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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12

Baltimore, MD 21244-1850

‘ CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

MAY 18 2013

Barbara Prehmus

Colorado Department of Health Care
Policy and Financing

1570 Grant Street

Denver, Co 80203-1818

Re: Colorado 14-0052

Dear Ms. Prehmus:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-A of your Medicaid State plan
submitted under transmittal number (TN) 14-0052. Effective for services on or after October 1,
2014, revises inpatient supplemental Medicaid payments to Colorado hospitals. Specifically, this
amendment suspends several supplemental payments, as well as updates the payment pools for

existing supplemental payments.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a) and 1923 of the Social Security Act (the Act) and
the regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. We are pleased to inform you that Medicaid State plan
amendment TN 14-0052 is approved effective October 1, 2014. The CMS-179 and the amended

plan pages are attached.

If you have any questions, please contact Christine Storey at (303) 844-7044.

Sincerel

Timothy Hill
Director
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TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 17

The funds available for the Low-Income Shortfall payment under the Disproportionate
Share Hospital Allotment are limited by the regulations set by and federal funds
allocated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Payments will be made
consistent with the level of funds established and amended by the General Assembly,
which are published in the Long Bill and subsequent amendments each year. Rate
letters will be distributed to providers qualified to receive the payment each fiscal year
and 30 days prior to any adjustment in the payment. Rate letters will document any
change in the total funds available, the payment specific to each provider and other
relevant figures for the specific provider so that providers may understand and
independently calculate their payment.

Total funds available for the payment equal:

State Fiscal Year 2003-04 $66,710
State Fiscal Year 2004-05 $113,312
State Fiscal Year 2005-06 $145,470
State Fiscal Year 2006-07 $189,588
State Fiscal Year 2007-08 $530
State Fiscal Year 2008-09 $176,324

11. Effective July 1, 2009, the payment adjustment, as described above in this subsection
and commonly known as Low-Income Shortfall payment, is suspended.

12. Effective July 1, 2009, Hospitals deemed eligible for minimum disproportionate share
payment and participate in the Colorado Indigent Care Program will receive a CICP
Disproportionate Share Hospital payment.

13. Effective July 1, 2009, Hospitals deemed eligible for minimum disproportionate share
payment and do not participate in the Colorado Indigent Care Program will receive an
Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment.

14. Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to
as “CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital payment” is suspended.

15. Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to
as “Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment” is suspended.

16. Effective October 1, 2014, Hospitals deemed eligible for the minimum disproportionate
share payment shall receive a Disproportionate Share Hospital payment.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval DatMAY 18 2015 Effective Date _10/1/14
TN No. _09-039 '



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 29a

audited cost-to-charge ratio (as calculated from the audited Medicare/Medicaid cost report [CMS
2552]) available as of May 1 each fiscal year. Medically indigent costs are inflated forward to
payment year using the most recently available Consumer Price Index - Urban Wage Earners,
Medical Care Index - U.S. City Average for the second half of the previous calendar year.

Qualified hospitals shall receive a payment calculated as a percent of inflated medically indigent
costs. There will be three categories for qualified hospitals: state-owned government hospitals,
non-state-owned government hospitals, and private-owned hospitals. The percent of inflated
medically indigent costs shall be calculated for each category. The percent of inflated medically
indigent costs shall be the aggregate of all inflated medically indigent costs for qualified providers
in the category divided State’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment allocated to the
CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital payment for that category.

Percent of the State’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital Allotment allocated to the CICP
Disproportionate Share Hospital payment by category
State Fiscal Year State-Owned Non-State-Owned Private-Owned
Government Hospitals | Government Hospitals Hospitals
State Fiscal Year 2009-10 5.06% 40.00% 35.00%
State Fiscal Year 2010-11
July 1 — September 30, 2010 5.06% 40.00% 35.00%
Federal Fiscal Year 2010-11 9.86% 45.00% 25.00%
Federal Fiscal Year 2011-12 15.00% 42.00% 23.00%
Federal Fiscal Year 2012-13 20.47% 32.28% 25.98%
Federal Fiscal Year 2013-14 19.67% 49.18% 29.51%

No hospital shall receive a payment exceeding its hospital-specific Disproportionate Share
Hospital limit (as specified in federal regulations). If upon review, the CICP Disproportionate
Share Hospital payment exceeds the hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital limit for
any qualified provider, that provider’s payment shall be reduced to the hospital-specific DSH limit
retroactively. The amount of the retroactive reduction shall be then retroactively distributed to the
other qualified hospitals in the category based on the qualified hospital proportion of medically
indigent cost relative to the aggregate of medically indigent costs of all qualified providers in the
category who do not exceed their hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital limit.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors, are
realized after an CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital payment has been made, reconciliations
and adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be made retroactively.

9. Effective October 1, 2014, the Disproportionate Share Hospital adjustment commonly referred
to as “CICP Disproportionate Share Hospital payment” is suspended.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval Date pay 1 2 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033 2013



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

. ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 29b

10. Effective October 1, 2014, qualified hospitals shall receive a disproportionate share hospital

TN No.

payment commonly referred to as the “Disproportionate Share Hospital Supplemental
payment”, which shall be calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through
September 30) basis and dispensed in monthly installments.

To qualify for the Disproportionate Share Hospital payment a Colorado hospital shall meet either
of the following criteria: '

a. Isnot a licensed or certified Psychiatric Hospital, is a Colorado Indigent Care Program
provider, and has at least two Obstetricians or is Obstetrician exempt pursuant to 42
U.S.C. 1396r-4 Section 1923(d)(2)(A) of the Social Security Act; or

b. Is not a licensed or certified Psychiatric Hospital, has a Medicaid Inpatient Utilization
Rate equal to or greater than the mean plus one standard deviation of all Medicaid
Inpatient Utilization Rates for Colorado hospitals, and has at least two Obstetricians or
is Obstetrician exempt pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1396r-4 Section 1923(d)(2)(A) of the Social
Security Act.

Qualified hospitals shall receive a payment calculated as a percent of uninsured costs
multiplied by the state’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment. The percent of
uninsured costs shall be the total of all uninsured costs for a qualified hospital divided by the
total uninsured costs for all qualified hospitals.

No hospital shall receive a payment exceeding its hospital-specific Disproportionate Share
Hospital limit as specified in federal regulation. If upon review, the Disproportionate Share
Hospital Supplemental payment exceeds the hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital
limit for any qualified provider, that provider’s payment shall be reduced to the hospital-
specific Disproportionate Share Hospital limit. The reduction shall then be redistributed to the
other qualified hospitals not exceeding their hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital
limit based on the percentage of uninsured costs to total uninsured costs for all qualified
hospitals not exceeding their hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital Limit.

The state will not exceed the total of all the hospital-specific Disproportionate Share Hospital
Limits even if the total is below the state’s annual Disproportionate Share Hospital allotment.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors,
are realized after a Disproportionate Share Hospital payment has been made, reconciliations
and adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be made retroactively.

14-052

Supersedes Approval Date _MAY 1-§ 2019 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 29c¢

E. Colorado determination of Individual Hospital Disproportionate Payment Adjustment
Associated with providers who do not participate in Colorado Indigent Care Program

1.

Effective July 1, 2009, Colorado hospitals that do not participate in the Colorado Indigent
Care Program will qualify to receive a disproportionate share hospital payment commonly
referred to as the “Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment”, which will be
calculated on an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) basis and dispensed in
equal monthly installments.

Effective October 1, 2010, the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment will be
calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through September 30) basis.

To qualify for the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment a Colorado hospital
shall meet the following criteria:

a. Is licensed or certified as a General Hospital or Critical Access Hospital by the
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment;

b. Isnot licensed or certified as Psychiatric or Rehabilitation Hospital, nor is licensed
as a General Hospital with a Medicare Certification Long Term by the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment;

¢. Does not participate in the Colorado Indigent Care Program;

d. Reports charges for services provided to low-income, uninsured persons to the
Department; and :

e. Has an estimated Medicaid Inpatient Utilization Rate (MIUR) equal to or greater
than the mean plus one standard deviation for all Colorado hospitals.

The Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment is a prospective payment
calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data or costs for the
payment period. Available charges for services provided to low-income, uninsured persons
(as reported to the Department annually) are converted to uninsured costs using the most
recent provider specific audited cost-to-charge ratio (as calculated from the audited
Medicare/Medicaid cost report [CMS 2552]) available as of May 1 each fiscal year.
Uninsured costs are inflated forward to the payment period year using the most recently
available Consumer Price Index - Urban Wage Earners, Medical Care Index - U.S. City
Average for the second half of the previous calendar year.

Qualified hospitals shall receive a payment calculated as a percent of inflated uninsured
cost. The percent of estimated uninsured costs shall be the aggregate of all inflated
uninsured costs for qualified providers divided by the State’s annual Disproportionate
Share Hospital allotment allocated to the Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital

payment.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval Datejfay 1.8 9 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033 L



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 29d

Percent of the State’s annual
Disproportionate Share Hospital
allotment allocated to the Uninsured
Disproportionate Share Hospital payment

State Fiscal Year 2009-10 19.94%
State Fiscal Year 2010-11 '

Fiscal Year

July 1 — September 30, 2010 19.94%
Federal Fiscal Year 2010-11 23.14%
Federal Fiscal Year 2011-12 20.00%
Federal Fiscal Year 2012-13 21.28%

Federal Fiscal Year 2013-14 1.64%

No hospital shall receive a payment exceeding its hospital-specific Disproportionate Share
Hospital limit (as specified in federal regulations). If upon review or audit, the Uninsured
Disproportionate Share Hospital payment exceeds the hospital-specific Disproportionate
Share Hospital limit for any qualified provider, that provider’s payment shall be reduced
to the hospital-specific DSH limit retroactively. The amount of the retroactive reduction
shall be retroactively distributed to the other qualified hospitals based on the qualified
hospital proportion of uninsured cost relative to aggregate of uninsured costs of all
qualified providers who do not exceed their hospital-specific Disproportionate Share
Hospital limit.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation
errors, are realized after an Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment has been
made, reconciliations and adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be made
retroactively.

2. Effective October 1, 2014, the Disproportionate Share Hospital adjustment commonly
referred to as “Uninsured Disproportionate Share Hospital payment” is suspended.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval Date _(AY 1.8 2015 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _New



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 38a

Effective October 1, 2012, All other qualified hospitals will receive 54% of their inflated
medically indigent costs.

Effective October 1, 2013, All other qualified hospitals will receive 50% of their inflated
medically indigent costs.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly
referred to as “CICP Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors, are realized
after a CICP Supplemental Medicaid payment has been made, reconciliations and adjustments to impacted
hospital payments will be made retroactively.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval DaMA! 18 201§ Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033



The Pediatric Major Teaching payment is distributed equally to all qualified providers.
The funds available for the Pediatric Major Teaching payment under the Medicare Upper
Payment Limit are limited by the regulations set by and the federal funds allocated by the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Payments will be made consistent with the
level of funds established and amended by the General Assembly, which are published in
the Long Bill and subsequent amendments each year. Rate letters will be distributed to
providers qualified to receive the payment each fiscal year and 30 days prior to any
adjustment in the payment. Rate letters will document any change in the total funds
available, the payment specific to each provider and other relevant figures for the specific
provider so that providers may understand and independently calculate their payment.

Total funds available for this payment equal:

Effective October 1, 2013, an additional $1,000,000 Pediatric Major Teaching payment

TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

State of Colorado

ATTACHMENT 4.19A

Maintains a minimum of 110 total Intern and Resident F.T.E.'s; and

Maintains a minimum ratio of .30 Intern and Resident F.T.E.'s per licensed bed; and

Qualifies as a Pediatric Specialty Hospital under the Medicaid Program, such that the

hospital provides care exclusively to pediatric populations.

FY 2003-04 $6,119,760

FY 2004-05 $6,119,760

FY 2005-06 $11,571,894

FY 2006-07 $13,851,832

FY 2007-08 $34,739,562

FY 2008-09 $39,851,166

FY 2009-10 as follows:

July 1, 2009-February 28, 2010 $14,098,075

March 1, 2010—June 30, 2010 $33,689,236
FY 2009-10 total payment: $47,787,311
FY 2010-11 $48,810,278
FY 2011-12 $38,977,698
FY 2012-13 $18,919,698
FY 2013-14 $17,919,698
FY 2014-15 $19,574,772

will be made to qualifying providers on a Federal Fiscal Year (FFY) basis.

Effective October 1, 2014, the additional $1,000,000 Pediatric Major Teaching payment is

suspended.

TN No. _14-052

Supersedes

Approval DatAY 18 2013 Effective Date _10/1/2014

TN No. _14-040




TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 43

E. Urban Safety Net Provider Payment

Effective April 1, 2007, non-state owned government hospitals, when they meet the criteria for
being an Urban Safety Net Provider, will qualify to receive an additional supplemental Medicaid
reimbursement for inpatient hospital services provided to Medicaid clients, such that the total of
all payments will not exceed the inpatient Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services (as
defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services). The purpose of this payment is to
provide a partial reimbursement for uncompensated care related to inpatient hospital services for
Medicaid clients to those providers who participate in the Colorado Indigent Care Program. The
additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement will be commonly referred to as the “Urban
Safety Net Provider payment”, which will be calculated on an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1
through June 30) basis and dispensed in equal quarterly installments.

The Urban Safety Net Provider payment is only made if there is available federal financial
participation under the Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services after the Medicaid
reimbursement (as defined in this attachment as a Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem
reimbursement paid under the Medicaid program) and the Pediatric Major Teaching payment.

The qualifying criteria for the Urban Safety Net Provider payment will not directly correlate to
the distribution methodology of the payment. On an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1 through
June 30) basis, those hospitals that qualify for an Urban Safety Net Provider payment will be
determined. The determination will be made prior to the beginning of each State Fiscal Year. An
Urban Safety Net Provider is defined as a hospital that meets the following criteria:

1. Participates in the Colorado Indigent Care Program; and

2. The hospital’s Medicaid days plus Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP) days relative to
total days, rounded to the nearest percent, shall be equal to or exceed sixty-seven percent;
and

3. Medicaid days and total days shall be Medicaid eligible inpatient days and total inpatient
days from the most recent survey requested by the Department prior to March 1 of each year
for July 1 rates.

The Urban Safety Net Provider payment is distributed equally among all qualified providers. The
funds available for the Urban Safety Net Provider payment under the Upper Payment Limit for
inpatient hospital services are limited by the regulations set by and the federal funds allocated by
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Total funds available for this payment equal:

FY 2006-07 $2,693,233 FY 2007-08 $5,400,000

FY 2008-09 $5,400,000 March 1, 2010 — June 30, 2010
$5,410,049

FY 2010-2011 $6,217,131 FY 2011-12 $4,702,000

FY 2012-13 $0 FY 2013-14 $0

This payment is no longer funded and the information contained in this section is for historical
record only.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval Da%AY 18 2013 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT |
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 48

J. Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid Payment

Effective July 1, 2009, Colorado hospitals paid on the Medicaid Prospective Payment
System (PPS Hospitals) shall qualify to receive an additional supplemental Medicaid
reimbursement for inpatient hospital services provided to Medicaid clients, such that the
total of all payments shall not exceed the Inpatient Upper Payment Limit for inpatient
hospital services (as defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services). This
additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement shall be commonly referred to as the
“Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment” which shall be calculated
on an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) basis and dispensed in monthly
installments.

Effective October 1, 2010, the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid
payment shall be calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through
September 30) basis.

The Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment is only made if there is
available federal financial participation under the Upper Payment Limit for inpatient
hospital services after the Medicaid reimbursement (as defined in this attachment as a
Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem reimbursement paid under the Medicaid
program), the Pediatric Major Teaching payment and the CICP Supplemental Medicaid
payment.

Effective October 1, 2014 the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid
Payment shall be only made if there is available federal financial participation under the
Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services after the Medicaid reimbursement
(Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem reimbursement paid under the Medicaid
program), Pediatric Major Teaching payment, State University Teaching Hospital
payment, and Family Medicine Residency payment.

To qualify for the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment a hospital
shall meet the following criteria:

1. Has an established Medicaid base rate, as specified under 4.19A 1. Methods and
Standards for Established Prospective Payments Rates — Inpatient Hospital Services
of this State Plan; and

2. Is not a free-standing psychiatric facility, which is exempt from the DRG-based
prospective payment system.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval DaMAY 18 2019 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _11-040



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
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State of Colorado Page 48a

The Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment is a prospective payment
calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data for the payment period.
For each qualified hospital, this payment shall be calculated by using hospital specific
expected discharges, multiplied by the hospital specific average Medicaid case mix,
multiplied by the hospital specific differential Medicaid base rate.

The hospital specific differential Medicaid base rate is the difference between Medicaid
base rate calculated prior to any Medicaid hospital specific cost add-ons and the Medicare
Base Rate as specified under 4.19A 1. Methods and Standards for Established Prospective
Payments Rates — Inpatient Hospital Services of this State Plan.

TN No. _14-052 MAY 18 2013 :
Supersedes Approval Date Effective Date _10/1/2014

TN No. New
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~

Effective July 1, 2009:
1. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 13.756% increase
2. Urban Center Safety Net Specialty Hospitals shall have a 5.830% increase
3. Rehabilitation, Specialty Acute, Rural and Urban Hospitals shall have a 18.100% increase
Effective October 1, 2010:
1. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 16.80% increase
2. State University Teaching Hospitals shall have a 16.0% increase
3. Rehabilitation, Specialty Acute, Rural and Urban Hospitals shall have a 35.0% increase
Effective October 1, 2011:
1. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 20.00% increase
2. State University Teaching Hospitals shall have a 31.30% increase
3. Rehabilitation and Specialty Acute Hospitals shall have a 25.00% increase
4. Rural hospitals shall have a 60.00% increase
5. Urban Hospitals shall have a 51.30% increase
Effective October 1, 2012:
1. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 16.00% increase
State University Hospitals shall have a 23.00% increase
Urban Safety Net Hospitals shall have a 15.00% increase
Rehabilitation and Specialty Acute Hospitals shall have a 10.00% increase

A

Rural hospitals shall have a 75.00% increase
6. Urban Hospitals shall have a 45.00% increase
Effective October 1, 2013:
1. Pediatric Specialty Hospitals shall have a 9.50% increase

2. State University Hospitals shall have a 20.00% increase
3. Urban Safety Net Hospitals shall have a 36.00% increase
4. Rehabilitation and Specialty Acute Hospitals shall have a 10.00% increase
5. Rural hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals in Teller County shall have a 73.00% increase
6. Urban Hospitals shall have a 38.00% increase
gii:éd;: - Approval Da’[eMAY 18 2013 Effective Date _10/1/2014

TN No. _13-033
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Effective October 1, 2014 for each qualified hospital, the percentage adjustment factor
shall vary for state-owned, non-state government owned, and private hospitals, for urban
and rural hospitals, for State University Teaching Hospitals, for Major Pediatric Teaching
Hospitals, for Urban Safety Net Specialty Hospitals, or for other hospital classifications
such that total payments to hospitals do not exceed the available Inpatient Upper Payment
Limit. The percentage adjustment factor for each qualified hospital shall be published
annually in the Colorado Medicaid Provider Bulletin.

Hospital specific data used in the calculation of the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate
Supplemental Medicaid payment (expected discharges, average Medicaid case mix, and
the Medicaid base rate) shall be the same as that used to calculate Budget Neutrality under
4.19A 1. Methods and Standards for Established Prospective Payments Rates — Inpatient
Hospital Services of this State Plan.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation
errors, are realized after an Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment
has been made, reconciliations and adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be
made retroactively.

TN No. _14-052 _ :
Supersedes Approval Da‘cﬂéMY 18 2013 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _13-033
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Or Maj Anom), 609 (Neonate, BWT 1500-2499G W Major Procedure), 630 (Neonate, BWT > 2499G
W Major Cardiovasc Procedure), and 631 (Neonate, BWT > 2499G W Other Major Procedure)
up to the average length of stay.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to as “High-Level
NICU Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors, are realized
after a High-Level NICU Supplemental Medicaid payment has been made, reconciliations and
adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be made retroactively.

TN No. _14-052 .
Supersedes Approval DateMAY 18 2013 Effective Date _10/1/2014

TN No. _13-033
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State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid Payment

Effective July 1, 2009, Colorado hospitals qualify as a State Teaching Hospital shall receive an additional
supplemental Medicaid reimbursement for inpatient hospital services provided to Medicaid clients, such that
the total of all payments shall not exceed the Inpatient Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services
(as defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services). This additional supplemental Medicaid
reimbursement shall be commonly referred to as the “State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid
payment” which shall be calculated on an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) basis and
dispensed in monthly installments.

Effective October 1, 2010, the State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment shall be calculated
on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through September 30) basis.

The State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment is only made if there is available federal
financial participation under the Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services after the Medicaid
reimbursement (as defined in this attachment as a Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem reimbursement
paid under the Medicaid program), the Pediatric Major Teaching payment, the CICP Supplemental Medicaid
payment, the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment and High-Level NICU
Supplemental Medicaid payment.

To qualify for the State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment a hospital shall meet the following
criteria:

a. Is a State University Teaching Hospital, as defined under Attachment 4.19A, Section II Family
Medicine Program of this State Plan;

b. Is a High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital, as defined as those hospitals which participate in
CICP, whose Medicaid inpatient days per year total at least 35,000, and whose Medicaid and Colorado
Indigent Care Program days combined equal at least 30% of their total inpatient days; and

c. Is licensed or certified as a General Hospital by the Colorado Department of Public Health
Environment.

The State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment is a prospective payment calculated using
historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data for the payment period. For each qualified hospital, this
payment shall be calculated on a per Medicaid day basis as follows:

a. Effective July 1, 2009, qualified hospitals shall receive $75 per Medicaid day, including Medicaid
fee for service days, Medicaid managed-care days, and days where Medicaid is the secondary payer
(Medicare/Medicaid dually eligible days and Medicaid and other third party coverage days).

b. Effective October 1, 2010, qualified hospitals shall receive $125 per Medicaid day, including
Medicaid fee for service days, Medicaid managed-care days, and days where Medicaid is the
secondary payer (Medicare/Medicaid dually eligible days and Medicaid and other third party
coverage days). Effective October 1, 2011, qualified hospitals shall receive $100 per Medicaid day.
Effective October 1, 2012, the State Teaching Supplemental Medicaid payment is $0.

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors, are
realized after a State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment has been made, reconciliations
and adjustments to impacted hospital payments will be made retroactively.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to as “State
Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval DatdfAY 18 2015 Effective Date _10/1/2014
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Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to as
“Acute Care Psychiatric Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.

N. Effective October 1, 2014, qualified hospitals with uninsured costs shall receive an
additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement commonly referred to as
“Uncompensated Care Supplemental Hospital Medicaid payment” which shall be
calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through September 30) basis and
dispensed in monthly installments.

The Uncompensated Care Supplemental Medicaid payment is a prospective payment

calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data for the payment
period.

To qualify for the Uncompensated Care Supplemental Medicaid payment a hospital shall
meet the following criteria:

1. Isnot licensed or certified as Psychiatric or Rehabilitation Hospital, nor is
licensed as a General Hospital with a Medicare Certification Long Term by
the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

Qualified hospitals with twenty-five or fewer beds shall receive a payment calculated as
the percentage of beds to total beds for qualified hospitals with twenty-five or fewer beds
multiplied by $33,500,000. Qualified hospitals with greater than twenty-five beds shall
receive a payment calculated as the percentage of uninsured costs to total uninsured costs
for qualified hospitals with greater than twenty-five beds multiplied by $81,980,176.
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O. Additional Supplemental Medicaid Payments
1. Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid Payment

Effective July 1, 2009, Colorado hospitals that are located in a rural area and have 26
or more licensed beds shall qualify to receive an additional supplemental Medicaid
reimbursement for inpatient hospital services provided to Medicaid clients, such that
the total of all payments shall not exceed the Inpatient Upper Payment Limit for
inpatient hospital services (as defined by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
Services). This additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement shall be commonly
referred to as the “Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment” which shall
be calculated on an annual State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) basis and
dispensed in monthly installments.

Effective October 1, 2010, the Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment
shall be calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through September 30)
basis.

To qualify for the Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment a hospital shall
meet the following criteria:

a. Is located in a rural area (a hospital not located within a federally designated
Metropolitan Statistical Area);

b. Have 26 or more licensed beds; and

c. Is licensed or certified as a General Hospital by the Colorado Department of
Public Health Environment.

The Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment is a prospective payment
calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data for the payment
period. For each qualified hospital, this payment shall be calculated on a per Medicaid
day basis as follows:

a. Effective July 1, 2009, qualified hospitals shall receive $315 per Medicaid day.

b. Effective October 1, 2010, qualified hospitals shall receive $600 per Medicaid
day.

c. Effective October 1, 2011, qualified hospitals shall receive $750 per Medicaid
day.

d. Effective October 1, 2012, qualified hospitals shall receive $750 per Medicaid day, and
qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to Total Days
is in the top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $100 per Medicaid Day.

TN No. _14-052
Supersedes Approval DateM'A‘Y 182013 Effective Date _10/1/2014
TN No. _12-023



TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

ATTACHMENT 4.19A
State of Colorado Page 52a

e. Effective October 1, 2013, qualified hospitals shall receive $525 per Medicaid
day, and qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP
Days to Total Days is in the top 25% of all providers will receive an additional
$50 per Medicaid Day.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to as
“Large Rural Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.
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Effective October 1, 2010, qualified hospitals located in Boulder County, Broomfield County,
Denver County, Jefferson County, or Douglas County shall receive an additional $700 per
Medicaid day.

Effective October 1, 2011, qualified hospitals located in Boulder County, Broomfield County,
Jefferson County, or Douglas County shall receive an additional $1100 per Medicaid day.

Effective October 1, 2012, qualified hospitals located in Boulder County, Broomfield County,
Jefferson County, or Douglas County shall receive an additional $1075 per Medicaid day, and
qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to Total Days is in the
top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $100 per Medicaid Day.

Effective October 1, 2013, qualified hospitals located in Boulder County, Broomfield County,
Jefferson County, or Douglas County shall receive an additional $770 per Medicaid day, and
qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days plus CICP Days to Total Days is in the
top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $50 per Medicaid Day.

Effective October 1, 2011, qualified hospitals located in Denver County shall receive an
additional $900 per Medicaid day.

Effective October 1, 2012, qualified hospitals located in Denver County shall receive an
additional $865 per Medicaid day, and qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days
plus CICP Days to Total Days is in the top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $100
per Medicaid Day.

Effective October 1, 2013, qualified hospitals located in Denver County shall receive an
additional $755 per Medicaid day, and qualified hospitals whose percentage of Medicaid Days
plus CICP Days to Total Days is in the top 25% of all providers will receive an additional $50
per Medicaid Day.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to as “Denver
Metro Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.
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3. Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid Payment

Effective July 1, 2009, Colorado hospitals that are located in a federally designated
Metropolitan Statistical Area outside the Denver Metro Area shall qualify to receive an
additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement for inpatient hospital services
provided to Medicaid clients, such that the total of all payments shall not exceed the
Inpatient Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services (as defined by the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services). This additional supplemental Medicaid
reimbursement shall be commonly referred to as the “Metropolitan Statistical Area
Supplemental Medicaid payment” which shall be calculated on an annual State Fiscal
Year (July 1 through June 30) basis and dispensed in monthly instaliments.

Effective October 1, 2010, the Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid
payment shall be calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through
September 30) basis.

To qualify for the Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid payment a
hospital shall meet the following criteria:

a. Is located in a federally designated Metropolitan Statistical Area outside the
Denver Metro Area; and

b. Is licensed as a General Hospital by the Colorado Department of Public Health
Environment.

The Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid payment is a prospective
payment calculated using historical data, with no reconciliation to actual data for the
payment period. For each hospital, this payment shall be calculated on a per Medicaid
day basis as follows:

a. Effective July 1, 2009, qualified hospitals shall receive $310 per Medicaid day
b. Effective October 1, 2010, qualified hospitals shall receive $600 per Medicaid

day.

c. Effective October 1, 2011, qualified hospitals shall receive $650 per Medicaid
day.

d. Effective October 1, 2013, qualified hospitals shall receive $550 per Medicaid
day.

Effective October 1, 2014, the Supplemental Medicaid Payment commonly referred to
as “Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid payment” is suspended.
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P. Hospital Quality Incentive Payments

The Hospital Quality Incentive Payments are only made if there is available federal financial
participation under the Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services after the Medicaid
reimbursement (as defined in this attachment as a Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem
reimbursement paid under the Medicaid program), the Pediatric Major Teaching payment, the
CICP Supplemental Medicaid payment and the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental
Medicaid payment, High-Level NICU Supplemental Medicaid payment, the State Teaching
Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment, the Acute Care Psychiatric Supplemental Medicaid
payment, and the Supplemental Medicaid Payments.

Effective October 1, 2012, Colorado hospitals that provide services to improve the quality of
care and health outcomes for their patients, with the exception of inpatient psychiatric hospitals
and out-of-state hospitals (in both bordering and non-bordering states), may qualify to receive
additional monthly supplemental Medicaid reimbursement for inpatient hospital services
provided to Medicaid clients, such that the total of all payments shall not exceed the Inpatient
Upper Payment Limit (UPL) for inpatient hospital services (as defined by the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services). This additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement will
be commonly referred to as the “Hospital Quality Incentive Payment” (HQIP) which shall be
calculated on an annual Federal Fiscal Year (October 1 through September 30) basis and
dispensed in monthly installments. To qualify for the HQIP supplemental Medicaid payment
a hospital must meet the minimum criteria for no less than two of the selected measures for the
most recently completed reporting year. Effective October 1, 2013, to qualify for the HQIP
supplemental Medicaid payment a hospital must meet the minimum criteria for at least one of
the selected measures for the most recently completed reporting year. Data used to calculate
the HQIP supplemental payments will be collected annually.

For each qualified hospital, this payment will be calculated as follows:

1. Determine Available Points by hospital, subject to a maximum of 10 points per
measure.

a. Available Points are defined as the number of measures for which a hospital
qualifies multiplied by the number of points designated for the measure.

2. Determine points earned per measure by hospital based on established scoring criteria.

3. Normalize the total points earned for all measures by hospital to total possible points
for all measures by hospital.

4. Calculate adjusted discharges by hospital.

a. Adjusted Medicaid discharges are calculated by multiplying the number of
Medicaid inpatient discharges by the Adjusted Discharge Factor.
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b. For hospitals with less than 200 annual Medicaid discharges, the total number
of discharges is multiplied by .25 to arrive at the number of Medicaid inpatient
discharges for use in this calculation, consistent with the Medicare Prospective
Payment System calculation.

c¢. The Adjusted Discharge Factor is defined as the most recently available annual
total gross Medicaid billed charges divided by the inpatient gross Medicaid
billed charges.

5. Calculate Total Discharge Points.

a.Discharge Points are defined as the total number of points earned for all
measures multiplied by the number of adjusted Medicaid discharges for a given
hospital.

6. Calculate Dollars per Discharge Point.

a.Dollars per Discharge Point will be calculated by dividing the total funds
available under the inpatient UPL by the total number of Discharge Points for
all hospitals.

7. Determine HQIP payout by hospital by multiplying the total Discharge Points for that
hospital by the Dollars per Discharge Point.

Effective October 1, 2012, the measures for the HQIP supplemental payments are:

1. Central Line-Associated Blood Stream Infections (CLABSI),

2. Elective deliveries between 37 and 39 weeks gestation,

3. Post-Pulmonary Embolism or Deep Vein Thrombosis (PPE/DVT), and
4. Structured efforts to reduce readmissions and improve care transitions.

Effective October 1, 2013, the measures for the HQIP supplemental payments are:

1. Rate of Central Line-Associated Blood Stream Infections (CLABSI),

2. Rate of elective deliveries between 37 and 39 weeks gestation,

3. Postoperative Pulmonary Embolism or Deep Vein Thrombosis (PPE/DVT),
4. Rate of thirty (30) day all-cause readmissions, and
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5. Rate of Cesarean section deliveries for nullipatous women with a term, singleton
baby in a vertex position.

Effective October 1, 2014, the measures for the HQIP supplemental péyments are:

Rate of Non-Emergent Emergency Room Visits,
Rate of elective deliveries between 37 and 39 weeks gestation,
Rate of Postoperative Pulmonary Embolism or Deep Vein Thrombosis (PPE/DVT),

Rate of thirty (30) day all-cause hospital readmissions, and
Rate of Cesarean section deliveries for nulliparous women with a term, singleton
baby in a vertex position.

ik W

Total Funds for this payment equal:

FFY 2012-13 $32,000,000
FFY 2013-14 $34,388,388
FFY 2014-15 $61,488,873

In the event that data entry or reporting errors, or other unforeseen payment calculation errors,
are realized after HQIP payments have been made, reconciliations and adjustments to impacted
hospitals will be made retroactively.
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Q. Public High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital Payment

Effective July 1, 2010, Colorado public hospitals that meet the definition of a High Volume Medicaid and
CICP Hospital shall qualify to receive an additional supplemental Medicaid reimbursement for uncompensated
inpatient hospital care for Medicaid clients. This additional supplemental shall commonly be referred to as
the “Public High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital Payment.”

To qualify for the Public High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital Pay‘ment, a hospital shall meet the
following criteria:

1 Licensed as a General Hospital by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.

2. Classified as a state-owned government or non-state owned government hospital.

3 Is a High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital, defined as those hospitals which participate in the
Colorado Indigent Care Program (CICP), whose Medicaid inpatient days per year total at least
35,000, and whose Medicaid and CICP days combined equal at least 30% of their total inpatient
days.

4. Maintain the hospital’s percentage of Medicaid inpatient days compared total days at or above the
prior State Fiscal Year’s level.

The Public High Volume Medicaid and CICP Hospital Payments will only be made if there is available federal
financial participation under the Upper Payment Limit for inpatient hospital services after the Medicaid
reimbursement (as defined in this attachment as a Diagnosis Related Group and/or per diem reimbursement
paid under the Medicaid program), the Pediatric Major Teaching payment, the CICP Supplemental Medicaid
payment, the Inpatient Hospital Base Rate Supplemental Medicaid payment, the High-Level NICU
Supplemental Medicaid payment, the State Teaching Hospital Supplemental Medicaid payment, the Acute
Care Psychiatric Supplemental Medicaid payment, the Large Rural Supplemental Medicaid payment, the
Denver Metro Supplemental Medicaid payment and the Metropolitan Statistical Area Supplemental Medicaid
payment, and the Hospital Quality Incentive Payment

The Interim Payment to qualified providers will be calculated for the actual expenditure period using the filed
CMS 2552-96 Medicare Cost Report, or its successor, and disbursed biannually after the actual expenditure
period. Interim Payments for uncompensated Medicaid inpatient hospital costs for Cost Report Year 2010 will
be made by June 30, 2012. Interim payments for uncompensated Medicaid inpatient hospital costs for Cost
Report Years 2011 and thereafter, will be calculated each year and paid by the following October 31* of each
year for hospitals with cost reporting periods ending December 31* and by the following April 30" for those
hospitals with cost reporting periods ending June 30%. Uncompensated costs for providing inpatient hospital
services for Medicaid clients will be calculated according to the methodology outlined below, using the filed
CMS 2552-96 Medicare Cost Report, or its successor.

Final payments will be made biannually. Final payments will be made by October 31% of each year for those
qualified hospitals that have submitted their audited CMS 2552-96 Medicare Cost Report for the actual
expenditure period, or its successor, to the Department between January 1* and June 30™ of that same calendar
year. Final payments will be made by April 30" of the following year for those qualified hospitals
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