# **Table of Contents**

# State/Territory Name: Arizona

# State Plan Amendment (SPA) #: 15-0002

This file contains the following documents in the order listed:

- 1) Approval Letter
- 2) CMS 179 Form/Summary Form (with 179-like data)
- 3) Approved SPA Pages

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 Baltimore, MD 21244-1850



#### **Financial Management Group**

APR 212019

Tom Betlach, Director Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System 801 E. Jefferson Phoenix, AZ 85034

RE: Arizona SPA 15-0002

Dear Mr. Betlach:

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-D of your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 15-0002. This amendment updates the amounts of nursing facility supplemental payments funded by an Arizona nursing facility assessment.

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), and 1903(a) of the Social Security Act and the implementing Federal regulations at 42 CFR 447 Subpart C. This is to inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment TN 15-0002 is approved effective January 1, 2015. We are enclosing the HCFA-179 and the amended plan pages.

If you have any questions, please call Mark Wong at (415) 744-3561 or Blake Holt at (415) 744-3754.

Sincerely,

**Timothy Hill** Director

Enclosures

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	FORM APPROVED OMB NO. 0938-0193	
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	15-002	Arizona
FOR: Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TI	
	SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)	
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES	January 1, 2015	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
□ NEW STATE PLAN □ AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN ☑ AMENDMENT		
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:	
<del>1927(b)</del>	FFY 15: \$1,030,000	
42 CFR 447 Subpart C, 42 CFR 433.68(d)	FFY 16: \$1,030,000	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPER	SEDED PLAN SECTION
	OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)	):
	Sama	
Att. 4.19-D, page 9(a), page 9	Same	
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:		
Updates the Nursing Facility assessment dollar amounts in State Plan.		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):	NT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:	
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED		
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
	Monica Coury	
	801 E. Jefferson, MD#4200	
13. TYPED NAME:	Phoenix, Arizona 85034	
Nonica Coury		
14. TITLE:	-	
Assistant Director	-	
15. DATE SUBMITTED:		
March 19, 2015 FOR REGIONAL OI	RELOTE USE ONLY	
FOR REGIONAL OI 17. DATE RECEIVED:		1.00/8
II. DATE RECEIVED.	APR 2	1 2015
PLAN APPROVED – ON	E COPY ATTACHED	
PLAN APPROVED - ON 19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: JAN 0 1 2015	20 SIGNATURE OF RECTONAL O	FFICIAL:
21. TYPED NAME: KNISTIN FAN	22. TITLE: Deputy Direc	tor, FMG
23. REMARKS:	<u> </u>	
Pen-and-ink changes made to Boxes 6 and 8 by RO with state	concurrence.	
and the the stanges made to boxes o and o by its mill state		

### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT STATE: <u>ARIZONA</u>

#### METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING FEE-FOR-SERVICE PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

#### C. <u>Audit Requirements</u>

The AHCCCS periodically conducts audits of the financial and statistical records of participating providers. Specifications for the audits are found in the Arizona Long Term Care System (ALTCS) Uniform Accounting and Reporting System and Guide for Credits of ALTCS Contractors and Providers.

#### D. Rates Paid

Fee-for-service reimbursement for nursing facilities is made in accordance with methods and standards which are specified in this attachment of the State Plan.

#### E. Nursing Facility Supplemental Payments

Effective October 1, 2012, nursing facilities with Arizona Medicaid utilization will receive a quarterly supplemental payment to compensate providers for costs of covered services furnished to Arizona Medicaid beneficiaries to improve access to care.

- 1. Each nursing facility's supplemental payment shall be determined as follows:
- a) On a quarterly basis, AHCCCS shall determine the aggregate supplemental payment amount for all nursing facilities by:
  - i. Determining the total amount from the nursing facility provider assessment fund for the quarter, which is the assessment amount collected from providers in accordance with paragraph E.2.
  - ii. Subtracting one percent of the total estimated assessments, and
  - iii. Dividing the difference of subsections (a)(i) and (a)(ii) by (1 minus the appropriate federal medical assistance percentage (FMAP).
- b) AHCCCS shall calculate the quarterly supplemental payment to each nursing facility that has Arizona Medicaid utilization per paragraph (b)(i) below, excluding ICF/IIDs and Arizona Veteran's Homes, by:
  - i. Determining each facility's proportion of Medicaid resident bed days to total nursing facility Medicaid resident bed days for all facilities by utilizing adjudicated claims and encounter data for the most recent 12 month period, including appropriate claims lag. The most recent 12 month period is defined as the contiguous 12-month period that ends six months prior to the month in which the Medicaid resident bed days are pulled. AHCCCS will pull the Medicaid resident bed day data in the first quarter of each payment year.
  - ii. Multiplying subsections (b)(i) and (a)(iii)
  - iii. Determining the fee-for-service share of the amount in (b)(ii) by applying a ratio of the facility's Medicaid fee-for-service bed days to the facility's total Medicaid bed days. The remaining share pertains to Medicaid managed care services; Medicaid managed care services are reimbursed separately by AHCCCS through capitation payments.

### STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT

### STATE: ARIZONA

## METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING FEE-FOR-SERVICE PAYMENT RATES FOR LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

(c) AHCCCS shall make quarterly supplemental payments to nursing facility providers after the assessment quarter. The fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment will be made directly to each nursing facility. If the fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment amount is less than \$25 for an individual facility, no fee-for-service quarterly supplemental payment will be made.

(d) A facility must be open on the date the supplemental payment is made in order to receive a payment.

(e) During the quarter ending March 31, 2015, an additional quarterly payment adjustment will be made that is equal to the difference between what the quarterly payment would be if the pool amount was determined under paragraph 2 below effective January 1, 2015 and what the quarterly payment would be if the pool amount was determined based on paragraph 2 as it was in effect prior to January 1, 2015.

2. The nursing facility assessment to be collected from each nursing facility is as follows:

- (a) The assessment is imposed on non-Medicare patient days as allowed for under 42 CFR 433.68(d);
- (b) The assessment imposed is \$10.50 per non-Medicare day except:
  - i. Continuing Care Retirement Communities, ICF/IIDs, IHS and Tribal 638 nursing facilities, and Arizona Veteran's Homes will not be assessed;
  - ii. Facilities with 58 or fewer total beds will not be assessed; and
  - iii. Facilities with annual Medicaid days greater than or equal to the number required to achieve a slope of at least 1 applying the uniformity tax waiver test described in 42 CFR 433.68(e)(2) will be assessed at a rate of \$1.40 per non-Medicare day.

The patient days used in the computations are derived from the Nursing Facility Uniform Accounting Report (UAR) Cost Reports filed with the Arizona Department of Health Services. Calculations for the assessment will be made once per year in August, using the most recently filed UAR as of August 1 immediately preceding the start of the assessment year. Only those facilities with a full year UAR will be assessed. The computed annual assessment amount will be divided by four and imposed on a quarterly basis.