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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

601 E. 12th St., Room 355

Kansas City, Missouri 64106

CMS

CENTERS FOR MEDICARE & MEDICAID SERVICES
CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES

Medicaid and CHIP Operations Group

September 28, 2021

Adam Crum, Commissioner
Department of Health and Social Services
3601 C Street, Suite 902 Anchorage, AK 99503-7167

Re: Alaska State Plan Amendment (SPA) Transmittal Number 21-0007
Dear Mr. Crum:

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) reviewed your Medicaid State Plan
Amendment (SPA) submitted under transmittal number (TN) 21-0007. This amendment
proposes to move currently approved in-home peritoneal dialysis services from the clinic benefit
to the home health and other licensed practitioner benefits without a change in reimbursement in
accordance with the four-walls provisions in 42 CFR § 440.90(a).

We conducted our review of your submittal according to statutory requirements in Title XIX of
the Social Security Act and implementing regulations 42 CFR § 435.733. This letter is to
inform you that Alaska Medicaid SPA 21-0007 was approved on September 28, 2021, with an
effective date of November 1, 2021.

If you have any questions, please contact Maria Garza at 206-615-2542 or via email at
maria.garza@cms.hhs.gov.

Sincerely,

igiially signed by
G. Scott -S
021.09.28
23 -05'00'

James G. Scott, Director
Division of Program Operations

cc: Al Wall, Deputy Commissioner, a.wall@alaska.gov
Courtney King, SPA Coordinator, courtney.king@alaska.gov




DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

FORM APPROVED
OMB NO. 0938-0193

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF
STATE PLAN MATERIAL

FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION

1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:
21-0007

2. STATE
AK

3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TITLE XIX OF THE
SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDICAID)

TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES

4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE
November 1, 2021

5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):

[ ] NEW STATE PLAN

L] AMENDMENT TO BE CONSIDERED AS NEW PLAN

X] AMENDMENT

COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMENDMENT (Separate Transmittal for each amendment)

6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:
42 CFR § 440.70; 42 CFR § 440.60

7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT:
a. FFY 22 $0
b. FFY 23 $0

8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:

Attached Sheet to Attachment 3.1-A, page 2
Attachment 4.19-B, page 1.2

9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERSEDED PLAN SECTION
OR ATTACHMENT (If Applicable):
Attached Sheet to Attachment 3.1-A, page 2

Attachment-4.19-G-page-12 pe1 Ajtachment 4. 19B, page 1.2

10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:

This SPA moves in-home peritoneal dialysis services from the clinic benefit to the home health and other licensed practitioner benefits

without a change in reimbursement.

11. GOVERNOR’S REVIEW (Check One):
[] GOVERNOR’S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT
[ ] COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR’S OFFICE ENCLOSED
] NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL

X] OTHER, AS SPECIFIED:
Does not wish to comment

12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:
/s/

13. TYPED NAME: Albert E. Wall

14. TITLE: Deputy Commissioner of DHSS — Medicaid Director

15. DATE SUBMITTED: July 12, 2021

16. RETURN TO:

Courtney O’Byrne King

c/o DHSS Commissioner’s Office
3601 C Street, Suite 902
Anchorage, AK 99503

FOR REGIONAL OFFICE USE ONLY

17. DATE RECEIVED:
July 12, 2021

18. DATE APPROVED:
September 28, 2021

PLAN APPROVED — ONE COPY ATTACHED

19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL.:
November 1, 2021

21. TYPED NAME:
James G. Scott

20. SIGN * ™ 75 " REGIONA |&}E®%y James G. Scott -S
ate: 2021.09.28 13:57:06 -05'00'

Director, Division of Program Operations

23. REMARKS:

9/10/21 P&I authorized via email to correct Box 9 reference to 4.19C.

FORM HCFA-179 (07-92)



State Plan for Title XIX Attached Sheet to Attachment 3.1-A
State of Alaska Page 2

4. c. FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES: Fertility services not covered.

5. a. PHYSICIAN SERVICES: Physicians' services are provided in accordance with regulations at 42
CFR 440.50. A surgical procedure that could be considered experimental, investigative, or
cosmetic is not covered unless that procedure is medically necessary in the course of treatment
for injury or illness and has been prior authorized by the medical review section of the division
or its designee. A licensed physician provides services directly and supervises direct services
provided by physician assistants, advanced nurse practitioners, certified registered nurse
anesthetists, certified behavioral health aides |, II, and Ill, certified behavioral health
practitioners, certified community health aides |, II, Ill, or IV, and certified community health
practitioners.

6. b. OPTOMETRIST SERVICES: Vision services are provided to recipients experiencing significant
difficulties or complaints related to vision or if an attending ophthalmologist or optometrist
finds health reasons for a vision examination. A second vision exam in a 12-month period must
be prior authorized by the division or its designee.

6. d.1 DIRECT ENTRY MIDWIFE SERVICES: Direct entry midwife services are those services for the
management of prenatal, intrapartum, and postpartum care that a direct-entry midwife is
authorized to provide under the scope of practice of her state license.

6. d.2 In accordance with 42 CFR § 440.60, licensed and qualified pharmacists acting within their
scope of practice as defined in state law. Pharmacists, pharmacy interns, and pharmacy
technicians are qualified providers of COVID-19 vaccinations per the HHS COVID-19 PREP Act
Declaration and authorizations. Qualified pharmacy interns and qualified pharmacy technicians
are working under the supervision of a licensed pharmacist.

6. d.3 Inaccordance with 42 CFR § 440.60(a), the following licensed providers acting within their
scope of practice as defined by state law: Licensed Psychologists, Licensed Clinical Social
Workers, and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapists.

6. d.4 In accordance with 42 CFR § 440.60(a), nurses are covered for services within their scope of
practice in accordance with state law. Nurses are supervised by licensed physicians, physician
assistants, and advanced practice registered nurses. The licensed practitioners assume
professional responsibility for the services provided by the unlicensed practitioner, and the
licensed practitioner bills for the service.

7. a-d. HOME HEALTH SERVICES: Home health services are offered in accordance with 42 CFR
440.70. Home health services must be ordered by the attending physician, nurse practitioner, or
physician assistant operating within their scope of practice and must be prior authorized by the
State Medicaid Agency or its designee. Medical supplies, equipment, and appliances include
supplies, equipment, and appliances necessary for in-home dialysis.

c. Equipment and appliances that require prior authorization by the State Medicaid Agency or its
designee are listed in the provider manual.

TN No. 21-0007 Approval Date: September 28,2021  Effective Date: November 1, 2021
Supersedes TN No. 20-0007




State Plan for Title XIX Attachment 4.19-B
State of Alaska Page 1.2

Other Licensed Practitioners
Licensed Behavior Analysts

The state Medicaid program reimburses for behavior analysis services through the supervising health care
provider - who is a licensed behavior analyst operating within their scope of practice.

All covered services pay at the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the state maximum allowable for the
procedures. State-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers of
behavior analysis services. Tribal behavioral health clinic encounter rates do not apply to services in this section.

The fee schedule and its effective date are published at
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dbh/Pages/Resources/Medicaidrelated.aspx .

The fee schedule was last updated to be effective for services on or after July 1, 2019.

In SFY20, the payment rates will be 95% of the SFY19 rates.

In-Home Peritoneal Dialysis

Payment for in-home renal dialysis services is at a composite per treatment rate for peritoneal dialysis. No more
than one treatment may be billed per day.

The rate for in-home dialysis is all-inclusive, except that the department pays separately for erythrocyte-
stimulating agents and parenteral iron replacement products, which are reimbursable under the existing
prescribed drug payment methodology.

The composite per treatment payment rate for peritoneal dialysis is adjusted annually each July 1%

The composite per treatment payment rate for peritoneal dialysis is calculated as a statewide weighted average.
The following are used to develop the statewide weighted average:

a. Alaska Medicaid claims information from the MMIS that identifies the number of peritoneal dialysis
treatments delivered to Alaska Medicaid recipients during the most recent calendar year for which timely
filing has passed; and

b. The average cost per treatment included on Medicare Cost Reports submitted by end-stage renal disease
clinics providing in-home dialysis services for the calendar year aligning with a) above.

The cost of the peritoneal cost per treatment taken from the average cost of treatments value reported on the
Computation of Average Costs per Treatment Basic Composite Cost worksheet for Home Program Continuous
Ambulatory Peritoneal Dialysis (CAPD) and Home Program Continuous Cycling Peritoneal Dialysis (CCDP) portion
of the Medicare Cost Reports (CS 265-11, worksheet D) submitted by end-stage renal disease clinics.

When the average cost of treatments from the Computation of Average Costs per Treatment Basic Composite
Costs is reported as weekly costs on the Medicare Cost Reports submitted by end-stage renal disease clinics, the
department divides peritoneal dialysis values by seven treatments a week to arrive at the average cost per daily
treatment.

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental
and private providers of in-home dialysis services. The agency’s fee schedule, dated May 14, 2021, and effective
for services provided on or after that date, is located on the Office of Rate Review website
http:/dhss.alaska.gov/Commissioner/Pages/RateReview/Rate-Setting.aspx. Providers of In-Home Peritoneal
Dialysis annually, before July 1%, receive a letter from the department providing the updated reimbursement rate.

TN No. 21-0007 Approval Date: September 28, 2021 Effective Date: November 1, 2021
Supersedes TN No._19-0006






