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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

April 21, 2021

Ms. Stephanie Stephens

State Medicaid/CHIP Director

Texas Health and Human Services Commission
Mail Code: H100

Post Office Box 13247

Austin, Texas 78711

RE: Texas TN 21-0015

Dear Ms. Stephens:

We have reviewed the proposed Texas State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B, TX#21-
0015, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on March 31,
2021. This state plan amendment updates the birthing center facility services fee schedule.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of March 1, 2021. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new
state plan page.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tamara Sampson at
214-767-6431 or Tamara.Sampson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF

STATE PLAN MATERIAL
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
21-0015

2. STATE:
TEXAS

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL
SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:
March 1, 2021

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Circle One):
O NEW STATE PLAN O

AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:

Social Security Act §1902(a)(30); 42 CFR §447.201(b).

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:

a. FFY 2021 $0.56
b. FFY 2022 $0.82
c. FFY 2023 $0.79

SEE ATTACHMENT

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT:

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 8

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):

Attachment 4.19-B
Page 8 (TN 14-0024)

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

The proposed amendment updates the birthing center facility services fee schedules.

11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):

GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED
NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

o0 0O O

X OTHER, AS SPECIFIED: Sent to Governor’s Office this date.
Comments, if any, will be forwarded upon receipt.

. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:

. TYPED NAME:
Stephanie Stephens

14. TITLE:
State Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED:
March 31, 2021

16. RETURN TO:

Stephanie Stephens

State Medicaid Director

Post Office Box 13247, MC: H-100
Austin, Texas 78711

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
March 31, 2021

18. DATE APPROVED:
April 21, 2021

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:

March 1, 2021

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:

21. TYPED NAME:
Todd McMillion

22. |||l!

Director, Division of Reimbursement Review

23. REMARKS:

FORM CMS - 179 (07-92)




State of Texas
Attachment 4.19-B
Page 8

17. Birthing Center Facility Services.

Medicaid providers of birthing center services are reimbursed based on fee
schedules as follows:

(a) Subiject to the specifications, conditions, requirements and limitations
established by HHSC; payment for covered birthing center services
provided by a participating, licensed birthing center is limited to the
lesser of the customary charge or the allowable rates per established
fee schedule by HHSC.

(b) The fee schedule established by HHSC is based upon: (1) survey of
costs to provide the services; (2) review of Medicaid fees paid by
other states; (3) Medicaid fees for similar services; (4) Medicare fees;
(5) pricing data from commercial carriers; and/or (6) some
combination or percentage thereof.

(c) The birth attendant must be a physician or Certified Nurse-Midwife
(CNM). The physician or CNM who was the birth attendant must be
identified on the birthing center’s claim. Prenatal, labor, delivery and
postpartum services performed or provided by physicians or CNMs
are not considered birthing center facility services.

(d) The birthing center must bill for the services that it provides. Unless
approved by the State Agency or its designee, the birthing center may
not bill for services provided by another type of provider. If the
birthing center bills a single or itemized combined rate, charge, or
amount for covered services for two or more providers, payment is
the lesser of the single or itemized combined rate, charge or the
amount that would have been paid had each performing provider
billed separately.

(e) All fee schedules are available through the agency's website as
outlined on Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1.

(f) The agency's fee schedule was revised with new fees for providers of
birthing center services effective for services on or after March 1, 2021. The
fee schedule will be posted on March 19, 2021.

TN: 21-0015 Approval Date: 04/21/2021
Superseded TN: 14-0024 Effective Date: 03/01/2021





