ARKANSAS TEFRA-LIKE SECTION 1115 DEMONSTRATION FACT SHEET

Name of Section 1115 Demonstration: Arkansas TEFRA-like Demonstration

Waiver Number: 11-W-00115/6

Date Proposal Submitted: July 18, 2002

Date Proposal Approved: October 17, 2002

Date of Implementation: January 1, 2003

First Renewal

Date Submitted:June 30, 2010Date Approved:December 14, 2010Expiration Date:December 31, 2013

Temporary Extension

Date Submitted:June 28, 2013 **Date Approved:**October 21, 2013

Expiration Date: December 31, 2014 (The demonstration

operated under temporary extension until

May 12, 2015).

Second Renewal

Date Submitted: June 28, 2013, with evaluation information

submitted in April 2014

Date Approved:May 12, 2015Expiration Date:December 31, 2017

SUMMARY

The TEFRA-like demonstration serves disabled children otherwise eligible for Medicaid under section 134 of the Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA). The demonstration provides for a sliding scale premium based on the income of the custodial parent(s), beginning with those earning at least \$25,000 and whose income is in excess of 150 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL).

ELIGIBILITY

Children eligible for the TEFRA-like demonstration must meet the following requirements:

- Be an Arkansas resident:
- Be disabled according to the Supplemental Security Income definition;
- Be age 18 or younger;
- Be a U.S. citizen or a qualified alien;
- Have a Social Security Number or apply for one;
- Not have assets exceeding \$2,000 (parental assets not considered); and

 Meet the medical necessity requirement for institutional placement in a hospital, a skilled nursing facility, Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IID), or who are at risk for future institutional placement.

There is no enrollment cap on the number of children who can be served under the demonstration.

DELIVERY SYSTEM

Services provided to children through the demonstration are delivered through the state's network of Medicaid providers. Demonstration beneficiaries receive services through a primary care physician and all provider reimbursement is on a fee-for-service basis.

BENEFITS

All Medicaid state plan services are provided under the demonstration.

COST-SHARING

The demonstration provides for a sliding scale premium based on the income of the custodial parent(s), beginning with those earning at least \$25,000 and whose income is in excess of 150 percent of the federal poverty level.

QUALITY AND EVALUATION PLAN

Arkansas must conduct an evaluation of the demonstration that at a minimum will assess the effectiveness of the demonstration in achieving the goals and objectives of the demonstration. The state must submit its progress in conducting the evaluation in each of the quarterly and annual demonstration reports.

STATE FUNDING SOURCE

The State of Arkansas certifies that state/local monies are used as matching funds for the demonstration and that such funds shall not be used as matching funds for any other federal grant or contract, except as permitted by law.