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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services 
233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600 
Chicago, Illinois 60601 

Financial Management Group

September 9, 2021 

Michael Boutte 
Interim Medicaid Executive Director 
Louisiana Medicaid Program 
Louisiana Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 
628 North Fourth Street 
Post Office Box 91030 
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70821-9030 

RE: TN 21-0009 

Dear Mr. Michael Boutte, 

We have reviewed the proposed Louisiana State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B, 
21-0009, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on June
29, 2021.  The purpose of this SPA is to amend the reimbursement rates for professional services.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an 
effective date of May 1, 2021.  We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new 
state plan pages. 

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Tamara Sampson at 
214-767-6431 or Tamara.Sampson@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely, 

Todd McMillion 
Director 
Division of Reimbursement Review 

Enclosures 





STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Attachment 4.19-B 

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Item 5, Page 2a 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -- OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR 

SERVICES LISTED IN SECTION 1905(A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE 

PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS: 

TN _21-0009        Approval Date____________________    Effective Date _May 1, 2021  

Supersedes 

TN _13-17  

For newly added procedure codes for beneficiaries age 0 through 15 years old, the Medicaid fee shall be 

set at 90 percent of the current year’s Louisiana Region 99 Medicare allowable fee.  For newly added 

procedure codes for beneficiaries age 16 years and older, the Medicaid fee shall be set at 75 percent of 

the current year’s Louisiana Region 99 Medicare allowable fee. 

1. If there is no equivalent Medicare fee, the Medicaid fee shall be set based on the Medicare fee for a

similar service. In the absence of any applicable Medicare fee, the fee shall be set at the Medicaid fee for

a similar service or the Medicaid fee for other states.

2. If establishing a Medicaid fee based on Medicare rates results in a fee that is reasonably expected to

be insufficient to ensure that the service is available to beneficiaries, an alternate methodology shall be

used.  The fee shall be set at the Medicaid fee for a similar service or the Medicaid fee for other states.

Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2012, the reimbursement rates for family planning

services rendered by a physician shall be reduced by 3.7 percent of the rates in effect on June 30, 2012.

Effective for dates of service on or after February 1, 2013, the reimbursement for certain physician 

services shall be reduced by 1 percent of the rate in effect on January 31, 2013.  Specified primary care 

services rendered by a physician with a specialty designation of family medicine, internal medicine, or 

pediatrics shall be excluded from the February 1, 2013 rate reduction. Rates for such services are exempt 

from the rate reduction, paralleling the January 1, 2013 implementation of Affordable Care Act 

requirements for Medicaid to reimburse at the Medicare rate for such services rendered in calendar years 

2013 and 2014.  

Effective for dates of services on or after February 20, 2013, the 3.7 percent reimbursement rate reduction 

for family planning services rendered by a physician shall be adjusted to 3.4 percent of the rates in effect 

on June 30, 2012. 

Effective for dates of service on or after May 1, 2021, the fee on file for inpatient neonatal critical care 

services (as specified in CPT), shall be increased by five percent. 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 

governmental and private providers of inpatient neonatal critical care services. The agency’s fee 

schedule rate was set as of January 1, 2021 and is effective for services provided on or after that date. 

All rates are published on the Louisiana Medicaid website www.lamedicaid.com.  

September 9, 2021



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Attachment 4.19-B 

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Item 5, Page 5 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -- OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR 

SERVICES LISTED IN SECTION 1905(A) OF THE ACT THAT ARE INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER 

THE PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS: 

TN 21-0009  Approval Date ________________    Effective Date May 1, 2021  

Supersedes 

TN 13-17___________ 

In these situations reimbursement for the combined segments of 

patient care may not exceed the rate set for that physician had 

he/she been the attending physician for the entire service. 

C. Physician Services for Abortion

Payment will be made to the attending physician for abortions 

when the physician has found, and certified in writing to the 

Medicaid Agency, that on the basis of his professional judgment, 

the mother suffers from a physical disorder, physical injury, or 

physical illness, including a life endangering physical condition 

caused or arising from the pregnancy itself placing the mother in 

danger of death unless an abortion is performed. 

Payment will be made to the attending physician for abortions 

terminating pregnancies resulting from rape or incest in 

accordance with provisions of State law (La R.S. 40:1299.34.5 

and La. R.S. 40:1299.35.7 as amended and enacted by Act 1 of 

the Fourth Extraordinary Session of the 1994 Legislature.) 

D. Physicians shall be reimbursed according to the established fee

schedule or billed charges, whichever is the lesser amount.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee

schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private

providers of physician services. The agency’s fee schedule rate

was set as of January 1, 2021 and is effective for services

provided on or after that date.  All rates are published on the

Medicaid provider website at www.lamedicaid.com.

September 9, 2021



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT Attachment 4.19-B 

MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM Item 5, Page 7 

STATE OF LOUISIANA 

PAYMENTS FOR MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES -- OTHER TYPES OF CARE OR 

SERVICES LISTED IN SECTION 1905(A) OF THE ACT THAT IS INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM UNDER THE 

PLAN ARE DESCRIBED AS FOLLOWS: 

TN _21-0009  Approval Date Effective Date _May 1, 2021________ 

Supersedes 

TN _15-0015  

RESERVED 

September 9, 2021




