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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Center for Medicaid & CHIP Services

233 North Michigan Ave., Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Financial Management Group

November 17, 2020

Kathleen M. Brennan, Deputy Commissioner
Department of Social Services

Office of the Deputy Commissioner

55 Farmington Avenue

Hartford, CT 06105-3730

RE: Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 20-0020
Dear Deputy Commissioner Brennan:

We have reviewed the proposed Connecticut State Plan Amendment (SPA) to Attachment 4.19-B of your
state plan, which was submitted to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on September 29,
2020. This plan amendment increased the rate per box of 100 non-sterile gloves to $8.00 per box and
reduced the quantities to 3 boxes per month, which may be exceeded with prior authorization based on
medical necessity.

Based upon the information provided by the State, we have approved the amendment with an effective
date of September 1, 2020. We are enclosing the approved CMS-179 and a copy of the new state plan

pages.

If you have any additional questions or need further assistance, please contact James Moreth at 206-615-
2043 or James.Moreth@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,
Todd McMillion
Director

Division of Reimbursement Review

Enclosures
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OMB NO. 0938-0193
. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER: 2. STATE: CT
20-0020

. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE

SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR.CENTERS FOR MEDICARE
AND MEDICAID SERVICES

. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE

September 1, 2020

DEPARTMENT OF HEAT.TH AND HUMAN SERVICES

5. TYPE OF STATE PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

_ NEW STATE PLAN __ AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN X AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION: 7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
Sections 1905(a)(7) of the Social Security Act and a. FFY 2020 $0
42 CFR 440.70(b)(3) b. FFY 2021 $108.000

8.  PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:| 9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN

SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If applicable)

Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v Attachment 4.19-B, Page 1(a)v

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT: Effective September 1, 2020 and continuing through 90 days after the termination of the of the federal
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Public Health Emergency (PHE) declarations. as extended. this SPA amends Attachment 4.19-B of
the Medicaid State Plan in order to revise the medical surgical supplies fee schedule to increase the rate per box of 100 non-sterile gloves to
$8.00 per box and to reduce the quantities to 3 boxes per month, which may be exceeded with prior authorization based on medical necessity.

The federal budget impact is listed as $0 for FFY 2020 due to routine delay in claims submission and processing.
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September 29, 2020
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Attention: Ginny Mahoney. Medical Policy
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17. DATE RECEIVED:
9/30/2020

18. DATE APPROVED:
11/17/2020
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19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:
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9/1/2020
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Todd McMillion Director, Division of Reimbursement Review
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Attachment 4.19-B
Page 1(a)v

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT
State Connecticut

(7) Home Health Services —

(a) Intermittent or part-time nursing services provided by a home health agency or by
a registered nurse when no home health agency exists in the area are provided with
limitations.

(b) Home health aide services provided by a home health agency with limitations.

(c) Physical therapy, occupational therapy, or speech pathology and audiology services
provided by a home health agency or medical rehabilitation facility are provided with
limitations.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same
for both governmental and private providers of home health services provided by a
home health agency listed above in (a), (b), and (c). The agency’s fee schedule rates
were set as of October 1, 2019 and are effective for services provided on or after that
date. All rates are published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program website:
www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee
Schedule Download.”

(d) Medical supplies, equipment and appliances suitable for use in the home — Except
as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both
governmental and private providers of Medical supplies, equipment and appliances
suitable for use in the home. The agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of September
1, 2020 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are
published on the Connecticut Medical Assistance Program  website:
www.ctdssmap.com. From this web page, go to “Provider,” then to “Provider Fee
Schedule Download.”  Over-the-counter products provided by pharmacies are
reimbursed at Average Wholesale Price (AWP). The temporary rate increase for non-
sterile gloves is effective September 1, 2020 and expires 90 days after the end of the
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) federal public health emergency declaration,
as extended. After such date, the rate for non-sterile gloves reverts to the rate in effect
immediately prior to September 1, 2020.

(8) Private duty nursing services — Not provided.

TN # 20-0020 Approval Date 11/17/20 Effective Date 09/01/2020
Supersedes
TN # 20-0011





