
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

1301 Young Street, Room 833
Dallas, Texas 75202
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Division of Medicaid & Children' s Health Region VI

December 27, 2011

Our Reference: SPA- AR -11 - 09

Dr. Andrew Allison

State Medicaid Director
Arkansas Department of Health and Human Services
P. O. Box 1437

Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Dear Dr. Allison: 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to your Medicaid State Plan submitted under
Transmittal Number 11 -09. Effective September 30, 2011, the Arkansas Title XIX State Plan has
been amended to provide Medicaid coverage of comprehensive tobacco cessation services for
pregnant women, including both counseling and pharmacotherapy, without cost sharing. 
Additionally, this amendment was submitted to comply with Section 1027 of the Affordable
Care Act (ACA). 

Transmittal Number 11 - 09 is approved with an effective date of September 30, 2011 as
requested. A copy of the HCFA -179, Transmittal No. 11 -09 dated September 28, 2011 is
enclosed along with the approved plan pages. 

If you have any questions, please contact Tamara Sampson at (214) 767 -6431. 

Sincerely, 

Bill Brooks

Associate Regional Administrator

Division of Medicaid and Children' s Health

Enclosure
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1 10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: 

The Arkansas Title XIX State Plan has been amended to provide Medicaid coverage of comprehensive tobacco cessation services for
pregnant women, including both counseling and pharmacotherapy, without cost sharing. 
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ATTACHED LISTING FOR

ARKANSAS STATE PLAN

TRANSMITTAL #2011 -009

8. Number of the Plan 9. Number of the Superseded Plan

Section or Attachment Section or Attachment

Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 2 Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 2

Approved 07- 01 -93, TN 93 -22

Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 2a Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 2a

Approved 05- 23 -97, TN 97 -04

Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 5aaa Attachment 3. 1 - A, Page 5aaa

Approved 1 1- 23 -04, TN 04 -04

Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 2xxx Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 2xxx

Approved 12- 19 -08, TN 08 -18

Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 2xxxx Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 2xxxx

Approved 10- 20 -04, TN 04 -20

Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 4i Attachment 3. 1 - B, Page 4i

Approved 05- 14 -09, TN 09 -05



Revision: HCFA- PM -93 -5 ( MB) ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - A
MAY 1993 Page 2

Revised: September 30, 2011 OMB NO: 

State/ Territory: ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION, AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL

AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

4.a. Nursing facility services (other than services in an institution for mental diseases) for individuals
21 years of age or older. 

Provided: ® No limitations  With limitations* 

PA* 

4.b. Early and periodic screening, diagnostic and treatment services for individuals under 21 years of
age, and treatment of conditions found.* 

4.c. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of child- bearing age. 

Provided:  No limitations ® With limitations* 

4.d. Tobacco cessation counseling services for pregnant women

Provided:  No limitations ® With limitations* 

5. a. Physicians' services whether furnished in the office, the patient' s home, a hospital, a nursing facility
or elsewhere. 

Provided:  No limitations ® With limitations* 

5. b. Medical and surgical services furnished by a dentist (in accordance with section 1905( a)( 5)( B) ofthe
Act). 

Provided:  No limitations ® With limitations* 

6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under state law, furnished by licensed
practitioners within the scope of their practice as defined by State law. 

6. a. Podiatrists' services. 

Provided:  No limitations ® With limitations* 

3- 72..._._, 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 2a

STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF

SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: September 30, 2011

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

4.c. Family Planning Services

1) Comprehensive family planning services are limited to an original examination and up to
three follow -up visits annually. This limit is based on the state fiscal year - July 1 through
June 30. 

4. d. ( 1) Face -to -Face Tobacco Cessation Counseling Services provided (by): 

X] (i) By or under supervision of a physician; 

X] (ii) By any other health care professional who is legally authorized to furnish such
services under State law and who is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable

services other than tobacco cessation services; * or

iii) Any other health care professional legally authorized to provide tobacco
cessation services under State law and who is specifically designated by the Secretary
in regulations. ( None are designated at this time) 

describe if there are any limits on who can provide these counseling services

2) Face -to -Face Tobacco Cessation Counseling Services Benefit Package for Pregnant
Women

Provided:  No limitations [ X] With limitations* 

Any benefit package that consists of less than four (4) counseling sessions per quit
attempt, with a minimum of two (2) quit attempts per 12 month period (eight (8) per
year) should be explained below. 

Please describe any limitations: 

Face-to-face tobacco cessation counseling services are limited to no more than two 15- 
minute units and two 30- minute units for a maximum allowable of4 units per state
fiscalyear. 

5UPUSEDES: l ._ i -70-4
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - A

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 5aaa

STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: September 30, 2011

CATEGORICALLY NEEDY

12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses prescribed by a physician skilled in diseases
of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued) 

a. Prescribed Drugs (continued) 

Prior authorization will he established for certain drug classes, particular drugs or medically
accepted indication for uses and doses. 

The state will appoint a Pharmaceutical and Therapeutic Committee or utilize the drug
utilization review committee in accordance with Federal law. 

When a pharmacist receives a prescription for a brand or trade name drug, and dispenses an
innovator multisource drug that is subject to the Federal Upper Limits (FULs), the innovator
multisource drug must be priced at or below the FUL or the prescription hand annotated by
the prescriber " Brand Medically Necessary". Only innovator multisource drugs that are
subject to the Federal Upper Limit at 42 CFR 447. 332(a) and dispensed on or after July 1, 
1991, are subject to the provisions of Section 1903( i)( 1 O)( B) of the Social Security Act. 

For drugs listed on the Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List, the upper limit price
will not apply if the prescribing physician certifies in writing that a brand name drug is
medically necessary. 

The Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List is comprised of State generic upper limits
on specific multisource drug products and CMS identified generic upper limits on multisource
drug products. 

The Medicaid agency will provide coverage of prescription and over - the - counter (OTC) 
smoking /tobacco cessation covered outpatient drugs for pregnant women as
recommended in " Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence — 2008 Update: A Clinical
Practice Guideline" published by the Public Health Service in May 2008 or any
subsequent modification of such guideline. 

C) 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Page 2xxx

STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF

SERVICES PROVIDED Revised: September 30, 2011

MEDICALLY NEEDY

4.c. Family Planning Services

1) Comprehensive family planning services are limited to an original examination and up to three follow - 
up visits annually. This limit is based on the state fiscal year ( July 1 through June 30). 

4.d. ( 1) Face -to -Face Tobacco Cessation Counseling Services provided (by): 

X] ( i) By or under supervision of a physician; 

X] ( ii) By any other health care professional who is legally authorized to furnish such services
under State law and who is authorized to provide Medicaid coverable services other than
tobacco cessation services; * or

iii) Any other health care professional legally authorized to provide tobacco cessation
services under State law and who is specifically designated by the Secretary in regulations. 
None are designated at this time) 

describe if there are any limits on who can provide these counseling services

2) Face -to -Face Tobacco Cessation Counseling Services Benefit Package for Pregnant Women

Provided: 5 No limitations [ X] With limitations* 

Any benefit package that consists of less than four (4) counseling sessions per quit attempt, 
with a minimum of two (2) quit attempts per 12 month period (eight (8) per year) should be

explained below. 

Please describe any limitations: 

Face -to -face tobacco cessation counseling services are limited to no more than two 15- minute
units and two 30- minute unitsfar a maximum allowable of4 units per state fiscalyear. 

5. a. Physicians' services, whether furnished in the office, the recipient' s home, a hospital, a skilled nursing facility, 
or elsewhere

1) Physicians' services in a physician' s office, patient's home or nursing home are limited to twelve ( 12) 
visits per State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30) for recipients age 21 and older. 

STATE: 
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STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - B

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM
Page 2xxxx

STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF
SERVICES PROVIDED Revised:- - Sept° 

MEDICALLY NEEDY i STATE 3'k%-a-_ G
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5. a. Physicians' Services ( Continued) DATEAPP\'' D_.- _.I., 4' a2 -'ZL__ 
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a) Benefit Limit Details
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The benefit limit will be considered in conjunction with the benefit limit established for rural health clinic
services, medical services furnished by a dentist, office medical services furnished by an optometrist, certified
nurse midwife services and services provided by an advanced practice nurse or registered nurse practitioner or a
combination of the six. Beneficiaries under age 21 in the Child Health Services ( EPSDT) Program are not
benefit limited. 

Certain services, specified in the appropriate provider manual, are not counted toward the 12 visit limit. 

b) Extensions

For services beyond the 12 visit limit, extensions will be provided if medically necessary. 

i) The following diagnoses are considered to be categorically medically necessary and are exempt from
benefit extension requirements: Malignant neoplasm; HIV infection and renal failure. 

ii) Additionally, physicians' visits for pregnancy in the outpatient hospital are exempt from benefit extension
requirements. 

2) Each attending physician/dentist is limited to billing one day of care for inpatient hospital covered days
regardless of the number of hospital visits rendered. 

3) Surgical procedures which are generally considered to be elective require prior authorization from the
Utilization Review Section. 

4) Desensitization injections - Refer to Attachment 3. 1 - A, Item 4. b. ( 12). 

5) Organ transplants are covered as described in Attachment 3. 1 - E. 

6) Consultations are limited to two ( 2) per recipient per year in a physician' s office, patient's home, hospital or
nursing home. This yearly limit is based on the State Fiscal Year (July 1 through June 30). This limit is in
addition to the yearly limit described in Item 5.( 1). Extensions of the benefit limit will be provided ifmedically
necessary for recipients in the Child Health Services ( EPSDT) Program. 

7) Effective for dates of service on or after September 15, 1995, interactive consultations ( telemedicine) are
limited to two ( 2) per recipient. This yearly limit is based on the State Fiscal Year (July I through June 30). 
Extensions of the benefit limit will be considered for eligible recipients of all ages. 

8) Abortions are covered when the life ofthe mother would be endangered if the fetus were carried to term or for
victims of rape or incest. The circumstances must be certified in writing by the woman' s attending physician. 
Prior authorization is required. 

5. b. Medical and surgical services furnished by a dentist ( in accordance with Section 1905 ( a)( 5)( B) of the Act). 

Medical services furnished by a dentist are limited to twelve ( 12) visits per State Fiscal Year (July I through June 30) for
recipients age 21 and older. 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM

STATE ARKANSAS

AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF

SERVICES PROVIDED
MEDICALLY NEEDY

12. Prescribed drugs, dentures and prosthetic devices; and eyeglasses

of the eye or by an optometrist (Continued) 

a. Prescribed Drugs (continued) 

ATTACHMENT 3. 1 - B

Page 41

Revised: September 30, 2011

by a physician skilled in diseases

Prior authorization will be established for certain drug classes, particular drugs or medically
accepted indication for uses and doses. 

The state will appoint a Pharmaceutical and Therapeutic Committee or utilize the drug
utilization review committee in accordance with Federal law. 

When a pharmacist receives a prescription for a brand or trade name drug, and dispenses an
innovator multisource drug that is subject to the Federal Upper Limits (FULs), the innovator
multisource drug must be priced at or below the FUL or the prescription hand annotated by
the prescriber `Brand Medically Necessary". Only innovator multisource drugs that are
subject to the Federal Upper Limit at 42 CFR 447. 332( a) and dispensed on or after July I, 
1991, are subject to the provisions of Section 1903( i)( 1 OXB) of the Social Security Act. 

For drugs listed on the Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List, the upper limit price
will not apply if the prescribing physician certifies in writing that a brand name drug is
medically necessary. 

The Arkansas Medicaid Generic Upper Limit List is comprised of State generic upper limits
on specific multisource drug products and CMS identified generic upper limits on multisource
drug products. 

The Medicaid agency will provide coverage of prescription and over - the - counter (OTC) 
smoking /tobacco cessation covered outpatient drugs for pregnant women as
recommended in " Treating Tobacco Use and Dependence — 2008 Update: A Clinical
Practice Guideline" published by the Public Health Service in May 2008 or any
subsequent modification of such guideline. 

b. Dentures

Refer to Attachment 3. 1 - B Item 4. b( 7) for coverage of dentures for Child Health Services ( EPSDT) 
recipients. 

Dentures are available for eligible Medicaid beneficiaries age 21 and over, but are benefit limited. 
Specific benefit limits and prior authorization requirements for beneficiaries age 21 and over are
detailed in the Dental Provider Manual. 

Dentures are excluded from the annual limit but are limited to one set per lifetime. 
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Marks, Marsha L. ( CMS/ SC) 

From: Marks, Marsha L. ( CMS /SC) 

Sent: Tuesday, January 10, 2012 11: 59 AM
To: CMS SPA

Cc: Sampson, Tamara L. ( CMS /CMCHO); Cano, Margaret R. ( CMS /SC); Guy, Jimmy L. 
CMS /SC); Sang, Suzette (CMS/ SC); Tuttle, Wendy L. ( CMS /CMCS); Ker, Kara
CMS /CMCS); ' LeAnn Edwards', ' Becky Murphy' 

Subject: Approval for AR 11 - 09

Attachments: Final Approval for 11- 09. pdf, final AR1109APPROVAL.doc

See Attached. SPW has been updated. 

State: Arkansas

Brief Description: This plan amendment adds language from Section 1027 of the Affordable Care Act, (ACA) to provide

Medicaid coverage of comprehensive tobacco cessation services for pregnant women, including both counseling and

pharmacotherapy without cost sharing. The amendment does not have a direct impact on Indians, Indian Health
programs, or Urban Indian organizations. 

Approval Date: December 27, 2011

Effective Date: September 30, 2011

Marsha Marks 4 c'. yi Ci HeEfl,'n ' C,,,, 1, 

Da- ., Tcx s 10% % 1- 7t:-, , nor`; rx, 14 3N0.. 3, marsha.marks(a,cros. hhs.gov

Are you uninsured? Do you have a pre- existing condition? If so, you may be eligible for the new Pre - Existing Condition
Insurance Plan. Call toll free 1- 866 - 717 -5826 (TTY 1- 866 -561 -1604) or visit www.pcip. gov and click on " Find Your State" 

to learn more. 




