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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

San Francisco Regional Office

90 Seventh Street, Suite 5-300 (5W)

San Francisco, CA 94103-6706

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES

DIVISION OF MEDICAID & CHILDREN’S HEALTH OPERATIONS

Toby Douglas, Director

California Department of Health Care Services ’

P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 Hov 0 7 2013
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413

Dear Mr. Douglas:

Enclosed is an approved copy of California State Plan Amendment (SPA) 13-014. SPA 13-014 was
submitted to my office on March 28, 2014 to comply with Section 4106 of the ACA, which establishes a
one percentage point increase in the federal medical assistance percentage (FMAP) for adult vaccines
recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and clinical preventive
services assigned a grade of A or B by the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF).

The effective date of this SPA is January 1, 2013. Enclosed are the following approved SPA pages that
should be incorporated into your approved State Plan:

Attachment 3.1-A, pages 18 and 18a
Attachment 3.1-B. pages 5, 18 and 18a
Attachment 4.18-A, pages 1 and 3
Attachment 4.18-C, pages 1 and 3

If you have any questions, please contact Tyler Sadwith by phone at (415) 744-3563 or by email at
- Tyler.Sadwith@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

/s/
Gloria Nagle, Ph.D., MPA
Associate Regional Administrator
Division of Medicaid & Children’s Health Operations



" * DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

ORM AP
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION %&gl No.Po%?::/g 1D93
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF |{ 1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER; 2.STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL SPA 13014 Callfornla

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION:
TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY AGT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEAL'TH AND HUMAN SERVICES

% PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE,
January 1, 2013

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[JNEW STATE PLAN

|| AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X} AMENDMENT

COMPLEYE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6, FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION;
Saction 1905(a)(13) of the Social Security Act

(42 U.8.C. 1396d(a)(13)), Section 4106(b) of the Affordable
Care Act

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
a. FFY 2013 (¥/1/13,-9/30/2013) $16,388,164
b. FFY 2014 (10/1/13 - 9/30/2014) $21,850,885

8, PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:
Attachment 3.1-B, page &

Attachment 4,18-A, page 1 and page 3

Attachment 4,18-C, page 1 and page 3

Limiitations on Attaohment 3.1-A, page 18 and page 18a
Limitations on Attachment 3, 1—B, page 18 and page 18a

9, PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SEC'I‘ION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicabie):

Attachment 3.1-B, page 5

Attachment 4, 18-A page 1. and page 3

Attactiment 4,18-C, page 1 and page 3

Limitations on Attaahment 3.1-A, page 18 and page 18a

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B, page: 18 and page 18a

10, SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

To implement the Affordable Care Act Section 4108, to cover preventive services and vaccines in accordance with the
United States Preventive Services Task Force and the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices.

11, GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):
[C] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[.] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
D NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

QTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
The Governor’s Office does not
wish to review the State Plan Amendment,

Pl

T«'aby Douglas

18, RETURN TC:

Department of Health Care Services
Attn: State Plan Coordinafor

14, TITLE:
Birector

1801 Gapitol Avenue, Suite 71.3.26
P.O. Box 987417

I3 DATE SUBMITTED: AR 7 § U8

Sacramoento, CA 95899-7417

FPORM HCFAL179-(07-92)




Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A

Page 18
STATE PLAN CHART
TYPE OF SERVICE PROGRAM COVERAGE** PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER
. REQUIREMENTS*
12b. Dentures See 10. See 10.
12c. Prosthetic and orthotic Prosthetic and orthotic NUU__NDOQW are covered when Uﬂmmﬂlcmﬂ _o< a Prior mCﬁ—._Oﬂ_Nm_zOD is _,.mDC:.QQ when the UE—.OINWW
applicances, and hearing  physician or podiatrist. Stock shoes (conventional or orthopedic) are price is more than $100. Prior authorization is
aids covered when at least one of the shoes is to be attached to a required for rental or repair when the total cost is
prosthessis or brace. Orthopedic modifications to stock shoes are also ~ more than $50.
covered.

Prosthetic eyes are covered when prescribed by a physician or other ~ Prior authorization is required for prosthetic eyes
licensed practitioner performing within his or her scope of practice. and most prosthetic eye services.

Hearing aids are covered only when supplied by a hearing aid
dispenser upon the prescription of an otolaryngologist, or the attending
physician where there is no otolaryngologist available.

Prior authorization is required for the purchase or
trial period rental of hearing aids and for hearing
aid repairs which exceed a cost of $25. Cords,
Loaner aids, during repair periods covered under guarantee, are not receivers, ear molds, and hearing aid garments are
covered. Replacement batteries are not covered. covered without prior authorization.

Replacement of hearing aids that are lost, stolen, or irreparably
damaged due to circumstances beyond the beneficiary’s control is not
included in the $1,510 maximum benefit cap.

Hearing aid benefits are subject to a $1,510 maximum cap per
beneficiary per fiscal year. Hearing aid benefits include hearing aids
and hearing aid supplies and accessories. The following beneficiaries
are exempted from the cap:

o Pregnant women, if hearing aids are part of their pregnancy-
related services or for services to treat a condition that might
complicate their pregnancy.

e Individual who is an eligible beneficiary of the Early and Periodic .
Screening Diagnosis and Treatment Program.

* Prior authorization is not required for emergency service.
**Coverage is limited to medically necessary services

TN No. 13-014 , NOV-Q 7 2013

Supersedes
TN No. 11-012 . Approval Date: L Effective Date: 1/1/2013




STATE PLAN CHART

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A -
Page 18a

TYPE OF SERVICE

PROGRAM COVERAGE™

PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER
REQUIREMENTS*

12d. Eyeglasses and other eye
appliances

13a Diagnostic services
13b  Screening services

13¢c  Preventive services

Covered as medically necessary on the written prescription of a
physician or an optometrist under this state plan only for the

following beneficiaries:

1.
° 2.

Covered under this state plan only for EPSDT program
Covered under this state plan only for EPSDT program

Covered for all preventive services assigned a grade of A or B by
the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and
all approved vaccines and their administration, recommended by
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).
Preventive services are provided and covered by a physician or
other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of
his/her practice under State law and are reimbursed according to
the methodologies for those services in that portion of the state

plan.

Pregnant women, if eyeglasses or other eye appliances are
part of their pregnancy-related services or for services to
treat a condition that might complicate their pregnancy.
Individual who is an eligible beneficiary of the Early and
Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment Program.

Prior authorization is required for low vision devices
when the billed amounts are over $100 and for
contact lenses when medically indicated for
conditions such as aphakia, keratoconus,
anisometropia, or when facial pathology or
deformity preclude the use of eyeglasses. Prior
authorization is required for ophthalmic lenses and
frames that cannot be supplied by the fabricating
optical laboratory.

Prior authorization is not required and services are

. exempt from cost sharing in accordance with ACA

Section 4106.

The State assures the availability of documentation
to support the claiming of federal reimbursement
for these services.

The State assures that the benefit package will be
updated as changes are made to USPSTF and
ACIP recommendations, and that the State will
update the coverage and billing codes to comply
with these revisions.

* Prior authorization is not required for emergency service.
**Coverage is limited to medically necessary services

TN No. 13-014
Supersedes
TN No. 11-012

Approval Date:

NOV- 0 7 2013

Effective Date: 1/12013




Attachment 3.1-B
Page 5

State/Territory: California

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF SERVICES PROVIDED TO MEDlCALLY'NEEDY GROUPS

c. Prosthetic devices and hearing aids.

__X__ Provided __ Nolimitations _X_ With limitations
d. Eye Glasses.

__X__ Provided ____ No limitations _X_ With limitations

13. Other diagnostic, screening, preventive, and rehabilitative services, i.e., other than those provided
elsewhere in the plan.

a. Diagnostics services
_____Provided ____ No limitations ____With limitations
b. Screening services
___ Provided ____ No limitations ___ With limitations
c. Preventive services.
__X___Provided ____ No limitations _X _ With limitations
d. Rehabilitative services; including rehabilitative mental health services and rehabilitative alcohol
and drug treatment services for individuals diagnosed by physician as having a substance-

related disorder. (See Supplements 1, 2, and 3 to Attachment 3.1-B)

X  Provided No limitations X With limitations

14. Services for individuals age 65 or older in institutions for mental diseases.
a. Inpatient hospital services
__X___ Provided __ No limitations _X_ With limitations
b. Skilled nursing facility services
__X___ Provided ___ No limitations _X__With limitations

*Description provided on attachment.

TN No. 13-014
Supersedes NOV-Q 7 2013
TN No. 11-012 Approval Date: Effective Date: 1/1/2013




Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B .

Page 18
STATE PLAN CHART
TYPE OF SERVICE PROGRAM COVERAGE** PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER
. REQUIREMENTS*
12b. Dentures See 10. See 10.
12c. Prosthetic and orthotic Prosthetic and orthotic appliances are covered when prescribed by a Prior authorization is required when the purchase
applicances, and hearing  physician or podiatrist. Stock shoes (conventional or orthopedic) are ~ Price is more than $100. Prior authorization is
aids covered when at least one of the shoes is to be attached to a required for rental or repair when the total cost is
prosthesis or brace. Orthopedic modifications to stock shoes are also ~ more than $50.
. covered.

-

Prosthetic eyes are covered when prescribed by a physician or other  Prior authorization is required for prosthetic eyes
licensed-practitioner performing within his or her scope of practice. and most prosthetic eye services.

Hearing aids are covered only when supplied by a hearing aid
dispenser upon the prescription of an otolaryngologist, or the attending
physician where there is no otolaryngologist available.

Prior authorization is required for the purchase or
trial period rental of hearing aids and for hearing
aid repairs which exceed a cost of $25. Cords,
Loaner aids, during repair periods covered under guarantee, are not receivers, ear molds, and hearing aid garments are
00<wﬂmQ. mm_o_mﬂmamﬂﬁ Umﬁﬁmlmm are not nO<®—.0Q. OO<®-.®Q <<_~_JOE.~ U_.mO—. NCQ._QJNN_;OS.

Replacement of hearing aids that are lost, stolen, or irreparably
damaged due to circumstances beyond the beneficiary's control is not
included in the $1,510 maximum benefit cap.

Hearing aid benefits are subject to a $1,510 maximum cap per
beneficiary per fiscal year. Hearing aid benefits include hearing aids
and hearing aid supplies and accessories. The following beneficiaries
are exempted from the cap:

e Pregnant women, if hearing aids are part of their pregnancy-
related services or for services to treat a condition that might
complicate their pregnancy.

e Individual who is an eligible beneficiary of the Early and Periodic .
Screening Diagnosis and Treatment Program.

* Prior authorization is not required for emergency service.
**Coverage is limited to medically necessary services

TN No. 13-014 NOV 0 7 2013

Supersedes
TN No. 11-012 Approval Date: Effective Date: 1/1/2013




STATE PLAN CHART

Limitations on Attachment 3.1-B
Page 18a

‘TYPE OF SERVICE PROGRAM COVERAGE* PRIOR AUTHORIZATION OR OTHER
REQUIREMENTS*
12d. Eyeglasses and other eye Covered as medically necessary on the written prescription of a Prior authorization is required for low vision devices
appliances physician or an optometrist under this state plan only for the when the billed amounts are over $100 and for

‘ following beneficiaries:
. 1. Pregnant women, if eyeglasses or other eye appliances are
: part of their pregnancy-related services or for services to
treat a condition that might complicate their pregnancy.
2. Individual who is an eligible beneficiary of the Early and
Periodic Screening Diagnosis and Treatment Program.

13a Diagnostic services Covered under this state plan only for EPSDT program.
13b  Screening services Covered under this state plan only for EPSDT program.
13c  Preventive services Covered for all preventive services assigned a grade of A or B by

the United States Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) and
all approved vaccines and their administration, recommended by
the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP).
Preventive services are provided and covered by a physician or
other licensed practitioner of the healing arts within the scope of
his/her practice under State law and are reimbursed according to
the methodologies for those services in that portion of the state

contact lenses when medically indicated for
conditions such as aphakia, keratoconus,
anisometropia, or when facial pathology or
deformity preclude the use of eyeglasses. Prior
authorization is required for ophthalmic lenses and
frames that cannot be supplied by the fabricating
optical laboratory.

Prior authorization is not required and services are
exempt from cost sharing in accordance with ACA
Section 4106.

The State assures the availability of documentation
to support the claiming of federal reimbursement for
these services.

The State assures that the benefit package will be

plan.

updated as changes are made to USPSTF and
ACIP recommendations, and that the State will
update the coverage and billing codes to comply
with these revisions.

* Prior mE:o:Nmﬁ_o: is not required for emergency service.

**Coverage is limited to medically necessary services zc< : c _N Ngw

TN No. 13-014 Approval Date: Effective Date: 1/1/2013

Supersedes

TN No.11-012



Attachment 4.18-A
Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XiX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: California

A. The following charges are imposed on the categorically needy for services other than those provided
under Section 1905(a)(1) through (5) and (7) of the Act:

Service B‘é%i:tf %g?r:g?Copay. Amount of Basis for Determination
Clinic X $1 per visit

Surgical center X $1 per visit

Optometric X $1 per outpatient visit

Chiropractic X $1 per outpatient visit

Psychology X $1 per outpatient visit

Podiatric X $1 per outpatient visit

Occupational therapy X $1 per outpatient visit

Physical therapy X $1 per outpatient visit

Speech therapy X $1 per outpatient visit

Audiology X $1 per outpatient visit

Acupuncture X $1 per outpatient visit

Drug Prescriptions X $1 per outpatient drug prescription
Dental X $1 per outpatient dental visit
Nonemergency services in an X $5 per visit (average payment for
emergency room nonemergency services in an emergency

room is greater than $50)

All other amounts besides nonemergency
services in an emergency room that meet
the definition of nominal.

Exceptions:

PO~

TN No._13-014

Supersedes

Any service for which the State payment is $10 or less.

Any family planning service.

Any service provided to a person under age 19.

Any service furnished to a pregnant women, if the service relates to the pregnancy or to any other
medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy, including counseling and
pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use.

Any service provided to an individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, long-term care facmty or
other medical institution who is required to spend all but a minimal amount of his income required
for personal needs towards the cost of care.

Any children under 21 living in boarding homes or institutions for foster care.

Any individual who is currently or has previously used services provided by an Indian Health
Service, an Indian Tribe, Tribal Organization, or Urban Indian Organization (I/T/U) in any state
and any American Indian/Alaskan Native that have received services through referral under
contract health services.

Any preventive services and vaccines in accordance with the Affordable Care Act Section 4106.

NOV--Q 7 2013

Approval Date: Effective Date: 1/1/2013

TN No. 85-18



Attachment 4.18-A
Page 3

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: California

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing
contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Medi-Cal will exempt all applicable beneficiary groups from cost sharing by the following:

The county eligibility worker will verify that the beneficiary is part of an exempted group,
then insert an “exemption indicator” in the cost sharing field of the Medi-Cal Eligibility
Data System (MEDS). The indicator in MEDS will translate into a message displayed at
the time the provider checks the beneficiary’s Medi-Cal eligibility status. Providers will
be alerted that the beneficiary is exempt from cost sharing, and that cost sharing is not
permissible.

Also, the State will instruct providers via provider bulletins, and the Medi-Cal Newsflash
of covered services, including services applicable to the Affordable Care Act, Section
4106, which are not subject to copayment and of those individuals who are exempt from
copayments. The State will send notices to beneficiaries to inform them of the services
and beneficiaries that are exempt from cost sharing and those services/conditions under
which copayments are enforceable.

Section 5006(a) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and 42 CFR Part 447
exempts American Indian/Alaskan Native (AlI/ANs) from cost sharing, if they have
received an item or service from an Indian Health Service (IHS)/Tribal 638/Urban Indian
Health Program (UIHP) (I/T/U) or through a referral under contract health services.

Effective January 1, 2014, the State will implement the above described MEDS system
changes for exempting Al/ANs from cost sharing. If the AI/AN self attests that he/she
has received a service from an Indian Health Service (IHS)/Tribal 638/Urban Indian
Health Program (UIHP) (I/T/U) or through a referral under contract health services, the
Al/AN is exempt from cost sharing. If the AlI/AN does not provide self-attestation, then
they must submit a letter to the county on I/T/U letterhead that exempts the AlI/AN under
section 5006(a) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and 42 CFR Part 447.
The county will, upon receipt of the letter or self-attestation, submit a transaction with an
indicator to identify AlI/ANs on the State’s MEDS. This indicator along with the premium
aid code identifies the Al/AN as exempt from cost sharing.

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:

[X] State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.
[ 1 Cumulative maximums have been established as described below.

TN No. 13-014 0
Supersedes Approval Date!wv' 072013 Effective Date: 1/1/2013

TN No. 85-18




Attachment 4.18-C
Page 1

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: California

A. The following charges are imposed on thé medically needy for services:

Service g‘éﬂi:{ gg?r:g?C opay. Amount of Basis for Determination
Physician $1 per visit
Clinic/Qutpatient - $1 per visit
Surgical center $1 per visit

Optometric
Chiropractic
Psychology
Podiatric
Occupational therapy
Physical therapy
Speech therapy
Audiology
Acupuncture

Drug Prescriptions
Dental

Nonemergency services in an

emergency room

Exceptions:

PO~

X X X X X X X X X X X X XXX

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient visit

$1 per outpatient drug prescription
$1 per outpatient dental visit

$5 per visit (average payment for
nonemergency services in an emergency
room is greater than $50)

All other amounts besides nonemergency
services in an emergency room that meet
the definition of nominal.

Any service for which the State payment is $10 or less.
‘Any family planning service.
Any service provided to a person under age 19.

Any service furnished to a pregnant women, if the service relates to the pregnancy or to

any other medical condition which may complicate the pregnancy, including counseling
and pharmacotherapy for cessation of tobacco use.

5. Any service provided to an individual who is an inpatient in a hospital, long-term care
facility or other medical institution who is required to spend all but a minimal amount of
his income required for personal needs towards the cost of care.

6. Any children under 21 living in boarding homes or institutions for foster care.

7. Any individual who is currently or has previously used services provided by an Indian
Health Service, an Indian Tribe, Tribal Organization, or Urban Indian Organization (I/T/U)
in any state and any American Indian/Alaskan Native that have received services

through referral under contract health services.

8. Any preventive services and vaccines in accordance with the Affordable Care Act

Section 41086.

TN No. 13-014
Supersedes
TN No. 85-18

NOV- 0 7 2013

Approval Date:

Effective Date: 1/1/2013




Attachment 4.18-C
Page 3

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State: California

D. The procedures for implementing and enforcing the exclusions from cost sharing
contained in 42 CFR 447.53(b) are described below:

Medi-Cal will exempt all applicable beneficiary groups from cost sharing by the following:

The county eligibility worker will verify that the beneficiary is part of an exempted group,
then insert an “exemption indicator” in the cost sharing field of the Medi-Cal Eligibility
Data System (MEDS). The indicator in MEDS wili translate into a message displayed at
the time the provider checks the beneficiary’s Medi-Cal eligibility status. Providers will
be alerted that the beneficiary is exempt from cost sharing, and that cost sharing is not
permissible.

Also, the State will instruct providers via provider bulletins, and the Medi-Cal Newsflash
of covered services, including services applicable to the Affordable Care Act, Section
4106, which are not subject to copayment and of those individuals who are exempt from
copayments. The State will send notices to beneficiaries to inform them of the services
and beneficiaries that are exempt from cost sharing and those services/conditions under
which copayments are enforceable.

Section 5006(a) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and 42 CFR Part 447
exempts American Indian/Alaskan Native (Al/ANs) from cost sharing, if they have
received an item or service from an Indian Health Service (IHS)/Tribal 638/Urban Indian
Health Program (UIHP) (I/T/U) or through a referral under contract health services.

Effective January 1, 2014, the State will implement the above described MEDS system
changes for exempting Al/ANs from cost sharing. If the AlI/AN self attests that he/she
has received a service from an Indian Health Service (IHS)/Tribal 638/Urban Indian
Health Program (UIHP) (I/T/U) or through a referral under contract health services, the
Al/AN is exempt from cost sharing. If the Al/AN does not provide self-attestation, then
they must submit a letter to the county on I/T/U letterhead that exempts the AI/AN under
section 5006(a) of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act and 42 CFR Part 447.
The county will, upon receipt of the letter or self-attestation, submit a transaction with an
indicator to identify AI/ANs on the State’s MEDS. This indicator along with the premium
aid code identifies the Al/AN as exempt from cost sharing.

E. Cumulative maximums on charges:

[X] State policy does not provide for cumulative maximums.
[ 1 Cumulative maximums have been established as described below.

TN No, 13-014 NOV.0 7 2013

Supersedes Approval Date: . Effective Date: 1/1/2013
TN No. 85-18






