Table of Contents

State/Territory Name: California

State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 15-036

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services San Francisco Regional Office 90 Seventh Street, Suite 5-300 (5W) San Francisco, CA 94103-6706



DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN'S HEALTH OPERATIONS

January 7, 2016

Mari Cantwell Chief Deputy Director, Health Care Programs California Department of Health Care Services P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

Dear Ms. Cantwell:

Enclosed is an approved copy of California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 15-036. SPA 15-036 was submitted to my office on November 25, 2015 to provide technical updates for prosthetic and orthotic appliances and hearing aids to reflect that these appliances are covered when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner, instead of physician or podiatrist, to conform with 42 CFR 440.120. This SPA also adds language that the hearing aid cap can be "exceeded based on medical necessity" to be consistent with the state's Alternative Benefit Plan (ABP) and current policy.

The effective date of this SPA is October 1, 2015. Enclosed are the following approved SPA pages that should be incorporated into your approved State Plan:

- Limitations to Attachment 3.1-A, page 18
- Limitations to Attachment 3.1-B, page 18

If you have any questions, please contact Cheryl Young by phone at (415) 744-3598 or by email at Cheryl Young@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

/s/

Henrietta Sam-Louie Acting Associate Regional Administrator Division of Medicaid & Children's Health Operations

Enclosure

cc: Laurie Weaver, California Department of Health Care Services Nathaniel Emery, California Department of Health Care Services

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		FORM APPROVED			
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	OMB NO. 0938-0193			
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	15-036	2. STATE California			
STATETLAN WATERIAL	13-050	Camorna			
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)				
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE October 1, 2015				
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):					
	CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN				
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AME	NDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each	amendment)			
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: Social Security Act, Section 1905 (a)(12) 42 CFR 440.120	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: a. FFY 2016 \$0 b. FFY 2017 \$0				
	0.111 2017 40				
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT: Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, page 18, item 12c Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B, page 18, item 12c	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable): Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, page 18, item 12c Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B, page 18, item 12c				
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:					
Technical amendment to update information and language reg	garding prosthetic and orthotic appl	iances and hearing			
aids.					
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One): GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL	OTHER, AS SPECI The Governor's Offi wish to review the S				
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:				
13. TYPED NAME: Mari Cantwell 14. TITLE: Chief Deputy Director Health Care Programs State Medicaid Director 15. DATE SUBMITTED:	Department of Health Care Services Attn: State Plan Coordinator 1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 4506 P.O. Box 997417 Sacramento, CA 95899-7417				
FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY					
17. DATE RECEIVED: November 25, 2015	18. DATE APPROVED: January 7, 2016				
PLAN APPROVED – ONE COPY ATTACHED					

TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*		
12b. Dentures	See 10.	See 10.		
12c. Prosthetic and orthotic applicances, and hearing aids	Prosthetic and orthotic appliances are covered when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner within their scope of practice.	Prior authorization is required.		
aius	Hearing aids are covered only when supplied by a hearing aid dispenser upon the prescription of an otolaryngologist or the attending physician where there is no otolaryngologist available.	Prior authorization is required for the purchase or trial period rental of hearing aids and for hearing aid repairs which exceed a cost of \$25. Cords, receivers, ear molds, and hearing aid garments are covered without prior authorization.		
	Loaner aids, during repair periods covered under guarantee, are not covered. Replacement batteries are not covered.			
	Replacement of hearing aids that are lost, stolen, or irreparably damaged due to circumstances beyond the beneficiary's control is not included in the \$1,510 maximum benefit cap.			
	Hearing aid benefits are subject to a \$1,510 maximum cap per beneficiary per fiscal year, although this limit can be exceeded based on medical necessity through prior authorization. Hearing aid benefits include hearing aids and hearing aid supplies and accessories. The following beneficiaries are exempt from the cap:			
	 Pregnant women, if hearing aids are part of their pregnancy-related services or for services to treat a condition that might complicate their pregnancy. Individuals who are eligible for the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Program. 			
* Prior authorization is not required for emergency service. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services				
TN No. <u>15-036</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>13-014</u>	Approval Date: January 7, 2016	Effective Date: 10/1/2015		

			Page 18	
	TYPE OF SERVICE	PROGRAM COVERAGE**	PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER REQUIREMENTS*	
12b.	Dentures	See 10.	See 10.	
12c.	Prosthetic and orthotic applicances, and hearing aids	Prosthetic and orthotic appliances are covered when prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner within their scope of practice.	Prior authorization is required.	
		Hearing aids are covered only when supplied by a hearing aid dispenser upon the prescription of an otolaryngologist or the attending physician where there is no otolaryngologist available.	Prior authorization is required for the purchase or trial period rental of hearing aids and for hearing aid repairs which exceed a cost of \$25. Cords,	
		Loaner aids, during repair periods covered under guarantee, are not covered. Replacement batteries are not covered.	receivers, ear molds, and hearing aid garments are covered without prior authorization.	
		Replacement of hearing aids that are lost, stolen, or irreparably damaged due to circumstances beyond the beneficiary's control is not included in the \$1,510 maximum benefit cap.		
		Hearing aid benefits are subject to a \$1,510 maximum cap per beneficiary per fiscal year, although this limit can be exceeded based on medical necessity through prior authorization. Hearing aid benefits include hearing aids and hearing aid supplies and accessories. The following beneficiaries are exempt from the cap:	ary per fiscal year, although this limit can be exceeded based cal necessity through prior authorization. Hearing aid benefits bearing aids and hearing aid supplies and accessories. The	
	 Pregnant women, if hearing aids are part of their pregnancy-related services or for services to treat a condition that might complicate their pregnancy. Individuals who are eligible for the Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment Program. 			
* Prior authorization is not required for emergency service. **Coverage is limited to medically necessary services				
Sup	No. <u>15-036</u> ersedes No. <u>13-014</u>	Approval Date: January 7, 2016	Effective Date:10/1/2015	