# Table of Contents-CT 16-0003

- 1. Table of Contents
- 2. Approval Letter
- 3. CMS-179
- 4. Approved Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services JFK Federal Building, Government Center Room 2275 Boston, Massachusetts 02203



#### Division of Medicaid and Children's Health Operations / Boston Regional Office

August 6, 2018

Roderick Bremby, Commissioner Department of Social Services 55 Farmington Avenue Hartford, CT 06105

Dear Commissioner Bremby:

We are pleased to enclose via email a copy of approved Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) No. 16-003, submitted to my office on March 28, 2016 and approved on July 25, 2018.

This SPA amends Attachment 4.19-B to incorporate various 2016 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) changes (additions, deletions and description changes) to the physician fee schedule. New codes are priced using a comparable methodology to existing codes in the same or similar category.

This SPA also establishes rates for several surgical, physician, radiology, office, and outpatient services. This SPA also amends services in order to align the physician fee schedule with services that should be appropriately billed by physicians and other practitioners. Finally, this SPA specifies that services rendered by certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNA) will be reimbursed at 100% of the applicable Connecticut Medicaid Physician fee.

This SPA's approval is effective January 1, 2016, as requested by the State.

Changes are reflected in the following sections of your approved State Plan:

- Attachment 4.19-B, Page l(a)i(E)
- Attachment 4.19-B, Pages l(a)ii, l(a)(iii)
- Attachment 4.19-B, Page 16

If you have any questions regarding this matter you may contact Marie DiMartino (617) 565-9157 or by e-mail at <a href="Marie.DiMartino@cms.hhs.gov">Marie.DiMartino@cms.hhs.gov</a>

Sincerely, /S/ Richard R. McGreal Associate Regional Administrator

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 16-003	2. STATE: CT
OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR  CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES  DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2016	ti .
5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):	D BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN	X AMENDMENT
	- 100 - 100	* 9

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Sections 1905(a)(5), (6), and (21)of the Social Security Act and 42 CFR 440.50, 60, and 166	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2016 \$37,000 b. FFY 2017 \$60,000	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)i(E) Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)ii, 1(a)(iii) Attachment 4.19-B, Page 16	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If applicable) Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)i(E) Attachment 4.19-B, Pages 1(a)ii, 1(a)(iii) Attachment 4.19-B, Page 16	

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Effective January 1, 2016, SPA 16-003 amends Attachment 4.19-B as described below. First, this SPA incorporates various 2016 Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) changes (additions, deletions and description changes) to the physician fee schedule. Added codes are being priced using a comparable methodology to other codes in the same or similar category. This SPA also establishes rates for several surgical, physician radiology and office and outpatient services. This SPA will also remove and add services in order to align the physician fee schedule with services that should be appropriately billed by physicians and other practitioners who bill off of the physician fee schedule. Finally, this SPA also specifies that services rendered by certified registered nurse anesthetists (CRNA) will be reimbursed at 100% of the applicable CT Medicaid Physician fee.

GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): X GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL: 12. 16. RETURN TO: 13. TYPED NAME: Roderick L/. Bremby State of Connecticut Department of Social Services TITLE: Commissioner 55 Farmington Avenue – 9th floor Hartford, CT 06105 DATE SUBMITTED: March 28, 2016 Attention: Ginny Mahoney FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY July 25 2018 DATE RECEIVED: March 28 2016 17. 18. DATE APPROVED: PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL: /S/ January 1 2016 22. TITLE: Associate Regional Administrator 21. TYPED NAME; Richard R. McGreal Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations REMARKS: State requested pen and ink changes to box 6, 8 & 9 to update effected pages

# STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State: CONNECTICUT

(5) Physician's services – Fixed fee schedule not to exceed the Medicare physician fee schedule. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for physicians can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="www.ctdssmap.com">www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) practices are individual sites of independent physician groups, solo physician practices, nurse practitioner groups, and individual nurse practitioners that have met National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Level 2 or Level 3 medical home recognition. PCMH practices must comply with all NCQA PCMH requirements and all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

The department offers a PCMH Glide Path program, which pays enhanced rates to practices that are providing some of the additional Medicaid services required for NCQA PCMH recognition. In order to qualify for Glide Path, a practice must demonstrate that it has begun providing a more advanced standard of primary care and has committed to achieving NCQA PCMH recognition in a set period of time. Glide Path practices must also comply with all additional written department requirements, including participation in various primary care initiatives operated by the State.

Beginning January 1, 2012, PCMH and Glide Path practices may be eligible for a rate add-on to the procedure codes on the physician fee schedule identified below. PCMH practices may also be eligible for retrospective annualized supplemental payments for performance incentives and performance improvement. Independent physician-led Glide Path practices with five or fewer full-time equivalent practitioners across all practice locations may also be eligible for a supplemental payment at each Glide Path phase.

(a) Glide Path and PCMH Rate Add-On: The department will pay a rate add-on for the following procedures in addition to the amounts listed for each procedure code on the physician fee schedule: 99201, 99202, 99203, 99204, 99205, 99211, 99212, 99213, 99214, 99215, 99304, 99305, 99306, 99307, 99308, 99309, 99310, 99315, 99316, 99318, 99324, 99325, 99326, 99327, 99328, 99334, 99335, 99336, 99337, 99339, 99341, 99342, 99343, 99344, 99345, 99347, 99348, 99349, 99350, 99354, 99355, 99381, 99382, 99383, 99384, 99385, 99386, 99387, 99391, 99392, 99393, 99394, 99395, 99396, 99397, 99401, 99402, 99403, 99404, 99406, 99407, 99408, 99409, 99411, 99412, 99374, 99377, 99379, 99380, 96110, 99050, 99051, 99053, D0145,

TN # <u>16-003</u> Supersedes TN # <u>15-048</u> Approval Date 7/25/18\_\_\_\_\_

Effective Date <u>01-01-2016</u>

### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT State Connecticut

- (6) Medical care or any other type of remedial care recognized under State law, furnished by licensed practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. Fixed fee methodologies are summarized below.
  - (a) Podiatrists Podiatrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="www.ctdssmap.com">www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
  - (b) Optometrists 90% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2016 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="www.ctdssmap.com">www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.
  - (c) Chiropractors 100% of physician fees as noted in (5) above. The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for chiropractors can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="https://www.ctdssmap.com">www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule. Chiropractor services are paid only as EPSDT Special Services required by Section 1905(r)(5) of the Social Security Act.
  - (d) Other licensed practitioners -
    - (i) Psychologists The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2015 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for psychologists can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: <a href="www.ctdssmap.com">www.ctdssmap.com</a>. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." All governmental and private providers are reimbursed according to the same fee schedule.

TN # <u>16-003</u> Supersedes TN # 15-047 Approval Date 7/25/18\_\_\_\_\_

Effective Date <u>01-01-2016</u>

## STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT **State Connecticut**

- (ii) Naturopaths The current fee schedule was set as of January 1, 2012 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. The fee schedule for naturopaths can be accessed and downloaded by going to the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to "Provider," then to "Provider Fee Schedule Download." Rates are the same for private and governmental providers and are published at www.ctdssmap.com.
- (iii) Nurse practitioners 90% of physician fees as referenced in (5) above, except for physician-administered drugs and supplies and services rendered by certified registered nurse anesthetists, which are reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees.
  - Nurse practitioner groups and individual nurse practitioners are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician's Services. Nurse practitioner services within PCMH practices run by nurse practitioners are authorized by Section 1905(a)(6) (services by other licensed practitioners). Nurse practitioners working in a physician group or a solo physician practice are eligible to participate in the PCMH initiative as part of the physician group or solo physician practice under the Physician's Services section of the State Plan.
- (iv) Dental Hygienists 90% of the department's fees for dentists as referenced in (10) below).

TN # 16-003 Supersedes TN # 14-012

Approval Date 7/25/18\_\_\_\_\_\_ Effective Date <u>01-01-2016</u>

#### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

#### State Connecticut

(21) Pediatric and family nurse practitioners – 90% of physician fees as referenced in (5) above, except for physician-administered drugs and supplies and services rendered by certified registered nurse anesthetists, which are reimbursed at 100% of the physician fees.

Pediatric and family nurse practitioner groups and individual pediatric and family nurse practitioners are eligible to participate in the Person-Centered Medical Home (PCMH) initiative detailed in (5) above under Physician's Services. Pediatric and family nurse practitioner services within PCMH practices run by pediatric and family nurse practitioners are authorized by Section 1905(a)(21) (services by certified pediatric and family nurse practitioners). Pediatric and family nurse practitioners working in a physician group or a solo physician practice are eligible to participate in the PCMH initiative as part of the physician group or solo physician practice under the Physician's Services section of the State Plan.

TN # <u>16-003</u> Supersedes TN # <u>14-031</u> Approval Date 7/25/18\_\_\_\_\_\_ Effective Date <u>01-01-2016</u>