ARKANSAS HEALTH CARE INDEPENDENCE PROGRAM
(PRIVATE OPTION) SECTION 1115 DEMONSTRATION

FACT SHEET
Name of Section 1115 Demonstration: Arkansas Health Care Independence
Program (Private Option)
Waiver Number: 11-W-00287/6
Date Proposal Submitted: August 6, 2013
Date Proposal Approved: September 27, 2013,
Amended January 1, 2015
Date Implemented: October 1, 2013
Date Expires: December 31, 2016

SUMMARY

The Private Option demonstration was authorized under section 1115(a) of the Social
Security Act (the Act) through December 31, 2016. The Private Option demonstration
represented the first federal-state partnership for a premium assistance demonstration to
enroll individuals in the new adult group into the Marketplace.

Under the Private Option demonstration, the state will ensure newly eligible adults enroll
in coverage from QHPs offered in the individual market through the Marketplace by
ensuring premium assistance for beneficiaries eligible for the new adult group under the
state plan.

The demonstration also allows for the collection of premiums for adults under 133
percent of the federal poverty level (FPL). Arkansas will establish Independence
Accounts (IA) to collect monthly contributions from beneficiaries with incomes from 50
percent up to and including 133 percent of the FPL will be asked to contribute a monthly
amount based on income. Beneficiaries will not lose or be denied eligibility for the
Private Option if they do not contribute to the Independence Accounts. Beneficiaries
who do not make monthly Independence Account contributions will be charged cost
sharing in a manner consistent with federal regulations.

ELIGIBILITY

In Arkansas, individuals eligible for coverage under the new adult group are either (1)
childless adults ages 19 through 64 with incomes at or below 133 percent of the FPL or
(2) parents and other caretaker relatives between the ages of 19 through 64 with incomes
between approximately 17 and 133 percent of the FPL (collectively Private Option
beneficiaries).

ENROLLMENT

Through this demonstration, Arkansas predicted an enrollment of approximately 200,000
in the first year of the demonstration. Enrollment activities for the new adult population
began on October 1, 2013 for the Private Option QHPs with eligibility effective January
1, 2014,
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DELIVERY SYSTEM

Arkansas currently delivers Medicaid largely through fee-for-service with some primary
care case management. Arkansas will provide coverage for the new adult group through
a different delivery system. The state will use this demonstration to provide coverage for
Private Option eligible Medicaid beneficiaries through QHPs offered in the individual
market instead of the fee-for-service delivery system that serves the traditional Medicaid
population. The state will pay premiums for QHPs in the Marketplace for Private Option
beneficiaries. Beneficiaries enrolled in the QHP will be offered benefits through the
QHP with wrap around provisions by the state Medicaid agency including non-
emergency medical transportation (NEMT), family planning at non-network providers,
and for individuals aged 19 and 20, early and periodic screening and diagnostic treatment
(EPSDT).

COST SHARING

This amendment to the demonstration allows for a waiver of comparability, applicable
to the extent necessary to enable the state to impose targeted cost sharing on individuals
in the eligibility group found at Section 1902(a)(10)(A)())(\VI11) of the Act. All
individuals who are statutorily required to be exempt from cost sharing will be exempt
from cost sharing under the Demonstration, including pregnant women and American
Indians/Alaskan Natives. Cost sharing levels will be consistent with federal regulations.

AMENDMENTS

Date Amendment #1 Submitted: September 15, 2014
Date Amendment #1 Approved: December 31, 2014
Date Amendment #1 Effective: January 1, 2015

Description: This amendment provides a waiver of section 1902(a)(14) of the Social
Security Act for Arkansas to establish Independence Accounts (I1A) to collect monthly
contributions from beneficiaries with incomes from 50 percent up to and including 133
percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL). With a few exceptions, beneficiaries with
incomes starting from 50 percent up to 133 percent of the FPL will be asked to contribute
a monthly amount based on income. Beneficiaries will not lose or be denied eligibility
for the Private Option if they do not contribute to the Independence Accounts.
Beneficiaries who do not make monthly Independence Account contributions will be
charged cost sharing, in a manner consistent with federal regulations. This amendment
will enable the State to test the impact of Independence Accounts in smoothing
beneficiary transitions out of the Private Option and into private market plans or
Medicare.
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