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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

December 20, 2021

Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH, Commissioner
Department of Social Services

55 Farmington Avenue, 9" Floor

Hartford, Connecticut 06105

RE: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 21-0034
Dear Commissioner Gifford:

We have reviewed the proposed Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-
B submitted under TN-21-0034, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid
Services (CMS) on September 30th, 2021. This plan makes changes to the home health services
fee schedule.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an
effective date of August 1%, 2021. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new
state plan pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact Jerica Bennett at
1-410-786-1167 or jerica.bennett@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

Todd McMillion
Director
Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES OMB NO. 0938-0193
1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE: CT
TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL 21-0034
OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL 3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE:
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE AND MEDICAID SERVICES August 1, 2021

DEPARTMENT OF HEAT.TH AND HUMAN SERVICES

5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

__ NEW STATE PLAN __ AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT  (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
Section 1905(a)(7) of the Social Security Act and a. FFY 2021  $849.000
42 CFR 440.70 b. FFY 2022 $8.9 million
8.  PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:| 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION OR
ATTACHMENT (If applicable)
Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v, 1(a)vi and 1(a)vii Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v. NEW

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: This SPA amends the Medicaid State Plan to implement specified home health rate increases.
SpecificallyFirst, this SPA increases rates by 6% for codes T1004 and T1021 for home health aide or certified nursing assistant services provided by
licensed home health agencies. The purpose of this change is to reflect increased costs in paying higher wages to home health aides due to the
state’s August 1, 2021 minimum wage increase. In addition, this SPA implements home health fee schedule changes in accordance with the state’s
Spending Plan for Implementation of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021, Section 9817, subject to CMS approval of that plan.
FirstSecond. rates for home health services except pediatric complex care skilled nursing services will increase by 3.5%. SecondThird.
pediatric complex care skilled nursing services will increase by 30% above the June 30, 2021 rates (resulting in a combined 31.7%
increase above June 30, 2021 rates after accounting for the 1.7% rate increase effective July 1, 2021 proposed under pending SPA
21-0021). Lastly, a value-based payment rate add-on of up to 1% is available for all home health services based upon the home health agency
provider meeting specified performance criteria. This SPA implements various home health changes consistent with the state’s Spending Plan for
Implementation of the American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) of 2021, Section 9817, which was separately submitted for CMS review.

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):

X GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT __OTHER. AS SPECIFIED:
_ COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
_ NOREPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

12. GENCY OFFICIAL: 16. RETURN TO:
13. TYPED NAME: Deidre S. Gifford, MD, MPH State of Connecticut
Department of Social Services
14. TITLE: Commissioner 55 Farmington Avenue— 9th floor
Hartford, CT 06105
15. DATE SUBMITTED: Attention: Ginny Mahoney

September 30, 2021

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17.  DATE RECEIVED:  geptember 30, 2021 18. DATE APPROVED: December 20, 2021

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL: 20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OFFICIAL:
August 1, 2021

21. TYPED NAME: yq- 22. TITLE:
Todd McMillion Director, Division of Reimbursent Review

23. REMARKS: Pen and ink change requested by Connecticut via email on 12/09/2021.

FORM CMS-179 (07-92)



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1(a)v
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Connecticut

(7) Home Health Services —

(a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by
a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with
limitations.

(b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.

(c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services
provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with
limitations.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same
for both governmental and private providers of home health services provided by a
home health agency listed above in (a), (b), and (c). The agency’s fee schedule rates
were set as of August 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that
date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:
https://www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider
Fee Schedule Download,” then select the applicable fee schedule. In addition to the fee
schedule rate, effective for dates of service on or after August 1, 2021, each home
health agency provider will be eligible to receive a value-based payment rate add-on
of up to 1% of the applicable rate set forth in (a), (b), and (c) above in accordance with
the following:

The first 1% performance payment will be paid on or before March 31, 2022 and is
effective for and based on expenditures from August 1, 2021 through February 28,
2022 for each qualifying provider that meets the following standards:

(a) Participation in the Department of Social Services Racial Equity Training
— 80% of all supervisors employed by the agency must complete the first training by
February 1, 2022; and,

(b) Provider has Data Sharing Agreement executed with the state’s Health
Information Exchange (HIE) Payment methodology.

The second 1% performance payment will be paid on or before July 31, 2022 and is
effective for and based on expenditures from March 1, 2022 through June 30, 2022 for
each qualifying provider that meets the following standards:

(a) Participation in Department of Social Services Racial Equity Training —
80% of all supervisors employed by the agency must complete the second training and
50% of all other staff employed by the agency must complete the first training; and,

(b) Signing, at a minimum, the HIE Empanelment Use Case; and,

(c) Action plan detailing how the provider sends their client roster in an
approved format to the state’s HIE.

TN #21-0034 Approval Date _12/20/2021 Effective Date 08/01/2021
Supersedes
TN # 21-0021



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1(a)vi
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Connecticut

(d) Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home — Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of Medical supplies, equipment and appliances
suitable for use in the home. The agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2021
and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on
the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website: https://www.ctdssmap.com.
From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee Schedule Download,” then
select the applicable fee schedule. Over-the-counter products provided by pharmacies
are reimbursed at Average Wholesale Price (AWP). The temporary rate increase for
non-sterile gloves is effective September 1, 2020 and expires 90 days after the end of
the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) federal public health emergency
declaration, as extended. After such date, the rate for non-sterile gloves reverts to the
rate in effect immediately prior to September 1, 2020.

TN # 21-0034 Approval Date 12/20/2021 Effective Date 08/01/2021

Supersedes
TN # NEW



Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1(a)vii
STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Connecticut

(8) Private duty nursing services — Not provided.

TN # 21-0034 Approval Date 12/20/2021 Effective Date 08/01/2021
Supersedes
TN # NEW





