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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES                          
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
150 S. Independence Mall West 
Suite 216, The Public Ledger Building 
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106-3499 

                                                                     
Region III/Division of Medicaid and Children’s Health Operations 
 
SWIFT# 051320164075 
 
July 26, 2016 
 
 
Mr. Stephen M. Groff, Director 
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance 
P.O. Box 906 
New Castle, DE 19720-0906 
 
Dear Mr. Groff: 
 
We are pleased to inform you of the approval of Delaware State Plan Amendment (SPA) 16-005 
to clarify that both licensed and certified programs may provide Early and Periodic Screening, 
Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) Rehabilitative Substance Use Disorder (SUD) services. 
 
Enclosed is a copy of the approved SPA pages and the signed CMS-179 form. The effective date 
of this amendment is July 1, 2016.  If you have any questions, you may contact Michael Cleary at 
(215) 861-4282. 
 
 
      Sincerely, 
 
 
      Francis McCullough 
      Associate Regional Administrator 
      
 
Enclosures 



 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES                                                                                                                                                        FORM APPROVED 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION                                                                                                                                                                  OMB NO. 0938-0193 

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92) 

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF 
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

 
   FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 
SPA #16-005 

2. STATE 
DELAWARE 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE  
    SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID) 

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 
        HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION 
        DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE 
JULY 1, 2016 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One): 
 
   NEW STATE PLAN                           AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN                 XXX AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment) 
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 
Section 1905(r) of the Social Security Act, 42 CFR §441 Subpart B, 
42 CFR §440.60, 42 CFR §440.130 AND 42 CFR §447.205 

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:  
      a. FFY   2016         $ 0 
      b. FFY   2017         $ 0 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: 
 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6r 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6t 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6w 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6y 

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION  
    OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6r 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6t 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6w 
ATTACHMENT 3.1-A PAGE 6y 

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:  MEDICAID REHABILITATIVE SERVICES  - EARLY AND PERIODIC SCREENING, DIAGNOSIS, AND 
TREATMENT (EPSDT) SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER SERVICES  
 

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One): 
        GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT                                    XXX  OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: 
        COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED                                  Governor’s comments under separate                  
        NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL                        correspondence 

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 
 

16. RETURN TO: 
 
Stephen M. Groff 
Director 
Division of Medicaid and Medical Assistance 
P.O. Box 906 
New Castle, Delaware 19720-0906 
 

13. TYPED NAME: 
Stephen M. Groff, Director, Division of Medicaid and Medical 
Assistance 
14. TITLE:  Designee for Rita M. Landgraf, Secretary, Delaware 
Health and Social Services 
15. DATE SUBMITTED: 
5/13/2016 

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY 
17. DATE RECEIVED: 
May 13, 2016 

18. DATE APPROVED: 
7/26/2016 

PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED 
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 
July 1, 2016 

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL: 

21. TYPED NAME:  
Francis McCullough 

22. TITLE: 
Associate Regional Administrator 

23. REMARKS: 
 

 



  TN No. SPA #16-005 
Supersedes 
TN No. SPA #16-002 

Approval Date July 26, 2016

 Effective Date  July 1, 2016 

Attachment 3.1-A 
Page 6r 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE: DELAWARE 

LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 
PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

13.d Rehabilitative Services: 42 CFR 440.130(d) Continued:

4. Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Treatment Services

4A.  Outpatient Addiction Services Continued

Outpatient activities are delivered on an individual or group basis in a wide variety of settings
including site-based facility, in the community or in the beneficiary’s place of residence. These
services may be provided on site or on a mobile basis as defined by Delaware Health and Social
Services (DHSS) or its designee. The setting will be determined by the goal which is identified to
be achieved in the beneficiary’s written treatment plan.

Outpatient services may be indicated as an initial modality of care for a beneficiary whose
severity of illness warrants this level of treatment, or when a beneficiary’s progress warrants a
less intensive modality of service than they are currently receiving.  The intensity of the services
will be driven by medical necessity. Medication Assisted Therapies (MAT) should only be utilized
when a beneficiary has an established SUD (e.g., opiate or alcohol dependence condition) that is
clinically appropriate for MAT.

Provider qualifications: Outpatient addiction services are provided by licensed and unlicensed
professional staff, who are at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school or equivalent
diploma, according to their areas of competence as determined by degree, required levels of
experience as defined by state law and regulations and approved program guidelines and
certifications approved by DHSS or its designee. All outpatient substance use disorder (SUD)
programs are licensed or certified under state law.  Licensed practitioners under Delaware state
regulation are licensed by Delaware and include Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSWs),
Licensed Professional Counselors of Mental Health (LPCMH), Licensed Marriage and Family
Therapists (LMFTs), nurse practitioners (NPs), advanced practice nurses (APNs), medical doctors
(MD and DO), Licensed Chemical Dependency Professionals (LCDPs), and psychologists.
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

STATE: DELAWARE 

LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 
PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

13.d Rehabilitative Services: 42 CFR 440.130(d) Continued:

4. Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Treatment Services

4A. Outpatient Addiction Services Continued 

− Recovery coaches must be trained and certified in the State of Delaware to 
provide services. The certification includes criminal, abuse/neglect registry and 
professional background checks, and completion of a State-approved 
standardized basic training program. Recovery coaches must self-identify as a 
present or former primary beneficiary of SUD services. Note: Recovery coaches 
within a licensed or certified residential program must provide counseling as a 
component of outpatient addiction services (see component activity 3 above) 
consistent with an approved treatment plan. Medicaid will not reimburse for 
12-step programs run by recovery coaches.

− Credentialed behavioral health technicians are unlicensed professional staff 
who are at least 18 years of age with a high school or equivalent diploma and 
trained in American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) level of care criteria. 

− If the professional is not licensed in another jurisdiction but is applying for 
certification in Delaware and is currently certified by the Delaware Certification 
Board, Inc. (DCB), or other national certification board such as the NAADAC as 
either a NCAC or MAC, then the applicant must also have a criminal history 
record check and verify any current or previous licensure and/or certification.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: DELAWARE 

LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 
PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

13.d Rehabilitative Services: 42 CFR 440.130(d) Continued:

4. Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Treatment Services

4B. Residential Addiction Services Continued 

Provider qualifications: Services are provided by licensed and unlicensed professional 
staff, who are at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school or equivalent 
diploma, according to their areas of competence as determined by degree, required 
levels of experience as defined by state law and regulations and departmentally 
approved program guidelines and certifications. All residential programs are licensed or 
certified under state law per Delaware Administrative Code Title 16.6001. The licensure 
applies to all programs providing services to beneficiaries in need of programs and 
services for diagnosed substance use and/or mental disorders. The licensure at a 
minimum requires: documentation of all insurance coverage required in regulation; the 
maximum client capacity requested; and a copy of the agency’s Delaware business 
license and home state license, when applicable. The licensure or certification also 
requires a description of the services to be provided by the program, including a 
statement of the program philosophy, goals and objectives, and a description of the 
methodology for each service element; and organization charts of showing incumbent 
names, positions, degrees and credentials (e.g., license, certification); all vacant 
positions; and illustrating direct and indirect reporting and supervisory relationships.    

Licensed practitioners under Delaware State regulation are licensed by Delaware and 
include Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSWs), Licensed Professional Counselors of 
Mental Health (LPCMH), Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists (LMFTs), nurse 
practitioners (NPs); advanced practice nurses (APNs), medical doctors (MD and DO), 
Licensed Chemical Dependency Professionals (LCDPs), and psychologists. Any staff who 
is unlicensed and providing addiction services must be credentialed by DHSS or its 
designee and/or the credentialing board or, if a Recovery Coach or Credentialed 
Behavioral Health Technician, be under the supervision of a qualified health professional 
(QHP) or Clinical Supervisor.  
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: DELAWARE 

LIMITATIONS ON AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 
PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 

13.d Rehabilitative Services: 42 CFR 440.130(d) Continued:

4. Substance Use Disorder (SUD) Treatment Services

4B. Residential Addiction Services Continued 

− Recovery coaches must be trained and certified in the State of Delaware or the 
state in which they provide services to provide services. Recovery coaches are at 
least eighteen (18) years old, and have a high school diploma or equivalent. The 
certification includes criminal, abuse/neglect registry and professional 
background checks, and completion of a State-approved standardized basic 
training program. Recovery coaches must self-identify as a present or former 
primary beneficiary of SUD services. Note: Recovery coaches within a licensed or 
certified residential program must provide counseling as a component of 
outpatient addiction services (see component activity 3 above) consistent with 
an approved treatment plan. Medicaid will not reimburse for twelve-step 
programs run by recovery coaches. 

− Credentialed behavioral health technicians are unlicensed professional staff 
who are at least eighteen (18) years of age with a high school or equivalent 
diploma and trained in American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) level of 
care criteria.  
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