l shall be used in the rate setting process to set rates 

effective on July l.  
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 D. Reimbursement rates shall be calculated separately for the following two levels of reimbursement: 
 

1. Intermediate Care Facility Level of Reimbursement One - A reimbursement  level for 
recipients who are ambulatory or self-mobile using mechanical devices and are able to 
transfer themselves without human assistance, but may require assistance and oversight 
to ensure safe evacuation.  
 
 
2. Intermediate Care Facility Level of Reimbursement Two - A reimbursement level for 
recipients who are capable of mobility only with human assistance or require human 
assistance to transfer to or from a mobility device or require continuous medical and 
nursing supervision. 

 

Developmental Residential and Developmental Institutional shall constitute one class for 

reimbursement purposes, while Developmental Non-ambulatory and Developmental Medical shall 

constitute the other.  All providers shall allocate costs by the two levels of care in their cost 

reports.  AHCA shall monitor placements of clients to determine whether discrimination against 

clients with higher cost or more complex service needs is occurring.  If AHCA determines that 

such placement discrimination is occurring, this plan may be amended to provide for payments 

based on four types of care. 

 E. For the two classes described in section D. above, four components of the total reimbursement rate 

shall be calculated separately.  These four components are operating costs, resident care costs, 

property costs, and ROE costs or use allowance, if applicable.  Inflation allowances used in the 

rate-setting process shall be applied to the operating and resident care cost components 

independently for the two reimbursement classes. 

 F. The prospectively-determined individual provider's rates shall be adjusted retroactively to the 

effective date of the affected rates under the following circumstances: 

  l. An error was made by AHCA in the calculation of the provider's rates. 

  2. A provider files an amended cost report used to determine the rates in effect.  An 

amended cost report may be filed in the event that it would effect a change of one percent 

or more in the total reimbursement rate.  The amended cost report shall be filed by the 
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filing date of the subsequent cost report.  An audited cost report may not be amended.  A 

cost report shall be deemed audited 60 days after the exit conference between field audit 

staff and the provider has been completed. 

  3. Further desk or on-site audits of cost reports used in the establishment of the prospective 

rates disclose a change in allowable costs in those reports. 

 G. The following provisions apply to interim changes in component reimbursement rates, other than 

through the routine annual rate setting process described in section V, as well as to changes in a 

provider's allowable cost basis.  These provisions are not applicable to new providers' first year 

interim rates, which are addressed in sections IV.H. and IV. I.  

  1. Requests for rate adjustments for increases in property-related costs due to capital 

additions, expansion, replacements, or repairs shall not be considered in the interim 

between cost report submissions, except for the addition of new beds or if the cost of the 

specific expansion, addition, repair, or replacement would cause a change of one percent 

or more in the provider's total per diem reimbursement rate. 

  2. Requests for interim rate changes reflecting increased costs occurring as a result of 

resident care or administration changes or capital replacement other than that specified in 

(l) above shall be considered only if such changes were made to comply with existing 

state or federal rules, laws, or standards, and if the change in cost to the provider is at 

least $5000 and would cause a change of ten percent or more in the provider's current 

total per diem rate.  The provider shall submit documentation showing that the changes 

made were necessary to meet existing state or federal requirements. 

3. In the event that new state or federal laws, rules, regulations, licensure and certification 

requirements, or new interpretations of existing laws, rules, regulations, or licensure and 

certification requirements require all affected providers to make changes that result in 

increased or decreased resident care, operating, or capital costs, requests for component 
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interim rates shall be considered for each provider based on the budget submitted by the 

provider.  All affected providers' budgets submitted shall be reviewed by AHCA and 

shall be the basis for establishing reasonable cost parameters. 

Interim rate requests resulting from (l), (2), and (3) above shall be filed within 60 days 

after the costs are incurred, and shall be accompanied by a 12-month budget which 

reflects changes in services and costs.  An interim reimbursement rate, if approved, shall 

be established for estimated additional costs retroactive to the time of the change in 

services or the time the costs are incurred, but not to exceed 60 days before the date 

AHCA receives the interim rate request.  The interim per diem rate shall reflect only the 

estimated additional costs, and the total reimbursement rate paid to the provider shall be 

the sum of the previously established prospective rates plus the interim rate.  A 

discontinued service would offset the appropriate components of the prospective per 

diem rates currently in effect for the provider.  Upon receipt of a valid interim rate 

request, Florida Medicaid, Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance, shall determine 

whether additional information is needed from the provider and request such information 

within 30 days.  Upon receipt of the complete, legible additional information requested, 

the Bureau of Medicaid Program Finance shall approve or disapprove the interim rate 

within 60 days.  If Florida Medicaid does not make such determination within the 60 

days, the interim rate request shall be deemed approved. 

4. Interim Rate Settlement. 

   Overpayment as a result of the difference between the approved budgeted interim rate 

and actual costs of the budgeted item shall be refunded to AHCA.  Underpayment as a 

result of the difference between the budgeted interim rate and actual allowable costs shall 

be refunded to the provider. 
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   After the interim rate is settled, a provider's cost basis shall be restricted to the same 

limits as those of a new provider per section I. 

5. The right to request interim rates shall not be granted for fiscal periods that have ended. 

 H.1. For a new provider in a facility with greater than six beds, the interim cost per diems for each 

reimbursement class shall be the budgeted component cost rates approved by AHCA.  These 

initial cost estimates shall be limited as follows: 

  1. Property Costs: 

   Shall be approved by Florida Medicaid and shall not be in excess of the limitations 

established in section III. of this plan. 

  2. Operating Costs: 

   Shall not exceed the 90th percentile of per resident day costs of all currently participating 

ICF/IID providers that currently have prospective rates. 

  3. Resident Care Costs: 

   Shall not exceed the highest per resident day cost for the respective reimbursement class 

of any other currently participating provider having a prospective rate. 

 H.2. For a new provider in a facility with six beds or less, the interim cost per diems for each 

reimbursement class shall be the budgeted component cost rates approved by AHCA.  These 

initial cost estimates shall be limited by ceilings as follows: 

  1. Property Costs Ceiling: 

   Shall be approved by the Florida Medicaid and shall not be in excess of the limitations 

established in section III. of this plan. 

  2. Operating Costs Ceiling: 

   Shall not exceed the 90th percentile of per resident day costs of all currently participating 

ICF/IID providers that currently have prospective rates. 

  3. Resident Care Costs Ceiling: 
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   Shall not exceed the highest per resident day cost for the respective reimbursement class 

of any other currently participating provider having a prospective rate. 

  4. Total costs per diem ceiling (including ROE): 

   Shall not exceed $239.09 for the Developmental Residential/Developmental Institutional 

classes and shall not exceed $267.02 for the Developmental Non-Ambulatory classes, 

which are the base rates for rate semester April 1998.   For subsequent rate semesters. 

these ceiling amounts shall be inflated forward based on one times the ICF/IID inflation 

index utilizing the same inflation methodology as used in calculating prospective rates.  

When a provider's interim cost is limited to the total cost ceiling, the ceiling shall be 

allocated to each component based on the percentage that each component's interim cost 

is to the total of all components' interim costs, including ROE. 

 
Example: Interim 

Cost 
Percent 
to Total Ceiling 

    

Operating 58.15 23.26 55.82 

Resident 
Care 

158.89 63.56 152.54 

Property 25.70 10.28 24.67 

ROE 7.26 2.9 6.97 

Total 250 100% 240 

 

 I.1. For a new provider in a facility with greater than six beds, AHCA shall establish the cost basis for 

calculation of prospective rates using the first acceptable historical cost report covering at least a 

12 month period filed by the provider.  Overpayment as a result of the difference between the 

approved budgeted interim rate and actual allowable costs of the budgeted item shall be refunded 

to AHCA.  Underpayment as a result of the difference between the budgeted interim rate and 

actual allowable costs shall be refunded to the provider.  The basis for calculating prospective 
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rates shall be the first year settled cost report.  Basis shall be set at 100 percent of the total 

allowable costs as determined by Florida Medicaid. 

 I.2. For a new provider in a facility with six beds or less, AHCA shall establish the cost basis for 

calculation of prospective rates using the first acceptable historical cost report covering at least a 

12- month period filed by the provider.  Overpayment as a result of the difference between the 

approved budgeted interim rate and actual allowable costs of the budgeted item subject to base 

year ceilings in section V.B. of this plan shall be refunded to AHCA.  Underpayment as a result of 

the difference between the budgeted interim rate and actual allowable costs subject to base year 

ceilings in section V.B. of this plan shall be refunded to the provider.  The basis for calculating 

prospective rates shall be the first year settled cost report.  Basis shall be set at the lesser of 100 

percent of the total allowable costs or the ceilings as determined by Florida Medicaid. 

 J. Incentives for rates paid on and after October 1, 1998, shall be paid to providers whose annual 

rates of cost increase for operating costs or resident care costs from one cost reporting period to 

the next are less than 1.4 times the average cost increase for the applicable period documented by 

the ICF/IID Cost Inflation Index used in this plan.  Calculation of incentives shall be as detailed in 

section V.A.(7). of this plan. 

K. To encourage high-quality care while containing costs, incentive payments shall be paid to those 

facilities which are not out of compliance with any condition of participation.  Cost containment 

operating and resident care incentives shall be prorated for the percentage of days that a provider 

is out of compliance with any condition of participation during the rate period in effect one year 

prior to the rate period being set. 

 L. A provider's reimbursement for service provided under the Florida Medicaid program shall be the 

lower of:  the provider's usual and customary charges to the general public for such services, 

except for public facilities rendering such services free of charge or at a nominal charge, that is, 
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less than or equal to 50 percent of costs; or the rates established for the provider under this 

reimbursement plan. 

   M. The use of a target rate of inflation for cost increases shall be used as a measure of efficient 

operation for purposes of this reimbursement plan.  The target rate of inflation principle is that a 

provider's operating and resident care per diems by reimbursement class should not increase from 

one fiscal period, that is, year, to the next by a percentage amount which exceeds 1.4 times the 

average percentage of increase in the Florida ICF/IID Cost Inflation Index for the same period.  If 

a provider's per diem costs for either reimbursement class for operating or resident care exceeds 

the target rate of inflation, then the allowable per diem costs of the period in which the excessive 

costs occurred shall be limited to a level equal to the prior period's allowable per diem costs 

inflated by the target rate percentage.  Only allowable per diem costs shall be used for prospective 

rate setting purposes and for future target rate comparisons. 

N. Aggregate test comparing Florida Medicaid to Medicare according to 42 CFR section 

447.253(c)(2), Florida Medicaid estimated average proposed payment rate is reasonably expected 

to pay no more in the aggregate for long-term care facility services than the amount that would be 

paid for the services under the Medicare principles of reimbursement.  At any rate-setting period, 

if the aggregate reimbursement to be paid is higher than would be paid under Medicare principles, 

incentives shall be reduced or eliminated as necessary to meet the aggregate test. 

O. Base Costs: 

  The initial base costs for each provider shall be the allowable costs documented by the cost report 

used to establish the rate being set.  For new providers entering the Florida Medicaid program the 

initial base costs shall be established in accordance with section IV.I. of this plan.  Prospective 

rates calculated using unaudited costs shall be retroactively adjusted when audit results become 

available. 

P. Effective July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2015, the Agency shall establish rates at a level that 

ensures no increase in statewide expenditures resulting from a change in unit costs. 
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V. Methodology 
 A. Rate-setting method for rate periods beginning on or after July 1, 2014. 

  l. For rate periods beginning on July l of a given year, the prospective rates shall be set 

using the most current acceptable cost report on file with AHCA as of February l of that 

year. 

  2. Review and adjust each provider’s cost report referred to in section IV.N. to reflect the 

results of desk or on-site audits, if available. 

  3. Determine total allowable cost by reimbursement class for property cost, resident care 

cost, operating cost, and ROE or use allowance if applicable.  See the glossary section of 

this plan for the definitions of allowable costs for each of the cost components.  Costs 

shall be allocated to each reimbursement class by the methodology shown in Appendix 

A.  Costs for providers with six beds or less shall be allocated to each reimbursement 

class by the methodology shown in Appendix A-1. 

  4. Calculate per diems for each of the four cost components for the two reimbursement 

classes by dividing the component's cost by the appropriate number of resident days. 

  5. Calculate the target rate of inflation factor representing the allowable increase in 

operating and resident care costs from the prior cost reporting period.  The target rate of 

inflation factor is calculated by multiplying 1.4 times the simple average of the monthly 

Florida ICF/IID Cost Inflation Indices associated with the more recent cost reporting 

period divided by the simple average of the monthly indices associated with the prior cost 

reporting period. 

  6. This step presumes that the cost components of the cost reporting period immediately 

prior to the current cost report have been adjusted for base year ceiling limitations, 

inflation target rate limits and incentives, and that they now represent the allowable base 

costs against which the current costs are to be evaluated.  If the current year cost report 

includes new costs that were incurred in order to meet state or federal rules, laws, 
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regulations, or licensure and certification standards, and the provider did not request an 

interim rate adjustment for those costs during that cost reporting period or if the costs did 

not meet the $5,000 and one percent threshold under the interim rate provisions in section 

IV.G., then an adjustment shall be made to the current base year costs such that the 

calculation of the target cost appropriately accounts for cost incurred in meeting laws, 

rules, or regulations.  For such an adjustment to be made, the provider shall furnish 

adequate supporting documentation with the cost report.  Multiply the adjusted base cost 

components for operating and resident care costs for each reimbursement class by the 

target rate factor computed in step five above to reflect the allowable change in costs. 

  7. Compare the operating and resident care cost per diems resulting from step six with the 

respective per diems from step four for each reimbursement class. 

   a. If the operating per diem for either reimbursement class from step four is less 

than the respective operating per diem from step six, then establish the new 

operating base per diem as the per diem from step four plus an incentive of one-

half of the difference between the two per diems, not to exceed l0 percent of the 

step four per diem.  The operating incentive shall be prorated for the percentage 

of days that the provider is out of compliance with any Condition of 

Participation during the rate period in effect one year prior to the rate period 

being set.  For example, a provider not out of compliance with a Condition of 

Participation shall receive 100% of the incentive amount.  A provider that is out 

of compliance for 60 days of a 365-day rate period shall receive 83.61% of the 

incentive amount based on 305 days divided by 365 days.  If the operating per 

diem from step four is greater than the step six per diem, then establish the new 

operating base per diem as the step four per diem, not to exceed the base cost 

per diem from step six inflated by the target rate factor.  
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   b. If the resident care per diem for either reimbursement class from step four is less 

than the respective resident care per diem from step six then establish the new 

resident care base per diem as the per diem from step four plus an incentive 

calculated as 50 percent of the difference between the step four per diem and the 

step six per diem, not to exceed three percent of the step four per diem.  The 

resident care incentive shall be prorated for the percentage of days that the 

provider is out of compliance with any condition of participation during the rate 

period in effect one year prior to the rate period being set.  For example, a 

provider not out of compliance with a condition of participation shall receive 

100% of the incentive amount.  A provider that is out of compliance for 60 days 

of a 365-day rate period shall receive 83.61% of the incentive amount based on 

305 days divided by 365 days.  If the resident care per diem from step four is 

greater than the step six per diem, then establish the new resident care base per 

diem as the step four per diem, not to exceed the base cost per diem from step 

six inflated by the target rate factor.  

   c. If different operating cost rate components are produced in this rate setting 

methodology, the total operating rate cost component incentive that is 

determined shall be allocated to both classes by weighting with patient days of 

each class.  This shall equalize the operating rate cost components and allow for 

more meaningful trend comparison between cost reporting periods. 

  8. The new base per diems for property and ROE or use allowance shall be the per diems 

established in step four above.  

    9. Using the appropriate current base per diem for resident care and operating costs from 

step seven above, calculate the prospective operating and resident care per diems for the 

new rate period by multiplying each of the base per diems by the fraction: 
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   Simple average of the Florida ICF/IID monthly cost inflation indices for the prospective 

rate period divided by the simple average of the Florida ICF/IID monthly cost inflation 

indices for the cost report period used to calculate current base per diems. 

  10. Establish the total prospective per diem for each reimbursement class as the sum of the 

appropriate operating and resident care per diems resulting from step nine plus the 

current approved per diems for property and ROE or use allowance, if applicable, from 

step eight. 

 
B. Florida Medicaid Trend Adjustment (MTA) – For Rate Periods on or After  

July 1, 2014 
 
1. Effective July 1, 2014, reimbursement rates for intermediate care facilities will be set 

July 1 of each year.  Between July 1, 2014 and April 30, 2016, providers may elect to 

change their fiscal year end and file a new cost report for a period of not less than 6 

months and not greater than 18 months due to the transition to an annual rate setting. Cost 

report fiscal year end changes for this purpose are allowed even if a recent change has 

occurred and cost reports have not been filed with the same fiscal year end for two years.  

2. Effective July 1, 2019 the reimbursement methodology will incorporate the funding as 

outlined in the annual General Appropriation Act, which provides fundingof $43,136,096  

to buy-back intermediate care facilities rate reductions, effective on or after October 1, 

2008. 

3. The recurring methodology to establish rates taking into consideration the cuts imposed 

on or after October 1, 2008, shall be to compare the legislative unit cost with the rate 

setting  unit cost as follows:  

1) The legislative unit cost  shall be determined by dividing the total appropriation  for 

intermediate care facilities by the total bed days for the past fiscal year; 

2) The total actual cost as generated based on the July 1 rate settings shall be divided by 

the total bed days for the past fiscal year to determine the rate setting unit cost; 
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3) The rate setting unit cost shall be reduced to a “reduced rate setting unit cost” by the 

same percentage used to calculate the legislative unit cost to account for client 

participation contributions;  

4) No negative adjustment to the rates paid to providers shall occur so long as the 

reduced rate setting unit cost is equal to or less than the legislative unit cost; and 

5) In the event the reduced rate setting unit cost is greater than the legislative unit cost, 

a prorated reduction shall be imposed on all rates after all quality assessment fee 

funds have been exhausted to cover the rate reductions. 

 C. Base year ceilings for new providers in facilities with six beds or less 

  1. Property costs per diems shall not be in excess of the ceiling limitations established in 

section III. 

  2. Operating costs per diems shall not be in excess of the 90th percentile of per resident 

day costs of all currently participating ICF/IID providers that have prospective rates.  

This ceiling shall be recalculated for every rate period beginning July 1 of each year. 

  3. Resident care costs per diems shall not exceed the highest per resident day cost for the 

respective reimbursement class of any other currently participating provider having a 

prospective rate.  The ceiling shall be recalculated for every rate period beginning July 

1 of each year. 

  4. Total costs per diem ceilings (including ROE): 

   Shall not exceed the total costs per diem ceilings for interim cost per diems in section 

IV.H.(2)(.D.). multiplied times l.04.  When a provider is limited to the total ceiling in 

the base year, the total ceiling shall be allocated to each component to cost settle 

interim rates and to calculate prospective rates based on the percentage that each 

component's actual allowable cost is to the total actual allowable cost for all 

components, including ROE, in the base year. 

Example: Interim 
Cost 

Percent 
to Total Ceiling 
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Operating 58.15 23.26 55.82 

Resident 
Care 

158.89 63.56 152.54 

Property 25.70 10.28 24.67 

ROE 7.26 2.9 6.97 

Total 250 100% 240 

 

VI. Payment Assurance 
 AHCA shall pay each provider for services provided in accordance with the Florida Title XIX 

Reimbursement Plan for Services in Facilities Not Publicly Owned and Not Publicly Operated and 

applicable state or federal rules and regulations.  The payment amount shall be determined for each 

provider according to the standards and methods set forth in this Florida Title XIX Reimbursement Plan for 

IID Services in Facilities Not Publicly Owned and Not Publicly Operated. 

VII. Provider Participation 
  

This plan is designed to assure adequate participation of ICF/IID providers in the Florida Medicaid 

program, the availability of high-quality services for recipients, and for services which are comparable to 

those available to the general public. 

VIII.  Payment in Full 
 Payments made to any provider participating in the Florida Medicaid program who knowingly and willfully 

charges, for any service provided to the resident under the state plan, money or other consideration in 

excess of the rates established by the state plan, or charges, solicits, accepts, or receives, in addition to any 

amount otherwise required to be paid under the state plan approved under this title, any gift, money, 

donation or other consideration, other than a charitable, religious or philanthropic contribution from an 

organization or from a person unrelated to the resident:  as a condition of admitting a resident to an ICF/IID 

facility; or as a requirement for the resident's continued stay in such a facility, when the cost of the services 

provided therein is paid for, in whole or in part, under the state plan, shall be construed to be 
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supplementation of the state's payment for services.  Payments made as a condition of admitting a resident 

or as a requirement for continued stay in a facility shall be deemed to be payments to meet the cost of care 

of the Florida Medicaid resident and shall be deemed to be out of compliance with 42 CFR section 447.l5. 

 

IX. Intermediate Care Facility Quality Assessment Fee (ICFQAF) 
 

A. In accordance with section 409.9083, F.S., there is imposed upon each ICF/IID, a quality assessment. 

The aggregated amount of assessments for all ICF/IID’s in a given year shall be an amount not 

exceeding the maximum percentage allowed under federal law of the total aggregate net patient service 

revenue of assessed facilities.  AHCA shall calculate the quality assessment rate annually on a per 

resident-day basis as reported by the facilities. The per-resident per day assessment rate shall be 

uniform. Each facility shall report monthly to AHCA its total number of resident days and shall remit 

an amount equal to the assessment rate times the reported number of days. AHCA shall collect, and 

each facility shall pay, the quality assessment each month. AHCA shall collect the assessment from 

facility providers no later than the 15th of the next succeeding calendar month. AHCA shall notify 

providers of the quality assessment rate and provide a standardized form to complete and submit with 

payments. The collection of the quality assessment shall commence no sooner than 15 days after the 

agency’s initial payment to the facilities that implement the increased Florida Medicaid rates 

containing the elements prescribed in section B below and monthly thereafter. Intermediate care 

facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities may increase their rates to incorporate the 

assessment but may not create a separate line-item charge for the purpose of passing through the 

assessment to residents. 

B. The purpose of the facility quality assessment is to ensure continued quality of care. Collected 

assessment funds shall be used to obtain federal financial participation through the Florida Medicaid 

program to make Florida Medicaid payments for ICF/IID services up to the amount of the Florida 

Medicaid rates for such facilities as calculated in accordance with the approved state Florida Medicaid 



Attachment 4.19-D 
Part III 

      Amendment: 2019-011 
      Supersedes: 2018-007 

                Approval Date: 12/11/19   
         Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 
 

33 

plan in effect on April 1, 2008. The quality assessment and federal matching funds shall be used 

exclusively for the following purposes and in the following order of priority to: 

(a) Reimburse the Florida Medicaid share of the quality assessment as a pass through, Florida 

Medicaid-allowable cost. 

(b) Increase each privately operated ICF/IID Florida Medicaid rate, as needed, by an amount that 

restores the rate reductions implemented on October 1, 2008. 

(c) Increase each ICF/IID Florida Medicaid rate, as needed, by an amount that restores any rate 

reductions for the 2008-2009 fiscal year and the 2009-2010 fiscal year. 

(d) Increase payments to such facilities to fund covered services to Florida Medicaid beneficiaries. 

C. Upon termination of the quality assessment, all collected assessment revenues, less any amounts 

expended by AHCA, shall be returned on a pro rata basis to the facilities that paid such assessments. 

X. Glossary 
 

A. Acceptable cost report- A completed, accurate and legible cost report that contains all relevant 

schedules, worksheets and supporting documents in accordance with cost reporting instructions. 

B. APD - Agency for Persons with Disabilities. 

C. AHCA -  Agency for Health Care Administration. 

D. Client participation contributions -  See (M) Patient Responsibility. 

E. CMS PUB.15-1-  also known as the Provider Reimbursement Manual, published by the 

Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and Florida Medicaid Services. 

F. Filing due date (Cost Report) - No later than five calendar months after the close of the ICF’s cost- 

reporting year. 

G. ICF/IID operating costs -  Those costs not directly related to resident care or property costs.  

Operating costs include administrative, plant operation, laundry and housekeeping costs.  Return 

on equity or use allowance costs are not included in operating costs. 

H. ICF/IID resident care costs -  Those costs directly attributed to nursing services, dietary costs, and 

other costs directly related to resident care such as activity costs, social services, and all 

medically-ordered therapies. 
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I. ICF/IID property costs -  Those costs related to the ownership or leasing of an ICF/IID.  Such 

costs may include property taxes, insurance, interest and depreciation, or rent. 

J. ICF/IID return on equity or use allowance costs -  See sections III.H. and III.I. of this plan. 

K. Initial cost report – The ICF/IID first filed cost report containing actual costs following the budget 

interim period associated with their fiscal year end. 

L. Late cost report - A cost report is late when it is filed with AHCA, Bureau of Medicaid Program. 

Analysis after the filing due date and after the rate setting due date.   

M. Legislative unit cost - The weighted average per diem of the state anticipated expenditure.  

N. Medicaid interim reimbursement rate – A reimbursement rate or a portion of an overall 

reimbursement rate that is calculated from budgeted cost data. 

O. Patient Responsibility- Florida Medicaid deducts the portion of a recipient’s monthly income, as 

determined by the Department of Children and Families (DCF), that the recipient is required to 

pay. 

P. Quality assessment fee - Pursuant to section 409.9083, F.S., a per-resident-day basis assessment is 

imposed upon each intermediate care facility.   

Q. Medicaid interim reimbursement rate - A reimbursement rate or a portion of an overall 

reimbursement rate that is calculated from budgeted cost data.  

R. Rate setting due date - All cost reports received by AHCA by February 1 shall be used to establish 

the reimbursement rates.  If the due date falls on the weekend, the rate setting due date is the first 

business day following February 1. 

S. Rate setting unit cost - The weighted average per diem based on filed cost reports. 

T. Reduced rate setting unit cost - The rate setting unit cost after it is reduced by the same percentage 

that was used to calculate the legislative unit cost in order to account for the client participation 

contributions. 

U. Title XVIII - Health Insurance for the Aged, Blind or Disabled (Medicare) as provided for in the 

SSA (42 U.S.C. 1395-1395pp). 
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V. Title XIX -  Grants to States for Medical Assistance Programs (Medicaid) as provided for in the 

SSA  (42 U.S.C. 1396-1396i). 
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APPENDIX A 
CALCULATION OF PROVIDER COST ALLOCATION 

 
 
Provider Number                    FY:  09/30/84 
 
Provider Name                            Audit Status Unaudited 
 
Address                                                
 
       COL A  COL B   COL C 
       Resid./  Non-amb./ 
       Inst.  Medical   TOTAL 
 
A. Alloc of Exp (Excl B&C) 
 1. Resident Days 02461 8325 10786 
 
 2. OPER. EXPENSE COMP 
  a. Administration   -   - 120482 
  b. Plant Operation   -   - 45060 
  c. Laundry   -   - 15265 
  d. Housekeeping   -   - 29090 
  e. Oper. Exp. Comp 
     and Per Diem 19.460 19.460 209897 
 
 3. Resident Care Expense 
 a. Dietary   -   - 74861 
 b. Other   -   - 34188 
 c. Nursing   -   - 86018 
 d. Res. Care Exp. 
    and Per Diem 18.0852 18.0852 19.5067 
 
 4. PROP. EXP. COMP. 
    AND PER DIEM  8.605  8.605 92812 
 
 5. ROE/UA COMP & PER DIEM  6.604  6.604 71236 
 
B. DIRECT CARE EXPENSE 
 1. Staffing   .5  1. - 
 2. Total Staffing Required   1230.5    8325 95555 
 3. Staffing Percent 12.877% 87.123 100% 
 4. Alloc. of Direct Care   39263.97    26542.03 304906 
 5. Dir. Care Exp. Per Diem    15.945 31.9090 
 
C. ADDITIONAL SERVICES EXPENSE 
 1. Medicaid Patient Days 2461 8275 10736 
 2. Add. Ser. (Sch.AM-6) 36780 69380 106160 
 3. Add. Ser. Exp. Per Diem    14.951  8.3839 
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D. MEDICAID PER DIEM COST 
 1. Operating Component 19.460 19.460 209897 
 2. Resident Care Component 48.985 58.378 606133 
 3. Property Cost Component  8.605  8.605 92812 
    Subtotal (Schedule BM)   .-   .- - 
 4. ROE/USE ALLOW Comp.  6.604  6.604 71236 
 5. TOTAL PER DIEM COST 83.654 93.047 980078 
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APPENDIX A-1 
 

CALCULATION OF PROVIDER COST ALLOCATION 
 

 
Provider Number                    FY:  09/30/84 
 
Provider Name                             Audit Status  Unaudited 
 
Address                                                
 
       COL A  COL B   COL C 
       Resid./  Non-amb./ 
       Inst.  Medical   TOTAL 
 
A. Alloc of Exp (Excl B&C) 
 1. Resident Days 2461 8325 10786 
 
 2. OPER. EXPENSE COMP 
  a. Administration   -   - 120482 
  b. Plant Operation   -   - 45060 
  c. Laundry   -   - 15265 
  d. Housekeeping   -   - 29090 
  e. Oper. Exp. Comp 
     and Per Diem 19.460 19.460 209897 
 
 3. Resident Care Expense 
 a. Dietary   -   - 74861 
 b. Other   -   -  34188 
 c. Nursing   -   - 86018 
 d. Res. Care Exp. 
    and Per Diem 18.0852 18.0852 195067 
 
 4. PROP. EXP. COMP. 
    AND PER DIEM  8.605  8.605 92812 
 
 5. ROE/UA COMP & PER DIEM  6.604  6.604 71236 
 
B. DIRECT CARE EXPENSE 
 1. Staffing   .75  1. - 
 2. Total Staffing Required   1845.75    8325 10,171 
 3. Staffing Percent 18.148% 81.852% 100% 
 4. Alloc. of Direct Care   55,334.34   249,571.66 304906 
 5. Dir. Care Exp. Per Diem    22.484 29.979 
 
C. ADDITIONAL SERVICES EXPENSE 
 1. Medicaid Patient Days 2461 8275 10736 
 2. Add. Ser. (Sch.AM-6) 36780 69380 106160 
 3. Add. Ser. Exp. Per Diem    14.951 8.3839 
 
D. MEDICAID PER DIEM COST 
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 1. Operating Component 19.460 19.460 209897 
 2. Resident Care Component 55.520 56.448 606133 
 3. Property Cost Component  8.605  8.605 92812 
    Subtotal (Schedule BM)   .-   .- - 
 4. ROE/USE ALLOW Comp.  6.604  6.604 71236 
 5. TOTAL PER DIEM COST 90.189 91.117 980078 
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APPENDIX B 
 

CALCULATION OF THE  
FLORIDA ICF/IID COST INFLATION INDEX 

 
 
l. Weights. 
 
Percentage weights for cost components shall be based on cost reports filed for fiscal years ending in l983.  These 
percentage weights are: 
 
 Salaries and Benefits  65.66% 
 Dietary   4.94% 
 All Other  29.40% 
  l00.00% 
 
2. Inflation index for each component 
 
An inflation index for each of these components is developed from the Data Resources, Inc. (DRI) Skilled Nursing 
Facility Market Basket of Routine Services Costs inflation indices as follows: 
 
 COMPONENT     DRI INDEX 
 
 Salaries and Benefits    Wages and Salaries, combined 
   with Employee Benefits 
 
 Dietary      Food 
 
 All Others     Fuel and Utilities, combined  
   with other expenses 
 
The DRI indices that are combined are merged by summing the products of each index times the ratio of the 
respective DRI budget share to the total share represented by the combined indices. 
 
Example:  Calculation of the Salaries and Benefits combined index for the third quarter of l984 using Health Care 
Costs, Third Quarter l983 Series, p. l5: 
 
 DRI Wages and Salaries index = l.043; Budget Share = .602 
 
 DRI Employee Benefits index = l.073; Budget share = .084 
 
 Weighted Combination (Salaries and Benefits)   = 
 (l.043 x (.602/(.602 + .084))) + (l.073 x (.084/(.602 + .084)))   =   l.047 
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Appendix B 
Page 2 
 
3. Quarterly and monthly indices. 
 
A weighted quarterly index is then constructed by summing the products of the weights and quarterly component 
indices.  This quarterly composite index is used to obtain monthly indices called the Florida ICF/IIDIID Cost 
Inflation Index by averaging pairs of quarterly indices and interpolating between these averages as follows: 
 
Quarter 
Midpoint 
Quarter Index  Average Index  Corresponding Month 
 
l984:l  l.029 
    l.032      March 3l 
l84:2  l.035 
    l.042      June 30 
l984:3  l.048 
    l.054      September 30 
l984:4     1.059 
 
 
April 30 Index = (June 30 Index/March 3l Index)1/3 x (March 3l Index) 
   = (l.042/l.032)1/3 x l.032 
   = l.035 
 
May 30 Index   = (June 30 Index/March 31 Index)2/3 x (March 31Index) 
   = (1.042/1.032)2/3 x 1.032 
   = 1.039 
 
All other monthly indices can be calculated in a similar fashion. 
 
4. Inflation Factors 
 
The inflation factors used to set both target rates of inflation and prospective payment rates utilize l3 indices in order 
to recognize full inflation for a l2-month period.  This is necessary because each index represents the relative level 
of costs at the end of the month, so that a complete 12-month inflation trend shall start with the index as of the last 
day of the month prior to the 12-month period. 
Example:  Calculation of target rate of inflation factor for provider with a June 30 fiscal year end. 



Attachment 4.19-D 
Part III 

      Amendment: 2019-011 
      Supersedes: 2018-007 

                Approval Date: 12/11/19   
         Effective Date: July 1, 2019 

 
 

42 

Appendix B 
Page 3 
 
 
    average of inflation indices from 

l984 Target factor = June 1983 through June 1984       
    average of inflation indices from 
    June 1982 through June 1983 
 
    (.994 +  .999 + l.004 + l.009 + l.0l4 + 
    l.0l8 + l.023 + l.026 + l.029 + l.032 + 
     = l.035 + l.039 + l.042)/13             
    (.950 +  .954 +  .958 +  .962 + .966 + 97l + 
    .975 +  .979 +  .982 +  .986 + .989 
    .992 +  .994)/13 
 
     = l.020 
        .974 
     = l.047 
 
In the example above, the indices for June 30, l982, .994, and June 30, l983, .950 are taken to represent the relative 
level of costs on July l, the beginning of the fiscal year, and the end of the fiscal year, respectively.  Hence, in order 
to measure the change in the relative level of costs for a fiscal year ending June 30, the l3 indices are used to capture 
a complete l2-month period. 
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APPENDIX C  
 
 

Florida Medicaid Trend Adjustment Percentages 
 
 Effective Date  Percentages         Reduction Amount 
1. October 1, 2008  0.8200%  $1,524,597 
 
2. October 1, 2009  
 First Cut  0.7577%  $1,524,597 
 Second Cut  8.7004%  $17,373,303 
 
3. April 1, 2010   
 First Cut  0.8145%  $1,524,597 
 Second Cut  9.3580%  $17,373,303 
 
4. October 1, 2010 
 First Cut  0.7878%  $1,524,597 
 Second Cut  9.0489%  $17,373,303 
 
5. April 1, 2011 
 First Cut  0.8539%  $1,524,597 
 Second Cut  9.8141%  $17,373,303 
 
6.       October 1, 2011 

First Cut  0.8555%  $1,524,597 
Second Cut  9.8325%  $17,373,303 
Third Cut  3.9527%  $6,297,463 
 

7.       April 1, 2012 
First Cut  0.4245%  $762,299 
Second Cut  9.7180%  $17,373,303 
Third Cut  3.0000%  $3,590,754 
 

8. October 1, 2012 
Rate Adjustment 1.667%   $4,605,776 
Rate Freeze Cut  0.9335%  $2,368,814 
 

9.       April 1, 2013 
Rate Adjustment 1.117617%  $3,026,468 
Rate Freeze Cut  1.2163%  $3,086,633 
 

10.       October 1, 2013 
Rate Adjustment       0.00715156%            $1,984,589 
Rate Freeze Cut        1.2776396%                   $3,247,165 
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11.       April 1, 2014 

Rate Adjustment       0.00%              $0.00 
Rate Freeze Cut        .002146435%                 $545,283 

 
 

12.       July 1, 2014 
Rate Adjustment       0.00%              $0.00 
Rate Freeze Cut        .016149365%                 $4,144,015 

 
 

13.       July 1, 2015 
Rate Adjustment       2.7853567%            $7,301,407 
 
 

14.       July 1, 2016 
Rate Adjustment       0.00%              $0.00 

 
15.       July 1, 2017 

Rate Adjustment 2.72709484%  $7,451,82 
 
16.       July 1, 2018 

Rate Adjustment       0.00%              $0.00 
 

17.       July 1, 2019 
Rate Adjustment       0.00%              $0.00 
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APPENDIX D  
 

Upper Payment Limit Methodology 
  
 

ICF/IID Upper Payment Limit (UPL) Methodology 

The UPL is an estimation of the amount that would be paid under Medicare payment principles (the Medicare UPL) 

which is basis for the following UPL methodology: 

Determine Medicare Cost Per Day  

1. Utilizing cost and utilization data from ICF/IID cost reports for fiscal year 2013-2014 (the Medicare UPL base 

year) 

2. Compute 112% of the weighted mean cost per patient day (the 112% amount).  

3. The Weighted Mean Cost Per Day will be trended forward to state fiscal year 2013-2014 by applying a rate 

change equal to the CMS Nursing Home Price Index (Fourth Quarter Moving Average).  The result is the 

estimated Medicare reimbursement cost per day for state fiscal year 2013-2014. 

4. The Weighted Mean Cost Per Day will be trended forward to state fiscal year 2013-2014 by applying a rate 

change equal to the CMS Nursing Home Price Index (Fourth Quarter Moving Average).  The result is the 

estimated Medicare reimbursement cost per day for state fiscal year 2013-2014. 

5. Calculations for future fiscal years – 1) By trending the Weighted Mean Cost Per Day forward by the CMS 

Nursing Home Price Index or 2)  A new Medicare UPL base year will be designated and a new Weighted Mean 

Cost Per Day will be trended forward. 

Determine Medicare UPL Payment  

1. To determine the Medicare UPL for each state fiscal year beginning with the base year. For this UPL 

demonstration, State Fiscal Year 2013-2014 is the base.  A 2012 Weighted  Mean Cost Per Day is calculated 

and trended.  This figure is multiplied by the 2012 Medicaid days. 

Determine Medicaid Payment   
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1. To determine the Florida Medicaid payment for each state fiscal year beginning with state fiscal year 2012-14, 

take the total actual paid amount from the Florida Medicaid Management Information System (FMMIS) for 

each ICF/IID Florida Medicaid provider. 

Determine UPL Difference in Payments  

1. The difference is determined by subtracting the Medicare UPL payment from the Florida Medicaid payment for 

each year. 
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