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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
601 E. 12th St., Room 355 
Kansas City, Missouri 64106 
 

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group 
 
 
September 29, 2021 
 
 
 
Jacey Cooper, Medicaid Director 
California Department of Healthcare Services 
1501 Capitol Avenue, Suite 6000 
P.O. Box 997413 MS 4000  
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413 
  
RE:  CA 21-0002 §1915(i) home and community-based services (HCBS) state plan benefit 
renewal 
 
Dear Ms. Cooper: 
 
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is approving the state’s 1915(i) state plan 
home and community-based services (HCBS) state plan amendment (SPA), transmittal number 
CA 21-0002. The purpose of this amendment is to renew California’s 1915(i) State Plan HCBS 
benefit. The effective date for this renewal is October 1, 2021.  Enclosed is a copy of the 
approved SPA. 
  
Since the state has elected to target the population who can receive §1915(i) State Plan HCBS, 
CMS approves this SPA for a five-year period expiring September 30, 2026, in accordance with 
§1915(i)(7) of the Social Security Act. To renew the §1915(i) State Plan HCBS benefit for an 
additional five-year period, the state must submit a renewal application to CMS at least 180 days 
prior to the end of the approval period. CMS approval of a renewal request is contingent upon 
state adherence to federal requirements and the state meeting its objectives with respect to 
quality improvement and beneficiary outcomes.  
 
Per 42 CFR §441.745(a)(i), the state will annually provide CMS with the projected number of 
individuals to be enrolled in the benefit and the actual number of unduplicated individuals 
enrolled in the §1915(i) State Plan HCBS in the previous year. Additionally, at least 21 months 
prior to the end of the five-year approval period, the state must submit evidence of the state’s 
quality monitoring in accordance with the Quality Improvement Strategy in their approved SPA. 
The evidence must include data analysis, findings, remediation, and describe any system 
improvement for each of the §1915(i) requirements. 
  
CMS reminds the state that the state must have an approved spending plan in order to use the 
money realized from section 9817 of the American Rescue Plan 
does not constitute approval of the state’s spending plan 
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It is important to note that CMS approval of this 1915(i) HCBS state plan benefit renewal solely 
addresses the state’s compliance with the applicable Medicaid authorities. CMS approval does 
not address the state’s independent and separate obligations under federal laws including, but not 
limited to, the Americans with Disabilities Act, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, or the 
Supreme Court’s Olmstead decision. Guidance from the Department of Justice concerning 
compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Olmstead decision is available at 
http://www.ada.gov/olmstead/q&a_olmstead.htm. 
 
If you have any questions concerning this information, please contact me at (410) 786-7561. You 
may also contact Alice Hogan at Alice.Hogan@cms.hhs.gov or (404) 562-7432.  
 
 

Sincerely, 

George P. Failla, Jr., Acting Director  
Division of HCBS Operations and Oversight 
 

Enclosure 
 
cc: 
Alice Hogan, CMS 
Deanna Clark, CMS 
Cheryl Young, CMS 
Blake Holt, CMS 
 

  

 



DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FORM APPROVED 
CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES OMB No. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL 

FOR: CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES 

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER

2  1 0 0 02

2. STATE 

California 

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION:

Title XIX of the Social Security Act (Medicaid) 
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR 

CENTERS FOR MEDICA RE & MEDICA ID SERVICES
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIV E DATE 

October 1, 2021 

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One)

NEW STATE PLAN AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN AMENDMENT 

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate transmittal for each amendment) 

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION

1915i of the Social Security Act 

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT 
a. FFY 2021-22 $ 411,762,000 
b. FFY 2022-23 $ 432,350,000 

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT 

Attachment 3.1-i: pages 1, 2-10, 11-12, 13-
22, 23-38, 39-51, 52-84, 85-86, 87-88, 89-
108 

Attachment 3.1-i: pages 109-155 NEW 

Attachment 4.19-B: pages 69-73, 74-75, 76, 
77, 78 

Attachment 4.19-B: pages 78a-78l NEW 

Attachment 3.1-i pages 1-149 Attachment 
4.19-B pages 1-19 Attachment 2.2-A pages 
1-2

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSED ED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable)

Attachment 3.1-i: pages 1-108 

Attachment 3.1-i: (deleted) pages 1a, 10a, 
12a, 22a, 38a, 51a-51c, 84a-84m, 86a-86e, 
86a.1, 88a
Attachment 4.19-B pages 69-78  
Attachment 3.1-i pages 1-149 Attachment 
4.19-B pages 1-19Attachment 2.2-A pages
1-2

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT 

1915i State Plan Renewal 

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One)

GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT OTHER, AS SPECIFIED 

COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED 

NO REPLY RECEIV ED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL 

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL

Jacey Cooper Digitally signed by Jacey Cooper
Date: 2021.03.23 07:41:40 -07'00' 

16. RETURN TO

Department of Health Care Services 
Attn: Director's Office 
P.O. Box 997413, MS 0000 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7413 

13. TYPED NAME 
 Jacey Cooper 
14. TITLE 
State Medicaid Director 
15. DATE SUBMITTED
March 23, 2021 

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY
17. DATE RECEIV ED 
March 23, 2021

18. DATE APPROVED 
September 29, 2021

PLAN APPROVED - ONE COPY ATTACHED 
19. EFFECTIV E DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL
October 1, 2021

20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL 

21. TYPED NAME 
George Failla, Jr.

22. TITLE 
Acting Director

e 



23. REMARKS

For Box 11 "Other, As Specified," Please note: The Governor’s Office does not wish to review the State 
Plan Amendment. 

9/21/2021 – State authorizes P&I changes to block #8 and #9. 

9/24/2021 – State authorizes additional P&I change to block #8. 

FORM CMS-179 (07/92) Instructions on Back 
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The state implements the optional 1915(i) State plan Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) benefit for 
elderly and disabled individuals as set forth below. 

1. Services. (Specify the state’s service title(s) for the HCBS defined under “Services” and listed in
Attachment 4.19-B):

2. Concurrent Operation with Other Programs. (Indicate whether this benefit will operate concurrently with 
another Medicaid authority):

Select one:
Not applicable 

Applicable
Check the applicable authority or authorities: 

 Services furnished under the provisions of §1915(a)(1)(a) of the Act. The State contracts 
with a Managed Care Organization(s) (MCOs) and/or prepaid inpatient health plan(s) (PIHP) 
or prepaid ambulatory health plan(s) (PAHP) under the provisions of §1915(a)(1) of the Act 
for the delivery of 1915(i) State plan HCBS. Participants may voluntarily elect to receive 
waiver and other services through such MCOs or prepaid health plans. Contracts with these 
health plans are on file at the State Medicaid agency. Specify: 
(a) the MCOs and/or health plans that furnish services under the provisions of §1915(a)(1);
(b) the geographic areas served by these plans;
(c) the specific 1915(i) State plan HCBS furnished by these plans;
(d) how payments are made to the health plans; and
(e) whether the 1915(a) contract has been submitted or previously approved.

 Waiver(s) authorized under §1915(b) of the Act. 
Specify the §1915(b) waiver program and indicate whether a §1915(b) waiver application has 
been submitted or previously approved: 

1915(i) State plan Home and Community-Based Services 
Administration and Operation 

Habilitation- Community Living Arrangement Services; Habilitation- Day Services; Habilitation-
Behavioral Intervention Services; Respite Care; Enhanced Habilitation- Supported Employment - 
Individual; Enhanced Habilitation- Prevocational Services; Homemaker Services; Home Health Aide 
Services; Community Based Adult Services; Personal Emergency Response Systems; Vehicle 
Modification and Adaptation; Speech, Hearing and Language Services; Dental Services; 
Optometric/Optician Services; Prescription Lenses and Frames; Psychology Services; Chore Services; 
Communication Aides; Environmental Accessibility Adaptations; Non-Medical Transportation; 
Nutritional Consultation; Skilled Nursing; Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies; 
Transition/Set-Up Expenses; Community-Based Training Services; Financial Management Services; 
Family Support Services; Housing Access Services; Occupational Therapy; Physical Therapy; Intensive 
Transition Services; and Family/Consumer Training 
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Specify the §1915(b) authorities under which this program operates (check each that 
applies): 

 §1915(b)(1) (mandated enrollment to 
managed care)

 §1915(b)(3) (employ cost savings
to furnish additional services)

§1915(b)(2) (central broker) §1915(b)(4) (selective
contracting/limit number of 
providers)

A program operated under §1932(a) of the Act. 
Specify the nature of the State Plan benefit and indicate whether the State Plan Amendment 
has been submitted or previously approved: 

A program authorized under §1115 of the Act. Specify the program: 

3. State Medicaid Agency (SMA) Line of Authority for Operating the State plan HCBS Benefit. (Select one):

The State plan HCBS benefit is operated by the SMA. Specify the SMA division/unit that has line 
authority for the operation of the program (select one): 

The Medical Assistance Unit (name of unit): 

Another division/unit within the SMA that is separate from the Medical Assistance Unit
(name of division/unit) 
This includes 
administrations/division 
s under the umbrella 
agency that have been 
identified as the Single 
State Medicaid Agency. 

The State plan HCBS benefit is operated by (name of agency)
The Department of Developmental Services 
a separate agency of the state that is not a division/unit of the Medicaid agency. In accordance 
with 42 CFR §431.10, the Medicaid agency exercises administrative discretion in the 
administration and supervision of the State plan HCBS benefit and issues policies, rules and 
regulations related to the State plan HCBS benefit. The interagency agreement or memorandum 
of understanding that sets forth the authority and arrangements for this delegation of authority 
is available through the Medicaid agency to CMS upon request. 
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4. Distribution of State plan HCBS Operational and Administrative Functions.

(By checking this box the state assures that): When the Medicaid agency does not directly conduct an
administrative function, it supervises the performance of the function and establishes and/or approves
policies that affect the function. All functions not performed directly by the Medicaid agency must be
delegated in writing and monitored by the Medicaid Agency. When a function is performed by an
agency/entity other than the Medicaid agency, the agency/entity performing that function does not
substitute its own judgment for that of the Medicaid agency with respect to the application of policies,
rules and regulations. Furthermore, the Medicaid Agency assures that it maintains accountability for the
performance of any operational, contractual, or local regional entities. In the following table, specify the
entity or entities that have responsibility for conducting each of the operational and administrative
functions listed (check each that applies):

(Check all agencies and/or entities that perform each function): 

Function 
Medicaid 
Agency 

Other State 
Operating 

Agency 
Contracted 

Entity 
Local Non- 
State Entity 

1 Individual State plan HCBS enrollment    
2 Eligibility evaluation   
3 Review of participant service plans    
4 Prior authorization of State plan HCBS   
5 Utilization management 

6 Qualified provider enrollment   
7 Execution of Medicaid provider agreement    
8 Establishment of a consistent rate 
methodology for each State plan HCBS    
9  Rules, policies, procedures, and 
information development governing the State 
plan HCBS benefit 

   

10 Quality assurance and quality 
improvement activities    

(Specify, as numbered above, the agencies/entities (other than the SMA) that perform each function): 
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1 Individual State plan HCBS enrollment: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional 
Centers. 
2 Eligibility Evaluation: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional Centers. 
3 Review of participant service plans: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional 
Centers. 
4 Prior authorization of State plan HCBS: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional 
Centers. 
5 Utilization management: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional Centers. 
6 Qualified provider enrollment: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional Centers. 
7 Execution of Medicaid provider agreement: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) and 
Regional Centers. 
8 Establishment of a consistent rate methodology for each State plan HCBS: Department of 
Developmental Services and Regional Centers 
9 Rules, policies, procedures, and information development governing the State plan HCBS benefit: 
Developmental Services (DDS) and Regional Centers. 
10 Quality assurance and quality improvement activities: Department of Developmental Services (DDS) 
and Regional Centers. 
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(By checking the following boxes the State assures that): 

5.   Conflict of Interest Standards. The state assures the independence of persons performing 
evaluations, assessments, and plans of care. Written conflict of interest standards ensure, at a minimum, 
that persons performing these functions are not: 

 related by blood or marriage to the individual, or any paid caregiver of the individual 
 financially responsible for the individual 
 empowered to make financial or health-related decisions on behalf of the individual 
 providers of State plan HCBS for the individual, or those who have interest in or are employed by 

a provider of State plan HCBS; except, at the option of the state, when providers are given 
responsibility to perform assessments and plans of care because such individuals are the only 
willing and qualified entity in a geographic area, and the state devises conflict of interest 
protections. (If the state chooses this option, specify the conflict of interest protections the state 
will implement): 

6.   Fair Hearings and Appeals. The state assures that individuals have opportunities for fair hearings 
and appeals in accordance with 42 CFR 431 Subpart E. 

7.   No FFP for Room and Board. The state has methodology to prevent claims for Federal financial 
participation for room and board in State plan HCBS. 

8.  Non-duplication of services. State plan HCBS will not be provided to an individual at the same time 
as another service that is the same in nature and scope regardless of source, including Federal, state, 
local, and private entities. For habilitation services, the state includes within the record of each individual 
an explanation that these services do not include special education and related services defined in the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act of 2004 that otherwise are available to the 
individual through a local education agency, or vocational rehabilitation services that otherwise are 
available to the individual through a program funded under §110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. 

N/A 
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1. Projected Number of Unduplicated Individuals To Be Served Annually. 

(Specify for year one. Years 2-5 optional): 

Annual Period From To Projected Number of Participants 

Year 1 10/1/2021 9/30/2022 60,000 
Year 2 10/1/2022 9/30/2023 63,000 
Year 3 10/1/2023 9/30/2024 66,000 
Year 4 10/1/2024 9/30/2025 69,000 
Year 5 10/1/2025 9/30/2026 72,000 

2.   Annual Reporting. (By checking this box the state agrees to): annually report the actual number of 
unduplicated individuals served and the estimated number of individuals for the following year. 

 

1.  Medicaid Eligible. (By checking this box the state assures that): Individuals receiving State plan HCBS 
are included in an eligibility group that is covered under the State’s Medicaid Plan and have income that 
does not exceed 150% of the Federal Poverty Line (FPL). (This election does not include the optional 
categorically needy eligibility group specified at §1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XXII) of the Social Security Act. States 
that want to adopt the §1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XXII) eligibility category make the election in Attachment 2.2-A 
of the state Medicaid plan.) 

 
2. Medically Needy (Select one): 

   The State does not provide State plan HCBS to the medically needy. 

  The State provides State plan HCBS to the medically needy. (Select one): 

 The state elects to disregard the requirements section of 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III) of the 
Social Security Act relating to community income and resource rules for the medically needy. When 
a state makes this election, individuals who qualify as medically needy on the basis of this election 
receive only 1915(i) services. 

 The state does not elect to disregard the requirements at section 1902(a)(10)(C)(i)(III) of 
the Social Security Act. 

 

1. Responsibility for Performing Evaluations / Reevaluations. Eligibility for the State plan HCBS benefit 
must be determined through an independent evaluation of each individual). Independent 
evaluations/reevaluations to determine whether applicants are eligible for the State plan HCBS benefit 
are performed (Select one): 

 

Number Served 

Financial Eligibility

Evaluation/Reevaluation of Eligibility 
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Directly by the Medicaid agency 

 By Other (specify State agency or entity under contract with the State Medicaid agency): 
DDS 

 
2. Qualifications of Individuals Performing Evaluation/Reevaluation. The independent evaluation is 

performed by an agent that is independent and qualified. There are qualifications (that are reasonably 
related to performing evaluations) for the individual responsible for evaluation/reevaluation of needs- 
based eligibility for State plan HCBS. (Specify qualifications): 

3. Process for Performing Evaluation/Reevaluation. Describe the process for evaluating whether individuals 
meet the needs-based State plan HCBS eligibility criteria and any instrument(s) used to make this 
determination. If the reevaluation process differs from the evaluation process, describe the differences: 

 
 

4.  Reevaluation Schedule. (By checking this box the state assures that): Needs-based eligibility 
reevaluations are conducted at least every twelve months. 

 
 

5.  Needs-based HCBS Eligibility Criteria. (By checking this box the state assures that): Needs-based 
criteria are used to evaluate and reevaluate whether an individual is eligible for State plan HCBS. 

The criteria take into account the individual’s support needs, and may include other risk factors: (Specify 
the needs-based criteria): 

The minimum requirement for conducting evaluations/reevaluations is a degree in social sciences or 
a related field.  Case management experience in the developmental disabilities field or a related 
field may be substituted for education on a year-for-year basis. 

The process for evaluating/reevaluating eligibility for State plan HCBS involves a review of current 
pertinent information in the individual’s record, such as medical, social and psychological 
evaluations, the individual program plan, progress reports, case management notes and other 
assessment information. The review verifies the determination the individual meets the needs- 
based eligibility criteria including the existence of significant functional limitations in three or more 
areas of major life activity including; receptive/expressive language, learning, self-care, mobility, 
self-direction, capacity for independent living and economic self-sufficiency. 
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6.  Needs-based Institutional and Waiver Criteria.  (By checking this box the state assures that): There 
are needs-based criteria for receipt of institutional services and participation in certain waivers that are 
more stringent than the criteria above for receipt of State plan HCBS. If the state has revised institutional 
level of care to reflect more stringent needs-based criteria, individuals receiving institutional services and 
participating in certain waivers on the date that more stringent criteria become effective are exempt from 
the new criteria until such time as they no longer require that level of care. (Complete chart below to 
summarize the needs-based criteria for State Plan HCBS and corresponding more-stringent criteria for 
each of the following institutions): 

 
 

State plan HCBS needs- 
based eligibility criteria 

NF (& NF LOC** waivers) ICF/IID (& ICF/IID LOC 
waivers) 

Applicable Hospital* (& 
Hospital LOC waivers) 

The individual meets 
the following need- 
based criteria: 

• Requires assistance 
with at least three of 
the following areas of 
major life activity, as 
appropriate to the 
person’s age: 

Skilled nursing 
procedures provided 
as a part of skilled 
nursing care are those 
procedures which 
must be furnished 
under the direction of 
a registered nurse in 
response to the 
attending physician’s 
order. The need must 

The individual must 
be diagnosed with a 
developmental 
disability and a 
qualifying 
developmental deficit 
exists in either the 
self-help or social- 
emotional area. 

The individual 
requires: 

 Continuous 
availability of 
facilities, services, 
equipment and 
medical and nursing 
personnel for 
prevention, 
diagnosis or 

The individual meets the following need-based criteria: 
 Requires assistance with at least three of the following areas of major life activity, as 

appropriate to the person’s age: 
o Receptive and expressive language; 
o Learning; 
o Self-care; 
o Mobility; 
o Self-direction; 
o Capacity for independent living. 

 
 Without habilitation services, as defined in Section 1915(c)(5) of the Social Security Act (42 

U.S.C. § 1396 et seq.), requires assistance with learning new skills that have not previously 
been acquired, such as skills enabling the individual to respond to life changes and 
environmental demands; and 

 Demonstrates a likelihood of retaining new skills acquired through habilitation over time; 
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o Receptive and 
expressive language; 

o Learning; 

o Self-care; 

o Mobility; 

o Self-direction; 

o Capacity for 
independent living. 

1. Without 
habilitation 
services, as defined 
in Section 
1915(c)(5) of the 
Social Security Act 
(42 U.S.C. § 1396 et 
seq.), requires 
assistance with 
learning new skills 
that have not 
previously been 
acquired, such as 
skills enabling the 
individual to 
respond to life 
changes and 
environmental 
demands and 

2. Demonstrates a 
likelihood of 
retaining new skills 
acquired through 
habilitation over 
time. 

be for a level of 
service which includes 
the continuous 
availability of 
procedures such as, 
but not limited to, the 
following: 

 Nursing assessment 
of the individuals’ 
condition and 
skilled intervention 
when indicated;

 Administration of 
injections and 
intravenous of 
subcutaneous 
infusions;

 Gastric tube or 
gastronomy 
feedings;

 Nasopharyngeal 
aspiration;

 Insertion or 
replacement of 
catheters

 Application of 
dressings involving 
prescribed 
medications;

 Treatment of 
extensive decubiti;

 Administration of 
medical gases

For self-help, a 
qualifying 
developmental deficit 
is represented by two 
moderate or severe 
skill task impairments 
in eating, toileting, 
bladder control or 
dressing skill. 

For the social- 
emotional area, a 
qualifying 
developmental deficit 
is represented by two 
moderate or severe 
impairments from a 
combination of the 
following; social 
behavior, aggression, 
self-injurious 
behavior, smearing, 
destruction of 
property, running or 
wandering away, or 
emotional outbursts. 

treatment of acute 
illness or injury. 
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*Long Term Care/Chronic Care Hospital 
**LOC= level of care 

 
7.  Target Group(s). The state elects to target this 1915(i) State plan HCBS benefit to a specific population 

based on age, disability, diagnosis, and/or eligibility group. With this election, the state will operate this 
program for a period of 5 years. At least 90 days prior to the end of this 5 year period, the state may 
request CMS renewal of this benefit for additional 5-year terms in accordance with 1915(i)(7)(C) and 42 
CFR 441.710(e)(2). (Specify target group(s)): 

In addition to the needs identified above, the individual must also have a diagnosis of a 
developmental disability, as defined in Section 4512 of the Welfare and Institutions Code and Title 
17, California Code of Regulations, §54000 and §54001 as follows: 

 
Welfare and Institutions Code 4512. As used in this division: 
(a) "Developmental disability" means a disability that originates before an individual attains age 18 
years, continues, or can be expected to continue, indefinitely, and constitutes a substantial disability 
for that individual. As defined by the Director of Developmental Services, in consultation with the 
Superintendent of Public Instruction, this term shall include mental retardation, cerebral palsy, 
epilepsy, and autism. This term shall also include disabling conditions found to be closely related to 
mental retardation or to require treatment similar to that required for individuals with mental 
retardation but shall not include other handicapping conditions that are solely physical in nature. 
(l) "Substantial disability" means the existence of significant functional limitations in three or more of 
the following areas of major life activity, as determined by a regional center, and as appropriate to 
the age of the person: 
(1) Self-care. 
(2) Receptive and expressive language. 
(3) Learning. 
(4) Mobility. 
(5) Self-direction. 
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(6) Capacity for independent living. 
(7) Economic self-sufficiency. 

 
Title 17, CCR, §54000. Developmental Disability. 
(a) “Developmental Disability” means a disability that is attributable to mental retardation, cerebral 
palsy, epilepsy, autism, or disabling conditions found to be closely related to mental retardation or 
to require treatment similar to that required for individuals with mental retardation. 
(b) The Developmental Disability shall: 
(1) Originate before age eighteen; 
(2) Be likely to continue indefinitely; 
(3) Constitute a substantial disability for the individual as defined in the article. 

(c) Developmental Disability shall not include handicapping conditions that are: 
(1) Solely psychiatric disorders where there is impaired intellectual or social functioning which 
originated as a result of the psychiatric disorder or treatment given for such a disorder. Such 
psychiatric disorders include psycho-social deprivation and/or psychosis, severe neurosis or 
personality disorders even where social and intellectual functioning have become seriously 
impaired as an integral manifestation of the disorder. 
(2) Solely learning disabilities. A learning disability is a condition which manifests as a significant 
discrepancy between estimated cognitive potential and actual level of educational performance and 
which is not a result of generalized mental retardation, educational or psycho-social deprivation, 
psychiatric disorder, or sensory loss. 
(3) Solely physical in nature. These conditions include congenital anomalies or conditions acquired 
through disease, accident, or faulty development which are not associated with a neurological 
impairment that results in a need for treatment similar to that required for mental retardation. 

 
Title 17, CCR, §54001. Substantial Disability. 
(a) “Substantial disability” means: 
(1) A condition which results in major impairment of cognitive and/or social functioning, 
representing sufficient impairment to require interdisciplinary planning and coordination of special 
or generic services to assist the individual in achieving maximum potential; and 
(2) The existence of significant functional limitations, as determined by the regional center, in three 
or more of the following areas of major life activity, as appropriate to the person's age: 

(A) Receptive and expressive language; 
(B) Learning; 
(C) Self-care: 
(D) Mobility: 
(E) Self-direction; 
(F) Capacity for independent living; 
(G) Economic self-sufficiency. 
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 Option for Phase-in of Services and Eligibility. If the state elects to target this 1915(i) State plan HCBS 
benefit, it may limit the enrollment of individuals or the provision of services to enrolled individuals in 
accordance with 1915(i)(7)(B)(ii) and 42 CFR 441.745(a)(2)(ii) based upon criteria described in a phase-in 
plan, subject to CMS approval. At a minimum, the phase-in plan must describe: (1) the criteria used to limit 
enrollment or service delivery; (2) the rationale for phasing-in services and/or eligibility; and (3) timelines 
and benchmarks to ensure that the benefit is available statewide to all eligible individuals within the initial 
5-year approval. (Specify the phase-in plan): 

 
 

(By checking the following box the State assures that): 

8. Adjustment Authority. The state will notify CMS and the public at least 60 days before exercising the 
option to modify needs-based eligibility criteria in accord with 1915(i)(1)(D)(ii). 

 
9. Reasonable Indication of Need for Services. In order for an individual to be determined to need the 

1915(i) State plan HCBS benefit, an individual must require: (a) the provision of at least one 1915(i) 
service, as documented in the person-centered service plan, and (b) the provision of 1915(i) services at 
least monthly or, if the need for services is less than monthly, the participant requires regular monthly 
monitoring which must be documented in the person-centered service plan. Specify the state’s policies 
concerning the reasonable indication of the need for 1915(i) State plan HCBS: 

i. Minimum number of services. 
The minimum number of 1915(i) State plan services (one or more) that an individual must 
require in order to be determined to need the 1915(i) State plan HCBS benefit is: 

1  

ii. Frequency of services. The state requires (select one):

 
The provision of 1915(i) services at least monthly 

 Monthly monitoring of the individual when services are furnished on a less than monthly 
basis 

(b) The assessment of substantial disability shall be made by a group of Regional Center 
professionals of differing disciplines and shall include consideration of similar qualification appraisals 
performed by other interdisciplinary bodies of the Department serving the potential client. The 
group shall include as a minimum a program coordinator, a physician, and a psychologist. 
(c) The Regional Center professional group shall consult the potential client, parents, 
guardians/conservators, educators, advocates, and other client representatives to the extent that 
they are willing and available to participate in its deliberations and to the extent that the appropriate 
consent is obtained. 
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  If the state also requires a minimum frequency for the provision of 1915(i) services other 

than monthly (e.g., quarterly), specify the frequency: 
 
 

(By checking the following box the State assures that): 
 

1.  Home and Community-Based Settings. The State plan HCBS benefit will be furnished to individuals 
who reside and receive HCBS in their home or in the community, not in an institution. (Explain how 
residential and non-residential settings in this SPA comply with Federal home and community-based 
settings requirements at 42 CFR 441.710(a)(1)-(2) and associated CMS guidance. Include a description of 
the settings where individuals will reside and where individuals will receive HCBS, and how these settings 
meet the Federal home and community-based settings requirements, at the time of submission and in the 
future): 

 
(Note: In the Quality Improvement Strategy (QIS) portion of this SPA, the state will be prompted to include 
how the state Medicaid agency will monitor to ensure that all settings meet federal home and 
community-based settings requirements, at the time of this submission and ongoing.) 

Home and Community-Based Settings 
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The state assures that this 1915(i) HCBS SPA will be subject to any provisions or requirements 
included in the state's most recent and/or approved home and community-based settings Statewide 
Transition Plan. The state will implement any required changes by the end of the transition period as 
outlined in the home and community-based settings Statewide Transition Plan. 

As noted in state law, W&IC section 4684.80(a) for EBSHs and W&IC 4698(b)(l) for CCHs, EBSHs/CCHs 
provide services to a maximum of four individuals with private bedrooms and must conform with the 
HCBS settings requirements of 42 CFR 441.530(a)(l). Therefore, meeting the HCBS settings 
requirements is considered during the planning and development of these homes. EBSHs are 
designed for individuals who require more enhanced behavioral supports, staffing and supervision 
than is available in other licensed residential settings. In addition to the same licensing criteria for 
adult residential facilities and group homes, certification by DDS is also required as a condition of 
licensure of an EBSH/CCH. This certification requirement is another opportunity to review the 
planned service design for compliance with the HCBS settings requirements. 

As these homes are new setting types under this 1915i, each one will be assessed regarding 
compliance with the HCBS settings requirements prior to the submission of federal claiming for 
services provided in these settings. The assessment process will be as follows: 

• The regional center, in conjunction with the consumers and service provider, will conduct an on- 
site assessment of the EBSH/CCHs-using a standardized tool, developed as part of the State's 
transition planning, which aligns with the HCBS settings requirements. 

• This assessment will include a review of the EBSHs/CCHs policies/procedures for alignment with 
the HCBS requirements. 

• Results of the assessment will be documented on the standardized tool and maintained by the 
regional center and provider 

• The assessment will also indicate any setting requirements that initially were not met and the 
actions taken in response. 

• Upon completion, the written assessment and supporting information will be forwarded to DDS 
for validation of the assessment findings via review of the supporting information and 
assessment. If validated, the individual EBSH/CCH is considered an eligible 1915i provider. 

• On-going monitoring of compliance with the HCBS settings requirements will occur in the 
following ways: 

• During required on-site monitoring visits of all EBSHs/CCHs by DDS, and 

• During the on-site 1915i monitoring reviews where a representative, random number of 
consumers are selected for review. This review includes on-site visits to settings where 
consumers receive services. 
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(By checking the following boxes the state assures that): 
1.  There is an independent assessment of individuals determined to be eligible for the State plan HCBS 

benefit. The assessment meets federal requirements at 42 CFR §441.720. 
 

2.  Based on the independent assessment, there is a person-centered service plan for each individual 
determined to be eligible for the State plan HCBS benefit. The person-centered service plan is developed 
using a person-centered service planning process in accordance with 42 CFR §441.725(a), and the written 
person-centered service plan meets federal requirements at 42 CFR §441.725(b). 

3.  The person-centered service plan is reviewed, and revised upon reassessment of functional need as 
required under 42 CFR §441.720, at least every 12 months, when the individual’s circumstances or needs 
change significantly, and at the request of the individual. 

4. Responsibility for Face-to-Face Assessment of an Individual’s Support Needs and Capabilities. There are 
educational/professional qualifications (that are reasonably related to performing assessments) of the 
individuals who will be responsible for conducting the independent assessment, including specific training 
in assessment of individuals with need for HCBS. (Specify qualifications): 

 
 

5. Responsibility for Development of Person-Centered Service Plan. There are qualifications (that are 
reasonably related to developing service plans) for persons responsible for the development of the 
individualized, person-centered service plan. (Specify qualifications): 

 
 

6. Supporting the Participant in Development of Person-Centered Service Plan. Supports and information 
are made available to the participant (and/or the additional parties specified, as appropriate) to direct 
and be actively engaged in the person-centered service plan development process. (Specify: (a) the 
supports and information made available, and (b) the participant’s authority to determine who is included 
in the process): 

Person-Centered Planning & Service Delivery 

The minimum requirement is a degree in social sciences or a related field. Case management 
experience in the developmental disabilities field or a related field may be substituted for 
education on a year-for-year basis. 

The minimum requirement is a degree in social sciences or a related field. Case management 
experience in the developmental disabilities field or a related field may be substituted for 
education on a year-for-year basis. 

The service plan, commonly referred to as the individual program plan (IPP), is prepared jointly by 
the planning team, which at minimum includes the individual or, as appropriate their parents, 
legal guardian or conservator, or authorized representative and a representative from the 
regional center. When invited by the individual, others may join the planning team. 

The IPP is developed through a person-centered process of individualized needs determination 
with the opportunity for active participation by the individual/representative in the plan 
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development and takes into account the individual’s needs and preferences. Person-centered 
planning is an approach to determining, planning for, and working toward the preferred future of 
the individual and her or his family. Decisions regarding the individual’s goals, services and 
supports included in the IPP are made by agreement of the planning team. 

a) the supports and information made available –Information available for supporting recipients 
in the IPP process includes but is not limited to the following documents, all of which are available 
using the links below or through the DDS website at www.dds.ca.gov: 

1. "Individual Program Plan Resource Manual" - This resource manual is designed to facilitate 
the adoption of the values that lead to person-centered individual program planning. It is 
intended for use by all those who participate in person-centered planning. It was developed 
with extensive input from service recipients, families, advocates and providers of service and 
support. 

2. "Person Centered Planning" - This publication consists of excerpts taken from the Individual 
Program Plan Resource Manual to provide recipients and their families information regarding 
person-centered planning. 

3. "From Conversations to Actions Using the IPP" - This booklet shares the real life stories of how 
recipients can set their goals and objectives and work through the IPP process to achieve them. 

4. "From Process to Action: Making Person-Centered Planning Work" - This guide provides a 
quick look at questions that can help a planning team move the individual program plan from 
process to action focusing on the person and the person's dreams for a preferred future. 

For those participants who receive respite, skilled nursing, non-medical transportation, and/or 
community-based training services identified as a need in their IPP, the opportunity to self-direct 
those services will be offered at the time of the IPP development. As required by Title 17, CCR 
section 58886, when the decision to self-direct services is made, the consumer/family member is 
provided with information regarding their responsibilities and functions as either an employer or 
co-employer as well the requirement to use and assistance in identifying a Financial Management 
Services provider. 

b) The participant’s authority to determine who is included in the process – As noted above, the 
IPP planning team, at a minimum, consists of the recipient and, where appropriate, his or her 
parents, legal guardian or conservator, or authorized representative, and an authorized regional 
center representative. With the consent of the recipient/parent/representative, other 
individuals, may receive notice of the meeting and participate. 

 
 

7. Informed Choice of Providers. (Describe how participants are assisted in obtaining information about 
and selecting from among qualified providers of the 1915(i) services in the person-centered service plan): 

 

The regional center case manager assists the recipient in gaining access to needed services and 
other resources and making informed choice of services and providers according to individual 
needs and preferences. As a part of the development of the Individual Program Plan (IPP), the 
case manager informs the recipient and/or his or her legal representative of qualified providers of 
services in their area determined necessary through the IPP planning process. Recipients may 
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8. Process for Making Person-Centered Service Plan Subject to the Approval of the Medicaid Agency. 
(Describe the process by which the person-centered service plan is made subject to the approval of the 
Medicaid agency): 

9. Maintenance of Person-Centered Service Plan Forms. Written copies or electronic facsimiles of service 
plans are maintained for a minimum period of 3 years as required by 45 CFR §74.53. Service plans are 
maintained by the following (check each that applies): 

 Medicaid agency  Operating agency  Case manager 

 Other (specify): Regional centers are required to maintain service plans for a 
minimum of five years. 

 
 

1. State plan HCBS. (Complete the following table for each service. Copy table as needed): 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Habilitation – Community Living Arrangement Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Habilitation—Community Living Arrangement Services (CLAS) includes two components, based on 
the setting: 

 
A) Licensed/certified settings - CLAS provided in these settings include assistance with acquisition, 
retention, or improvement in skills related to living in the community. Services and supports 
include assistance with activities of daily living, community inclusion, social and leisure skill 
development and the adaptive skills necessary to enable the individual to reside in a non- 
institutional setting. 

 
Services provided in licensed/certified settings will take into consideration the provision of the 
following: 

meet with qualified providers prior to the final decision regarding providers to be identified in the 
service plan. Information regarding providers, including the name, type of service, and contact 
information, is required to be posted on regional center websites. 

On a biennial basis, DHCS in conjunction with DDS will review a representative, random sample of 
recipient IPPs. Based on an approximate universe of 60,000 recipients, the sample size of 400 
represents a 95% confidence level with a less than 5% margin of error, to ensure all service plan 
requirements have been met. 

Services 
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1. Private or semi-private bedrooms shared by no more than two persons with 

personal décor. The choice of residential settings, including making decisions 
regarding sharing a bedroom, is made during the person-centered planning process. 

 

2. Private or semi-private bathrooms. The residence must have enough bathroom 
space to ensure residents’ privacy. 

 

3. Common living areas or shared common space for interaction between residents, 
and residents and their guests. 

 

4. Residents must have access to a kitchen area at all times. 
 

5. Residents’ opportunity to make decisions on their day-to-day activities, including 
visitors and when and what to eat, in their home and in the community. 

 

6. Services which meet the needs of each resident. 
 

7. Assurance of residents rights: a) to be treated with respect; b) choose and wear 
their own clothes; c) have private space to store personal items; d) have private 
space to visit with friends and family; e) use the telephone with privacy; f) choose 
how and with whom to spend free time; and g) have opportunities to take part in 
community activities of their choice; h) residential units are accessible to the 
individual and have lockable entrance doors with appropriate staff having keys; i) 
entering into an admission agreement and taking occupancy affords residents of 
licensed residential facilities the same protections from eviction that tenants have 
under landlord tenant law of the State, county, city or other designated entity. 

 

Residential settings that contain multiple independent living units are considered home-like settings 
for the purposes of this State Plan Amendment. 

 

Provider owned or leased facilities where services are furnished must be compliant with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 

 

B) Supported living services (provided in residences owned or leased by the recipients.) - CLAS 
provided in these settings are tailored supports that provide assistance with acquisition, retention, 
or improvement in skills related to: 
Activities of daily living, such as personal grooming and cleanliness, bed making and household 
chores, eating and the preparation of meals, including planning, shopping, cooking, and storage 
activities; 
Social and adaptive skills necessary for participating in community life, such as building and 
maintaining interpersonal relationships, including a Circle of Support; 
Locating and scheduling appropriate medical services; 
Managing personal financial affairs; 
Selecting and moving into a home; 
Locating and choosing suitable house mates; 
Acquiring household furnishings; 
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Recruiting, training, and hiring personal attendants; 
Acquiring, using, and caring for canine and other animal companions specifically trained to provide 
assistance; 
Acquiring, using and maintaining devices to facilitate immediate assistance when threats to health, 
safety, and well-being occur. 

 
CLAS may include additional activities, as appropriate, to meet the recipients’ unique needs. These 
activities include those that address social, adaptive, behavioral, and health care needs as identified 
in the individual program plan. CLAS may also include the provision of medical and health care 
services that are integral to meeting the daily needs of residents. Medical and health care services 
such as physician services that are not routinely provided to meet the daily needs of residents are 
not included. 

 
The specific services provided to each recipient vary based on the residential setting chosen and 
needs identified in the individual program plan. 

 
Payments will not be made for the routine care and supervision which would be expected to be 
provided by a family, or for activities or supervision for which a payment is made by a source other 
than Medi-Cal. Payments for CLAS in licensed/certified settings do not include the cost for room 
and board. The method by which the costs of room and board are excluded from payment in these 
settings is specified in Attachment 4.19-B. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Foster Family 
Agency (FFA)- 
Certified Family 
Homes (Children 
Only) 

FFA licensed 
pursuant to 
Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 
provides 

Certified Family 
Homes; Title 22, 
CCR, § 88030 
establishes 
requirements 
for FFA 

Title 22, CCR §§ 88000-88087. 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of FFA’s, 
certification and use of homes, 

 
FFA administrator qualifications: 
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 statutory 

authority for 
DSS licensing of 
facilities 
identified in the 
CA Community 
Care Facilities 
Act. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

certification of 
family homes. 

(1) A Master's Degree in social work or a 
related field. Three years of experience 
in the field of child or family services, 
two years of which have been 
administrative/ managerial or; 

 
(2) A Bachelor's Degree in a behavioral 
science from an accredited college or 
university. A minimum of five years of 
experience in child or family services, 
two years of which have been in an 
administrative or managerial position. 

 
Certified family home providers meet 
requirements for foster family homes 
(Refer to Foster Family Homes below). 

Foster Family 
Homes (FFHs) 
(Children Only) 
Payment for this 
service will not be 
duplicated or 
supplanted 
through Medicaid 
funding. 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR §§89200-89587.1 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Foster 
Family Homes. 

 
Qualifications/Requirements for FFH 
providers: 
1. Comply with applicable laws and 
regulations and: 
2. Provide care and supervision to meet 
the child’s needs including 
communicating with the child; 
3. Maintain all child records, safeguard 
cash resources and personal property; 
4. Direct the work of others in providing 
care when applicable, 
5. Apply the reasonable and prudent 
parent standard; 
6. Promote a normal, healthy, balanced, 
and supported childhood experience and 
treat a child as 
part of the family; 
7. Attend training and professional 
development; 
8. Criminal Records/Child Abuse Registry 
clearance; 
9. Report special incidents; 
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   10. Ensure each child’s personal rights; 

and, 
11. Maintain a clean, safe, health home 
environment. 
12. Maintain standards identified in 
“Needs-Based Evaluation/Reevaluation” 
item #8. 

Small Family 
Homes (Children 
Only) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 
 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR §§ 83000-83088. 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Small 
Family Homes. 
Licensee/Administrator Qualifications 

 Criminal Records/Child Abuse Index 
Clearance; 

 At least 18 years of age; 
 Documented education, training, or 
experience in providing family home 
care and supervision appropriate to 
the type of children to be served. The 
amount of units or supervision 
appropriate to the type of children to 
be served. The amount of units or 
training hours is not specified. The 
following are examples of acceptable 
education or training topics. Programs 
which can be shown to be similar are 
accepted: 
o Child Development; 
o Recognizing and/or dealing with 

learning disabilities; 
o Infant care and stimulation; 
o Parenting skills; 
o Complexities, demands and special 

needs of children in placement; 
o Building self-esteem, for the 

licensee or the children; 
o First aid and/or CPR; 
o Bonding and/or safeguarding of 

children’s property; 
o Ability to keep financial and other 

records; 
o Ability to recruit, employ, train, 

direct the work of and evaluate 
qualified staff. 
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   Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 

Based Evaluation/Reevaluation“ item #8. 

Group Homes 
(Children Only) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§ 1500-1567.8 

 
 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR, § 84000-84808 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Group 
Homes. 
Administrator Qualifications: 
1. Master's degree in a behavioral 
science, plus a minimum of one year of 
employment as a social worker in an 
agency serving children or in a group 
residential program for children; 
2. Bachelor's degree, plus at least one 
year of administrative or supervisory 
experience (as above); 
3. At least two years of college, plus at 
least two years administrative or 
supervisory experience (as above); or 
4.Completed high school, or equivalent, 
plus at least three years administrative 
or supervisory experience (as above); 
and, 
5. Criminal Records/Child Abuse Registry 
Clearance 
Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 
Based Evaluation/Reevaluation” item #8. 

Adult Residential 
Facilities (ARF) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§ 1500 through 
1567.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR, §§85000-85092: Establish 
licensing requirements for persons 18 
years of age through 59 years of age; and 
persons 60 years of age and older by 
exception. 

 
Administrator Qualifications 

 At least 21 years of age; 
 High school graduation or a GED; 
 Complete a program approved by DSS 
that consists of 35 hours of classroom 
instruction 
o 8 hrs. in laws, including resident’s 

personal rights, regulations, policies, 
and procedural standards that 
impact the operations of adult 
residential facilities; 

o 3 hrs. in business operations; 
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   o 3 hrs. in management and 

supervision of staff; 
o 5 hrs. in the psychosocial needs of 

the facility residents; 
o 3 hrs. in the use of community and 

support services to meet the 
resident’s needs; 

o 4 hrs. in the physical needs of the 
facility residents; 

o 5 hrs. in the use, misuse and 
interaction of drugs commonly used 
by facility residents; 

o 4 hrs. on admission, retention, and 
assessment procedures; 

 Pass a standardized test, administered 
by the Department of Social Services 
with a minimum score of 70%. 

 Criminal Record/Child Abuse Registry 
Clearance. 

 
Additional Administrator Qualifications 
may also include: 
 Has at least one year of administrative 
and supervisory experience in a 
licensed residential program for 
persons with developmental 
disabilities, and is one or more of the 
following: 

(A) A licensed registered nurse. 
(B) A licensed nursing home 

administrator. 
(C) A licensed psychiatric technician 

with at least five years of experience 
serving individuals with developmental 
disabilities. 

(D) An individual with a bachelor’s 
degree or more advanced degree 
in the health or human services field and 
two years of experience working in a 
licensed residential program for persons 
with developmental disabilities and 
special health care needs. 
Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 
Based Evaluation/Reevaluation“ item #8. 
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Residential Care 
Facility for the 
Elderly (RCFE) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1569- 
1569.889 
provides 
statutory 
authority for 
licensing of 
RCFEs. 
Identified as the 
CA Residential 
Care Facilities 
for the Elderly 
Act. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR, §§87100-87793: Establish 
licensing requirements for facilities 
where 75 percent of the residents are 
sixty years of age or older. Younger 
residents must have needs compatible 
with other residents. 

 
Administrator Qualifications: 
1. Knowledge of the requirements for 
providing care and supervision 
appropriate to the residents. 
2. Knowledge of and ability to conform to 
the applicable laws, rules and 
regulations. 
3. Ability to maintain or supervise the 
maintenance of financial and other 
records. 
4. Ability to direct the work of others. 
5. Good character and a continuing 
reputation of personal integrity. 
6. High school diploma or equivalent. 
7. At least 21 years of age. 
8. Criminal Record Clearance. 

   Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 
Based Evaluation/Reevaluation” item #8. 

Residential 
Facility (out of 
state) 

Appropriate 
Facility License, 
as required by 
State law. 

N/A Department approval is required per the 
Welfare and Institutions Code, § 4519. 

 
Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 
Based Evaluation/Reevaluation” item #8. 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Adult Residential 
Facility for 
Persons with 
Special Health 
Care Needs 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1569.87 

 
Appropriate 
license DSS 

 Welfare and Institutions Code, § 4684.50 
et seq. 

 
The administrator must: 
1. Complete the 35-houradministrator 

certification program pursuant to 
paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of 
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 CCLD as to type 

of facility 
 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 Section 1562.3 of the Health and 
Safety Code without exception, 

2. Has at least one year of 
administrative and supervisory 
experience in a licensed residential 
program for persons with 
developmental disabilities, and is 
one or more of the following: 
a. A licensed registered nurse. 
b. A licensed nursing home 

administrator. 
c. A licensed psychiatric 

technician with at least five 
years of experience serving 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities. 

d. An individual with a bachelor’s 
degree or more advanced 
degree in the health or human 
services field and two years of 
experience working in a 
licensed residential program 
for persons with 
developmental disabilities and 
special health care needs. 

 
Maintain standards identified in “Needs- 
Based Evaluation/Reevaluation” item #8. 

Family Home 
Agency (FHA): 

 
Adult Family 
Home 
(AFH)/Family 
Teaching Home 
(FTH) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

AFH Title 17, 
CCR, §56088 
Authorizes the 
FHA to issue a 
Certificate of 
Approval to 
each family 
home which 
has: 
1. Completed 
the criminal 
record review; 
2. Been visited 
by the FHA and 
a determination 
ensuring safe 
and reasonable 
and the 

Welfare and Institutions Code 4689.1- 
4689.6 provides statutory authority for 
FHA. 

 
FHA employs sufficient staff with the 
combined experience, training and 
education to perform the following 
duties: 
1. Administration of the FHA; 
2. Recruitment of family homes; 
3. Training of FHA staff and family 
homes; 
4. Ensuring an appropriate match 
between the needs and preferences of 
the consumer 
and the family home; 
5. Monitoring of family homes; 
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  prospective 

providers 
experience, 
knowledge, 
cooperation, 
history and 
interest to 
become an 
approved family 
home. 
3. Completed 
required 
orientation and 
training. 

6. Provision of services and supports to 
consumers and family homes which are 
consistent with the consumer's 
preferences and needs and the 
consumer's IPP; and 
7. Coordination with the regional center 
and others. 

 
In order to accomplish these duties, 
selection criteria for hiring purposes 
should include but not be limited to: 
education in the fields of social work, 
psychology, education of related areas; 
experience with persons with 
developmental disabilities; experience in 
program management, fiscal 
management and organizational 
development. 

Supported Living 
Provider 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

N/A SLS requirements: 
1. Service design including: 

 Staff hiring criteria, including any 
minimum qualifications requirements; 
and 

 Procedures and practices the agency 
will use to screen paid staff, 
consultants, and volunteers who will 
have direct contact with consumers. 

2. Staff appropriate to services rendered 
with skills to establish and maintain 
constructive and appropriate personal 
relationship with recipients, minimize 
risks of endangerment to health, safety, 
and well-being of recipients, perform 
CPR and operate 24-hour emergency 
response systems, achieve the intended 
results of services being performed and 
maintenance of current and valid 
licensure, certification, or registration as 
are legally required for the service. 
3. Staff orientation and training in theory 
and practice of supported living services 
and recipient training in supported living 
services philosophy, recipient rights, 
abuse prevention and reporting, 
grievance procedures and strategies for 

 As appropriate,  
 a business  

 license as  

 required by the  
 local jurisdiction  

 where the  

 business is  

 located.  
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   building and maintaining a circle of 

support. 

In-Home Day 
Program 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Qualifications and training for staff in 
agency guidelines. 

 
Must have a provision for an annual 
assessment process to ensure consumer 
participation in this type of program 
remains appropriate. 

 
Providers may include employees of 
community-based day, pre-vocation, or 
vocational programs. 

Enhanced 
Behavioral Supports 
Homes (EBSH) 
(Agency) 

Licensed Adult 
Residential 
Facility or group 
home by the 
Department of 
Social Services 
pursuant to 
Health and Safety 
Code §§ 1567.61 - 
1567.80 

 
As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Certified by the 
Department of 
Developmental 
Services pursuant 
to WIC 4684.80 

In addition to the requirements in 
Title 22, CCR, §§85000-85092, the 
following requirements from Title 17, 
CCR, §§59060-59061 also apply: 

 
Administrator Qualifications 
(a) An administrator must: 
(1) Have a minimum of 2 years of 
prior experience providing direct care 
or supervision to individuals with 
developmental disabilities; and be 
one of the following: 
(A) A registered behavior technician. 
(B) A licensed psychiatric technician. 
(C) A qualified behavior modification 
professional. 
(b) An administrator must complete 
the residential services orientation as 
required per Section 56003(b) 
Direct Care Staff Qualifications. 
(a) A direct care lead staff person 
must: 
(1) Have at least one year prior 
experience providing direct care to 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities, with a focus on behavioral 
services; and 
(2) Become a registered behavior 
technician within 60 days of initial 
employment; or, be either: 
(A) A licensed psychiatric technician; 
or 
(B) A qualified behavior modification 
professional. 
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(b) A direct care staff person must: 
(1) Have at least six months prior 
experience providing direct care to 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities, with a focus on behavioral 
services; and 
(2) Become a registered behavior 
technician within twelve months of 
initial employment; or be: 
(A) Be a l icensed psychiatric technician. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Habilitation 
Community 
Living 
Arrangement 
Services providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 
17, CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for 
vendorization and ongoing 
thereafter through 
oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Licensed 
Community Care 
Facilities 

Department of Social Services – Community Care 
Licensing Division (DSSCCLD) 

 
regional centers – including verification of 
standards identified in “Needs-Based 
Evaluation/Reevaluation” item #8. 

Annually 
 
 
 
 

Annually 

Family Home 
Agency 

 
Adult Family 
Home and Family 
Teaching Home 

regional centers 
DDS 

 
Family Home Agency 

Annually 
Biennially 

 
Monthly 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Habilitation – Day Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
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Habilitation – Day Services includes three components: 
A) Community-Based Day Services – (Providers identified with “CB” below) 
These services provide assistance with acquisition, retention, or improvement in self-help, 
socialization and adaptive skills which may take place in a residential or non-residential setting. 
Services may be furnished four or more hours per day on a regularly scheduled basis, for one or 
more days per week unless provided as an adjunct to other day activities included in an individual’s 
plan of care. These services enable the individual to attain or maintain his or her maximum 
functional level and shall be coordinated with any physical, occupational, or speech therapies listed 
in the plan of care. In addition, day habilitation service may serve to reinforce skills or lessons 
taught in school, therapy, or other settings. Day habilitation services may include paid/volunteer 
work strategies when the individualized planning process determines that supported employment 
or prevocational services are not appropriate for the individual. 
B) Activity-Based/Therapeutic Day Services – (Providers identified with “AT” below) 
These services provide assistance with acquisition, retention, or improvement in self-help, 
socialization and adaptive skills through therapeutic and/or physical activities and are designed to: 

 Gain insight into problematic behavior 
 Provide opportunities for expression of needs and feelings 
 Enhance gross and fine motor development 
 Promote language development and communication skills 
 Increase socialization and community awareness 
 Improve communication skills 
 Provide visual, auditory and tactile awareness and perception experiences 
 Assist in developing appropriate peer interactions 

C) Mobility Related Day Services – (Providers identified with “MT” below) 
These services foster the acquisition of greater independence and personal choice by teaching 
individuals how to use public transportation or other modes of transportation which will enable 
them to move about the community independently. 

 
The above described services are not available under a program funded under section 110 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC Section 730) or section 602(16) and (17) of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 USC 1401(16 and 17). 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
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 A consumer may receive specialized recreation and non-medical therapies (including, but not 
limited to, art, dance, and music) when the regional center determines that the service is a 
primary or critical means for ameliorating the physical, cognitive, or psychosocial effects of 
the consumer’s developmental disability, or the service is necessary to enable the consumer 
to remain in his or her home and no alternative service is available to meet the consumer’s 
need. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

A consumer may receive specialized recreation and non-medical therapies (including, but not 
limited to, art, dance, and music) when the regional center determines that the service is a 
primary or critical means for ameliorating the physical, cognitive, or psychosocial effects of 
the consumer’s developmental disability, or the service is necessary to enable the consumer 
to remain in his or her home and no alternative service is available to meet the consumer’s 
need. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Mobility Training 
Services Agency 
(MT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Personnel providing this service possess 
the skill, training or education necessary 
to teach individuals how to use public 
transportation or other modes of 
transportation which enable them to 
move about the community 
independently including: 
a) previous experience working with 

individuals with developmental 
disabilities and awareness of 
associated problems, attitudes and 
behavior patterns; 

b) a valid California Driver’s license and 
current insurance; 

c) ability to work independently with 
minimal supervision according to 
specific guidelines; and 

d) flexibility and adaptive skills to 
facilitate individual recipient needs. 

Mobility Training 
Services Specialist 
(MT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 

N/A Individuals providing this service possess 
the following minimum requirements: 
1. Previous experience working with 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities and awareness of associated 
problems, attitudes and behavior 
patterns; 
2. A valid California Driver’s license and 
current insurance; 
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 where the 

business is 
located. 

 3. Ability to work independently, 
flexibility and adaptive skills to facilitate 
individual recipient needs. 

Driver Trainer 
(MT) 

Valid California 
driver’s license 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Current 
certification by 
the California 
Department of 
Motor Vehicles 
as a driver 
instructor. 

N/A 

Adaptive Skills 
Trainer 
(CB) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Individual providing this service shall 
possess: 
1. Master’s degree in education, 
psychology, counseling, nursing, social 
work, applied behavior analysis, 
behavioral medicine, speech and 
language or rehabilitation; and 
2. At least one year of experience in the 
designing and implementation of 
adaptive skills training plans. 

Personal Assistant 
(CB) 

No state 
licensing 
category 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Socialization 
Training 
Program; 
Community 
Integration 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

N/A Qualifications and training of staff per 
agency guidelines. 

 
For Community Integration Training 
Program: Program directors must have at 
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Training Program: 
Community 
Activities Support 
Service 
(CB) 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 least a bachelor’s degree. Direct service 
workers may be qualified by experience. 

Activity Center 
(CB) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Requires written program design, 
recipient entrance and exit criteria, staff 
training, etc. 

 
Director must have BA/BS with 18 
months experience in human services 
delivery, or five years’ experience in 
human services delivery field. 
Supervisory staff must have three years’ 
experience plus demonstrated 
supervisory skills. 

Adult 
Development 
Centers 
(CB) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable) 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Requires written program design, 
recipient entrance and exit criteria, staff 
training, etc. 

 
Director must have BA/BS with 18 
months experience in human services 
delivery, or five years’ experience in 
human services delivery field. 
Supervisory staff must have three years’ 
experience plus demonstrated 
supervisory skills. 

Behavior 
Management 
Program 
(CB) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

N/A Requires written program design, 
recipient entrance and exit criteria, staff 
training, etc. 

 
Director must have BA/BS with 18 
months experience in human services 
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 As appropriate, 

a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 delivery, or five years’ experience in 
human services delivery field. 
Supervisory staff must have three years’ 
experience plus demonstrated 
supervisory skills. 

Independent 
Living Program 
(CB) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Requires written program design, 
recipient entrance and exit criteria, staff 
training, etc. 

 
Director must have BA/BS with 18 
months experience in human services 
delivery, or five years’ experience in 
human services delivery field. 
Supervisory staff must have three years’ 
experience plus demonstrated 
supervisory skills. 

Independent 
Living Specialist 
(CB) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Possesses the skill, training, or education 
necessary to teach recipients to live 
independently and/or to provide the 
supports necessary for the recipient to 
maintain a self-sustaining, independent 
living situation in the community, such as 
one year experience providing services to 
individuals in a residential or non- 
residential setting and possession of at 
least a two-year degree in a subject area 
related to skills training and 
development of program plans for 
eligible individuals. 

Social Recreation 
Program 
(CB) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 

N/A Requires written program design, 
recipient entrance and exit criteria, staff 
training, etc. 

 
Director must have BA/BS with 18 
months experience in human services 
delivery, or five years’ experience in 
human services delivery field. 
Supervisory staff must have three years’ 
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 required by the 

local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 experience plus demonstrated 
supervisory skills. 

Art Therapist 
(AT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Current 
registration 
issued by the 
American Art 
Therapy 
Association. 

N/A 

Dance Therapist 
(AT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Validly 
registered as a 
dance therapist 
by the American 
Dance Therapy 
Association. 

N/A 

Music Therapist 
(AT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Valid 
registration 
issued by the 
National 
Association for 
Music Therapy. 

N/A 

Recreational 
Therapist 
(AT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

Certification 
issued by either 
the National 

N/A 
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 As appropriate, 

a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Council for 
Therapeutic 
Recreation 
Certification or 
the California 
Board of 
Recreation and 
Park 
Certification. 

 

Specialized 
Recreational 
Therapy 
(AT) 

Credentialed 
and/or licensed 
as required by 
the State in the 
field of therapy 
being offered 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Equestrian 
therapists shall 
possess a 
current 
accreditation 
and instructor 
certification 
with the North 
American Riding 
for the 
Handicapped 
Association 

N/A 

Creative Art 
Program 
(AT) 

Facility license 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Program Director: Equivalent of a high 
school diploma and experience with 
persons with developmental disabilities. 

 
Direct Care Staff: Must have artistic 
experience as demonstrated through a 
resume. 

Special Olympics 
Trainer 
(AT) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 

N/A Knowledge and training sufficient to 
ensure consumer participation in Special 
Olympics. 
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 required by the 

local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Sports Club: (e.g. 
YMCA, 
Community Parks 
and Recreation 
Program, 
Community-based 
recreation 
program) (AT) 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A All community recreational program 
providers shall possess the following 
minimum qualifications: 
1. Ability to perform the functions 
required by the individual plan of care; 
2. Demonstrated dependability and 
personal integrity; 
3. Willingness to pursue training as 
necessary based upon the individual 
consumer’s needs. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Habilitation – 
Day Services 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Licensed 
Community Care 
Facilities 

Department of Social Services – Community Care 
Licensing Division (DSS-CCLD) and regional 
centers 

Annually 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
Participant-directed  Provider managed 

 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Habilitation - Behavioral Intervention Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Habilitation—Behavioral Intervention Services include two components: 
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A) Individual/Group Practitioners - May provide Behavioral Intervention Services in multiple 
settings, including the individual’s home, workplace, depending on the individual’s needs. These 
practitioners may also provide non-facility-based crisis services when needed. Use of state-operated 
mobile crisis services are available for individuals continuing to experience crises and have 
exhausted all other available crisis services. Crisis teams are unique in providing partnerships, 
assessments, training and support to individuals experiencing crisis and who are at risk of having to 
move from their own or family home, or from an out-of-home placement to a more restrictive 
setting. Mobile crisis teams’ services are available for deployment 24-hours a day, 7 days a week 
after individualized assessments are completed. Participants have the choice of either a state- 
operated or vendor operated crisis team. 

 

B) Crisis Support – If relocation becomes necessary, emergency housing in the person’s home 
community is available. Crisis Support provides a safe, stable highly structured environment by 
combining concentrated, highly skilled staffing (e.g. psychiatric technicians, certified behavior 
analysts) and intensive behavior modification programs. Conditions that would qualify an individual 
for crisis support include aggression to others, self-injurious behavior, property destruction, or other 
pervasive behavior issues that have precluded effective treatment in the current living arrangement. 

 
While the location and intensity of the components of this service vary based on the individual’s 
needs, all components of behavioral intervention services include use and development of intensive 
behavioral intervention (see #1 below) programs to improve the recipient’s development; and 
behavior tracking and analysis. The intervention programs will be restricted to generally accepted, 
evidence-based, positive approaches. Behavioral intervention services are designed to assist 
individuals in acquiring, retaining and improving the self-help, socialization and adaptive skills 
necessary to reside successfully in home and community-based settings. Services may be provided 
to family members if they are for the benefit of the recipient. Services for family members may 
include training and instruction about treatment regimens and risk management strategies to 
enable the family to support the recipient. 

 

The participation of parent(s) of minor children is critical to the success of a behavioral intervention 
plan. The person-centered planning team determines the extent of participation necessary to meet 
the individual’s needs. "Participation" includes the following meanings: Completion of group 
instruction on the basics of behavior intervention; Implementation of intervention strategies, 
according to the intervention plan; If needed, collection of data on behavioral strategies and 
submission of that data to the provider for incorporation into progress reports; Participation in any 
needed clinical meetings; provision of suggested nominal behavior modification materials or 
community involvement if a reward system is used. If the absence of sufficient participation 
prevents successful implementation of the behavioral plan, other services will be provided to meet 
the individual’s identified needs. 

 

(1) "Intensive behavioral intervention" means any form of applied behavioral analysis (ABA) based 
treatment (see #2 below) that is comprehensive, designed to address all domains of functioning, 
and provided in multiple settings, depending on the individual's needs and progress. Interventions 
can be delivered in a one-to-one ratio or small group format, as appropriate. 
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(2) “Applied behavioral analysis-based treatment" means the design, implementation, and 
evaluation of systematic instructional and environmental modifications to promote positive social 
behaviors and reduce or ameliorate behaviors which interfere with learning and social interaction. 
Behavioral Habilitation services do not include services otherwise available to the person under the 
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 
Behavioral Intervention services will not supplant Behavioral Health Treatment services available 
through EPSDT. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 

Consumers are limited to no more than 12 months in a community crisis home in a 
service plan year and up to 18 consecutive months in total, per occurrence. Any 
additional day(s) must be approved by the Department and reviewed monthly thereafter. 
Should these limits be reached, the regional center and community crisis home will follow 
the transition plan developed for the consumer to identify an alternative residential 
setting with services and supports that meet the consumer’s needs. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

Consumers are limited to no more than 12 months in a community crisis home in a 
service plan year and up to 18 consecutive months in total, per occurrence. Any 
additional day(s) must be approved by the Department and reviewed monthly thereafter. 
Should these limits be reached, the regional center and community crisis home will follow 
the transition plan developed for the consumer to identify an alternative residential 
setting with services and supports that meet the consumer’s needs. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Crisis Team- 
Evaluation and 
Behavioral 
Intervention 

Licensed in 
accordance with 
Business and 
Professions 
Code as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions staff 

Certified as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions staff 
assigned to the 
team. 

Program utilizes licensed and/or certified 
personnel as appropriate to provide 
develop and implement individualized 
crisis behavioral services plans. Specific 
qualifications and training of personnel 
per agency guidelines consistent with 
requirements for Behavior Analyst, 
Behavior Management Assistant, 
Behavior Management Consultant: 
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 assigned to the 

team. 
 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 Psychologist, Psychiatric Technician or 
Psychiatrist established in this section. 

Crisis Intervention 
Facility 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500- 
1569.889 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Refer to “Other 
Standard.” 

Crisis services may be provided in any of 
the types of 24-hour care services 
identified in Habilitation – Community 
Living Arrangement Services (CLAS) 
section. Refer to the CLAS section for 
standards. 

Psychiatrist Business and 
Professions 
Code, Division 2, 
Chapter 5, 
commencing at 
§ 2000 

 
Licensed as a 
physician and 
surgeon by the 
Medical Board 
of California. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 

Certified by the 
American Board 
of Psychiatry 
and Neurology 

N/A 
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 business is 

located. 
  

Behavior 
Management 
Assistant: 
(Psychology 
Assistant; 
Associate 
Licensed Clinical 
Social Worker) 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 
Business and 
Professions 
Code §2913; 
§4996-4996.2 

Registered as 
either: 
1. A 
psychological 
assistant of a 
psychologist by 
the Medical 
Board of 
California or 
Psychology 
Examining 
Board; or 
2. An Associate 
Licensed Clinical 
Social Worker 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code, Section 
4996.18. 

Possesses a Bachelor of Arts or Science 
Degree and has either: 
1. Twelve semester units in applied 
behavior analysis and one year of 
experience in designing and/or 
implementing behavior modification 
intervention services; or 
2. Two years of experience in designing 
and/or implementing behavior 
modification intervention services. 

Behavior 
Management 
Consultant: 
(Psychologist) 

Business and 
Professions 
Code, §2940- 
2948 

N/A N/A 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Behavior 
Management 
Consultant: 
Licensed Clinical 
Social Worker 

Business and 
Professions 
Code §§4996- 
4996.2 

N/A N/A 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
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 local jurisdiction 

where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Behavior 
Management 
Consultant: 
Marriage Family 
Child Counselor 

Business and 
Professions 
Code §§4980- 
4981 

N/A N/A 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Licensed 
Psychiatric 
Technician 

Business and 
Professions 
Code §4500 et 
seq. 

N/A N/A 

 Possesses a 
valid psychiatric 
technician's 
license issued by 
the California 
State Board of 
Vocational 
Nurse and 
Psychiatric 
Technician 
Examiners 

  

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Client/Parent 
Support Behavior 

Licensed in 
accordance with 
Business and 

Refer to “Other 
Standard.” 

Client/Parent Support Behavior 
Intervention Training services may be 
provided by a Behavior Analyst, Behavior 
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Intervention 
Training 

Professions 
Code as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions of 
staff. 

 Analyst, Associate Behavior Analyst, 
Psychologist, Psychiatric Technician or 
Psychiatrist. 
Specific qualifications and training of 
providers are as specified in the 
requirements established in this section. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 

Behavior Analyst Licensed in 
accordance with 
Business and 
Professions 
Code as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions 
staff. 

Certification by 
the national 
Behavior 
Analyst 
Certification 
Board. 

N/A 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Family Counselor 
(MFCC), Clinical 
Social Worker 
(CSW) 

Valid license 
with the 
California Board 
of Behavioral 
Science 
Examiners 

N/A N/A 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
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 local jurisdiction 

where the 
business is 
located. 

 
MFCC: Business 
and Professions 
Code §§4980- 
4984.9 

 
CSW: Business 
and Professions 
Code §§4996- 
4997 

  

Parenting Support 
Services Provider 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Vendor must ensure that trainers are 
credentialed and/or licensed as required 
by the State of California to practice in 
the field of training being offered. 

Individual or 
Family Training 
Provider 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Vendor must ensure that trainers are 
credentialed and/or licensed as required 
by the State of California to practice in 
the field of training being offered. 

State-Operated 
Mobile Crisis 
Team 

Licensed 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions staff 
assigned to the 
team. 

Certified as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions staff 
assigned to the 
team. 

Program utilizes licensed and/or certified 
state personnel as appropriate to 
provide, develop and implement 
individualized crisis behavioral services 
plans. Specific qualifications and training 
of personnel per agency guidelines 
consistent with requirements for 
Behavioral Specialist I, Psychologist, 
Psychiatric Technician, Psychiatric 
Technician Instructor, and Registered 
Nurse. 
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This provider is authorized under WIC 
4474.2. 

Associate 
Behavior Analyst 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Certification by 
the national 
Behavior 
Analyst 
Certification 
Board 

Works under the direct supervision of a 
Behavior Analyst or Behavior 
Management Consultant. 

Behavioral 
Technician 
/Paraprofessional 

No state 
licensing 
category 

N/A Works under the direct supervision of a 
Behavior Analyst or Behavior 
Management Consultant. 

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 (1) Has a High School Diploma or the 
equivalent, has completed 30 hours of 
competency-based training designed by 
a certified behavior analyst, and has 
six months experience working with 
persons with developmental disabilities; 
or 
(2) Possess an Associate’s degree in 
either a human, social, or educational 
services discipline, or a degree or 
certification related to behavior 
management, from an accredited 
community college or educational 
institution, and has six months 
experience working with persons with 
developmental disabilities. 

Community Crisis Licensed Adult Certified by the In addition to the requirements in 
Homes Residential 

Facility or group 
Department of 
Developmental 

Title 22, CCR, §§85000-85092, 
requirements from Title 17, CCR, 

 home by the Services §§59004 - 59005 also apply. 
 Department of pursuant to WIC Administrator Qualifications 
 Social Services 4698 (a) An administrator must: (1) 
 pursuant to  Have a minimum of two years of prior 
 Health and  experience providing direct care or 
 Safety Code §§  supervision to individuals with 
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 1567.80 - 

1567.87. 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 developmental disabilities and be one of 
the following: 
(A) A registered behavior technician. 
(B) A licensed psychiatric technician. 
(C) A qualified behavior modification 
professional. 
(b) An administrator must complete the 
Residential Services Orientation as 
required per Section 56003(b). 

Direct Care Staff Qualifications 
(a) A direct care staff person must: 
(1) Have at least six months' prior 
experience providing direct care to 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities who have challenging 
behavior 
service needs and 
(2) Become a registered 
behavior technician within twelve 
months of initial employment or be a 
qualified behavior modification 
professional. 

 (b) A direct care lead staff person 
must: 
(1) Have at least one-year prior 
experience providing direct care to 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities with challenging behavior 
service needs and 
(2) Become a registered behavior 
technician within 60 days of initial 
employment or be a qualified behavior 
modification professional. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Habilitation – Regional centers, through the vendorization Verified upon application 
Behavioral process, verify providers meet for vendorization and 
Intervention requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, ongoing thereafter 
Services providers CCR, § 54310 including the following, as through oversight and 

 applicable: any license, credential, registration, monitoring activities. 
 certificate, permit, or academic degree required  
 for the performance or operation of the service;  
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 the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 

service design. 
 

Crisis Intervention 
Facilities 

Department of Social Services – Community Care 
Licensing Division (DSS-CCLD) and regional 
centers 

Annually 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 

 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Respite Care 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Intermittent or regularly scheduled temporary non-medical care (with the exception of colostomy, 
ileostomy, catheter maintenance, and gastrostomy) and supervision provided in the recipient’s own 
home or in an approved out of home location to do all of the following: 

Assist family members in maintaining the recipient at home; 
Provide appropriate care and supervision to protect the recipient’s safety in the temporary 

absence of family members; 
Temporarily relieve family members from the constantly demanding responsibility of caring 

for a recipient; and 
Attend to the recipient’s basic self-help needs and other activities of daily living, including 

interaction, socialization, and continuation of usual daily routines which would ordinarily 
be performed by family members. 

 
Respite may only be provided when the care and supervision needs of a consumer exceed that of a 
person of the same age without developmental disabilities. 

 
 

FFP will not be claimed for the cost of room and board except when provided as part of respite care 
furnished in a facility approved by the State that is not a private residence. 

 
While there is no limit on the duration that respite services that can be provided, FFP will not be 
claimed for respite service provided beyond 30 consecutive days. 
Respite care may be provided in the following locations: 
Private residence 

 
 Residential facility licensed by the Department of Social Services. 

 
 Respite facility licensed by the Department of Social Services 
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 Other community setting approved by the State that is not a private residence, such as: 

 
o Adult Family Home/Family Teaching Home 
o Certified Family Homes for Children 
o Adult Day Care Facility 
o Camp 
o Licensed Preschool 

A regional center may offer family members or adult consumers the option to self-direct their own 
respite services. 

 
Respite services do not duplicate services provided under the Individuals with Disabilities Education 
(IDEA) Act of 2004. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Individual No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Has received Cardiopulmonary 
Resuscitation (CPR) and First Aid training 
from agencies offering such training, 
including, but not limited to, the 
American Red Cross; and has the skill, 
training, or education necessary to 
perform the required services. 

Respite Agency No state 
licensing 
category. 

N/A The agency director shall possess at a 
minimum: 
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As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 1. A bachelor’s degree and a minimum of 
18 month’s experience in the 
management of a human services 
delivery system, or; 
2. Five years of experience in a human 
services delivery system, including at 
least two years in a management or 
supervisory position. 

Adult Day Care 
Facility 

Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500 - 1567.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A The administrator shall have the 
following qualifications: 
1. Attainment of at least 18 years of age. 
2. Knowledge of the requirements for 

providing the type of care and 
supervision needed by clients, 
including ability to communicate with 
such clients. 

3. Knowledge of and ability to comply 
with applicable law and regulation. 

4. Ability to maintain or supervise the 
maintenance of financial and other 
records. 

5. Ability to direct the work of others, 
when applicable. 

6. Ability to establish the facility’s policy, 
program and budget. 

7. Ability to recruit, employ, train, and 
evaluate qualified staff, and to 
terminate employment of staff, if 
applicable to the facility. 

8. A baccalaureate degree in psychology, 
social work or a related human 
services field and a minimum of one- 
year experience in the management 
of a human services delivery system; 
or three years of experience in a 
human services delivery system 
including at least one year in a 
management or supervisory position 
and two years of experience or 
training in one of the following: 
A. Care and supervision of recipients 
in a licensed adult day care facility, 
adult day support center or an adult 
day health care facility. 
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   B. Care and supervision of one or 

more of the categories of persons to 
be served by the center. 

 
The licensee must make provision for 
continuing operation and carrying out of 
the administrator’s responsibilities 
during any absence of the administrator 
by a person who meets the qualification 
of an administrator. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Foster 
Family Agency 
(FFA)-Certified 
Family Homes 
(Children Only) 

FFA licensed 
pursuant to 
Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 
provides 
statutory 
authority for 
DSS licensing of 
facilities 
identified in the 
CA Community 
Care Facilities 
Act. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Certified Family 
Homes; Title 22, 
CCR, § 88030 
establishes 
requirements 
for FFA 
certification of 
family homes. 

Title 22, CCR §§ 88000-88087. 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of FFA’s, 
certification and use of homes, 

 
FFA administrator qualifications: 
(1) A Master's Degree in social work or a 
related field. Three years of experience in 
the field of child or family services, two 
years of which have been administrative/ 
managerial; or, 

 
(2) A Bachelor's Degree in a behavioral 
science from an accredited college or 
university. A minimum of five years of 
experience in child or family services, two 
years of which have been in an 
administrative or managerial position. 

 
Certified family home providers meet 
requirements for foster family homes 
(Refer to Foster Family Homes below). 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Foster 
Family Homes 
(FFHs) (Children 
Only) 
Payment for this 
service will not be 
duplicated or 
supplanted 
through Medicaid 
funding. 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR §§89200-89587.1 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Foster 
Family Homes. 

 
Qualifications/Requirements for FFH 
providers: 
1. Comply with applicable laws and 
regulations and: 
2. Provide care and supervision to meet 
the child’s needs including 
communicating with the child; 
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   3. Maintain all child records, safeguard 

cash resources and personal property; 
4. Direct the work of others in providing 
care when applicable, 
5. Apply the reasonable and prudent 
parent standard; 
6. Promote a normal, healthy, balanced, 
and supported childhood experience and 
treat a child as 
part of the family; 
7. Attend training and professional 
development; 
8. Criminal Records/Child Abuse Registry 
clearance; 
9. Report special incidents; 
10. Ensure each child’s personal rights; 
and, 
11. Maintain a clean, safe, health home 
environment. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Small 
Family Homes 
(Children Only) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1567.8 
 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR §§ 83000-83088. 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Small 
Family Homes. 
Licensee/Administrator Qualifications 

 Criminal Records/Child Abuse Index 
Clearance; 

 At least 18 years of age; 
 Documented education, training, or 
experience in providing family home 
care and supervision appropriate to 
the type of children to be served. The 
amount of units or supervision 
appropriate to the type of children to 
be served. The amount of units or 
training hours is not specified. The 
following are examples of acceptable 
education or training topics. Programs 
which can be shown to be similar are 
accepted: 
o Child Development; 
o Recognizing and/or dealing with 

learning disabilities; 
o Infant care and stimulation; 
o Parenting skills; 
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   o Complexities, demands and special 

needs of children in placement; 
o Building self-esteem, for the 

licensee or the children; 
o First aid and/or CPR; 
o Bonding and/or safeguarding of 

children’s property; 
o Ability to keep financial and other 

records; 
o Ability to recruit, employ, train, 

direct the work of and evaluate 
qualified staff. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Group 
Homes (Children 
Only) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§ 1500-1567.8 

 
 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR, § 84000-84808 
Regulations adopted by DSS to specify 
requirements for licensure of Group 
Homes. 
Administrator Qualifications: 
1. Master's degree in a behavioral 
science, plus a minimum of one year of 
employment as a social worker in an 
agency serving children or in a group 
residential program for children; 
2. Bachelor's degree, plus at least one 
year of administrative or supervisory 
experience (as above); 
3. At least two years of college, plus at 
least two years administrative or 
supervisory experience (as above); or 
4.Completed high school, or equivalent, 
plus at least three years administrative - 
or supervisory experience (as above); 
and, 
5. Criminal Records/Child Abuse Registry 
Clearance 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Adult 
Residential 
Facilities (ARF) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§ 1500 through 
1567.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 

N/A Title 22, CCR, §§85000-85092: Establish 
licensing requirements for persons 18 
years of age through 59 years of age; and 
persons 60 years of age and older by 
exception. 

 
Administrator Qualifications 

 At least 21 years of age; 
 High school graduation or a GED; 
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 business is 

located. 
  Complete a program approved by DSS 

that consists of 35 hours of classroom 
instruction 
o 8 hrs. in laws, including resident’s 

personal rights, regulations, policies, 
and procedural standards that 
impact the operations of adult 
residential facilities; 

o 3 hrs. in business operations; 
o 3 hrs. in management and 

supervision of staff; 
o 5 hrs. in the psychosocial needs of 

the facility residents; 
o 3 hrs. in the use of community and 

support services to meet the 
resident’s needs; 

o 4 hrs. in the physical needs of the 
facility residents; 

o 5 hrs. in the use, misuse and 
interaction of drugs commonly used 
by facility residents; 

o 4 hrs. on admission, retention, and 
assessment procedures; 

 Pass a standardized test, administered 
by the Department of Social Services 
with a minimum score of 70%. 

 Criminal Record/Child Abuse Registry 
Clearance. 

 
Additional Administrator Qualifications 
may also include: 
 Has at least one year of administrative 
and supervisory experience in a 
licensed residential program for 
persons with developmental 
disabilities, and is one or more of the 
following: 

(A) A licensed registered nurse. 
(B) A licensed nursing home 

administrator. 
(C) A licensed psychiatric technician 

with at least five years of experience 
serving individuals with developmental 
disabilities. 

(D) An individual with a bachelor’s 
degree or more advanced degree 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 53 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 18-0023 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
   in the health or human services field and 

two years of experience working in a 
licensed residential program for persons 
with developmental disabilities and 
special health care needs. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: 
Residential Care 
Facility for the 
Elderly (RCFE) 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1569- 
1569.889 
provides 
statutory 
authority for 
licensing of 
RCFEs. 
Identified as the 
CA Residential 
Care Facilities 
for the Elderly 
Act. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Title 22, CCR, §§87100-87793: Establish 
licensing requirements for facilities 
where 75 percent of the residents are 
sixty years of age or older. Younger 
residents must have needs compatible 
with other residents. 

 
Administrator Qualifications: 
1. Knowledge of the requirements for 
providing care and supervision 
appropriate to the residents. 
2. Knowledge of and ability to conform to 
the applicable laws, rules and 
regulations. 
3. Ability to maintain or supervise the 
maintenance of financial and other 
records. 
4. Ability to direct the work of others. 
5. Good character and a continuing 
reputation of personal integrity. 
6. High school diploma or equivalent. 
7. At least 21 years of age. 
8. Criminal Record Clearance. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Adult 
Residential 
Facility for 
Persons with 
Special Health 
Care Needs 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1500-1569.87 

 
Appropriate 
license DSS 
CCLD as to type 
of facility 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 Welfare and Institutions Code, § 4684.50 
et seq. 

 
The administrator must: 
3. Complete the 35-houradministrator 

certification program pursuant to 
paragraph (1) of subdivision (c) of 
Section 1562.3 of the Health and 
Safety Code without exception, 

4. Has at least one year of 
administrative and supervisory 
experience in a licensed residential 
program for persons with 
developmental disabilities, and is 
one or more of the following: 
e. A licensed registered nurse. 
f. A licensed nursing home 

administrator. 
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   g. A licensed psychiatric 

technician with at least five 
years of experience serving 
individuals with developmental 
disabilities. 

h. An individual with a bachelor’s 
degree or more advanced 
degree in the health or human 
services field and two years of 
experience working in a 
licensed residential program 
for persons with 
developmental disabilities and 
special health care needs. 

Respite Facility; 
Residential 
Facility: Family 
Home Agency 
(FHA): 

 
Adult Family 
Home 
(AFH)/Family 
Teaching Home 
(FTH) 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

AFH Title 17, 
CCR, §56088 
Authorizes the 
FHA to issue a 
Certificate of 
Approval to 
each family 
home which 
has: 
1. Completed 
the criminal 
record review 
2. Been visited 
by the FHA and 
a determination 
ensuring safe 
and reasonable 
and the 
prospective 
providers 
experience, 
knowledge, 
cooperation, 
history and 
interest to 
become an 
approved family 
home. 
3. Completed 
required 

Welfare and Institutions Code 4689.1- 
4689.6 provides statutory authority for 
FHA. 

 
FHA employs sufficient staff with the 
combined experience, training and 
education to perform the following 
duties: 
1. Administration of the FHA; 
2. Recruitment of family homes; 
3. Training of FHA staff and family 
homes; 
4. Ensuring an appropriate match 
between the needs and preferences of 
the consumer 
and the family home; 
5. Monitoring of family homes; 
6. Provision of services and supports to 
consumers and family homes which are 
consistent with the consumer's 
preferences and needs and the 
consumer's IPP; and 
7. Coordination with the regional center 
and others. 

 
In order to accomplish these duties, 
selection criteria for hiring purposes 
should include but not be limited to: 
education in the fields of social work, 
psychology, education of related areas; 
experience with persons with 
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  orientation and 

training. 
developmental disabilities; experience in 
program management, fiscal 
management and organizational 
development. 

Camping Services As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

The camp 
submits to the 
local health 
officer either 
1) Verification 
that the camp is 
accredited by 
the American 
Camp 
Association or 
2) A description 
of operating 
procedures that 
addresses areas 
including 
supervisor 
qualifications 
and staff skill 
verification 
criteria. 

Camp Director Qualifications: must be at 
least 25 years of age and have at least 
two seasons of administrative or 
supervisory experience in camp 
activities. 

 
Health Supervisor (physician, registered 
nurse or licensed vocational nurse) 
employed full time will verify that all 
counselors have been trained in first aid 
and CPR. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All respite 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Licensed 
Community Care 
Facilities 

Department of Social Services – Community Care 
Licensing Division (DSS-CCLD) and regional 
centers 

Annually 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Enhanced Habilitation- Supported Employment – Individual Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Supported employment services are defined in California Welfare and Institutions Code § 4851 (n)(s) 
as; paid work that is integrated in the community for individuals with developmental disabilities. 
Individual services means job coaching and other supported employment services for regional 
center-funded consumers in a supported employment placement at a job coach-to-consumer ratio 
of one-to-one, and that decrease over time until stabilization is achieved. Individualized services 
may be provided on or off the jobsite. These services are received by eligible adults who are 
employed in integrated settings in the community. These individuals are unable to maintain this 
employment without an appropriate level of ongoing employment support services. Transportation 
services are not included under supported employment individual services. 

 
 

Supported Employment- Individual Services (defined in California Welfare and Institutions Code 
§4851(n)(s). 

 
 Training and supervision in addition to the training and supervision the employer normally 

provides to employees. 
 

 Support services to ensure job adjustment and retention, provided on an individual basis in 
the community, as defined in California Welfare and Institutions Code §4851(q): 

o Job development - The process of working with a consumer, based on the individuals 
interests and abilities to identify potential jobs, meet with the hiring business, and 
assist the consumer to apply for and compete for the job. 

o Job analysis - Classifying each of the required duties of a job to identify the support 
needed by the consumer. 

o Training in adaptive functional skills 
o Social skill training 
o Ongoing support services - Services that are provided, typically off the job, to assist a 

consumer with concerns or issues that could affect his or her ability to maintain 
employment. 

o Family counseling necessary to support the individual’s employment 
o Advocacy related to the employment, such as assisting individuals in understanding 

their benefits 
o Advocacy or intervention to resolve problems affecting the consumer's work 

adjustment or retention. 
 
• Recipients receiving individual services earn minimum wage or above and are on the employer’s 

payroll. Individuals receiving these services usually receive supervision 5-20% of the time by the 
program. The remainder of the time, the employer provides all supervision and training. 
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The above described services are not available under a program funded under section 110 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC Section 730) or section 602(16) and (17) of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 USC 1401(16 and 17). 

 
The reimbursement for Supported Employment (Individual Services) includes incentive payments for 
measurable milestones identified below: 

1. A one-time payment made to a provider when an individual obtains competitive 
integrated employment and is still employed after 30 consecutive days. 

2. An additional one-time payment made to a provider when an individual obtains 
competitive integrated employment and is still employed after six consecutive months. 

3. An additional one-time payment made to a provider when an individual has been 
employed consecutively for one year. 

 
Federal financial participation is not claimed for incentive payments, subsidies, or unrelated 
vocational training expenses such as the following: 
1. Incentive payments made to an employer to encourage or subsidize the employer's 
participation in supported employment; or 
2. Payments that are passed through to users of supported employment services. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Supported 
Employment 
Programs 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

Programs must 
initially meet 
the Department 
of Rehabilitation 
Program 
certification 

N/A 
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 Federal/State 

Tax Exempt 
Letter. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

standards and 
be accredited by 
CARF within 
four years of 
providing 
services 
pursuant to Title 
17 § 
58810(f)(1)(2). 

 

    

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Supported 
Employment 
Programs 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Supported 
Employment 
Programs 

Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities (CARF) 

Within four years at start- 
up; every one-to-three 
years thereafter 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Enhanced Habilitation - Prevocational Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Prevocational services are services that are delivered for the purpose of furthering habilitation goals 
of learning and work experience through a habilitation service plan required by 17 CCR § 58812 to 
outline a specific path to competitive, integrated employment in the community. The service plan is 
to be reviewed not less than annually or more frequently if requested by the individual. 
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Services are intended to develop and teach the following general skills that lead to competitive and 
integrated employment: the ability to communicate effectively with supervisors, co-workers and 
customers; generally accepted community work place conduct and dress; ability to follow directions; 
ability to attend to asks; work place problem solving skills and strategies; general work place safety 
and mobility training. Additionally, both work adjustment and supportive habilitation services as 
defined in Title 17 CCR § 58820 (c)(2), should allow for the development of productive skills, physical 
and psychomotor skills, interpersonal and communicative skills, health and hygiene maintenance, 
personal safety practices, self-advocacy training, and other skills aimed at maintaining a job and as 
outlined in the individual’s person-centered services and supports plan. Individuals may be 
compensated based upon their performance and upon prevailing wage. However, compensation is 
not the sole purpose of participation in this service. 

 
Prevocational services are designed to prepare individuals in non-job-task-specific strengths and 
skills that contribute towards obtaining a competitive and integrated employment, as opposed to 
vocational services whose sole purpose is to provide employment without habilitation goals geared 
towards skill building. 

 
Transportation services are not included under Prevocational Services. 

 
Federal financial participation is not claimed for incentive payments, subsidies, or unrelated 
vocational training expenses such as incentive payments made to an employer to encourage or 
subsidize the employer's participation in supported employment; or payments that are passed 
through to users of supported employment services. 

 
The above-described services are not available under a program funded under section 110 of the 
Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC Section 730) or section 602(16) and (17) of the Individuals with 
Disabilities Education Act (20 U.S.C. 1401 (16 and 17)). 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Work Activity 
Program 

Facility l icense 
(Health and 
Safety Code §§ 
1500-1567.8) if 
applicable 

 
Federal/State Tax 
Exempt Letter. 

 
As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Programs must 
initially meet the 
Department of 
Rehabilitation 
Program 
certification 
standards and be 
accredited by 
CARF within four 
years of providing 
services. 

 
N/A 

Supported 
Employment 
Programs (Agency) 

No state l icensing 
category. 

 
Federal/State Tax 
Exempt Letter. 
As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Programs must 
initially meet the 
Department of 
Rehabilitation 
Program 
certification 
standards and be 
accredited by 
CARF within four 
years of providing 
services pursuant 
to Title 17 § 
58810(f)(1)(2). 

 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Work Activity 
Programs 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Work Activity 
Programs 

Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation 
Facilities (CARF) 

Within four years at start- 
up; every one-to three 
years thereafter 
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Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Homemaker 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Services consisting of general household activities (meal preparation and routine household care) 
provided by a trained homemaker, when the individual regularly responsible for these activities is 
temporarily absent or unable to manage the home and care for him or herself or others in the 
home. Homemaker services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid 
State plan or the EPSDT benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
1915(i) Homemaker services will be a continuation of services beyond the amount, duration 
and scope of the Personal Care Services Program State Plan benefit. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

1915(i) Homemaker services will be a continuation of services beyond the amount, duration 
and scope of the Personal Care Services Program State Plan benefit. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Individual No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 

N/A Individual providers of homemaker 
services shall have the ability to 
maintain, strengthen, or safeguard the 
care of individuals in their homes. 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 62 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 16-0016 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
 business is 

located. 
  

Service Agency No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Must employ, train and assign personnel 
who maintain, strengthen, or safeguard 
the care of individuals in their homes. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

Individual and 
Service Agency 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Home Health Aide 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Services defined in 42 CFR §440.70 that are provided when home health aide services furnished 
under the approved State plan limits are exhausted. Home health aide services will not supplant 
services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or the EPSDT benefit. The scope and 
nature of these services do not differ from home health aide services furnished under the State 
plan. Services are defined in the same manner as provided in the approved State plan. The provider 
qualifications specified in the State plan apply. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
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Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 

1915(i) Home Health Aide services will be a continuation of services beyond the amount, 
duration and scope of the State Plan benefit. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

1915(i) Home Health Aide services will be a continuation of services beyond the amount, 
duration and scope of the State Plan benefit. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Home Health 
Agency 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1725-1742 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Medi-Cal 
certification 
using Medicare 
standards, Title 
22, CCR, 
§51217. 

N/A 

Home Health Aide Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1725-1742 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Title 22, CCR § 
74746 

 
Complete a 
training 
program 
approved by the 
California 
Department of 
Public Health 
and is certified 
pursuant to 
Health and 
Safety Code § 
1736.1. 

N/A 
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Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

Home Health 
Agency, Home 
Health Aide 

California Department of Public Health 
 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

No less than every three 
years 

 
Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Community Based Adult Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Services furnished four or more hours per day on a regularly scheduled basis, for one or more days 
per week, in the community, encompassing both health and social services needed to ensure the 
optimal functioning of the individual. Meals provided as part of these services shall not constitute a 
“full nutritional regimen” (3 meals per day). Physical, occupational and speech therapies indicated 
in the individual’s plan of care will be furnished as component parts of this service. Community 
Based Adult Services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan, 
1115 Medi-Cal 2020 Demonstration Waiver or the EPSDT benefit. 

 
Transportation between the individual’s place of residence and the community based adult services 
center will be provided as a component part of community based adult services. The cost of this 
transportation is included in the rate paid to providers of community based adult services. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 65 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 16-0016 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 

1915(i) Community Based Adult Services will be a continuation of services beyond the 
amount, duration and scope of State Plan and/or 1115 demonstration benefit. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

1915(i) Community Based Adult Services will be a continuation of services beyond the 
amount, duration and scope of State Plan and/or 1115 demonstration benefit. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Adult Day Health 
Care Center 

Health and 
Safety Code 
§§1570-1596.5 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 
the local 
jurisdiction 
where the 
agency is 
located. 

Title 22, CCR, 
§54301 

Title 22, CCR, §§ 78201-78233 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Adult Day Health 
Care Center 

California Department of Public Health (Licensing) 

California Department of Aging (Certification) 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

At least every two years 

At least every two years 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Personal Emergency Response System 
Service Definition (Scope): 
PERS is a 24-hour emergency assistance service which enables the recipient to secure immediate 
assistance in the event of an emotional, physical, or environmental emergency. PERS are individually 
designed to meet the needs and capabilities of the recipient and includes training, installation, 
repair, maintenance, and response needs. 

 
PERS services are limited to those individuals who have no regular caregiver or companion for 
periods of time, and who would otherwise require extensive routine supervision. By providing 
immediate access to assistance, PERS services prevent institutionalization of these individuals. PERS 
services will only be provided as a service to individuals in a non-licensed environment. 

 
All items shall meet applicable standards of manufacture, design, and installation. Repairs to and 
maintenance of such equipment shall be performed by the manufacturer’s authorized dealers 
where possible. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Other - Personal 
Emergency 
Response Systems 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 
the local 
jurisdiction 

Certification / 
registration as 
appropriate for 
the type of 
system being 
purchased. 

Providers shall be competent to meet 
applicable standards of installation, 
repair, and maintenance of emergency 
response systems.  Providers shall also 
be authorized by the manufacturer to 
install, repair, and maintain such systems 
if such a manufacturer’s authorization 
program exists. 
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 where the 

agency is 
located. 

 Providers of human emergency response 
services shall possess or have employed 
persons who possess current licenses, 
certifications or registrations as 
necessary and required by the State of 
California for persons providing personal 
emergency response services. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Personal 
Emergency 
Response Systems 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Vehicle Modification and Adaptation 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Vehicle modification and adaptations are devices, controls, or services which enable recipients to 
increase their independence or physical safety, and which allow the recipient to live in their home. 
The repair, maintenance, installation, and training in the care and use, of these items are included. 
Vehicle adaptations must be performed by the manufacturer’s authorized dealer. Repairs to and 
maintenance of such equipment shall be performed by the manufacturer’s authorized dealer where 
possible. 

 
The following types of modifications or adaptations to the vehicle are allowable: 

 
1. Door handle replacements; 
2. Door widening; 
3. Lifting devices; 
4. Wheelchair securing devices; 
5. Adapted seat devices; 
6. Adapted steering, acceleration, signaling, and braking devices; and 
7. Handrails and grab bars 
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The following modifications or adaptations are excluded: 
 

1. Adaptations or improvements to the vehicle that are of general utility and are not of direct 
medical or remedial benefit to the individual; and 

2. Regularly scheduled upkeep and maintenance of a vehicle except upkeep and maintenance of 
modifications. 

 
Modifications or adaptations to vehicles shall be included if, on an individual basis, the cost 
effectiveness of vehicle adaptations, relative to alternative transportation services, is established. 
Adaptations to vehicles are limited to vehicles owned by the recipient, or the recipient’s family and 
do not include the purchase of the vehicle itself. 

 
The recipient’s family includes the recipient’s biological parents, adoptive parents, stepparents, 
siblings, children, spouse, domestic partner (in those jurisdictions in which domestic partners are 
legally recognized), or a person who is legal representative of the recipient. 

 
Vehicle modifications and adaptations will only be provided when they are documented in the 
individual plan of care and when there is a written assessment by a licensed Physical Therapist or a 
registered Occupational Therapist. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Vehicle 
Modification and 
Adaptation 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 

Registration 
with the 
California 
Department of 
Consumer 
Affairs, Bureau 

Providers shall be competent to meet 
applicable standards of installation, 
repair, and maintenance of vehicle 
adaptations and shall also be authorized 
by the manufacturer to install, repair, 
and maintain such systems where 
possible. 
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 the local 

jurisdiction for 
the adaptations 
to be 
completed. 

of Automotive 
Repairs. 

 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Vehicle 
Modification and 
Adaptation 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Speech, Hearing and Language Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Speech, Hearing and Language services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, 
Sections 51096, 51098, and 51094.1 as speech pathology, audiological services, and hearing aids, 
respectively. Speech pathology services mean services for the purpose of identification, 
measurement and correction or modification of speech, voice or language disorders and conditions, 
and counseling related to such disorders and conditions. Audiological services means services for 
the measurement, appraisal, identification and counseling related to hearing and disorders of 
hearing; the modification of communicative disorders resulting from hearing loss affecting speech, 
language and auditory behavior; and the recommendation and evaluation of hearing aids. Hearing 
aid means any aid prescribed for the purpose of aiding or compensating for impaired human hearing 
loss. 

 
These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older as described in the approved 
Medicaid State plan for individuals under the age of 21. The provider qualifications listed in the plan 
will apply and are hereby incorporated into this request by reference. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Speech, 
Hearing and Language services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid 
State plan or the EPSDT benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
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Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Speech 
Pathologist 

Business & 
Professions 
Code §§ 2532- 
2532.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Audiology Business & 
Professions 
Code §§ 2532- 
2532.8 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Hearing and 
Audiology 
Facilities 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

N/A An audiology facility: 
1. Employs at least one audiologist 

who is licensed by the Speech 
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As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 Pathology and Audiology Examining 
Committee of the Medical Board of 
California; and 

2. Employs individuals, other than 1. 
above, who perform services, all of 
whom shall be: 
 Licensed audiologists; or 

Obtaining required professional 
experience, and whose required 
professional experience application has 
been approved by the Speech Pathology 
and Audiology Examining Committee of 
the Medical Board of California. 

Speech-Language 
Pathology 
Assistant 
(Agency) 

Registered as a 
Speech- 
Language 
Pathology 
Assistant by the 
Speech- 
Language 
Pathology and 
Audiology and 
Hearing Aid 
Dispensers 
Board of the 
California 
Department of 
Consumer 
Affairs, pursuant 
to Business and 
Professions 
Code §2538- 
2538.7 and Title 
16 CCR § 
1399.170.11. 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Minimum continuing professional 
development requirements for the 
speech-language pathology assistant, of 
12 hours in a two-year period. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

All Speech, 
Hearing and 
Language 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Speech 
Pathologist and 
Speech Language 
Pathologist 
Assistant 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and 
Hearing Aid Dispensers Board 

Biennially. 

Audiology Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and 
Hearing Aid Dispensers Board 

Biennially if non-dispensing 
audiologist; annually if 
dispensing. 

Hearing and 
Audiology 
Facilities 

Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology and 
Hearing Aid Dispensers Board 

Biennially. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Dental Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Dental services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Section 51059 as professional 
services performed or provided by dentists including diagnosis and treatment of malposed human 
teeth, of disease or defects of the alveolar process, gums, jaws and associated structures; the use of 
drugs, anesthetics and physical evaluation; consultations; home, office and institutional calls. 

 
These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older as described in the approved 
Medicaid State plan for individuals under the age of 21. The provider qualifications listed in the plan 
will apply and are hereby incorporated into this request by reference. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Dental 
Services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or the EPSDT 
benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
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Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Dentist Business & 
Professions 
Code §§ 1600- 
1976 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Dentists Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Dentists Dental Board of California Biennially 
 
 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
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 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Optometric/Optician Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Optometric/Optician Services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Sections 51093 
and 51090, respectively.  Optometric services means any services an optometrist may perform 
under the laws of this state. Dispensing optician means an individual or firm which fills prescriptions 
of physicians for prescription lenses and kindred products and fits and adjusts such lenses and 
spectacle frames. A dispensing optician is also authorized to act on the advice, direction and 
responsibility of a physician or optometrist in connection with the fitting of a contact lens or contact 
lenses. 

 
These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older as described in the approved State 
plan for individuals under the age of 21. The provider qualifications listed in the plan will apply and 
are hereby incorporated into this request by reference. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Optometric/Optician 
services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or the EPSDT 
benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Orthoptic 
Technician 

Business and 
Professions 
Codes in 
Chapter 7, 
Article 3 
Sections 3041, 
3041.3, 3056, 
3057 

An orthoptic 
technician is 
validly certified 
by the American 
Orthoptic 
Council 

N/A 
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Optometrist An optometrist 

is validly 
licensed as an 
optometrist by 
the California 
State Board of 
Optometry 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All 
Optometric/Optici 
an service 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Orthoptic 
Technician 

American Orthoptic Council Every three years 

Optometrist California State Board of Optometry Biennially 
Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Prescription Lenses and Frames 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Prescription Lens/Frames are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Section 51162. 
Eyeglasses, prosthetic eyes and other eye appliances means those items prescribed by a physician or 
optometrist for medical conditions related to the eye. 
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These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older as described in the approved 
Medicaid State plan for individuals under the age of 21. The provider qualifications listed in the plan 
will apply, and are hereby incorporated into this request by reference. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Prescription 
Lenses and Frames will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or 
the EPSDT benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Dispensing 
Optician 

Business and 
Professions 
Code §§ 2550- 
2560. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Registered as a 
dispensing 
optician by the 
Division of Allied 
Health 
Professions of 
the Medical 
Board of 
California 

N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Prescription 
Lens/ Frame 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
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 applicable: any license, credential, registration, 

certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Dispensing 
Optician 

Medical Board of California Biennially 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Psychology Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Psychology Services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Section 51099 as the 
services of a person trained in the assessment, treatment, prevention, and amelioration of 
emotional and mental health disorders. 

 
These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older as described in the approved 
Medicaid State plan for individuals under the age of 21. The provider qualifications listed in the plan 
will apply and are hereby incorporated into this request by reference. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Psychology 
Services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or the EPSDT 
benefit. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 78 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 16-0047 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
Clinical 
Psychologist 

Business and 
Professions 
Code, §§2940- 
2948 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Clinical 
Psychologists 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Clinical 
Psychologist 

Board of Psychology Biennially 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Chore Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Services needed to maintain the home in a clean, sanitary and safe environment. This service 
includes heavy household chores such as washing floors, windows and walls, tacking down loose 
rugs and tiles, moving heavy items of furniture in order to provide safe access and egress, and minor 
repairs such as those which could be completed by a handyman. These services will be provided 
only in cases where neither the individual, nor anyone else in the household, is capable of 
performing or financially providing for them, and where no other relative, caregiver, landlord, 
community/volunteer agency, or third party payor is capable of or responsible for their provision. In 
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the case of rental property, the responsibility of the landlord, pursuant to the lease agreement, will 
be examined prior to any authorization of service. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Individual As appropriate 
for the services 
to be done. 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Individual chore service providers shall 
possess the following minimum 
qualifications: 
1. The ability to perform the functions 

required in the individual plan of 
care; 

Demonstrate dependability and personal 
integrity. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Individual Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
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 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Communication Aides 
Service Definition (Scope): 

Communication aides are those human services necessary to facilitate and assist persons with 
hearing, speech, or vision impairment to be able to effectively communicate with service 
providers, family, friends, co-workers, and the general public. The following are allowable 
communication aides, as specified in the recipient’s plan of care: 

1. Facilitators; 
2. Interpreters and interpreter services; and 
3. Translators and translator services. 

 
Communication aide services include evaluation for communication aides and training in the use of 
communication aides. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Facilitators No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 
the local 

N/A Qualifications and training as 
appropriate. 
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 jurisdiction for 

the adaptations 
to be 
completed. 

  

Interpreter No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 
the local 
jurisdiction for 
the adaptations 
to be 
completed. 

N/A 1. Fluency in both English and a 
language other than English; and 

The ability to read and write accurately 
in both English and a language other 
than English. 

Translator No state 
licensing 
category. 

 
An appropriate 
business license 
as required by 
the local 
jurisdiction for 
the adaptations 
to be 
completed. 

N/A 1. Fluency in both English and a 
language other than English; and 

2. The ability to read and write 
accurately in both English and a language 
other than English. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All 
Communication 
Aid providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Environmental Accessibility Adaptations 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Those physical adaptations to the home, required by the individual’s plan of care, which are 
necessary to ensure the health, welfare and safety of the individual, or which enable the individual 
to function with greater independence in the home, and without which, the individual would require 
institutionalization. Adaptations consist of the installation of ramps and grab-bars, widening of 
doorways, modification of bathroom facilities, or installation of specialized electric and plumbing 
systems which are necessary to accommodate the medical equipment and supplies which are 
necessary for the welfare of the individual. Excluded are those adaptations or improvements to the 
home which are of general utility and are not of direct medical or remedial benefit to the individual. 
Adaptations which add to the total square footage of the home are excluded from this benefit. 
Adaptations may not be furnished to living arrangements that are owned or leased by providers of 
1915(i) services. All services shall be provided in accordance with applicable State or local building 
codes. 

 
It may be necessary to make environmental modifications to an individual’s home before he/she 
transitions from an institution to the community. Modifications may be made while the person is 
institutionalized. Environmental modifications, included in the individual’s plan of care, may be 
furnished up to 180 consecutive days prior to the individual’s discharge from an institution. 
However, such modifications will not be considered complete until the date the individual leaves the 
institution and enters the 1915(i) State Plan benefit. 

 
In the event an individual dies before the relocation can occur, but after the modifications have 
been made, the State will claim FFP at an administrative rate for services that would have been 
necessary for relocation to have taken place. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 
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Contractor A current 

license, 
certification or 
registration with 
the State of 
California as 
appropriate for 
the type of 
modification 
being 
purchased. 

See “License” N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Contractor 
appropriate for 
the type of 
adaption to be 
completed. 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing as needed/ 
required. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Non-Medical Transportation 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Service offered in order to enable individuals eligible for 1915(i) State Plan Services to gain access to 
other community services, activities and resources, specified by the plan of care. This service is offered 
in addition to medical transportation required under 42 CFR 431.53 and transportation services under 
the Medicaid State plan, defined in 42 CFR 440.170(a) (if applicable), and shall not replace them. 

 
Non-medical transportation services shall be offered in accordance with the individual’s plan of care and 
shall include transportation aides and such other assistance as is necessary to assure the safe transport 
of the recipient. Private, specialized transportation will be provided to those individuals who cannot 
safely access and utilize public transportation services (when available.) Whenever possible, family, 
neighbors, friends, or community agencies which can provide this service without charge will  be util ized. 
A regional center may offer family members or adult consumers the option to self-direct their own non- 
medical transportation services. 

Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
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Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Individual 
Transportation 
Provider 

Valid California 
driver’s license 

 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
4648. 

Transportation 
Company: 
Transportation 
Broker; 
Transportation 
Provider Add- 
itional 
Component 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
4648.3. 

Public Transit 
Authority 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Welfare and Institutions Code Section 
4648.3. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

All Transportation 
Providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Nutritional Consultation 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Nutritional Consultation includes the provision of consultation and assistance in planning to meet 
the nutritional and special dietary needs of the consumers. These services are consultative in nature 
and do not include specific planning and shopping for, or preparation of meals for consumers. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Dietitian; 
Nutritionist 

No state 
licensing 
category. 

Dietician: Valid 
registration as a 
member of the 
American 

Nutritionist must possess a Master’s 
Degree in one of the following: 

a. Food and Nutrition; 
b. Dietetics; or 
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 As appropriate, 

a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Dietetic 
Association 

c. Public Health Nutrition; 
or is employed as a nutritionist by a 
county health department. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Nutritional 
Consultation 
providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Skilled Nursing 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Services listed in the plan of care which are within the scope of the State’s Nurse Practice Act and 
are provided by a registered professional nurse, or licensed practical or vocational nurse under the 
supervision of a registered nurse, licensed to practice in the State. 1915(i) HCBS SPA Skilled Nursing 
Services will not supplant services available through the approved Medicaid State plan or the EPSDT 
benefit. 

 
A regional center may offer family members or adult consumers the option to self-direct their own 
skilled nursing services. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
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individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Registered Nurse 
(RN) 

Business and 
Professions 
Code, §§ 2725- 
2742 

N/A N/A 

 Title 22, CCR, § 
51067 

  

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Licensed 
Vocational Nurse 
(LVN) 

Business and 
Professions 
Code, §§ 2859- 
2873.7 

N/A N/A 

 Title 22, CCR, § 
51069 

  

 As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 
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Home Health Title 22, CCR, §§ Medi-Cal N/A 
Agency: RN or 74600 et. seq. Certification  

LVN  
RN: Business 

using Medicare 
standards 

 

 and Professions   

 Code, §§ 2725- Title 22, CCR, §§  
 2742 

Title 22, CCR, § 
51069-51217.  

 51067   

 LVN: Business   
 and Professions   
 Code, §§ 2859-   
 2873.7   
 Title 22, CCR, §   

 51069   

 As appropriate,   

 a business   
 license as   
 required by the   
 local jurisdiction   
 where the   
 business is   
 located.   

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Skilled Nursing 
Providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Registered Nurse Board of Registered Nursing, Licensing and 
regional centers 

Every two years 

Licensed 
Vocational Nurse 

Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric 
Technicians, Licensing and regional centers 

Every two years 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Specialized Medical Equipment and Supplies include: (a) devices, controls, or appliances, specified in 
the plan of care, that enable participants to increase their ability to perform activities of daily living; 
(b) devices, controls, or appliances that enable the participant to perceive, control, or communicate 
with the environment in which they live; (c) items necessary for life support or to address physical 
conditions along with ancillary supplies and equipment necessary to the proper functioning of such 
items; (d) such other durable and non-durable medical equipment not available under the approved 
Medicaid State plan that is necessary to address participant functional limitations; and, (e) necessary 
medical supplies not available under the approved Medicaid State plan. The repair, maintenance, 
installation, and training in the care and use, of these items is also included. Funding for items 
reimbursed by this State Plan Amendment are in addition to any medical equipment and supplies 
furnished under the approved Medicaid State plan and exclude those items that are not of direct 
medical or remedial benefit to the participant. All items shall meet applicable standards of 
manufacture, design, and installation, and must meet Underwriter’s Laboratory or Federal 
Communications Commission codes, as applicable. Repairs to and maintenance of such equipment 
shall be performed by the manufacturer’s authorized dealer where possible. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Durable Medical 
Equipment Dealer 

If applicable, a 
current license 
with the State of 
California as 

If applicable, a 
current 
certification 
with the State of 

Be authorized by the manufacturer to 
install, repair and maintain such systems 
if such a manufacturer’s program exists. 
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 appropriate for 

the type of 
equipment or 
supplies being 
purchased. 

California as 
appropriate for 
the type of 
equipment or 
supplies being 
purchased. 

 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Specialized Regional centers, through the vendorization Verified upon application 
Medical process, verify providers meet requirements/ for vendorization and 
Equipment and qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 ongoing thereafter 
Supplies Providers including the following, as applicable: any license, through oversight and 

 credential, registration, certificate, permit, or monitoring activities. 
 academic degree required for the performance or  
 operation of the service; the staff qualifications  
 and duty statements; and service design.  

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Transition Set-Up Expenses 
Service Definition (Scope): 

Transition/Set Up Expenses are one-time, non-recurring set-up expenses to assist individuals who 
are transitioning from an institution to their own home. These expenses fund some of the initial 
set-up costs that are associated with obtaining and securing an adequate living environment and 
address the individual’s health and safety needs when he or she enters a new living environment. 

 
“Own home” is defined as any dwelling, including a house, apartment, condominium, trailer, or 
other lodging that is owned, leased, or rented by the individual. 

 
This service includes necessary furnishings, household items and services that an individual needs 
for successful transition to community living: 
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 Security deposits that are required to obtain a lease on an apartment or home; 
 Moving expenses; 
 Health and safety assurances, such as pest eradication, allergen control or one-time cleaning 

prior to occupancy; 
 Set up fees or non-refundable deposits for utilities (telephone, electricity, heating by gas); 
 Essential furnishings to occupy and use a community domicile, such as a bed, table, chairs, 

window blinds, eating utensils, food preparation items, etc. 
 

These services exclude: 

 Items designed for diversionary/recreational/entertainment purposes, such as hobby 
supplies, television, cable TV access, or VCRs and DVDs. 

 Room and board, monthly rental or mortgage expense, regular utility charges, household 
appliances, and food. 

 
Items purchased through this service are the property of the individual receiving the service and 
the individual takes the property with him/her in the event of a move to another residence. 

 
Some of these expenses may be incurred before the individual transitions from an institution to 
the community. In such cases, the Transition/Set Up expenses incurred while the person was 
institutionalized are not considered complete until the date the individual leaves the institution. 
Transition/Set Up expenses included in the individual’s plan of care may be furnished up to 180 
consecutive days prior to the individual’s discharge from an institution. However, such expenses 
are not considered complete under the date the individual leaves the institution and enters the 
1915(i) State Plan benefit. 

 
In the event an individual dies before the relocation can occur, but after the expenses have been 
incurred, the State will claim FFP at the administrative rate for services which would have been 
necessary for relocation to have taken place. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Public Utility 
Agency 

 
Retail and 
Merchandise 
Company 

 
Health and Safety 
agency 

 
Individual 
(landlord, 
property 
management) 

 
Moving Company 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

All Transition/Set 
Up Providers 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet requirements/ 
qualifications outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 
including the following, as applicable: any license, 
credential, registration, certificate, permit, or 
academic degree required for the performance or 
operation of the service; the staff qualifications 
and duty statements; and service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Community Based Training Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Community-based training service is a participant-directed service that allows recipients the 
opportunity to customize day services to meet their individualized needs. As determined by the 
person-centered individual program planning process, the service may include opportunities and 
assistance to: further the development or maintenance of employment and volunteer activities; 
pursue post-secondary education; and increase recipients’ ability to lead integrated and inclusive 
lives. These services provide assistance with acquisition, retention, or improvement in self-help, 
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socialization and adaptive skills. These services enable the individual to attain or maintain his or her 
maximum functional level and shall be coordinated with any physical, occupational, or speech 
therapies listed in the plan of care. 

Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 

Community-based training services are limited to a maximum of 150 hours per quarter. 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 

Community-based training services are limited to a maximum of 150 hours per quarter. 
Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Community-Based 
Training Provider 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Providers of community-based training 
service shall be an adult who possesses 
the skill, training, and experience 
necessary to provide services in 
accordance with the individual program 
plan. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Community-Based 
Training Provider 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Financial Management Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 

Financial Management Services (FMS) are designed to serve as a fiscal intermediary that performs 
financial transactions (paying for goods and services and/or processing payroll for adult consumers’ 
or their families’ workers included in the IPP) on behalf of the consumer. FMS is an important 
safeguard because it ensures that consumers are in compliance with Federal and state tax, labor, 
workers’ compensation insurance and Medicaid regulations. The term “Financial Management 
Services” or “FMS” is used to distinguish this important participant direction support from the 
activities that are performed by intermediary organizations that function as Medicaid fiscal agents. 

 
All FMS services shall: 
1. Assist the family member or adult consumer in verifying worker citizenship status. 
2. Collect and process timesheets of workers. 
3. Process payroll, withholding, filing and payment of applicable federal, state and local 

employment-related taxes and insurance. 
4. Track, prepare and distribute reports (e.g., expenditure) to appropriate individual(s)/entities. 
5. Maintain all source documentation related to the authorized service(s) and expenditures. 
6. Maintain a separate accounting for each participant’s participant-directed funds. 

Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Financial 
Management 
Services Provider 

Business license, 
as appropriate 

  

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

All FMS providers Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and 
ongoing thereafter 
through oversight and 
monitoring activities. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
Participant-directed  Provider managed 

 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Intensive Transition Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Intensive Transition Services (ITS) is a service providing support to those individuals who have been 
assessed to have complex behavioral health needs and who have transitioned into a community 
living option. Provision of Intensive Transition Services will begin once the individual has 
transitioned into the community setting. The IPP team determines if ITS would be of benefit to the 
consumer based on an individualized need of a more intensive service that would make the 
transition possible. 

 
 

ITS provides a team that will work in a person-centered approach to create a network of resources 
that will eventually allow the individual to live independently in the community. Services are directly 
provided by the team members consisting of the following: 

 Assessment – Initial and ongoing assessment to provide the below services in an 
individualized approach and continuously pivot based on the ongoing needs; 

 Substance use recovery treatment; 
 Anger management; 
 Self-advocacy; 
 Medication management; 
 Health and dietary education; 
 Sex education/fostering healthy relationships; 
 Behavioral support and modification training for the individual - ITS engages with service 

providers and circle of support to provide consultative information on managing the 
consumers behavior if deemed appropriate and necessary to support the consumers 
transition; 

 Outpatient therapy – counseling by professionals who specialize with 
intellectual/developmental disabilities crisis work; 
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 Co-occurring disorders integrated treatment – a treatment organizational approach that 

allows all counseling, trainings, and treatments to work cohesively together in order to 
address every impacting disorder to successfully transition; 

 Transition Planning – Ongoing planning throughout the services that adjusts based on 
progression of the individual. 

 
ITS team members operate 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, including holidays, and are available in 
the event of a crisis. 

Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

Categorically needy (specify limits): 
Services shall not exceed 24 total months (may be non-consecutive), unless IPP team 
agreement coinciding with Department of Developmental Services director approval for 
additional time is granted to ensure a successful transition into the community. 
Medically needy (specify limits): 
Services shall not exceed 24 total months (may be non-consecutive), unless IPP team 
agreement coinciding with Department of Developmental Services director approval for 
additional time is granted to ensure a successful transition into the community. 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Intensive 
Transition 
Services Agency 
(Agency) 

N/A N/A ITS agency staff include a Board Certified 
Behavior Specialist, Transition/Care 
Coordinator, Program Director, Mental 
Health Professional, and Registered 
Nurse 
The agency shall employ staff who 
possess the skill, training and education 
necessary to support individuals with 
complex service needs during the 
transition. 

Program Director 
(Agency) 

  Doctoral PhD or master’s level 
Psychologist licensed in the state of 
practice or a licensed master’s level 
therapist who holds a license in the state 
of practice. This may include: LPC, LSW, 
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   LICSW, or Licensed Behavioral Specialist 

where accepted with no less than 6 
years’ experience in the behavioral 
health field. 

These 6 years should be composed of a 
minimum of two years of experience in a 
mental health setting: two years working 
with individuals with intellectual 
disabilities; and at least two years of 
program management experience. 

An unlicensed masters level staff can be 
considered with 10 or more years’ 
experience outlined above with approval 
from the vendoring Regional Center. 

Transition/Care 
Coordinator 
(Agency) 

N/A N/A Must have bachelor’s degree in social 
work, Psychology, or another human 
service-related field. 
No less than three years of experience in 
the behavioral health field with at least 
one year of experience in a mental 
health setting and one year working in a 
developmental disability setting. 

Behavior 
Specialist 
(Agency) 

Licensed in 
accordance with 
Business and 
Professions 
Code as 
appropriate to 
the skilled 
professions 
staff. 

 
 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Certification by 
the Behavior 
Analyst 
Certification 
Board and 
accredited by 
the National 
Commission for 
Certifying 
Agencies. 

Must demonstrate through the interview 
process, knowledge and experience 
working with both individuals who have 
an intellectual disability as well as a 
serious mental illness; have knowledge 
and be certified, in one of the 
established behavior modification 
techniques, such as Applied Behavioral 
Analysis (ABA), Functional Behavioral 
Analysis (FBA) as well as have experience 
with EBP such as CBT and Trauma 
Informed Care; and have prior 
experience providing clinical supervision 
to non-clinical staff. 
Valid CA driver’s license and appropriate 
state and federal clearances. 
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Registered Nurse 
(Agency) 

Licensed 
Registered 
Nurse by the 
Department of 
Consumer 
Affairs Board of 
Registered 
Nursing 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code §§ 2725- 
2742. 
As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Work experience in either the 
intellectual disability or mental health 
system. 
Valid CA Driver’s License and ability to 
pass appropriate state and federal 
clearances. 

Mental Health 
Professional 
(Agency) 

Licensed 
Psychologist by 
the Board of 
Psychology 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code §§2940- 
2948 

Or 

Licensed Clinical 
Social Worker 
by the California 
Board of 
Behavioral 
Science 
Examiners 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code §§4996- 
4996.2 

N/A Must possess two years’ experience 
designing and implementing behavior 
modification intervention services. 
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 Or 

Licensed 
Marriage Family 
Therapist by the 
Board of 
Behavioral 
Sciences 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code §4980 (b) 

As appropriate, 
a business 
license as 
required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

Entity Responsible for Verification 
(Specify): 

Frequency of Verification 
(Specify): 

Intensive 
Transition 
Services (ITS) 
Agency 

Regional centers, through the vendorization 
process, verify providers meet 
requirements/qualifications outlined in Title 17, 
CCR, § 54310 including the following, as 
applicable: any license, credential, registration, 
certificate, permit, or academic degree required 
for the performance or operation of the service; 
the staff qualifications and duty statements; and 
service design. 

Verified upon application 
for vendorization and at 
least biennially thereafter. 

Agency Providers ITS Agency, Regional Center, through the annual 
quality assurance review and contract reviews 
when a new professional is hired. 

Annually. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 
Participant-directed Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Housing Access Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Housing Access Services includes two components: 

A) Individual Housing Transition Services. - These services provide direct support and assistance with 
activities and processes associated with an individual's preparation for and transition to housing. 
These services are: 

1. Conducting a tenant screening and housing assessment that identifies the participant’s 
preferences and barriers related to successful tenancy. The assessment includes collecting 
information on potential housing transition barriers, and identification of housing retention 
barriers. 

2. Assisting the individual in developing an individualized housing support plan based upon the 
housing assessment that addresses identified barriers, includes short and long-term 
measurable goals for each issue, establishes the participant’s approach to meeting the goal, 
and identifies when other providers or services, both reimbursed and not reimbursed by 
Medicaid, may be required to meet the goal. 

3. Assisting the individual with the housing application process. Assisting with the housing 
search process. 

4. Assisting the individual with identifying resources to cover set-up fees for utilities or service 
access, including telephone, electricity, heating and water, and services necessary for the 
individual’s health and safety, consisting of pest eradication and one-time cleaning prior to 
occupancy. 

5. Assisting the individual with coordinating resources to identify and address conditions in the 
l iving environment prior to move-in that may compromise the safety of the consumer. 

6. Assisting the individual with details of the move including communicating with the landlord 
to negotiate a move-in date, reading and understanding the terms of the lease, scheduling 
set-up of util ities and services, and arranging the move of consumers’ belongings. 

7. Assisting the individual with the development of a housing support crisis plan that includes 
prevention and early intervention services when housing is jeopardized. 

B) Individual Housing & Tenancy Sustaining Services - This service is made available to support 
individuals to maintain tenancy once housing is secured. The availability of ongoing housing-related 
services in addition to other long-term services and supports promotes housing success, fosters 
community integration and inclusion, and develops natural support networks. These tenancy support 
services are: 

1. Assisting the individual in the early detection and intervention for behaviors that may 
jeopardize housing, such as late rental payment and other lease violations. 

2. Assisting the individual with education and training on the role, rights and responsibilities of 
the tenant and landlord. 

3. Coaching the individual on developing and maintaining key relationships with 
landlords/property managers with a goal of fostering successful tenancy. 

4. Assisting the individual in resolving disputes with landlords and/or neighbors to reduce risk 
of eviction or other adverse action. 

5. Assisting the individual with advocacy and linkage with community resources to prevent 
eviction when housing is or may potentially become jeopardized. 

6. Assisting the individual with the housing recertification process. 
7. Assisting the individual in reviewing, updating and modifying their housing support and crisis 

plan on a regular basis to reflect current needs and address existing or recurring housing 
retention barriers. 
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8. Providing the individual with continuous training in being a good tenant and lease 

compliance, including ongoing support with activities related to household management. 
Housing Access Services do not include payment for room and board. 

 
Persons receiving Health Homes or California Community Transitions services will not receive this service 
unless additional Housing Access through the 1915i is necessary to maintain the consumers’ health, safety and 
wellbeing in the home and/or community. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Individual/ Business 
entity 

As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located 

N/A N/A 

Business entity As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located 

N/A N/A 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Individual Regional centers, through the vendorization process, 
verify providers meet requirements/qualifications 
outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 including the 
following, as applicable: any license, credential, 

Verified upon application for 
vendorization and biennially 
thereafter. 
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 registration, certificate, permit, or academic degree 

required for the performance or operation of the 
service; the staff qualifications and duty statements; 
and service design. 

 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Family Support Services 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Provide care and supervision of children, for periods of less than 24 hours per day, while the parents/primary 
non-paid caregiver are out of the home. This service is provided in the recipient’s own home or in an 
approved out of home location to do all of the following: 

 
1. Assist family members in maintaining the recipient at home; 
2. Provide appropriate care and supervision to protect the recipient’s safety in the absence of family 

members; 
3. Relieve family members from the constantly demanding responsibility of caring for a recipient; and 
4. Attend to the recipient’s basic self-help needs and other activities of daily l iving, including interaction, 
socialization, and continuation of usual daily routines which would ordinarily be performed by family 
members. 

 
Family support services may only be provided when the care and supervision needs of a consumer exceed that 
of a person of the same age without developmental disabilities. Additionally, payment may only be made 
when the cost of the service exceeds the cost of providing services to a person of the same age without 
disabilities. 

 
A regional center may offer family members the option to self-direct their own family support services. 

Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 
 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
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Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Child Day Care 
Facility; Child Day 
Care Center; Family 
Child Care Home 
(Individual/Agency) 

Licensed Child 
Day Care Facility 
by the 
Department of 
Social Services 
pursuant to 
Health and Safety 
Code §§ 1596.90 
– 1597.621 
As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Child Day Care 
Center: Title 22 
CCR, §§101151- 
101239.2 
Family Child Care 
Home: Title 22 
CCR §§102351.1- 
102424 

Licensing requirements l isted under HSC 
1596.95 
The administrator shall have the following 
qualifications: 
1. Attainment of at least 18 years of age. 
2. Knowledge of the requirements for 
providing the type of care and supervision 
children need and the ability to communicate 
with such children. 
3. Knowledge of and ability to comply with 
applicable law and regulation. 
4. Ability to maintain or supervise the 
maintenance of financial and other records. 
5. Ability to establish the center’s policy, 
program and budget. 
6. Ability to recruit, employ, train, direct 
and evaluate qualified staff. 

Individual No state l icensing 
category. 
As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

N/A Has received Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation 
(CPR) and First Aid training from agencies 
offering such training. Must have the skill, 
training, or education necessary to perform 
the required services. 

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Business entity Regional centers, through the vendorization process, 
verify providers meet requirements/qualifications 
outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 including the 
following, as applicable: any license, credential, 
registration, certificate, permit, or academic degree 
required for the performance or operation of the 
service; the staff qualifications and duty statements; 
and service design. 

 
Department of Social Services – Community Care 
Licensing Division (DSS-CCLD) and regional centers. 

Verified upon application for 
vendorization and biennially 
thereafter. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 104 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 16-0016 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Occupational Therapy 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Occupational Therapy services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Sections 
51085, and 51309 as services designed to restore or improve a person’s ability to undertake 
activities of daily living when those skills are impaired by developmental or psychosocial disabilities, 
physical illness or advanced age. Occupational therapy includes evaluation, treatment planning, 
treatment, instruction and consultative services. 
All medically necessary occupational therapy services for children under age 21 are covered in the 
state plan pursuant to the EPSDT benefit. Occupational therapy in this 1915i is only provided to 
individuals age 21 and over and only when the limits of occupational therapy services furnished 
under the approved state plan are exhausted. Occupational therapy services in the approved state 
plan are limited to a maximum of two services in any one calendar month or any combination of two 
services per month from the following services: audiology, acupuncture, chiropractic, psychology, 
podiatry, and speech therapy or the amount determined medically necessary. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Occupational 
Therapist 
(Individual/Agency) 

Occupational 
Therapist: 
Licensed 
Occupational 
Therapist by the 
California Board 
of Occupational 
Therapy pursuant 
to Business and 
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 Professions Code 

§§2570-2571 

 
An appropriate 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
for the 
adaptations to be 
completed. 

  

Occupational 
Therapist Assistant 
(Agency) 

Occupational 
Therapist 
Assistant: 
Licensed 
Occupational 
Therapist by the 
California Board 
of Occupational 
Therapy pursuant 
to Business and 
Professions Code 
§§2570-2571 

 
An appropriate 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
for the 
adaptations to be 
completed. 

  

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Business entity Regional centers, through the vendorization process, 
verify providers meet requirements/qualifications 
outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 including the 
following, as applicable: any license, credential, 
registration, certificate, permit, or academic degree 
required for the performance or operation of the 
service; the staff qualifications and duty statements; 
and service design. 

Verified upon application for 
vendorization and biennially 
thereafter. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
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Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Physical Therapy 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Physical Therapy services are defined in Title 22, California Code of Regulations, Sections 51081, and 
51309 as services of any bodily condition by the use of physical, chemical, and or other properties of 
heat, light, water, electricity or sound, and by massage and active, resistive or passive exercise. 
Physical therapy includes evaluation, treatment planning, treatment, instruction, consultative 
services, and application of topical medications. 
All medically necessary physical therapy services for children under age 21 are covered in the state 
plan pursuant to the EPSDT benefit. Physical therapy in this state plan amendment is only provided 
to individuals age 21 and over and only when the limits of physical therapy services furnished under 
the approved state plan are exhausted. Physical therapy services in the approved state plan are 
limited to six-month treatments and may be renewed if determined medically necessary. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Physical Therapist 
(Individual/Agency) 

Physical 
Therapist: 
Licensed Physical 
Therapist by the 
Physical Therapy 
Board of 
California 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§§2635-2639.1 
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 An appropriate 

business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
for the 
adaptations to be 
completed. 

  

Physical Therapy 
Assistant 
(Agency) 

Physical Therapy 
Assistant: 
Licensed Physical 
Therapy assistant 
by the Physical 
Therapy 

 
An appropriate 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
for the 
adaptations to be 
completed. 

  

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Business entity Regional centers, through the vendorization process, 
verify providers meet requirements/qualifications 
outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 including the 
following, as applicable: any license, credential, 
registration, certificate, permit, or academic degree 
required for the performance or operation of the 
service; the staff qualifications and duty statements; 
and service design. 

Verified upon application for 
vendorization and biennially 
thereafter. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 

Service Specifications (Specify a service title for the HCBS listed in Attachment 4.19-B that the state 
plans to cover): 
Service Title: Family/Consumer Training 
Service Definition (Scope): 
Family/consumer support and training services are provided, as needed, in conjunction with 
extended state plan services in this 1915i. These services include training by licensed providers to 
maintain or enhance the long-term impact of treatment provided. This includes support or 
counseling for the consumer and/or family to ensure proper understanding of the treatment 
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provided and what supports are needed in the recipient’s home environment to enhance the 
treatments. These services will be provided to individuals age 21 and older. 
Additional needs-based criteria for receiving the service, if applicable (specify): 

 

Specify limits (if any) on the amount, duration, or scope of this service. Per 42 CFR Section 440.240, 
services available to any categorically needy recipient cannot be less in amount, duration and scope 
than those services available to a medically needy recipient, and services must be equal for any 
individual within a group. States must also separately address standard state plan service questions 
related to sufficiency of services. 
(Choose each that applies): 

 Categorically needy (specify limits): 
 

 Medically needy (specify limits): 
 

Provider Qualifications (For each type of provider. Copy rows as needed): 

Provider Type 
(Specify): 

License 
(Specify): 

Certification 
(Specify): 

Other Standard 
(Specify): 

Dentist, Dental 
Hygienist, Marriage 
& Family Therapist, 
Social Worker, 
Speech Therapist 
(Individual/Agency) 

Dentist: Licensed 
Dentist by the 
Dental Board of 
California 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions 
Code§§1628- 
1636.6 

 
Dental Hygienist: 
Licensed Dental 
Hygienist by the 
Dental Hygiene 
Committee of 
California 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§§1900-1966.6 

 
Marriage & 
Family Therapist 
(MFT): Licensed 
MFT by the 
California Board 
of Behavioral 
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 Sciences pursuant   

to Business and 
Professions Code 
§§4980-4989 

Social Worker: 
Licensed Social 
Worker by the 
California Board 
of Behavioral 
Sciences pursuant 
to Business and 
Professions Code 
§§4996-4997.1 

Speech Therapist: 
Licensed Speech- 
Language 
Therapist by the 
Speech-Language 
Pathology & 
Audiology & 
Hearing Aid 
Dispensers Board 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§2532-2532.8 

As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

Occupational 
Therapist, 
Occupational 
Therapy Assistant, 
Physical Therapist, 
Physical Therapy 
Assistant, 
Registered Nurse, 
Licensed Vocational 
Nurse, 
(Individual/Agency) 

Occupational 
Therapist and 
Assistant: 
Licensed 
Occupational 
Therapist by the 
California Board 
of Occupational 
Therapy pursuant 
to Business and 
Professions Code 
§§2570-2571 

N/A  
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Physical 

  

Therapist: 
Licensed Physical 
Therapist by the 
Physical Therapy 
Board of 
California 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§§2635-2639.1 

Physical Therapy 
Assistant: 
Licensed Physical 
Therapy assistant 
by the Physical 
Therapy Board of 
California 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§§2635-2639.1 

Licensed 
Registered Nurse 
by the California 
Board of 
Registered 
Nursing pursuant 
to Business and 
Professions Code 
§§ 2725-2742 

Licensed 
Vocational Nurse 
by the California 
Board of 
Vocational 
Nursing and 
Psychiatric 
Technicians 
pursuant to 
Business and 
Professions Code 
§§ 2859-2873.6 
2873.7 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1–i: 
Page 111 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: NEW Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
  

As appropriate, a 
business l icense 
as required by the 
local jurisdiction 
where the 
business is 
located. 

  

Verification of Provider Qualifications (For each provider type listed above. Copy rows as needed): 
Provider Type 

(Specify): 
Entity Responsible for Verification 

(Specify): 
Frequency of Verification 

(Specify): 

Business entity Regional centers, through the vendorization process, 
verify providers meet requirements/qualifications 
outlined in Title 17, CCR, § 54310 including the 
following, as applicable: any license, credential, 
registration, certificate, permit, or academic degree 
required for the performance or operation of the 
service; the staff qualifications and duty statements; 
and service design. 

Verified upon application for 
vendorization and biennially 
thereafter. 

Service Delivery Method. (Check each that applies): 

 Participant-directed  Provider managed 
 
 
 
 

2.  Policies Concerning Payment for State plan HCBS Furnished by Relatives, Legally Responsible 
Individuals, and Legal Guardians. (By checking this box the state assures that): There are policies 
pertaining to payment the state makes to qualified persons furnishing State plan HCBS, who are relatives 
of the individual. There are additional policies and controls if the state makes payment to qualified legally 
responsible individuals or legal guardians who provide State Plan HCBS. (Specify (a) who may be paid to 
provide State plan HCBS; (b) the specific State plan HCBS that can be provided; (c) how the state ensures 
that the provision of services by such persons is in the best interest of the individual; (d) the state’s 
strategies for ongoing monitoring of services provided by such persons; (e) the controls to ensure that 
payments are made only for services rendered; and (f) if legally responsible individuals may provide 
personal care or similar services, the policies to determine and ensure that the services are extraordinary 
(over and above that which would ordinarily be provided by a legally responsible individual): 

Any of the services identified in the 1915(i) section of the State Plan may be provided by a recipient’s 
relative/legal guardian if the relative/legal guardian meets all specified provider qualifications. The 
selection of the relative/legal guardian as a provider will only be done pursuant to applicable law and 
the assessment and person-centered planning process. Regional centers will monitor, with DHCS and 
DDS oversight and monitoring, service provision and payment. 
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Definition: Participant-direction means self-direction of services per §1915(i)(1)(G)(iii). 
1. Election of Participant-Direction. (Select one): 

 

The state does not offer opportunity for participant-direction of State plan HCBS. 

 Every participant in State plan HCBS (or the participant’s representative) is afforded the 
opportunity to elect to direct services. Alternate service delivery methods are available for 
participants who decide not to direct their services. 

 Participants in State plan HCBS (or the participant’s representative) are afforded the opportunity 
to direct some or all of their services, subject to criteria specified by the state. (Specify criteria): 
Participants who receive respite, financial management services, community-based training 
services, family support services, skilled nursing or non-medical transportation have the 
opportunity to direct those services.

2. Description of Participant-Direction. (Provide an overview of the opportunities for participant-direction 
under the State plan HCBS, including: (a) the nature of the opportunities afforded; (b) how participants 
may take advantage of these opportunities; (c) the entities that support individuals who direct their 
services and the supports that they provide; and, (d) other relevant information about the approach to 
participant-direction): 

3. Limited Implementation of Participant-Direction. (Participant direction is a mode of service delivery, not 
a Medicaid service, and so is not subject to statewideness requirements. Select one): 

 

 Participant direction is available in all geographic areas in which State plan HCBS are available. 

 Participant-direction is available only to individuals who reside in the following geographic areas 
or political subdivisions of the state. Individuals who reside in these areas may elect self- 

Participant-Direction of Services 

In support of personal control over supports and services, self-direction is an option that enables 
participants to procure their own services. Self-direction of services empowers participants and 
families by giving them direct control over how and when the services are provided. As an 
alternative to only receiving services from regional center vendors, families and consumers will have 
decision-making authority and the freedom to directly control who provides their services and how 
they are provided. 
For those participants who receive respite, financial management services, family support services, 
skilled nursing, non-medical transportation, and/or community-based training services identified as a 
need in their IPP, the opportunity to self-direct those services will be offered at the time of the IPP 
development. As required by Title 17, CCR section 58886, when the decision to self-direct services is 
made, the regional center is required to provide the consumer/family member with information 
regarding their responsibilities and functions, as either an employer or co-employer. 
For those selecting to self-direct the indicated services, a Financial Management Service (FMS) 
provider, vendored by the regional center, will perform selected administrative functions such as 
payroll, taxes, unemployment insurance, etc. This relieves the participant of the burden of these 
administrative functions while still having the freedom to exercise decision making authority over 
the provision of services. 
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 directed service delivery options offered by the state, or may choose instead to receive 
comparable services through the benefit’s standard service delivery methods that are in effect 
in all geographic areas in which State plan HCBS are available. (Specify the areas of the state 
affected by this option): 

 

4. Participant-Directed Services. (Indicate the State plan HCBS that may be participant-directed and the 
authority offered for each. Add lines as required): 

 

Participant-Directed Service Employer 
Authority 

Budget 
Authority

Respite   
Community-Based Training Services 

Skilled Nursing   
Non-Medical Transportation   
Family Support Services   
Financial Management Services   

5. Financial Management. (Select one) : 
 

Financial Management is not furnished. Standard Medicaid payment mechanisms are used. 

 Financial Management is furnished as a Medicaid administrative activity necessary for 
administration of the Medicaid State plan. 

6. Participant–Directed Person-Centered Service Plan. (By checking this box the state assures that): 
Based on the independent assessment required under 42 CFR §441.720, the individualized person- 
centered service plan is developed jointly with the individual, meets federal requirements at 42 CFR 
§441.725, and: 
 Specifies the State plan HCBS that the individual will be responsible for directing; 
 Identifies the methods by which the individual will plan, direct or control services, including whether 

the individual will exercise authority over the employment of service providers and/or authority over 
expenditures from the individualized budget; 

 Includes appropriate risk management techniques that explicitly recognize the roles and sharing of 
responsibilities in obtaining services in a self-directed manner and assures the appropriateness of this 
plan based upon the resources and support needs of the individual; 

 Describes the process for facilitating voluntary and involuntary transition from self-direction including 
any circumstances under which transition out of self-direction is involuntary. There must be state 
procedures to ensure the continuity of services during the transition from self-direction to other 
service delivery methods; and 

• Specifies the financial management supports to be provided. 
 

7. Voluntary and Involuntary Termination of Participant-Direction. (Describe how the state facilitates an 
individual’s transition from participant-direction, and specify any circumstances when transition is 
involuntary): 
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8. Opportunities for Participant-Direction 
a. Participant–Employer Authority (individual can select, manage, and dismiss State plan HCBS 

providers). (Select one): 
The state does not offer opportunity for participant-employer authority. 

Participants may elect participant-employer Authority (Check each that applies):
Participant/Co-Employer. The participant (or the participant’s representative) functions as 
the co-employer (managing employer) of workers who provide waiver services. An agency is 
the common law employer of participant-selected/recruited staff and performs necessary 
payroll and human resources functions. Supports are available to assist the participant in 
conducting employer-related functions. 
Participant/Common Law Employer. The participant (or the participant’s representative) is 
the common law employer of workers who provide waiver services. An IRS-approved 
Fiscal/Employer Agent functions as the participant’s agent in performing payroll and other 
employer responsibilities that are required by federal and state law. Supports are available 
to assist the participant in conducting employer-related functions. 

 

b. Participant–Budget Authority (individual directs a budget that does not result in payment for 
medical assistance to the individual). (Select one): 

The state does not offer opportunity for participants to direct a budget. 

 
Participants may elect Participant–Budget Authority. 
Participant-Directed Budget. (Describe in detail the method(s) that are used to establish the 
amount of the budget over which the participant has authority, including the method for 
calculating the dollar values in the budget based on reliable costs and service utilization, is applied 
consistently to each participant, and is adjusted to reflect changes in individual assessments and 
service plans. Information about these method(s) must be made publicly available and included in 
the person-centered service plan.): 

Participants may choose to switch to non-participant-directed services at any time. A planning team 
meeting is held to update the IPP, and the case manager facilitates the transition and assures no break 
in service. 

Participant direction of services may be involuntarily terminated when the regional center determines 
the individual’s health and safety is not being supported or when the delivery of services cannot be 
verified. When there is a disagreement with the change in service delivery, the individual is provided 
with a Notice of Proposed Action and notified of their Fair Hearing rights. Regardless of the reason for 
termination of participant-direction, a planning team meeting is held to update the individual 
program plan and facilitate the transition from participant-direction to prevent a break in 
services. 
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Expenditure Safeguards. (Describe the safeguards that have been established for the timely 
prevention of the premature depletion of the participant-directed budget or to address potential 
service delivery problems that may be associated with budget underutilization and the entity (or 
entities) responsible for implementing these safeguards. 
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Quality Measures 

(Describe the state’s quality improvement strategy. For each requirement, and lettered sub-requirement, 
complete the table below): 

1. Service plans: 

(a) address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants; 
(b) are updated annually; and 
(c) document choice of services and providers. 

2. Eligibility Requirements: 

(a) an evaluation for 1915(i) State plan HCBS eligibility is provided to all applicants for whom 
there is reasonable indication that 1915(i) services may be needed in the future; 

(b) the processes and instruments described in the approved state plan for determining 1915(i) 
eligibility are applied appropriately; and 

(c) the 1915(i) benefit eligibility of enrolled individuals is reevaluated at least annually or if 
more frequent, as specified in the approved state plan for 1915(i) HCBS. 

3. Qualified Provider: Providers meet required qualifications. 
 

4. Settings meet the home and community-based setting requirements as specified in this SPA and in 
accordance with 42 CFR 441.710(a)(1) and (2). 

 
5. Administrative Authority: The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 

oversight. 
 

6. Financial Accountability: The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified providers. 

 
7. Health and Welfare - The state: 

(a) identifies, addresses, and seeks to prevent incidents of abuse, neglect, exploitation, and 
unexplained death; 

(b) demonstrates that an incident management system is in place that effectively resolves those 
incidents and prevents further similar incidents to the extent possible; 

(c) ensures policies and procedures for the use or prohibition of restrictive interventions 
(including restraints and seclusion) are followed; 

(d) establishes overall health care standards and monitors those standards based on the 
responsibility of the service provider as stated in the approved waiver. 

(Table repeats for each measure for each requirement and lettered sub-requirement above.) 

Quality Improvement Strategy 
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Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 

Number and percent of reviewed individual program plans (IPPs) that adequately 
addressed all the consumers’ assessed needs. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs reviewed that addressed all assessed needs 

 Denominator: Total number of consumer IPPs reviewed 
Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency  

(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed 

 
 

Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of consumer IPPs that addressed all the consumer’s 
identified health needs and safety risks. 

Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs reviewed that addressed all the consumer’s 
identified health needs and safety risks 
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  Denominator: Total number of consumer IPPs reviewed that had identified health 
needs and safety risks 

Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence Number and percent of consumer IPPs that addressed all the consumer’s goals. 

(Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs reviewed that addressed all the consumer’s 
goals 

 Denominator: Total number of consumer IPPs reviewed 
Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring DDS and DHCS 
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 Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence Number and percent of consumer IPPs that were revised, when needed, to 

address changing needs. 
(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs that were revised to address change in 

consumer needs 
 Denominator: Number of consumer records reviewed that indicated a revision to 

IPP was necessary to address changing need 
Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
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 Remediation 
Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 

Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence Number and percent of consumers who received services, including the type, 

scope, amount, duration and frequency, specifically identified in the IPP. 
(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of consumers who received services that matched the 

services identified in the IPPs 
 Denominator: Total number of consumer IPPs reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency As needed. 
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 (of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 1(a) Service plans address assessed needs of 1915(i) participants 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 

Number and percent of consumer IPPs developed in accordance with State 
policies and procedures. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs developed in accordance with State 

policies and procedures 
 Denominator: Total number of IPPs reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 1(b) Service plans are updated annually. 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 

Number and percent of consumer IPPs that were reviewed or revised at required 
intervals (at least annually). 
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 (Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator: Number of consumer IPPs that were reviewed or revised at required 
intervals 

 Denominator: Total number of IPPs reviewed that indicated a review or revision 
was required. 

Discovery 
Activity Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 1(c) Service plans document choice of services and providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of IPPs that that are signed by the consumer/parent/legal 

representative indicating agreement with the services and providers identified in 
the IPP. 

Numerator: Number of IPPs that are signed by the consumer/parent/legal 
representative indicating agreement with the services and providers. 

Denominator: Total number of consumer IPPs reviewed 
Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
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 (Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 2(a) 
An evaluation for 1915(i) state plan HCBS eligibility is provided to all applicants 
for whom there is reasonable indication that 1915(i) services may be needed in 
the future. 

Discovery 
 Discovery Number and percent of applicants with a timely needs-based evaluation prior to 

Evidence 1915(i) enrollment 
(Performance Numerator: Number of applicants with a timely needs-based evaluation prior to 
Measure) 1915(i) enrollment 

 Denominator: Total number of 1915(i) applicants 
Discovery DDS Client Master File 
Activity  

(Source of Data  

& sample size)  

Monitoring DDS and DHCS 
Responsibilities  

(Agency or  

entity that  

conducts  

discovery  

activities)  
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 Frequency Annually 

Remediation 
 Remediation DDS and DHCS 

Responsibilities  

(Who corrects,  

analyzes, and  

aggregates  

remediation  

activities;  

required  

timeframes for  

remediation)  

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and  

Aggregation)  

 
 

Requirement 2(b) The processes and instruments described in the approved state plan for 
determining 1915(i) eligibility are applied appropriately 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of needs-based evaluation conducted utilizing the processes 
and instruments outlined in the 1915(i) SPA. 
Numerator: Number of consumer records reviewed that documented the needs- 
based evaluation utilizing the processes and instruments outlined in the approved 
1915 (i) SPA 
Denominator: Total number of consumer records reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data 
& sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or 
entity that 
conducts 
discovery 
activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 

DDS and DHCS 
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 aggregates  
remediation 
activities; 
required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 
Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and  

Aggregation)  

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Requirement 2(c) 

The 1915(i) benefit eligibility of enrolled individuals is reevaluated at least 
annually or if more frequent, as specified in the approved state plan for 1915(i) 
HCBS. 

 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of consumers that were reevaluated for 1915(i) benefit 
eligibility 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: number of consumers that were reevaluated for eligibility at required 

intervals (at least annually) 
 Denominator: total number of consumers that required a reevaluation for 1915(i) 

benefit eligibility 

Discovery 
Activity Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 

DDS and DHCS 
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 remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed 

 

Requirement 3 Providers meet required qualifications. 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 

Number and percent of licensed providers that initially and continually meet all 
required standards prior to furnishing 1915(i) services 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of licensed providers that initially and continually meet all 

required standards prior to furnishing 1915(i) services 
 Denominator: Number of all licensed 1915(i) providers reviewed. 

Discovery 
Activity 

Review of Vendor Master File records that indicate regional center verification of 
provider qualifications 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Monthly 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 3 Providers meet required qualifications. 
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Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of non-licensed/non-certified providers that initially and 
continually meet all required standards prior to furnishing 1915(i) services. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of non-licensed/non-certified providers who initially and 

continually meet all required standards prior to furnishing 1915(i) services 
 Denominator: Number of all non-licensed/non-certified 1915(i) providers 

reviewed. 
Discovery 
Activity Review of Vendor Master File records that indicate regional center verification of 

provider qualifications 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Monthly 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 3 Providers meet required qualifications. 
Discovery 

 Discovery 
Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of providers licensed by the Department of Social Services 
(DSS) that initially and continually meet all required standards prior to furnishing 
1915(i) services. 

Numerator: Number of DSS licensed providers that initially and continually meet 
all required standards prior to furnishing 1915(i) services. 

Denominator: Total number of 1915(i) providers licensed by DSS reviewed. 
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 Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

DSS and Facilities Automated System 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

DSS 

Frequency Annually 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 3 Providers meet required qualifications. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of direct support professionals (DSPs) that successfully 
complete 70 hours of competency-based training within two years of hire. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of DSPs who successfully complete the training 

 Denominator: Number of DSPs who are required to take the training 
Discovery 
Activity 

Review of Direct Service Professional (DSP) Training Program report 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Annually 
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Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 4 Settings meet the home and community-based setting requirements as specified 
in this SPA and in accordance with 42 CFR 441.710(a)(1) and (2). 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of settings that meet the HCBS settings requirements. 
Numerator: Number of settings that meet the HCBS settings requirements 
Denominator: Number of settings reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data 
& sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or 
entity that 
conducts 
discovery 
activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; 
required 

DDS and DHCS 
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 timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 
 

Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of policies and procedures reviewed by the Medicaid Agency 
found to be compliant. (Consolidated Measure across all HCBS programs) 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number and percent of policies and procedures reviewed by the 

Medicaid Agency found to be in compliance 
 Denominator: Number of policies and procedures reviewed by the Medicaid 

Agency 
Discovery 
Activity 

Review of policies and procedures to ensure compliance with federal 
commitment/requirements. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Continuous and Ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 
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Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of required coordination meetings conducted between the 
Medicaid Agency, DDS and DSS (as required). 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of coordination meetings conducted between the Medicaid 

Agency, DDS and DSS as required 
 Denominator: Total number of planned coordination meetings 

Discovery 
Activity 

Notes resulting from meetings between the Medicaid Agency, DDS and DSS 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS, DHCS, and DSS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency At least quarterly. 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS, DHCS, and DSS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of oversight/monitoring meetings conducted between DDS 
and the Medicaid Agency. (Consolidated Measure across all HCBS programs) 

Numerator: Number of required oversight/monitoring meetings conducted 
between DDS and the Medicaid Agency 

Denominator: Number of planned oversight meetings 
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 Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Notes from oversight/monitoring meets, conducted between Medicaid Agency 
and DDS 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency At least semi-annually 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of DDS Quality Management Executive Committee (QMEC) 
Meetings conducted. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number and percent of required oversight/monitoring meetings 

conducted between DDS and the Medicaid Agency 
 Denominator: Number of planned oversight meetings 

Discovery 
Activity 

Notes from oversight/monitoring meets, conducted between Medicaid Agency 
and DDS 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 



State: California 
TN: 21-0002 
Effective October 1, 2021 

§1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 3.1-i: 
Page 133 

 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: NEW Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

 
 

 Frequency At least semi-annually 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of DDS invoices reviewed to ensure expenditures are 
managed against approved limits. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator = number of DDS invoices reviewed to ensure expenditures are 

managed against approved limits. 
 Denominator = total number of invoices submitted by DDS. 

Discovery 
Activity DDS Invoices 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency  

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 

DDS and DHCS 
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 remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 

Requirement 5 
The SMA retains authority and responsibility for program operations and 
oversight. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number of oversight/monitoring review reports reviewed by DHCS. 

(Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator = number of reports submitted to and reviewed by DHCS. 
Denominator = total number of reports submitted to DHCS. 

 Record reviews conducted during state’s biennial collaborative HCBS waiver 
monitoring reviews. 

Discovery 
Activity Record reviews conducted during state’s biennial collaborative HCBS waiver 

monitoring reviews. 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 
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Requirement 6 

The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 
reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 

reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan 
 Denominator: Total number of claims reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity Audits of Regional Center. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Stratified random sampling methodology is used. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

 
Requirement 6 

The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 
reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan. 
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 (Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator: Number of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 
reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan 

 Denominator: Total number of claims reviewed 
Discovery 
Activity 

Audits of vendors. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Sample consists of randomly selected vendors with expenditures over $100,000 or 
upon referral 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Continuous and Ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 6 
The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 
reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of claims coded and paid in accordance with the 

reimbursement methodology in the approved State Plan 
 Denominator: Total number of claims reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity Audits of vendors. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Sample consists of no less than 4% of the total number of vendors in specified 
services categories for which payments in the prior year were $100,000 or less 
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 Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

Regional Centers 

Frequency Continuous and Ongoing. 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency  

(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 
 

Requirement 6 
The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of claims paid in accordance with the consumer’s authorized 
services. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of and percent of claims paid in accordance with consumer’s 

authorized services 
 Denominator: Total number of claims paid for participants were reviewed 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
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 Remediation 
Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 
 

Requirement 6 
The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of funds identified in DDS fiscal audits for repayment to CMS 
within 12 months of final audit report. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Dollar amount of funds identified for repayment by DDS audits that 

were repaid to CMS within 12 months of final audit report 
 Denominator: Total dollar amount identified for repayment to CMS 

Discovery 
Activity 

DDS fiscal audit recovery payments system 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Continuously and Ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS and DHCS 
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 Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 
 

 
Requirement 6 

The SMA maintains financial accountability through payment of claims for 
services that are authorized and furnished to 1915(i) participants by qualified 
providers. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of claims paid at the approved service rate 

(Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator = Number of claims paid at the approved service rate. 
Denominator = Total number of claims reviewed. 

Discovery 
Activity 

 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

DDS Audits of regional center claims 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Continuously and ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 
 

Requirement 7(a) 
The state identifies, addresses, and seeks to prevent incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and unexplained death. 

Discovery 
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 Discovery 
Evidence Number and percent of special incidents reported within required timeframes. 

(Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator: Number of special incidents reported within required timeframe 
Denominator: Number of special incidents reported 

Discovery 
Activity Review of Special Incident Report database 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and Regional Centers 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Monthly 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and Regional Centers 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 7(a) 
Identifies, addresses, and seeks to prevent incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and unexplained death. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of special incidents reported within required timeframes. 

(Performance 
Measure) 

Numerator: Number of special incidents reported within required timeframe 
Denominator: Number of special incidents reported 

Discovery 
Activity 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS and Regional Centers 
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 (Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and Regional Centers 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 
 

Requirement 7(a) Identifies, addresses, and seeks to prevent incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and unexplained death 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Percent of incidents of abuse, neglect, exploitation, and unexplained death. 

Numerator: Number of consumers without reported incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and unexplained death 

Denominator: Number of consumers on 1915(i) 
Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data 
& sample size) 

Review of Special Incident Report database 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or 
entity that 
conducts 
discovery 
activities) 

DDS/ Regional Centers 

Frequency Continuously and ongoing 

Remediation 
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 Remediation 
Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; 
required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS/Regional Centers 

Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed 

 
 
 

Requirement 7(a) Identifies, addresses, and seeks to prevent incidents of abuse, neglect, 
exploitation, and unexplained death 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Percent of substantiated abuse, neglect, exploitation and unexplained death 
incidents that were referred to appropriate investigative entities (e.g., Law 
Enforcement, APS / CPS) for follow-up. 

Numerator: Number of substantiated abuse, neglect, exploitation and 
unexplained death incidents that were referred to appropriate investigative 
entities (e.g., Law Enforcement, APS / CPS) for follow-up 

Denominator: Number of substantiated abuse, neglect, exploitation and 
unexplained death incidents that required a referral to investigative entities (e.g., 
Law Enforcement, APS / CPS) for follow-up 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data 
& sample size) 

Review of Special Incident Report database 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or 
entity that 
conducts 
discovery 
activities) 

DDS/ Regional Centers 

Frequency Continuously and ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS/Regional Centers 
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 (Who corrects,  
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; 
required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 
Frequency As needed 
(of Analysis and  

Aggregation)  

 
 

 
Requirement 7(b) 

The state demonstrates that an incident management system is in place that 
effectively resolves those incidents and prevents further similar incidents to the 
extent possible. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of special incidents for which appropriate actions were 
taken. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of special incidents report that documented appropriate 

actions were taken 
 Denominator: Number of incidents reported 

Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

DDS and DHCS 
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 Frequency 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

As needed. 

 
 

 
Requirement 7(b) 

The state demonstrates that an incident management system is in place that 
effectively resolves those incidents and prevents further similar incidents to the 
extent possible. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
Number and percent of special incidents for which appropriate actions were 
taken. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of special incidents report that documented appropriate 

actions were taken 
 Denominator: Number of incidents reported 

Discovery 
Activity Review of special incident report data 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 

DDS and DHCS 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Continuously and ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 
 

Requirement 7(c) 
Ensures policies and procedures for the use or prohibition of restrictive 
interventions (including restraints and seclusion) are followed. 
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Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence Number and percent of instances in which state policies regarding restrictive 
intervention were followed. 

(Performance 
Measure) Numerator: Number of special incidents reported on the use of restrictive 

intervention in which state policies were followed 
 Denominator: Number of special incidents reported on the use of restrictive 

interventions 
Discovery 
Activity Review of special incident report data 

(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities DDS, Regional Centers and independent risk management contractor 

(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

 

Frequency Monthly and continuously ongoing 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS, Regional Centers and independent risk management contractor 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 

 

 

Requirement 7(d) 
Establishes overall health care standards and monitors those standards based 
on the responsibility of the service provider as stated in the approved waiver. 

Discovery 
 Discovery 

Evidence 
(Performance 
Measure) 

Number and percent of consumers whose special health care requirements or 
safety needs are met. 

Numerator: Number of consumers whose special health care requirements or 
safety needs are met 

Denominator: Total number of consumers reviewed with special health care 
requirements 
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 Discovery 
Activity 
(Source of Data & 
sample size) 

Record reviews conducted during biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

A random sample of IPPs will be reviewed to ensure all requirements are met. The 
sample size will represent a 95% confidence level with no more than a 5% margin 
of error. 

Monitoring 
Responsibilities 
(Agency or entity 
that conducts 
discovery activities) 

DDS and DHCS 

Frequency Biennially 

Remediation 
 Remediation 

Responsibilities 
DDS and DHCS 

(Who corrects, 
analyzes, and 
aggregates 
remediation 
activities; required 
timeframes for 
remediation) 

 

Frequency As needed. 
(of Analysis and 
Aggregation) 
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System Improvement 
(Describe the process for systems improvement as a result of aggregated discovery and remediation activities.) 

 
1. Methods for Analyzing Data and Prioritizing Need for System Improvement 

 
 

The following describes State's quality management framework which starts with establishing clear 
expectations for performance (design), collecting and analyzing data to determine if the expectations 
are 
met (discovery), and finally, taking steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services 
(remediation and improvement). 

 

Because the 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver are provided under the same service delivery system, a 
consolidated Quality Improvement Strategy (QIS) is appropriate for gathering data for some 
performance measures. For example, providers serve both populations and have the same mandates 
under both programs. Additionally, expenditures occur simultaneously, and fiscal oversight 
requirements are the same for both programs. Therefore, as indicated in the QIS tables above and 
referenced below, the quality reporting for some measurements in these areas will be the same for 
both the 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver while other measurements will reflect data specific to the 1915(i). 

 

Service Plans or individual program plans (IPPs) 
Performance expectations (design) in this area include: 

• Service plans must address all participants' assessed needs (including health and safety risk 
factors) and personal goals. 

• Service plans are reviewed at least annually and updated/revised when warranted by changes 
in the participant's needs. 

• Services are delivered in the type, scope, amount, duration, and frequency in accordance with 
the service plan. 

• Participants are afforded choice of qualified providers. 
 

Data collected (discovery) to determine if expectations are met includes: 
• DDS and DHCS conduct biennial monitoring reviews of a random sample of service recipient 

records to ensure service plans meet the expectations identified above. Monitoring will be 
completed over a two year period with reports produced after reviewing each geographical 
region (regional center). The statewide sample size will produce results with a 95% confidence 
level and no more than 5% margin of error. For example, with an estimated 40,000 recipients, 
the sample size would be 381. For this performance measure, the quality reports for the 1915(i) 
an1915(c) Waiver will reflect data exclusive to each program. 

• The recipient survey portion of the recently revised Client Development and Evaluation Report 
(CDER) includes questions regarding the recipient's satisfaction with services. 

• Annually, all recipients receive a statement of services and supports purchased by the regional 
center for the purpose of determining if services were delivered. 

 

Steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services (remediation and improvement) include: 
• Regional centers are required to submit plans to correct all issues identified in the biennial 

monitoring conducted by DDS and DHCS. These plans are reviewed and approved by the State. 
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• The data from the monitoring reviews allows for identification of trends in a particular area (e.g. 
specific requirement or geographical area). 

• If any of the monitoring reviews result in a significant level of compliance issues, a follow-up 
review will be scheduled to evaluate the progress of the corrective actions taken in response to 
the previous monitoring review. 

• Extra training and/or monitoring is provided if issues are not remediated or improvement is not 
shown. 

• DDS' Quality Management Executive Committee (QMEC), also attended by DHCS management, 
meets at least semi-annually to review data regarding service recipients, explore issues or 
concerns that may require intervention, and develop strategies and/or interventions for 
improved outcomes. 

 

Qualified Providers 
Performance expectations (design) in this area include: 

• DDS sets qualifications for providers through the regulatory process. 
• Regional centers, through the vendorization process, verify that each provider meets the 

required qualifications (e.g. license, program design, staff qualifications) prior to services being 
rendered. 

• DDS developed and funds the Direct Support Professional (DSP) Training program. This is a 70 
• hour, competency-based program mandatory for all direct service staff working in licensed 

residential facilities. The program is based upon minimum core competencies staff must have to 
ensure the health and safety of individuals being served. 

• DSS-CCLD is responsible for licensing community care facilities and establishes qualifications for 
providers. Administrators and applicants/licensees (sometimes one and the same) are required 
to take a 35-hour course from an approved trainer and pass a written test with a score of 70 
percent or above to be a qualified administrator/licensee. There is a two-year re-certification 
requirement where they need to take an additional 35 hours of training. For each application, 
they must have a training plan in their facility operational plan for each of the new and 
continuing staff working in a community care facility. 

 

Data collected (discovery) to determine if expectations are met includes: 
Providers serve both 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver populations simultaneously and are required to meet 
the same requirements under both programs. Since providers don't exclusively serve one population or 
the other, it is not practical to separately collect data for PMs related to qualified providers. Therefore, 
the quality report for the 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver will include the same data. 

 

• As part of the established biennial DDS/DHCS oversight activities, monitoring of service 
providers is conducted. Included in this review, service providers and direct support 
professionals are interviewed to determine that they are: knowledgeable regarding the care 
needs on the individual's plan of care for which they are responsible and that these services are 
being delivered; knowledgeable of and responsive to the health and safety/well-being needs of 
the consumer(s); and aware of their responsibilities for risk mitigation and reporting. 

• An additional component of the established biennial DHCS/DDS monitoring is a review of 
settings to verify compliance with the HCBS settings requirements. DSS-CCLD monitors all 
licensed community care facilities to identify compliance issues. Facilities are reviewed to 
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determine compliance with regulations regarding provision of services, health and safety and 
provider qualifications. 

• DSP training data is used to not only identify the success rate of staff taking the course, but also 
in what form (e.g. through classroom setting or challenge test) the course was taken and what 
areas (written test or skills check) caused failure for those who did not pass the course. 

• Regional centers also monitor each licensed residential community care facility annually to 
verify or identify any issues with program implementation. 

• Special incident report data allows for identification of trends with individual providers or types 
of providers. 

 

Steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services (remediation and improvement) include: 
• Regional centers are required to submit plans to correct all issues identified in the biennial 

monitoring conducted by DDS and DHCS. These plans are reviewed and approved by the State. 
• Any DSS-CCLD monitoring visit that results in a finding of non-compliance results in the 

development of a plan of correction. This requires follow-up by DSS-CCLD staff to verify that 
corrections were made. 

• Issues identified during monitoring visits by regional centers may result in the need to develop a 
corrective action plan which details the issues identified and the steps needed to resolve the 
issues. The results of these reviews, as well as data from the special incident report system, are 
used to identify trends with individual or types of providers which may then result in focused or 
widespread training or other remediation measures. 

• DDS' Quality Management Executive Committee (QMEC), also attended by DHCS management, 
meets at least semi-annually to review data regarding service recipients, explore issues or 
concerns that may require intervention, and develop strategies and/or interventions for 
improved outcomes. As an example, data from the special incident report system and analysis 
by the State's independent risk management contractor indicated that the second largest cause 
of unplanned hospitalizations was due to psychiatric admissions. In response, the QMEC 
approved the implementation of skill checks within challenge tests. The skill checks now require 
staff to demonstrate proficiency in the proper method of assisting individuals in the self- 
administration of medications. 

 

SMA Programmatic Authority 
Performance expectations (design) in this area include: 

• DHCS and DDS conduct biennial monitoring reviews of a random sample of service recipient 
records to ensure service plans meet expectations. 

• DHCS reviews and approves reports developed as a result of these monitoring visits. 
• DHCS negotiates approval and amendment requests for the interagency agreement with DDS to 

ensure consistency with federal requirements. 
• DHCS approves Section 1915(i) related policies and procedures that are developed by DDS to 

ensure consistency with federal requirements. 
• DHCS participates, as necessary, in training to regional centers and providers regarding Section 

1915(i) policies and procedures. 
• DHCS, in conjunction with DDS and DSS-CCLD, holds quarterly meetings. The purpose of these 

meetings is to discuss issues applicable to licensed providers (community care facilities, day 
programs) 
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• DHCS participates in the DDS Quality Management Executive Committee. The purpose of these 
meetings is to review data regarding service recipients, explore issues or concerns that may 
require intervention, and develop strategies and/or interventions for improved outcomes. 

 

Data collected (discovery) to determine if expectations are met includes: 
• Results from the biennial monitoring reviews, conducted by DHCS and DDS, of a random sample 

of service recipient records to ensure service plans meet the expectations identified previously.  
For this performance measure, the quality reports for the 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver will reflect 
data exclusive to each program. 

• Documentation of DHCS approval of monitoring or other required reports. Monitoring reports 
will also include approved plans submitted in response to findings by DHCS and DDS. 

• Evidence of training provided as a result of findings from DHCS and DDS monitoring reviews. 
• Minutes from meetings DHCS participates in documenting issues discussed and resolution 

activities planned. 
 

Steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services (remediation and improvement) include: 
• Regional centers are required to submit plans to correct all issues identified in the biennial 

monitoring conducted by DHCS and DDS. These plans are reviewed and approved by the State. 
• If any of the monitoring reviews result in a significant level of compliance issues, a follow-up 

review will be scheduled to evaluate the progress of the corrective actions taken in response to 
the previous monitoring review. 

• Extra training and/or monitoring is provided if issues are not remediated or improvement is not 
shown. 

 

SMA Maintains Financial Accountability 
Performance expectations (design) in this area include: 
• DHCS reviews a sample of working papers prepared by DDS audit staff of the biennial fiscal audits. 
These fiscal audits are designed to wrap around the required annual independent CPA audit of each 
regional center. 
• DHCS also annually reviews a sample of audits conducted of service providers. 
• DHCS ensures recipients are eligible for Medi-Cal prior to claims being made. 
• DHCS maintains invoice tracking, payment and reconciliation processes. 

 

Data collected (discovery) to determine if expectations are met includes: 
• Results of the audit reviews identify fiscal compliance issues. Electronic records and hard copy 
reports (as needed) are generated identifying recipients eligible for claiming. 
• Tracking logs verify consistency between invoices, payments and funding authority. 

 

Steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services (remediation and improvement) include: 
• DHCS monitors and provides consultation as necessary regarding corrective actions and follow-up 
activities resulting from regional center and vendor audits. All issues identified in the audits include 
corrective action plans which may include policy revisions or repayments if necessary. 
• DHCS works with DDS to resolve issues, if any, with identifying Medi-Cal eligibility of 
recipients. 

 

Risk Mitigation 
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• Performance expectations (design) in this area include: Service plans must address all participants’ 
assessed needs (including health and safety risk factors) and personal goals. 
• DDS, through the regulatory process, has identified requirements for service providers and regional 
centers regarding reporting of special incidents. Providers must report all special incidents to the 
regional center within 24 hours. Subsequently, regional centers must report special incidents to DDS 
within two working days. 
• DDS has implemented an automated special incident report (SIR) database which allows complex 
analysis of multiple factors to identify trends and provide feedback to regional centers. 
• DDS provides data from the SIR database to the State’s independent risk management contractor for 
further analysis. 
• Regional centers must transmit SIRs, including the outcomes and preventative actions taken, to DDS 
as well as local licensing offices and investigative agencies as appropriate. 
• Regional centers must develop and implement a risk management and prevention plan. 
• Regional centers are responsible for using data from the SIR database for identifying trends that 
require follow-up. 
• The State’s independent risk management contractor is responsible for reviewing and analyzing DDS 
SIR data to identify statewide, regional and local trends requiring action. This includes defining 
indicators of problems requiring further inquiry. Additionally, the contractor performs ongoing review 
and analysis of the research and current literature with respect to preventing accidents, injuries and 
other adverse incidents. 

 

Data collected (discovery) to determine if expectations are met includes: 
• DDS and DHCS conduct biennial monitoring reviews of a random sample of service recipient records 
to ensure service plans address health and safety risk factors. For this performance measure, the 
quality reports for the 1915(i) and 1915(c) Waiver will reflect data exclusive to each program. 
• Data from the SIR database includes recipient characteristics, risk factors, residence, responsible 
service provider and other relevant information. This data is updated daily and is available 
not only to DDS but also to regional centers for reviewing data of incidents in their area. 
• While the SIR database collects information on all reported special incidents, the State also reviews a 
sample of consumer records during the monitoring reviews as a secondary quality assurance measure. 
If a significant difference in results is noted between the two data sources, the State will take 
appropriate steps further analyze the reason for the discrepancies. These steps may include but are not 
limited to a review of an expanded sample of consumer records and/or a review of data entry accuracy. 
• The recipient survey portion of the CDER includes questions regarding the recipient’s feelings of 
safety, availability of assistance if needed, and access to medical care. 
• As part of the established biennial DDS/DHCS monitoring activities, information is gathered regarding 
the regional center’s risk management system. Additionally, information is obtained reflecting how 
the regional center is organized to provide clinical expertise and monitoring of individuals with health 
issues, as well as any improvement in access to preventative health care resources. 

 

Steps to correct deficiencies or improve processes and services (remediation and improvement) include: 
• Regional centers are required to submit plans to correct all issues identified in the biennial monitoring 
conducted by DDS and DHCS. These plans are reviewed and approved by the State. 
• If any of the monitoring reviews result in a significant level of compliance issues, a follow-up review 
will be scheduled to evaluate the progress of the corrective actions taken in response to the previous 
monitoring review. 
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2. Roles and Responsibilities 

• DDS uses data from the SIR database to identify compliance issues such as reporting timelines and 
notifications of other agencies if required. Contact is made with regional centers for correction. 
Training or technical assistance is provided if necessary. 
• Utilizing results of data analysis from the SIR database, the State’s risk management contractor 
conducts a variety of activities, including: develop and disseminate periodic reports and materials on 
best practices related to protecting and promoting the health, safety, and well-being of service 
recipients; provide on-site technical assistance to regional centers related to local risk management 
plans and activities; define indicators requiring further inquiry. 
• The risk management contractor also develops and maintains a website, (www.ddssafety.net) for 
recipients and their families, providers, professionals, and regional center staff. This web site is 
dedicated to the dissemination of information on the prevention and mitigation of risk factors for 
persons with developmental disabilities. The site includes information from across the nation on 
current research and best practices and practical information directed towards improving health and 
safety. 
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Service Plans or Individual Program Plans 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
 Regional Centers participate in monitoring review by supplying necessary information. 

 

Qualified Providers: 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews to verify compliance with 

performance measures identified above in box 1. 
 Department of Social Services (DSS) provides information to DDS as indicated above. 
 Regional Centers provide monitoring information as described above. 

 

Programmatic Accountability: 
 

 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
 DHCS provides oversight, review, and/or approval of items contained in box 1 above. 
 DHCS, DDS, and DSS conduct quarterly meetings regarding licensed providers. 

 

SMA maintains financial accountability: 
 DHCS reviews DDS audit information 
 DHCS verifies Medicaid eligibility 
 DHCS maintains appropriate documentation for invoicing, payment, and reconciliation of 

claims. 
 

Risk Mitigation: 
 

 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews 
 DDS establishes and maintains standards for reporting of special incidents and a database for 

identifying special incidents. 
 Providers report special incidents to Regional Centers 
 Regional Centers transmit special incidents to include follow-up activity as appropriate 
 DDS, via state independent risk management contractor, provides ongoing analysis of special 

incidents. 
 
 
 

3. Frequency 
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Service Plans or Individual Program Plans: 

 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 

 

Qualified Providers: 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews to verify compliance with 

performance measures identified above in box 1. 
 
 
Programmatic Accountability: 

 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
 DHCS, DDS, and DSS conduct quarterly meetings regarding licensed providers. 

 
SMA maintains financial accountability: 

 DHCS reviews DDS audit information via biennial working paper review and annual audit 
reviews 

 DHCS verifies Medicaid eligibility 
 DHCS maintains appropriate documentation for invoicing, payment, and reconciliation of 

claims. 
 
Risk Mitigation: 

 
 DHCS and DDS conduct biennial collaborative monitoring reviews. 
 Providers report special incidents to Regional Centers within 24 hours 
 Regional Centers transmit special incidents to include follow-up activity as appropriate within 

two working days 
 DDS, via state independent risk management contractor, provides ongoing analysis of special 

incidents. 
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4. Method for Evaluating Effectiveness of System Changes 
 

The States’ Quality Management Executive Committee is responsible for evaluating the effectiveness of 
system change by utilizing and analyzing the data points discussed previously including: 

 
• Regional centers are required to submit corrective action plans to correct all issues identified in 

the biennial monitoring conducted by DDS and DHCS. These plans are reviewed and approved by 
the State. 

• The data from the monitoring reviews allows for identification of trends in a particular area (e.g. 
specific requirement or geographical area). 

• If any of the monitoring reviews result in a significant level of compliance issues, a follow-up 
review will be scheduled to evaluate the progress of the corrective actions taken in response to 
the previous monitoring review. 

• Extra training and/or monitoring is provided if issues are not remediated or improvement is not 
shown. 

• DDS' Quality Management Executive Committee (QMEC), also attended by DHCS management, 
meets at least semi-annually to review data regarding service recipients, explore issues or 
concerns that may require intervention, and develop strategies and/or interventions for 
improved outcomes. 

• Any Department of Social Services – Community Care Licensing Division (DSS-CCLD) monitoring 
visit that results in a finding of non-compliance results in the development of a plan of 
correction. This requires follow-up by DSS-CCLD staff to verify that corrections were made. 

• DHCS monitors and provides consultation as necessary regarding corrective actions and follow- 
up activities resulting from regional center and vendor audits. All issues identified in the audits 
include corrective action plans which may include policy revisions or repayments if necessary. 
DHCS works with DDS to resolve issues, if any, with identifying Medi-Cal eligibility of recipients. 

• DDS uses data from the SIR database to identify compliance issues such as reporting timelines 
and notifications of other agencies if required. Contact is made with regional centers for 
correction. Training or technical assistance is provided if necessary. 

• Utilizing results of data analysis from the SIR database, the State’s risk management contractor 
conducts a variety of activities, including: develop and disseminate periodic reports and materials 
on best practices related to protecting and promoting the health, safety, and well-being of 
service recipients; provide on-site technical assistance to regional centers related to local risk 
management plans and activities; define indicators requiring further inquiry. 

• The risk management contractor also develops and maintains a website, (www.ddssafety.net) for 
recipients and their families, providers, professionals, and regional center staff. This web site is 
dedicated to the dissemination of information on the prevention and mitigation of risk factors for 
persons with developmental disabilities. The site includes information from across the nation on 
current research and best practices and practical information directed towards improving health 
and safety. 
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1. Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each optional service, describe 

the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate. (Check each that applies, and 
describe methods and standards to set rates): 

 

 HCBS Case Management 
 

HCBS Homemaker 
 

HCBS Home Health Aide 
 

HCBS Personal Care 
 

HCBS Adult Day Health 
Community Based Adult Services 
HCBS Habilitation 
Community Living Arrangement Services 
Day Services 
Behavioral Intervention Services 
HCBS Enhanced Habilitation 
Supported Employment 
Prevocational Services 
HCBS Respite Care 

 
For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services: 

  HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services 
 

 HCBS Psychosocial Rehabilitation 
 

 HCBS Clinic Services (whether or not furnished in a facility for CMI) 
 

Other Services (specify below) 

 HCBS Personal Emergency Response System 

 HCBS Vehicle Modification and Adaptation 
 HCBS Speech, Hearing, and Language Services 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 
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DESCRIPTION OF RATE METHODOLOGIES 

The following rate methodologies are utilized by multiple providers of the services contained in this SPA. 
The methodologies are described in this section and are referenced under the applicable individual services. 
Consistent with Attachment 3.1-i, pages 2-3, qualified providers of 1915i SPA services submit claims to the 
regional center for services delivered to the beneficiary, pursuant to the individual program plan. The 
regional center reviews the claim (units of service, rate, etc.), pays legitimate claims, and submits the claim 
of payment to Department of Developmental Services. 

 
Rates Set pursuant to a Cost Statement Methodology – Rates for providers who began providing services 
prior to July 1, 2004, were established based on twelve consecutive months of actual allowable costs divided 
by the actual total consumer utilization (days or hours) for the same period. The permanent cost based rate 
must be within the applicable upper and lower rate limits established by the Department of Developmental 
Services and found in the link below. Subsequent to July 1, 2004, rates for these providers and lower and 
upper rate limits are only adjusted when there is a change in statute. 

 
Pursuant to state law, providers who began providing services on or after July 1, 2004, are reimbursed at the 
fixed new vendor rate under the cost statement methodology. The rates are developed based on the service 
category, staff ratio, and are calculated as the mean of permanent cost-based rates for like providers 
established using the permanent costs-based rate methodology described above. 

 
Health and Safety Rate Exception 

 
Regardless of when a provider began providing services or their rate was originally established, if a regional 
center demonstrates an increase in an individual provider’s rate is necessary to protect a beneficiary’s health 
and safety needs, the Department of Developmental Services may authorize reimbursement at a rate up to 
the actual cost of providing the service, for as long as the need exists. In the process of establishing a rate 
under this exception, the regional center and department will utilize current cost data. Participant’s on-going 
health and safety needs are reviewed no less than quarterly. 

 
Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 can be found at the following link : https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp- 
content/uploads/2021/09/CBDP_IHRA_Rates_eff_10_1_21.pdf 

 
 

The following allowable costs used to calculate the permanent cost based rate: 
 

 Direct costs for covered services: Includes unallocated payroll costs and other unallocated cost 
that can be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct payroll costs include total 
compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of direct care staff. Other 
direct costs include costs directly related to the delivery of covered services, such as supervision, 
materials and supplies, professional and contracted services, capital outlay, and travel. For 
providers/facilities that are used for multiple purposes, the allowable costs are only those that are 
directly attributable to the provision of the medical services. 

 
 Indirect costs: Determined by applying the cognizant agency specific approved indirect cost rate 

to its net direct costs or derived from provider’s approved cost allocation plan. If a facility does 

HCBS Dental Services 
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not have a cognizant agency approved indirect cost rate or approved cost allocation plan, the costs 
and related basis used to determine the allocated indirect costs must be in accordance with 2 CFR 
200 as implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, (if applicable), Medicare Cost Principle (42 CFR 
413 and Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual Part 1 and Part 2) and in compliance with 
Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy.  For providers/facilities that are used for 
multiple purposes, the allowable costs are only those that are “directly attributable” to the 
professional component of providing the medical services. For those costs incurred that “benefit” 
multiple purposes but would be incurred at the same level if the medical services did not occur are 
not allowed. 

 
 

Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized funding for rate 
increases. Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 include rate increases of 8.2% (unless noted otherwise) for the 
provider types listed below. 

 
Habilitation-Day Services: 

 Adult Development Center 
 Behavior Management Program 

 
Respite Care: 

 In-Home Respite Agencies 
 

Additionally, Chapter 11, Statutes of 2020, Assembly Bill 79 of the 2020 Enacted Budget authorized DDS an 
8.2% rate increase for Independent Living Program in effect as of October 1, 2021. 

 
The applicable rate schedules are included in the descriptions of services below. 

 
Usual and Customary Rate Methodology – A usual and customary rate “means the rate which is regularly 
charged by a vendor for a service that is used by both regional center consumers and/or their families and 
where at least 30% of the recipients of the given service are not regional center consumers or their families. If 
more than one rate is charged for a given service, the rate determined to be the usual and customary rate for 
a regional center consumer and/or family shall not exceed whichever rate is regularly charged to members of 
the general public who are seeking the service for an individual with a developmental disability who is not a 
regional center consumer, and any difference between the two rates must be for extra services provided and 
not imposed as a surcharge to cover the cost of measures necessary for the vendor to achieve compliance with 
the Americans With Disabilities Act.” 

 
Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) Fee Schedules – Rates established by the single-state Medicaid 
agency for services reimbursable under the Medi-Cal program. Fee schedule rates are the maximum amount 
that can be paid for the service. For providers who have a usual and customary rate that is less than the fee 
schedule rates, the regional center shall pay the provider’s usual and customary rate. 

 
Median Rate Methodology - This methodology requires that rates negotiated with new providers may not 
exceed the regional center’s current median rate for the same service, or the statewide current median rate, 
whichever is lower. This methodology stipulates that “no regional center may negotiate a rate with a new 
service provider, for services where rates are determined through a negotiation between the regional center 
and the provider, that is higher than the regional center's median rate for the same service code and unit of 



State: California §1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 4.19–B: 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: 19-0004 Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

Page 72 
 
 

service, or the statewide median rate for the same service code and unit of service, whichever is lower. The 
unit of service designation must conform with an existing regional center designation or, if none exists, a 
designation used to calculate the statewide median rate for the same service.” 

 
Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized funding for rate 
increases. Provider rates and median rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 include rate increases of 8.2% 
(unless noted otherwise), for the provider types listed below. 

 
Habilitation- Community Living Arrangement Services: 

 Adult Residential Facility 
 Adult Residential Facility for Persons with Special Health Care Needs 
 In Home Day Program 
 Residential Care Facility for the Elderly 

 
Habilitation-Community Living Arrangement Services (Supported Living Services provided in a Consumer’s 
Own Home (Non-Licensed/Non-Certified)): 

 Supported Living Provider 
 

Habilitation-Day Services (Community Based Day Services): 
 Adaptive Skills Trainer; 3.90% 
 Community Integration Training Program 
 Community Activities Support Services 
 Creative Art Program 
 Independent Living Specialist; 2.40% 
 Personal Assistance 
 Socialization Training Program; 

 
Habilitation-Day Services (Mobility Related Day Services): 

 Mobility Training Services Agency; 
 Mobility Training Services Specialist 

 
Habilitation-Behavioral Intervention Services: 

 Associate Behavior Analysts 
 Behavior Analysts 
 Behavior Management Assistants 
 Behavior Technician 
 Crisis Team-Evaluation and Behavioral Intervention; 
 Client/Parent Support Behavioral Intervention Training; 
 Parent Support Services; 

 
Homemaker Services: 

 Homemaker 
 

Non-Medical Transportation: 
 Transportation-Additional Component 
 Transportation Assistant 
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 Transportation Company 
 

While the law sets a cap on negotiated rates, the rate setting methodology for applicable services is one of 
negotiation between the regional center and prospective provider. Pursuant to law and the regional center’s 
contracts with the Department of Developmental Services regional centers must maintain documentation on 
the process to determine, and the rationale for granting any negotiated rate (e.g. cost-statements), including 
consideration of the type of service and any education, experience and/or professional qualifications required 
to provide the service. Providers maintain their initially negotiated rate unless there is a need for an increase 
to protect beneficiary health and safety, as described below. 

Exceptions to the median rate limit are allowed if the regional center demonstrates that an increase above the 
median rate limit is necessary to protect a beneficiary’s health and safety. The Department of Developmental 
Services can grant prior written authorization to the regional center to negotiate the reimbursement rate up 
to the actual cost of providing the service. In the process of establishing a negotiated rate, the regional center 
can require documentation such as cost statements or other financial documents to determine the actual cost 
to provide services. Additionally, providers would be required to submit education credentials or qualifications 
of the various classifications that would be providing services. This information would help inform the regional 
center when negotiating a rate with the provider, but not exceeding the median rate. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HABILITATION – COMMUNITY LIVING ARRANGEMENT SERVICES
 

This service contains the following two subcomponents: 
 

A. Licensed/Certified Residential Services – Providers in this subcategory are Foster Family 
Agency/Certified Family Home, Foster Family Home, Small Family Home, Group Home, Adult 
Residential Facility, Residential Facility for the Elderly, Out-of-State Residential Facility, Adult 
Residential Facility for Persons with Special Health Care Needs and Family Home Agency, Enhanced 
Behavioral Supports Homes, and In-Home Day Program Services. 

 
There are five rate setting methodologies for all providers in this subcategory. 

 
1) Alternative Residential Model (ARM) Methodology – The ARM methodology and monthly rates 

resulted from an analysis of actual costs of operating residential care facilities. The applicable cost 
components (see below) were analyzed to determine the statistical significance of the variation in 
costs among facilities by service type, facility size, and operation type. Based upon the results of 
this statistical analysis, the initial ARM rates were determined and became effective in 1987. 
Within this methodology 14 different service levels were established based upon the results of this 
cost analysis. Individual providers apply to be vendored at one of these service levels based upon 
the staffing ratios, service design, personnel qualifications and use of consultant services as 
described in their program design. 

 
The following allowable costs were used in setting the ARM rates: 

 
 Direct costs for covered services: Includes unallocated payroll costs and other unallocated cost 

that can be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct
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payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of 
direct care staff. Other direct costs include costs directly related to the delivery of covered 
services, such as supervision, materials and supplies, professional and contracted services, capital 
outlay, and travel. For providers/facilities that are used for multiple purposes, the allowable costs 
are only those that are directly attributable to the provision of the medical services. 

 
 Indirect costs: Determined by applying the cognizant agency specific approved indirect cost rate 

to its net direct costs or derived from provider’s approved cost allocation plan. If a facility does 
not have a cognizant agency approved indirect cost rate or approved cost allocation plan, the 
costs and related basis used to determine the allocated indirect costs must be in accordance with 
2 CFR 200 as implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, , Medicare Cost Principle (42 CFR 413 and 
Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual Part 1 and Part 2) and in compliance with Medicaid 
non-institutional reimbursement policy. For facilities that are used for multiple purposes, the 
allowable costs are only those that are “directly attributable” to the professional component of 
providing the medical services. For those costs incurred that “benefit” multiple purposes but 
would be incurred at the same level if the medical services did not occur are not allowed. 

 
The rates in effect as of October 1, 2021, including schedules for homes with four beds or less and 
homes with five beds or more, can be found at the following link: 

 
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/CCF_Rates_Eff_10_1_21.pdf 

 

Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized funding for 
rate increases. Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 include rate increases of 8.2% (unless noted 
otherwise) for the provider types listed below. 

 
Habilitation-Community Living Arrangement Services (Licensed/Certified Residential Services): 

 Adult Residential Facility 
 Family Home Agency 
 Group Home 
 Residential Care Facility for the Elderly 

 
The State will review rates for residential facilities set using the ARM methodology every three years 
to ensure that it complies with the statutory and regulatory requirements as specified under Section 
1902(a)(30)(A). This will involve an analysis of the factors that have occurred since the ARM rates 
were initially developed, including changes in minimum wage and the general economy as measured 
through various indices such as Medicare Economic Index (MEI). The analysis will determine if the 
rates are consistent with the current economic conditions in the State while maintaining access to 
services. If this analysis reveals that the current rates may be excessive or insufficient when compared 
to the current economic conditions, the State will take steps to determine the appropriate 
reimbursement levels and update the fee schedule and State Plan. 

 
 

2) Out-of-State Rate Methodology - This methodology is applicable for out-of-state residential 
providers. The rate paid is the established usual and customary rate for that service, paid by that 
State in the provision of that service to their own service population. 
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3) Median Rate Methodology – As described on pages 71-73, above. This methodology is used to 
determine the applicable monthly rate for Licensed/Certified Residential Service Providers. If a 
consumer’s needs cannot be met within the ARM rate structure, the median rate methodology is 
used. 

 
4) Enhanced Behavioral Supports Homes (Vendor-Operated) Rate Methodology - There are 

two components to the monthly rate for Enhanced Behavioral Supports Homes: 

1) the facility component: The allowable costs used to calculate the facility component include 
payroll costs of facility staff and facility related costs such as lease, facility maintenance, repairs, 
cable/internet, etc. The facility rate is a negotiated amount based on cost estimates. The provider 
submits a facility budget to the regional center and the two determine a rate based upon where 
the facility is located (cost of living, lease, electricity, garbage, county minimum wage rates, the 
qualification of staff and consultants, and payroll costs).After detailed regional center review, that 
budget is then sent to the State department for further review and evaluation. The State 
department then analyzes the rates for each line item and compares it to the state average of 
other EBSHs. The provider is required to justify all costs and provide explanations of any estimated 
costs. The rate is effective upon approval from the state and providers are notified in writing by  
the vendoring regional center. As part of the certification process for Enhanced Behavioral Support 
Homes (EBSHs), the Department reviews the proposed facility component rate and supporting 
documentation for each EBSH and compares it to state averages to determine if the included costs 
are reasonable and economical. All rates must be approved by the Department director prior to 
the delivery of service at each EBSH. Rates are not reviewed annually, only as required and as 
agreed upon by the vendoring regional center. The state continues to receive the previous year’s 
rate until the new rate is needed. Salaries are based upon the geographical area and the 
experience, education, and professional licensures held. Rate updates can happen due to cost 
changes in approved or active providers. For example, an increase can occur due to an increase in a 
vendor’s lease or where another cost was higher than expected.  The facility is required to show 
the Department their lease and contract. If the facility has an unexpected increase, they must 
justify the need for an increased budget and show that the cost is higher. Once the Department 
approves the budget an approval letter is generated to the regional center and a copy is sent to  
the provider. The regional center may submit a new budget to the Department for review and 
approval of any updates to the rate. When a rate is updated, the new rate is effective once the 
state department approves. A letter is sent out to the facility approving the new rate. The initial 
rate is effective upon the first consumer’s admission into the facility. 

Maximum rates may not exceed the rate limit determined by the department and administrative 
costs may not exceed 15%. It takes from 1-3 months to set a facility rate depending on the review 
process. The department may take up to three months due to additional documentation requests 
to ensure the accuracy of the rate requested. 

Prior to submission of claims for reimbursement, the state uses the following steps to determine 
the portion of the claim that is eligible for federal reimbursement, using information submitted at 
the time of facility rate approval: 

 
Step 1: Costs are identified as direct or indirect, consistent with cost principles in 45 CFR Part 75 
Step 2: Costs are identified as allowable or unallowable (room and board), consistent with the 
above cost principles 
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Step 3: Allowable indirect costs are divided by total direct costs (allowable and unallowable) to 
determine the indirect cost percentage. 
Step 4: cost percentage is applied to all direct costs 
Step 5: Allowable direct costs and the allocated indirect costs are added together to determine the 
federally reimbursable portion of the monthly facility rate. 
Step 6: The federally reimbursable portion of the facility rate is divided by the maximum residency 
of the home to determine the monthly federally reimbursable per person rate of the facility. 
Step 7: The individual rate associated with Medicaid-eligible individuals is submitted for federal 
reimbursement 

 
As a result of the above methodology, room and board costs, as well as the allocated portion of 
indirect associated with these costs, are excluded from the portion of the claim that the state 
submits for federal reimbursement. 

 
2) the individualized services and supports component. The allowable costs used to calculate the 
individualized services and supports component include the salaries, wages, payroll taxes, and 
benefits of individuals providing individualized services and supports and other consumer specific 
program costs. The individual rate is determined by the Individual Program Plan (IPP) process. The 
providers are invited to a meeting along with a regional center representative to review consumer 
needs and a rate is set and agreed upon at the meeting. As part of the IPP review process, it is the 
responsibility of the regional center to ensure that services authorized meet the needs of the 
consumer. The rate is reviewed within 60 days of initial placement, and at least annually 
thereafter. The facility submits a completed Department form cost sheet to the regional center 
within 30 days, for review and written approval. The provider receives a copy of the new rate at 
the time of the IPP meeting when it is initially determined and notified by the regional center 
when that rate is confirmed. The effective date is determined at the time of the IPP and is typically 
in effect either immediately or at the time the cost sheet form is signed. The cost sheet form can 
be found on the CA DDS website here: https://www.dds.ca.gov/transparency/dds-forms/ 

The individualized services and supports component described above includes direct care and 
behavioral support staff with identifiable experience and qualifications as is referenced in the 
state plan. Providers receive payment via the identified rate methodology described above for 
services provided as part of the individualized services and supports component. Any provider 
delivering services through a bundle will be paid through that bundle’s payment rate and cannot 
bill separately; Medicaid providers delivering separate services outside of the bundle may bill for 
those separate services in accordance with the state’s Medicaid billing procedures. 

Within the individualized services and supports component, at least one (1) service must be 
provided by identified direct care staff described above to bill according to the individualized 
services and supports rate methodology. 

 
The state ensures appropriate billing through its audit process, as well as the remission of 
payment to CMS in the case of overpayments for (1) services that were not provided in 
accordance with the regional center’s contract or authorization with the provider, or with 
applicable state laws or regulations, or (2) the rate paid is based on inaccurate data submitted by 
the provider on a provider cost statement. 
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Attachment 3.1-i authorizes the following covered services for provision by EBSHs: Habilitation- 
Community Living Arrangements. 

5) Enhanced Behavioral Support Homes (State-Operated) Rate Methodology- 
 

An interim rate for direct and indirect services is paid according to the methodology below. Annually, 
the state will reconcile costs for the year and settle costs for all overpayments and underpayments. 

 
Specific Components: 

 
Interim rate: 
Cost information consisting of allowable direct costs (direct services) and allowable indirect costs that 
meet the primary cost objective are captured on a monthly basis via the statewide accounting system. 
Allowable costs are identified by applying cost principles specified at 2 CFR, part 200 as implemented 
by the Department of Health and Human Services at 45 CFR, part 75. 

 
Claim amount per individual: Each facility compiles daily attendance for each individual which the 
state receives in whole at the conclusion of each month. Utilizing daily attendance information in 
conjunction with the calculation of allowable costs described above (the interim rate), the state 
utilizes the daily attendance to assign an allocation per bed for each day it is occupied. The allowable 
costs are divided by the number of bed occupancy days, resulting in the allocated amount per 
individual per day for each home minus non-allowable costs. Only costs associated with Medi-Cal 
eligible individuals are submitted for reimbursement. Allocation of costs consists of the following: 

 
Direct: 
Monthly salaries, wages, and benefits of individuals (state employees) providing the direct service; 
contracted services which provide a direct service component; and payroll taxes. 

 
Indirect: 
Determined by applying the Department’s cognizant agency approved indirect rate to the allowable 
direct costs as identified above. 

 
Unallowable costs are captured in the same format via the statewide accounting system. Allocation of 
such costs consists of the following: 

 
Lease or mortgage for facility and/or facility grounds; facility maintenance and repairs, utilities, food; 
furniture and laundry equipment, transportation, and information technology services that do not 
meet the primary cost objective. 

 
Reconciliation: 

 
The state reviews submitted costs for the past fiscal year and determines the facility-specific cost for 
that year (minus any unallowable costs) based on the same cost components described above for the 
interim rate. After the facility-specific costs are established, claims for federal reimbursement are 
reconciled based on the actual cost of delivering the service. Federal claims are submitted if the final 
cost is higher than the interim rate or reimbursed to CMS if the final cost is lower than the interim 
rate. The state is responsible for reimbursing CMS for all FFP overpayments identified. 
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Computation of allowable costs and their allocation methodology for both the interim and final 
reconciliated rates must be determined in accordance with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS Pub. 15-1), CMS non-institutional 
reimbursement policies, and 2 C.F.R. Part 200 as implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, which 
establish principles and standards for determining allowable costs and the methodology for allocation 
an apportioning those expenses to the Medicaid program, except as expressly modified below. 

 
New homes: 

 
For new homes in which the facility-specific first-year costs are not available, the state will use an 
estimated average of costs based on similar homes as the estimate for the interim rate. After the first 
year of operation, the same reconciliation process is followed as described above. 

 
B. Supported Living Services provided in a Consumer’s own Home (Non-Licensed/Certified) Supported 

Living Services providers are in this subcategory. Maximum hourly rates for these providers are 
determined using the median rate methodology, as described on pages 71-73 above. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HABILITATION – DAY SERVICES 
 

This service is comprised of the following three subcomponents: 
 

A. Community-Based Day Services – There are two rate setting methodologies for providers in this 
subcategory. 

 
1) Rates Set pursuant to a Cost Statement Methodology – As described on pages 70-71, above. 
This methodology is applicable to the following providers (unit of service in parentheses): Activity 
Center (daily), Adult Development Center (daily), Behavior Management Program (daily), 
Independent Living Program (hourly), and Social Recreation Program (hourly). Rates in effect as of 
October 1, 2021 are available at the following link: https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp- 
content/uploads/2021/09/CBDP_IHRA_Rates_eff_10_1_21.pdf. 

 

2) Median Rate Methodology – As described on pages 71-73, above. This methodology is used to 
determine the applicable daily rate for Creative Art Program, Community Integration Training 
Program and Community Activities Support Services providers. This methodology is also used to 
determine the applicable hourly rate for Adaptive Skills Trainer, Socialization Training Program, 
Personal Assistance and Independent Living Specialist providers. 

 
B. Therapeutic/Activity-Based Day Services – The providers in this subcategory are Specialized Recreation 
Therapy, Special Olympics, Sports Club, Art Therapist, Dance Therapist, Music Therapist and Recreational 
Therapist. The units of service for all providers are daily, with the exception of Sports Club providers, who 
have a monthly rate. There are two rate setting methodologies for providers in this subcategory. 

 
1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology – As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 

not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 
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2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 
81 rate increase does not apply for the provider types under B above. 

 
C. Mobility Related Day Services – The providers in this subcategory are Driver Trainer, Mobility Training 
Services Agency and Mobility Training Services Specialist. There are two rate setting methodologies for 
providers in this subcategory. 

 
1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 

not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 
 

2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above. 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HABILITATION -- BEHAVIORAL INTERVENTION SERVICES 
 

This service is comprised of the following two subcomponents: 
 

A. Non-Facility-Based Behavior Intervention Services– Providers and services in this subcategory are 
Behavior Analysts, Associate Behavior Analysts, Behavior Management Assistants, Behavior Management 
Intervention Training, Parent Support Services, Individual/Family Training Providers, Family Counselors, 
and Behavioral Technicians, Educational Psychologists, Clinical Social Workers, and Professional Clinical 
Counselors. There are two rate setting methodologies to determine the hourly rates for all providers in 
this subcategory (except psychiatrists, physicians and surgeons, physical therapists, occupational 
therapists, psychologists, Marriage and Family Therapists (MFT), speech pathologists, and audiologists -see 
DHCS Fee Schedule below). 

 
1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 

not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 
 

2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above. 
 

3) DHCS Fee Schedules - The fee schedule rates for Non-Facility-Based Behavior Intervention 
Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that 
date. All rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 

B. Crisis Intervention Facility – The following five methodologies apply to determine the daily rates for 
these providers; 

 
 

1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 
not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 

 
2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 

81 rate increase does not apply for Crisis Intervention Facilities. 
 

3) Community Crisis Homes (Vendor-Operated) Rate Methodology - There are three components to 
the monthly rate for Community Crisis Homes: 
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a) the facility component: the allowable costs used to calculate the facility component include 
payroll costs of facility staff and facility related costs such as lease, facility maintenance, 
repairs, cable/internet, etc. 

b) the individualized services and supports component: the allowable costs used to calculate the 
individualized services and supports component include the salaries, wages, payroll taxes, 
and benefits of individuals providing individualized services and supports and other consumer 
specific program costs, and 

c) the transition plan component: the allowable costs used to calculate the transition 
component includes the salaries, wages, payroll taxes and benefits of direct care staff 
providing additional services and supports needed to support a consumer during times of 
transition out of the CCH. 

Administrative costs for the above components may not exceed 15%. 

As part of the certification process for CCHs, the Department reviews the proposed facility component 
rate and supporting documentation for each CCH to determine if the included costs are reasonable 
and economical. These rates must be approved by the Department prior to the delivery of service at 
each CCH. If the facility has an unexpected increase, they must justify the need for an increased 
budget and show that the cost is higher.  The new rate is effective once the Department approves the 
revised budget. Note: This is not the rate that is claimed for FFP. 

 
Prior to submission of claims for reimbursement, the state uses the following steps to determine the 
portion of the claim that is eligible for federal reimbursement, using information submitted at the time 
of facility rate approval: 

 

Step 1: Costs are identified as direct or indirect, consistent with cost principles in 45 CFR Part 75 
Step 2: Costs are identified as allowable or unallowable (room and board), consistent with the 
above cost principles 
Step 3: Allowable indirect costs are divided by total direct costs (allowable and unallowable) to 
determine the indirect cost percentage. 
Step 4: cost percentage is applied to all direct costs 
Step 5: Allowable direct costs and the allocated indirect costs are added together to determine the 
federally reimbursable portion of the monthly facility rate. 
Step 6: The federally reimbursable portion of the facility rate is divided by the maximum residency 
of the home to determine the monthly federally reimbursable per person rate of the facility. 
Step 7: The individual rate associated with Medicaid-eligible individuals is submitted for federal 
reimbursement 
 

As a result of the above methodology, room and board costs, as well as the allocated portion of 
indirect associated with these costs, are excluded from the portion of the claim that the state submits 
for federal reimbursement. 

 
4) Community Crisis Homes (State-Operated) Rate Methodology – 

 
An interim rate for direct and indirect service is paid according to the methodology below: Annually, 
the state will reconcile costs for the year and settle costs for all overpayments and underpayments. 

 
Specific Components:
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Interim rate: 
Cost information consisting of allowable direct costs (direct services) and allowable indirect costs that 
meet the primary cost objective are captured on a monthly basis via the statewide accounting system. 
Allowable costs are identified by applying cost principles specified at 2 CFR, part 200 as implemented 
by the Department of Health and Human Services at 45 CFR, part 75. 

 
Claim amount per individual: Each facility compiles daily attendance for each individual which the 
state receives in whole at the conclusion of each month. Utilizing daily attendance information in 
conjunction with the calculation of allowable costs described above (the interim rate), the state 
utilizes the daily attendance to assign an allocation per bed for each day it is occupied. The allowable 
costs are divided by the number of bed occupancy days, resulting in the allocated amount per 
individual per day for each home minus non-allowable costs. Only costs associated with Medi-Cal 
eligible individuals are submitted for reimbursement. Allocation of costs consists of the following: 

 
Direct: 
Monthly salaries, wages, and benefits of individuals (state employees) providing the direct service; 
contracted services which provide a direct service component; and payroll taxes. 

 
Indirect: 
Determined by applying the Department’s cognizant agency approved indirect rate to the allowable 
direct costs as identified above. 

 
Unallowable costs are captured in the same format via the statewide accounting system. Allocation of 
such costs consists of the following: 

 
Lease or mortgage for facility and/or facility grounds; facility maintenance and repairs, utilities, food; 
furniture, and laundry equipment, transportation, and information technology services that do not 
meet the primary cost objective. 

 
Reconciliation: 

 
The state reviews submitted costs for the past fiscal year and determines the facility-specific costs for 
that year (minus any unallowable costs) based on the same cost components described above for the 
interim rate. After the facility-specific costs are established, claims for federal reimbursement are 
reconciled based on the actual cost of delivering the service. Federal claims are submitted if the final 
costs are higher than the interim rate or reimbursed to CMS if the final cost is lower than the interim 
rate. The state is responsible for reimbursing CMS for all FFP overpayments identified. 

 
Computation of allowable costs and their allocation methodology for both the interim and final 
reconciliated rates must be determined in accordance with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS Pub. 15-1), CMS non-institutional 
reimbursement policies, and 2 C.F.R. Part 200 as implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, which 
establish principles and standards for determining allowable costs and the methodology for allocation 
an apportioning those expenses to the Medicaid program, except as expressly modified below. 

 
New homes: 
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For new homes in which the facility-specific first-year costs are not available, the state will use an 
estimated average of costs based on similar homes as the estimate for the interim rate. After the first 
year of operation, the same reconciliation process is followed as described above. 

 
5) Mobile Crisis Team (State-Operated) Rate Methodology 

 
An interim rate for direct and indirect services is paid according to the methodology below. Annually 
the state will reconcile costs for the year and settle costs for all overpayments and underpayments. 
Only costs associated with Medi-Cal eligible individuals are submitted for reimbursement. 

 
Specific Components: 

 
Interim rate: 
Cost information consisting of the following allowable direct costs (direct services) and allowable 
indirect costs that meet the primary cost objective are captured via the statewide accounting system. 
Allowable costs are identified by applying cost principles specified at 2 CFR, part 200 as implemented 
by the Department of Health and Human Services at 45 CFR, part 75 and include the following: 

 
Direct: 
Monthly salaries, wages, and benefits of individuals (state employees) providing the direct service; 
contracted services which provide a direct service component; and payroll taxes. 

 
Indirect: 
Determined by applying the Department’s cognizant agency approved indirect rate to the allowable 
direct costs as identified above. 

 
Unallowable costs consistent with the Selected Items of Cost as described at 45 CFR 75.420 are 
excluded from the interim rate and final costs submitted for federal reimbursement. 

 
Reconciliation: 
The state reviews submitted costs for the past fiscal year and determines the costs, based on the same 
components described above for the interim rate. After the costs are established, claims for 
reimbursement are reconciled based on the actual cost of delivering the service. Federal claims are 
submitted if the final costs are higher than the interim rate or reimbursed to CMS if final costs are 
lower than the interim rate. The state is responsible for reimbursing CMS for all FFP payments for all 
overpayments identified. 

 
Computation of allowable costs and their allocation methodology for both the interim and final 
reconciliated rates must be determined in accordance with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 
Services (CMS) Provider Reimbursement Manual (CMS Pub. 15-1), CMS non-institutional 
reimbursement policies, and 2 C.F.R. Part 200 as implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, which 
establish principles and standards for determining allowable costs and the methodology for allocation 
and apportioning these expenses to the Medicaid program, except as expressly modified below. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR RESPITE CARE 
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There are five rate setting methodologies for Respite Services. The applicable methodology is based on 
whether the service is provided by an agency, individual provider or facility, type of facility, and service 
design. 

 
1) Rates Set pursuant to a Cost Statement Methodology – As described on pages 70-71, above. 

This methodology is used to determine the hourly rate for In-home Respite Agencies. 
Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 are available at the following link: 
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/CBDP_IHRA_Rates_eff_10_1_21.pdf 

 

2) Rates set in State Regulation – This rate applies to individual respite providers. The rate for this 
service is $19.18 per hour. This rate is based on the current California minimum wage of $14.00 
per hour, effective January 1, 2021, plus $.81 differential (retention incentive), plus mandated 
employer costs of 20.82 %, plus $1.29 for SB 81 increase. 

 
Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized 
funding for rate increases. Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 for Individual Respite Providers 
includes an increase of 8.2%. 

 
 

3) ARM Methodology - As described on pages 73-74 above. This methodology is applicable to 
respite facilities that also have rates established with this methodology for “Habilitation-Community 
Living Arrangement Services.” The daily respite rate is calculated as 1/21 of the established monthly 
ARM rate. This methodology applies to Foster Family Agency/Certified Family Home, Foster Family 
Home, Small Family Home, Group Home, Adult Residential Facility, Residential Care Facility for the 
Elderly, Adult Residential Facility for Persons with Special Health Care Needs and Family Home Agency. 
If the facility does not have rate for “Habilitation-Community Living Arrangement Services” using the 
ARM methodology, then rates are set using #5 below. 

 
4) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. This methodology is 
applicable for the following providers (unit of service in parentheses); Adult Day Care Facility (daily), 
Camping Services (daily) providers. If the provider does not have a usual and customary rate, then 
rates are set using #5 below. 

 
5) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ENHANCED HABILITATION – SUPPORTED EMPLOYMENT 

(INDIVIDUAL) 
 

There are two rate setting methodologies for this service: 
 

1) Supported employment rates for all providers are set in State statute at $39.35 per job coach 
hour. The rate schedule, in effect as of October 1, 2021, can be found at the following link: 
https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/WAP_SEP_Rates_Eff_10_1_21.pdf 
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Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized funding 
for rate increases. Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 for Supported Employment Programs 
includes an increase of 7.60%. 

 
2) Incentive payments will be paid to service providers. Incentive payments include 1) A one-time 

payment of $1,000 made to a provider when an individual obtains competitive integrated 
employment and is still employed after 30 consecutive days. 2) An additional one-time payment of 
$1,250 made to a provider when an individual obtains competitive integrated employment and is 
still employed after six consecutive months. 3) An additional one-time payment of $1,500 made to 
a provider when an individual has been employed consecutively for one year. 

 
Effective as of October 1, 2021, until June 30, 2025, incentive payments will be paid to service 
providers. Incentive payments include 1) A one-time payment of $2,000 made to a provider when 
an individual obtains competitive integrated employment and is still employed after 30 
consecutive days. 2) An additional one-time payment of $2,500 made to a provider when an 
individual obtains competitive integrated employment and is still employed after six consecutive 
months. 3) An additional one-time payment of $3,000 made to a provider when an individual has 
been employed consecutively for one year. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ENHANCED HABILITATION – PREVOCATIONAL SERVICES 

 
There are three rate setting methodologies for this service: 

 
1) Daily rates for Work Activity Program providers are set using the cost statement methodology, as 

described on pages 70-71, with the exception that the SB 81 rate increase does not apply. The 
Work Activity Program rate schedule can be found at the following link. The rate schedule is 
effective July 1, 2016. https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-
content/uploads/2021/07/WAP_SEP_Rates_Eff_10_1_21.pdf. 

 

2) Rates for Supported Employment Group providers are set in State statute 
at $36.57 per job coach hour. 

 
The rate schedule, in effect as of October 1, 2021, can be 
found at the following link: 

https://www.dds.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2021/07/WAP_SEP_Rates_Eff_10_1_21.pdf. 
 

3) Incentive payments will be paid to service providers. Incentive payments include 1) A one-time 
payment of $1,000 made to a provider when an individual obtains competitive integrated 
employment and is still employed after 30 consecutive days. 2) An additional 
one-time payment of $1,250 made to a provider when an individual obtains competitive integrated 
employment and is still employed after six consecutive months. 3) An additional one-time payment 
of $1,500 made to a provider when an individual has been employed consecutively for one year. 

 
Effective as of October 1, 2021, until June 30, 2025, incentive payments will be paid to service 
providers. Incentive payments include 1) A one-time payment of $2,000 made to a provider when an 
individual obtains competitive integrated employment and is still employed after 30 consecutive days. 
2) An additional one-time payment of $2,500 made to a provider when an individual obtains 
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competitive integrated employment and is still employed after six consecutive months. 3) An 
additional one-time payment of $3,000 made to a provider when an individual has been employed 
consecutively for one year. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HOMEMAKER SERVICES 
 

There are two rate methodologies to set hourly rates for Homemaker services provided by either an 
agency or individual. 

 
1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 

not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 
 

2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above. 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HOME HEALTH AIDE SERVICES 
 

DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Home Health Aide 
Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All 
rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx

 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR COMMUNITY BASED ADULT SERVICES 
 

DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Community Based Adult 
Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All 
rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx  

 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR PERSONAL EMERGENCY RESPONSE SYSTEMS 
 

There are two methodologies to determine the monthly rate for this service. 
 

1) Usual and Customary Rate methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 
not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 

 
2)  Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 

81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. 
 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR VEHICLE MODIFICATION AND ADAPTATION 
 

The per modification rate for vehicle modifications is determined utilizing the usual and customary rate 
methodology, as described on page 71, above. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR SPEECH, HEARING LANGUAGE SERVICES 
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There are two rate setting methodologies for this service: 
 

1) DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Speech, Hearing 
Language Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as 
well as https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 

22) Median Rate Methodology – the median rate (as defined previously) may be used if the provider 
has at least one year experience working with persons with developmental disabilities, with the 
exception that the SB 81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this 
methodology. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR DENTAL SERVICES 

 
There are two rate setting methodologies for this service: 

 
1) DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule, effective October 1, 

2021 can be found at the following link: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as 
well as https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 

2) Median Rate Methodology – the median rate (as defined previously) may be used if the provider 
has at least one year experience working with persons with developmental disabilities, with the 
exception that the SB 81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR OPTOMETRIC/OPTICIAN SERVICES 
 

DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule, effective October 1, 
2021 can be found at the following link: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as 
well as https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx  

 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR PRESCRIPTION LENSES AND FRAMES 
 

DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule, effective October 1, 
2021 can be found at the following link: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as 
well as https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx  

 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR PSYCHOLOGY SERVICES 
 

There are two rate setting methodologies for this service: 
 

1) DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Psychology 
Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. 
All rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 
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2) Median Rate Methodology – the median rate (as defined previously) may be used if the provider 
has at least one year experience working with persons with developmental disabilities, with the 
exception that the SB 81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR CHORE SERVICES 
 

Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR COMMUNICATION AIDES 
 

There are two methodologies to determine the monthly rate for this service. 
 

1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 
not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 

 
2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 

81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR ENVIRONMENTAL ACCESSIBILITY ADAPTATIONS 
 

Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR NON-MEDICAL TRANSPORTATION 
 

There are three methodologies to determine the monthly rate for this service (except individual 
transportation providers – see Rate based on Regional Center Employee Travel Reimbursement below). 

 
1) Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. If the provider does 

not have a usual and customary rate, then rates are set using #2 below. 
 

2) Median Rate Methodology - As described on pages 71-73, above. 
 

3) Rate based on Regional Center Employee Travel Reimbursement – The maximum rate paid to an 
individual transportation provider is established as the travel rate paid by the regional center to its 
own employees at the IRS standard mileage rate. This rate is used only for services provided by an 
individual transportation provider. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR NUTRITIONAL CONSULTATION 

 
Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR SKILLED NURSING 

 
DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule, effective October 1, 2021 can 
be found at the following link: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 
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REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR SPECIALIZED MEDICAL EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES 
 

DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule, effective October 1, 2021 can 
be found at the following link: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR TRANSITION/SET-UP EXPENSES 
 

Usual and Customary Rate Methodology - As described on page 71, above. 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR COMMUNITY-BASED TRAINING SERVICES 
 

The maximum rate for this service is set in State statute at $16.22 per hour. 
 

Chapter 28, Statutes of 2019 (SB 81, Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review), authorized funding for rate 
increases. Rates in effect as of October 1, 2021 for Community-Based Training Services includes an 
increase of 8.2%. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT SERVICES 

 
Rates for FMS are set in State regulation as follows: 

 
If the FMS functions as a fiscal/employer agent, the rate is based on the number of participant- 
directed services used by the consumer: 

 (A) A rate not to exceed a maximum of $45.88 per consumer per month for one 
participant-directed service; or 

 (B) A rate not to exceed a maximum of $71.73 per consumer per month for two or three 
participant-directed services; or 

 (C) A rate not to exceed a maximum of $96.86 per consumer per month for four or more 
participant-directed services. 

 
If the FMS functions as a co-employer, the rate is not to exceed a maximum of $96.86 per 
consumer per month. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR INTENSIVE TRANSITION SERVICES 

 
In effect as of October 1, 2021, the permanent, single statewide rate for Intensive Transition 
services and supports will be established using the average cost of services rendered to Medi-Cal 
beneficiaries in state fiscal year 2019-20. The costs used to calculate the rate are salaries, wages, 
payroll taxes, and benefits of direct care staff providing Intensive Transition services and supports, 
in addition to direct care staff travel and operating costs (consisting of office lease, 
communications, equipment, office supplies, liability insurance, property insurance, training 
expenses, independent audit, and general administrative costs consistent with 45 CFR Section 
75.414). needed to support a consumer during a transition. The costs will be drawn from actual 
expenditures as reported by providers of ITS services. Upon regional center approval, the 
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providers of this service will be informed of the rate in writing. This rate will be used for all ITS 
vendors including any new vendors that get vendored after 2019-20. 

 
Components of this service are assessments; substance use and recovery treatment, anger 
management, self-advocacy, medication management, health and dietary education, sex 
education, fostering healthy relationships, behavioral support and modification training for the 
individual, outpatient therapy, co-occurring disorders integrated treatment, and transition 
planning. This service is paid as a monthly unit. Any provider delivering services through ITS will be 
billed and paid through the ITS agency and not individually. If a provider delivers services outside 
of the ITS services agency purview, that provider should bill such services separately. At least one 
of the services included in ITS must be provided per month for the ITS 
agency to bill for payment. The regional center conducts yearly monitoring of the IPP to ensure 
services are needed and that also includes a verification of rates paid in accordance with the 
approved payment methodology. The IPP process includes initial and ongoing review on no later 
than an annual basis to ensure that services are provided efficiently and continue to meet the 
individual need of the consumer. Additionally, service-specific plans from the provider that 
demonstrate the frequency and manner in which services are actually provided are reviewed on 
no less than a quarterly basis. 

 
Computation of allowable costs and their allocation methodology must be determined in 
accordance with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Provider Reimbursement 
Manual (CMS Pub. 15-1), CMS non-institutional reimbursement policies, and 2 C.F.R. Part 200 as 
implemented by HHS at 45 C.F.R., part 75, which establish principles and standards for 
determining allowable costs and the methodology for allocation an apportioning those expenses 
to the Medicaid program, except as expressly modified below. 

 
The state assures that it will only begin seeking Federal Financial Participation for ITS once an 
individual is eligible to receive the service. 

 
 

REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR HOUSING ACCESS SERVICES 
 

The rate for Housing Access Service is determined utilizing the Usual & Customary rate methodology as 
previously defined. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR FAMILY SUPPORT SERVICES 

 
There are two rate setting methodologies for this service. If the provider does not have a “usual and 
customary,” then the maximum rate is set using the median rate setting methodology. Usual and customary 
and median rates (with the exception that the SB 81 rate increase does not apply) are defined previously. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

 
There are two rate setting methodologies to determine the hourly rates for providers in this subcategory. 

Page 78k



State: California §1915(i) State plan HCBS State plan Attachment 4.19–B: 

TN: 21-0002 
Supersedes: NEW Approved: September 29, 2021 Effective: October 1, 2021 

 

 

Page 78l 
 
 

1) DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Occupational 
Therapy Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or 
after that date. All rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as 
well as https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 

2) Median Rate Methodology– As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 
81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. This rate may be 
utilized if the provider has at least one year of experience working with persons with developmental 
disabilities. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR PHYSICAL THERAPY 

 
There are two rate setting methodologies to determine the hourly rates for providers in this subcategory. 

 
1) DHCS Fee Schedules - As described on page 71, above. The fee schedule rates for Physical Therapy 
Services were set as of October 1, 2021 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. 
All rates are published at: https://files.medi-cal.ca.gov/rates/rateshome.aspx as well as 
https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/ltc/Pages/DD.aspx 

 

2) Median Rate Methodology – As described on pages 71-73, above, with the exception that the SB 
81 rate increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology. This rate may be 
utilized if the provider has at least one year of experience working with persons with developmental 
disabilities. 

 
REIMBURSEMENT METHODOLOGY FOR FAMILY/ CONSUMER TRAINING 

 
The median rate methodology, as described on pages 71-73 above, with the exception that the SB 81 rate 
increase does not apply for this provider type under this methodology, is used to determine the hourly rates 
for providers in this subcategory. 
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