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 I.   PREFACE 
 
The following are the Special Terms and Conditions (STCs) for Arizona’s section 1115(a) 
Medicaid demonstration extension (hereinafter “Demonstration”).  The parties to this agreement 
are the State of Arizona and the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).  This 
Demonstration is approved for a 5-year period, from October 22, 2011, through  
September 30, 2016.  The STCs set forth below and the lists of waivers and expenditure 
authorities are incorporated in their entirety into the letter approving the Demonstration.  The 
STCs are effective as of October 22, 2011, unless otherwise specified.   
 
The STCs have been arranged into the following subject areas:  
 

I. Preface; 
II. Program Overview and Historical Context;  
III. General Program Requirements;  
IV. Eligibility; 
V. Demonstration Programs; 
VI. Funding Pools Under the Demonstration;  
VII. Delivery Systems; 
VIII. Evaluation;  
IX. General Reporting Requirements;  
X. General Financial Requirements under Title XIX; 
XI. General Financial Requirements under Title XXI;  
XII. Monitoring Budget Neutrality; and  
XIII.  Schedule of State Deliverables During the Demonstration. 
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II.  PROGRAM OVERVIEW AND HISTORICAL CONTEXT 

Until 1982, Arizona was the only State that did not have a Medicaid program under title XIX of 
the Social Security Act.  In October 1982, Arizona implemented the AHCCCS in the State’s first 
section 1115 demonstration project.  AHCCCS initially covered only acute care services, 
however, by 1989, the program was expanded to include the Arizona Long Term Care System 
(ALTCS), the State’s capitated long term care (LTC) program for the elderly and physically 
disabled (EPD) and the developmentally disabled (DD) populations.  In 2000, the State also 
expanded coverage to adults without dependent children with family income up to and including 
100 percent of the Federal poverty level (FPL) as well as established the Medical Expense 
Deduction (MED) program for adults with income in excess of 100 percent of the FPL who have 
qualifying healthcare costs that reduce their income at or below 40 percent of the FPL.  On 
March 31, 2011, Arizona requested to terminate its initial section 1115 demonstration in order to 
eliminate the MED program and implement an enrollment freeze on the adults without 
dependent children population. On April 30, 2011, and July 1, 2011, CMS approved the State’s 
required phase-out plans for the MED program and the adults without dependent children 
population, respectively. 
 
The new Demonstration provides health care services through a prepaid, capitated managed care 
delivery model that operates statewide for both Medicaid State plan groups as well as 
Demonstration expansion groups.  The goal of the Demonstration is to test health care delivery 
systems to provide organized and coordinated health care for both acute and long term care that 
include pre-established provider networks and payment arrangements, administrative and clinical 
systems for utilization review, quality improvement, patient and provider services, and 
management of health services.  The Demonstration will also test the extent to which health 
outcomes in the overall population are improved by expanding coverage to additional needy 
groups.   
 
The Demonstration affects coverage for certain specified mandatory State plan eligibles by 
requiring enrollment in coordinated, cost effective, health care delivery systems.  In this way, the 
Demonstration will test the use of managed care entities to provide cost effective care 
coordination, including two pilot projects that will test the effect of integrating behavioral and 
physical health services for two populations  – individuals residing in Maricopa county with 
serious mental illness and children participating in the Children’s Rehabilitative Services 
program. The Demonstration also provides coverage to limited groups the State does not 
currently cover under its Medicaid State plan, including adults without dependent children, and a 
limited number of children with incomes above the levels under the Medicaid State plan and at 
or below 200 percent of the FPL, which will show the benefits of such coverage using these 
approaches to a wider population.  In addition, the Demonstration will provide for payments to 
IHS and tribal 638 facilities to address the fiscal burden of uncompensated care for services 
provided in or by such facilities to individuals with income up to 100 percent of the FPL.  This 
authority will enable the State to evaluate how this approach impacts the financial viability of 
IHS and 638 facilities and ensures the continued availability of a robust health care delivery 
network for current and future Medicaid beneficiaries.         
 
Finally, the Demonstration will allow the State to also test the effects of increasing personal 
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financial responsibility on utilization and health outcomes on some populations by permitting 
cost sharing.  Specifically, the Demonstration will test the effects of the imposition of mandatory 
co-payments on adults without dependent children in the following areas: 

1. Utilization of needed preventive, primary care, and treatment services; 
2. Appropriate utilization of emergency room care, and appropriate, cost and clinically 

effective use of generic and brand name drugs;   
3. State and Federal expenditures (per enrollee) in the short and long term; and 
4. Physician participation, including physician willingness to accept appointments from the 

adults without dependent children population. 
 
In order to evaluate these hypotheses, the Demonstration will review utilization and cost data and 
quality measures related to the adults without dependent children enrolled under the 
Demonstration as specified in paragraph 29(c). 

III.    GENERAL PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS     
 
 

1. Compliance with Federal Non-Discrimination Statutes.  The State must comply with all 
applicable Federal statutes relating to non-discrimination.  These include, but are not 
limited to, the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 
1964, section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, and the Age Discrimination Act of 
1975. 

 

 

 

2. Compliance with Medicaid Law, Regulation, and Policy.  All requirements of the 
Medicaid program, or the Children’s  Health Insurance Program (CHIP) for the separate 
CHIP population,  expressed in law, regulation, and policy statement, not expressly 
waived or identified as not applicable in the waiver and expenditure authority documents 
(of which these terms and conditions are part), apply to the Demonstration.   

3. Changes in Medicaid Law, Regulation, and Policy.  The State must, within the 
timeframes specified in law, regulation, or policy statement, come into compliance with 
any changes in Federal law, regulation, or policy affecting the Medicaid program that 
occur during this Demonstration approval period, unless the provision being changed is 
expressly waived or identified as not applicable.   

4. Impact on Demonstration of Changes in Federal Law, Regulation, and Policy.  
 

a) To the extent that a change in Federal law, regulation, or policy requires either a 
reduction or an increase in Federal financial participation (FFP) for expenditures 
made under this Demonstration, the State must adopt, subject to CMS approval, a 
modified budget neutrality agreement for the Demonstration as necessary to comply 
with such change.  The modified agreement will be effective upon the 
implementation of the change. The trend rates for the budget neutrality agreement are 
not subject to change under this subparagraph.   
 

b) If mandated changes in the Federal law require State legislation, the changes must 
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take effect on the earlier of the day such State legislation becomes effective, or on the 
last day such legislation was required to be in effect under the law. 

 

 

 

 

5. State Plan Amendments.  The State will not be required to submit title XIX and XXI 
State plan amendments for changes affecting any populations made eligible solely 
through the Demonstration.  If a population eligible through the Medicaid State plan is 
affected by a change to the Demonstration, a conforming amendment to the State Plan is 
required, except as otherwise noted in these STCs. 

6. Changes Subject to the Amendment Process.  Changes related to eligibility, 
enrollment, benefits, delivery systems, cost sharing, evaluation design, sources of non-
Federal share of funding, budget neutrality, and other comparable program elements must 
be submitted to CMS as amendments to the Demonstration.  All amendment requests are 
subject to approval at the discretion of the Secretary in accordance with section 1115 of 
the Act.  The State must not implement changes to these elements without prior approval 
by CMS.  Amendments to the Demonstration are not retroactive and FFP will not be 
available for changes to the Demonstration that have not been approved through the 
amendment process set forth in paragraph 7 below.   

7. Amendment Process.  Requests to amend the Demonstration must be submitted to CMS 
for approval no later than 120 days prior to the planned date of implementation of the 
change and may not be implemented until approved.  Amendment requests must include, 
but are not limited to, the following: 
 

a) An explanation of the public process used by the State, consistent with the 
requirements of paragraph 14 to reach a decision regarding the requested 
amendment; 
 

b) A data analysis which identifies the specific “with waiver” impact of the proposed 
amendment on the current budget neutrality agreement.  Such analysis shall 
include current total computable “with waiver” and “without waiver” status on 
both a summary and detailed level through the current approval period using the 
most recent actual expenditures, as well as summary and detailed projections of 
the change in the “with waiver” expenditure total as a result of the proposed 
amendment, which isolates (by Eligibility Group) the impact of the amendment; 
 

c) A detailed description of the amendment, including impact on beneficiaries, with 
sufficient supporting documentation; and 
 

d) If applicable, a description of how the evaluation designs will be modified to 
incorporate the amendment provisions. 

8. Extension of the Demonstration. States that intend to request demonstration extensions 
under sections 1115(e) or 1115(f) are advised to observe the timelines contained in those 
statutes.  Otherwise, no later than 12 months prior to the expiration date of the 
Demonstration, the chief executive officer of the State must submit to CMS either a 
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Demonstration extension request or a phase-out plan consistent with the requirements of 
paragraph 9.   
 
As part of the Demonstration extension request, the state must provide documentation of 
compliance with the public notice requirements outlined in paragraph 14 as well as 
include the following supporting documentation: 
 

a) Demonstration Summary and Objectives: The State must provide a summary of 
the demonstration project, reiterate the objectives set forth at the time the 
demonstration was proposed and provide evidence of how these objectives have 
been met. 
 

b) Special Terms and Conditions (STCs): The State must provide documentation of 
its compliance with each of the STCs.  Where appropriate, a brief explanation 
may be accompanied by an attachment containing more detailed information.  
Where the STCs address any of the following areas, they need not be documented 
a second time. 
 

c) Quality: The State must provide summaries of External Quality Review 
Organization (EQRO) reports, managed care organization (MCO) and State 
quality assurance monitoring, and any other documentation of the quality of care 
provided under the demonstration. 
 

d) Compliance with the Budget Neutrality Cap: The State must provide financial 
data (as set forth in the current STCs) demonstrating that the State has maintained 
and will maintain budget neutrality for the requested period of extension.  CMS 
will work with the State to ensure that Federal expenditures under the extension 
of this project do not exceed the Federal expenditures that would otherwise have 
been made.  In doing so, CMS will take into account the best estimate of current 
trend rates at the time of the extension. 
 

e) Interim Evaluation Report:  The State must provide an evaluation report reflecting 
the hypotheses being tested and any results available.   

 
9. Demonstration Phase-Out.  The State may only suspend or terminate this 

Demonstration in whole, or in part, consistent with the following requirements.   
 
a) Notification of Suspension or Termination: The State must promptly notify CMS 

in writing of the reason(s) for the suspension or termination, together with the 
effective date and a phase-out plan.  The State must submit its notification letter 
and a draft phase-out plan to CMS no less than 5 months before the effective date 
of the Demonstration’s suspension or termination.  Prior to submitting the draft 
phase-out plan to CMS, the State must publish on its website the draft phase-out 
plan for a 30-day public comment period.  In addition, the State must conduct 
tribal consultation in accordance with its approved tribal consultation State Plan 
Amendment.  Once the 30-day public comment period has ended, the State must 

Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

5 



 

 
provide a summary of each public comment received, the State’s response to the 
comment and how the State incorporated the received comment into the revised 
phase-out plan.   

 
The State must obtain CMS approval of the phase-out plan prior to the 
implementation of the phase-out activities.  Implementation of phase-out activities 
must be no sooner than 14 days after CMS approval of the phase-out plan.  

 
b) Phase-out Plan Requirements:  The State must include, at a minimum, in its 

phase-out plan the process by which it will notify affected beneficiaries, the 
content of said notices (including information on the beneficiary’s appeal rights), 
the process by which the State will conduct administrative reviews of Medicaid 
eligibility for the affected beneficiaries, and ensure ongoing coverage for eligible 
individuals, as well as any community outreach activities.   

 
c) Phase-out Procedures: The State must comply with all notice requirements found 

in 42 CFR §431.206, 431.210 and 431.213.  In addition, the State must assure all 
appeal and hearing rights afforded to Demonstration participants as outlined in 42 
CFR §431.220 and 431.221.  If a Demonstration participant requests a hearing 
before the date of action, the State must maintain benefits as required in 42 CFR 
§431.230.  In addition, the State must conduct administrative renewals for all 
affected beneficiaries in order to determine if they qualify for Medicaid eligibility 
under a different eligibility category as discussed in the October 1, 2010, State 
Health Official Letter #10-008. 

 
d) Federal Financial Participation (FFP): If the project is terminated or any relevant 

waivers suspended by the State, FFP shall be limited to normal closeout costs 
associated with terminating the Demonstration including services and 
administrative costs of disenrolling participants. 

 
10.  CMS Right to Terminate or Suspend.  CMS may suspend or terminate the 

Demonstration in whole or in part at any time before the date of expiration, whenever it 
determines, following a hearing that the State has materially failed to comply with the 
terms of the project.  CMS will promptly notify the State in writing of the determination 
and the reasons for the suspension or termination, together with the effective date.  

 

 

11. Finding of Non-Compliance.  The State does not relinquish its rights to challenge CMS’ 
finding that the State materially failed to comply. 

12. Withdrawal of Waiver Authority.  CMS reserves the right to withdraw waivers or 
expenditure authorities at any time it determines that continuing the waivers or 
expenditure authorities would no longer be in the public interest or promote the 
objectives of title XIX.  CMS will promptly notify the State in writing of the 
determination and the reasons for the withdrawal, together with the effective date, and 
afford the State an opportunity to request a hearing to challenge CMS’ determination 
prior to the effective date.  If a waiver or expenditure authority is withdrawn, FFP is 
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limited to normal closeout costs associated with terminating the waiver or expenditure 
authority, including services and administrative costs of disenrolling participants.  
 

13. Adequacy of Infrastructure.  The State will ensure the availability of adequate 
resources for implementation and monitoring of the Demonstration, including education, 
outreach, and enrollment; maintaining eligibility systems; compliance with cost sharing 
requirements; and reporting on financial and other Demonstration components. 
 

14. Public Notice, Tribal Consultation, and Consultation with Interested Parties.  The 
State must comply with the State Notice Procedures set forth in 59 Fed. Reg. 49249 
(September 27, 1994).  The State must also comply with  the tribal consultation 
requirements in section 1902(a)(73) of the Act as amended by section 5006(e) of the 
American Recovery and Reinvestment Act (ARRA) of 2009 and the tribal consultation 
requirements contained in the State’s approved State plan, when any program changes to 
the Demonstration, including (but not limited to) those referenced  in STC 6, are 
proposed by the State.  
 
In States with Federally recognized Indian tribes, consultation must be conducted in 
accordance with the consultation process outlined in the July 17, 2001 letter or the 
consultation process in the State’s approved Medicaid State plan if that process is 
specifically applicable to consulting with tribal governments on waivers (42 C.F.R. 
§431.408(b)(2)).   
 
In States with Federally recognized Indian tribes, Indian health programs, and/or Urban 
Indian organizations, the State is required to submit evidence to CMS regarding the 
solicitation of advice from these entities prior to submission of any Demonstration 
proposal and/or renewal of this Demonstration (42 C.F.R. §431.408(b)(3)).  

 
The State must also comply with the Public Notice Procedures set forth in 42 CFR 
447.205 for changes in statewide methods and standards for setting payment rates. 

 
 

15. FFP.  Federal funds are not available for expenditures for this Demonstration until the 
effective date identified in the Demonstration approval letter.  

 
 
IV.   ELIGIBILITY  
 

16. Eligibility.  The Demonstration affects all of the mandatory Medicaid eligibility groups 
set forth in Arizona’s approved State plan, 14 optional groups set forth in the State plan, 
and 5 expansion groups made eligible under this Demonstration.  Mandatory and optional 
State plan groups described below are subject to all applicable Medicaid laws and 
regulations except as expressly waived.  Expansion populations are defined as those 
groups made eligible by virtue of the expenditure authorities expressly granted in this 
Demonstration and are subject to Medicaid and CHIP laws or regulations except as 
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specified in the STCs and waiver and expenditure authorities for this Demonstration. 
These cited documents generally provide that all requirements of Medicaid and CHIP 
laws and regulations do apply, except to the extent waived or specified as not applicable.   
The criteria for Arizona eligibility groups are as follows (Table 1): 

 
Table 1 – State Plan and Expansion Populations Affected by the Demonstration 

 
Description Program Social Security Act Cite 42CFR 

Cite 
STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS   

Families and Children 
1931 (Title IV A program that was in place in July 1996) 
including:  
• pregnant women with no other eligible children 

(coverage for third trimester)  
• persons 18 years of age, if a full-time student  
• family with unemployed parent 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I)  435.110 

Twelve months continued coverage (transitional medical 
assistance) 1931 ineligible due to increase in income from 
employment or work hours or loss of "income disregard."  

AACP 1902(a)(52) 
1902(e)(l) 
1925(a)(b)(c)  
 

435.112 

1931 Extension-Extension of MA when child or spousal 
support collection results in 1931 ineligibility. (4 months 
continued coverage) 
 

AACP 408(a)(11)(B)   
1902 (a) (10) (A) (i) (I) 
1931 (c) 

435.115 

STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS   
Pregnant Women, Children, and Newborns 

Qualified pregnant women who: 
• would be AFDC eligible if child were born and  
• meet AFDC income & resource criteria 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)III 
1905(n) 

435.116 

"S.O.B.R.A. WOMEN & INFANTS" 
Pregnant women & infants under age 1 with incomes less 
than or equal to 133% FPL. (optional group extends 
coverage up to 140% FPL for infants under age 1) 
 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV)  
1902(l)(1)(A) 

 

"S.O.B.R.A. CHILDREN" 
Children age 1+ but not yet 6 with incomes at or below 
133% FPL. 
 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI) 
1902(l)(1)(C)  

 

"S.O.B.R.A. CHILDREN" 
Children age 6+ but not yet 19, born after 9-30-83, with 
income less than or equal to 100% FPL. 
 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VII)  
1902(l)(1)(D) 

 

"DEEMED CATEGORICAL NEWBORNS" 
Children born to a woman who was eligible and 
received Medicaid on the date of the child’s birth.  
Children living with their mothers are eligible for 1 
year as long as mothers are eligible or would be 
eligible if pregnant.* 
 

AACP 1902(e)(4)  435.117 

STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS   
Qualified Family Members 

Qualified members of family with unemployed principal 
wage earner (persons who would be eligible if state did 
not limit number of months AFDC-UP cash was 
available). 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(i) 
1905(m)(l) 

435.119 
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Description Program Social Security Act Cite 42CFR 
Cite 

STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS  
Aged, Blind, and Disabled 

All SSI cash recipients: aged, blind or disabled persons AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) 435.120 

Qualified severely impaired working blind or disabled 
persons < 65 who were: a) receiving Title XIX, SSI or 
State supplement under 1619(a); or b) eligible for 
Medicaid under 1619(b) in 6/87 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II) 
1905(q) 

435.120 

"DAC" Disabled adult child (age 18+) who lost SSI by 
becoming OASDI eligible (i.e., due to blindness or 
disability that began before age 22) or due to increase in 
amount of child's benefits. 

AACP 1634(c)  

SSI cash or state supplement ineligible for reasons 
prohibited by Title XIX. 

AACP 
ALTCS 

 435.122 

SSA Beneficiaries who lost SSI or state supplement 
cash benefits due to cost of living adjustment (COLA) 
increase in Title II benefits 

AACP  435.135 

Disabled widow/widower who lost SSI or State 
supplement due to 1984 increase in OASDI caused by 
elimination of reduction factor in PL 98-21. (person must 
apply for this by 7/88) 

AACP 1634(b) 435.137 

Disabled widow/widower (age 60-64 and ineligible for 
Medicare Part A) who lost SSI or State supplement due to 
early receipt of Social Security benefits. 

AACP 1634(d) 435.138 

"DC Children" Children under the age of 18 who were 
receiving SSI Cash on 8/26/96 and would continue to 
be eligible for SSI Cash if their disability met the 
childhood definition of disability that was in effect 
prior to 8/26/96. 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(II)  

STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS  
Adoption Assistance and Foster Care Children 

Children in adoption subsidy/foster care Title IV-E 
programs 

AACP 
ALTCS 

473(b)(l)  
1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(I) 

435.145 

STATE PLAN MANDATORY TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS   
Special Groups 

"POSTPARTUM" 
Title XIX eligible women who apply on or before 
pregnancy ends, (continuous coverage through the 
month in which the 60th day postpartum period ends) 

AACP 1902(e)(5) 
1902(e)(6) 

435.170 

STATE PLAN OPTIONAL TITLE XIX COVERAGE GROUPS 
Description Program Social Security Act Cite 42CFR 

Cite 
"210 GROUP" Persons who meet AFDC, SSI or State 
supplement income & resource criteria. 

AACP 
ALTCS Case 
Management 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(I) 435.210 

“211 GROUP" Persons who would be eligible for cash 
assistance except for their institutional status. 

ALTCS 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IV) 435.211 

"GUARANTEED ENROLLMENT" Continuous coverage 
for persons enrolled in AHCCCS Health Plans who lose 
categorical eligibility prior to 6 months from enrollment. (5 
full months plus month of enrollment) 

AACP 1902(e)(2) 435.212 

"S.O.B.R.A. Infants” infants with incomes between the 
133% FPL mandatory group maximum and a 140% FPL 
optional State maximum. 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX)  

Pregnant women, including postpartum, who maintain 
eligibility without regard to changes in income. 

AACP 1902(e)(6)  
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Description Program Social Security Act Cite 42CFR 
Cite 

"HCBS GROUP" Persons receiving HCBS under a waiver 
with incomes < or equal to 300% of the Federal benefit rate 
(FBR). 

ALTCS 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(VI) 435.217  

"State Adoption Subsidy" Children who receive a state 
adoption subsidy payment. 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(ii)(VIII) 435.227 

"236 GROUP" Persons in medical institutions for 30 
consecutive days who meet state-set income level of < or 
equal to 300% of FBR. 

ALTCS 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(V) 435.236 

“Freedom to Work” Basic Coverage Group – individuals 
aged 16-64 with a disability who would be eligible, except 
for earnings, for SSI up to and including 250% of FPL. 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XV) 
 

 

“Freedom to Work” Medical Improvement Group – 
employed individuals aged 16-64 with a medically 
improved disability up to and including 250% of FPL. 

AACP 
ALTCS 

1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVI)  

Women under 65 who need treatment for breast or cervical 
cancer, and not otherwise eligible for Medicaid. 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVIII)  

Children who have aged out of foster care at 18 up to age 
21 

AACP 1902(a)(10)(A)(ii)(XVII)  

1931 Expansion-Income Greater than 36% FPL and 
less than or equal to 100% FPL. 

AACP   

SSI-MAO Expansion (Optional 210 Group)- aged, 
blind, or disabled individuals with income greater 
than 100% FBR and less than or equal to 100% FPL. 

AACP Arizona State Plan  

TITLE XIX AND XXI EXPANSION GROUPS UNDER THE DEMONSTRATION 
Adults without dependent children who were 
enrolled in the AHCCCS under Demonstration 
project #11-W-00032/9 and #21-W-00009/9 as of 
July 8, 2011 as long as they continue to meet the 
State’s eligibility criteria and redetermination 
requirements. 

AACP ARS 36-2901.01  

To the extent the State gives notice to CMS 
described in 17.b below, adults without dependent 
children with adjusted net countable income at or 
below 100% FPL who are not otherwise eligible for 
Medicaid.  

AACP ARS 36-2901.01  

Individuals who applied for the Medical Expense Deduction 
(MED) program (under Expenditure Authority 16 of 
Demonstration project #11-W-00032/9 and #21-W-
00009/9) prior to May 1, 2011 and were determined eligible 
for that population for a 6-month guaranteed eligibility 
period after that date, until the end of that 6-month period.  

AACP ARS 36-2901.04  

Women who lose Medicaid pregnancy coverage at 
the conclusion of 60 days postpartum, and who are 
not otherwise eligible for Medicare, Medicaid, 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) or 
health insurance coverage that provides family 
planning services, and who have a family income at 
or below 150 percent of the FPL at the time of 
annual redetermination (up to 24 months following 
the postpartum period). 

Family 
Planning 
Extension 
Program 

ARS 36-2907.04  

Children up to age 19 with incomes above 100 
percent of the FPL up to and including 200 percent 
of the FPL who meet the definition of a targeted low-
income child and who have access to ESI coverage  

ESI   

Children with family income at or below 200 percent 
of the FPL who are not otherwise eligible for 
Medicaid, subject to available funding. 

KidsCare II   
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*Arizona’s 1115 Demonstration provides the authority to waive some of the provisions. 

 
V. DEMONSTRATION PROGRAMS 
 

17. Arizona Acute Care Program (AACP). The AACP is a statewide, managed care 
system which delivers acute care services through prepaid, capitated MCOs that 
AHCCCS calls “Health Plans.”  Most Health Plan contracts are awarded by 
Geographic Service Area (GSA), which is a specific county or defined grouping of 
counties designated by AHCCCS within which a Contractor provides, directly or 
through subcontract, covered health care to members enrolled with that Contractor.  
AACP enrollees receive most Medicaid-covered services through the Health Plans, 
but receive, on a “carve out” basis, behavioral health services through a separate 
PIHP contract. The one exception to the behavioral health carve out is for AACP 
members with a serious mental illness residing in Maricopa County who receive their 
acute care and behavioral health services through the PIHP. In addition, AACP 
members with a CRS condition receive all of their care – acute care and treatment for 
CRS and behavioral health care conditions – through a separate MCO contract.  
 

a) AACP Eligibility – Those Groups identified in Table 1.  
 

 
b) Enrollment - The Arizona DES processes applications and determines acute care 

Medicaid eligibility for children, pregnant women, families and non-disabled adults 
under the age of 65 years. The Social Security Administration (SSA) determines 
eligibility for the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) cash-related groups, and 
AHCCCS determines eligibility for the SSI- related aged and disabled groups, 
Medicare Savings Programs, women diagnosed with breast or cervical cancer, and 
Freedom to Work recipients.  Individuals determined eligible must then select and 
enroll in a Health Plan, or they will be auto-assigned by the AHCCCS administration. 
 

i. Except as specified in subparagraph (iv) below, the State will not make 
individuals eligible based on applications received on and/or after July 8, 
2011, for AHCCCS benefits from adults without dependent children with 
family income up to 100 percent of the FPL.  Adults without dependent 
children who were enrolled in the AHCCCS under Demonstration project 
#11-W-00032/9 and #21-W-00009/9 as of July 8, 2011, will continue to 
receive AHCCCS benefits under this Demonstration as long as such 
individuals continue to meet the State’s eligibility criteria and redetermination 
requirements.  
 

ii. The State may open new enrollment for the adults without dependent children 
population.  The State must notify CMS prior to re-opening enrollment, and 
must include a process by which it will notify the public, such as the use of 
public forums, tribal consultations, and community stakeholder meetings. 
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iii. The State must maintain eligibility for individuals who were enrolled in 

AHCCCS under Demonstration #11-W-00032/9 and #21-W-00009/9 as of 
July 8, 2011 in the adults without dependent children population unless the 
individuals no longer meet the eligibility criteria.  

 
iv. Subject to available funding provided by governmental entities pursuant to an 

IGT agreement as specified in paragraph 26(j), and the notification described 
above in subparagraph (ii), the state will open enrollment to state plan eligible 
1931 parents who, because of a lack of a dependent child, would otherwise 
lose coverage due to the state’s determination to close enrollment to new 
childless adults. This would include allowing state plan eligible 1931 parents 
to transition to childless adult coverage in the event that their children age out 
of Medicaid or enter the foster care system.  The AHCCCS Administration 
will, upon notice of loss of a dependent child, change the beneficiary’s 
eligibility status to that of childless adult administratively, and will not require 
the beneficiary to reapply for coverage under the demonstration. The affected 
1931 parents will maintain their AHCCCS coverage through December 31, 
2013, assuming all other eligibility criteria is met (e.g., income), and will be 
notified of their change in eligibility designation from 1931 parent to childless 
adult.  Funding is anticipated to support enrollment of a target number of 
13,000 adults. 

 
 

c) Benefits – Benefits for AACP and the expansion population authorized by the 1115 
Demonstration will consist of all acute care benefits covered under the Medicaid State 
plan (see Attachment G), unless otherwise noted within these STCs.  

 
i. Notice - The State must include the CMS Central Office when submitting a 

State plan amendment (SPA) to the CMS Regional Office that would impact 
the expansion population authorized by the 1115 Demonstration inclusive of: 

a. The proposed date of implementation;  
b. The date the State plans to submit the SPA; and   
c. Revised budget neutrality projections.  

 
ii. Demonstration Amendment. CMS reserves the right to require the State to 

submit an amendment if it is determined that it is warranted.  
 

iii. Behavioral health services are outlined in Table 2 and subject to limitations 
set forth in the existing State plan. 

   
       Table 2 – AACP Behavioral Management 

Benefit Title XIX Title XXI 
Age < 21 yrs > 21 yrs < 19 yrs 

    
Behavioral Management X X X 
Case Management X X X 
Emergency Behavioral Health Care X X X 
Evaluation X X X 
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Benefit Title XIX Title XXI 

Therapeutic Residential Support (in home, excluding room and 
board ) 

X X X 

Inpatient Services    
Inpatient Hospital X X X 

Inpatient Psychiatric Facilities 
 

X X X 

Lab & X – Ray X X X 
Medications (Psychotropic) X X X 
Medication Adjustment & Monitoring X X X 
Methadone / IAAM X X X 
Partial Care X X X 
Professional Services    

Individual X X X 
Group & Family X X X 

Psychosocial Rehabilitation X X X 
Respite (with limits) X X X 
Screening X X X 
Transportation – Emergency X X X 
Transportation – Non Emergency X X X 

 
d) AACP Cost Sharing – Cost sharing shall be imposed as specified in the Medicaid 

State plan for all populations, except for the adults without dependent children with 
income up to 100 percent of the FPL which are as follows:   

  
Table 3 – Adults without Dependent Children Copayments 
Service Copayment 

Amount 
Geographic 
Applicability 

Generic prescription, or brand name 
prescription if generic is not available 

$4 Statewide 

Brand name prescription when 
generic is available 

$10 Statewide 

Non-emergency use of the emergency 
room 

$30 Statewide 

Physician office visit $5 Statewide 
Non-emergency medical 
transportation (NEMT)  
(taxi rides only) 

$2 per trip 
($4 roundtrip 
maximum) 

Only in Maricopa 
and Pima counties 

 
i. The NEMT copayment shall be imposed only on taxi rides for adults without 

dependent children who reside in Maricopa and Pima counties.  Adults 
without dependent children residing in all other counties within the State are 
exempt from the NEMT copayment. The American Indian/Alaskan Native 
(AI/AN) population is also exempt. 

ii. The copayments referenced in the Table 3 above are subject to the evaluation 
requirements in STC# 29(c). 

 
18. Children in Foster Care – Services for Arizona’s children in foster care are provided 

through an MCO contract between AHCCCS and the Arizona DES/CMDP.  CMDP 
operates in the same manner as other AACP Health Plans, but children in foster care who 
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receive acute care services will be enrolled in CMDP instead of other Health Plans.  
Children in foster care who are eligible for or receive ALTCS will be enrolled or remain 
with the Program Contractor.  Case Management services provided and reimbursed 
through this contractual relationship must be provided consistent with Federal policy, 
regulations and law.  Children in foster care who are also eligible for CRS receive 
treatment for their CRS and behavioral health care conditions through the separate MCO 
contract for the CRS program. CRS eligible foster children will receive services for all 
conditions other than behavioral health or CRS related conditions through CMDP. 

 
a)  FFP. FFP will not be available for: 

 
i. Duplicate payments made to public agencies or private entities under other 

program authorities for case management services or other Medicaid services 
for the same purpose; or 

 
ii. Activities integral to the administration of the foster care program excluding 

any health care related activities. 
 

19. Children Rehabilitative Services (CRS). AHCCCS contracts on a sole-source, capitated 
basis for the CRS program.  Acute Care enrolled children with qualifying conditions 
receive their CRS specialty care, behavioral health care and acute care through the CRS 
contractor. Children enrolled in ALTCS DES/DDD who also have a CRS condition will 
receive care for their CRS and behavioral health conditions through the CRS contractor. 
Children with a CRS condition who are enrolled in CMDP will receive treatment for their 
CRS and behavioral health care conditions through the CRS contractor. 
 

a) Transition of Care. When individuals transition to the CRS contractor from an 
AACP health plan, children in active treatment (including but not limited to 
chemotherapy, pregnancy, drug regime or a scheduled procedure) with a CRS 
non-participating provider shall be allowed to continue receiving treatment from 
the non-participating provider through the duration of their prescribed treatment. 
 

b) Choice of Primary Care Physician (PCP).  The CRS contractor is required to 
assure that members have a choice of PCPs. Specifically, beneficiaries will have a 
choice of at least two primary care providers, and may request change of primary 
care provider at least at the times described in 42 CFR 438.56(c).   In addition, the 
CRS contractor will offer contracts to primary and specialist physicians who have 
established relationships with beneficiaries including specialists who may also 
serve as PCPs to encourage continuity of provider.  For children who have an 
established relationship with a PCP that does not participate in the CRS 
contractor’s provider network, the CRS contractor will provide, at a minimum, a 
90-day transition period in which the child may continue to seek care from their 
established PCP while the child and child’s parents and/or guardian, the CRS 
contractor, and/or case manager finds an alternative PCP within the CRS 
contractor’s provider network. 
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c) Readiness Review of Health Plan.  The state will submit to CMS for review a 

copy of its readiness review report of the health plan selected to provide the 
integrated services to the CRS population to ensure the selected health plan’s 
provider network, both in terms of primary and specialty care providers, is 
adequate and would not result in access to care issues for the affected population. 
 

 
20. Individuals with Serious Mental Illness (SMI).  Individuals who are AACP members 

residing in Maricopa County and who are diagnosed with a serious mental illness will 
receive their acute care services and behavioral health services through a separate PIHP.   
 

a) Transition Period. When individuals transition to the PIHP for their physical 
health from an AACP health plan, members in active treatment (including but not 
limited to chemotherapy, pregnancy, drug regime or a scheduled procedure) with 
a non-participating/non-contracted provider shall be allowed to continue receiving 
treatment from the non-participating/non-contracted provider through the duration 
of their prescribed treatment. 
 

b) Choice of Primary Care Physician (PCP).  The PIHP is required to assure that 
members have a choice of PCPs. Specifically, beneficiaries will have a choice of 
at least two primary care providers, and may request change of primary care 
provider at least at the times described in 42 CFR 438.56(c).    In addition, the 
PIHP, through the Regional Behavioral Health Authorities (RBHA), will offer 
contracts to primary and specialist physicians who have established relationships 
with beneficiaries including specialists who may also serve as PCPs to encourage 
continuity of provider.  For individuals who have an established relationship with 
a PCP that does not participate in the PIHP/RBHA’s provider network, the PIHP 
will provide, at a minimum, a 90-day transition period in which the individual 
may continue to seek care from their established PCP while the individual, the 
PIHP, RBHA and/or case manager finds an alternative PCP within the 
PIHP/RBHA’s provider network. 

 
c) Readiness Review of Health Plan.  The state will submit to CMS for review a 

copy of its readiness review report of the health plan selected to provide the 
integrated services to the SMI population to ensure the selected health plan’s 
provider network, both in terms of primary and specialty care providers, is 
adequate and would not result in access to care issues for the affected population. 

 
21. Arizona Long Term Care System (ALTCS).  The ALTCS program is for individuals 

who are age 65 and over, blind, disabled, or who need ongoing services at a nursing 
facility or ICF/MR level of care.  ALTCS enrollees do not have to reside in a nursing 
home and may live in their own homes or an alternative residential setting and receive 
needed in-home services.  The ALTCS package also includes all medical care covered 
under AACP inclusive of doctor's office visits, hospitalization, prescriptions, lab work, 
behavioral health services, and rehabilitative services.  Rehabilitative services may only 
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be eligible for FFP if these services reduce disability or restore the program enrollee to 
the best possible level of functionality.  
 
The ALTCS is administered through a statewide, managed care system which delivers 
acute, long-term care, home-and-community based, CRS and behavioral health care 
services through capitated MCOs that AHCCCS calls “Program Contractors.”  The one 
exception is ALTCS DES/DDD enrollees eligible under the CRS program receive 
specialty care for treatment of their CRS and behavioral health conditions through a 
separate MCO contract. Those enrollees will receive services for all conditions other than 
behavioral health or CRS related conditions through ALTCS DES/DDD. 
 
With one exception, ALTCS contracts are awarded in the same geographic service areas 
as AACP are awarded.  The exception is for the ALTCS contract with the Arizona 
DES/DDD to provide coverage on a statewide basis of the full ALTCS benefit package to 
all eligible individuals with developmental disabilities. Under State law, A.R.S. 36-2940, 
AHCCCS is required to enter into an intergovernmental agreement (IGA) with 
DES/DDD to serve as the managed care organization for individuals with developmental 
disabilities.  The DES/DDD ALTCS contract is an at-risk MCO contract that complies 
with 42 C.F.R. Part 438 and as such is reviewed and approved by CMS.  Payments to 
DES/DDD under the ALTCS contract shall not include any payments other than 
payments that meet the requirements of 42 C.F.R. 438.6(c) including the requirement that 
all payments and risk-sharing mechanisms in the contract are actuarially sound.   State 
law, A.R.S. 36-2953, requires DES/DDD to maintain a separate fund to account for all 
revenues and expenditures under the ALTCS contract and limits use of the fund for the 
administration of the ALTCS contract.   ALTCS enrollees in Maricopa and Pima 
Counties have a choice of Program Contractors, but ALTCS enrollees in the rest of the 
State enroll in the Program Contractor for their GSA. 

 
a) ALTCS Eligibility Groups - Individuals as defined in Table 1 requiring health care 

services at a nursing facility or ICF/MR level of care. 
 

b) ALTCS Financial Eligibility - Individuals must be financially eligible for ALTCS 
with income equal to or less than 300 percent of the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR), as 
used by SSA to determine eligibility for SSI.  

 
i. The State may disregard income in excess of the FBR for persons with 

AHCCCS approved income-only trusts.  
 

ii. The resource (cash, bank accounts, stocks, bonds, etc.) limit is $2,000 for a 
single individual.  Resources, such as a person's home, vehicle, and 
irrevocable burial plan are not counted toward the resource limit. 

 
iii. When the applicant has a spouse who resides in the community, the spouse 

can retain one-half of the couple's resources, up to the Federal maximum as 
specified in section 1924(f)(2) of the Act.  Resources, such as a person's 
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home, vehicle, and irrevocable burial plan are not counted toward the resource 
limit. 

 
iv. The total gross income for a married couple is combined and divided by 2.  

The resulting income may not exceed 300 percent of the single FBR.  If the 
resulting income exceeds 300 percent of the single FBR, the income of the 
applicant only (name on check) is compared to 300 percent of the single FBR. 
   

c) Pre-Admission Screening (PAS) - Once financial eligibility has been established, a 
PAS will be conducted by a registered nurse or social worker to determine if the 
individual is at immediate risk of institutionalization in either a nursing facility or an 
ICF/MR. The PAS must be used to determine if the applicant is eligible for ALTCS 
based on functional, medical, nursing, and social needs of the individual. 
 

d) Written Plan of Care - An individual written plan of care will be developed by 
qualified providers for ALTCS enrollees under this demonstration. This plan of care 
will describe the medical and other services to be furnished, their frequency, and the 
type of provider who will furnish each. All services will be furnished pursuant to a 
written plan of care. The plan of care will be subject to the review of AHCCCS.  

 
i. FFP - will not be claimed for Demonstration services furnished prior to the 

development of the plan of care. FFP will not be claimed for Demonstration 
services which are not included in the individual written plan of care. 
 

e) ALTCS Safeguards – AHCCCS will take the following necessary safeguards to 
protect the health and welfare of persons receiving HCBS services under the ALTCS 
program. Those safeguards include:  

 
i. Adequate standards for all types of providers that furnish services under the 

ALTCS program; 
 

ii. Assurance that the standards of any State licensure or certification 
requirements are met for services or for individuals furnishing services that 
are provided under the ALTCS program. The State assures that these 
requirements will be met on the date that the services are furnished; and 

 

 

iii.  Assurance that all facilities covered by section 1616 (e) of the Social Security 
Act, in which home and community-based services will be provided, are in 
compliance with applicable State standards that meet the requirement of 45 
CFR Part 1397 for board and care facilities. 
  

iv. A formal quality control system which monitors the health and welfare of 
members served in the ALTCS program. 

1) Monitoring will ensure that all provider standards and health and 
welfare assurances are continually met, and that plans of care are 
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periodically reviewed to ensure that the services furnished are 
reasonably consistent with the identified needs of the individuals.  
 

2) The State further assures that all problems identified by this 
monitoring will be addressed in an appropriate and timely manner, 
consistent with the severity and nature of the deficiencies. 

 
f) ALTCS Benefits and Services 

 
i. ALTCS Acute Care - Enrollees receive the same acute services as defined in 

paragraph 17(c). 
    

ii. ALTCS Behavioral Health Care - Enrollees receive behavioral health care 
services as defined in paragraph 17(c)(iii). 

 

 

iii. Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) - ALTCS will provide a 
comprehensive HCBS package to eligible enrollees in the enrollee’s home or 
in an ALTCS approved Alternative Residential Setting. 

1) Alternative Residential Settings include: 
 

a. Adult foster care.  
Assisted living homes, assisted living centers, adult 
developmental homes, child developmental homes and group 
homes, hospices, group homes for traumatic brain injured 
members, and rural substance abuse transitional agencies.  

 
b. Behavioral Health Facilities that are licensed to provide 

behavioral health services in a structured setting with 24-hour 
supervision.  ALTCS covers services, except room and board, 
that are provided to ALTCS members who have a behavioral 
health disorder and are residing in one of the following 
behavioral health facilities:  
 

i. Level II behavioral health facility – Licensed by 
ADHS.  An HCBS alternative residential behavioral 
health treatment setting for individuals who do not 
require the intensity of services or onsite medical 
services found in a Level I facility.  
 

ii. Level III behavioral health facility - Licensed by 
ADHS.  An HCBS alternative residential behavioral 
health treatment setting with 24-hour supervision and 
supportive, protective oversight. These services are 
excluded for individuals involuntarily living in the 
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secure custody of law enforcement, judicial, or penal 
systems. 

 
2) HCBS Services – Services provided to ALTCS enrollees receiving 

HCBS are enumerated in Table 4. 
 

Table 4 – ALTCS HCBS  
Service Title XIX 
 EPD DD 
Acute Hospital Admission  X X 
Adult Day Health Services X N/A 
Attendant Care  X X 
Behavioral Health Services X X 
Community Transition  Services* X X 
DME / Medical Supplies X X 
Emergency Alert X X 
Habilitation X X 
Home Delivered Meals X n/a 
Home Health Agency Services X X 
Home Modifications X X 
Home Maker Services X X 
Hospice Services (HCBS & Institutional)  X X 
ICF / MR n/a X 
Medical Care Acute Services X X 
Nursing Facility Services X X 
Personal Care  X X 
Respite Care (in home) X X 
Respite Care (Institutional) X X 
Therapies X X 
Transportation X X 

*As Defined in State Medicaid Director Letter #02-008 (Attachment D) 
 

3) HCBS Expenditures- Expenditures for individual members are 
limited to an amount that does not exceed the cost of providing care to 
the eligible individual in an institutional setting.  Exceptions are 
permitted including when the need for additional services is due to a 
change in condition that is not expected to last more than 6 months.  

 
iv. Spouses As Paid Care Givers.  AHCCCS may implement a voluntary 

program for spouses as paid caregivers.  The program will provide 
reimbursement to spouses who elect to provide needed in-home care for 
eligible ALTCS enrollees. Spouses providing care to eligible enrollees will be 
employed by an ALTCS network contractor, or registered with AHCCCS as 
an ALTCS independent provider when providing services to an ALTCS FFS 
Native American or developmentally disabled member.  In order for the State 
to receive FFP from CMS for Paid Caregiver Spouses of Medicaid 
beneficiaries, the personal care service or support must meet the following 
criteria and monitoring provisions.  
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1) Services provided by the Spouse as Paid Caregiver must meet the 

definition of a “service/support” for personal care or similar services 
that are rendered by a Paid Caregiver when such services are deemed 
extraordinary care.  

a. Personal care or similar services – Is defined as assistance with 
the Activities of Daily Living (ADLs), or Instrumental 
Activities of Daily Living (IADLs), whether furnished in the 
home or the community, including personal assistance, 
attendant care, and closely related services such as home health 
aide, homemaker, chore, and companion services which may 
include improving and maintaining mobility and physical 
functioning, promoting health and personal safety, preparation 
with meals and snacks, accessing and using transportation, and  
participating in community experiences and activities.  

b. Extraordinary care - Is defined as care that exceeds the range of 
activities that a spouse would ordinarily perform in the 
household on behalf of the recipient spouse, if he/she did not 
have a disability or chronic illness, and which are necessary to 
assure the health and welfare of the beneficiary, and avoid 
institutionalization.  

 
 

2) The Spouse as Paid Caregiver must be a service/support that is 
specified in a plan of care prepared on behalf of the enrollee. 
 

3) The enrollee who selects the Spouse as Paid Caregiver is not eligible 
to receive like services from another attendant caregiver. 

 
4) The enrollee will remain eligible to receive other HCBS such as 

skilled/professional type services, home modifications, respite care, 
and other services that are not within the scope of the 
personal/attendant care services prescribed in the provider’s plan of 
care. 

 
5) The Services must be provided by a Spouse as Paid Caregiver who 

meets specified provider qualifications and training standards prepared 
by the State for a Paid Caregiver.  

 
6) The Spouse as Paid Caregiver must be paid at a rate that does not 

exceed that which would otherwise be paid to a provider of a similar 
service and does not exceed what is allowed by the State Medicaid 
Agency (SMA) for the payment of personal care/attendant services; 
and  

 
7) The Spouse as Paid Caregiver will comply with the following 

conditions. 
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a. A Spouse as Paid Caregiver may not be paid for more than 40 

hours of services in a 7-day period;  
b. The Spouse as Paid Caregiver must maintain and submit time 

sheets and other required documentation for hours 
worked/paid; 

c. The Spouse as Paid Caregiver may only submit claims for 
services that have been authorized by the Program Contractor 
or ALTCS FFS case manager; 

d. The ALTCS enrollee must be offered a choice of providers, 
other than his/her spouse.  The enrollee’s choice of a Paid 
Caregiver Spouse as provider must be recorded in his/her plan 
of care, at least annually.  
 

8) AHCCCS and its Program Contractors must comply with the 
following monitoring requirements: 

a. Require Program Contractors and FFS case managers to make 
an on-site case management visit at least every 90 days to 
reassess a beneficiary’s need for services, including the health, 
safety, and welfare status of the beneficiary serviced by the 
Spouse as Paid Caregiver; 

b. Require Program Contractors to provide quarterly financial 
statements that include separate authorized hours and 
expenditure information for Paid Caregiver Spouses; and  

c. Require AHCCCS to perform quarterly financial analysis that 
includes authorized hours and expenditure information for 
ALTCS FFS Spouses as Paid Caregivers. 
 

v. Institutional Care ALTCS will provide institutional care in facilities 
appropriate to their needs that hold State licenses and Medicaid provider 
agreements indicating compliance with Medicaid requirements.  
 

g) Cost Sharing.  
 

i. Monthly Premiums for ALTCS.  The AHCCCS may implement a monthly 
premium on ALTCS eligible households with an adjusted gross income at or 
above 400 percent of the FPL that have children under the age of 18 years 
with developmental disabilities enrolled in ALTCS.  
 

ii. The total of all monthly premiums will be 2 percent of the annual adjusted 
gross income for households with income between 400 percent and 500 
percent of the FPL, and 4 percent for households with income at and above 
500 percent the FPL.  There will be no distinction between institutional or 
non-institutional placements.  

 
iii. AHCCCS will compute the premium amount using annual adjusted gross 

income from the parent’s most recent Federal income tax return.  
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1) Premiums will be billed monthly on the 1st and due on the 15th.   
2) AHCCCS will establish a grievance and appeal process allowing 

families to dispute the initial amount of the premium based on annual 
income or family size, increases in premiums and discontinuances for 
failure to pay the monthly premiums or deductibles.  

a. Premiums will continue to be billed and incurred during an 
eligibility appeal period and failure to pay the premium during 
the appeal period could mean a loss of eligibility.  

b. If the appeal is based on an increase in the premium amount, 
the premium increase will not be imposed until after an appeal 
decision. 

 
h) Other ALTCS Requirements  

 
i. The State of Arizona will continue to provide access to ALTCS services to 

American Indians on the reservation as it does to other citizens of the State.  
 

ii. The State will not deny acute care Medicaid eligibility for any potentially 
disabled individual based on using PAS criteria in lieu of the SSI-disability 
determination.  Prior to rendering a final decision of ineligibility for acute care 
services based on disability, the State will use the SSI criteria as required 
under section 1902(a)(10) as interpreted through Federal regulations at 
sections 435.120 and 435.601.  

 
iii. In the absence of a limit, AHCCCS will report annually on current placements 

and ongoing activities for expanding HCB services and settings.  The report 
will be due by March 31 of each year.   

 
iv. The DES/DDD will comply with all contractual and reporting requirements as 

specified in the contract between AHCCCS and DES/DDD and in any 
subsequent amendments.  DES/DDD will be sanctioned as specified in the 
contract if DES/DDD fails to comply with the stated contractual and reporting 
requirements.  

 
22. ALTCS Transitional Program. AHCCCS will complete a second scoring of the PAS 

for members who are enrolled in ALTCS, but fail to be at “immediate risk of 
institutionalization” based on the PAS conducted at the time of the re-determination. 

  
If determined eligible for the ALTCS Transitional Program, AHCCCS will transfer the 
member to the ALTCS Transitional Program which limits institutional services to 90-
days per admission and provides the member with medically necessary acute care 
services, HCBS, behavioral health services and case management services as prescribed 
in paragraph #20.  

 
23. Medicare Part B Premiums.  The State of Arizona will continue to pay the Medicare 

Part B premiums on behalf of individuals enrolled in ALTCS  with income up to 300 
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percent of the FBR who are also eligible for Medicare, but do not qualify as a QMB, 
SLMB or QI; eligible for Medicaid under a mandatory or optional Title XIX coverage 
group for the aged, blind, or disabled (SSI-MAO); eligible for continued coverage under 
42 CFR 435.1003; or are in the guaranteed enrollment period described in 42 CFR 
435.212 and the State was paying their Part B premium before eligibility terminated.  
Once the State has received the Medicare Part B premium invoice, it will automatically 
make an electronic payment on behalf of the beneficiary.  

 
24. Title XXI Programs under the Demonstration. 

 
a) Employer-Sponsored Insurance (ESI) 
 

 
i. Eligibility.  Children who are eligible for KidsCare or KidsCare II whose 

family income is between 100 percent up to and including 200 percent of FPL, 
and who have access to a qualifying employer sponsored insurance (ESI) plan, as 
described in (iv) and (v) below.  
  

ii. Enrollment Process.  Prior to enrollment in the ESI, children (either directly or 
through their parents or guardians) must specify that they are declining enrollment 
into KidsCare or KidsCare II and instead requesting enrollment in the ESI.  Before 
such a request is accepted, the individual must receive information/counseling in 
order to ensure that enrollment is an informed choice. ESI enrollees will have the 
choice to opt back into direct coverage, if available, at any time. 

 
iii. Premium Assistance Benefits:  The State will subsidize premium assistance 

through a monthly per child subsidy that will not exceed the per capita cost of 
direct CHIP coverage for the child.  This monthly subsidy does not need to be 
allocated between eligible and ineligible family members. 

 
iv. Minimum Employer Contribution.  Qualifying ESI must include employer 

contributions of at least 30 percent of the total premium or cost under the 
employer plan. 

   
v. Minimum Benefit package.  Qualifying ESI will include coverage that 

provides a basic primary care package of inpatient hospital services, 
outpatient services, laboratory and x-ray services, pharmacy services, and 
behavioral health services.  Coverage may be provided through any 
commercial group package or self-insurance program offered by the employer 
to all employees in a class.  Within these parameters, benefits may vary 
between employers. Wrap-around services are not provided. 

   
vi. Choice of ESI Plans.  To the extent that premium assistance is extended to 

individuals, the individuals must agree not to exercise choice among available 
ESI plans without obtaining State concurrence.  The State will not, however, 
deny coverage based on a prior exercise of such choice. 
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vii. Cost Sharing. Enrollees in the ESI program will have cost sharing set by their 
employer-based coverage.   
 

viii. Enrollment Data.  Each quarter, the State will provide CMS with end of 
quarter actual and unduplicated ever-enrolled figures.  These enrollment data 
will be entered into the Statistical Enrollment Data System within 30 days 
after the end of each quarter.  The data will also be referenced in the quarterly 
reports described in paragraph 37.  In addition, the State will provide monthly 
enrollment data as specified by CMS in the monthly Eligibility and 
Enrollment Reports. 

 
b) Kids Care II Program.  This program is authorized, subject to the available funding 

as specified in paragraph 25(i), from May 1, 2012 through December 31, 2013.   
 

i. Eligibility. Targeted low-income children defined in 42 CFR 457.310 with 
family income from 100 percent of the FPL up to and including 200 percent of 
the FPL who are not otherwise eligible for Medicaid but are otherwise eligible 
for the Arizona CHIP State Plan, except for the enrollment cap and/ or waiting 
period. 
 

ii. Enrollment Process.  Eligible children will enroll into the KidsCare II 
program as outlined in the sub-paragraphs below.  Attachment H provides 
further operational details with respect to the enrollment process. 

 
1) Children “Aging Out” of Medicaid. Beginning April 6, 2012, the State 

will conduct an administrative renewal for a child turning age 6 to 
determine if the child is eligible for Medicaid under a different eligibility 
category, or if the child is eligible for the KidsCare II program.  If the 
child is no longer eligible for Medicaid, the State will automatically 
transfer the child from the AACP program into the KidsCare II program 
if they meet KidsCare II eligibility requirements.  These children will 
remain enrolled if otherwise eligible, until the KidsCare II program ends 
on December 31, 2013, at which time they will seamlessly transition to 
other forms of coverage.  These children are not subject to the waiting 
list as described in subparagraph (vi) below, and will continue to be 
automatically transitioned to KidsCare II. 

 
2) KidsCare Waiting List.  Families with children on the KidsCare 

waiting list who are notified by the State will have the opportunity to 
apply for the KidsCare II program.  In order to be determined eligible 
for KidsCare II coverage, children must have income at or below200 
percent of the FPL, and have no outstanding KidsCare premiums and 
must meet all other eligibility requirements.  KidsCare premiums must 
be paid before a child can enroll in the KidsCare II program. Once 
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determined eligible, a child will remain in the KidsCare II program if 
otherwise eligible until the program ends on December 31, 2013. 

 
3) Open Enrollment. Subject to available program funding and 

notification to all the families with children on the KidsCare waiting list 
as described above in subparagraph (2) and in Attachment H, the State 
will open enrollment to the KidsCare II program to all eligible children 
up to 19 years old with family income at or below 200 percent of the 
FPL.  The State must notify CMS prior to opening enrollment, and must 
include a process by which it will notify the public, such as the use of 
public forums, tribal consultations, and community stakeholder 
meetings. 

 
iii. Enrollment Threshold.  Enrollment for the KidsCare II program is subject to 

the available funding provided by (a) the Safety Net Hospital Systems as 
specified in paragraph 25(i), in order to enroll a target number of 21,700 
children, and (b) the City of Phoenix as specified in paragraph 25(j), in order 
to enroll a target number of 33,191 additional children. The State will seek to 
maintain full enrollment in the program.    If the enrollment drops below 
19,000 children, the State shall conduct additional outreach activities as 
outlined in Attachment H in order to increase enrollment. 
 

iv. Benefits.  Children enrolled in the KidsCare II program will be offered the 
same benefit package provided under Arizona’s CHIP State plan. 
 

v. Cost Sharing.  Children in the KidsCare II program will be subject to cost 
sharing requirements, including monthly premiums, specified in Arizona’s 
CHIP State Plan.  Cost sharing for children in KidsCare II must meet the same 
requirements as those for children receiving coverage under the CHIP State 
plan, consistent with the requirements at section 2103(e). Cost sharing for 
families at or below 150 percent of the Federal poverty level (FPL), must be 
“nominal” in accordance with 42 CFR 457.540 - 457.555and total charges 
may not exceed 5 percent of the family’s income for children of all income 
levels, in accordance with 42 CFR 457.560. 

 
vi. Wait List. Upon reaching the target enrollment of 21,700 children, the state is 

authorized to maintain a wait list for the KidsCare II program. Children will 
be placed on the wait list in chronological order of the state’s receipt of their 
application. The state will continue to conduct a Medicaid eligibility 
determination upon receipt of a KidsCare II application before placing the 
child onto the wait list.  The state will monitor enrollment on a monthly basis 
in order to determine if enrollment has dropped to 19,000 children.  Once 
enrollment has dropped to 19,000, or if enrollment has decreased by 3,000 in a 
single month, the state will notify families on the KidsCare II wait list, 
beginning with the oldest application, informing them to electronically verify 
the information the state has on file in its Health-e-Arizona system in order to 
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enroll into the KidsCare II program. If the application is less than two months 
old, the state will automatically approve the applicant for KidsCare II without 
requiring the family to re-verify their information on Health-e-Arizona. 
Subject to available funding and notification of all families on the KidsCare II 
wait list, the state will open enrollment to the KidsCare II program to all 
eligible children up to 19 years old with family income at or below 200 
percent of the FPL. 

 
Children “aging out” of Medicaid will continue to automatically transition 
from Medicaid into the KidsCare II program following the enrollment process 
set forth in subparagraph (ii)(1) and will not be subject to the wait list. 

 
 

c) Funding for Title XXI Programs.  The State will establish a monitoring process to 
ensure that expenditures do not exceed available title XXI funding (i.e., the title XXI 
allotment or reallocated funds) and the appropriated State match.  The State will use 
title XXI funds to cover services for the CHIP, ESI and KidsCare II populations in the 
following priority order:  
 

i. Title XXI State plan eligibles, as well as children that opt for ESI, who are 
children up to age 19 years with family incomes up to and including 200 
percent of the FPL. 

ii. KidsCare II program participants who are children up to age 19 years with 
family incomes above 100 percent of the FPL up to and including 175 
percent of the FPL.  

iii. If the State determines that title XXI funding will be exhausted, available 
title XXI funding will first be used to cover costs associated with the title 
XXI State plan population.   

 
 

25. Family Planning Extension Program.  Family planning and family planning related 
services are provided, for a period of up to 24 months, to eligible recipients who lose 
Medicaid pregnancy coverage at the conclusion of 60 days postpartum, and who are not 
otherwise eligible for Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, or health insurance coverage that 
provides family planning services, and who have a family income at or below 150 
percent of the FPL at the time of annual redetermination. 
 

a) Benefits.   
 

i. Family planning services and supplies described in section 1905(a)(4)(c) and 
are limited to those services and supplies whose primary purpose is family 
planning and which are provided in a family planning setting.  Family planning 
services and supplies are reimbursable at the 90 percent matching rate, 
including: 

1) Approved methods of contraception;  
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2) Sexually transmitted infection (STI)/sexually transmitted disease (STD) 

testing, Pap smears and pelvic exams; 
i. Note: The laboratory tests done during an initial family planning 

visit for contraception include a Pap smear, screening tests for 
STIs/STDs, blood count and pregnancy test.  Additional screening 
tests may be performed depending on the method of contraception 
desired and the protocol established by the clinic, program or 
provider.  Additional laboratory tests may be needed to address a 
family planning problem or need during an inter-periodic family 
planning visit for contraception. 

3) Drugs, supplies, or devices related to women’s health services described 
above that are prescribed by a health care provider who meets the State’s 
provider enrollment requirements (subject to the national drug rebate 
program requirements); and  

4) Contraceptive management, patient education, and counseling. 
 

ii. Family planning-related services and supplies are defined as those services 
provided as part of or as follow-up to a family planning visit and are 
reimbursable at the State’s regular Federal Medical Assistance Percentage 
(FMAP) rate.  Such services are provided because a “family planning-related” 
problem was identified and/or diagnosed during a routine or periodic family 
planning visit.  Examples of family planning-related services and supplies 
include1: 

1) Colposcopy (and procedures done with/during a colposcopy) or repeat Pap 
smear performed as a follow-up to an abnormal Pap smear which is done 
as part of a routine/periodic family planning visit. 

2) Drugs for the treatment of STIs/STDs, except for HIV/AIDS and hepatitis, 
when the STI/STD is identified/ diagnosed during a routine/periodic 
family planning visit.  A follow-up visit/encounter for the treatment/drugs 
and subsequent follow-up visits to rescreen for STIs/STDs based on the 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidelines may be covered.  

3) Drugs/treatment  for vaginal infections/disorders, other lower genital tract 
and genital skin infections/disorders, and urinary tract infections, where 
these conditions are identified/diagnosed during a routine/periodic family 
planning visit.  A follow-up visit/encounter for the treatment/ drugs may 
also be covered. 

4) Other medical diagnosis, treatment, and preventive services that are 
routinely provided pursuant to family planning services in a family 
planning setting.  An example of a preventive service could be a 
vaccination to prevent cervical cancer.   

1 For more information on which of these family planning-related services is covered, see the AHCCCS Medical 
Policy Manual at: http://ahcccsnew/shared/MedicalPolicyManual/MedicalPolicyManual.aspx?ID=policymanuals 
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5) Treatment of major complications arising from a family planning 

procedure such as: 
i. Treatment of a perforated uterus due to an intrauterine device 

insertion; 
ii. Treatment of severe menstrual bleeding caused by a Depo-Provera 

injection requiring a dilation and curettage; or 
iii. Treatment of surgical or anesthesia-related complications during a 

sterilization procedure. 
 

b) Primary Care Referral.  Primary care referrals to other social service and health care 
providers as medically indicated are provided; however, the costs of those primary care 
services are not covered for enrollees of this program.  The State must facilitate access to 
primary care services for participants in the Family Planning Extension Program and 
must assure CMS that written materials concerning access to primary care are distributed 
to participants.  The written materials must explain to the participants how they can 
access primary care services.   
 

c) Eligibility Re-determinations.  The State must ensure that redeterminations of eligibility 
for the Demonstration are conducted at least every 12 months.  At the State’s option, 
redeterminations may be administrative in nature.  The State must notify CMS within the 
previous quarterly or annual report, described in  STCs 38 and 39, if it chooses to utilize 
administrative redeterminations. 

 
d) Disenrollment.  If a woman becomes pregnant while enrolled in the Demonstration, she 

may be determined eligible for Medicaid under the State plan.  The State must not submit 
claims under the Demonstration for any woman who is found to be eligible under the 
Medicaid State plan.   In addition, women who receive a sterilization procedure and 
complete all necessary follow-up procedures will be disenrolled from the Demonstration. 

 
VI.     Funding Pools and Payments under the Demonstration. 
 

26.  Safety Net Care Pool (SNCP).  Payments from this pool will assist hospitals and other 
eligible providers that have high levels of uncompensated care related to medical 
assistance provided to Medicaid eligibles or to individuals who have no source of third 
party coverage.  In each Demonstration Year (DY), the annual SNCP will be distributed 
to each provider based on its proportionate share of projected uncompensated care (based 
on prior period data).  Furthermore, payments to each provider in each DY will be subject 
to a limit computed based on the provider's uncompensated care costs incurred for a 12-
month period covered by the DY, except in DY 3 where the limit will be computed based 
on uncompensated care costs incurred up to December 31, 2013.  The total computable 
amount for the SNCP is $332 million per DY for eligible uncompensated care costs of  
providers identified in sections A through C of Attachment J (Safety Net Hospital 
Systems), and $385 million per DY beginning with DY 2 for eligible uncompensated care 
costs of providers identified in section D of Attachment J (City of Phoenix Hospitals). 
Any unspent cap amount cannot be transferred to the following DY in order to increase 
the annual cap amount. 
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a) SNCP Payments.  Funds may be used to assist providers with high levels of 

uncompensated care related to medical services that meet the definition of “medical 
assistance” contained in section 1905(a) of the Act, that are provided to Medicaid 
eligible or uninsured individuals incurred by hospitals, clinics, or by other provider 
types, as agreed upon by CMS and the State and identified in Attachment J.  
Expenditures must be claimed in accordance with CMS-approved claiming protocols 
in Attachment I for each provider type.  FFP claiming for payments made from the 
SNCP will begin upon CMS approval of the claiming protocol as identified in sub-
paragraph (c).  For any provider receiving SNCP payments, the total Medicaid 
payments, Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) payments, SNCP payments, and 
any other payments for medical services furnished to Medicaid eligible and uninsured 
individuals cannot exceed the actual cost of providing services to Medicaid eligibles 
and the uninsured as defined in the claiming protocol.  SNCP payments will be made 
directly from the State to the eligible providers as defined in subparagraph (d), who 
incurred uncompensated care costs. 
 

b) Prohibited Use of SNCP Funds. SNCP funds cannot be used to pay for costs 
associated with non-emergency services provided to non-qualified aliens.   The State 
must develop a methodology as part of the claiming protocol to exclude such costs 
from eligible uncompensated care costs. 
  

 
c) Uncompensated Care Cost Limit    The aggregate amount of SNCP payments made 

to Safety Net Hospital Systems and their affiliated providers pursuant to sections A 
through C of  Attachment J will not exceed the SNCP amount of $332 million per DY 
(the “Safety Net Hospital System Limit”). The aggregate amount of SNCP payments 
made to the City of Phoenix High Uncompensated Care Hospitals and their affiliated 
providers pursuant to section D of Attachment J will not exceed the amount of $385 
million per DY (the “Phoenix Hospital Limit”).    The annual SNCP payment 
distributed to each individual provider will not exceed its uncompensated care costs 
for providing section 1905(a) medical services to Medicaid eligible and uninsured 
individuals for the period.    
 
The State must submit to CMS for approval and incorporation into Attachment I a 
claiming protocol for each provider type to provide for the computation of a 
provider's uncompensated care costs.  No FFP is available for SNCP payments until 
the associated claiming protocol is approved by CMS.  Such protocols must take into 
consideration: 
 

i. The cost reporting tool (i.e., the CMS-2552 cost report for hospital 
providers, and other cost reports for non-hospital providers as approved by 
CMS) to be used to determine a provider's allowable patient care costs, 
consistent with Medicare cost principles and OMB Circular A-87, for a 
specific service period. 
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ii. A methodology to apportion allowable patient care costs to Section 1905(a) 

services furnished to Medicaid eligible and uninsured individuals. 
 

iii. An offset of all payments received for the services furnished to Medicaid 
eligible and uninsured individuals, including all Medicaid payments, third 
party payments, and payments by or on behalf of the patients, to arrive at the 
provider's uncompensated care cost.  
 

iv. A carve-out of costs associated with non-emergency services provided to 
non-qualified aliens, which is a prohibited use of SNCP funds. 
 

v. A payment methodology to allow the State to distribute SNCP payments to 
providers based on projected uncompensated care costs. 
 

vi. Reconciliations of payments to the provider's uncompensated care cost 
limits as computed based on the provider's as-filed and finalized cost reports 
for the actual service period. 

 
The uncompensated care cost limit is computed and SNCP payments are made on a 
DY basis.  To the extent that a provider's cost reporting period does not coincide with 
the DY, the cost protocol will provide for an allocation of uncompensated care costs 
to the DY.   
 
Any SNCP payments made in excess of the individual provider's uncompensated care 
cost limit for a demonstration period will be recouped from the provider, and the 
Federal share of the overpayment will be returned to CMS.   

 
d) Eligible Providers.  The eligible providers for SNCP payments are those 

identified in Attachment J.  The State must seek prior approval from CMS to amend 
the list of eligible providers.  The State must also submit to CMS for review and 
approval any additional claiming protocol needed due to the expansion of the eligible 
provider list. 

 
The State will consider providers which meet the following criteria for SNCP 
participation:   

 
i. Safety Net Hospital Systems which are defined as the health systems in each 

of the State’s two largest metropolitan statistical areas that (a) are providing 
the highest percentage of care (measured in terms of discharges) within their 
MSA for adult AHCCCS and low-income uninsured patients and (b) 
sponsor multiple adult residency programs. 
 

ii. Rural Hospitals which are defined as (a) Arizona hospitals that are not in Pima 
or Maricopa Counties; or (b) Arizona hospitals that are in counties of 
500,000 or fewer persons.  
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iii. Critical Access Hospitals, which are defined as rural community hospitals that 

meet defined criteria outlined in the Conditions of Participation at 42 C.F.R. 
485, Subpart F and 42 C.F.R. 440.170(g). 
 

iv. Hospitals that qualify for a disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) payment as 
outlined in Attachment D. 
 

v. City of Phoenix High Uncompensated Care Hospitals which are certain acute 
care hospitals located within the City of Phoenix as identified in Attachment J. 

 
vi. Any provider affiliated with the hospitals outlined in the above subparagraphs 

(i-v). 
 

   
e)  DSH and SNCP.  All applicable inpatient hospital and outpatient hospital SNCP 

payments received by a hospital provider must be included as offsetting revenue in the 
State’s annual DSH audit reports.  Hospitals cannot receive total payments, including 
DSH and SNCP payments, related to inpatient and outpatient hospital services 
furnished to Medicaid eligible and uninsured individuals that exceed the hospital’s 
total eligible inpatient hospital and outpatient hospital uncompensated care costs.  

  
f)  Intergovernmental Transfers (IGTs).  The non-Federal share of the SNCP payments 

will be funded by IGTs by eligible governmental entities, which may include IGTs 
derived from permissible provider taxes levied by a local government.  The State will 
submit to CMS for review and approval all IGT agreements to ensure compliance with 
Section 1903(w)(6)(A) of the Act and Part X of these STCs.  Such agreements should 
specify the amount and source of the IGT money, including funds to provide the non-
federal share of expenditures for KidsCare II beneficiaries referenced in subparagraph 
(i) and AHCCCS coverage for adults referenced in subparagraph (j). The agreements 
shall ensure that the IGT is not derived from an impermissible source, including 
recycled Medicaid payments, Federal money precluded from use as State match, 
impermissible taxes, and non-bona fide provider-related donations.  The agreements 
shall also ensure that providers will retain the SNCP payments.  

 
g)  Annual Reporting Requirements for SNCP Payments.  The State will submit to 

CMS an annual report specifically related to the amount of payments made from the 
SNCP per DY.  The reporting requirements are as follows: 

 
Within ninety (90) days after the end of each DY, the State shall provide the following 
information to CMS: 

 
1) Actual SNCP payments to each provider for each DY, including the interim 

payments and any reconciliation payments; 
 
2) The uncompensated care cost limit computed for each provider for each DY, 

including the projected uncompensated care costs used for interim payment 
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purposes, the uncompensated care costs based on the as-filed cost reports, 
and the uncompensated care costs based on the finalized cost reports. 

 
h)  SNCP Designated State Health Program (DSHP).  In addition to the $332 million 

uncompensated care cost payments outlined above, the State may claim FFP for the 
Trauma and Emergency Services Fund Payments as authorized by Arizona State 
Proposition 202 for DY 1 and DY 2. The total program amount eligible for FFP 
cannot exceed $20 million total computable per DY, and expenditures must be 
claimed in accordance with a CMS-approved claiming protocol.  Claiming of FFP 
cannot begin until the protocol is approved by CMS and incorporated into Attachment 
I. Any unspent funds cannot be transferred to the following DY in order to increase 
the annual amount. 

 
i) Contribution to the KidsCare II Program.  The eligible governmental entities in 

subparagraph (f) funding the non-federal share of SNCP payments to Safety Net 
Hospital Systems identified in sections A through C of Attachment J will provide 
IGTs to fund the non-federal share of KidsCare II Program expenditures for 21,700 
children, estimated at up to $76,991,169 total computable.  In addition, the eligible 
governmental entities in subparagraph (f) funding the non-federal share of SNCP 
payments to City of Phoenix providers identified in section D of Attachment J will 
provide IGTs to fund the non-federal share of KidsCare II Program expenditures for 
an additional 33,191 children estimated at up to $64,361,700 total computable. 
 

j) Contribution to AHCCCS Coverage Expansion for Certain Adults without 
Dependent Children.  The eligible governmental entities in subparagraph (f) funding 
the non-Federal share of SNCP payments to City of Phoenix providers will provide 
IGTs to fund the non-federal share of AHCCCS expenditures described in 17(b)(iii) 
for the projected 13,000 adults that will lose Medicaid eligibility under 1931 state 
plan authority due to lack of a dependent child,  estimated at up to $43,063,000 total 
computable.     

 
27. Payments to IHS and 638 Facilities. The State is authorized under the expenditure 

authorities of this Demonstration to make payments to IHS and tribal 638 facilities that 
take in to account their uncompensated costs in furnishing specified types of care 
furnished by IHS and tribal 638 facilities to Medicaid-eligible individuals and other 
individuals with family income at or below 100 percent of the FPL.   
 
Facilities will have the option to elect one of two approved methodologies, as further 
outlined in Attachment K, to calculate and receive payment for their uncompensated care 
costs.  The facilities will notify AHCCCS of their selection by April 30, 2012, and will 
have the option to switch their methodology election only once.  If a facility elects to 
switch the methodology by which their uncompensated care payment is calculated, the 
facility must notify the State by December 15, 2012.  The new methodology will be 
utilized to calculate the facility’s uncompensated care payment effective January 1, 2013. 
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VII. DELIVERY SYSTEMS 
 

28. Contracts. All contracts and modifications of existing contracts between the State and 
MCOs must be prior approved by CMS.  The State will provide CMS with a minimum of 
30 days to review and approve changes.   
 
 

VIII.  EVALUATION  
 

29.  State Must Separately Evaluate Components of the Demonstration.  As outlined in 
subparagraphs (a) - (e) the outcomes from each evaluation component must be integrated 
into one programmatic summary that describes whether the State met the Demonstration 
goal, with recommendations for future efforts regarding all components.  The evaluation 
must outline and address evaluation questions for all of the following components: 

 
a) Evaluation Design Plan. The State must submit to CMS for approval a draft 

evaluation design no later April 1, 2012.  At a minimum, the draft design must 
include a discussion of the goals, objectives, and specific hypotheses that are 
being tested, including those outlined in subparagraphs (c) and (d), as well as 
those that focus specifically on the target populations within the Acute Care, 
ALTCS, ESI program and the Family Planning Extension Program within the 
demonstration.  The draft design plan must also include a separate section 
discussing the AACP cost sharing, the missed appointment fee evaluation 
requirements, the uncompensated care payments to IHS and 638 facilities and the 
CRS and SMI integration programs as described further in subparagraphs (c) - (f). 
The draft design shall discuss the outcome measures that must be used in 
evaluating the impact of the Demonstration during the period of approval, 
particularly among the target population.  It shall discuss the data sources and 
sampling methodology for assessing these outcomes (Attachment C – Evaluation 
Design Guidelines).  The draft evaluation design must include a detailed analysis 
plan that describes how the effects of the Demonstration are isolated from other 
initiatives occurring in the State. 
 
The State must submit a revised draft evaluation design plan by April 1, 2013, in 
order to include the specific hypotheses outlined in subparagraph (e).   

 
b) ESI Evaluation.  Arizona must conduct an evaluation of the ESI demonstration 

as described in paragraph 24(a).  The State shall report on its progress in the 
quarterly and annual reports.  AHCCCS will monitor the private insurance market 
as it relates to the ESI program (e.g., changes in employer contribution levels, 
trends in sources of insurance, etc.).   AHCCCS will also continue to monitor 
substitution of coverage (i.e., participants dropping private coverage to enroll in 
the Demonstration).  

 
c) AACP Cost Sharing Evaluation.  Arizona must conduct an independent 
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evaluation of the AACP cost sharing requirements as described in paragraph 
17(d).  The evaluation must test the following specific hypotheses related to the 
mandatory copayments assessed on the adults without dependent children 
population: 

 
i. How will utilization of needed preventive, primary care, and treatment 

services be affected; 
ii. To what extent will the imposition of the pharmacy co-payments and 

copayments related to non-emergent use of emergency rooms ensure 
appropriate utilization of emergency room care and appropriate 
utilization of  cost and clinically effective generic and brand name 
drugs; and  

iii. Will the mandatory co-payments affect State and federal expenditures 
(per enrollee) in the short and long term; and 

iv. Will there be an impact on physician participation, or physician 
willingness to accept appointments from the adults without dependent 
children population. 

 

Methods by which the State can evaluate these hypotheses include evaluating the 
relative utilization  of,  and access to, services provided to the adults without 
dependent children population compared to a similar population of parents (who 
are not subject to the copayment requirements), as well as, comparing selected 
access, utilization and quality indicators,  across the pre-copayment adults without 
dependent children population with those of the post-co-payment adults without 
dependent children population, as well as across the adults without dependent 
children populations Measures could include examining the impact of the 
copayments on rates of emergency department utilization, rates of inpatient 
readmission, and selected evidence-based measures indicating management of 
chronic conditions (such as diabetes and asthma).  

 

 

In addition, the State will evaluate how the NEMT copayment on adults without 
dependent children residing in Maricopa and Pima counties has affected access 
compared to the same population residing in all other counties.   

Finally, the State shall report on the evaluation’s progress in the State’s quarterly 
and annual reports. 
 

d) Permissible Provider Fee for Missed Appointments Evaluation. The state 
must submit an independent evaluation of the missed appointment fee on the 
TANF parents and adults without dependent children residing in all counties 
except for Maricopa and Pima counties that was in effect from October 22, 2011 
through January 1, 2013.  . In addition to the other hypotheses that the state has 
developed to test this fee, the state must evaluate the following to determine the 
fee’s impact on: 
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i. Reducing the number of missed appointments; 
ii. Beneficiaries seeking more care from walk-in clinics, urgent care 

centers, and/or emergency rooms, and any resulting impact on costs; 
iii. Denial of service as a result of the fee; 
iv. Subgroups within the adults without dependent children population, 

i.e., were there variations by income level, age, gender, etc.; 
v. Program integrity; 

vi. Compliance with the provisions for  missed appointment fees;  
vii. Administrative feasibility and cost to the provider; and 

viii. The rate of missed appointment fees assessed by provider type and 
region of the state.   
 

 
e) Uncompensated Care Payments to IHS and 638 Facilities. Arizona must conduct 

an independent evaluation of the uncompensated care payments provided to IHS and 
638 facilities as described in paragraph 27 and Attachment K.   The evaluation must 
test the following specific hypotheses related to the uncompensated care payments: 
 

i. What is the effect on service utilization as a result of the 
uncompensated care payments broken down by type of service as well 
as the population served? 

ii. Are the affected facilities able to maintain and/or increase their current 
staffing levels? 

 
Methods by which the state can evaluate these hypotheses include evaluating 
staffing levels as well as the relative utilization of, and access to, services 
provided to adults pre-uncompensated care payment period to services with those 
of the post-uncompensated care payment period. Measures could include 
examining selected evidence-based measures indicating management of chronic 
conditions (such as diabetes and asthma). 
 

f) Integration of Physical and Behavioral Health Services for the CRS and SMI 
populations. Arizona must contract with an independent evaluator in order to 
conduct an evaluation of the integration of physical and behavioral health services 
for the CRS and SMI populations as described in paragraphs 19 and 20.  The 
evaluation will focus on two components – integration of care and health outcomes.  
As part of the state’s revised evaluation design plan, as specified in subparagraph 
(a), the state must use baseline data from October 1, 2012 through September 30, 
2013, and must begin the evaluation of the integration projects by October 1, 2013.  
The state must submit to CMS a written report of its finding no later than March 31, 
2016. 

i. Integration of Care.  This component of the evaluation must test the following 
hypotheses as they relate to both populations affected by the integration projects: 
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1) Did this care model provide the same or an improved level of physical 

and behavioral health care quality as non-integrated care model? Health 
care quality includes improved access, utilization, health care outcomes 
and patient experience. 

2) Did this care model improve how physical and behavioral health is 
integrated for the target population in a way that is different than the 
care they would have received if they had remained in the traditional 
care model?    

The baseline period, as reflected in the revised evaluation design, must include 
information detailing the characteristics of the fragmented delivery system that is 
being replaced with the integrated system of care, such as the prevalence of 
multiple care plans, the number of primary care provider not connected with case 
managers, the number of duplicated tests and/or treatment, and the number of 
beneficiaries making and keeping appointments post discharge.   

 

ii. Health Outcomes.  This component of the evaluation will broken down by each 
target population. 

1) CRS Population. The evaluation must test the following specific 
hypotheses related to the integration of services for the CRS population: 

a. What is the effect on health outcomes as a result of the integration 
of services, including but not limited to improving:  

i. Emergency department visit rates with a primary diagnosis 
of asthma; 

ii. Hospital readmissions rates with a primary diagnosis of 
asthma diabetes, congestive heart failure and behavioral 
health as well as all-cause hospital readmissions rates. 

b. How will the integration of services affect access to care and the 
utilization of needed preventive, primary care, and treatment 
services, such as immunization rates? 

c. For foster children enrolled in the CRS integrated plan, how will 
the integration of services improve the appropriateness of 
prescribing patterns and utilization of psychotropic prescription 
drugs?  

2) SMI Population. The evaluation must test the following specific 
hypotheses related to the integration of services for the SMI 
population in Maricopa county: 

a. Did the integration project improve care coordination for the target 
population (as measured by patient experience improved access to 
specialty care, appropriate medications, etc.)? 
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b. Does the integration of services result in an increase in access to 

and utilization of primary and specialty care? 

c. What is the effect on health outcomes as a result of the integration 
of services, including but not limited to improving chronic disease 
management, diabetes and cardiovascular conditions such as 
congestive heart failure? 

d. How is this model providing more appropriate care for this 
population as measured by: inpatient utilization for asthma, 
congestive heart failure and COPD conditions; hospital 
readmissions with a primary diagnosis of asthma, diabetes, 
congestive heart failure and behavioral health as well as all-cause 
hospital readmissions; and emergency room visits with a primary 
diagnosis of asthma and diabetes, broken down by diagnosis?  

Measures by which the state can evaluate these hypotheses include, but are not 
limited to, primary care and preventive services utilization (as applicable), 
emergency room utilization, inpatient hospital utilization and rate of 
readmissions, screenings and testing associated with diabetes, cardiovascular 
disease, and HIV/AIDS. In addition to the above measures, the state must use data 
from beneficiary satisfaction surveys and grievance and appeals data to assist in 
the evaluation. As the demonstration progresses, the state may include additional 
measures and data sources working in coordination with CMS, such as body mass 
index assessments and integration of electronic health records as penetration 
increases.   

 
30. Final Evaluation Design and Implementation.  CMS must provide comments on the 

draft design, within 60 days of receipt, and the State must submit a final design within 
60-days of receipt of CMS comments.  The State must implement the evaluation design, 
and submit to CMS a draft of the evaluation 120 days after the expiration of the 
demonstration.  CMS shall provide comments within 60 days of receipt of the draft 
evaluation. Within 60 days of receipt of comments from CMS, a revised final report must 
be submitted.  

 
31. Cooperation with Federal Evaluators.  Should CMS undertake an evaluation of the 

Demonstration, the State must fully cooperate with Federal evaluators’ and their 
contractors’ efforts to conduct an independent, federally funded evaluation of the 
Demonstration program. 
 

 
IX.  GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS 
 

32. General Financial Requirements.  The State shall comply with all general financial 
requirements under title XIX and title XXI. 

 
33. Reporting Requirements Relating to Budget and Allotment Neutrality.  The State 
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shall comply with all reporting requirements for monitoring budget and allotment 
neutrality set forth in this Agreement. 

 
34. Budget Neutrality Information.  For each quarter, the State will correctly report 

expenditures and member months that are subject to budget neutrality.  Where data are 
incorrect and upon the request of CMS, the State must submit corrected budget neutrality 
data.  

 
35. Monthly Calls.  CMS shall schedule monthly conference calls with the State.  The 

purpose of these calls is to discuss any significant actual or anticipated developments 
affecting the Demonstration.  Areas to be addressed include, but are not limited to, MCO 
operations (such as contract amendments and rate certifications), health care delivery, 
enrollment, cost sharing, employer-sponsored insurance progress, family planning issues, 
quality of care, access, the benefit package, audits, lawsuits, financial reporting and 
budget neutrality issues, health plan financial performance that is relevant to the 
Demonstration, progress on evaluations, State legislative developments, and any 
Demonstration amendments, concept papers, or State plan amendments the State is 
considering submitting.  CMS shall update the State on any amendments or concept 
papers under review as well as Federal policies and issues that may affect any aspect of 
the Demonstration.  The State and CMS shall jointly develop the agenda for the calls. 

 
36. Monthly Childless Adult Enrollment Reports.  As required in the July 1, 2011, 

childless adult phase-out plan (Attachment A), the State must submit a monthly 
enrollment report for the childless adult populations by the 15th of each month until 
December 31, 2013.  The enrollment report must contain the following: 

 
a) Population, including the percent change from the previous month; 
 
b) Beneficiaries transferred from the childless adult eligibility category to the SSI-MAO 

eligibility category; 
 
c) Beneficiaries who did not meet the SSI-MAO eligibility requirements and were 

transferred back to the childless adult eligibility category; and 
 
d) Beneficiaries who were transferred to the SSI-MAO eligibility and were discontinued 

because they did not comply with the State’s redetermination requirements. 
 
37. KidsCare II Monthly Reports.  The State must submit a monthly report for the 

KidsCare II population by the 15th of each month until December 31, 2013.  The monthly 
report must contain the following the information: 

 
a) Enrollment. The monthly report must contain the following enrollment information 

broken down  by the number of children enrolled through the application process and 
the number of title XIX children transferred from the AACP: 
 

i. Number of children newly enrolled in KidsCare II; 
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ii. Number of children enrolled to date; and 
iii. Current enrollment at end of each quarter with an annual total. 

 
b) Applications. Of the total number of families who received notices, the number of 

children applying with a breakdown of the number who are eligible for Medicaid, 
eligible for KidsCare II and those that are ineligible for KidsCare II. 
 
For those determined to be ineligible for KidsCare II, the reason for ineligibility, 
including, but not limited to following reasons: 
 

i. Over income limit; 
ii. Did not pay outstanding  KidsCare premiums; and 

iii. Did not provide required documentation during application process. 
 

 
c) KidsCare II PCAP Dedicated Hotline. This section of the monthly report must 

contain the following information: 
 

i. Number of calls; 
ii. Where did callers hear about the helpline?  (letter, TV/radio/newspaper, 

family/friend, community organization); 
iii. Number of callers who said they received a notice; 
iv. Number of callers for whom address must be updated; 
v. Number of callers referred to subscriber for application assistance; 

vi. Number of calls in other categories; and  
vii. Time of day helpline most busy.  

 
38. Quarterly Reports. The State shall submit progress reports in a format agreed upon by 

CMS and the State no later than 60 days following the end of each quarter.  The intent of 
these reports is to present the State’s analysis and the status of the various operational areas.  
These quarterly reports shall include, but not be limited to (Attachment B – Quarterly 
Report Guidelines): 

 
a) A discussion of events occurring during the quarter or anticipated to occur in the 

near future that affect health care delivery, enrollment, quality of care, access, 
health plan financial performance that is relevant to the Demonstration, the 
benefit package, and other operational issues, including the transition of SMI and 
CRS individuals;     
 

b) Action plans for addressing any policy and administrative issues identified; 
 

c) The quarterly reports must also include at least enrollment data, member month 
data, and budget neutrality monitoring tables; 

 
d) The number of IHS and 638 facilities receiving uncompensated care payments, 

broken down by the methodology selected in which the uncompensated care 
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payment is calculated as well as a discussion on how the payments are affecting 
the financial viability of the facilities, using metrics that the State will develop in 
consultation with IHS and tribal programs, and the impact on service utilization 
broken down by type of service and by populations served. 
 

e) The number of complaints and grievances filed on behalf of beneficiaries 
participating in the SMI and CRS integration projects, broken down by access to 
care, health plan and provider satisfaction.  

 
f) The number of individuals enrolled in the Family Planning Extension Program at 

the end of the quarter, as well as the number of participants served during the 
prior quarter (participants include all individuals who obtain one or more covered 
family planning or family planning-related services through the Demonstration); 
 

g) Notification of any changes in enrollment and/or participation to the Family 
Planning Extension Program that fluctuate 10 percent or more in relation to the 
previous quarter within the same Demonstration Year (DY) and the same quarter 
in the previous DY; and 
  

Any issues which arise in conjunction with the Employer Sponsored Insurance (ESI) portion 
of the program, including but not limited to enrollment, quality of care, grievances, and 
other operational issues; and evaluation activities. 
 

39. Annual Report.  The State shall submit a draft annual report documenting 
accomplishments, project status, quantitative and case study findings, utilization data, the 
status of the collection and verification of encounter data and policy and administrative 
difficulties in the operation of the Acute Care, ALTCS, ESI, KidsCare II, SNCP/DSHP, IHS 
and 638 facilities uncompensated care payments, and Family Planning components of the 
Demonstration.  The State shall submit the draft annual report no later than 120-days after 
the end of each operational year.  Within 30-days of receipt of comments from CMS, a final 
annual report shall be submitted.   
 
For the Family Planning Extension Program, the annual report must include the following: 
 
a) The number of actual births that occur to Family Planning Extension Program 

participants (participants include all individuals who obtain one or more covered 
medical family planning services through the Family Planning Extension Program each 
year); 

 
b) Total number of individuals enrolled at the end of the demonstration year;  

 
c) Total number of participants enrolled at the end of the demonstration year; and 

 
d) The average total Medicaid expenditures for a Medicaid-funded birth each year.  The 

cost of a birth includes prenatal services and delivery and pregnancy-related services and 
services to infants from birth up to age 1 (the services should be limited to the services 
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that are available to women who are eligible for Medicaid because of their pregnancy 
and their infants.) 

 
40. Transition Plan. On or before July 1, 2012, the State is required to submit a draft, and 

incrementally revise, a transition plan consistent with the provisions of the Affordable Care 
Act for individuals enrolled in the Demonstration. This plan will address how the State 
plans to coordinate the transition of these individuals, including children enrolled in the 
KidsCare II program,  to a coverage option available under the Affordable Care Act without 
interruption in coverage to the maximum extent possible.   The plan must contain the 
required elements and milestones described in paragraphs 40(a)-(f) outlined below.  In 
addition, the Plan will include a schedule of implementation activities that the State will use 
to operationalize the Transition Plan. 
   

a) Seamless Transitions:  Consistent with the provisions of the Affordable Care Act, 
the Transition Plan will include details on how the State plans to obtain and 
review any additional information needed from each individual to determine 
eligibility under all eligibility groups, and coordinate the transition of individuals 
enrolled in the Demonstration (by FPL) (or newly applying for Medicaid) to a 
coverage option available under the Affordable Care Act without interruption in 
coverage to the maximum extent possible.  Specifically, the State must:  

 
i. Determine eligibility under all January 1, 2014, eligibility groups for which 

the State is required or has opted to provide medical assistance, including the 
group described in §1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(VIII) for individuals under age 65 and 
regardless of disability status with income at or below 133 percent of the 
FPL.   
 

ii. Identify Demonstration populations not eligible for coverage under the 
Affordable Care Act and explain what coverage options and benefits these 
individuals will have effective January 1, 2014.   
 

iii. Implement a process for considering, reviewing, and making preliminarily 
determinations under all January 1, 2014 eligibility groups for new applicants 
for Medicaid eligibility. 
 

iv. Conduct an analysis that identifies populations in the Demonstration that may 
not be eligible for or affected by the Affordable Care Act and the authorities 
the State identifies that may be necessary to continue coverage for these 
individuals. 
 

v. Develop a modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) conversion for program 
eligibility. 

 
b) KidsCare II Transition: The Plan must include the State’s process to seamlessly 

transition children enrolled in the KidsCare II program to other forms of coverage 
once the program expires December 31, 2013.  The State must include the 
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information outlined in subparagraph (a) as applied to the KidsCare II program. 
 

c) Cost-sharing Transition: The Plan must include the State’s process to come into 
compliance with all applicable Federal cost-sharing requirements, including the 
section 1916(f) requirements that apply to the adults without dependent children 
population when it becomes a mandatory State plan population on January 1, 
2014. 

 
d) Access to Care and Provider Payments and System Development or Remediation: 

The State should assure adequate provider supply for the State plan and 
Demonstration populations affected by the Demonstration on December 31, 2013.  
Additionally, the Transition Plan for the Demonstration is expected to expedite 
the State’s readiness for compliance with the requirements of the Affordable Care 
Act and other Federal legislation.  

 
e) Pilot Programs:  Progress towards developing and testing, when feasible, pilot 

programs that support Affordable Care Act activities, such as the State’s 
Medicare-Medicaid integration project to allow for more efficient and effective 
management of dually eligible ALTCS EPD beneficiaries. 

 
f) Progress Updates:  After submitting the initial Transition Plan for CMS approval, 

the State must include progress updates in each quarterly and annual report.  The 
Transition Plan shall be revised as needed. 

 
g) Implementation:  

 
i. By October 1, 2013, the State must begin to implement a simplified, 

streamlined process for transitioning eligible enrollees in the Demonstration to 
Medicaid, the Exchange or other coverage options in 2014.  In transitioning 
these individuals from coverage under the waiver to coverage under the State 
plan, the State will not require these individuals to submit a new application. 

 
ii. On or before December 31, 2013, the State must provide notice to the 

individual of the eligibility determination using a process that minimizes 
demands on the enrollees.  

 
41. Final Report.  The State shall submit a final report pursuant to the requirements of section 

1115 of the Act. 
 
42. Contractor Reviews. The State will forward summaries of the financial and operational 

reviews that: 
 

a) The Arizona Department of Health Services/ Behavioral Health Services 
(ADHS/BHS) completes on the Regional Behavioral Health Authorities (RBHAs). 
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b) The Arizona Department of Economic Security/Division of Developmental 

Disabilities (DES/DDD) performs on its subcontracting MCOs. 
 

c) The State will also forward summaries of the financial and operational reviews that 
AHCCCS completes on the Children’s Rehabilitative Services Program (CRS) 
contractor; and  the Comprehensive Medical and Dental Program (CMDP) at the 
Arizona DES.  

 
43. Contractor Quality. AHCCCS will require the same level of quality reporting for 

DES/DDD, DES/CMDP and ADHS/BHS as for Health Plans and Program Contractors, 
subject to the same time lines and penalties.  

 
44. Contractor Disclosure of Ownership. Before contracting with any provider of service, 

the State will obtain from the provider full disclosure of ownership and control and 
related party transactions, as specified in sections 1124 and 1902(a)(38) of the Act.  No 
FFP will be available for providers that fail to provide this information. 

 
 
 
X. GENERAL FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS UNDER TITLE XIX 
 

45. Quarterly Expenditure Reports. Effective with the quarter beginning October 1, 2011, 
the State shall provide quarterly expenditure reports using the Form CMS-64 to report 
total expenditures for services provided under the Medicaid program, including those 
provided through the Demonstration under section 1115 authority.  This project is 
approved for expenditures applicable to services rendered during the Demonstration 
period.  CMS shall provide FFP for allowable Demonstration expenditures only as long 
as they do not exceed the pre-defined limits on the costs incurred as specified in this 
Agreement. 

 
46. Reporting Expenditures in the Demonstration. The following describes the reporting 

of expenditures subject to the budget neutrality cap: 
 

a) Tracking Expenditures. In order to track expenditures under this Demonstration, 
Arizona shall report Demonstration expenditures through the Medicaid and State 
Children's Health Insurance Program Budget and Expenditure System 
(MBES/CBES), following routine CMS-64 reporting instructions outlined in section 
2500 of the State Medicaid Manual.  All expenditures subject to the budget neutrality 
cap shall be reported on separate Forms CMS-64.9 Waiver and/or 64.9P Waiver, 
identified by the Demonstration project number assigned by CMS (including the 
project number extension, which indicates the DY in which services were rendered or 
for which capitation payments were made).  For monitoring purposes, cost 
settlements must be recorded on Line 10.b, in lieu of Lines 9 or 10.C.  For any other 
cost settlements (i.e., those not attributable to this Demonstration), the adjustments 
should be reported on lines 9 or 10.C through 10.F, as instructed in the State 
Medicaid Manual.  The term, "expenditures subject to the budget neutrality cap," is 
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defined below. 

 
b) Use of Forms. For each DY, separate Forms CMS-64.9 Waiver and/or 64.9P Waiver 

shall be submitted reporting expenditures for individuals enrolled in the 
Demonstration, subject to the budget neutrality cap.  The State must complete 
separate forms for the following categories:   

 
i. AFDC/SOBRA  

ii. SSI  
iii. AC 
iv. MED 
v. ALTCS-DD   

vi. ALTCS-EPD  
vii. Family Planning Extension 

viii. Uncompensated Care Payments to IHS and 638 Facilities 
ix. SNCP/DSHP 
x. DSH and Critical Access Hospital Payments (CAHP)** 

**Critical Access Hospital Payments as defined in Attachment F 
 

c) Expenditures Subject to the Budget Neutrality Cap. For purposes of section X, the 
term “expenditures subject to the budget neutrality cap” shall include all Medicaid 
expenditures except those as described below, on behalf of the individuals who are 
enrolled in this Demonstration.  Expenditures excluded from this Demonstration and 
the budget neutrality cap are Direct Services Claiming program expenditures for 
Medicaid in the public schools, Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment program 
expenditures, Freedom to Work program expenditures, and all administrative 
expenditures. 

 
d) Premium and Cost Sharing Adjustment. Premiums and other applicable cost 

sharing contributions from enrollees that are collected by the State from enrollees 
under the Demonstration shall be reported to CMS each quarter on Form CMS-64 
Summary Sheet line 9.D, columns A and B.  In order to assure that the Demonstration 
is properly credited with premium collections, premium collections (both total 
computable and Federal share) should also be reported on the CMS-64 Narrative.  
The State should include these section 1115 premium collections as a manual 
adjustment (decrease) to the Demonstration’s actual expenditures on a quarterly basis. 

 
e) Administrative Costs. Administrative costs shall not be included in the budget 

neutrality limit.  All administrative costs shall be identified on the Forms CMS-64.10 
Waiver and/or 64.10P Waiver.  

 
f) Claiming Period. All claims for expenditures subject to the budget neutrality cap 

(including any cost settlements) must be made within 2 years after the calendar 
quarter in which the State made the expenditures.  Furthermore, all claims for 
services during the Demonstration period (including any cost settlements) must be 
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made within 2 years after the conclusion or termination of the Demonstration.  During 
the latter 2-year period, the State must continue to identify separately net 
expenditures related to dates of service during the operation of the section 1115 
Demonstration on the CMS-64 waiver forms in order to properly account for these 
expenditures in determining budget neutrality. 

 
g) Pharmacy Rebates. The State may propose a methodology for assigning a portion of 

pharmacy rebates to the Demonstration.  The proposed methodology must determine, 
in a way that reasonably reflects actual rebate-eligible pharmacy utilization, the 
amounts of rebate that are attributable to pharmacy utilization under the 
Demonstration vs. outside the Demonstration, and appropriate subtotals by EG and 
DY.  The methodology (and any subsequent changes to the methodology) must be 
approved in advance by the CMS Regional Office prior to use.  Rebate amounts 
assigned to the Demonstration must be reported on the appropriate Forms CMS-64.9 
or 64.9P Waiver, and not on any other CMS-64.9 form (to avoid double-counting).  In 
the absence of an approved methodology, all pharmacy rebates must be reported on 
Forms CMS-64.9 or 64.9P Base.   
 

 
47.  Reporting of Member Months. The following describes the reporting of member 

months in the Demonstration. 
 
a) Member months subject to the budget neutrality cap include: 

 
i.      For the purpose of calculating the budget neutrality expenditure cap described in 

this Agreement, the State shall provide to CMS on a quarterly basis the actual 
number of eligible member months for: 
 

1) Eligibility Group 1:AFDC / SOBRA 
2) Eligibility Group 2: SSI 
3) Eligibility Group 3: AC 
4) Eligibility Group 4 ALTCS-DD 
5) Eligibility Group 5: ALTCS–EPD 
6) Eligibility Group 6: Family Planning Extension Program 

 
 

ii. This information shall be provided to CMS 30 days after the end of each quarter 
as part of the CMS-64 submission, either under the narrative section of the 
MBES/CBES or as a stand-alone report.    
  

iii.  The term "eligible member months" refers to the number of months in which 
persons are eligible to receive services.  For example, a person who is eligible for 
3 months contributes three eligible member months to the total.  Two individuals 
who are eligible for 2 months each contribute two eligible member months to the 
total, for a total of four eligible member months. 
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iv. For the purposes of this Demonstration, the term “Demonstration eligibles” refers 

to all individuals covered by Arizona Medicaid with the exception of individuals 
in the Freedom to Work and Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment programs 

 
b) Demonstration Member Months subject to reporting on the CMS 64-Narrative includes 

the MED Group – described in paragraph 16 as:  
 
i. MED - Individuals who applied for the MED program (under Expenditure 

Authority 20 of Demonstration project #11-W-00032/9 and #21-W-00009/9) prior 
to May 1, 2011 and were determined eligible for that population for a 6-month 
guaranteed eligibility period after that date, until the end of that 6-month period.  

 
48.  Standard Medicaid Funding Process.  The standard Medicaid funding process must be 
 used during the Demonstration.  The State must estimate matchable Demonstration   
 expenditures (total computable and Federal share) subject to the budget neutrality  
 expenditure cap and separately report these expenditures by quarter for each Federal fiscal 
 year on the Form CMS-37 for both the Medical Assistance Payments (MAP) and State and 
 Local Administration Costs (ADM).  CMS shall make Federal funds available based upon 
 the State’s estimate, as approved by CMS.  Within 30 days after the end of each quarter, the 
 State must submit the Form CMS-64 quarterly Medicaid expenditure report, showing 
 Medicaid expenditures made in the quarter just ended.  CMS shall reconcile expenditures 
 reported on the Form CMS-64 with Federal funding previously made available to the State, 
 and include the reconciling adjustment in the finalization of the grant award to the State.  
 
49.  Extent of Federal Financial Participation for the Demonstration.  Subject to CMS 
approval of the source(s) of the non-Federal share of funding, CMS shall provide FFP at the   
applicable Federal matching rates for the following, subject to the limits described in this  
Agreement.  

 

 
a) Administrative costs, including those associated with the administration of the 

Demonstration;  
 

b) Net expenditures and prior period adjustments of the Medicaid program that are paid 
in accordance with the approved Medicaid State plan; and 

 
c) Net expenditures and prior period adjustments made with dates of service during the 

operation of the Demonstration.  
 
d) CMS shall provide FFP for family planning and family planning-related services and 

supplies at the applicable Federal matching rates described in STC 24(a)(i) and (ii), 
subject to the limits and processes described below:  

 
i. For family planning services, reimbursable codes for office visits, laboratory 

tests, and certain other procedures must carry a primary diagnosis or a 
modifier that specifically identifies them as a family planning service; 

ii. Allowable family planning expenditures eligible for reimbursement at the 
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enhanced family planning match rate, described in STC 24(a)(i), should be 
entered in Column (D) of the Forms CMS-64.9 Waiver. 

iii. Allowable family planning-related expenditures eligible for reimbursement at 
the FMAP rate, as described in STC 24(a)(ii), should be entered in Column 
(B) on the Forms CMS-64.9 Waiver. 

iv. FFP will not be available for the costs of any services, items, or procedures 
that do not meet the requirements specified above, even if family planning 
clinics or providers provide them.  For example, in the instance of testing for 
STIs as part of a family planning visit, FFP will be available at the 90 percent 
Federal matching rate.  The match rate for the subsequent treatment would be 
paid at the applicable Federal matching rate for the State.  For testing or 
treatment not associated with a family planning visit, no FFP will be available. 

v. Pursuant to 42 CFR 433.15(b)(2), FFP is available at the 90 percent 
administrative match rate for administrative activities associated with 
administering the family planning services provided under the Demonstration 
including the offering, arranging, and furnishing of family planning services.  
These costs must be allocated in accordance with OMB Circular A-87 cost 
allocation requirements.  The processing of claims is reimbursable at the 50 
percent administrative match rate.   

 
50.  Medicare Part D Drugs.  No FFP is available for this Demonstration for Medicare Part 

D drugs. 
  

51. Sources of Non-Federal Share. The State certifies that the source of the non-Federal 
share of funds for the Demonstration is State/local monies.  The State further certifies 
that such funds shall not be used as the non-Federal share for any other Federal grant or 
contract, except as permitted by law.  All sources of non-Federal funding must be 
compliant with Title XIX of the Social Security Act and applicable regulations.  In 
addition, all sources of the non-Federal share of funding are subject to CMS approval. 
 

a) CMS shall review the sources of the non-Federal share of funding for the 
Demonstration at any time.  The State agrees that all funding sources deemed 
unacceptable by CMS shall be addressed within the time frames set by CMS. 
 

b) The State shall provide information to CMS regarding all sources of the non-
Federal share of funding for any amendments that impact the financial status of 
the program. 

 
c) Under all circumstances, health care providers must retain 100 percent of the 

reimbursement amounts claimed by the State as Demonstration expenditures. 
Moreover, no pre-arranged agreements (contractual or otherwise) may exist 
between the health care providers and the State and/or local government to return 
and/or redirect any portion of the Medicaid or Demonstration payments. This 
confirmation of Medicaid and Demonstration payment retention is made with the 
understanding that payments that are the normal operating expenses of conducting 
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business (such as payments related to taxes (including health care provider-related 
taxes), fees, and business relationships with governments that are unrelated to 
Medicaid or the Demonstration and in which there is no connection to Medicaid 
or Demonstration payments) are not considered returning and/or redirecting a 
Medicaid or Demonstration payment.  

 
52. Certification of Public Expenditures.  The State must certify that the following 

conditions for non-Federal share of Demonstration expenditures are met: 
  

a) Units of government, including governmentally operated health care providers, may 
certify that State or local tax dollars have been expended as the non-Federal share of 
funds under the Demonstration.  

 

 

 

b) To the extent the State utilizes certified public expenditures (CPEs) as the funding 
mechanism for title XIX (or under section 1115 authority) payments, CMS must 
approve a cost reimbursement methodology.  This methodology must include a 
detailed explanation of the process by which the State would identify those costs 
eligible under title XIX (or under section 1115 authority) for purposes of certifying 
public expenditures.   

 
i. To the extent that Arizona institutes the use of CPEs, the requirements of this term 

and condition fully apply. The State is subject to any policy guidance or 
regulation released by CMS regarding the use of CPEs. 

ii. The disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment methodology for Arizona 
State Hospital (ASH) and the Maricopa Medical Center will be cost 
reimbursement and will utilize CPEs as the funding system.  The methodology 
and the cost identification/reconciliation process, as approved by CMS,  is 
included as an amendment to the DSH methodology in Attachment D. 

c) To the extent the State utilizes CPEs as the funding mechanism to claim Federal 
match for payments under the Demonstration to non-governmental providers, the 
governmental entity appropriating funds to the provider must certify to the State the 
amount of such tax revenue (State or local) appropriated to the non-governmental 
provider used to satisfy demonstration expenditures.  The non-governmental provider 
that incurred the cost must also provide cost documentation to support the State’s 
claim for Federal match.  

 
d) The State may use intergovernmental transfers to the extent that such funds are 

derived from State or local tax revenues and are transferred by units of government 
within the State.  Any transfers from governmentally operated health care providers 
must be made in an amount not to exceed the non-Federal share of title XIX 
payments.  Under all circumstances, health care providers must retain 100 percent of 
the claimed expenditure.  Moreover, no pre-arranged agreements (contractual or 
otherwise) exist between health care providers and State and/or local government to 
return and/or redirect any portion of the Medicaid payments.  This confirmation of 
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Medicaid payment retention is made with the understanding that payments that are 
the normal operating expenses of conducting business, such as payments related to 
taxes, (including health care provider-related taxes), fees, business relationships with 
governments that are unrelated to Medicaid and in which there is no connection to 
Medicaid payments, are not considered returning and/or redirecting a Medicaid 
payment.  

 
53. Applicability of Fee for Service Upper Payment Limits.  If expenditures (excluding 

expenditures for members enrolled with the Indian Health Service for inpatient hospital 
and long-term-care facility services, other institutional and non-institutional services 
(including drugs) provided to AHCCCS fee-for-service beneficiaries equal or exceed 5 
percent of the State’s total Medical Assistance expenditures, the expenditure authority 
will be terminated and the State shall submit a demonstration amendment that includes a 
plan to comply with the administrative requirements of section 1902(a)(30)(A).  The 
State shall submit documentation to CMS on an annual basis that shows the percentage 
AHCCCS fee-for-service beneficiary expenditures as compared to total Medical 
Assistance expenditures.  

 
 
54. Fraud and Abuse Recoveries: The State must improve fraud and abuse recoveries by:  
 

a) Submitting for CMS review an action plan by April 1, 2012, to enhance Medicaid 
fraud and abuse recoveries by the end of the Demonstration period ending September 
30, 2016.  
 

b) Submitting to CMS an annual report of the State’s implementation of its action plan 
as required in paragraph 38.  
 

c) Demonstrating by September 30, 2016, that its level of recoveries is equal to, or 
greater than, the level anticipated in the action report approved by CMS.    
 

XI. GENERAL FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS UNDER TITLE XXI 
 

55. Quarterly CHIP Expenditure Reports. The State shall provide quarterly expenditure 
reports using the Form CMS-21 to report total expenditures for services provided to all 
Demonstration populations receiving title XXI funds under section 1115 authority.  This 
project is approved for expenditures applicable to services rendered during the 
Demonstration period.  CMS will provide FFP only for allowable Demonstration title 
XXI expenditures that do not exceed the State’s available title XXI funding.  

 
56. Tracking CHIP Expenditures. In order to track title XXI expenditures under this 

Demonstration, the State will report Demonstration expenditures, excluding KidsCare II, 
through the MBES/CBES, following routine CMS-21 reporting instructions. Title XXI 
Demonstration expenditures will be reported on separate Forms CMS-21 Waiver and/or 
CMS-21P Waiver identified by the Demonstration project number assigned by CMS 
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(including project number extension, which indicates the DY in which services were 
rendered or for which capitation payments were made). Expenditures for the KidsCare II 
program will be reported on the CMS-21 with the state plan population in the 
MBES/CBES.  Separate KidsCare II reporting will be provided in the CMS-21 Narrative 
using a proportion of KidsCare II to the total KidsCare population based on date of 
payments.   

 

 

a)    CHIP Claiming. All claims for expenditures related to the Demonstration (including 
any cost settlements) must be made within 2 years after the calendar quarter in which 
the State made the expenditures.  Furthermore, all claims for services during the 
Demonstration period (including cost settlements) must be made within 2 years after 
the conclusion or termination of the Demonstration.  During the latter 2-year period, the 
State must continue to identify separately net expenditures related to dates of service 
during the operation of the Demonstration on the Form CMS-21.  

 b) Standard CHIP Funding Process. The standard CHIP funding process will be used 
during the Demonstration.  Arizona must estimate matchable CHIP expenditures on the 
quarterly Form CMS-21B.  On a separate CMS-21B, the State shall provide updated 
estimates of expenditures for the Demonstration population.  CMS will make Federal 
funds available based upon the State’s estimate, as approved by CMS.  Within 30 days 
after the end of each quarter, the State must submit the Form CMS-21 quarterly CHIP 
expenditure report.  CMS will reconcile expenditures reported on the Form CMS-21 
with Federal funding previously made available to the State, and include the reconciling 
adjustment in the finalization of the grant award to the State.  

 
 c) Sources of CHIP Non-Federal Share. The State will certify State/local monies used 

as matching funds for the Demonstration and will further certify that such funds will 
not be used as matching funds for any other Federal grant or contract, except as 
permitted by Federal law.  All sources of non-Federal share of funding and distribution 
of monies involving Federal match are subject to CMS approval.  Upon review of the 
sources of the non-Federal share of funding and distribution methodologies of funds 
under the Demonstration, all funding sources and distribution methodologies deemed 
unacceptable by CMS shall be addressed within the timeframes set by CMS.  Any 
amendments that impact the financial status of the program shall require the State to 
provide information to CMS regarding all sources of the non-Federal share of funding  

 
57. Limit on Title XXI Funding. Arizona will be subject to a limit on the amount of Federal 

title XXI funding that the State may receive for Demonstration expenditures during the 
Demonstration period.  Federal title XXI funding available for Demonstration 
expenditures is limited to the State’s available allotment, including currently available 
reallocated funds. Should the State expend its available title XXI Federal funds for the 
claiming period, no further enhanced Federal matching funds will be available for costs 
of the Demonstration until the next allotment becomes available.   

 
58. Compliance with Federal Rules.  All Federal rules shall continue to apply during the 

period of the Demonstration if title XXI Federal funds are not available and the State 
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decides to continue the program. 

 
XII. MONITORING BUDGET NEUTRALITY 
 

59. Monitoring Demonstration Funding Flows.  The State will provide CMS with 
information to effectively monitor the Demonstration, upon request, in a reasonable time 
frame.    
 

a) Each year, AHCCCS will monitor and ensure that for each contract year, the DES/DDD 
and the ADHS/BHS have provided the appropriate State match necessary to draw down 
the FMAP for title XIX services provided, respectively, to ALTCS eligible persons and 
to AHCCCS eligible persons enrolled with ADHS/BHS.  Specifically, AHCCCS and 
DES/DDD entered into an Intergovernmental Agreement, effective July 1, 1998, 
whereby DES/DDD transfers to AHCCCS the total amount appropriated for the State 
match for title XIX ALTCS expenditures.  Likewise, AHCCCS and ADHS/BHS entered 
into an Intergovernmental Agreement, effective July 1, 1999, whereby ADHS/BHS 
transfers to AHCCCS the total amount appropriated for the State match for title XIX 
expenditures. AHCCCS deposits the monies transferred into an Intergovernmental Fund 
from which AHCCCS has sole disbursement authority.  

 
b) AHCCCS will report on a comparison of revenues and costs associated with the DES 

Interagency Agreement, including how any excess revenues are spent.  AHCCCS will 
also report this information for ADHS/BHS.  Both reports will be due by January 15 of 
each year for the State fiscal year ending the previous June 30. 

 
60. Limit on Title XIX Funding.  The State shall be subject to a limit on the amount of 

Federal title XIX funding that the State may receive on selected Medicaid expenditures 
during the period of approval of the Demonstration.  The limit is determined by using a 
per capita cost method, and budget neutrality expenditure caps are set on a yearly basis 
with a cumulative budget neutrality expenditure limit for the length of the entire 
Demonstration.  The data supplied by the State to CMS to set the annual limits is subject 
to review and audit, and if found to be inaccurate, will result in a modified budget 
neutrality expenditure limit.  

 
61. Risk.  The State shall be at risk for the per capita cost (as determined by the method 

described below) for Demonstration eligibles under this budget neutrality agreement, but 
not for the number of Demonstration eligibles in each of the groups.  By providing FFP 
for all Demonstration eligibles, the State shall not be at risk for changing economic 
conditions that impact enrollment levels.  However, by placing the State at risk for the 
per capita costs for Demonstration eligibles under this agreement, CMS assures that 
Federal Demonstration expenditures do not exceed the level of expenditures that would 
have occurred had there been no Demonstration.   

 
62. Demonstration Populations and Programs Subject to the Budget Neutrality Cap.  

The following  Demonstration populations are subject to the budget neutrality cap and are 
incorporated into the following eligibility groups:   
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a) Eligibility Group 1: AFDC / SOBRA 
 

b) Eligibility Group 2: SSI 
 

c) Eligibility Group 3: AC 
 

d) Eligibility Group 4: ALTCS-DD 
 

e) Eligibility Group 5: ALTCS–EPD 
 

f) Eligibility Group 6:  Family Planning Extension Program 
 

g) Program Group 1: DSH 
 

h) Program Group 2:  Uncompensated Care Payments to IHS and Tribal Facilities 
 

i) Program Group 3: SNCP/DSHP 
 

j) Program Group 4: KidsCare II 
 

 
63. Budget Neutrality Expenditure Cap:  The following describes the method for 

calculating the budget neutrality expenditure cap for the Demonstration: 
  
a) For each year of the budget neutrality agreement an annual budget neutrality expenditure 

cap is calculated for each eligibility group described in paragraph 61 as follows: 
  

i. An annual eligibility group expenditure cap must be calculated as a product of the 
number of eligible member months reported by the State under paragraph 46 for each 
eligibility group, times the appropriate estimated per member per month (PM/PM) 
costs from the table in subparagraph (iii) below.  

 
ii. The PM/PM costs in subparagraph (iii) below are net of premiums paid by 

Demonstration eligibles.  
 

iii. The PM/PM costs for the calculation of the annual budget neutrality expenditure cap 
for the eligibility groups subject to the budget neutrality agreement under this 
Demonstration are specified below.  In addition, the PM/PM cost for each eligibility 
group in DY 1 has been increased by the appropriate growth rate included in the 
President’s Federal fiscal year 2012 budget for DYs 2, 3, 4 and 5, as outlined below.  
The AC and Family Planning Extension Program populations are structured as a 
“pass-through” or a “hypothetical State plan population” beginning in DY 1.  
Therefore, the State may not derive savings from these populations. 
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iv. The annual budget neutrality expenditure cap for the Demonstration as a whole is the 
sum of DSH allotment, the uncompensated care payments to IHS and tribal facilities, 
expenditures for the SNCP/DSHP and KidsCare II program plus the annual 
expenditure caps for each eligibility group calculated in subparagraph 62(a)(i) above.   

 
b) The overall budget neutrality expenditure cap for the 5-year demonstration period is the 

sum of the annual budget neutrality expenditure caps calculated in subparagraph 62(a) 
(iv) above for each of the 5 years.  The Federal share of the overall budget neutrality 
expenditure cap represents the maximum amount of FFP that the State may receive for 
expenditures on behalf of Demonstration populations and expenditures described in 
paragraph 48 during the Demonstration period. 
 

c) Apply the effective FMAP, or enhanced 90 percent match for family planning services, 
that is determined from the MBES/CBES Schedule C report. 

 
64. Enforcement of Budget Neutrality.   CMS shall enforce budget neutrality over the life of 

the Demonstration rather than on an annual basis.  However, if the State exceeds the 
calculated cumulative budget neutrality expenditure cap by the percentage identified below 
for any of the DYs, the State must submit a corrective action plan to CMS for approval. 

 
       Cumulative    Cumulative 

Demonstration Years             Expenditure Cap Definition   Percentage 
 
Year 1  Budget neutrality expenditure cap plus 
  Year 1 Budget Cap  1.0 % 
Year 2 Combined budget neutrality expenditure caps  
 plus Year 1 through 2 Budget Cap  0.75 % 
Year 3 Combined budget neutrality expenditure caps 
  plus Year 1 through 3 Budget Cap  0.5 %  
Year 4 Combined budget neutrality expenditure caps 
  plus Year 1 through 4 Budget Cap  0.25 %  
Year 5 Combined budget neutrality expenditure caps  
 plus Year 1 through 5 Budget Cap  0.0 %  

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

 
             
65. Exceeding Budget Neutrality.  If, at the end of this Demonstration period the overall budget 

neutrality expenditure cap has been exceeded, the excess Federal funds must be returned to 

Eligibility Group Trend 
Rate 

 

DY 1 
 

FFY 2012 

DY 2 
 

FFY 2013 

DY 3 
 

FFY 2014 

DY 4 
 

FFY 2015 

DY 5 
 

FFY 2016 
AFDC / SOBRA 5.2% $585.28 $615.71 $647.73 $681.41 $716.85 
SSI 6.0% $885.41 $938.53 $994.84 $1054.53 $1117.81 
AC 0.0% $707.33 $707.58 $707.58 $0 $0 
ALTCS - EPD 5.2% $4737.37 $4983.71 $5242.86 $5515.49 $5802.30 
ALTCS - DD 6.0% $4922.38 $5217.72 $5530.78 $5862.63 $6214.39 
Family Planning 
Extension 
Program 

5.8% 
$30.06 $31.80 $33.65 $35.60 $37.66 
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CMS.  If the Demonstration is terminated prior to the end of the budget neutrality agreement, 
an evaluation of this provision shall be based on the time elapsed through the termination 
date.  

 
XIII. SCHEDULE OF STATE DELIVERABLES DURING THE DEMONSTRATION 

 

Date Deliverable 
April 1, 2012 Submission of draft Evaluation Design STC # 28(a) 
July 1, 2012 Submission of revised Evaluation Design STC # 28(a) 
July 1, 2012 Transition Plan. 
March 1, 2013 Submission of draft Evaluation Design STC # 28(a) 
September 30, 2015 Written Notice of State’s Intent to Extend the Demonstration Under 

1115 
March 31, 2016 Complete Demonstration Extension Application (1115) and CRS and 

SMI Integration Evaluation Report (STC #28(f)) 
January 1, 2017 Submit Draft Evaluation Report - STC # 29 
March 1, 2017 Final Evaluation Report - STC #29.  Final Report - STC# 40.  End of 

Demonstration Period. 
Monthly 
Deliverables 

Monthly call - STC# 34 

 Monthly Childless Adult Enrollment Report – STC # 35 
Quarterly 
Deliverables 

Requirements for Quarterly Reports – STC # 37 

 Quarterly Budget Neutrality Reports – STC # 33 
 Expenditure Reports CMS 64 and CMS21 - STC# 44 and STC# 53 
 Member Months Report - STC# 46 
 SEDS Enrollment Data - STC# 23(h) 
Annual Deliverables Requirement for Annual Report - STC# 38 
 Requirement for annual HCBS Report on March 31st - STC# 20 

(f)(iv) 
 Comparison of Costs for the DES Interagency Agreement, including 

how any excess revenues are spent, and for ADHS/BHS. Both reports 
will be due by January 15 – STC # 58 (b) 
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Attachment A – Approved Childless Adult Phase-out Plan under

Demonstration #11-W-0003/09 and 21-W-0009/9 
  

 
 

Childless Adults Freeze Implementation Milestones 
Phase Out Plan and Corresponding Enrollment Freeze 

 
Effective July 8, 2011 

 
1. Summary of Childless Adults    

Childless adults is a waiver program for adults who have not been determined 
Medicaid eligible under a categorical link (aged, blind, disabled, pregnant, under 18 
or parent of a deprived child).  Childless adults have open ended eligibility with 
redeterminations every 12 months.  An asset test is not required and they have income 
under 100% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  

Eligibility for the Childless Adult program is determined primarily by DES.  DES 
also determines eligibility for Medicaid programs for children, pregnant women, 
families and the MED program. 

AHCCCS determines eligibility for CHIP, long term care, aged, blind, disabled 
populations, the Breast and Cervical Cancer Treatment Program and Medicare 
Savings Programs.   AHCCCS also determines eligibility under Medicaid programs 
for children, pregnant women, families and the Childless Adult program for family 
members of KidsCare (CHIP) eligible members. 

As of March 1, 2011 AHCCCS had about 2,800 Childless Adults in KidsCare 
households.  Although the KidsCare program has been frozen since January 1, 2010, 
AHCCCS still processes renewals and changes for the active KidsCare population 
and their families, sometimes resulting in applications for Childless Adults. When 
KidsCare was open to new enrollment, AHCCCS processed KidsCare and Medicaid 
applications for everyone in the household.  Even though enrollment in KidsCare is 
now frozen, AHCCCS still manages the entire household, including any category of 
Medicaid under which a household member qualifies.  AHCCCS processes the 
renewals for the entire household.  KidsCare children who age out of KidsCare will 
be processed by AHCCCS for Childless Adult coverage. 

Below is an example of a KidsCare household with AHCCCS Care parents: 
 
 

Mother   no income   eligible for AC 
Father   3050.00 earnings  eligible for AC 
Child 15 yrs old  no income   eligible for KidsCare 
Child  6 yrs old  no income   eligible for KidsCare 
Child 10 yrs old  no income   eligible for KidsCare 
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• Total household income:  $3050.00 
• KidsCare income limit for family of 5:  $4362.00 
• The children are ineligible for SOBRA because of their share of their father’s income 

but they are eligible for KidsCare. 
• The mother and father are eligible for AHCCCS Care because when the father's 

income is allocated between the members, their share of the income is $610.00 which 
is under the $613.00 income limit. 

 
   

2. Applications submitted prior to 7/8/11 
 

Applications that are received prior to July 8, 2011 will be processed, even if DES or 
AHCCCS cannot complete the eligibility determination until after July 8, 2011.  If 
household members meet all eligibility requirements, before July 8, 2011, they will 
be approved for Childless Adults, even if the determination cannot be made until after 
July 8, 2011.  If household members do not meet eligibility requirements until July 8, 
2011 or later, the household member will not be approved for Childless Adults. 
 

3. Potential Consumer Notices: 
 

• Notice #1: In the first week of July 2011, AHCCCS will notify all Childless 
Adult members that on July 8, 2011 enrollment into the Childless Adult program 
will be frozen.  If they want to retain Medicaid coverage under the Childless 
Adult program they will need to comply with redetermination requirements and 
continue to meet the eligibility requirements for that program. 

 
The first group of Childless Adult members who are SMI, aged 65 and older, 
under age 65 and have Medicare, and AHCCCS Care members who have 
HIV/AIDS and have lost coverage for AHCCCS Care because they failed to 
comply with the redetermination will have been already transferred to SSI MAO 
before this notice is generated. 

   
See Attachment #1 

 
 

• Notice #2:  In the month of July 2011, AHCCCS will send a notice to all 
AHCCCS eligible members, who are not on MED or the Childless Adult 
program, explaining to all remaining populations that they are not impacted by the 
elimination of the MED program or the freeze of the Childless Adult Program.   

 
See Attachment #2 
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• Notice #3  Beginning June 28 2011, and every month thereafter, AHCCCS 

will notify all Childless Adults who are age 65 and older, and all Childless Adults, 
who are under age 65 and who have Medicare, that they are being transferred to 
the SSI MAO program.   The SSI MAO program will not be frozen and SSI MAO 
staff will contact these individuals for a redetermination of their eligibility under 
SSI MAO rules.   

 
Every month AHCCCS will identify Childless Adults who are age 65 or older, or 
under age 65 and have Medicare, and transfer them to SSI MAO.  AHCCCS will 
notify these individuals that they are being transferred shortly after their eligibility 
category has changed from AHCCCS Care to SSI MAO.  This transfer will occur 
when the member turns 65, or when the member obtains Medicare if under age 
65, and is not based on their redetermination date. AHCCCS will give these 
individuals the same redetermination date that they had in AHCCCS Care.  

 
See Attachment #3 

 
 

• Notice #4: Beginning June 28, 2011, and every month thereafter, Childless 
Adults who lose coverage for the Childless Adult program, because they failed to 
comply with the redetermination process AND they have a diagnosis of 
HIV/AIDS and/or take antiretroviral drugs, will receive a notice that they are 
being transferred to the SSI MAO program.  The SSI MAO program will not be 
frozen and SSI MAO staff will contact these individuals for a redetermination of 
their eligibility under SSI MAO rules.  These individuals will be indentified every 
month and will be transferred to the SSI MAO program.  They will be notified 
that they are being transferred to SSI MAO shortly after their eligibility category 
has changed from AHCCCS Care to SSI MAO.  They will have a redetermination 
shortly after they are transferred since they failed to comply with their Childless 
Adult redetermination requirements. 

 
See Attachment #4 
 
 

• Notice #5: Beginning June 28, 2011, and every month thereafter, AHCCCS 
will notify all Childless Adults, who are identified in the AHCCCS PMMIS 
system as Seriously Mentally Ill (SMI) by the Arizona Department of Health 
Services (ADHS), that they will be transferred to the SSI MAO program.  The SSI 
MAO program will not be frozen and SSI MAO staff will contact these 
individuals for a redetermination of their eligibility under SSI MAO rules.   Every 
month AHCCCS will identify Childless Adults who are seriously mentally ill and 
transfer them to the SSI MAO program.  The timing of the transfer occurs upon a 
member’s designation as being SMI. They will be notified that they are being 
transferred to SSI MAO shortly after their eligibility category has changed from 
AHCCCS Care to SSI MAO.  We will give these individuals the same 
redetermination date that they had in AHCCCS Care.  
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See Attachment #5 
 

• Notice #6: Childless Adults who lose coverage for the Childless Adult 
program (and they are not SMI, HIV/AIDS, over 65 or under 65 with Medicare), 
because they failed to comply with the redetermination process will receive a 
third and final notice from AHCCCS beginning June 25, 2011, and each month 
thereafter.  The notice will tell them that they cannot get back into the Childless 
Adult program, but if they comply with redetermination requirements before the 
effective date of their discontinuance they can remain on AHCCCS Care. 

 
 

See Attachment #6    
 
 

• Notice #7:   Childless Adults who lose coverage for the Childless Adult 
program (and they are not SMI, HIV/AIDS, over 65 or under 65 with Medicare), 
because they failed to comply with the redetermination process will receive a 
discontinuance notice from the eligibility agency.  The notice will tell them that 
they cannot get back into the Childless Adult program, they can file an appeal if 
they believe the discontinuance was made in error, if they appeal timely they can 
request continued benefits and that they can reapply for AHCCCS (but not 
Childless Adults).   If they reapply they will need to demonstrate that they have a 
categorical link, including: pregnancy, parent of a deprived child, disability, or 
being age 65 or older. 

 
See Attachment #7   
 
 

• Notice #8:  Childless Adults whose redetermination is due by June    30, 2011 will 
receive a notice from AHCCCS in June letting them know that AHCCCS is 
planning to freeze Childless Adults effective July 1, 2011, pending approval from 
CMS.  The notice will also let them know that if they do not comply with the 
redetermination process by June 30, 2011 they will lose AHCCCS coverage under 
the Childless Adult category and may not be able to get back onto AHCCCS, 
unless they are eligible under a categorical link such as: age 65 or older, blind, 
disabled, pregnant or the parent of a deprived child.  
 
This notice will also be sent in July to Childless Adults whose redetermination is 
due July 31, 2011, letting them know that AHCCCS will freeze enrollment for 
Childless Adults effective July 8, 2011, pending approval from CMS.  The notice 
will also let them know that if they do not comply with the redetermination 
process by July 31, 2011, they will lose AHCCCS coverage under the Childless 
Adult category and may not be able to get back onto AHCCCS, unless they are 
eligible under a categorical link such as: age 65 or older, blind, disabled, pregnant 
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or the parent of a deprived child. 

 
 

See Attachment #8 
 

 
• Notice #9:  Children who are aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI (Young 

Adult Transitional Insurance for children 18-21 years old who aged out of foster 
care) and KidsCare programs will receive Notice #9 if they are aging out in the 
month in which their redetermination is due.  The notice will advise them that if 
they comply with the redetermination requirements, they may be redetermined 
under the Childless Adults program.  If they do not comply with the 
redetermination requirements, and their eligibility ends, they cannot apply for 
coverage under the Childless Adult program while enrollment is frozen. 

 
This notice will be sent June 22, 2011, and then every subsequent month.  
Additionally, the notice will be sent early in the month that the renewal is due.  
Note that Notice #9 is only triggered when an individual both ages out AND has a 
redetermination in the same month. This will occur each month for a small sub-set 
of children who are aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and KidsCare 
programs. 
 
 

• Notice #10:  Children who aged out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and 
KidsCare programs will receive Notice #10 to notify them that they have been 
determined eligible for Childless Adults, and that they will need to comply with 
the redetermination process in order to remain eligible.  Children who age out will 
be transferred to Childless Adults at the time of their birth date, and will be 
notified shortly after their eligibility category has changed. They will keep their 
same redetermination date. 

 
 
 

4. Ex Parte Determinations and other Processes: 
After 7-1-11 for Childless Adult Members Who Are No Longer Eligible as 
Childless Adults and for Children Aging Out of 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and 
KidsCare 
 
• On June 28, 2011, and every month thereafter, any Childless Adult who is age 65 

and older, or who is under age 65 and has Medicare, who is eligible as a Childless 
Adult for the following month will be transferred to the SSI MAO program and 
will be redetermined under that category.   These members will be identified in 
our PMMIS system and their eligibility key codes will be changed from Childless 
Adult to SSI MAO-Aged or SSI MAO-Disabled.  We have an automated process 
from PMMIS to post this change back into DES’ AZTECS system and AHCCCS’ 
ACE system to close the Childless Adult case.  There will be no break in coverage 
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for these members.  If they lose coverage for Childless Adults for any other 
eligibility reason, i.e., excess income, loss of residency, etc, they will not be 
moved to SSI MAO.   AHCCCS and DES may become aware of these other 
reasons for losing eligibility for the Childless Adults program through a variety of 
means, such as, redetermination, self reporting (all Medicaid members are
required to report changes in their circumstances), or PARIS updates (which is a 
data system that allows state Medicaid agencies across the country to share data 
regarding state residency and other issues). 
AHCCCS will look for individuals who are age 65 and older, and for individuals 
under age 65 with Medicare every month subsequent to June 28, 2011.  This 
process will ensure that individuals turning 65 or individuals under age 65
receiving Medicare are moved to SSI MAO.  The same process described for June 

 

 

 
28, 2011 will be followed each month.  By transferring these individuals prior to
our month end processing, we will get them into the correct capitation rate
category prior to paying monthly capitation to our contractors for the following 
month. 

 

 
These individuals will be scheduled for a redetermination based on their next 
redetermination due date for AHCCCS Care. 
 
AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to all of its contracted health plans, 
Indian Health Services and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS 
members with redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted 
by zip code and eligibility category. 
The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include redetermination 
due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 270/271 file is available 
on line (AHCCCS On Line), through Interactive Voice Response (a phone bank) 
and through batch processing. Batch processing allows the registered provider to 
access information on multiple members at one time. Batch processing will be 
updated effective October 1, 2011. 
 
 
Members age 65 and older or under age 65 with Medicare, who are moved to SSI 
MAO and subsequently determined to be ineligible under the requirements for 
that program, will be returned to the Childless Adult program without a break in 
coverage.   

 
 

• On June 28, 2011, and every month thereafter, any Seriously Mentally Ill (SMI) 
adult, who is eligible under the Childless Adult program for the following month 
will be moved into the SSI MAO program and will be redetermined under that 
category.  If they lose coverage for Childless Adults for any other eligibility 
reason, e.g., excess income, loss of residency, etc, they will not be moved to SSI 
MAO.   AHCCCS and DES may become aware of these other reasons for losing 
eligibility (e.g., excess income, loss of residency) for the Childless Adults 
program through a variety of means, such as,  redetermination, self reporting (all 
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Medicaid members are required to report changes in their circumstances), or 
PARIS updates. 

 
SMI members are identified by the Arizona Department of Health Services 
(ADHS) through their Regional Behavioral Health Authorities (RBHAs) and their 
behavioral health provider network.  This information is posted in the AHCCCS 
PMMIS system. 
 
AHCCCS will look for individuals who are SMI every month subsequent to June 
28, 2011.  This process will ensure that individuals diagnosed as SMI are moved 
to SSI MAO.  The same process described for June 28, 2011 will be followed 
each month.  By transferring these individuals prior to our month end processing, 
we will get them into the correct capitation rate category prior to paying monthly 
capitation to our contractors for the following month. 
 
These individuals will be scheduled for a redetermination based on their next 
redetermination due date for AHCCCS Care.  AHCCCS will share a listing of 
transferred SMI members who are due for renewal within 60 days with each 
Regional Behavioral Health Authority (RHBA) on a monthly basis.  The RBHAs 
work with their providers; application assistor staff use Health-e-Arizona to 
complete the renewal application, including submission of any necessary 
documentation.  Application assistors are individuals employed by a Health-e-
Arizona facility who are trained in using the Health-e-Arizona product and 
helping individuals complete the application process.  Using Health-e-Arizona 
will allow the RBHA providers to track and follow up with the renewal process, 
and ensure members have support in completing the process.  
 
In addition, AHCCCS has reached agreement with the Disability Determination 
Service Administration (DDSA) to significantly streamline the process of 
collecting and submitting documentation for the disability determination, if one is 
required.  Typically, the disability determination through DDSA requires a lot of 
documentation.  AHCCCS is working with DDSA to allow RHBA providers to 
submit data that is essential to the disability determination directly to DDSA.  
This way, DDSA can coordinate with providers to obtain the required 
documentation rather than rely solely on the individual. 
 
 AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to all of its contracted health plans, 
Indian Health Services and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS 
members with redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted 
by zip code and eligibility category. 
The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include redetermination 
due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 270/271 file is available 
on line (AHCCCS On Line), through IVR and through batch processing.  Batch 
processing will be updated effective October 1, 2011. 
 
SMI members who are moved to SSI MAO and subsequently determined to be 
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ineligible under the requirements for that program will be returned to the 
Childless Adult program without a break in coverage. 

 
• Effective June 28, 2011, and every month thereafter, Childless Adults who have a 

diagnosis of HIV/AIDs and/or take antiretrovirals, and lose coverage under the 
Childless Adults program, because they did not comply with the redetermination 
process, will be moved into the SSI MAO program and will be redetermined 
under the rules of that category.  If the adult with HIV/AIDS does not meet the 
requirements for SSI MAO, that individual’s eligibility ends. 

 
Adults with HIV/AIDS, who are moved to SSI MAO, because they did not 
comply with the Childless Adult redetermination process, will not have a break in 
coverage when they are transferred from the Childless Adults program to SSI 
MAO. 
 
Adults with HIV/AIDS, who are moved to SSI MAO, will be scheduled for a 
redetermination as soon as possible, since they lost AHCCCS Care for failure to 
comply with the redetermination process. 

 
If the adult with HIV/AIDS loses coverage for Childless Adults for any other 
eligibility reason, i.e., excess income or loss of residency, they will not be moved 
to SSI MAO.  

 
AHCCCS will identify these individuals based on the diagnosis code of 042 
and/or antiretrovirals for which there are encounters and claims in the PMMIS 
system.  AHCCCS will look for these individuals every month before our month 
end processing, starting June 28, 2011. 
 
AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to health plans, Indian Health Services 
and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS members with
redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted by zip code and 
eligibility category. 
The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include redetermination 
due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 270/271 file is available 
on line (AHCCCS On Line), through IVR and through batch processing.  Batch 
processing will be updated effective October 1, 2011. 

 

 
 

• Other Childless Adults who lose coverage because they did not comply with the 
redetermination process, will be advised by the eligibility agency using Notice #7 
that they are no longer eligible for AHCCCS Care, that they can file an appeal if 
they believe their eligibility was discontinued in error and that they can apply for 
Medicaid, if they believe they are aged, blind, disabled, pregnant, or the parent of 
a deprived child.  They will receive a final notification from AHCCCS using 
Notice #6 that their eligibility is ending and advising them to complete their 
renewal prior to the effective date of their discontinuance. 
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AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to health plans, Indian Health Services 
and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS members with 
redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted by zip code and 
eligibility category. 
The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include redetermination 
due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 270/271 file is available 
on line (AHCCCS On Line), through IVR and through batch processing.  Batch 
processing will be updated effective October 1, 2011. 

• Children who are aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and KidsCare 
programs, and meet the qualifications for Childless Adults, can continue to be 
determined eligible for Childless Adults after the enrollment freeze is in effect.  
Children who have a redetermination due the month they are aging out of the 
1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and KidsCare programs must comply with the 
redetermination process.  If they do not comply with the redetermination, and as a 
result, lose coverage, and then reapply after the effective date of the 
discontinuance of their coverage, they cannot be determined eligible for Childless 
Adults.  

 

 

AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to health plans, Indian Health Services 
and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS members with
redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted by zip code and 
eligibility category. 
The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include redetermination 
due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 270/271 file is available 
on line (AHCCCS On Line), through IVR and through batch processing.  Batch 
processing will be updated effective October 1, 2011. 

 

 

DES and AHCCCS staff will automatically determine eligibility for children 
aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, YATI and KidsCare programs, who do not 
have a redetermination due.  If DES and AHCCCS staff are unable to complete 
the eligibility determination for the child before the child ages out, the child will 
be transferred to Childless Adults and will remain eligible for Childless Adults if 
they meet all other eligibility criteria. The child’s redetermination date will 
remain the same as it was under his or her previous eligibility category. 

 
• Households are advised that they can submit a paper application or can use the 

Health-e-Arizona on line application at www.healthearizona.org. 
 

• All households that have not submitted a renewal application by the second week 
of the renewal month receive an automated reminder call, if they have a phone 
number. 
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5. Examples of Childless Adult Members: 
 

• CASE SCENARIO 1 – Childless Adult member is SMI and is transferred from 
the Childless Adult program to SSI MAO effective July 1, 2011.  AHCCCS has a 
unique identifier for SMI members in our PMMIS system.  This information is 
supplied by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS), who is 
responsible for diagnosing and serving this population. 

 
Household consists of John Smith, age 55, who has been identified by the 
Department of Health Services as SMI. 

 
John earns $400 monthly.   A notice is sent to John in June 2011 informing him 
that his eligibility has been transferred from the Childless Adult program to SSI 
MAO.  John will be contacted by SSI MAO staff to complete a redetermination 
for that program, based on the redetermination date he would have had in 
Childless Adults.  
 
On November 1, 2011 an SSI MAO eligibility specialist tries to contact John to 
start the redetermination process.    The Eligibility Specialist phones John and his 
phone has been disconnected.  John is sent a redetermination notice to complete 
the redetermination process, and is informed that he has until January 31, 2012 to 
respond.  The redetermination notice is returned by the U.S. Post Office as 
undeliverable.  His SSI MAO eligibility is discontinued effective February 1, 
2012.   John is ineligible for SSI MAO. 

 
 

• CASE SCENARIO 2 – Childless Adult member fails to comply with the 
redetermination process after the freeze is in effect and is diagnosed with 
HIV/AIDs.    (We will identify and track these individuals before they lose 
coverage) 

 
John earns $400 monthly.   A notice requiring John to send a renewal application 
was sent to John on November 1, 2011.  John was required to respond by 
December 31, 2011.  No renewal application was received from John.  His 
Childless Adult eligibility is discontinued effective January 1, 2012.  But John is 
transferred to SSI MAO effective January 1, 2012 and will be contacted by SSI 
MAO staff to complete a redetermination for that program.  
 
John is sent a notice that he has been transferred to SSI MAO and that he will 
need to complete the redetermination process and meet the requirements for SSI 
MAO in order to remain eligible for that program.  
 
On February 1, 2012 an SSI MAO eligibility specialist telephones John to start 
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the redetermination process.   The eligibility specialist then sends John a disability 
packet to complete and answers questions for John after he reviews it.  John 
returns the requested information and the disability packet is sent to the DES 
Disability Determination Service Administration (DDSA). 
 
On June 15, 2012 DDSA determines that John meets the requirements for 
disability and returns that information to the eligibility specialist.  The eligibility 
specialist updates the eligibility system, ACE, with the DDSA information and 
completes the redetermination.  John is eligible for SSI MAO. 
 

 
• Case Scenario #3 -  Childless adult member is age 66 on July 8, 2011 when the 

Childless Adult program is frozen.  These members will be identified in our 
PMMIS system and their eligibility key codes will be changed from Childless 
Adult to SSI MAO-Aged. 

 
Household consists of John Smith, aged 66, who has been identified in our 
MMIS system as being over age 65. 
 
We change his eligibility category to SSI MAO aged in our PMMIS system and 
the system sends a message to the DES AZTECS system to discontinue his 
Childless Adult eligibility.  We notify the SSI MAO Office to add him to the 
ACE eligibility system and conduct a redetermination based on the 
redetermination date he would have had in Childless Adults. 
 

On September 1, 2011 an SSI MAO eligibility specialist contacts John by 
telephone to start the redetermination process.  John provides requested 
information by September 15, 2011 and the eligibility specialist updates the 
eligibility system, ACE with John’s information and completes the 
redetermination.  John is eligible for SSI MAO. 

 
 

• Case Scenario #4 – Childless adult member fails to comply with the 
redetermination process after the freeze is in effect and is pregnant. 

 
Household consists of Jane Smith, age 35.  Jane earns $400 monthly.   A notice 
requiring Jane to send a renewal application was sent to Jane on November 1, 
2011.  Jane was required to respond by December 31, 2011.  No renewal 
application was received from Jane. 
 
A discontinuance notice is sent to Jane on December 19, 2011 advising her that 
her Childless Adult eligibility will be discontinued effective January 1, 2012. 
 
 
The discontinuance notice advises Jane that she no longer qualifies for the 
Childless Adult program, but she can file an appeal if she feels this 
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discontinuance was made in error and advises her that she can reapply for 
AHCCCS.  Her Childless Adult eligibility is discontinued effective January 1, 
2012. 
 
Jane reapplied for AHCCCS on January 5, 2012 and indicates that she is 
pregnant.  An eligibility determination is made under SOBRA Pregnant Woman 
and on January 18, 2012 she is approved for AHCCCS effective January 1, 2012.   
Jane is eligible as a SOBRA Pregnant Woman. 
 
 

• Case Scenario #5: - Childless adult member fails to comply with the 
redetermination process after the freeze is in effect and is disabled. 

 
Household consists of Jane Smith, age 35.  Jane earns $400 monthly.   A notice 
requiring Jane to send a renewal application was sent to Jane on November 1, 
2011.  Jane was required to respond by December 31, 2011.  No renewal 
application was received from Jane. 
 
A discontinuance notice is sent to Jane on December 19, 2011 advising her that 
her Childless Adult eligibility will be discontinued effective January 1, 2012.   No 
renewal application was received from Jane.  The discontinuance notice advises 
Jane that she no longer qualifies for the Childless Adult program, but she can file 
an appeal if she feels this discontinuance was made in error and advises her that 
she can reapply for AHCCCS.  The notice tells her that she will need a categorical 
link to AHCCCS such as pregnancy, disability, being the parent of a deprived 
child or being over age 65.   Her Childless Adult eligibility is discontinued 
effective January 1, 2012. 
 
Jane reapplied for AHCCCS on January 5, 2012 and indicates that she is disabled.  
An application for SSI MAO is entered into the ACE eligibility system and Jane 
is asked to complete a disability determination packet.  A disability determination 
is made by the DES Disability Determination Service Administration (DDSA) 
and Jane is determined to have a disability on April 1, 2012.  Jane is approved for 
SSI MAO on April 10, 2012, effective January 1, 2012.   Jane is eligible for SSI 
MAO. 
 
 

• Case Scenario #6: Child ages out of SOBRA Child after the freeze is in effect. 
 

Household consists of Jane Smith, age 35 and Jimmy Smith, who turns age 
nineteen in August.   Jane earns $775 monthly.  Jimmy earns $500.  Jimmy’s 
scheduled redetermination under SOBRA Child is in March.  An alert is 
generated in July notifying eligibility staff that Jimmy is turning 19.  On July 25th, 
eligibility is redetermined for Jimmy using the most current information in the 
file.   
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Jimmy does not have a deprived, dependent child and is not disabled.  He is 
determined eligible for the Childless Adult program effective September 1st 
without a break in coverage.  Jimmy will receive Notice #10 informing him of his 
transfer to Childless Adults.  Jimmy will then complete his redetermination under 
Childless Adults in March as scheduled. Jane remains eligible for the Childless 
Adult program.   

 
 

6. System Changes: 
 
• Changes to the Department of Economic Security AZTECS eligibility system:  

AZTECS will not approve Childless Adults for applications dated July 8, 2011 or 
later.  It will approve Childless Adults for applications dated prior to July 8, 2011, 
if all eligibility criteria were met prior to July 8, 2011.  AZTECS will generate 
Notice #7.  It will allow children aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, and YATI 
programs to move into Childless Adults if they meet the eligibility requirements.   

 
 

• Changes to the AHCCCS ACE eligibility system:  ACE will not approve 
Childless Adults for applications dated July 8, 2011 or later.  It will approve 
Childless Adults for applications dated prior to July 8, 2011, if all eligibility 
criteria were met prior to July 8, 2011.  ACE will generate Notice #7. It will allow 
children aging out of the 1931, SOBRA Child, and KidsCare programs to move 
into Childless Adults if they meet the eligibility requirements.   

 
 
• Changes to the AHCCCS PMMIS system:  On July 8, 2011 PMMIS will stop 

accepting Childless Adults for eligibility effective July 8, 2011 or later.  It will 
accept Childless Adults eligibility from children aging out of the 1931, SOBRA 
Child, YATI, and KidsCare programs.  It will permit manual update of Childless 
Adults for cases closed in error.  It will produce notices #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #8, 
#9 and #10. 

 
PMMIS will move members age 65 and older, and members under age 65 with 
Medicare to SSI MAO.  PMMIS will post a file of those members in the DES 
AZTECS system and the AHCCCS ACE system to close their Childless Adult 
cases.  PMMIS will produce a file of these members so they can be added into the 
ACE system as SSI MAO eligibles.  AHCCCS will run this process every month 
effective June 28, 2011. 
 
AHCCCS will identify individuals from the PMMIS Claims and Encounters 
systems, who have a diagnosis code of 042 (HIV/AIDS) and/or who have a 
pharmacy claim or encounter for an antiretroviral.  We will create an electronic 
file of these individuals monthly and run it against our PMMIS Recipient system 
monthly to ensure their Childless Adult cases remains active.  If a future 
termination date is sent for these members, PMMIS can identify through the 

Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

67 



 

 
coding if the case is being closed because they did not comply with the 
redetermination process.  If it is, the member will be transferred to SSI MAO and 
scheduled for a redetermination, without a break in their coverage.  AHCCCS will 
run this process every month, effective June 28, 2011.  
 
AHCCCS will identify individuals from the PMMIS Recipient System, who have 
been identified as SMI.  We will transfer all of these individuals to SSI MAO on 
July 1, 2011 and schedule them for a redetermination, without a break in their 
coverage.  AHCCCS will run this process every month. 
 
The 270/271 process for eligibility and enrollment verification will be updated to 
include redetermination dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  This 
process includes web based and IVR tools.  Batch 270/271 will be updated 
effective October 1, 2011. 

 
 

• Changes to the AHCCCS/DES Health-e-Arizona on line application and renewal 
system:  Effective July 8, 2011 Health-e-Arizona will stop screening for Childless 
Adults. 

 
 

7. Eligibility Appeals: 
 
The Department of Economic Security has an Office of Appeals, which hears 
eligibility appeals for eligibility determinations made by DES employees.  Eligibility 
appeals for eligibility determinations made by AHCCCS employees are heard by a 
separate agency, the Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH).  Other than the two 
different offices the eligibility appeals process are essentially the same.  Any 
differences are noted below. 
 
If a Childless Adult loses eligibility for any reason, they have 30 calendar days from 
the date the decision notice is mailed to request an appeal of the decision.  A request 
for appeal can be submitted either verbally or in writing.  The member may request to 
withdraw the hearing request at any time. 

 
Benefits will continue if the request for appeal is received within 10 calendar days 
from the date the decision notice is mailed.  Benefits will not be continued if the 
action appealed is due solely to a change required by a change in federal or state law. 

 
Within 7 days from receipt of the appeal request at DES and within 10 days at 
AHCCCS, the DES or AHCCCS eligibility office schedules a pre-hearing conference 
and sends copies of the budget calculations, income screens, notices, and case notes 
to the member.  The conference may be conducted by telephone at the request of the 
member.  

 
Within 10 calendar days of receipt of the appeal request, a DES or AHCCCS 
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supervisor reviews the results of the pre-hearing conference and documents in the 
appeal packet the accuracy of the eligibility decision. 

 
When the pre-hearing conference may result in an informal resolution of the dispute 
at DES, a request to withdraw from the appeal is sent to the member.  An informal 
resolution may happen when the decision is discussed with the member directly and 
the member agrees that the agency made the correct decision.    A request to 
withdraw from the appeal is not sent to the member when the decision requires 
correction.  When the review of the circumstances indicates that the case needs 
correction, DES sends the Request to Vacate and Remand (FAA-1389A) form to the 
Office of Appeals.  The case is not corrected until a response is received from the 
Office of Appeals or the Office of Administrative Hearings that indicates that the 
matter was vacated and remanded to the local office for correction. 
 
At AHCCCS, when the pre-hearing conference may result in an informal resolution 
of the dispute, a request to withdraw from the appeal is sent to the member.  If a 
correction is needed, AHCCCS takes the action necessary to correct the adverse 
action being appealed.  When the completed Voluntary Withdrawal from Appeal 
form is received, it is sent electronically to OAH with a request to vacate the appeal. 

 
When a resolution is not reached during the pre-hearing conference, DES or 
AHCCCS continues processing the request for appeal.   

 
Appeals are scheduled to allow for a decision to be rendered within 90 days from the 
request for appeal.  Appeals are scheduled not fewer than 20, nor more than 45, 
calendar days from the date the request is filed.  The member may request less than 
20 calendar days notice in order to expedite the appeal.   
 
Appeals may be conducted by phone when mutually agreed on by the member and 
the Office of Appeals for DES or the Office of Administrative Hearings for 
AHCCCS. The member is afforded the same rights as members who attend face-to-
face hearings. 

  
The member presents the facts and knowledge of the case, and has an opportunity to 
address witnesses, present evidence, advance arguments, refute testimony or 
evidence, and examine evidence introduced by any party at the hearing.   

  
The Office of Appeals for DES or the AHCCCS Director, for AHCCCS appeals, 
notifies the member of the appeal decision.  If the appeal decision is unfavorable to 
the member, he/she may request an appeals board review of the decision.  If the 
Appeals Board decision is unfavorable to the member, he/she may request a Judicial 
Review of the Appeals Board decision.   
 
For AHCCCS, OAH makes a written recommended decision within 20 days from the 
day of the hearing.  The AHCCCS Director reviews the recommendation and issues a 
written decision to the member within 30 days.  If the decision is unfavorable to the 
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member, the member may request a re-hearing.      

 
Local eligibility offices are required to take action to implement all appeal decisions 
and remands within 10 days. Based on historical appeals data relating to changes in 
eligibility, copayments, etc., the State has seen a minimal increase in the number of 
appeals. Given the other elements in the phase out plan, such as  specific community 
outreach, the ex parte process and exceptions made to target particular groups, DES 
does not expect a heavy influx of appeal requests.  There is a significant amount of 
variation regarding total number of appeals received in any one month. Thus, DES is 
staffed in such a way as to deal with peak highs and lows.   
 
Eligibility appeals are given priority and appeals from providers and others are 
secondary. Also, DES provides a quarterly report on number of hearing requests, 
number of decisions and timeliness that AHCCCS monitors.  The State does not shift 
staff to address high/low peaks. The Arizona Office of Administrative Hearings 
conducts hearings on a number of different subjects, in addition to eligibility appeals. 
The State has a longstanding agreement that eligibility appeals are given priority.  
This agreement – that eligibility cases are a priority for the State to remain in 
compliance with federal law – is included in AHCCCS’ Intergovernmental 
Agreement with the Office of Administrative Hearings.  In the event that the State 
receives a significant increase of appeals in a given month, the State is aware of its 
responsibilities to process eligibility appeals timely and would appropriately allocate 
resources to that end.  

 
8. Other Communication: 

 
• Web 

 
o The AHCCCS website, www.azahcccs.gov will be updated continually to 

reflect program changes as decisions are made. 
o  The Childless Adults phase out plan will be posted on the AHCCCS 

website, www.azahcccs.gov. 
o The AHCCCS website will provide opportunity for the public to electronically 

submit comment. Those comments will be posted on the website. 
o Information for members will be posted on the AHCCCS website member 

portal, www.azahcccs.gov/members, the Health-e-Arizona 
website, www.healthearizona.org and the DES 
website, https://egov.azdes.gov/dbme/faa/myFamilyBenefits. 

o Members can access information about the status of their eligibility 
at www.azahcccs.gov/members/myahcccs. 

o Providers can verify the status of member eligibility
at https://azweb.statemedicaid.us/Home.asp

 
. 

 
 

• Legislative and Rule Making Process 
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o Should this plan require legislative action, it will go through the normal public 

process at the Legislature where there is public notice, a hearing and 
opportunity to be heard. 

o Notice will also be published statewide through the Secretary of State and/or 
newspaper publication and a 30-day public comment period will be provided.  
Public comment can be submitted electronically via the AHCCCS website or 
by mail. Comments received electronically will be posted on the AHCCCS 
website. 

 
• Providers/Health Plans 

 
o AHCCCS will distribute information regarding program changes to all of its 

contracted health plans. 
o Providers will receive information regarding program changes through the 

monthly AHCCCS electronic newsletter for providers, “Claims Clues.” 
o The health plans will disseminate information as a component of their normal 

member outreach tools.  AHCCCS health plans have community and provider 
relations staff that will be able to assist AHCCCS in its efforts to inform 
members and the public. 

o AHCCCS makes a file available monthly to health plans, Indian Health 
Services and 638 tribal contractors that identifies AHCCCS members with 
redeterminations due in the next 60 days.  This file can be sorted by zip code 
and eligibility category. 

o The 270/271 eligibility and enrollment verification will include 
redetermination due dates for each member effective June 19, 2011.  The 
270/271 is available on line (AHCCCS On Line), through IVR and through 
batch processing.  Batch processing will be updated effective October 1, 2011. 

 
 

• Stakeholders/Community Partners 
 

o AHCCCS will send mass emails to stakeholders and community partners to 
notify them when the AHCCCS website has been updated with new 
information. 

o AHCCCS will distribute information about program changes to its Health-e-
Arizona subscribers.  Health-e-Arizona subscribers have 220 located across 
the state and are very dedicated to assisting people in applying for or renewing 
coverage.  They will receive complete information about this phase out plan 
and how they can assist.  

o Although AHCCCS has already held tribal consultation on this matter, 
AHCCCS will ensure specific communication to the tribes, I.H.S. and 638 
facilities and host any consultation or information session as needed.  As a 
result AHCCCS has modified its monthly renewal file which provides the 
names of members whose renewal dates are due in the next 60 days.  As of 
May 4, 2011 IHS and 638 contractors can sort this file by zip code and 
eligibility category.  
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o AHCCCS will work with the Health-e-Arizona Steering Committee to 

develop an outreach plan for AHCCCS Care households.  The plan will 
include notification to community partners of the change to the AHCCCS 
Care program and ideas for assisting AHCCCS Care members.  See 
Attachment #9  

o In addition, AHCCCS will host two one-hour training sessions for community 
partners and stakeholders that assist the AHCCCS Care population. The 
training will focus on walking through the steps of the Childless Adult Phase 
out Plan. 

 
• News Entities 

 
o AHCCCS may also provide information through news entities. 

 
 
9. Consideration of Public Comment: 
 
AHCCCS has received numerous comments from the public, including individual members, 
family members, organizations and providers. Many of these comments were part of the 
Community Forum held on June 1, 2011. A summary of this forum can be found on the 
AHCCCS website 
at:  http://www.azahcccs.gov/publicnotices/Downloads/ChildlessAdultsForumFromJune1_2011_
SummaryFINAL.pdf 
 
Other comments have been submitted electronically via the AHCCCS website or email.  Some of 
these comments were submitted through the comment portal on the 1115 Waiver section of the 
AHCCCS website and will be addressed individually.  Some comments were received as part of 
the formal administrative rules process. 
 
In addition, AHCCCS staff have attended meetings with community groups where there has been 
discussion of the childless adult phase out plan. In addition, the phase out plan has been 
discussed with Health-e-Arizona Steering Committee partners who have assisted in developing 
fact sheets and alternative resources materials for community health centers and other 
organizations who regularly assist consumers that may fall into the childless adult category. 
 
AHCCCS has considered all public comments and incorporated the public comments in the 
following ways: 

o Transitioning all members who are designated SMI to the SSI MAO category; 
o Transitioning members with HIV/AIDS in the childless adult category who fall off for 

failure to comply with their annual renewal to the SSI MAO category; 
o Transitioning children who age out of SOBRA, 1931, YATI and KidsCare to the 

childless adult category; 
o Updating the provider portal and the myahcccs.com site by providing specific 

redetermination dates by June 17 to assist providers in reaching out to members; 
o Providing specific outreach to I.H.S. and 638 facilities with a review file so that these 

facilities can obtain redetermination dates; 
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o Developing a fact sheet for organizations who assist consumers; 
o Developing a list of alternative resources for individuals; 
o Including a notice specifically for those individuals whose redetermination is June 30 and 

may not be aware of the potential enrollment freeze in childless adults eligibility 
category; 

o Facilitating the process for public input via the AHCCCS website and community 
forums. 

 
 
10. Health-e-Arizona: 
 

Health-e-Arizona (HEA) is our online system for public assistance applications.  A 
consortium of Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) brought the original model to 
Arizona in June 2002.  We call the original model (still in place) the subscription model and 
it is used by community partners, such as FQHCs and hospitals, who pay a subscription fee 
to use it.  Today we have 70 Subscribers at 220 locations statewide. 
 
When patients come into a subscriber’s facility, facility staff assists them with the completion 
of the application online, get an electronic signature and use fax or scanning to associate 
necessary documentation with the application.  When the application is complete, the system 
screens it and identifies potential eligibility for Medicaid, CHIP, SNAP and TANF.  An 
application can be submitted even if the applicant does not screen potentially eligible.  The 
application is sent to the correct location electronically and is automatically entered into the 
eligibility systems of AHCCCS and DES.  The facility can track workloads, communicate 
with the eligibility agency and get a final determination from the eligibility 
agency.  Facilities who build a consistent process around this product are much more 
successful in getting their patients enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP and getting reimbursement 
for services to uninsured patients.  
 
When an application is initiated, HEA interfaces with the AHCCCS PMMIS system to see if 
the applicant is already Medicaid eligible.  If the applicant is known to PMMIS two things 
will happen: 
 

1.   HEA will pull name, date of birth (DOB) and SSN from PMMIS and will compare it 
to the name, DOB and SSN entered by the applicant.  If there are discrepancies 
between PMMIS and the data that the applicant entered, HEA will require the 
applicant to resolve the discrepancy.  This will significantly reduce problems pushing 
the data into the AHCCCS and DES eligibility systems. 
 

2.   Once HEA knows that the applicant is an active Medicaid recipient, it will treat their 
application as a renewal and ask questions appropriate for renewals. 
 
If the applicant has entered data into HEA on a previous occasion, HEA will pre-
populate that data into the application or renewal. 
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In December 2008, AHCCCS implemented a public access version of Health-e-
Arizona.  Because this was a new feature, AHCCCS set a modest first-year goal of 17,000 
Medicaid and CHIP applicants.  Instead AHCCCS received 170,000 applicants using the public 
access version of Health-e-Arizona.  In the last 12 months, AHCCCS has received 500,000 
applications through the public and subscription models.  Health-e-Arizona now represents 
nearly 40% of all Medicaid, Medicare Savings Programs and CHIP applications received each 
month in Arizona. 

 
 

11.  Reports: 
 
AHCCCS will produce the following reports every month regarding the Childless Adult Freeze: 

 
• Report #1:  The number of members enrolled in the Childless Adult program as of the 1st 

of each month and the percentage of change from the previous month. 
 

• Report #2:  The number of SMI members transferred from Childless adults to SSI MAO 
effective the first of each month and the total number of SMI members transferred to 
date. 
 

• Report #3:  The number of members age 65 and older transferred from Childless Adults 
to SSI MAO effective the first of each month and the total number transferred to date. 
 

• Report #4:  The number of members under age 65, with Medicare transferred from 
Childless Adults to SSI MAO effective the first of each month and the total number 
transferred to date. 
 

• Report #5:  The number of members identified with HIV/AIDS transferred from 
Childless Adults to SSI MAO effective the first of each month and the total number 
transferred to date. 
 

• Report #6:   The number of SMI members who did not meet SSI MAO requirements and 
were transferred back into the Childless Adults program. 
 

• Report #7:   The number of members with HIV/AIDS who did not meet SSI MAO 
requirements and were discontinued because they did not qualify for any Medicaid 
category. 
 

• Report #8:  The number of individuals aged 65 and older or under age 65 with Medicare 
who do not meet the eligibility requirements for SSI MAO and are transferred back to 
Childless Adults. 
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Attachment #1: Notice #1 

 

 
IV. IMP

 
ORTANT NOTICE ABOUT A FREEZE ON THE AHCCCS CARE PROGRAM 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST 
CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 

 

 
You get AHCCCS Health Insurance through the AHCCCS Care program.  Due to the current budget crisis in 
Arizona, the State will “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care program beginning July 8, 2011. This means 
that no new applications for the AHCCCS Care program will be accepted after July 7, 2011. 
 
People who are already on the AHCCCS Care program will still receive medical services from AHCCCS, but only 
as long as they stay eligible for AHCCCS. 
 
 
If you lose coverage for the AHCCCS Care program because you no longer meet eligibility requirements, you will 
not be able to get back on the AHCCCS Care Program. 
 
 
To keep your AHCCCS Care benefits, you must: 

• Continue to meet the eligibility requirements of the AHCCCS Care program; 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from the Department of Economic Security (DES) or AHCCCS 

staff; and 
• Complete your renewal when notified. 

 
 
 
This change only applies to the AHCCCS Care program.  Please quickly answer any requests that you may receive from 
DES or AHCCCS about your AHCCCS Care benefits.  If you have family members on other AHCCCS programs, their 
benefits are not affected at this time.  
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, you may be eligible under another AHCCCS program if you are: 

• Pregnant, 
• The parent of a deprived child under 18, 
• Age 65 and older or 
• Have a disability. 

 
 If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply for other programs.  If 
you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS office or call DES at 602-542-9935 or 1-800-352-8401 

 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS and you are employed and your employer offers health insurance, under new federal 
law you may be able to enroll in your employer’s insurance plan within 60 days of losing coverage under AHCCCS.  You 
should contact your employer immediately if you lose your AHCCCS Care benefits.  Listed below are some other health 
care programs that may also be able to help you afford health care services if your AHCCCS Care benefits end. 
 
 
 
 

SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THIS NOTICE 
 
 
 Here are some other health care programs that may also be able to help you afford health 
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care services if your AHCCCS Care benefits end:  

Community Health Centers 
Phone: 602-253-0090   
On the Web: www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php 

Health Care Connect 
Maricopa County 
Phone: 602-288-7564 
On the Web: www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php 

Pima Community Access Program (PCAP) 
Pima and Santa Cruz County 
Phone: 520-694-0418 
On the Web: www.pcap.cc 

Community Access Programs of Arizona and Mexico (CAPAZ-MEX) 
Yuma County 
Phone: 928-627-9222 
On the Web: www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX 

Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan 
Phone:  1-866-717-5826 
On the Web:  http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html 
 

 
If you need free legal advice, call the following numbers: Phoenix at 602-258-3434 (800-852-
9075); Tucson at 520-623-9461 (800-248-6789); and Flagstaff at 928-774-0653 (800-789-5781).   
For persons in other parts of the state, call 1-866-637-5341 to find the nearest legal services 
office in your area. 

Additional sources of free legal service can be found at these web sites: 

http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html 

http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html  

 
If you have specific questions, please contact your Eligibility Specialist in your local DES or AHCCCS 
office.  
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Attachment #2:  Notice #2 

 

V.  
VI.  

VII. IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT CHANGES TO THE 
MEDICAL EXPENSE DEDUCTION (MED) PROGRAM AND 

THE AHCCCS CARE PROGRAM 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST  

CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 

 
 
You may have heard that enrollment in some AHCCCS programs is being frozen or may end due 
to the current budget crisis in Arizona. 

 

 
At this time, only the Medical Expense Deduction (MED) program and the AHCCCS Care 
Program have been affected. 
 

What is MED and AHCCCS Care? 
 

MED is an AHCCCS program administered by the Department of Economic Security (DES).  
MED provides AHCCCS benefits to people who have income too high to qualify for other 
programs, but who have high medical expenses.  Enrollment in the MED program was frozen on 
May 1, 2011 and the program will end on October 1, 2011.  
 
AHCCCS Care provides AHCCCS benefits to people whose income is not too high, but they do 
not meet some other requirements for the rest of the AHCCCS programs.   Enrollment in the 
AHCCCS Care Program was frozen on July 8, 2011.  Effective July 8, 2011 no one can be added 
to this program.  
 

Does This Change Affect Me? 
  

If you are not on MED or the AHCCCS Care Program, these changes do not affect you.  
These changes do not affect AHCCCS coverage under any other programs at this time.  
However, if you or other family members receive AHCCCS coverage under the MED or 
AHCCCS Care programs, you or other family members have already received a separate letter 
describing the changes in more detail.   
 
This letter is sent only for your information so that you will know that if you are not on the 
MED or AHCCCS Care programs, you are not affected by the changes for the MED and 
AHCCCS Care programs.  If you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS 
office or call DES at 602-542-9935 or 1-800-352-8401. 
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Attachment #3:  Notice #3 

 

 
VIII.  

IX.   IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR AHCCCS 
ELIGIBILITY 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST  

CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 

 

 
 
You get AHCCCS Health Insurance through the AHCCCS Care program.   
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State will “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care 
program beginning July 8, 2011. This means that no new applications for the AHCCCS Care program 
will be accepted after July 7, 2011. 
 
Because you are over age 65 or are under age 65 and have Medicare, your case has been sent to 
the AHCCCS SSI MAO office, which provides AHCCCS health insurance to people who are aged, 
blind or disabled.  There is not a freeze on enrollment for this program.  The SSI MAO office will 
contact you when your redetermination is due to determine your eligibility for the SSI MAO
program. 

 

 
The SSI MAO office is located at: 

To stay eligible for SSI MAO benefits, you must: 
• Meet the eligibility requirements of the SSI MAO program; 
• Let AHCCCS know if you move; 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from AHCCCS staff; and 
• Complete your renewal when requested. 

801 E. Jefferson Street, MD 3800 
Phoenix, AZ 85034  

 
If you have any questions or need to report a change, call the SSI MAO office at a phone number listed 
below: 

For information about SSI MAO eligibility go to: 
http://www.azahcccs.gov/community/Downloads/resources/Description_of_AHCCCS_Programs.pdf 

602-417-5010 (Area Codes 602, 480 and 623)  
Toll Free: 1-800-528-0142FAX: 602-258-4619 
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Attachment #4:  Notice #4 

   

 
You were getting AHCCCS Health Insurance through the AHCCCS Care program with the Department 
of Economic Security (DES) or through AHCCCS, but your benefits ended when you failed to complete 
your annual renewal. 
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State will “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care program 
beginning July 8, 2011. This means that you will not be able to get back on the AHCCCS Care program. 
 
However, your case has been sent to the AHCCCS SSI MAO office, which provides AHCCCS 
health insurance to people who are aged, blind or disabled.  There is no freeze on enrollment for 
this program. 
 
The SSI MAO office will contact you soon to determine your eligibility under the SSI MAO 
program. 
 
In order to be eligible, you must: 

• Meet the eligibility requirements of the SSI MAO program; and 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from AHCCCS staff. 
• Complete your renewal when requested. 

 
 
The SSI MAO office is located at: 

801 E. Jefferson Street, MD 3800 
Phoenix, AZ 85034  

If you have any questions or need to report a change, call the SSI MAO office at a phone number listed 
below: 

 

http://www.azahcccs.gov/community/Downloads/resources/Description_of_AHCCCS_Programs.pdf 

Ph: 602-417-5010 (Area Codes 602, 480 and 623) 
Toll Free: 1-800-528-0142 

FAX: 602-258-4619 

For information about SSI MAO eligibility go to: 
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X.   IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR AHCCCS 
ELIGIBILITY 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST
CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 
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Attachment #5:   Notice #5 

   

 

 
 
You get AHCCCS Health Insurance through the AHCCCS Care program.   
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State will “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care program 
beginning July 8, 2011. This means that no new applications for the AHCCCS Care program will be accepted after 
July 7, 2011. 
 
Your case has been sent to the AHCCCS SSI MAO office.  The AHCCCS SSI MAO program 
provides AHCCCS health insurance to people who are aged, blind or disabled.  There is no freeze 
on enrollment for this program. 
 
The SSI MAO office will contact you at your redetermination time to do a determination of your 
eligibility under the SSI MAO program. 
 
In order to be eligible, you must: 
 

• Complete an SSI MAO eligibility redetermination; 
• Meet the eligibility requirements of the SSI MAO program; and 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from AHCCCS staff. 

 
The SSI MAO office is located at: 

801 E. Jefferson Street, MD 3800 
Phoenix, AZ 85034  

 
If you have any questions or need to report a change, call the SSI MAO office at a phone number listed 
below: 

Ph: 602-417-5010 (Area Codes 602, 480 and 623)  
Toll Free: 1-800-528-0142 

FAX: 602-258-4619 

For information about SSI MAO eligibility go to: 
http://www.azahcccs.gov/community/Downloads/resources/Description_of_AHCCCS_Programs.pdf 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

XI.   IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR AHCCCS
ELIGIBILITY 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST
CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 
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Attachment #6:  Notice #6 
 

 

 

 
 

XII. IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR AHCCCS 
ELIGIBILITY 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST  

CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS)  

 

 
You are on AHCCCS Care and you recently received a letter from DES or AHCCCS telling you 
that your AHCCCS Health Insurance will stop June 30, 2011 because you did not complete the 
renewal process.   
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State will “freeze” new enrollment in the 
AHCCCS Care program beginning July 8, 2011.  This means that you will not be able to get 
back on the AHCCCS Care program after your eligibility ends. 
 
If you contact your eligibility worker before your AHCCCS Health Insurance stops and provide 
needed information, you may still be eligible. 
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, you may be eligible under another AHCCCS 
program if you are: 

• Pregnant, 
• The parent of a deprived child under 18, 
• Age 65 and older or 
•  Have a disability including serious mental illness or HIV/AIDS. 

 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply 
for other programs. 
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS and you are employed and your employer offers health 
insurance, under new federal law you may be able to enroll in your employer’s insurance plan 
within 60 days of losing coverage under AHCCCS.  You should contact your employer 
immediately if you lose your AHCCCS Care benefits. 
 
If you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS office or call DES at     602-542-
9935 or 1-800-352-8401.  They can answer questions and help you complete your renewal for 
AHCCCS Care. 
 

SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THIS NOTICE 
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Here are some other health care programs that may also be able to help you afford health 
care services if your AHCCCS benefits end:  

Community Health Centers 
Phone: 602-253-0090   
On the Web: www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php 

Health Care Connect 
Maricopa County 
Phone: 602-288-7564 
On the Web: www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php 

Pima Community Access Program (PCAP) 
Pima and Santa Cruz County 
Phone: 520-694-0418 
On the Web: www.pcap.cc 

Community Access Programs of Arizona and Mexico (CAPAZ-MEX) 
Yuma County 
Phone: 928-627-9222 
On the Web: www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX 

Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan 
Phone:  1-866-717-5826 
On the Web:  http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html 
 

If you need free legal advice, call the following numbers: Phoenix at 602-258-3434 (800-852-
9075); Tucson at 520-623-9461 (800-248-6789); and Flagstaff at 928-774-0653 (800-789-5781).   
For persons in other parts of the state, call 1-866-637-5341 to find the nearest legal services 
office in your area. 

Additional sources of free legal service can be found at these web sites: 

http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html 

http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html  

 
If you have specific questions, please contact your Eligibility Specialist in your local DES or 
AHCCCS office.  
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Attachment #7  Notice #7 

NOTICE: X051 
TITLE: MISSED REVIEW NOTICE 
 
Si necesita esta noticia traducida en espanol, llame a la oficina         
local al numero que aparece arriba, o al numero de Servicio al Cliente    
al (602) 542-9935 o 1-800-352-8401.@@                                     
>>                                                                        
      ******************************************************@@            
      *  IMPORTANT INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR CASH ASSISTANCE  *@@            
      *  AND AHCCCS HEALTH INSURANCE                       *@@            
      ******************************************************@@            
>>                                                                        
Your Cash Assistance and/or AHCCCS Health Insurance will be stopped       
without further notice beginning %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%. The item listed    
below applies to you.@@                                                   
//@@                                                                      
|##|A. You failed to report to your local office for an interview to@@    
       renew your Cash Assistance and/or AHCCCS Health Insurance@@        
       eligibility.@@                                                     
||@@                                                                      
|##|B. You failed to turn in an application for an interview to@@      
       renew your Cash Assistance and/or AHCCCS Health Insurance@@     
       eligibility.||@@                                                
\\@@                                                                   
If you want your benefits to continue you need to fill out an          
application and complete an interview by %%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%.@@         
>>                                                                     
If you need a special appointment time, day or location (for example:  
home visit, phone interview, before 8:00 AM or after 5:00 PM) due to   
work, school, distance to a DES local office, or other reasons, please 
let us know when you turn in your application.@@                       
>>                                                                     
Even if you are employed, you may continue to be eligible for AHCCCS   
Health Insurance. Please call us for details.@@    
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, you may be eligible under another AHCCCS program if you are: 

• Pregnant, 
• The parent of a deprived child under 18, 
• Age 65 and older or 
•  Have a disability including serious mental illness or HIV/AIDS. 

 
 If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply for other programs. 
                     
>>                                                                     
If you have a child who was born in the past 12 months while you were  
receiving AHCCCS Health Insurance, the child(ren) may continue to be   
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eligible. If you have not called us, please do so immediately.@@       
>>                                                                     
This action is based on 42 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 435.916   
and 45 CFR 206.10 and Arizona Administrative Code R9-22-1414. The CFR  
references are available through public libraries.@@                   
>>                                                                     
If you think your benefits should not be stopped, ask for a hearing by 
filling out the form on the back now.@@                                
>>                                                                     
NOTE: If you are interested in registering to VOTE or making changes   
to your voter registration, contact your local DES office.@@           
>>                                                                     
If you have questions or need help, please call us at %%%%%%%%%%%%%%.  
You can also get information from our 24 hour Interactive Voice        
Response (IVR) System at (602) 542-9935 (If calling from area code     
602, 480 or 623) or 1-800-352-8401 (for all other area codes). To      
apply for free legal help, call %%%%%%%%%%%%%%. Fair Hearing rights    
are explained on the back of this notice.@@ 
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Attachment #8 
 

XIII. IMPORTANT NOTICE:  YOU MUST COMPLETE YOUR RENEWAL FOR 
AHCCCS BY JUNE 30, 2011 

 
 
You get AHCCCS Health Insurance through the AHCCCS Care program. Your current coverage period will end on 
June 30, 2011 unless you renew your coverage on time.  Your deadline to renew your coverage is June 30, 2011. 
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State is planning to “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care 
program beginning July 1, 2011. This means that no new applications for the AHCCCS Care program will be 
accepted after June 30, 2011. 
 
If you do not return your completed renewal application by the June 30, 2011 deadline, your coverage will 
end on July 1, 2011. You will be discontinued from the AHCCCS Care program, and if the program is 
“frozen” on July 1st, you will not be able to get back on the program. 
 
To keep your AHCCCS Care benefits, you must: 

• Turn in a renewal application by June 30, 2011; 
• Meet the eligibility requirements of the AHCCCS Care program; and 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from the Department of Economic Security (DES) or 

AHCCCS staff. 
 

If you have already turned in a renewal application, please be sure to reply to any mail you get from DES or 
AHCCCS, and provide any proof requested.   
 
This change only applies to the AHCCCS Care program.  If you have family members on other AHCCCS programs, 
they still need to complete their renewal applications.  However, if they lose their AHCCCS coverage because they 
do not complete a renewal application, they may still be able to get back on other AHCCCS programs. 
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, you may be eligible under another AHCCCS program if you are:  

• Pregnant; 
• The parent of a deprived child under 18;  
• Age 65 and older; or  
• Have a disability.   

If you lose eligibility for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply for other AHCCCS 
programs.  If you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS office or call DES at 602-542-9935 or 1-
800-352-8401. 
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS and you are employed and your employer offers health insurance, under new 
federal law you may be able to enroll in your employer’s insurance plan within 60 days of losing coverage under 
AHCCCS.  You should contact your employer immediately if you lose your AHCCCS Care benefits.   
 
 

SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THIS NOTICE 
Note: This notice was already sent to AHCCCS Care members in this group and so reflects the 
original proposed July 1, 2011, effective date. This notice will be sent to AHCCCS Care 
members with a July 31, 2011, redetermination date, and will reflect the revised July 8, 2011, 
AHCCCS Care enrollment freeze effective date. 
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Here are some other health care programs that may also be able to help you afford health 
care services if your AHCCCS Care benefits end:  

Community Health Centers 
Phone: 602-253-0090   
On the Web: www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php 

Health Care Connect 
Maricopa County 
Phone: 602-288-7564 
On the Web: www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php 

Pima Community Access Program (PCAP) 
Pima and Santa Cruz County 
Phone: 520-694-0418 
On the Web: www.pcap.cc 

Community Access Programs of Arizona and Mexico (CAPAZ-MEX) 
Yuma County 
Phone: 928-627-9222 
On the Web: www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX 

Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan 
Phone:  1-866-717-5826 
On the Web:  http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html 
 

 
If you need free legal advice, call the following numbers: Phoenix at 602-258-3434 (800-852-
9075); Tucson at 520-623-9461 (800-248-6789); and Flagstaff at 928-774-0653 (800-789-5781).   
For persons in other parts of the state, call 1-866-637-5341 to find the nearest legal services 
office in your area. 

Additional sources of free legal service can be found at these web sites: 

http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html 

http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html  

 
If you have specific questions, please contact your Eligibility Specialist in your local DES or AHCCCS 

Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

87 

http://www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php
http://www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php
http://www.pcap.cc/
http://www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX
http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html
http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html
http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html


 

 
office.  
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Attachment #9 
 
 

AHCCCS Care (Childless Adults) Phase out Plan
Fact Sheet 

June 1, 2011 

 

 
Eligibility for the AHCCCS Care program will be frozen July 8, 2011 until additional funds become available to reopen 
enrollment into the program.  No one will be approved for AHCCCS Care for the month of July 2011 and ongoing, except 
children aging out of their eligibility group because they turned 19 or 21.  The phase out plan is waiting for approval from 
the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), and the enrollment freeze will not be implemented until federal 
approval is granted.  
 
What is the AHCCCS Care program? 
AHCCCS Care or Childless Adults, as it is sometimes known, is a waiver program for adults who have not been determined 
eligible under one of the regular Medicaid groups (aged, blind, disabled, pregnant, under 18 or parent of a deprived child).  An 
asset test is not required and they must have income under 100% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL).  Eligibility must be renewed 
every 12 months. 
 
How many people are on AHCCCS Care? 
As of June 1, 2011 there are nearly 225,000 AHCCCS Care members. 
 
What will happen to those already on AHCCCS Care? 
All AHCCCS Care members with eligibility that began before July 8, 2011 will remain eligible for the program, unless they lose 
eligibility because they no longer meet the requirements.  This includes the requirement to comply with the renewal process.  
 
AHCCCS will make an administrative change from AHCCCS Care to SSI MAO – a program for people who are aged, blind or 
disabled (SSI MAO enrollment will not be frozen) – if the member is over age 65, under age 65 and has Medicare or is diagnosed 
as seriously mentally ill (SMI) by the Department of Health Services.  AHCCCS Care members who are diagnosed with
HIV/AIDS will be administratively changed to SSI MAO, if they lose eligibility for AHCCCS Care for failure to complete the 

 

 

 
 
 

renewal process.  Most SMI and HIV/AIDS members under the age of 65 will have to later be determined disabled under federal
requirements by the Disability Determination Service Administration (DDSA), Department of Economic Security.  If an SMI
member does not meet the federally defined criteria of disabled for Medicaid under the SSI MAO category, AHCCCS will
continue their coverage under the AHCCCS Care category, as long as they meet all other required eligibility criteria, such as
income.   
 
Although AHCCCS will make every effort, using information already available to the state, to identify people who are age 65 or 
older, disabled, pregnant, or the parent of a deprived child to ensure that their coverage continues under other categories, we may 
not identify all of these individuals.  If an individual’s coverage in the Childless Adult program is being terminated and the 
individual believes that they may be covered under one of these other groups, they can notify their eligibility worker, who can 
help them apply for coverage under these categories.  AHCCCS is also working with DDSA to streamline the process of 
collecting and submitting documentation for the disability determination.  RBHA providers can also assist individuals in 
submitting documentation to DDSA. 
 
 
 
 
 
What can AHCCCS Care members do?  
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AHCCCS Care members should do everything in their power to complete their renewal on time.  They can complete a paper 
renewal form or complete an electronic renewal on line at www.healthearizona.org.  They should also report any changes in 
address to their eligibility worker to insure no loss of contact. 
 
How will AHCCCS Care members know their renewal date?   
1st Notice:  All AHCCCS Care members will be notified 60 days before the due date of their renewal and given information 
about how to comply. 
2nd Notice:  If they have not complied they will receive a notice telling them their benefits will stop, the date they will stop and 
giving them appeal rights.  
3rd Notice:  AHCCCS will send another notice on the 25th of each month as a 3rd warning that AHCCCS Care members have until 
the end of that month to comply with the renewal process.  
 
AHCCCS members can find their renewal dates on www.myahcccs.com.  AHCCCS registered providers can obtain an AHCCCS 
Care members’ renewal date through the provider portal on the AHCCCS website. 
 
What appeal rights will AHCCCS Care members have?  
If AHCCCS Care members lose their eligibility and they believe their eligibility was not determined correctly, they can ask for a 
hearing.  If they request a hearing within 10 days their eligibility can be continued until the final decision is made. 
 
Alternative resources   
 See: http://www.azahcccs.gov/community for ideas about helping people who are not eligible for AHCCCS Care or other 
AHCCCS programs. 
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Attachment 10 
 

Comparison of SSI MAO Budgeting Methodology to AHCCCS Care 
 

 AHCCCS Care SSI-MAO 
Cash Program 
methodology 

Title IV-A Title XVI 

Categorical link No categorical link requirement. Must be aged, blind or disabled. 

Monthly income 
calculation 

Income received more often than monthly is 
averaged and converted to a monthly amount. 
Weekly income is multiplied by 4.3 
Bi-weekly income is multiplied by 2.15 

Monthly income is based on actual income received 
and not converted. 

Deductions • $90 earned income deduction (per wage earner) 
• Up to $200 per dependent for dependent care 

expenses.  “Dependent” includes a minor child 
or incapacitated spouse. 

FBR Test (100% FBR) 
• $20 General deduction 
• $65 standard earned income deduction 
• 1/2 earned income deduction 
• Child allocation* 
• Student earned income deduction** 
 
FPL Test (100% FPL) 
• $20 General deduction 
• $65 standard earned income deduction 
• Child allocation* 
• Student earned income deduction** 
 
*  Deduction per child of up to $337.  If the child has 
countable income of his/her own, the deduction is 
reduced by the child's countable income. 
**  Deduction per student under age 22 of $1640 per 
month, up to a maximum of $6600 per year. 

Due to different 
Cash Program 
methodologies, a 
few income types 
count differently 

Examples: 
• In-kind income – Counted 
• Interest/dividends (if withdrawn) – Counted 
• TANF payments - Excluded 

Examples: 
• In-kind income – Excluded 
• Interest/dividends (if withdrawn) – Excluded 
• TANF payments - Counted 

Budgeting 
Methodology 

Sneede v. Kizer methodology 
Net income after deductions is divided equally and 
allocated based on financial responsibility (spouse to 
spouse; parent to child).  
Allocated income is compared to the income limit 
for a single person, or if married, to ½ the 2-person 
income limit. 

Net income after deductions is compared to the 
income limit for a single person or couple as 
appropriate. 
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Attachment 11 Notice #9 
 

 

 

 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST 
CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 

 

 
XIV. IMPORTANT NOTICE:  YOU MUST COMPLETE YOUR RENEWAL FOR 

AHCCCS BY JUNE 30, 2011 
 
 
You get AHCCCS Health Insurance through an AHCCCS program with an age limit of 19 or 21.  You have reached 
the program’s age limit.  Your eligibility must be redetermined to see if you qualify for any other AHCCCS 
programs.  One of these programs is AHCCCS Care.  Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State is 
planning to “freeze” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care program beginning July 1, 2011.  This means no new 
applications for the AHCCCS Care program will be accepted after July 1, 2011. 
 
To make sure that the AHCCCS Care program is available to you, you must complete your renewal 
application by June 30, 2011.  If you do not complete your renewal application by June 30, 2011, and the 
program is “frozen” on July 1st, you will not be able to get on the AHCCCS Care program, even if you do not 
qualify for any other AHCCCS program. 
 
To be able to get on AHCCCS Care, if you do not qualify for any other AHCCCS program, you must: 

• Turn in a renewal application by June 30, 2011; 
• Meet the eligibility requirements of the AHCCCS Care program; and 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from Department of Economic Security (DES) or AHCCCS 

staff. 
 

If you have already turned in a renewal application, please be sure to reply to any mail you get from DES or 
AHCCCS, and provide any proof requested.   
 
This change only applies to the AHCCCS Care program.  If you have family members on other AHCCCS programs, 
they still need to complete their renewal application.  However, if they lose their AHCCCS coverage because they 
do not complete a renewal application, they may still be able to get back on other AHCCCS programs. 
 
If you do not qualify for AHCCCS Care, you may be eligible under another AHCCCS program if you are: 

• pregnant 
• the parent of a deprived child under 18 
• age 65 and older or 
• have a disability.  

 
 If you lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply for other AHCCCS 
programs.  If you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS office or call DES at 602-542-9935 or 1-
800-352-8401. 

 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS and you are employed and your employer offers health insurance, under new 
federal law you may be able to enroll in your employer’s insurance plan within 60 days of losing coverage under 
AHCCCS.  You should contact your employer immediately if you lose your AHCCCS Care benefits.   
 

SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THIS NOTICE 
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Note: This notice was already sent and reflects the original proposed enrollment freeze effective date of July 1, 
2011.  This notice will be sent every month to children whose redetermination date and birth date fall in the same 
month. 
 
 
 
Here are some other health care programs that may also be able to help you afford health 
care services if your AHCCCS Care benefits end:  

 

Community Health Centers 
Phone: 602-253-0090   
On the Web: www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php 

Health Care Connect 
Maricopa County 
Phone: 602-288-7564 
On the Web: www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php 

Pima Community Access Program (PCAP) 
Pima and Santa Cruz County 
Phone: 520-694-0418 
On the Web: www.pcap.cc 

Community Access Programs of Arizona and Mexico (CAPAZ-MEX) 
Yuma County 
Phone: 928-627-9222 
On the Web: www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX 

Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan 
Phone:  1-866-717-5826 
On the Web:  http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html 
 

If you need free legal advice, call the following numbers: Phoenix at 602-258-3434 (800-852-
9075); Tucson at 520-623-9461 (800-248-6789); and Flagstaff at 928-774-0653 (800-789-5781).   
For persons in other parts of the state, call 1-866-637-5341 to find the nearest legal services 
office in your area. 

Additional sources of free legal service can be found at these web sites: 

http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html 

http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html  

 
If you have specific questions, please contact your Eligibility Specialist in your local DES or AHCCCS 
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office.  
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Attachment #12  Notice #10 
 
 
 

 

 

 
 
 

XV. IMPORTANT NOTICE ABOUT YOUR AHCCCS ELIGIBILITY 
 
You were getting AHCCCS Health Insurance through an AHCCCS program with an age limit of 19 or 21.  When 
you reached that program’s age limit, you were made eligible for the AHCCCS Care program. 
 
Due to the current budget crisis in Arizona, the State has “frozen” new enrollment in the AHCCCS Care program
beginning July 8, 2011.  This means no new applications for the AHCCCS Care program will be accepted after July
8, 2011.   

 
 

 
People who are already on the AHCCCS Care program will still receive medical services from AHCCCS, but only 
as long as they stay eligible for the program. 
 
If you lose coverage for the AHCCCS Care program because you no longer meet eligibility requirements, you will 
not be able to get back on the AHCCCS Care Program. 
 
To keep your AHCCCS Care benefits, you must: 

• Continue to meet the eligibility requirements of the AHCCCS Care program; 
• Cooperate with all requests you receive from the Department of Economic Security (DES)or AHCCCS 

staff; and 
• Complete your renewal when notified. 

 
If you do not qualify for AHCCCS Care, you still may be eligible for coverage under another AHCCCS program if 
you are: 

• Pregnant; 
• The parent of a deprived child under 18; or 
• Have a disability.  

 
If you lose coverage for AHCCCS Care, DES and AHCCCS will let you know how to apply for other AHCCCS 
programs.  If you have specific questions, please contact your AHCCCS office or call DES at 602-542-9935 or 1-
800-352-8401. 
 
If you do lose coverage for AHCCCS and you are employed, and your employer offers health insurance, under new 
federal law you may be able to enroll in your employer’s insurance plan within 60 days of losing coverage under 
AHCCCS.  You should contact your employer immediately if you lose your AHCCCS Care benefits.   
 

 

 

 

ARIZONA HEALTH CARE COST 
CONTAINMENT SYSTEM (AHCCCS) 

AHCCCS is 

Arizona’s 

Medical 

Assistance 
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SEE IMPORTANT INFORMATION ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THIS NOTICE 

 
Here are some other health care programs that may also be able to help you afford health 
care services if your AHCCCS Care benefits end:  

 

Community Health Centers 
Phone: 602-253-0090   
On the Web: www.aachc.org/associatemembersl.php 

Health Care Connect 
Maricopa County 
Phone: 602-288-7564 
On the Web: www.healthcareconnect.org/contactus.php 

Pima Community Access Program (PCAP) 
Pima and Santa Cruz County 
Phone: 520-694-0418 
On the Web: www.pcap.cc 

Community Access Programs of Arizona and Mexico (CAPAZ-MEX) 
Yuma County 
Phone: 928-627-9222 
On the Web: www.rcfbh.org/programCAPAZMEX 

Pre-existing Condition Insurance Plan 
Phone:  1-866-717-5826 
On the Web:  http://www.healthcare.gov/law/provisions/preexisting/states/az.html 
 

 
If you need free legal advice, call the following numbers: Phoenix at 602-258-3434 (800-852-
9075); Tucson at 520-623-9461 (800-248-6789); and Flagstaff at 928-774-0653 (800-789-5781).   
For persons in other parts of the state, call 1-866-637-5341 to find the nearest legal services 
office in your area. 

Additional sources of free legal service can be found at these web sites: 

http://apps.americanbar.org/legalservices/probono/directory/arizona.html 

http://www.acdl.com/gettinghelp.html  

If you have specific questions, please contact your Eligibility Specialist in your local DES or AHCCCS 
office.  
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Attachment B - Quarterly Report Guidelines 

 
As written in STC paragraph 34, the State is required to submit quarterly progress reports to 
CMS.  The purpose of the quarterly report is to inform CMS of significant demonstration activity 
from the time of approval through completion of the Demonstration.  The reports are due to 
CMS 30 days after the end of each quarter. 
 
The following report guidelines are intended as a framework and can be modified when agreed 
upon by CMS and the State.  A complete quarterly progress report must include the budget 
neutrality monitoring workbook.  An electronic copy of the report narrative and the Microsoft 
Excel budget neutrality monitoring workbook is provided.   

 
NARRATIVE REPORT FORMAT: 
 
TITLE 
 Title Line One – Arizona Health Care Cost Containment System -- AHCCCS, A 

Statewide Approach of Cost Effective Health Care Financing 
 

 
Title Line Two - Section 1115 Quarterly Report 

Demonstration/Quarter Reporting Period:  
Example:   
Demonstration Year:  5 (5/01/04 - 4/30/05) 
Federal Fiscal Quarter:  4/2004 (7/04 - 9/04)  

 
INTRODUCTION:   
Information describing the goal of the Demonstration, what it does, and key dates of approval 
/operation.  (This should be the same for each report.)  
 
ENROLLMENT INFORMATION: 
 
Please complete the following table that outlines all enrollment activity under the Demonstration.  
The State should indicate “N/A” where appropriate.  If there was no activity under a particular 
enrollment category, the State should indicate that by “0”.    
 
Note: Enrollment counts should be person counts, not participant months. 
 

Population Groups 
(as hard coded in the CMS 64) 

Current 
Enrollees 
(to date) 

No.  Voluntary 
Disenrolled in 
current Quarter 

No. Involuntary 
Disenrolled in 
current Quarter 

Population 1 – AFDC / SOBRA    

Population 2 -  SSI    
Population 3 – ALTCS DD    
Etcetera    
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Voluntary Disenrollments:  
Cumulative Number of Voluntary Disenrollments Within Current Demonstration Year: 
Reasons for Voluntary Disenrollments: 
 
Involuntary Disenrollments: 
Cumulative Number of Involuntary Disenrollments Within Current Demonstration Year: 
Reasons for Involuntary Disenrollments: 
 
Outreach/Innovative Activities: 
 
Summarize outreach activities and/or promising practices for the current quarter. 
 
Operational/Policy Developments/Issues: 
 
Identify all significant program developments/issues/problems that have occurred in the current 
quarter.   
 
Financial/Budget Neutrality Developments/Issues: 
 
Identify all significant developments/issues/problems with financial accounting, budget 
neutrality, and CMS 64 reporting for the current quarter.  Identify the State’s actions to address 
these issues.   
 
Consumer Issues: 
 
A summary of the types of complaints or problems consumers identified about the program in 
the current quarter.  Include any trends discovered, the resolution of complaints, and any actions 
taken, or to be taken, to prevent other occurrences.   
 
Quality Assurance/Monitoring Activity: 
 
Identify any quality assurance/monitoring activity in current quarter. 
  
 
ESI Issues: 
Identify all significant program developments/issues/problems that have occurred in the current 
quarter. 
 
Family Planning Extension Program: 
Identify all significant program developments/issues/problems that have occurred in the current 
quarter, including the required data and information included in STC 34(d) and (e), including 
enrollment data requested that is not represented in the formatted tables. 
 
Enclosures/Attachments: 
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Identify by title any attachments along with a brief description of what information the document 
contains. 
 
State Contact(s): 
 
Identify individuals by name, title, phone, fax, and address that CMS may contact should any 
questions arise. 
 
The State may also add additional program headings as applicable. 
 
Date Submitted to CMS:  
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Attachment C – Evaluation Guidelines 

 
Section 1115 demonstrations are valued for information on health services, health services 
delivery, health care delivery for uninsured populations, and other innovations that would not 
otherwise be part of Medicaid programs.  CMS encourages States with demonstration programs 
to conduct or arrange for evaluations of the design, implementation, and/or outcomes of their 
demonstrations.  The CMS also conducts evaluation activities.   
 
The CMS believes that all parties to demonstrations; States, Federal Government, and 
individuals benefit from State conducted self-evaluations that include process and case-study 
evaluations—these would include, but are not limited to:  1) studies that document the design, 
development, implementation, and operational features of the demonstration, and 2) studies that 
document participant and applicant experiences that are gathered through surveys, quality 
assurance activities, grievances and appeals, and in-depth investigations of  groups of 
participants and applicants and/or providers (focus groups, interviews, other).  These are 
generally studies of short-term experiences and they provide value for quality assurance and 
quality improvements programs (QA/QI) that are part of quality assurance activities and/or 
demonstration refinements and enhancements.   
 
Benefit also derives from studies of intermediate and longer-term investigations of the impact of 
the demonstration on health outcomes, self-assessments of health status, and/or quality of life.  
Studies such as these contribute to State and Federal formation and refinements of policies, 
statutes, and regulations.   
 
States are encouraged to conduct short-term studies that are useful for QA/QI that contribute to 
operating quality demonstration programs.  Should States have resources available after 
conducting these studies, they are encouraged to conduct outcome studies. 
 
The following are criteria and content areas to be considered for inclusion in Evaluation Design 
Reports. 
 

• Evaluation Plan Development - Describe how plan was or will be developed and 
maintained: 

o Use of experts through technical contracts or advisory bodies;  
o Use of techniques for determining interest and concerns of stakeholders (funding 

entities, administrators, providers, clients);  
o Selection of existing indicators or development of innovative indicators;  
o Types of studies to be included, such as Process Evaluations, Case-Studies and 

Outcome investigations; 
o Types of data collection and tools that will be used – for instance, participant and 

provider surveys and focus groups; collection of health service utilization; 
employment data; or, participant purchases of other sources of health care 
coverage; and, whether the data collection instruments will be existing or newly 
developed tools;  

o Incorporation of results through QA/QI activities into improving health service 
delivery; and  
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o Plans for implementation and consideration of ongoing refinement to the 

evaluation plan. 
 

• Study Questions – Discuss: 
o Hypothesis or research questions to be investigated; 
o Goals, such as: 

 Increase Access 
 Cost Effectiveness 
 Improve Care Coordination 
 Increase Family Satisfaction and Stability 

o Outcome Measures, Indicators, and Data Sources 
 

• Control Group and/or Sample Selection Discussion:  
o The type of research design(s) to be included -  

 Pre/Post Methodology 
 Quasi-Experimental 
 Experimental 

o Plans for Base-line Measures and Documentation – time period, outcome 
measures, indicators, and data sources that were used or will be used 

 
• Data Collection Methods – Discuss the use of data sources such as: 

o Enrollment and outreach records; 
o Medicaid claims data; 
o Vital statistics data; 
o Provide record reviews; 
o School record reviews; and 
o Existing or custom surveys 
 

• Relationship of Evaluation to Quality Assessment and Quality Improvement Activities– 
Discuss: 

o How evaluation activities and findings are shared with program designers, 
administrators, providers, outreach workers, etc., in order to refine or redesign 
operations; 

o How findings will be incorporated into outreach, enrollment and education 
activities; 

o How findings will be incorporated into provider relations such as provider 
standards, retention, recruitment, and education; and 

o How findings will be incorporated into grievance and appeal proceedings. 
 

• Discuss additional points as merited by interest of the State and/or relevance to nuances 
of the demonstration intervention. 
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ATTACHMENT D 

AHCCCS DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PROGRAM 
DSH 102 

 
Congress established the Medicaid Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) program in 1981 to 
provide financial support to hospitals that serve a significant number of low-income patients with 
special needs.   
 
This document sets forth the criteria by which Arizona defines DSH hospitals and the 
methodology through which DSH payments are calculated and distributed.  The document is 
divided into the following major topics:  
 

• Hospital eligibility requirements  
• Data on a State Plan Year Basis 
• Timing of eligibility determination  
• Medicaid Inpatient Utilization Rate (MIUR) calculation (Overall and Group 1 eligibility) 
• Low Income Utilization Rate (LIUR) calculation (Group 2 eligibility) 
• Governmentally-operated hospitals (Group 4 eligibility) 
• Obstetrician Requirements 
• Payment  
• Aggregate Limits 
• Reconciliations 
• Certified Public Expenditures (CPEs) 
• Grievances and appeals 
• Other provisions 

 
 
Eligibility Requirements 
 
In order to be considered a DSH hospital in Arizona, a hospital must be located in the state of 
Arizona, must submit the information required by AHCCCS by the specified due date, must 
satisfy one (1) of the conditions in Column A, AND must satisfy one (1) of the conditions in 
Column B, AND must satisfy the condition in Column C. 
 

COLUMN A COLUMN B COLUMN C 
1. The hospital has a 

Medicaid Inpatient 
Utilization Rate (MIUR) 
which is at least one 
standard deviation 
above the mean MIUR 
for all hospitals 
receiving a Medicaid 
payment in the state 
(“Group 1”) 

1. The hospital has at least 
two (2) obstetricians 
who have staff 
privileges at the hospital 
and who have agreed to 
provide obstetric 
services to Medicaid 
patients 

2. The hospital is outside a 
Metropolitan Statistical 

The hospital has an MIUR 
of at least 1 percent 
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1.A. The hospital meets all 

of the requirements of 1 
above (Group 1) and is 
a privately owned or 
privately operated 
hospital licensed by the 
State of Arizona 
(“Group 1A”) 

2. The hospital has a Low 
Income Utilization Rate 
(LIUR) that exceeds 
25% (“Group 2”) 

2.A. The hospital meets all 
of the requirements of 2 
above (Group 2) and is 
a privately owned or 
privately operated 
hospital licensed by the 
State of Arizona 
(“Group 2A”) 

3. The hospital is a 
governmentally-
operated hospital 
(“Group 4”) 

Area and has at least 
two (2) physicians with 
staff privileges to 
perform non-emergency 
obstetric procedures 

3. The patients of the 
hospital are 
predominantly under 18 
years of age  

4. The hospital was in 
existence on December 
22, 1987 but did not 
offer non-emergency 
obstetric services as of 
that date 

 
Notice that within Column A, there are six group numbers assigned.  Group 1 and Group 2 
contain those hospitals that are “deemed” to be DSH hospitals under federal Medicaid law.  
Group 1A, Group 2A, and Group 4 contain additional hospitals that the state has designated to be 
DSH hospitals within its federal authority to do so.  The criteria listed in Columns B and C are 
federal eligibility requirements which apply regardless of whether or not the hospital is deemed 
or designated as a DSH hospital.   
 

• In Group 4, the term “governmentally-operated hospital” refers to a hospital provider 
which under federal law is able to participate in the financing of the non-federal portion 
of medical assistance expenditures.  A governmentally-operated hospital is differentiated 
herein from “non-governmental”, “non-public”, “private”, “privately operated” or 
“privately owned” hospitals as well as IHS or tribal or 638 hospitals and facilities as well 
as other federally owned or operated facilities.   

 
 
Medicare Certification 
 
In addition to the eligibility requirements outlined above, in order to receive payment under 
Medicaid, hospitals must meet the requirements for participation as a hospital in Medicare 
(except in the case of medical supervision of nurse-midwife services).  Therefore, for purposes of 
DSH, the facility must be Medicare-certified during the state plan rate year for which the initial 
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DSH payment is made. 
 
If a facility is Medicare-certified for the full state plan rate year for which the initial DSH 
payment is made, but subsequently loses that certification, the facility remains eligible to receive 
the payment (together with any payment adjustments).  If a hospital is only Medicare-certified 
for part of the state plan rate year for which the initial DSH payment is made, the eligibility and 
the payment will be calculated based on the period for which the hospital was Medicare-
certified.  
 
 
Data on a State Plan Year Basis 
 
DSH payments are made based on the State Plan Rate Year.  The State Plan Rate Year (or State 
Plan Year or SPY) is equivalent to the Federal Fiscal Year and runs from October 1 to 
September 30 of each year.  The calculations to determine eligibility for, and the amount of, 
DSH payments, will be made on the basis of the State Plan Year.  This requirement will impact 
the information collected and submitted by all hospitals that do not have a fiscal year and/or 
CMS 2552 Report year that runs from 10/1 to 9/30.   
 
In order to make the necessary calculations to determine eligibility and payments on a State Plan 
Year basis, hospitals that do not have a fiscal/CMS Report year that runs from 10/1 to 9/30 will 
have to submit cost reports and other data elements for each of the fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the State Plan Year.  For example, for SPY 2008 (10/1/07 to 9/30/08), for a hospital 
that has a CMS 2552 Report year that runs from 7/1 to 6/30, the hospital will have to submit the 
CMS 2552 Report and other data elements for the fiscal/CMS Report year that ends on 6/30/08 
and the same information for the fiscal/CMS Report year that ends 6/30/09.2 
 
As discussed later in this Attachment, AHCCCS will extract all Title XIX (Medicaid) claims and 
encounters from the PMMIS system on the basis of each hospital’s CMS 2552 Report year and 
these data will serve as the basis for all Medicaid days, charges and payments.  Similarly, 
AHCCCS will collect and distribute to hospitals all Medicaid supplemental payments (e.g. GME, 
Critical Access Hospitals (CAH), Rural Inpatient Payments) and Non-Title XIX payments (for 
Children Rehabilitative Services, the Comprehensive Medical and Dental Program, Behavioral 
Health Services and Payments for Trauma and Emergency Departments) on the basis of each 
hospital’s CMS 2552 Report year. 

All data compiled by the hospitals (e.g. total, uninsured and charity days; charges and payments; 
and state and local subsidy payment information not provided by AHCCCS) will be compiled on 
a CMS 2552 Report year basis.      
 

2 Note however that the use of the 2008 and 2009 reports and information referred to in this paragraph is for the 
determination of final DSH payments.  For the initial 2008 DSH payments, reports and information for 2006 and 
2007 will be submitted.  For a discussion of initial payments, final payments and data sources, see the discussions 
that follow. 
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Except in the case where a hospital’s fiscal year is identical to the State Plan Year – the 
calculations to determine eligibility for, and the amount of, DSH payments, will be performed 
separately for each hospital’s fiscal year and these results will be prorated based on the 
distribution of months from each of the two years that encompass the SPY.  For example, for 
SPY 2008 (10/1/07 to 9/30/08), for a hospital that has a CMS 2552 Report year that runs from 
7/1 to 6/30, the proration of the results of the calculations will be derived by summing: 
 

1. 9/12th of the result of the calculations performed for the fiscal/CMS Report year ending 
6/30/08, and 

2. 3/12th of the result of the calculations performed for the fiscal/CMS Report year ending 
6/30/09. 

 
 
 
Timing of Eligibility Determination 
 
The eligibility determination calculations will be performed annually for all hospitals located in 
the State of Arizona that are registered as providers with AHCCCS.  Eligibility calculations will 
be performed only with and for hospitals that have submitted the information required by this 
document and/or as otherwise requested by AHCCCS.  In order to be considered “submitted”, 
the information must be received by AHCCCS by the due date specified in a request for 
information communicated to the Chief Financial Officer of the hospital.  The calculations will 
be performed with the information submitted by, or available to AHCCCS on the due date 
specified as the deadline for the submission of information. 
 
The eligibility determination will be made in at least two steps: 
 

1. The first step of the eligibility process will occur in the state plan rate year of the initial 
DSH payment.  To determine initial eligibility, AHCCCS will: 

a. Extract from the PMMIS system all inpatient and outpatient hospital claims and 
encounters by date of service for each registered hospital for that hospital’s fiscal 
years that encompass the state plan rate year two years prior to the state plan year 
of the initial DSH payment.  

b. Based on the extracted claims and encounters data and data provided by the 
hospitals, determine for each hospital whether or not that hospital has a Medicaid 
Inpatient Utilization Rate (MIUR) of at least 1%.  For hospitals that qualify under 
this criteria, determine if the hospital: 

i. Meets the criteria for Group 1 
ii. Meets the criteria for Group 1A 

iii. Meets the criteria for Group 2 
iv. Meets the criteria for Group 2A 
v. Meets the criteria for Group 4 

c. Based on certifications filed by each hospital, determine if the hospital satisfies 
the criteria in Column B above. 
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2. The second step of the eligibility process will occur in the state plan rate year two years 

after the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  To determine final eligibility, 
AHCCCS will: 

a. Extract from the PMMIS system all inpatient and outpatient hospital claims and 
encounters by date of service for each registered hospital for that hospital’s fiscal 
years that encompass the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment. 

b. Based on the extracted claims and encounters data and data provided by the 
hospitals determine for each hospital whether or not that hospital has a MIUR of 
at least 1%.  For hospitals that qualify under this criteria, determine if the hospital: 

i. Meets the criteria for Group 1 
ii. Meets the criteria for Group 1A 

iii. Meets the criteria for Group 2 
iv. Meets the criteria for Group 2A 
v. Meets the criteria for Group 4 

c. Based on certifications filed by each hospital, determine if the hospital satisfies 
the criteria in Column B above. 

 
3. AHCCCS may redetermine any hospital’s eligibility for any DSH payment should the 

agency become aware of any information that may prove that the hospital was not 
eligible for a DSH payment. 

 
 

MIUR Calculation (Overall Eligibility Criteria and Group 1 and Group 1A Eligibility) 
 
A hospital’s Medicaid Inpatient Utilization Rate (MIUR) will determine the hospital’s overall 
eligibility for DSH (Column C above) as well as the hospital’s eligibility for Group 1 and Group 
1A.  A hospital’s MIUR is calculated using the following equation: 
 

Total Medicaid Inpatient DaysMIUR =
Total Number of Inpatient Days

 

 
The calculation will be performed based on the state plan rate year.  In order to find each 
hospital’s MIUR for the state plan year, AHCCCS will calculate a MIUR separately for each 
hospital fiscal/CMS Report year that encompasses the relevant State Plan Year and then prorate 
the results from the two hospital fiscal/CMS Report years as described in the discussion above 
entitled “Data on a State Plan Year Basis”.   
 
If a hospital has a MIUR of at least 1%, and the obstetrical criteria of Column B above are 
satisfied, it will meet the overall eligibility criteria.  If a hospital has a MIUR which is at least 
one standard deviation above the mean MIUR for all Arizona hospitals receiving a Medicaid 
payment in that State Plan Year, it will meet the eligibility for Group 1.  If a hospital meets the 
eligibility criteria for Group 1 and is a privately owned or privately operated hospital licensed by 
the State of Arizona, it will meet the eligibility for Group 1A.  NOTE that meeting overall 
eligibility criteria does not ensure that a hospital will meet the eligibility criteria for any Group. 
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In performing the calculations: 
 

1. “Inpatient Days” includes:  
a. Fee-for-service and managed care days, and  
b. Each day in which an individual (including a newborn) is an inpatient in the 

hospital, whether or not the individual is in a specialized ward, and whether or not 
the individual remains in the hospital for lack of suitable placement elsewhere.   

 
2. “Medicaid Inpatient Days” includes: 

a. All adjudicated inpatient days for categorically eligible Title XIX clients 
including days paid by Medicare except as noted below 

b. All adjudicated inpatient days for Demonstration eligible Title XIX clients – that 
is clients that are eligible for Title XIX including days paid by Medicare and days 
funded by Title XXI except as noted below 

 
3. “Medicaid Inpatient Days” does not include: 

a. Inpatient days in which a categorically or Demonstration eligible Title XIX client 
was in an Institution for Mental Disease (IMD) and the client was between 21 and 
65 years of age 

 
Data Sources for MIUR Calculations 
 

1. For “Medicaid Inpatient Days” the PMMIS claims and encounters 
a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s MIUR, extracted based on date of 

service for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan 
rate year that ends two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH 
payment. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s MIUR, extracted based on date of 
service for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan 
rate year of the initial DSH payment. 

 
2. For “Total Number of Inpatient Days” the CMS 2552-96 

a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s MIUR, the cost report (or reports) for 
the hospital that encompass the state plan rate year two years prior to the state 
plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The specific figure to be used is found 
on Worksheet S-3, Lines 1 and 6 through 11, Column 6 plus Line 14, Column 6 
for hospital subprovider days.  The CMS 2552-96 form(s) to be used is the 
“finalized” or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-96 that has been settled by the 
hospital’s Medicare fiscal intermediary with the issuance of a Notice of Program 
Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the CMS 2552-96 is not available, 
the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s MIUR, the cost report(s) for the 
hospital that encompass the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The 
specific figure to be used is found on Worksheet S-3, Lines 1 and 6 through 11, 
Column 6 plus Line 14, Column 6 for hospital subprovider days.  The CMS 2552-
96 form(s) to be used is the “finalized” or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-
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96 that has been settled by the hospital’s Medicare fiscal intermediary with the 
issuance of a Notice of Program Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the 
CMS 2552-96 is not available, the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

 
Calculation of the mean MIUR and the Standard Deviation 
 
In calculating the mean MIUR, the MIUR calculated for the state plan year for all Arizona 
hospitals that have received a Medicaid payment will be used.  The mean MIUR – the average of 
the individual MIURs – will be calculated based on all the individual state plan year MIURs 
greater than zero (i.e. including the MIURs that are less than 1%).  The standard deviation will 
be calculated based on the same list of individual hospital MIURs. 
 
 
LIUR Calculation (Group 2 Eligibility) 
 
A hospital’s Low Income Utilization Rate (LIUR) will determine the hospital’s eligibility for 
Group 2.  A hospital’s LIUR is calculated by summing the following two equations: 
 
 

Total Medicaid Patient ServicesCharges +Total Stateand Local Cash Subsidies for Patient ServicesLIUR =
TotalCharges for Patient Services

          + 
Total Inpatient Ch arg es Attributable toCharity Care −Cash Subsidies Portion Attributable to Inpatient

Total Inpatient Ch arg es
  
The calculation will be performed based on the state plan rate year.  In order to find each 
hospital’s LIUR for the state plan year, AHCCCS will calculate a LIUR separately for each 
hospital fiscal/CMS Report year that encompasses the relevant State Plan Year and then prorate 
the results from the two hospital fiscal/CMS Report years as described in the discussion above 
entitled “Data on a State Plan Year Basis”.   
 
If a hospital has a LIUR that exceeds 25% it will meet the eligibility for Group 2.  If a hospital 
meets the eligibility criteria for Group 2 and is a privately owned or privately operated hospital 
licensed by the State of Arizona, it will meet the eligibility for Group 2A.   
 
In performing the calculations: 
 

1. “Total Medicaid Patient Services Charges” includes Title XIX charges for inpatient and 
outpatient services (both fee-for-service and managed care)  

 
2. “Total Medicaid Patient Services Charges” does not include DSH payments or payments 

made for GME, Critical Access Hospitals, Rural Inpatient Payments or any other TXIX 
supplemental payments authorized by the Legislature as these amounts are effectively 
included in charges 
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3. “Total State and Local Cash Subsidies for Patient Services” includes payments made with 

state-only or local-only funds and includes, but is not limited to  
a. Payments made for: 

i. Non-Title XIX and Non-Title XXI enrollees in the DES Comprehensive 
Medical and Dental Program 

ii. Non-Title XIX and Non-Title XXI enrollees in the DHS Children’s 
Rehabilitative Services program 

iii. Non-Title XIX and Non-Title XXI enrollees in the DHS Behavioral 
Health Services Program (note that these payments are typically made 
through Regional Behavioral Health Authorities) 

iv. The support of trauma centers and emergency departments 
b. Payments made by: 

i. An appropriation of state-only funds 
ii. The Arizona State Hospital  

iii. Local governments including (but not limited to): 
(1) Tax levies dedicated to support a governmentally-operated hospital 
(2) Tax levies from a hospital district organized pursuant to A.R.S.     

§ 48-1901 et seq. 
(3) Subsidies for the general support of a hospital 

 
4. “Total State and Local Cash Subsidies for Patient Services” does not include payments 

for or by: 
a. Inpatient or outpatient services for employees of state or local governments 
b. Governmentally-operated AHCCCS health plans or program contractors 
c. Tax reductions or abatements 

 
5. “Total Charges for Patient Services” includes total gross patient revenue for hospital 

services (including hospital subprovider charges).   
 

6. “Total Inpatient Charges Attributable to Charity Care” includes the amount of inpatient 
services – stated as charges – that is provided free to individuals who cannot afford health 
care due to inadequate resources as determined by the hospital’s charity care policy and 
do not otherwise qualify for government subsidized insurance.  In order to qualify as 
charity care, payment may neither be received nor expected.    

 
7. “Total Inpatient Charges Attributable to Charity Care” does not include bad debt expense 

or contract allowances and discounts offered to third party payors or self pay patients that 
do not qualify for charity care pursuant to the hospital’s charity care policy. 

 
8. “Cash Subsidies Portion Attributable to Inpatient” means that portion of “Total State and 

Local Cash Subsidies for Patient Services” that is attributable to inpatient services. 
 

9. “Total Inpatient Charges” includes total inpatient and hospital subprovider charges 
without any deductions for contract allowances or discounts offered to third party payors 
or self pay patients. 
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Data Sources for LIUR Calculations 
 

1. For “Total Medicaid Patient Services Charges”: 
a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 

i. The PMMIS claims and encounters extracted based on date of service for 
each registered hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan rate year two years prior to the year of the initial 
DSH payment. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. The PMMIS claims and encounters extracted based on date of service for 

each registered hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment. 

 
2. For the portion of “Total State and Local Cash Subsidies for Patient Services” and “Cash 

Subsidies Portion Attributable to Inpatient” attributed to Non-Title XIX and Non-Title 
XXI payments for the CMDP, CRS or Behavioral Health programs and for the payments 
in support of trauma centers and emergency departments: 

a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. AHCCCS will provide to hospitals the amounts of such payments made 

during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state 
plan rate year two years prior to the year of the initial DSH payment based 
on data from its financial records or from the financial records of the state 
agencies making the payments. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. AHCCCS will provide to hospitals the amounts of such payments made 

during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state 
plan rate year of the initial DSH payment based on data from its financial 
records or from the financial records of the state agencies making the 
payments.   

c. In the case of CRS payments, if AHCCCS does not provide a breakdown of 
inpatient and outpatient payments, the hospital shall allocate the CRS payments 
between outpatient and inpatient based on the percentage of total inpatient 
charges to total charges for patient services 

 
3. For all other “Total State and Local Cash Subsidies for Patient Services” and  “Cash 

Subsidies Portion Attributable to Inpatient”: 
a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 

i. The hospital financial records for the payments received during the 
hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan rate year 
two years prior to the year of the initial DSH payment. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. The hospital financial records for the payments received during the 

hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan rate year 
of the initial DSH payment. 
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c. In the case of “Cash Subsidies Portion Attributable to Inpatient”, if the hospital 

receives subsidies for the general operation of the hospital, allocation between 
outpatient and inpatient should be based on the percentage of total inpatient 
charges to total charges from patient services.   

 
4. For “Total Inpatient Charges Attributable to Charity Care”: 

a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. The hospital claims and financial records for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS 

Report years that encompass the state plan rate year two years prior to the 
year of the initial DSH payment. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR: 
i. The hospital claims and financial records for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS 

Report years that encompass the state plan rate year of the initial DSH 
payment. 

 
5. For “Total Inpatient Charges”: 

a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR, the cost report (or reports) for 
the hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state 
plan rate year two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH 
payment.  The specific figure to be used is found on Worksheet C Part 1, Column 
6 Line 101 less Lines 34 to 36, less Lines 63.5 to 63.99, and less Lines 64 to 68.  
If charges for Rural Health Clinics or Federally Qualified Health Clinics appear 
anywhere other than on Lines 63.5 to 63.99, these charge amounts should also be 
deducted from Line 101.  The CMS 2552-96 form(s) to be used is the “finalized” 
or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-96 that has been settled by the hospital’s 
Medicare fiscal intermediary with the issuance of a Notice of Program 
Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the CMS 2552-96 is not available, 
the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR, the cost report(s) for the 
hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan 
rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The specific figure to be used is found on 
Worksheet C Part 1, Column 6 Line 101 less Lines 34 to 36, less Lines 63.5 to 
63.99, and less Lines 64 to 68.  If charges for Rural Health Clinics or Federally 
Qualified Health Clinics appear anywhere other than on Lines 63.5 to 63.99, these 
charge amounts should also be deducted from Line 101.  The CMS 2552-96 
form(s) to be used is the “finalized” or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-96 
that has been settled by the hospital’s Medicare fiscal intermediary with the 
issuance of a Notice of Program Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the 
CMS 2552-96 is not available, the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

 
6. For “Total Charges for Patient Services”: 

a. For the initial determination of a hospital’s LIUR, the cost report (or reports) for 
the hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state 
plan rate year two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH 
payment.  The specific figure to be used is found on Worksheet C Part 1, Column 
8 Line 101 less Lines 34 to 36, less Lines 63.5 to 63.99, and less Lines 64 to 68.  
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If charges for Rural Health Clinics or Federally Qualified Health Clinics appear 
anywhere other than on Lines 63.5 to 63.99, these charge amounts should also be 
deducted from Line 101.  The CMS 2552-96 form(s) to be used is the “finalized” 
or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-96 that has been settled by the hospital’s 
Medicare fiscal intermediary with the issuance of a Notice of Program 
Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the CMS 2552-96 is not available, 
the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

b. For the second determination of a hospital’s LIUR, the cost report(s) for the 
hospital for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan 
rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The specific figure to be used is found on 
Worksheet C Part 1, Column 8 Line 101 less Lines 34 to 36, less Lines 63.5 to 
63.99, and less Lines 64 to 68.  If charges for Rural Health Clinics or Federally 
Qualified Health Clinics appear anywhere other than on Lines 63.5 to 63.99, these 
charge amounts should also be deducted from Line 101.  The CMS 2552-96 
form(s) to be used is the “finalized” or “settled” version (i.e., the CMS 2552-96 
that has been settled by the hospital’s Medicare fiscal intermediary with the 
issuance of a Notice of Program Reimbursement).  If the finalized version of the 
CMS 2552-96 is not available, the filed (or latest filed) report shall be used. 

 
 
 
Group 4 Eligibility Determination – Governmentally-operated Hospitals 
 
Because the state has designated all governmentally-operated hospitals (represented in Group 4) 
as DSH hospitals, no eligibility calculations are required.   
 
 
Obstetrician Requirements 
 
In order to ensure that hospitals receiving DSH payments meet requirements related to 
obstetricians, all hospitals that are determined to have a MIUR of at least 1% must file a 
completed certification statement indicating their compliance with the requirements.  Any 
hospital that fails to return the certification statement by the date specified by AHCCCS will not 
be eligible to receive DSH payments for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment. 
 
For the determination of a hospital’s compliance with the obstetrician requirement, the 
certification will be based on the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment from the start of 
the state plan rate year to the date of certification. 
 
The certification statement shall incorporate the following language: 
 

I certify that the hospital indicated below currently has and has had since the beginning of 
the current state plan year at least two (2) obstetricians with staff privileges who have 
agreed to provide obstetric services to individuals eligible for Medicaid, OR 
 
I certify that the hospital indicated below is located in a rural area and currently has and 
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has had since the beginning of the current state plan year at least two (2) qualified 
physicians with staff privileges who have agreed to provide non-emergency obstetric 
services to individuals eligible for Medicaid, OR 
 
I certify that the hospital indicated below did not offer non-emergency obstetric services 
to the general population as of December 22, 1987, or that the inpatients of the hospital 
are predominantly individuals under 18 years of age. 
 

 
Payment   
 
Pools and Changing Payment Levels 
 
The DSH program in Arizona is funded through a six pool system. Each of the pools correlates 
to one of the hospital eligibility Groups.  Therefore, there are five non-governmental hospital 
pools and one governmental hospital pool.  The non-governmental hospital pool amounts are set 
by AHCCCS as authorized by the Arizona Legislature; the governmental pool amount is 
established by the Arizona Legislature.  The amounts of funding for the pools for the current 
state plan year are contained in Exhibit 3. 
 
If a non-governmental hospital qualifies for pool 1A it will be removed from pool 1.  Similarly, 
if a non-governmental hospital qualifies for pool 2A it will be removed from pool 2.  The non-
governmental hospitals in pool 1 and pool 2 will be considered as a group and if a non-
governmental hospital qualifies for more than one pool, the hospital will be categorized into the 
pool that maximizes its DSH payment.  The non-governmental hospitals in pool 1A and 2A will 
be considered as a group, and if a non-governmental hospital qualifies for more than one pool, 
the hospital will be categorized into the pool that maximizes its DSH payment.  The payment 
amount to each non-governmental hospital will be determined based on the maximization 
process performed during the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The maximization 
process will be performed separately for 1) the non-governmental hospitals that qualify for pools 
1 and 2, and; 2) the non-governmental hospitals that qualify for pools 1A and 2A.   
 
There are five instances where the initial DSH payment to one or more non-governmental 
hospitals may change: 
 

1. A hospital is found on the second eligibility determination (or any subsequent eligibility 
check) to not be eligible for a DSH payment in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH 
payment.  In this instance, the amount of payment to the hospital will be recouped and the 
recouped amount will be distributed proportionately based on the initial DSH payments 
to the eligible hospitals remaining in the pool in which the ineligible hospital was placed 
in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment, up to each hospital’s OBRA limit 
(see discussion below). 

 
2. A hospital is found to have exceeded its finalized OBRA limit (see discussions below).  

In this instance, the amount of payment to the hospital in excess of its finalized OBRA 
limit will be recouped, and the recouped amount will be distributed proportionately based 
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on the initial DSH payments to the eligible hospitals remaining in the pool in which the 
hospital was placed in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment, up to each 
hospital’s finalized OBRA limit. 

 
3. In the event of a recoupment of an initial DSH payment and as a result of the process of 

distributing the recoupment to the pool to which the recouped payment was originally 
made, the distribution would result in all the hospitals in the pool receiving a total DSH 
payment in excess of their finalized OBRA limit, the amount of recoupment will be 
proportionately allocated among the remaining non-governmental hospital pools based on 
the initial DSH payments and distributed proportionately based on the initial DSH 
payments to the hospitals in the remaining pools up to each hospital’s finalized OBRA 
limit. 

 
4. In the event that litigation (either by court order or settlement), or a CMS audit, financial 

review, or proposed disallowance requires AHCCCS to issue DSH payment amounts to 
one or more hospitals in a pool in excess of the initial DSH payment amount, AHCCCS 
will proportionately recoup funds based on the initial DSH payments from the remaining 
hospitals in the pool or pools effected to satisfy the requirement.  This process will be 
followed to ensure that the annual federal DSH allotment is not exceeded.   

 
5. In the event that a hospital qualifies for a DSH payment in the second (or any subsequent) 

eligibility determination that did not qualify in the initial eligibility determination, that 
hospital will receive the minimum payment under the DSH program which is $5,000. 

 
The payment amount to each governmentally-operated hospital will be determined during the 
state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  The payment amount will only change if the 
total DSH payment to a hospital in the pool would be in excess of its finalized OBRA limit (see 
discussion below).  To the extent that the excess amount recouped from a governmentally-
operated hospital can be distributed to other hospitals in the pool without exceeding the interim 
or finalized OBRA limits of the remaining governmentally-operated hospitals, the excess amount 
will be distributed to the other governmentally-operated hospitals. 
 
Determination of Payment Amounts 
 
The amount that each non-governmental hospital receives as an initial DSH payment from the 
pool for which it qualifies is determined by a weighting method that considers both the 
amounts/points over the Group threshold and the volume of services.  The volume of services is 
either measured by Title XIX days or net inpatient revenue, depending upon the group being 
considered.  
 
Hospitals that only qualify for Group 1 or Group 2  
 
There are ten steps to determining the DSH payment amount for non-governmental hospitals that 
only qualify for Group 1 or Group 2 (and not Group 1A or 2A).  After determining the initial 
DSH payment amount through the ten step process, there is a final adjustment that may be made 
depending on the result of the hospital’s OBRA limit. 
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1. Determine Points Exceeding Threshold.   
Each of the Groups 1 and 2 has thresholds established for qualification of the hospital.  
For Group 1 it is one standard deviation above the mean MIUR; for Group 2 it is greater 
than 25% LIUR.  Step 1 merely determines the difference between each hospital’s 
“score” for the Group measure and that Group’s threshold. 
 

2. Convert Points Exceeding Threshold into a Value.   
Each of the Groups 1 and 2 are measuring a value: for Group 1 the value is Medicaid 
days; for Group 2 it is revenue.  Step 2 multiplies the Points Exceeding Threshold by the 
value of the associated Group.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Determine Relative Weight of Each Hospital in Each Group.   
The relative weight of each hospital in each Group is determined by dividing each 
hospital’s value for a Group determined in Step 2 by the total of all hospital values for 
that Group.   

4. Initial Allocation of Dollars to Each Hospital in Each Group.   
The amount of funds available to each of the Groups 1 and 2 is determined by AHCCCS 
as authorized by the Legislature.  The funding amount for the current state plan year is 
contained in Exhibit 3.  The initial allocation to each hospital in each group is determined 
by multiplying each hospital’s relative weight in a Group (determined in Step 3) by the 
amount of funds available for that Group. 

5. Maximize Allocation of Dollars Between Group 1 and Group 2.   
This step selects the greater of the allocation to each hospital between Group 1 and Group 
2.   

6. Recalculating the Relative Weights of Each Hospital in Group 1 and Group 2.   
Since Step 5 eliminated hospitals from both Group 1 and Group 2, it is necessary to 
redetermine the weight for each remaining hospital.  This is accomplished by dividing the 
value of each hospital remaining in Group 1 and Group 2 after Step 5 by the total of the 
remaining hospitals. 

7. Second Allocation of Dollars Within Group 1 and Group 2.  
The second allocation to each hospital remaining in Group 1 and Group 2 is determined 
by multiplying each hospital’s recalculated relative weight pursuant to Step 6 by the 
amount of funds available for that Group. 

8. Identifying Minimum Payment.   
It is policy that the minimum payment made to any hospital qualifying for DSH is 
$5,000.  This step identifies any amount thus far determined for any hospital that is less 
than $5,000. 

9. Ensuring Minimum Payment.   
This step replaces any amount thus far determined for any hospital that is less than 
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$5,000 with a $5,000 amount. 

 
10. Determining Penultimate Payment Amount.   

With the replacement of values with the $5,000 minimum amounts, it is necessary to 
recalculate and redistribute the values within any Group where the minimum payment 
amount was imposed in order to ensure that the total funding for a Group is not exceeded.  
Step 10 accomplishes this. 

 
After determining the penultimate initial DSH payment amount for each non-governmental 
hospital that only qualifies for Group 1 or Group 2 (and not Group 1A or 2A) a check of the 
determined amount is made against the hospital’s initial OBRA limit.  The description of that 
limit follows in a subsequent section.  If the initial DSH payment amount exceeds the initial 
OBRA limit, the initial DSH amount is set to the OBRA limit and the excess amount is 
distributed to the remaining hospitals in the group, with a recheck of the initial DSH amounts 
against the OBRA limit.  This process is repeated until all amounts are distributed or all hospitals 
in the group are at their OBRA limit. 
 
Hospitals that qualify for Group 1A or Group 2A  
 
There are thirteen steps to determining the DSH payment amount for non-governmental hospitals 
that qualify for Group 1A or 2A .  After determining the initial DSH payment amount through 
the thirteen step process, there is a final adjustment that may be made depending on the result of 
the hospital’s OBRA limit. 
 

1. Determine Points Exceeding Threshold.   
Each of the Groups 1A or 2A  has thresholds established for qualification of the hospital.  
For Group 1A it is one standard deviation above the mean MIUR; for Group 2A it is 
greater than 25% LIUR. Step 1 merely determines the difference between each hospital’s 
“score” for the Group measure and that Group’s threshold. 
 

2. Convert Points Exceeding Threshold into a Value.   
Each of the Groups 1A and 2A are measuring a value: for Group 1A the value is 
Medicaid days; for Group 2A it is revenue.; Step 2 multiplies the Points Exceeding 
Threshold by the value of the associated Group.   

 

 

3. Determine Relative Weight of Each Hospital in Each Group.   
The relative weight of each hospital in each Group is determined by dividing each 
hospital’s value for a Group determined in Step 2 by the total of all hospital values for 
that Group.   

4. Initial Allocation of Dollars to Each Hospital in Each Group.   
The amount of funds available to each of the Groups 1A and 2A is determined by 
AHCCCS as authorized by the Legislature. The funding amount for the current state plan 
year is contained in Exhibit 3.   The initial allocation to each hospital in each group is 
determined by multiplying each hospital’s relative weight in a Group (determined in Step 
3) by the amount of funds available for that Group. 
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5. Maximize Allocation of Dollars Between Group 1A and Group 2A.   
This step selects the greater of the allocation to each hospital between Group 1A and 
Group 2A.   

6. Recalculating the Relative Weights of Each Hospital in Group 1A and Group 2A.   
Since Step 5 eliminated hospitals from both Group 1A and Group 2A, it is necessary to 
redetermine the weight for each remaining hospital.  This is accomplished by dividing the 
value of each hospital remaining in Group 1A and Group 2A after Step 5 by the total of 
the remaining hospitals. 

7. Second Allocation of Dollars Within Group 1A and Group 2A.  
The second allocation to each hospital remaining in Group 1A and Group 2A is 
determined by multiplying each hospital’s recalculated relative weight pursuant to Step 6 
by the amount of funds available for that Group. 

8. Identifying Minimum Payment.   
It is policy that the minimum payment made to any hospital qualifying for DSH is 
$5,000.  This step identifies any amount thus far determined for any hospital that is less 
than $5,000. 

9. Ensuring Minimum Payment.   
This step replaces any amount thus far determined for any hospital that is less than 
$5,000 with a $5,000 amount. 

10. Determining Penultimate Payment Amount.   
With the replacement of values with the $5,000 minimum amounts, it is necessary to 
recalculate and redistribute the values within any Group where the minimum payment 
amount was imposed in order to ensure that the total funding for a Group is not exceeded.   

After determining the penultimate initial DSH payment amount for each non-governmental 
hospital that qualifies for Group 1A or 2A a check of the determined amount is made against the 
hospital’s initial OBRA limit.  The description of that limit follows in the next section.  If the 
initial DSH payment amount exceeds the initial OBRA limit, the initial DSH amount is set to the 
OBRA limit and the excess amount is distributed to the remaining hospitals in the group, with a 
recheck of the initial DSH amounts against the OBRA limit.  This process is repeated until all 
amounts are distributed or all hospitals in the group are at their OBRA limit. 
 
 
Hospitals that qualify for Group 4 
 
To determine the initial DSH payment amount for each governmentally-operated hospital, the 
relative allocation percentage for each hospital is computed based on the lesser of the hospital’s 
CPE and the amount of funding specified by the Legislature.  The funding amount for the current 
state plan year is contained in Exhibit 3.   
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OBRA Limits 
 
The DSH payment ultimately received by qualifying non-governmental hospitals is the lesser of 
the amount calculated pursuant to the above-described  methodologies or the hospital’s OBRA 
limit. The DSH payment ultimately received by governmentally-operated hospitals is the lesser 
of the amount funded and specified by the Legislature or the hospital’s finalized OBRA limit.  
All DSH payments are subject to the federal DSH allotment.     
 
The OBRA limit is calculated using the following equation: 
 

Uncompensated CareCosts Incurred Serving Medicaid Re cipients+
Uncompensated CareCosts Incurred Serving theUninsured

 

 
Pursuant to the above equation, the OBRA limit is comprised of two components: 
 

1. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient and 
outpatient hospital services to Medicaid individuals (the Medicaid shortfall), and  

2. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient and 
outpatient hospital services to individuals with no source of third party coverage for the 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services they received (uninsured costs).   

 
The OBRA limit for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment will be computed for 
each hospital up to three times: 
 

1. The OBRA limit will be calculated in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment 
for all eligible hospitals based on the cost report(s) and days and charges and other 
program data for the state plan rate year two years prior to the state plan rate year of the 
initial DSH payment 

2. For governmentally-operated hospitals, the OBRA limit will be recalculated when the 
cost report for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment is filed 

3. The final calculation of each hospital’s OBRA limit will be performed when the cost 
report for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment is finalized 

 
The steps to computing the OBRA limit are3: 
 

1. The hospital shall prepare its CMS 2552 Report (cost report(s)).  Each hospital must 
complete the cost report to determine per diems (for inpatient routine services) and ratios 
of cost to charges (RCC) (for ancillary services).  The cost reports must be completed 

3 Note: The following discussion applies to hospitals that do not have a per diem ancillary allocation methodology 
approved by Medicare.  For the steps to calculate the OBRA limit for governmental hospitals that do have such 
approval, see Exhibit 2 to this Attachment D.  Non-governmental hospitals that have such approval should contact 
AHCCCS for further information. 
Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

118 

                                                 

 



 

 
based on Medicare cost principles and Medicare cost allocation process as specified in 
the CMS 2552 instructions and the CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual, volumes 15-1 
and 15-2, including updates.   

2. Medicaid shortfall will be calculated based on information available from PMMIS, other 
AHCCCS financial systems, and the cost report. 

3. Uninsured costs will be calculated based on uninsured days and charges and other 
program data collected by each hospital from its claims and financial records, other 
systems, and the cost report. 

 
The sum of each hospital’s Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and uninsured costs 
(whether positive or negative) is that hospital’s OBRA limit. 
 
The Medicaid Shortfall 
 
The data used to calculate the Medicaid shortfall is extracted from the cost report(s) as well as 
from the AHCCCS PMMIS system and other AHCCCS financial reporting systems.  The 
Medicaid shortfall will be calculated for each hospital for each fiscal/CMS Report year that 
encompasses the state plan year.  The resulting Medicaid shortfall for each fiscal/CMS Report 
year will be prorated to derive the state plan year Medicaid shortfall according to the above 
discussion entitled “Data on a State Plan Year Basis”. 
 
The information from AHCCCS will include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of Medicaid fee for service (FFS) inpatient hospital days (for 
governmentally-operated hospitals this will be accumulated for each inpatient routine 
service cost center on the cost report)  

2. The number of Medicaid managed care inpatient hospital days (for governmentally-
operated hospitals this will be accumulated for each inpatient routine service cost center 
on the cost report)  

3. The Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital FFS charges for ancillary cost centers (for 
governmentally-operated hospitals this will be accumulated separately for each ancillary 
cost center on the cost report)  

4. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital FFS services 

5. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by AHCCCS for inpatient and outpatient 
hospital FFS services 

6. The Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital managed care charges for ancillary cost 
centers (for governmentally-operated hospitals this will be accumulated separately for 
each ancillary cost center on the cost report)   

7. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital services for health plans and 
program contractors 

8. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by health plans and program contractors for 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services for health plans and program contractors 

9. Other amounts of Medicaid payments for Medicaid inpatient and outpatient services 
furnished during the Medicaid state plan rate year under review (e.g. GME, CAH, etc.) 
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For each hospital, the cost center-specific per diems and ratios of cost to charges (RCC) from the 
cost report will be applied to the data extracted from PMMIS (days and charges) to determine the 
cost of providing inpatient and outpatient Medicaid services.  Inpatient and outpatient Medicaid 
services will not include services reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified 
Health Clinic services.  The per diem amounts will be calculated by dividing:  
 
 The individual amounts on Worksheet B Part 1 Column 25 Lines (and where applicable 

Subscript Lines) 25 to 33  
 By  
 The corresponding day totals on Lines (and where applicable Subscript Lines) 5 through 

11 and Line 14 (for inpatient hospital subproviders) from Worksheet S-3 Part I Column 
6.   

 
Note: when calculating the Adults and Pediatrics (General Routine Care) per diem, the amount 
on Worksheet B, Part I, Column 25, Line 25 should have deducted the amounts appearing on 
Worksheet D-1, Part I, Lines 26 and 36 and the amount on Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 6, 
Line 5 should have added the amount appearing on Line 26 (observation bed days). 
 
The ancillary RCCs will be calculated by dividing: 
 

1. The individual Line and Subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63  taken from 
Worksheet B Part 1 Column 25  

2. By 
3. The individual Line and Subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63  taken from 

Worksheet C Part 1 Column 8 
 
Costs will be offset by the payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by 
third parties related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital services as well as payments 
made by AHCCCS including FFS payments, payments by health plans and program contractors, 
and supplemental payments (such as GME, Rural Hospital Payments and CAH) made during the 
hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan rate year.  
 
Uninsured Costs 
 
Each hospital will collect uninsured days and charges and program data for the hospital’s 
fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan year from the hospital’s claims and 
auditable financial records.  Only hospital inpatient and outpatient days and charges and program 
data for medical services that would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid should be included in the 
DSH calculation.  Inpatient and outpatient uninsured services will not include services that 
would be reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified Health Clinic services if the 
patient were eligible for Medicaid.  The uninsured days, charges and program information 
provided to the state is subject to the same audit standards and procedures as the data included in 
the cost report.   
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When providing uninsured days, charges and program information hospitals should be guided by 
the following: 
 
The Uninsured are defined as: 
 Self pay and self insured patients 
 Individuals with no source of third party coverage for inpatient and outpatient hospital 

services 
 Third party coverage does not include state and local government subsidized care (i.e. 

individuals covered by indigent programs without other forms of third party coverage 
are uninsured) 

 Payments made by state or local government are not considered a source of third party 
payment 

 It is permissible to include in the Uninsured individuals who do not possess health 
insurance which would apply to the service for which the individual sought treatment. 

 Individuals with AHCCCS coverage (either Medicaid or KidsCare) are not considered 
uninsured 

 Individuals participating in a Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program that have no source of 
third party coverage for the services provided other than the Ryan White program are 
considered uninsured.  However, the funding provided under the program must be 
considered payments received from or on behalf of patients or payments received from 
third parties.   

 
When submitting uninsured days, charges and program information hospitals should accompany 
the submission with: 
 
 A listing of all payor types that are included in the uninsured data compilation, and 
 A CD or DVD that contains sufficient claims or other information (e.g. ICNs) to enable 

an auditor to tie the amounts submitted to the financial records of the hospital 
 
The uninsured costs will be calculated for each hospital for each fiscal/CMS Report year that 
encompasses the state plan year.  The resulting uninsured costs for each fiscal/CMS Report year 
will be prorated to derive the state plan year uninsured costs according to the above discussion 
entitled “Data on a State Plan Year Basis”. 
 
The information to be collected will include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of uninsured inpatient hospital days (for governmentally-operated hospitals 
this will be accumulated for each inpatient routine service cost center on the cost report)  

2. The uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital ancillary charges (for governmentally-
operated hospitals this will be accumulated for each ancillary cost center on the cost 
report)  

3. The amounts of payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan year made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by 
third parties related to uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital services.  The 
information collected shall: 
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a. Include payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 

encompass the state plan year under Section 1011, Federal Reimbursement of 
Emergency Health Services Furnished to Undocumented Aliens, of the MMA, 

b. Not include payments, funding and subsidies made by the state or a unit of local 
governments (e.g., state-only, local-only or state-local health program) 

 
 
For each hospital the cost center-specific per diems and ratios of cost to charges (RCC) from the 
cost report (as determined for Medicaid) will be applied to the data collected by the hospital to 
determine the uninsured costs.   
 
Costs will be offset by the payments received during the state plan year from or on behalf of 
patients and payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass 
the state plan year from third parties related to all uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital 
services.  Payments made by state or local government are not considered a source of third 
party payment. 

 
 
The OBRA Limit 
 
The summation of the Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and the uninsured costs 
(whether positive or negative) is the hospital’s OBRA limit.   
 
Group 5 Eligibility Determination  
 
Any Arizona hospital that qualifies for funding in Groups 1 and 2 (Group 1, 1A, 2, or 2A) is eligible for 
funding through Group 5.  Group 5 is created to enable DSH-eligible hospitals to get qualifying DSH 
payments matched via voluntary intergovernmental agreements (IGAs).  Per State Medicaid Director 
Letter #10-010, the State will require the appropriate documentation that the funding has been voluntarily 
provided.  Group 5 DSH payments are on top of the Groups 1 and 2 DSH payments, but no individual 
hospital will receive aggregate DSH payments that exceed its OBRA limit.  
 
Funding for any hospital in Group 5 must be arranged via a voluntary intergovernmental agreement with a 
political subdivision, tribal government or public university, using public funds not derived from 
impermissible sources, such as impermissible provider-related donations or impermissible health care-
related taxes, as a match to draw down DSH payments.  Political subdivisions, tribal governments and 
public universities will notify AHCCCS of the hospitals designated to receive funds and of the amount of 
matching funds that are available through their IGAs.  
For hospitals that qualify for Group 5, a “LOM” score will be calculated by multiplying the hospital’s 
LIUR times the hospital’s full OBRA limit, times the hospital’s MIUR. 
 
Example: 
Hospital A 
OBRA = $54,734,467,  MIUR = 0.3542,  LIUR = 0.2946 
Group 5 LOM score for Hospital A =  $54,734,467 x 0.3542 x 0.2946 =  $5,711,394 
 
For the first round of distributions, each hospital’s percentage of the total group LOM score will be 
calculated using the hospital’s LOM score as the numerator and the total of all eligible hospitals’ LOM 
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scores as the denominator.  The total amount of DSH available as a result of the IGAs (Group 5 DSH 
funds) will be multiplied by each hospital’s LOM percentage of this first round.  If any allocation from 
this round is higher than a hospital’s OBRA limit (remaining after Group 1 and 2 DSH distributions) or 
higher than the matching funds (in total computable) for that hospital, the lower of those two limits will 
be recorded as the allocation for round one. 
 
For subsequent rounds, only the hospitals that have not hit their OBRA limit or matching fund limit will 
be considered in that round.  The LOM score for only those hospitals will be totaled.  Each hospital’s 
percentage of the total LOM score for that round will be calculated.  The total amount of Group 5 DSH 
funds remaining for that round will be multiplied by each hospital’s LOM percentage for that round.  If 
any allocation from any round is higher than a hospital’s remaining OBRA limit or higher than the 
remaining total computable matching funds for that hospital, the lower of those two limits will be 
recorded as the allocation for that round. 
 
Distribution rounds will continue until all Group 5 DSH funds are distributed, or all Group 5 qualifying 
hospitals have received the maximum distribution identified in the IGAs or reached their individual 
OBRA limits, whichever comes first.  All excess IGA funds not used for Group 5 DSH distributions, due 
to application of the above limits, will be returned to the originating political subdivisions, tribal 
governments or public universities and will not be retained by AHCCCS for other uses. 
 
The Group 5 DSH distribution for any hospital will consist of that hospital’s total of allocations from all 
rounds. 
 
Aggregate Limits 
 
IMD Limit 
 
Federal law provides that aggregate DSH payments to Institutions for Mental Diseases (IMDs) in 
Arizona is confined to the lesser of $28,474,900 or the amount equal to the product of Arizona’s 
current year total computable DSH allotment and 23.27%.  Therefore, DSH payment to IMDs 
will be reduced proportionately to the extent necessary to ensure that the aggregate IMD limit is 
not exceeded. 
 
“Institutions for Mental Diseases” includes hospitals that are primarily engaged in providing 
diagnosis, treatment, or care of persons with mental diseases, including medical attention, 
nursing care, and related services.  Whether an institution is an IMD is determined by its overall 
character as that of a facility established and maintained primarily for the care and treatment of 
individuals with mental diseases, whether or not it is licensed as such. 
 
Overall Total Limit 
 
The federal government shares in the cost of Medicaid DSH expenditures based on the Federal 
Medical Assistance Percentage (FMAP) for each state.  However, for each fiscal year, the 
amount of federal funds available to states for DSH payment is fixed.  As such, the total amount 
of DSH payments for a state plan rate year will not exceed the federal allotment divided by the 
FMAP.  
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Reconciliation 
 
The initial DSH payment issued to a hospital by AHCCCS is considered “interim” and is subject 
to different reconciliation methodologies depending upon whether the hospital is non-
governmental or governmentally-operated.  The payments to hospitals are generally made as a 
single lump sum payment that is made once the calculations of the payment amounts are 
completed.  The purpose of the interim DSH payment is to provide reimbursement that 
approximates the Medicaid and uninsured inpatient hospital and outpatient hospital 
uncompensated care costs eligible for Federal Financial Participation (FFP). 
 
The reasons for a change in the initial (or interim) DSH payment for both non-governmental and 
governmentally-operated hospitals are outlined above under “Pools and Changing Payment 
Levels”.  
 
If it is determined that the total amount of payments made to non-governmental hospitals under 
the methodology outlined in the “Pools and Changing Payment Levels” exceeds the amount of 
all finalized non-governmental hospital OBRA limits, the amount in excess will be recouped by 
AHCCCS and any associated federal funding claimed will be properly credited to the federal 
government. 
 
If it is determined that the total amount of payments made to governmentally-operated hospitals 
under the methodology outlined in the “Pools and Changing Payment Levels” exceeds the 
amount of either:  

1. All governmentally-operated hospital OBRA limits calculated based on the “finalized” 
cost report, or  

2. The total amount of certified public expenditures of governmentally-operated hospitals, 
then 

3. The amount in excess will be recouped by AHCCCS and any associated federal funding 
claimed will be properly credited to the federal government. 

 
 
Certified Public Expenditures 
 
Expenditures by governmentally-operated hospitals shall be used by AHCCCS in claiming FFP 
for DSH payments to the extent that the amount of funds expended are certified by the 
appropriate officials at the governmentally-operated hospital.   
 
The method for determining a governmentally-operated hospital’s allowable uncompensated care 
costs eligible for DSH reimbursement when such costs are funded through the certified public 
expenditure (CPE) process will be the same as the method for calculating and reconciling the 
OBRA limit for governmentally-operated hospitals set forth above.   
 
However, because governmentally-operated hospitals are certifying expenditures for the state 
plan year of the initial DSH payment and final expenditures may not be known at the time of 
initial certification of public expenditures, governmentally owned hospitals may certify an 
amount of expenditures for the initial DSH payment based on an estimate of the OBRA limit for 
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the state plan year of the initial DSH payment.   
 
In certifying estimates of public expenditure for the initial DSH payment, the governmentally 
operated hospital will first calculate its expenditures based on the methodology for calculating 
the OBRA limit for the state plan year two years before the state plan year of the initial payment 
(as specified in the protocols in Exhibit 1 or Exhibit 2) and then provide for adjustments to such 
OBRA limit.  The adjustments may increase or decrease the days, costs, charges or payments 
reflected on the cost reports, Medicaid and/or uninsured information used to calculate the OBRA 
limit.  The adjustments will reflect increases and decreases resulting from changes in operations 
or circumstances that are not reflected in the information from the state plan year two years prior 
to the state plan year of the initial payment, but will be reflected in the final information for the 
state plan year of the initial payment.  All adjustments must be supported by adequate 
explanation/justification and is subject to review by AHCCCS and CMS. 
 
In order to use CPE, the certifying governmentally-operated hospital must follow the protocol in 
Exhibit 1 or Exhibit 2 and provide a certification as to the amount of allowable uncompensated 
care costs eligible for DSH reimbursement.  If CPE is used, the amount of expenditures used to 
determine the FFP will not exceed the amount of the CPE.  
 
The payment of FFP to governmentally-operated hospitals is subject to legislative appropriation. 
 
 
Grievances and Appeals 
 
The state considers a hospital’s DSH eligibility and DSH payment amount to be appealable 
issues.  A DSH eligibility list along with the initial DSH payment amounts that eligible hospitals 
have been calculated to receive will be distributed.  Hospitals will be permitted thirty (30) days 
from distribution to appeal their DSH eligibility and payment amounts.  Because the total 
amount of DSH funds is fixed, the successful appeal of one DSH hospital will reduce DSH 
payment amounts to all other providers.  Once the final reconciliation process is completed, no 
additional DSH payment will be issued.  
 
 
Other Provisions 
 
Ownership 
 
DSH payment will only be issued to the entity which is currently registered with AHCCCS as a 
participating hospital provider.  Therefore, it is expected that facilities will consider this 
information when negotiating ownership changes. 
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   Attachment D - AHCCCS Disproportionate Share Hospital (DSH) Payments 

Exceptions (Revised May 29, 2009) 
 

An exception to the use of the Medicare Cost Report (Form CMS 2552-96) as a data source 
shall apply to: 

 
I. Hospitals that: 
 

 Serve patients that are predominantly under 18 years of age, and 
 Are licensed for fewer than 50 beds, and  
 Do not file a comprehensive Form CMS 2552-96 (Medicare Cost Report), and  
 Receive an acceptance letter from the CMS fiscal intermediary for the portion of the 

CMS 2552-96 (Medicare Cost Report) that the hospital does file with the fiscal 
intermediary, and  

 Receive written permission from AHCCCS to invoke the provisions of this exception.  
 

Such hospitals may extract data from their financial records in lieu of extracting data from the 
Form CMS 2552-96 (Medicare Cost Report) as provided in this Attachment D.   
 
The method of extracting and compiling the data from the hospital’s financial records shall 
conform to the instructions for the Form CMS 2552-96.  All other non-Medicare Cost Report 
data and documentation as described in this Attachment D shall be required from such hospitals. 
 
 
II.   Indian Health Service (IHS) Hospitals and tribally-operated 638 hospitals who do not file 
a full Form CMS 2552-96 Medicare Cost Report but rather file an abbreviated Medicare cost 
report in accordance with Medicare Provider Reimbursement Manual, Part I, Section 2208.1.E 
(Method E cost report). 
 
Such IHS Hospitals and tribally-operated 638 hospitals can submit a Private Facility Information 
Sheet (PFIS) to AHCCCS using data from the IHS Method E report that is filed with CMS as 
well as supporting hospital financial reports, as necessary.   
 
The method of extracting and compiling the data from the hospital’s financial records shall 
conform to the instructions for the Form CMS 2552-96.  All other non-Medicare Cost Report 
data and documentation as described on the PFIS cover sheet will be required by such hospitals. 
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EXHIBIT 1 to ATTACHMENT D 

 
AHCCCS  

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodology  
Calculation of OBRA Limits for  

Governmentally-Operated Hospitals for the Purpose of  
Certified Public Expenditures 

 
 

Each governmentally-operated hospital certifying its expenditures for Disproportionate Share 
Hospital (DSH) payments shall compute and report its OBRA limit as prescribed by this Exhibit.   
The governmentally-operated hospital’s OBRA limit is comprised of two components: 
 

1. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient and 
outpatient hospital services to Medicaid individuals (the Medicaid shortfall), and  

2. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient and 
outpatient hospital services to individuals with no source of third party coverage for the 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services they received (uninsured costs).   

 
The steps to computing the governmentally-operated hospital’s OBRA limit are4: 
 

1. The hospital shall prepare its CMS 2552 Report (cost report(s)).  Each hospital must 
complete the cost report to determine per diems (for inpatient routine services) and ratios 
of cost to charges (RCC) (for ancillary services).  The cost reports must be completed 
based on Medicare cost principles and Medicare cost allocation process as specified in 
the CMS 2552 instructions and the CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual, volumes 15-1 
and 15-2, including updates.   

2. Medicaid shortfall will be calculated based on information available from PMMIS, other 
AHCCCS financial systems, and the cost report. 

3. Uninsured costs will be calculated based on uninsured days and charges and other 
program data collected by the hospital from its claims and financial records, other 
systems, and the cost report. 

4. Finally, the governmentally-operated hospital will compile and summarize the 
calculations on The OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.   In compiling and summarizing the 
OBRA calculations, the governmentally-operated hospital may make adjustments to the 
calculated OBRA limit to estimate the OBRA limit for a future state plan year.  The 
adjustments may increase or decrease the days, costs, charges or payments reflected on 
the cost reports, Medicaid and/or uninsured information used to calculate the OBRA 
limit.  The adjustments will reflect increases and decreases resulting from changes in 
operations or circumstances that are not reflected in the information from the state plan 

4 Note: The following discussion applies to hospitals that do not have a per diem ancillary allocation methodology 
approved by Medicare.  For the steps to calculate the OBRA limit for governmental hospitals that do have such 
approval, see Exhibit 2 to this Attachment D.   
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year two years prior to the state plan year of the initial payment, but will be reflected in 
the final information for the state plan year of the initial payment.  All adjustments must 
be supported by adequate explanation/justification and is subject to review by AHCCCS 
and CMS.  The Schedule will be submitted to AHCCCS, with backup documentation, for 
the cost reporting period(s) covered by the Medicaid state plan rate year(s) under review. 

 
The Medicaid Shortfall 
 
AHCCCS will provide each governmentally-operated hospital with a report from the PMMIS 
system and other agency financial reporting systems to assist each governmentally-operated 
hospital in completing required schedules.  The information to be provided by AHCCCS will 
include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of Medicaid fee for service (FFS) inpatient hospital days (for each inpatient 
routine service cost center on the cost report)  

2. The number of Medicaid managed care inpatient hospital days (for each inpatient routine 
service cost center on the cost report) 

3. The Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital FFS charges (separately for each ancillary 
cost center on the cost report).  Inpatient and outpatient Medicaid charges will not include 
charges reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified Health Clinic services.   

4. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital FFS services 

5. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by AHCCCS for inpatient and outpatient 
hospital FFS services 

6. The Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital managed care charges (for each ancillary 
cost center on the cost report).  Inpatient and outpatient Medicaid charges will not include 
charges reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified Health Clinic services.   

7. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital services for health plans and 
program contractors  

8. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by health plans and program contractors for 
inpatient and outpatient hospital services for health plans and program contractors 

9. Other amounts of Medicaid payments for Medicaid inpatient and outpatient services 
furnished during the Medicaid state plan rate year under review (e.g. GME, CAH, etc.) 

 
Each governmentally-operated hospital will use the cost center-specific per diems and ratios of 
cost to charges (RCC) from the cost report and the data extracted from PMMIS (days and 
charges) to determine the cost of providing inpatient and outpatient Medicaid services.  Inpatient 
and outpatient Medicaid services will not include services reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or 
Federally Qualified Health Clinic services.  The Medicaid shortfall will be calculated for each 
hospital for each fiscal/CMS Report year that encompasses the state plan year.  The resulting 
Medicaid shortfall for each fiscal/CMS Report year will be prorated to derive the state plan year 
Medicaid shortfall according to the discussion entitled “Data on a State Plan Year Basis”. 
 
The per diem amounts will be calculated by dividing:  
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 The individual amounts on Worksheet B Part 1 Column 25 Lines (and where applicable 

Subscript Lines) 25 to 33  
 By  
 The corresponding day totals on Lines (and where applicable Subscript Lines) 5 through 

11 and Line 14 (for inpatient hospital subproviders) from Worksheet S-3 Column 6.   
 
Note: when calculating the Adults and Pediatrics (General Routine Care) per diem, the amount 
on Worksheet B, Part I, Column 25, Line 25 should have deducted the amounts appearing on 
Worksheet D-1, Part I, Lines 26 and 36 and the amount on Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 6, 
Line 5 should have added the amount appearing on Line 26 (observation bed days). 
 
The ancillary RCCs will be calculated by dividing: 
 

1. The individual Line and Subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63  taken from 
Worksheet B Part 1 Column 25  

2. By 
3. The individual Line and Subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63  taken from 

Worksheet C Part 1 Column 8 
  
Each governmentally-operated hospital will use the cost center-specific per diems and ratios of 
cost to charges (RCC) from the cost report and the data supplied by AHCCCS to compile the 
Medicaid Schedule of Costs on the OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.   The Medicaid Schedule of 
Costs depicts: 
 

1. The governmentally-operated hospital specific Medicaid inpatient and outpatient cost 
data,  

2. The payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third parties 
related to Medicaid inpatient and outpatient hospital services,  

3. The Medicaid inpatient and outpatient net cost data, 
4. Payments made by AHCCCS including FFS and payments by health plans and program 

contractors  
5. The amount of supplemental Medicaid payments related to inpatient and outpatient 

hospital services (e.g., GME and CAH)  
6. The Medicaid shortfall  
7. Adjustments to the calculated Medicaid shortfall to estimate a Medicaid shortfall for a 

future state plan year. 
 
Uninsured Costs 
 
Each governmentally-operated hospital will collect uninsured days and charges and program data 
for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that encompass the state plan year from the hospital’s 
claims and auditable financial records.  Only hospital inpatient and outpatient days and charges 
and program data for medical services that would otherwise be eligible for Medicaid should be 
included in the calculation.  Inpatient and outpatient uninsured services will not include services 
that would be reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified Health Clinic services if 
the patient were eligible for Medicaid.  The uninsured days, charges and program information 
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provided to the state is subject to the same audit standards and procedures as the data included in 
the cost report.   
 
When providing uninsured days, charges and program information hospitals should be guided by 
the following: 
 
The Uninsured are defined as: 
 Self pay and self insured patients 
 Individuals with no source of third party coverage for inpatient and outpatient hospital 

services 
 Third party coverage does not include state and local government subsidized care (i.e. 

individuals covered by indigent programs without other forms of third party coverage 
are uninsured) 

 Payments made by state or local government are not considered a source of third party 
payment 

 It is permissible to include in the Uninsured individuals who do not possess health 
insurance which would apply to the service for which the individual sought treatment. 

 Individuals with AHCCCS coverage (either Medicaid or KidsCare) are not considered 
uninsured 

 Individuals participating in a Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program that have no source of 
third party coverage for the services provided other than the Ryan White program are 
considered uninsured.  However, the funding provided under the program must be 
considered payments received from or on behalf of patients or payments received from 
third parties.   

 
When submitting uninsured days, charges and program information hospitals should accompany 
the submission with: 
 
 A listing of all payor types that are included in the uninsured data compilation, and 
 A CD or DVD that contains sufficient claims or other information (e.g. ICNs) to enable 

an auditor to tie the amounts submitted to the financial records of the hospital 
 
The information to be collected will include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of uninsured inpatient hospital days (for each inpatient routine service cost 
center on the cost report) 

2. The uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital ancillary charges (for each ancillary cost 
center on the cost report) 

3. The amounts of payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan year made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by 
third parties related to uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital services.  The 
information collected shall: 

a. Include payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan year under Section 1011, Federal Reimbursement of 
Emergency Health Services Furnished to Undocumented Aliens, of the MMA, 
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b. Not include payments, funding and subsidies made by the state or a unit of local 

governments (e.g., state-only, local-only or state-local health program) 
 
Each governmentally-operated hospital will use the cost center-specific per diems and ratios of 
cost to charges (RCC) from the cost report (as determined for Medicaid), the uninsured days and 
charges, and other program data collected by the governmentally-operated hospital to compile 
the Uninsured Schedule of Costs on the OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.  The Uninsured 
Schedule of Costs depicts:  

1. The governmentally-operated hospital specific uninsured inpatient and outpatient cost 
data,  

2. The payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third parties 
related to uninsured inpatient and outpatient hospital services, and  

3. The uninsured inpatient and outpatient cost.   
4. Adjustments to the calculated uninsured inpatient and out patient cost to estimate the 

uninsured inpatient and outpatient cost for a future state plan year. 
 
The Governmentally-Operated Hospital OBRA Limit 
 
The summation of the Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and the uninsured costs 
(whether positive or negative) is the hospital’s OBRA limit and is depicted on the Calculation of 
OBRA Limit and CPE on the OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule. 
 
The summation of the estimated Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and the 
estimated uninsured costs (whether positive or negative) is the hospital’s OBRA limit for a future 
state plan year and is depicted on the Calculation of OBRA Limit and CPE on the OBRA Limit 
and CPE Schedule. 
 
Certification 
 
The appropriate official of the governmentally-operated hospital will sign the certification 
statement on the Governmentally-Operated Hospital OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.  A 
certification will be signed for each of the three times the OBRA limit for the state plan rate year 
of the initial DSH payment is calculated as described below under “Reconciliation”. 
 
Reconciliation 
 
The OBRA limit for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment will be computed for 
each governmentally-operated hospital three times: 
 

1. The OBRA limit will be calculated in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment 
based on the cost report(s) and days and charges and other program data for the state plan 
rate year two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  This 
calculation may include an adjustment to the calculated OBRA limit of the state plan rate 
year two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment in order to 
estimate the OBRA limit of the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment. 
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2. The OBRA limit will be recalculated when the cost report(s) for the state plan rate year of 

the initial DSH payment are filed.  In recalculating the OBRA limit the cost data from the 
as-filed cost report(s) and program data (days, charges, and payments) from the actual 
cost reporting period(s) will be used in the calculation.  This calculation may not include 
any adjustment to the calculated OBRA limit of the state plan rate year of the initial 
DSH. 

3. The final calculation of each governmentally-operated hospital’s OBRA limit will be 
performed when the cost report(s) for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment 
are finalized.  In finalizing the OBRA limit the cost data from the finalized cost report(s) 
and program data (days, charges, and payments) from the actual cost reporting period(s) 
will be used in the calculation. 
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EXHIBIT 2 to ATTACHMENT D 

 
AHCCCS  

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodology  
Calculation of OBRA Limits for  

Arizona State Hospital  
A Hospital with a Per Diem Ancillary Cost Allocation Method  

Approved by Medicare 
 
 
Arizona State Hospital (ASH), a governmentally-operated hospital that is an all-inclusive rate 
provider under Medicare, shall compute, report and certify its OBRA limit as prescribed by this 
Exhibit.   Because ASH only provides inpatient services, the OBRA limit will by calculated 
based only on inpatient information.  ASH’s OBRA limit is comprised of two components: 
 

1. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient hospital 
services to Medicaid individuals (the Medicaid shortfall), and  

2. The amount of uncompensated care costs associated with providing inpatient hospital 
services to individuals with no source of third party coverage for the inpatient hospital 
services they received (uninsured costs).   

 
The steps to computing ASH’s OBRA limit are: 
 

1. The hospital shall prepare its CMS 2552 Report (cost report(s)).  The hospital must 
complete the cost report to determine per diems (for inpatient routine services and for 
ancillary services).  The cost reports must be completed based on Medicare cost 
principles and Medicare cost allocation process as specified in the CMS 2552 instructions 
and the CMS Provider Reimbursement Manual, volumes 15-1 and 15-2, including 
updates.   

2. Medicaid shortfall will be calculated based on information available from PMMIS, other 
AHCCCS financial systems, and the cost report. 

3. Uninsured costs will be calculated based on uninsured days and other program data 
collected by the hospital from its claims and financial records, other systems, and the cost 
report. 

4. Finally, ASH will compile and summarize the calculations on The OBRA Limit and CPE 
Schedule.   In compiling and summarizing the OBRA calculations, ASH may make 
adjustments to the calculated OBRA limit to estimate the OBRA limit for a future state 
plan year. The adjustments may increase or decrease the days, costs, charges or payments 
reflected on the cost reports, Medicaid and/or uninsured information used to calculate the 
OBRA limit.  The adjustments will reflect increases and decreases resulting from changes 
in operations or circumstances that are not reflected in the information from the state plan 
year two years prior to the state plan year of the initial payment, but will be reflected in 
the final information for the state plan year of the initial payment.  All adjustments must 
be supported by adequate explanation/justification and is subject to review by AHCCCS 
and CMS.  The Schedule will be submitted to AHCCCS, with backup documentation, for 
the cost reporting period(s) covered by the Medicaid state plan rate year(s) under review. 
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The Medicaid Shortfall 
 
AHCCCS will provide ASH with a report from the PMMIS system and other agency financial 
reporting systems to assist ASH in completing required schedules.  The information to be 
provided by AHCCCS will include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of Medicaid fee for service (FFS) inpatient hospital days (for the single 
inpatient routine service cost center on the cost report)  

2. The number of Medicaid managed care inpatient hospital days (for the single inpatient 
routine service cost center on the cost report) 

3. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient hospital FFS services 

4. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by AHCCCS for inpatient hospital FFS 
services 

5. The amounts of payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third 
parties related to Medicaid inpatient hospital services for health plans and program 
contractors  

6. The amounts of Medicaid payments made by health plans and program contractors for 
inpatient hospital services for health plans and program contractors 

7. Other amounts of Medicaid payments for Medicaid inpatient services furnished during 
the Medicaid state plan rate year under review (e.g. GME, CAH, etc.) 

 
ASH will use a single total per diem calculated from the cost report and the inpatient days 
extracted from PMMIS  to determine the cost of providing inpatient Medicaid services.  The 
Medicaid shortfall will be calculated for ASH for each fiscal/CMS Report year that encompasses 
the state plan year.  The resulting Medicaid shortfall for each fiscal/CMS Report year will be 
prorated to derive the state plan year Medicaid shortfall according to the discussion entitled 
“Data on a State Plan Year Basis”. 
 
The single total per diem amount will be calculated by summing the inpatient per diem amount 
and the ancillary per diem amount.   
 
The inpatient per diem amount will be found by dividing the amounts on Worksheet B Part 1 
Column 25 Line 25 by the day total on Line 5 from Worksheet S-3 Column 6.  Note: when 
calculating the Adults and Pediatrics (General Routine Care) per diem, the amount on Worksheet 
B, Part I, Column 25, Line 25 should have deducted the amounts appearing on Worksheet D-1, 
Part I, Lines 26 and 36 and the amount on Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 6, Line 5 should have 
added the amount appearing on Line 26 (observation bed days). 
 
The ancillary per diem amount will be calculated by: 
 

1. Summing the Line and Subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63 (but excluding 
Subscript Lines 63.5 to 63.99) taken from Worksheet B Part 1 Column 25  

2. Dividing the amount determined in step 1 above by the amount determined in step 3 
below 

Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

134 



 

 
3. Summing the Lines 5 and 17 from Worksheet S-3 Column 6  

  
ASH will use the single total per diem calculated from the cost report and the data supplied by 
AHCCCS to compile the Medicaid Schedule of Costs on the OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.   
The Medicaid Schedule of Costs depicts: 
 

1. The governmentally-operated hospital specific Medicaid inpatient cost data (determined 
by multiplying the single total per diem by the number of inpatient Medicaid days),  

2. The payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third parties 
related to Medicaid inpatient hospital services,  

3. The Medicaid inpatient net cost data, 
4. Payments made by AHCCCS including FFS and payments by health plans and program 

contractors  
5. The amount of supplemental Medicaid payments (e.g., GME and CAH)  
6. The Medicaid shortfall  
7. Adjustments to the calculated Medicaid shortfall to estimate a Medicaid shortfall for a 

future state plan year. 
 
Uninsured Costs 
 
ASH will collect uninsured days and program data for the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years 
that encompass the state plan year from the hospital’s claims and auditable financial records.  
Only hospital inpatient days and program data for medical services that would otherwise be 
eligible for Medicaid should be included in the calculation.  Inpatient uninsured services will not 
include services that would be reimbursed as Rural Health Clinic or Federally Qualified Health 
Clinic services if the patient were eligible for Medicaid.  The uninsured days and program 
information provided to the state is subject to the same audit standards and procedures as the data 
included in the cost report.   
 
When collecting uninsured days and program information ASH should be guided by the 
following: 
 
The Uninsured are defined as: 
 Self pay and self insured patients 
 Individuals with no source of third party coverage for inpatient hospital services 
 Third party coverage does not include state and local government subsidized care (i.e. 

individuals covered by indigent programs without other forms of third party coverage 
are uninsured) 

 Payments made by state or local government are not considered a source of third party 
payment 

 It is permissible to include in the Uninsured individuals who do not possess health 
insurance which would apply to the service for which the individual sought treatment. 

 Individuals with AHCCCS coverage (either Medicaid or KidsCare) are not considered 
uninsured 

 Individuals participating in a Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program that have no source of 
third party coverage for the services provided other than the Ryan White program are 
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considered uninsured.  However, the funding provided under the program must be 
considered payments received from or on behalf of patients or payments received from 
third parties.   

 
The uninsured costs will be calculated for ASH for each fiscal/CMS Report year that 
encompasses the state plan year.  The resulting uninsured costs for each fiscal/CMS Report year 
will be prorated to derive the state plan year uninsured costs according to the discussion entitled 
“Data on a State Plan Year Basis”. 
 
The information to be collected will include, but not be limited to:   
 

1. The number of uninsured inpatient hospital days (for the single inpatient routine service 
cost center on the cost report) 

2. The amounts of payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan year made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by 
third parties related to uninsured inpatient hospital services.  The information collected 
shall: 

a. Include payments received during the hospital’s fiscal/CMS Report years that 
encompass the state plan year under Section 1011, Federal Reimbursement of 
Emergency Health Services Furnished to Undocumented Aliens, of the MMA, 

b. Not include payments, funding and subsidies made by the state or a unit of local 
governments (e.g., state-only, local-only or state-local health program) 

 
ASH will use the total inpatient per diem calculated from the cost report (as determined for 
Medicaid), the uninsured days, and other program data collected by ASH to compile the 
Uninsured Schedule of Costs on the OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule.  The Uninsured Schedule 
of Costs depicts:  
 

1. The ASH specific uninsured inpatient cost data (determined by multiplying the single 
total per diem by the number of uninsured inpatient days),  

2. The payments made by or on behalf of patients and payments made by third parties 
related to uninsured inpatient hospital services, and  

3. The uninsured inpatient cost.   
4. Adjustments to the calculated uninsured inpatient and out patient cost to estimate the 

uninsured inpatient and outpatient cost for a future state plan year. 
 
The Governmentally-Operated Hospital OBRA Limit 
 
The summation of the Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and the uninsured costs 
(whether positive or negative) is the hospital’s OBRA limit and is depicted on the  OBRA Limit 
and CPE Schedule. 
 
The summation of the estimated Medicaid shortfall (whether positive or negative) and the 
estimated uninsured costs (whether positive or negative) is the hospital’s OBRA limit for a future 
state plan year and is depicted on the Calculation of OBRA Limit and CPE on the OBRA Limit 
and CPE Schedule. 
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Certification 
 
The appropriate official of ASH will sign the certification statement on the OBRA Limit and 
CPE Schedule.  A certification statement will be signed for each of the three times the OBRA 
limit for the state plan year of the initial DSH payment is calculated as described below under 
“Reconciliation”. 
 
Reconciliation 
 
The OBRA limit for the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment will be computed for 
ASH three times: 
 

1. The OBRA limit will be calculated in the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment 
based on the cost report(s) and days and other program data for the state plan rate year 
two years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment.  This calculation 
may include an adjustment to the calculated OBRA limit of the state plan rate year two 
years prior to the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment in order to estimate the 
OBRA limit of the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment. 

2. The OBRA limit will be recalculated when the cost report(s) for the state plan rate year of 
the initial DSH payment are filed.  In recalculating the OBRA limit the cost data from the 
as-filed cost report(s) and program data (days and payments) from the actual cost 
reporting period(s) will be used in the calculation.  This calculation may not include any 
adjustment to the calculated OBRA limit of the state plan rate year of the initial DSH. 

3. The final calculation of ASH’s OBRA limit will be performed when the cost report(s) for 
the state plan rate year of the initial DSH payment are finalized.  In finalizing the OBRA 
limit the cost data from the finalized cost report(s) and program data (days and payments) 
from the actual cost reporting period(s) will be used in the calculation. 
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EXHIBIT 3 to ATTACHMENT D 

 
AHCCCS  

Disproportionate Share Hospital Payment Methodology  
Pool Funding Amount for SPY 2013 

 
This Exhibit contains the amount of funding for six pools in the Arizona DSH pool methodology.   
 
For State Plan Year (SPY) 2008 and 2009, funding will be allocated among six pools (pools 1, 
1A, 2, 2A, 3, and 4).  For SPY 2010, funding will be allocated among seven pools (pools 1, 1A, 
2, 2A, 3, 4, and 5).  For SPY 2011, SPY 2012, and 2013 the funding will be allocated among six 
pools (pools 1, 1A, 2, 2A, 4, and 5). 
 
Pools 1, 1A, 2, 2A, and 3 - Non-governmentally-operated hospitals 
The funding for pools 1 and 2 will be sufficient to provide an average payment amount of $6,000 
for all hospitals qualifying for both of the two pools.  No hospital in pools 1 or 2 will receive less 
than $5,000.  Therefore, the amount of funding for pools 1 and 2 will be determined by 
multiplying the number of hospitals qualifying for pools 1 and 2 by $6,000.   
 
The funding for pools 1A, 2A and 3 (if applicable) will be derived by subtracting the total 
amount allocated for pools 1 and 2 from the amount of DSH authorized by the Legislature for 
non-governmentally operated hospitals.  Beginning SPY 2011, these remaining funds will be 
split with 15% for Pool 1A and 85% for Pool 2A. 
 
For SPY 2008, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A and 3 will be $26,147,700. 
For SPY 2009, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A and 3 will be $26,147,700. 
For SPY 2010, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A and 3 will be $500,000. 
For SPY 2011, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A will be $9,284,800. 
For SPY 2012, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A will be $9,284,800. 
For SPY 2013, the funding for pools 1, 2, 1A, and 2A will be $9,284,800. 
 
Pool 4 – Governmentally-operated hospitals 
The funding for pool 4 is the amount authorized by the Legislature for governmentally operated
hospitals.          

 

 
For SPY 2008, the funding for pool 4 is $117,914,800. 
For SPY 2009, the funding for pool 4 is $128,427,000. 
For SPY 2010, the funding for pool 4 is $132,596,900. 
For SPY 2011, the funding for pool 4 is $128,637,400. 
For SPY 2012, the funding for pool 4 is $119,784,246 
For SPY 2013, the funding for pool 4 is $118,352,300 

  
  
  

 
 
For SPY 2009, any excess DSH funding in pool 4 not allocated due to OBRA limits may be 
reallocated and distributed to DSH-qualifying hospitals in pools 1, 1A, 2, 2A or 3 until 
September 30, 2011.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the distribution of any pool 4 
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reallocated DSH funds.   
 
For SPY 2010, funding will be reallocated first to pools 1, 1A, 2, 2A, and 3, should the State 
make available matching funds.  This reallocation to the pools will be based proportionately on 
the SPY 2009 pool allocations.  For each pool, the distribution of the reallocated DSH funding to 
the hospitals within the pool will be based on each hospital's 2010 relative weights as described 
in the "Determination of Payment Amounts" section of this Attachment D. SPY 2010 payments 
made from reallocated funds will be added to the hospital’s original SPY 2010 payments with 
the total SPY payments subject to each hospital’s OBRA limit. For SPY 2010, any excess DSH 
funding in pool 4 not allocated due to OBRA limits may be reallocated to DSH pools 1, 1A, 2, 
2A, 3, and 5 until September 30, 2012.  A determination will be made by June 30, 2012, by the 
Administration if any reallocation will occur.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the 
distribution of any pool 4 reallocated DSH funds.   
 
For SPY 2011, funding will be reallocated first to pools 1, 1A, 2, and 2A should the State make 
available matching funds.  This reallocation to the pools will be based proportionately on the 
SPY 2011 pool allocation  For each pool, the distribution of the reallocated DSH funding to the 
hospitals within the pool will be based on each hospital's 2011 relative weights as described in 
the "Determination of Payment Amounts" section of this Attachment D. SPY 2011 payments 
made from reallocated funds will be added to the hospital’s original SPY 2011 payments with 
the total SPY payments subject to each hospital’s OBRA limit.  For SPY 2011, any excess DSH 
funding in pool 4 not allocated due to OBRA limits may be reallocated to DSH pools 1, 1A, 2, 
2A, and 5 until September 30, 2013.  A determination will be made by June 30, 2013, by the 
Administration if any reallocation will occur.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the 
distribution of any pool 4 reallocated DSH funds. 
 
For SPY 2012, funding will be reallocated first to pools 1, 1A, 2, and 2A should the State make 
available matching funds.  This reallocation to the pools will be based proportionately on the 
SPY 2012 pool allocation  For each pool, the distribution of the reallocated DSH funding to the 
hospitals within the pool will be based on each hospital's 2012 relative weights as described in 
the "Determination of Payment Amounts" section of this Attachment D. SPY 2012 payments 
made from reallocated funds will be added to the hospital’s original SPY 2012 payments with 
the total SPY payments subject to each hospital’s OBRA limit.  For SPY 2012, any excess DSH 
funding in pool 4 not allocated due to OBRA limits may be reallocated to DSH pools 1, 1A, 2, 
2A, and 5 until September 30, 2014.  A determination will be made by June 30, 2014, by the 
Administration if any reallocation will occur.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the 
distribution of any pool 4 reallocated DSH funds.   
 
For SPY 2013, funding will be reallocated first to pools 1, 1A, 2, and 2A should the State make 
available matching funds.  This reallocation to the pools will be based proportionately on the 
SPY 2013 pool allocation  For each pool, the distribution of the reallocated DSH funding to the 
hospitals within the pool will be based on each hospital's 2013 relative weights as described in 
the "Determination of Payment Amounts" section of this Attachment D. SPY 2013 payments 
made from reallocated funds will be added to the hospital’s original SPY 2013 payments with 
the total SPY payments subject to each hospital’s OBRA limit.  For SPY 2013, any excess DSH 
funding in pool 4 not allocated due to OBRA limits may be reallocated to DSH pools 1, 1A, 2, 
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2A, and 5 until September 30, 2015.  A determination will be made by June 30, 2015, by the 
Administration if any reallocation will occur.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the 
distribution of any pool 4 reallocated DSH funds.   
 
Additionally, for SPY 2010 forward, any remaining excess funding may be reallocated to pool 5. 
Additional DSH payments from Pool 5 are funded by transfers per IGAs. If more than one 
hospital has available voluntary match, the reallocation will be allocated based proportionately 
according to the hospital’s LOM scores, subject to the lower of each hospital’s remaining OBRA 
limit or the total computable matching fund amount designated for each hospital per the 
applicable IGA.  AHCCCS shall notify CMS prior to the distribution of any pool 4 reallocated 
DSH funds.  Any additional payments will be limited to a hospital’s overall OBRA limit. 
 
Pool 5 – Voluntary Intergovernmental Agreements 
The funding for pool 5 will be provided through voluntary intergovernmental transfers to 
hospitals designated by political subdivisions, universities, and tribal governments.  Political 
subdivisions, public universities, and tribal governments will notify AHCCCS of the hospitals 
that will be designated to receive funds and of the amount of matching funds that will be 
available through their intergovernmental agreements (IGAs).  AHCCCS will provide CMS with 
a list of designated pool 5 hospitals as soon as it becomes available.   
   
 For SPY 2010, the funding for pool 5 is $26,000,000 

For SPY 2011, the funding for Pool 5 is $16,000,000. 
For SPY 2012, the funding for Pool 5 is $25,000,000. 
For SPY 2013, the funding for Pool 5 is $ is $34,178,795. 

  
Upon reconciliation, the non-federal portion of any Pool 5 funds that has to be recouped due to 
changes in hospital qualification or payment limits will be returned to the local match entity. The 
resulting federal funds will be returned to CMS.  
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[To Be Placed on Public Hospital Letter Head] 

 
 
 
State Plan Year                    □  Initial 

 □  Final 
 

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PAYMENT 

 
 

As the of Maricopa Medical Center, I certify that: 
 
 

 Maricopa Medical Center has expended local funds in an amount equal to the OBRA 
Limit(s) indicated below. 
 
 The local funds were not obligated to match other federal funds for any federal 
program and these funds are not federal funds. 
 
 The attached Maricopa Medical Center OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule is true, 
accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief and the information 
presented thereon is either identified and supported in the Hospital's accounting system, 
has been supplied to me by AHCCCS, or is supported by the attached documentation.  I 
understand that the information presented on the Schedule is subject to audit. 
 
 Maricopa Medical Center and I understand that the Disproportionate Share Hospital 
Payment received by the hospital will be from Federal funds, that any overpayment of 
those funds to the hospital will be recovered by AHCCCS, and that any falsification or 
concealment of a material fact made to receive payment of those funds may be 
prosecuted under Federal and/or State laws. 
 

 
The estimated OBRA Limit Calculation for State Plan Year            is $                        . 
 
(Another line to certify a finalized amount will be added in the future) 
 
______________________________ ________________________ 
Signature of CEO or CFO  Printed Name 
 
______________________________ ________________________ 
Title  Date 
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[To Be Placed on Public Hospital Letter Head] 

 
 
 
State Plan Year     2008               □  Initial 

□  Final 
 
 

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 
DISPROPORTIONATE SHARE HOSPITAL PAYMENT 

 
 

As the of Arizona State Hospital, I certify that: 
 
 

 Arizona State Hospital has expended State funds in an amount equal to the OBRA 
Limit(s) indicated below. 
 
 The State funds were not obligated to match other federal funds for any federal 
program and these funds are not federal funds. 
 
 The attached Arizona State Hospital OBRA Limit and CPE Schedule is true, accurate 
and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief and the information presented 
thereon is either identified and supported in the Hospital's accounting system, has been 
supplied to me by AHCCCS, or is supported by the attached documentation.  I 
understand that the information presented on the Schedule is subject to audit. 
 
 Arizona State Hospital and I understand that the Disproportionate Share Hospital 
Payment received by the hospital will be from Federal funds, that any overpayment of 
those funds to the hospital will be recovered by AHCCCS, and that any falsification or 
concealment of a material fact made to receive payment of those funds may be 
prosecuted under Federal and/or State laws. 
 

 
The estimated OBRA Limit Calculation for State Plan Year            is $                        . 
 
(Another line to certify a finalized amount will be added in the future) 
 
______________________________ ________________________ 
Signature of CEO or CFO   Printed Name 
 
______________________________ ________________________ 
Title  Date 
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Spreadsheets – Excel Files  
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Attachment E 

 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
Disabled and Elderly Health Programs Group 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850 
 
Center for Medicaid and State Operations 

Letter Summary 

This letter clarifies some methods by which HCBS waivers under section 1915(c) may aid in the 
transitioning of individuals from institutional settings to their own home in the community through 
coverage of one-time transitional expenses. This clarification was promised in the HHS New 
Freedom Report to the President.  

__________________________________________________________________________ 
           SMDL #02-008  

May 9, 2002  

Dear State Medicaid Director:  

Medicaid home and community-based services (HCBS) waivers are the statutory alternative to 
institutional care. Many states have found in HCBS waivers a cost-effective means to implement a 
comprehensive plan to provide services in the most integrated setting appropriate to the needs of 
individuals with disabilities.  

However, individuals seeking a return to the community from institutions are faced with many 
one-time expenses, and many states are unclear about the extent to which waivers cover 
transition costs. Examples of those expenses include the cost of furnishing an apartment, the 
expense of security deposits, utility set-up fees, etc. Other states have expressed interest in 
having the waivers pay for apartment/housing rent. This letter is designed to answer such 
questions.  

Federal funding under Medicaid HCBS waivers is not available to cover the cost of rent. States 
may offset rental expenses from state-only funds that augment federal HCBS resources, but 
federal financial participation (FFP) for such a purpose is not available for any apartment/housing 
rental expenses.  

As the HHS Report for the President’s New Freedom Initiative stated, however, states may secure 
federal matching funds under HCBS waivers for one-time, set-up expenses for individuals who 
make the transition from an institution to their own home or apartment in the community, such as 
security deposits, that do not constitute payment for housing rent.  
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Page 2 – State Medicaid Director  

States may pay the reasonable costs of community transition services, including some or all of the 
following components:  

• Security deposits that are required to obtain a lease on an apartment or home;  
• Essential furnishings and moving expenses required to occupy and use a community domicile;  
• Set-up fees or deposits for utility or service access (e.g. telephone, electricity, heating);  
• Health and safety assurances, such as pest eradication, allergen control or one-time cleaning prior 

to occupancy.  

By reasonable costs, we mean necessary expenses in the judgment of the state for an individual to 
establish his or her basic living arrangement. For example, essential furnishings in the above context 
would refer to necessary items for an individual to establish his or her basic living arrangement, such 
a bed, a table, chairs, window blinds, eating utensils, and food preparation items. We would not 
consider essential furnishings to include diversional or recreational items such as televisions, cable 
TV access or VCRs.  

States that choose to include community transition services in their HCBS waivers must 
demonstrate that this service, in combination with other services furnished under the waiver, would 
be cost-neutral to the Medicaid program. (In the streamlined HCBS waiver format, this cost 
neutrality is demonstrated in appendix G.) To be eligible for FFP, the service must be included in 
the individual’s written plan of care (service plan) and fit within the service definitions established 
by the state.  

For more than three years CMS has awarded “Nursing Facility Transition Grants” to states in 
which transition costs have been paid from grant funds. Those states found that coverage of 
transition expenses has been manageable, cost-effective and has greatly facilitated the expeditious 
integration of individuals into their communities from prior institutional living arrangements. 
Contacts and other relevant information about those states may be found on the CMS website.  

Any questions concerning this letter may be referred to Mary Jean Duckett at (410) 786-3294.  

Sincerely, 

 /s/  

Dennis G. Smith 
Director  
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Page 3 – State Medicaid Director  

cc:  
 
CMS Regional Administrators  
CMS Associate Regional Administrators 

for Medicaid and State Operations 
 
Lee Partridge 
Director, Health Policy Unit 
American Public Human Services Association 
 
Joy Wilson 
Director, Health Committee 
National Conference of State Legislatures 
 
Matt Salo 
Director of Health Legislation 
National Governors Association 
 
Brent Ewig 
Senior Director, Access Policy 
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials 
 
Jim Frogue 
Acting Director, Health and Human Services Task Force  
American Legislative Exchange Council 
 
Trudi Matthews 
Senior Health Policy Analyst 
Council of State Governments 
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Attachment F 

REIMBURSEMENT FOR CRITICAL ACCESS HOSPITALS 
 
Subject to the availability of state funds, beginning May 1, 2002, supplemental payments will 
be made to non-I.H.S., non-638 facility in-state hospitals, certified by Medicare as Critical 
Access Hospitals (CAHs) under 42 CFR 485, Subpart F and 42CFR 440.170(g). These 
supplemental CAH payments shall be made in addition to the other payments described in 
Attachments 4.19-A (inpatient hospital) and 4.19-B (outpatient hospital). Supplemental 
payments shall be made based on each CAH designated hospital’s percentage of total inpatient 
and outpatient Title XIX reimbursement paid relative to other CAH designated hospitals for the 
time period from July 1 through June 30 of the previous year. 
 
AHCCCS will allocate the amount available through legislative appropriation in the following 
manner: 
 
(1) Gather all adjudicated claims/encounters with dates of service from July 1 through June 30 of 
the prior year for each CAH-designated hospital. 
 
(2) Sum the AHCCCS payments for inpatient and outpatient services for the year to establish a 
hospital-specific hospital paid amount. 
 
(3) Total all AHCCCS payments for inpatient and outpatient services for the year to establish a 
total paid amount. 
 
(4) Divide the hospital paid amount by the total paid amount to establish the hospital's utilization 
percentage. 
 
(5) Divide the annual CAH appropriation by twelve to get the monthly CAH allocation. 
 
(6) Multiply each hospital’s monthly relative utilization by the monthly CAH allocation to 
establish each hospital's monthly payment. 
 
Funding will be distributed based on the number of CAH-designated hospitals in each month and 
their Medicaid utilization. Because there may be a different number of CAH-designated hospitals 
each month, the hospital-specific weightings and payments may fluctuate from month to month. 
The calculations will be computed monthly and the distribution of the CAH dollars to the CAH-
designated hospitals will be made twice a year. 
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Attachment G 

AACP Acute Care and Behavioral Health Services 
 

The following chart summarizes the services available to expansion populations covered under 
the Demonstration.  It is not intended to be a detailed or comprehensive statement of benefit 
coverage.  Except as specifically noted in the chart or elsewhere in the List of Waivers, CNOM's, 
and/or the Special Terms and Conditions, the scope of services for the expansion populations are 
as set forth in the Arizona State Plan. 

Benefit Title XIX Title XXI 
Age < 21 yrs > 21 yrs < 19 yrs 

Inpatient Hospital Services  X X X 
Outpatient Hospital Services and Rural Health Clinic Services  X X X 
Other Lab and X-ray Services  X X X 
Nursing Facility Services for Individuals 21 age or older other 
than services in an institution for mental disease  

X X X 

EPSDT- medical services and other services covered by Title XXI X  X 
Family Planning Services and Supplies X X  
Physician Services  X X X 
Medical and surgical services of a dentist  X X X 
Medical or other remedial care provided by licensed practitioners   X X X 
Home Health Services   X X X 
Private Duty Nursing Services   X X X 
Clinic Services  X X X 
Dental Services   X X X 
Physical Therapy  and Related Services  X X X 
Occupational Therapy   X X X 
Services for individuals with speech hearing and language 
disorders   

X X X 

Prescribed Drugs  X X X 
Prosthetic Devices  X X X 
Eyeglasses  X X X 
Diagnostic Services  X X X 
Screening Services  X X X 
Preventive Services  X X X 
Rehabilitative services     
Inpatient hospital services, nursing facility services and 
intermediate care facility services for individuals age 65 or older 
in institutions for mental disease  

X X X 

Inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals under 21 
years of age   

X  X 

Nurse mid-wife services   X X X 
Hospice Care  X  
Case Management and Tuberculosis related services   X X X 
Respiratory care services   X X X 
Certified Pediatric or family nurse practitioners’ services  X X X 
Transportation  X X X 
Services of nurses in Religious Non-Medical Health Care 
Institutions  

X X X 

Nursing facility services for patients under 21 years of age   X  X 
Emergency hospital services   X X X 
Personal Care Services X X X 
Behavioral Health See Table 2 in STC #17 
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Attachment H 

KidsCare II Operational Protocol 
 
The following protocol provides operational specifics with respect to the opening of the 
KidsCare II program.   
 
Eligibility 
Children who were on the KidsCare waiting list and have income at or below 200 percent of the 
FPL, are not otherwise eligible for Medicaid, and meet all other requirements for the KidsCare II 
program are eligible for the KidsCare II program, based on available funding. Children who are 
on the KidsCare waiting list must pay  outstanding KidsCare premiums before they can enroll 
into the KidsCare II program. In addition, children age 6 with income at or below 200 percent of 
the FPL who were Medicaid beneficiaries but who no longer qualify for Medicaid, will 
automatically be transferred to the KidsCare II program, if eligible. 
 
Enrollment Process 
 
Notices will be sent to households on the waiting list in the order in which they joined the 
waiting list, starting with the children who have been on the waiting list the longest.  Households 
will have 30 days to respond and apply for KidsCare II.  If a household does not respond within 
that 30 day period, it will be removed from the waiting list.  However, households who respond 
after the 30 day response period has ended will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis if enrollment 
slots are still available. Notices will direct people to apply through Health-e-Arizona, the online 
application.  The notices will provide locations and contact information for community assistors, 
including Health-e-Arizona subscriber sites and other community groups engaged in the 
statewide outreach effort.  The notices will also include the telephone numbers for the Pima 
County Access Program (PCAP) hotline. Technical assistance will be available to households 
who request it.   
 
AHCCCS will mail notices to 20,000 households in two initial phases of 10,000 mailings each, 
one week apart.  In addition to the notices, AHCCCS will also use email addresses it has on file 
as another mechanism to contact households on the waiting list notifying them that they can 
apply for KidsCare II.  The timing of these emails will correspond to the date when the notices 
described above are mailed. 
 
In the event that less than 5,000 applications have been received for KidsCare II after the first 
two mailings, AHCCCS will have the next batch of notices to 20,000 households ready to go 
within two weeks after the date of the first mailing as an “on-deck” approach.  AHCCCS will 
also ensure that the corresponding group of emails is also ready to be sent in tandem with the 
regular mail notices.  AHCCCS will, on a weekly basis, monitor the caseload size/take-up rate, 
and adjust the size and timing of future mailings accordingly.  The size and frequency of future 
mailings (e.g., lower to 5,000 or maintain at 20,000) will be based on actual application return 
rate, approval rate, and attrition.  Should enrollment in KidsCare II drop below 15,000 children, 
AHCCCS will prepare additional mailings and utilize the same approach as described above.  
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Once a household has applied for the KidsCare II program through the Health-e-Arizona system, 
applications will be routed to the Department of Economic Security (DES) for Medicaid and 
KidsCare II determination.  These applications will, in turn, be routed directly to a centralized 
office for Health-e-Arizona for processing.  DES also has its own customer support line where 
KidsCare II applicants can call to determine the status of their application, but DES will refer 
applicants to the AHCCCS call center in order to receive information with respect to whether 
they are on the KidsCare waiting list, and if they are included in one of the “active” notice 
batches, i.e., the caller will be able to inquire if AHCCCS had sent them a notice informing them 
that they are eligible to apply for the KidsCare II program. 
 
For Kids Care II enrollment funded by the City of Phoenix High Uncompensated Care Hospitals, 
AHCCCS will first notify any families remaining on the KidsCare wait list that may not have 
previously been eligible for KidsCare II as their income may have exceeded 175 percent of the 
FPL, the upper income limit established when KidsCare II opened.  Once all families on the 
KidsCare wait list have been notified, following the procedures set forth in this Attachment, the 
state will open KidsCare II enrollment to the public and conduct stakeholder outreach, as well as 
continue its partnership with the third party hotline described below. 
 
 
AHCCCS/DES will conduct specialized training for Health-e-Arizona staff, the State-operated 
customer service staff, and AHCCCS Office of the Client Advocate to ensure appropriate 
understanding of the KidsCare II program so that staff can more effectively assist beneficiary 
and applicant inquiries. 
 
Community Outreach 
 
Letters will be sent to Health-e-Arizona subscribers (representing about 220 community groups 
and facilities statewide) to educate about the new KidsCare II program.  Once CMS approval is 
obtained, special training will be conducted for Health-e-Arizona subscribers, and additional 
training will be provided to the public through an AHCCCS Community Forum. Information 
regarding eligibility and process of the KidsCare II program will be posted to the AHCCCS 
website. 
 
A third-party hotline will be established by PCAP that will operate during extended business 
hours during the week for a limited period.   The hotline will work in coordination with 
AHCCCS to provide information about the KidsCare II waitlist to families.    AHCCCS will 
provide PCAP access to the KidsCare waiting list as well as information on the children that 
have been sent notices to apply for the KidsCare II program in a manner that ensures the 
protection of hotline callers’ and waitlist families’ personal information. 
 
For the KidsCare II expansion funded by the City of Phoenix High Uncompensated Care 
Hospitals, letters will be sent to Health-e-Arizona subscribers (representing about 220 community 
groups and facilities statewide) to educate about the expanded enrollment in the KidsCare II 
program. Once CMS approval is obtained, special training will be conducted for Health-e-
Arizona subscribers, and additional training will be provided to the public through an AHCCCS 
Community Forum.  Information regarding eligibility and process of the expanded KidsCare II 
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program will be posted to the AHCCCS website. 
 
  

Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

151 



 

 
Attachment I 

Safety Net Care Pool Claiming Protocol 
 
In accordance with the Special Terms and Conditions (STC) Section VI, this Attachment I serves 
as the claiming protocol for Arizona's Safety Net Care Pool (SNCP) uncompensated care 
payments.  The protocol provides for the computation of the uncompensated care cost limit for 
each provider type that is authorized to receive uncompensated care payments in accordance 
with Section VI and identified in Attachment J.  For each Demonstration Year (DY), aggregate 
uncompensated care payments will be a distribution of the SNCP pool established in Section VI 
for each DY, and payments to each individual provider cannot exceed the uncompensated care 
cost limit as determined by this cost claiming protocol for each DY. 
 
Generally, the uncompensated care cost limit is determined based on each provider's 
uncompensated costs pertaining to Section 1905(a) medical services furnished to Medicaid 
eligible and uninsured individuals.  Allowable patient care costs, consistent with Medicare and 
Medicaid cost principles and OMB Circular A-87, A-121, and A-122 where applicable, are 
identified using a CMS-approved cost report.  Such costs are apportioned to the eligible 
Medicaid and uninsured services and then offset by all applicable revenues.  SNCP payments 
made based on interim computation of the uncompensated care cost limit (using prior period cost 
data) must be subsequently reconciled to a recomputation of the uncompensated care costs using 
the provider's as-filed and audited cost reports for the actual service period covered by the DY.  
 
If a provider is eligible under both section A, B and/or C (Safety Net Hospital Systems) and 
under section D (City of Phoenix Hospitals) of Attachment J, payments to the provider will first 
be credited against the Phoenix Hospital Limit described in STC Paragraph 25(c), and any 
remaining eligible uncompensated costs for that provider will be credited against the Safety Net 
Hospital System Limit described in STC Paragraph 25(c).  Under no circumstances will total 
SNCP payments to any provider, including payments credited against the Phoenix Hospital Limit 
and the Safety Net Hospital Limit as well as any disproportionate share hospital payments or 
other supplemental payments, exceed the provider’s uncompensated costs, as described in STC 
Paragraph 25(a) and in this Attachment I. In the instance that a provider first receives an 
allocation from the Phoenix Hospital Limit pool, the prior period uncompensated care cost data 
used as the allocation basis from the Safety Net Hospital System Limit pool will be that 
provider's prior period uncompensated care cost reduced by the Phoenix Hospital Limit pool 
distribution already made to the provider.  
 
Additionally, this Attachment also provides for the claiming protocol for Arizona Designated 
State Health Program (DSHP) approved for federal matching in accordance with STC Section 
VI. 
  
Hospital Inpatient and Outpatient Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
To be eligible for Federal financial participation (FFP), SNCP uncompensated care payments to 
each individual hospital cannot exceed the uncompensated care costs as computed by the 
following steps:  
 
Demonstration Approval Period:  October 1, 2011 through September 30, 2016 
Amended April 2013 
 

152 



 

 
Interim Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
SNCP uncompensated care payments will be made to eligible providers and claimed for FFP in 
quarterly installments per DY (beginning with DY 2 for City of Phoenix hospitals).  Each DY’s 
SNCP will be distributed based on the provider’s proportionate share of projected 
uncompensated care among all hospitals subject to the same Limit (either the Safety Net Hospital 
System Limit or the Phoenix Hospital Limit), to the extent that sufficient local matching funds 
are available.   This interim computation of uncompensated care costs will be used as the basis 
for SNCP distribution and will also serve as the uncompensated care cost limit for SNCP 
payments made to the provider in each demonstration year. 
 
1. The process of determining the hospital's interim uncompensated care cost limit begins 
with the use of each hospital's CMS 2552(s) filed with its Medicare contractor.  For hospitals 
eligible pursuant to Section A of Attachment J, the most recent CMS 2552 filed the with 
hospital’s Medicare contractor will be utilized. For hospitals eligible pursuant to Section D of 
Attachment J, any 2552s that overlap the base state fiscal year will be prorated based on the 
overlapping dates and utilized.  The base state fiscal year is 2010. 
 
2. Per diem amount for each hospital routine cost center is computed by dividing: 

- The individual amounts on Worksheet B, Part I, Column 25, Lines (and where 
applicable subscripted lines) 25 to 33 of CMS 2552-96 or Worksheet B, Part I, Column 
24, Lines (and where applicable subscripted lines) 30-43 of CMS 2552-10 

  - by 
- For hospitals eligible pursuant to Section A of Attachment J, the corresponding 
day totals on Lines (and where applicable subscripted lines) 5 through 11 and Line 14 
(for inpatient hospital subproviders) from Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 6 of CMS 
2552-96 or Lines 7 through 13 and Lines 16-18 (for inpatient hospital subproviders) from 
Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 8 of CMS 2552-10 consistent with the instructions below 
regarding observation bed days. For hospitals eligible pursuant to Section D of 
Attachment J, the corresponding day totals on Lines (and where applicable subscripted 
lines) 38 through 47 from Worksheet D-1, Part II. The days from Worksheet D-1 should 
equal to the days reported on Worksheet S-3 for each routine cost center, except that the 
Adults & Pediatrics days are adjusted for inclusion of observation bed days. 

 
Note when computing the Adults and Pediatrics (General Routine Care) per diem, the amount on 
Worksheet B, Part I, Column 24, Line 25 of CMS 2552-96 (Worksheet B, Part I, Column 25, 
Line 30 of CMS 2552-10) should have deducted the amounts appearing on Worksheet D-1, Part 
I, Lines 26 and 36 (for swing bed and private room differential adjustments, respectively) of 
CMS 2552-96 and CMS 2552-10, and the amount on Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 6, Line 5 of 
CMS 2552-96 (Worksheet S-3, Part I, Column 8, Line 7 of CMS 2552-10) should have added 
the amount appearing on Line 26 (observation bed days) of CMS 2552-96 (Line 28 of CMS 
2552-10). 
 
Ancillary ratio of cost-to-charges (RCC) for each hospital ancillary cost center is computed by 
dividing: 
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- The individual line and subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63, taken 
from Worksheet B, Part I, Column 25 of CMS 2552-96 or the individual line and 
subscript amounts for each of the Lines 50 to 93, taken from Worksheet B, Part I, 
Column 24 of CMS 2552-10. 
- by 
- The individual line and subscript amounts for each of the Lines 37 to 63, taken 
from Worksheet C, Part I, Column 8 of CMS 2552-96 or the individual line and subscript 
amounts for each of the Lines 50 to 93, taken from Worksheet C, Part I, Column 8 of 
CMS 2552-10. 
 
(Note that the above cost report references are based on the CMS-2552-96 and CMS 
2552-10.  For later versions of the CMS-2552, the equivalent worksheets, columns and 
lines should be identified.) 

 
3. For each hospital routine cost center, the per diem amount computed in Step #2 is applied 
to the number of Medicaid and uninsured hospital inpatient days for the service period as defined 
in Step #1.  Only hospital inpatient days are to be included; all days pertaining to long term care 
units or any other non-hospital units must be excluded.  The number of Medicaid and uninsured 
hospital inpatient days must be derived from auditable sources, including the State's PMMIS, 
managed care encounter data, and provider patient accounting records.  Hospital Medicaid and 
uninsured days are identified for each hospital routine cost center.  The result is the facility's 
Medicaid and uninsured hospital routine cost. 
 
For each hospital ancillary cost center, the RCC computed in Step #2 is applied to the Medicaid 
and uninsured hospital inpatient and hospital outpatient ancillary charges for the service period 
as defined in Step #1.  Only hospital ancillary charges are to be included; all charges pertaining 
to non-hospital units, including Rural Health Clinics, Federally Qualified Health Centers, and 
clinics that are not recognized as hospital outpatient departments, must be excluded.  The 
Medicaid and uninsured hospital ancillary charges must be derived from auditable sources, 
including the State's PMMIS, managed care encounter data, and provider patient accounting 
records.  Hospital Medicaid and uninsured ancillary charges are identified for each hospital 
ancillary cost center.  The result is the facility's Medicaid and uninsured hospital inpatient and 
hospital outpatient ancillary cost. 
 
4. The Medicaid and uninsured costs computed in Step #3 will be offset by all revenues 
received by the hospital for the Medicaid and uninsured hospital inpatient and hospital outpatient 
services, including but not limited to Medicaid FFS and supplemental payments made by 
AHCCCS; Medicaid payments made by health plans and program contractors; payments made 
by or on behalf of patients; payments made by third parties; and any other payments received by 
for uninsured services that are not excluded from offset under Section 1923(g)(1)(A) of the 
Social Security Act as State-only or local-only indigent care program payments.  
 
5. The computed Medicaid and uninsured uncompensated care costs based on a prior period 
may be inflated to the current period using CMS market basket.  Furthermore, the State may 
apply trending factors to account for changes in utilization (e.g., due to changes in Medicaid 
eligibility criteria) and Medicaid payment rates to ensure that interim uncompensated care costs 
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approximate final uncompensated care costs for the current service period as closely as possible.  
Such trending factors must account for both increases and decreases affecting a provider's 
uncompensated care costs. 
 
6. The hospital's Medicaid and uninsured costs must be further adjusted to remove costs 
related to non-emergency services furnished to unqualified aliens.  For this purpose, the 
hospital's uncompensated care costs will be reduced by 12.88% to the extent that such 
unqualified alien non-emergency service costs are not fully reimbursed by DSH dollars. 
 
7. For any Phoenix High Uncompensated Care Hospital with a hospital-based inpatient 
facility located outside of Phoenix, the hospital’s Medicaid and uninsured costs will be further 
adjusted to remove costs related to the non-Phoenix facility.  For this purpose, the costs will be 
adjusted by an estimate of the percentage of costs related to the Phoenix facility.  This 
percentage will be calculated as the ratio of Medicaid revenues of the Phoenix facility to total 
Medicaid revenues for the Phoenix and non-Phoenix facilities. 
 
8. For SNCP uncompensated care payments, the State must ensure that the payments made 
to hospitals are accounted for in the facility's disproportionate share hospital (DSH) OBRA 93 
hospital-specific limit.  There cannot be any duplication of payments for the same hospital 
uncompensated care costs under the SNCP and under DSH.   
 
9. For hospitals eligible pursuant to Section A of Attachment J (Safety Net Hospital 
Systems), the interim computation of hospital uncompensated care cost limit as described above 
uses the same prior period cost report and other relevant data as that used by the State in its 
initial OBRA 93 hospital-specific limit computation for DSH payments for the current DSH 
State Plan Rate Year. For hospitals eligible pursuant to Section D of Attachment J (City of 
Phoenix Hospitals), the interim computation of hospital uncompensated care cost limit as 
described above uses cost reports that overlap the base state fiscal year of 2010. 
 
 Interim Reconciliation 
  
Each hospital's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed based on the hospital's as-filed 
cost report for the actual service period.  The cost report is filed with the Medicare contractor 
five months after the close of the cost reporting period.  SNCP uncompensated care payments 
made to the hospital for a DY cannot exceed the recomputed uncompensated care cost limit.  If, 
at the end of the interim reconciliation process, it is determined that expenditures claimed 
exceeded the individual hospital's uncompensated care cost limit, the overpayment will be 
recouped from the hospital, and the federal share will be properly credited to the federal 
government. 
   
The interim reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that the per diems and RCCs, Medicaid 
and uninsured days and charges, and payment offset amounts used will pertain to the actual 
service period (rather than the prior period).  Per diems and RCCs will be derived from the as-
filed cost report; and Medicaid and uninsured days, charges and payments will be derived from 
the latest available auditable data for the service period.  No trending factor will be applied.  The 
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uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove costs related to non-emergency 
services furnished to unqualified aliens.  The State must ensure that there is no duplication of 
payments for the same hospital uncompensated care costs under the SNCP and under DSH; 
SNCP payments must be accounted for in the hospital's OBRA 93 hospital-specific limit. 
 
A hospital's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the twelve month period in each DY 
(beginning with DY 2 for City of Phoenix hospitals eligible pursuant to Section D of Attachment 
J), except for DY 3 in which the uncompensated care cost limit is computed for the three month 
period ending December 31, 2013.  Where a hospital's cost reporting period does not coincide 
with the DY (or partial DY in DY3), the uncompensated care costs computed for a cost reporting 
period can be allocated to the DY (or partial DY) based on the number of cost reporting months 
that overlap with the DY (or partial DY).  This is consistent with the methodology for the 
computation of the OBRA 93 hospital-specific limit for a given DSH State plan rate year.  
 
The interim reconciliation described above will be performed and completed within six months 
after the filing of the hospital Medicare cost report(s).   
 
Final Reconciliation 
  
Each hospital's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed based on the hospital's audited 
cost report for the actual service period.  The cost report is audited and settled by the Medicare 
contractor to determine final allowable costs and reimbursement amounts as recognized by 
Medicare.  SNCP uncompensated care payments made to the hospital for a DY cannot exceed 
the recomputed uncompensated care cost limit.  If, at the end of the final reconciliation process, 
it is determined that expenditures claimed exceeded the individual hospital's uncompensated care 
cost limit, the overpayment will be recouped from the hospital, and the federal share will be 
properly credited to the federal government. 
   
The final reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that the per diems and RCCs, Medicaid 
and uninsured days and charges, and payment offset amounts used will pertain to the actual 
service period (rather than the prior period).  Per diems and RCCS will be derived from the 
audited cost report, and Medicaid and uninsured days, charges and payments will be updated 
with the latest available auditable data for the service period.  No trending factor will be applied.  
The uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove costs related to non-emergency 
services furnished to unqualified aliens.  The State must ensure that there is no duplication of 
payments for the same hospital uncompensated care costs under the SNCP and under DSH; 
SNCP payments must be accounted for in the hospital's OBRA 93 hospital-specific limit. 
 
A hospital's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the twelve month period in each DY 
(beginning with DY 2 for City of Phoenix hospitals), except for DY 3 in which the 
uncompensated care cost limit is computed for the three month period ending December 31, 
2013.  Where a hospital's cost reporting period does not coincide with the DY (or partial DY in 
DY3), the uncompensated care costs computed for a cost reporting period can be allocated to the 
DY (or partial DY) based on the number of cost reporting months that overlap with the DY (or 
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partial DY).  This is consistent with the methodology for the computation of the OBRA 93 
hospital-specific limit for a given DSH State plan rate year.  
 
The final reconciliation described above will be performed and completed within six months 
after the audited hospital Medicare cost report(s) are made available.   
 
The final computation of hospital uncompensated care cost limit as described above uses the 
same final cost report and other relevant data as that used by the State in its final OBRA 93 
hospital-specific limit computation for DSH payments for the given DSH State Plan Rate Year. 
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Federally Qualified Health Center Lookalike (FQHC-LA) Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
To be eligible for Federal financial participation (FFP), SNCP uncompensated care payments to 
each individual FQHC-LA cannot exceed the uncompensated care cost limit as computed by the 
following steps:  
 
Interim Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
SNCP uncompensated care payments will be made to eligible providers and claimed for FFP in 
quarterly installments per DY.  Each DY’s SNCP will be distributed based on the provider’s 
proportionate share of projected uncompensated care, to the extent that sufficient local matching 
funds are available.   This interim computation of uncompensated care costs will be used as the 
basis for SNCP distribution and will also serve as the uncompensated care cost limit for SNCP 
payments made to the provider in each demonstration year. 
 
1. The process of determining the FQHC-LA's interim uncompensated care cost limit begins 
with the use of each clinic's most recently available average cost per visit used for Medicaid 
reimbursement, as computed under the FQHC Alternative Payment Methodology in the Arizona 
State plan Attachment 4.19-B. 
 
The average cost per visit is derived from FQHC-LA cost reports filed with AHCCCS.  (The 
State plan provides that this average cost per visit is computed based on costs and visits for two 
consecutive cost reporting periods.)  The State must ensure that the FQHC-LA cost report 
accounts for only allowable costs related to FQHC health care services, including staff and other 
healthcare costs and allocable overhead; removes any costs related to non-FQHC services and 
any overhead allocable to non-reimbursable activities; allows only for costs that are consistent 
with Medicare and Medicaid cost principles and applicable OMB Circulars; and defines a visit 
consistent with the State plan definition of an FQHC visit.      
 
2. The average cost per visit is multiplied by the number of uninsured visits pertaining to 
the most recently available cost reporting period. The number of uninsured FQHC-LA visits 
must be derived from auditable sources.  The result is the facility's uninsured cost. 
 
 Note that for interim computation of uncompensated care costs, Medicaid visits are not 
included, as these Medicaid visits are reimbursed at the average cost per visit being used to 
estimate current period actual cost per visit. 
 
3. The uninsured costs computed in Step #2 will be offset by all revenues received by the 
FQHC-LA for the uninsured services, including but not limited to payments made by or on 
behalf of patients and any other payments received for uninsured services including applicable 
grants.  
 
5. The average cost per visit has already been trended to the current period.  However, the 
State can apply trending factors to account for known changes in uninsured utilization to ensure 
that interim uncompensated care costs approximate final uncompensated care costs for the 
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current service period as closely as possible.  Such trending factors must account for both 
increases and decreases affecting a provider's uncompensated care costs. 
 
6. The FQHC-LA's uninsured costs must be further adjusted to remove costs related to non-
emergency services furnished to unqualified aliens.  For this purpose, the clinic's uncompensated 
care costs will be reduced by 12.88. 
 
 Interim Reconciliation 
  
Each FQHC-LA's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed based on the actual as-filed 
cost report for the actual service period.  The cost report is filed with AHCCCS covering the 
federal fiscal year (ending September 30) by April of the following year.  SNCP uncompensated 
care payments made to the FQHC-LA for a DY cannot exceed the recomputed uncompensated 
care cost limit.  If, at the end of the interim reconciliation process, it is determined that 
expenditures claimed exceeded the individual clinic's uncompensated care cost limit, the 
overpayment will be recouped from the clinic, and the federal share will be properly credited to 
the federal government. 
   
The interim reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that: 
 

- The cost per visit is computed based on allowable FQHC-LA cost and total visits 
pertaining to the actual service period cost report. 

- Both Medicaid visits and uninsured visits furnished during the service period are 
applied to the actual cost per visit to determine the clinic's Medicaid and 
uninsured costs.  Medicaid and uninsured visits must be derived from auditable 
sources, including the State's PMMIS, managed care encounter data, and provider 
patient accounting records. 

- Both Medicaid and uninsured revenues, applicable to actual service period and 
derived from auditable sources, are offset against Medicaid and uninsured costs to 
arrive at the clinic's uncompensated care costs. 

- No trending factor will be applied.   
 
The uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove costs related to non-emergency 
services furnished to unqualified aliens. 
 
An FQHC-LA's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the twelve month period in each 
DY, except for DY 3 in which the uncompensated care cost limit is computed for the three 
month period ending December 31, 2013.  Where a clinic's cost reporting period does not 
coincide with the DY (or partial DY in DY3), the uncompensated care costs computed for a cost 
reporting period can be allocated to the DY (or partial DY) based on the number of cost 
reporting months that overlap with the DY (or partial DY).   
 
The interim reconciliation described above will be performed and completed within six months 
after the filing of the FQHC-LA cost report(s).   
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Final Reconciliation 
  
Each FQHC-LA's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed based on the actual audited 
cost report for the actual service period.  The cost report is audited to ensure costs are allowable 
consistent with Medicare and Medicaid cost principles and applicable OMB Circulars; and that 
FQHC services and visits are recognized consistent with the Medicaid State plan.  SNCP 
uncompensated care payments made to the FQHC-LA for a DY cannot exceed the recomputed 
uncompensated care cost limit.  If, at the end of the final reconciliation process, it is determined 
that expenditures claimed exceeded the individual clinic's uncompensated care cost limit, the 
overpayment will be recouped from the clinic, and the federal share will be properly credited to 
the federal government. 
   
The final reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that: 
 

- The cost per visit is computed based on audited allowable FQHC-LA cost and 
total visits pertaining to the actual service period cost report. 

- Both Medicaid visits and uninsured visits furnished during the service period are 
applied to the audited cost per visit to determine the clinic's Medicaid and 
uninsured costs.  Medicaid and uninsured visits must be derived from the latest 
available auditable sources, including the State's PMMIS, managed care 
encounter data, and provider patient accounting records. 

- Both Medicaid and uninsured revenues, applicable to actual service period and 
derived from the latest available auditable sources, are offset against Medicaid 
and uninsured costs to arrive at the clinic's uncompensated care costs.   

- No trending factor will be applied.   
 
The uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove costs related to non-emergency 
services furnished to unqualified aliens. 
 
An FQHC-LA's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the twelve month period in each 
DY, except for DY 3 in which the uncompensated care cost limit is computed for the three 
month period ending December 31, 2013.  Where a clinic's cost reporting period does not 
coincide with the DY (or partial DY in DY3), the uncompensated care costs computed for a cost 
reporting period can be allocated to the DY (or partial DY) based on the number of cost 
reporting months that overlap with the DY (or partial DY). 
The final reconciliation described above will be performed and completed within eighteen 
months after the filing of FQHC-LA cost report(s).   
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Physician Professional Service Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
To be eligible for Federal financial participation (FFP), SNCP uncompensated care payments to 
each provider cannot exceed the uncompensated care costs as computed by the following steps.  
The eligible providers include hospitals that employ and contract for physician services and incur 
physician professional service costs (whether the professional services are billed by the hospital 
or by the physicians) and physician practice groups that provide physician services in hospital 
and other settings and incur the physician professional service costs directly. 
 
Interim Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs 
 
SNCP uncompensated care payments will be made to eligible providers and claimed for FFP in 
quarterly installments per DY (beginning with DY 2 for City of Phoenix providers eligible 
pursuant to Section D of Attachment J).  Each DY’s SNCP will be distributed based on the 
provider’s proportionate share of projected uncompensated care among all providers subject to 
the same Limit (either the Safety Net Hospital System Limit or the Phoenix Hospital Limit), to 
the extent that sufficient local matching funds are available.   This interim computation of 
uncompensated care costs will be used as the basis for SNCP distribution and will also serve as 
the uncompensated care cost limit for SNCP payments made to the provider in each 
demonstration year. 
 
1. Steps for hospitals incurring physician professional service costs 
 
a. The professional component of physician costs are identified from each hospital’s CMS 
2552 cost report Worksheet A-8-2, Column 4.  For providers eligible pursuant to Section C of 
Attachment J, the most recent CMS 2552 filed the with hospital’s Medicare contractor will be 
utilized.  For providers eligible pursuant to Section D of Attachment J, any 2552s that overlap 
the base state fiscal year will be prorated and utilized. For payments made in DY 2 and DY 3, the 
base state fiscal year is 2010. These professional costs are: 
 
1. Limited to allowable and auditable physician compensations that have been incurred by 
the hospital; 
2. For the professional, direct patient care furnished by the hospital’s physicians;  
3. Identified as professional costs on Worksheet A-8-2, Column 4 of the cost report of the 
hospital claiming payment (or, for registry physicians only, Worksheet A-8, if the physician 
professional compensation cost is not reported by the hospital on Worksheet A-8-2 because the 
registry physicians are contracted solely for direct patient care activities (i.e., no administrative, 
teaching, research, or any other provider component or non-patient care activities). Registry 
physicians are excluded from the cost determination for hospitals eligible for payment pursuant 
to Section D of Attachment J.); 
4. Supported by a time study, accepted by Medicare for Worksheet A-8-2 reporting 
purposes, that identified the professional, direct patient care activities of the physicians (not 
applicable to registry physicians discussed above); and  
5. Removed from hospital costs on Worksheet A-8. 
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b. The professional costs on Worksheet A-8-2, Column 4 (or Worksheet A-8 for registry 
physicians) are subject to further adjustments and offsets, including any necessary adjustment to 
bring the costs in line with Medicare and Medicaid cost principles and applicable OMB 
Circulars. However, Medicare physician reasonable compensation equivalents are not applied for 
physician professional cost determination purposes.  The professional costs are further subject to 
offsets to account for any applicable non-patient care revenues that were not previously offset or 
accounted for by the application of time study.  The resulting costs represent the net allowable 
professional service costs incurred by the hospitals. 
c. Reimbursement for other professional practitioner service costs that have also been 
identified and removed from hospital costs on the Medicare cost report. The practitioner types to 
be included are: 
 
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists 
Nurse Practitioners 
Physician Assistants 
Dentists 
Certified Nurse Midwives 
Clinical Social Workers 
Clinical Psychologists 
Optometrists 
 
d. To the extent these practitioners' professional compensation costs are not included in 
Worksheet A-8-2, Column 4, but are removed from hospital costs through an A-8 adjustment on 
the Medi-Cal cost report, these costs may be recognized if they meet the following criteria:  
 
the practitioners must engage in the direct provision of care in addition to being Medicaid-
qualified practitioners for whom the services are billable under Medicaid separate from hospital 
services; 
for all non physician practitioners there must be an identifiable and auditable data source by 
practitioner type; 
a CMS-approved time study must be employed to allocate practitioner compensation between 
clinical and non-clinical costs; and 
the clinical costs resulting from the CMS-approved time study are subject to further adjustments 
and offsets, including adjustments to bring the costs in line with Medicare cost principles and 
offset of applicable non-patient care revenues that were not previously offset or accounted for by 
the application of CMS-approved time study.   
 
The resulting net clinical non-physician practitioner compensation costs are allowable costs.  The 
compensation costs for each non-physician practitioner type are identified separately. 
 
 
e. Professional costs incurred for freestanding clinics (clinics that are not recognized as 
hospital outpatient departments on the 2552) are not included in this protocol. 
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f. Hospitals eligible for payment pursuant to Section C of Attachment J may additionally 
include physician support staff compensation, data processing, and patient accounting costs as 
physician-related costs to the extent that: 
 
1. These costs are removed from hospital inpatient and outpatient costs because they have 
been specifically identified as costs related to physician professional services; 
2. They are directly identified on ws A-8 as adjustments to hospital costs;  
3. They are otherwise allowable and auditable provider costs; and  
4. They are further adjusted for any non-patient-care activities such as research based on 
physician time studies.   
 
If these are removed as A-8 adjustments to the hospital's general service cost centers, these costs 
should be stepped down to the physician cost centers based on the accumulated physician 
professional compensation costs. Other than the physician and non-physician practitioner 
compensation costs and the A-8 physician-related adjustments discussed above, no other costs 
are allowed.           
 
g. Total billed professional charges by cost center related to physician services are identified 
from auditable provider records. Similarly, for each non-physician practitioner type, the total 
billed professional charges are identified from provider records.   Charges must be identified for 
all professional services for which the hospital incurred its cost (whether salaried or contracted).  
Where the professional services are not billed by the hospital directly, the hospital must obtain 
those professional charges from the billing party. If hospitals eligible for payment pursuant to 
Section D of Attachment J, cannot identify total billed Medicaid and uninsured professional 
charges by cost center related to physician services from auditable provider records, total billed 
departmental charges by cost center are identified from auditable provider records. 
 
h. A physician cost to charge ratio for each cost center is calculated by dividing the total 
costs for each cost center as established in paragraphs a-f of subsection 1 by the total billed 
professional charges for each cost center as established in paragraph g of subsection 1.  For each 
non-physician practitioner type, a cost to charge ratio is calculated by dividing the total costs for 
each practitioner type as established in paragraphs a-f of subsection 1 by the total billed 
professional charges for each practitioner type as established in paragraph g of subsection 1. If 
hospitals eligible for payment pursuant to Section D of Attachment J cannot identify total billed 
Medicaid and uninsured professional charges for each cost center, a physician cost to 
departmental charge ratio for each cost center is calculated by dividing the total costs for each 
cost center as established in paragraphs a-d of subsection 1 by the total departmental charges for 
each cost center as established in paragraph e of subsection 1.  
 
i. The total professional charges for each cost center related to eligible Medicaid and 
uninsured physician services are identified using auditable records.  Hospitals must map the 
charges to their cost centers.  Each charge may only be mapped to one cost center to prevent 
duplicate mapping and claiming. These charges must be associated with services furnished 
during the period defined by paragraph a of subsection 1. For hospitals eligible for payment 
pursuant to Section D of Attachment J, if total professional charges for each cost center related to 
eligible Medicaid and uninsured physician services are unidentifiable using auditable records, 
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total departmental charges for each cost center related to eligible Medicaid and uninsured 
physician services are identified using auditable records.   
 
For each non-physician practitioner type, the eligible Medicaid and uninsured professional 
charges are identified using auditable records.  Hospitals must map the charges to non-physician 
practitioner type. Each charge may only be mapped to one practitioner type to prevent duplicate 
mapping and claiming. These charges must be associated with services furnished during the 
period covered by the latest as-filed cost report.   
 
Auditable records include the State's PMMIS, managed care encounter data, and hospital 
records. 
 
j. The total Medicaid and uninsured costs related to physician practitioner professional 
services are determined for each cost center by multiplying total Medicaid and uninsured charges 
as established in paragraph i of subsection 1 by the respective cost to charge ratio for the cost 
center as established in paragraph h of subsection 1. 
 
For each non-physician practitioner type, the total Medicaid and uninsured costs related to non-
physician practitioner professional services are determined by multiplying total Medicaid and 
uninsured charges as established in paragraph i of subsection 1 by the respective cost to charge 
ratios as established in paragraph h of subsection 1.  
 
 
k. The total Medicaid and uninsured uncompensated care costs are determined by 
subtracting all revenues received for the Medicaid and uninsured physician/practitioner services 
from the Medicaid and uninsured costs as established in paragraph j of subsection 1.  The 
revenues are derived from auditable records.  All revenues received for the Medicaid and 
uninsured professional services will be offset against the computed cost; these revenues include 
but are not limited to all Medicaid payments from the State or its program contractors, payments 
from or on behalf of patients, and payments from any other third party payer.  The total 
professional service uncompensated care costs as computed above should be reduced by 12.88% 
to account for non-emergency care furnished to unqualified aliens.  
 
l. The Medicaid and uninsured physician/practitioner amount computed in paragraph k of 
subsection 1 above can be trended to current period to account for cost inflation based on CMS 
market basket update factor.  Furthermore, the State may apply trending factors to account for 
changes in utilization (e.g., due to changes in Medicaid eligibility criteria) and Medicaid 
payment rates to ensure that interim uncompensated care costs approximate final uncompensated 
care costs for the current service period as closely as possible.  Such trending factors must 
account for both increases and decreases affecting a provider's uncompensated care costs. 
 
2. Steps for physician practice group incurring physician professional service costs 
 
a. The physician compensation costs are identified from the physician practice group's trial 
balance or other auditable financial records and reported on a CMS-approved physician practice 
group cost report for the latest available cost reporting period.  These professional compensation 
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costs are limited to identifiable and auditable costs that have been incurred by the physician 
practice group for the professional patient care furnished in all applicable sites of service, 
including services rendered at non-hospital physician office sites operated by the practice groups 
and at sites not owned or operated by the practice group for which the practice group bills for 
and collects payment. 
 
The physician compensation costs are reduced by National Institute of Health (NIH) grants to the 
extent the research activities component is not removed via physician time studies. 
 
b. On the physician practice group cost report, these physician compensation costs net of 
NIH grants as applicable, reported by cost centers/departments, are then allocated between 
clinical and non-clinical activities using a CMS-approved time-study tool.  The result of the 
CMS-approved time study tool is the physician compensation costs pertaining only to clinical, 
patient care activities.  SNCP dollars allocated for physician professional service costs incurred 
by a physician practice group cannot be claimed for FFP until such a time study tool is approved 
by CMS.  For DYs 1-3, a CMS-approved benchmark RVU methodology can be used in lieu of a 
CMS-approved time study.  The benchmark RVU methodology will determine a direct patient 
care percentage for each cost  center/department based on a ratio of actual direct patient care 
work RVUs for the period to benchmark RVUs for the department which would have been 
produced if the physicians were working 100% in direct patient care.  Where the physician’s 
compensation is first incurred by another entity and the physician practice group then reimburses 
the entity for the physician direct patient care costs, the physician clinical costs recognized is the 
lower of 1) the total physician’s total compensation multiplied by the direct paitnet care 
percentage; or 2) the amount incurred by the physician practice group in paying for physician 
direct patient care costs.         
 
c. The physician clinical costs are subject to further adjustments and offsets, including any 
necessary adjustment to bring the costs in line with Medicare and Medicaid cost principles and 
applicable OMB Circulars.  However, Medicare physician reasonable compensation equivalents 
are not applied for professional cost determination purposes.  The professional costs are further 
subject to offsets to account for any applicable non-patient care revenues that were not 
previously offset or accounted for by the application of time study.   The resulting costs represent 
the net allowable professional service costs incurred by the physician practice group. 
 
d. The above physician compensation costs must not be duplicative of any costs claimed on 
the hospital cost reports.   
 
e. Additional costs that can be recognized as professional direct costs are costs for non-
capitalized medical supplies and equipment used in the furnishing of direct patient care. 
 
f. Indirect costs incurred by the physician practice group and allocable to the physicians’ 
direct patient care will be also recognized. Where a cognizant agency-approved indirect cost rate 
is available for the physician practice group, the indirect rate will be applied to the total direct 
cost, calculated above, based on each center/department's physician compensation costs 
determined to be eligible for Medicaid reimbursement and identifiable medical supply/equipment 
costs to arrive at total allowable costs for each cost center  If an indirect rate is not available, then 
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actual indirect costs incurred will be identified using auditable financial records including the 
general ledger.  The indirect costs claimed must be allowable under Medicare and Medicaid cost 
principles and applicable OMB Circulars.  The indirect costs may include indirect costs incurred 
by the physician practice group (including physician group practice clinical support staff salaries 
and benefits, physician department administrative and office staff salaries and benefits, and other 
non-salary costs incurred by each physician department) or by its home office as reported on a 
Medicare-approved home office cost statement and allocated in the cost statement to the 
physician practice group by approved Medicare allocation methodology.  Adjustments to the 
indirect costs must be made to arrive at allowable indirect costs consistent with the applicable 
cost principles. The allowable indirect costs must either then be directly assigned or allocated 
(using accumulated costs as an allocation basis) to each physician department/cost center of the 
physician practice group.          
  
To determine the additional costs that is allocable to direct patient care, the direct patient care 
percentage from step 2.b above (resulting from the time study or the time study proxy tool) will 
be applied the costs identified in steps 2.e and 2.f above at a departmental/cost center level. 
 
 
g. Total billed professional charges by cost center related to physician services are identified 
from auditable provider records. Charges must be identified for all professional services for 
which the physician practice group incurred its cost. 
  
h. A physician cost to charge ratio for each cost center is calculated by dividing the total 
costs for each cost center as established in paragraphs a-f of subsection 2 by the total billed 
professional charges for each cost center as established in paragraph g of subsection 2.   
 
i. The total professional charges for each cost center related to eligible Medicaid and 
uninsured physician services are identified using auditable records. The physician practice group 
must map the claims to their cost centers. Each charge must be mapped to only one cost center to 
prevent duplicate mapping and claiming. These charges must be associated with services 
furnished during the period covered by the latest as-filed cost report.       
 
 
Auditable records include the State's PMMIS, managed care encounter data, and hospital 
records. 
 
j. The total Medicaid and uninsured costs related to physician practitioner professional 
services are determined for each cost center by multiplying total Medicaid and uninsured charges 
as established in paragraph i of subsection 2 by the respective cost to charge ratio for the cost 
center as established in paragraph h of subsection 2. 
 
 
k.  The total Medicaid and uninsured professional service uncompensated care costs are 
determined by subtracting all revenues received for Medicaid and uninsured physician 
practitioner services from the Medicaid and uninsured costs as established in paragraph j of 
subsection 2.  The revenues are derived from auditable records.  All revenues received for the 
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Medicaid and uninsured professional services will be offset against the computed cost; these 
revenues include but are not limited to all Medicaid payments from the State or its program 
contractors, payments from or on behalf of patients, and payments from any other third party 
payer.  The total professional service uncompensated care costs as computed above should be 
reduced by 12.88% to account for non-emergency care furnished to unqualified aliens.  
 
l. The uninsured physician amount computed in paragraph k above can be trended to 
current year to account for cost inflation based on CMS market basket update factor.  
Furthermore, the State can apply trending factors to account for changes in utilization (e.g., due 
to changes in Medicaid eligibility criteria) and Medicaid payment rates to ensure that interim 
uncompensated care costs approximate final uncompensated care costs for the current service 
period as closely as possible.  Such trending factors must account for both increases and 
decreases affecting a provider's uncompensated care costs. 
 
(Note that the above cost report references are based on the CMS-2552-96 and CMS 2552-10. 
For later versions of the CMS-2552, the equivalent worksheets and columns should be 
identified.) 
 
 
Interim Reconciliation 
 
Each hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed 
based on the as-filed cost report for the actual service period.  The hospital cost report is filed 
with the Medicare contractor five months after the close of the cost reporting period. The 
physician practice group cost report is filed with the State also five months after the close of the 
cost reporting period.  SNCP uncompensated care payments made to the hospital or the 
physician practice group for a DY cannot exceed the recomputed uncompensated care cost limit.  
If, at the end of the interim reconciliation process, it is determined that expenditures claimed 
exceeded the individual hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care cost limit, 
the overpayment will be recouped, and the federal share will be properly credited to the federal 
government. 
   
The interim reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that the RCCs, Medicaid and uninsured 
charges, payment offset amounts and any other relevant statistics such as time study or time 
study proxy data used will pertain to the actual service period (rather than the prior period).  
RCCs will be derived from the as-filed cost report; and Medicaid and uninsured charges and 
payments will be derived from the latest available auditable data for the service period.  No 
trending factor will be applied.  The uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove 
costs related to non-emergency services furnished to unqualified aliens. 
 
Note that for those hospitals eligible for payment pursuant to Section D of Attachment J who 
were unable to readily identify physician professional charges and instead used departmental 
charges in Interim Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps 1.g-i above, physician 
professional charges must be used in the computation of uncompensated care cost limit in the 
Interim Reconciliation here and the Final Reconciliation below. 
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A hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the 
twelve month period in each DY (beginning with DY 2 for providers eligible pursuant to Section 
D of Attachment J), except for DY 3 in which the uncompensated care cost limit is computed for 
the three month period ending December 31, 2013.  Where a hospital's or physician practice 
group's cost reporting period does not coincide with the DY (or partial DY in DY3), the 
uncompensated care costs computed for a cost reporting period can be allocated to the DY (or 
partial DY) based on the number of cost reporting months that overlap with the DY (or partial 
DY).  
 
 
The interim reconciliation described above will be performed and completed within six months 
after the filing of the cost report(s).   
 
Final Reconciliation 
  
Each hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care costs must be recomputed 
based on the audited cost report for the actual service period.  The hospital cost report is audited 
and settled by the Medicare contractor to determine final allowable costs and reimbursement 
amounts as recognized by Medicare.  The physician practice group's cost report is also audited to 
ensure costs are allowable consistent with Medicare and Medicaid cost principles and applicable 
OMB Circulars.  SNCP uncompensated care payments made to the hospital or physician practice 
group for a DY cannot exceed the recomputed uncompensated care cost limit.  If, at the end of 
the final reconciliation process, it is determined that expenditures claimed exceeded the 
individual hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care cost limit, the 
overpayment will be recouped, and the federal share will be properly credited to the federal 
government. 
   
The final reconciliation follows the same computation as outlined above in the Interim 
Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps, except that the RCCs, Medicaid and uninsured 
charges, payment offset amounts, and other relevant statistics such as time study or time study 
proxy data used will pertain to the actual service period (rather than the prior period).  RCCs will 
be derived from the audited cost report, and Medicaid and uninsured charges and payments will 
be updated with the latest available auditable data for the service period.  No trending factor will 
be applied.  The uncompensated care costs must again be adjusted to remove costs related to 
non-emergency services furnished to unqualified aliens. 
 
Note that for those hospitals eligible for payment pursuant to Section D of Attachment J who 
were unable to readily identify physician professional charges and instead used departmental 
charges in Interim Computation of Uncompensated Care Costs steps 1.g-i above, physician 
professional charges must be used in the computation of uncompensated care cost limit in the 
Interim Reconciliation above and the Final Reconciliation here. 
 
A hospital's or physician practice group's uncompensated care cost limit is determined for the 
twelve month period in each DY (beginning with DY 2 for providers eligible pursuant to Section 
D of Attachment J), except for DY 3 in which the uncompensated care cost limit is computed for 
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the three month period ending December 31, 2013.  Where a hospital's or physician practice 
group's cost reporting period does not coincide with the DY (or partial DY in DY3), the 
uncompensated care costs computed for a cost reporting period can be allocated to the DY (or 
partial DY) based on the number of cost reporting months that overlap with the DY (or partial 
DY).  
 
For hospital-incurred professional service uncompensated care costs, the final reconciliation 
described above will be performed and completed within six months after the audited hospital 
Medicare cost report(s) are made available.  For the physician practice group-incurred 
professional service uncompensated care costs, the final reconciliation described above will be 
performed and completed within eighteen months after the filing of physician practice group cost 
report(s).   
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Designated State Health Program (DSHP) - Trauma and Emergency Services Fund   
 
Arizona State Proposition 202 authorizes the use of State tribal gaming revenues for the Trauma 
and Emergency Services Fund.  The fund, administered by AHCCCS, provides payments to 
Arizona hospitals to offset trauma center readiness costs and emergency services costs.   
 
The fund, as it is currently operated, distributes 90% of available funds to Arizona hospitals that 
qualify as Level 1 Trauma Centers and 10% of available funds to Arizona hospitals that operate 
an emergency department.  The 90% Level I Trauma Center amount is distributed proportionally 
to qualifying hospitals based upon each hospital's total of Injury Severity Score times the number 
of cases at that level.  Hospitals report trauma scores and case volume on an Acuity-Adjusted 
Volume worksheet that uses hospital utilization from a twelve-month period that ends on June 30 
of the previous Federal Fiscal Year.  The 10% Emergency Department amount is distributed 
proportionately to qualifying hospitals based on each hospital's emergency department costs, as 
reported on its Medicare cost report, Worksheet B, Part I, Column 0, Line 61.   In DY1, cost 
report data for the period July 2010 through June 2011 will be used.  In DY2, cost report data for 
the period July 2011 through June 2012 will be used.  When a hospital has two cost reports that 
span this reporting period, data from the two hospital cost reports that span that period will be 
allocated based upon each cost report's proportion of the reporting period. 
 
 
Section VI of these STCs allows the Trauma and Emergency Services Fund to be recognized as a 
DSHP eligible for SNCP claiming in DY 1 and DY 2.  The maximum amount per each 
Demonstration year that would qualify for SNCP claiming is $20 million total computable. 
 
For each demonstration year, the State should document its computation and distribution of its 
Trauma and Emergency Services Fund payments to each qualifying hospital.  Upon distribution 
of payments to the hospitals, the State would be allowed to claim FFP of the actual paid amounts
as part of the SNCP claims, subject to the $20 million total computable limit.  The State should 
include a schedule of the payment amounts made to each qualifying hospital in its annual DY 
SNCP reporting to CMS. 
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Attachment J 

Participating Providers in the SNCP 
 
A. Hospital Uncompensated Care Cost Payments 
- Phoenix Children's Hospital 
- University Medical Center 
- University Physicians Healthcare Hospital at Kino Campus 
-  Maricopa Medical Center  
-  Little Colorado Medical Center (Winslow Memorial Hospital) - effective DYs 2 and 3 

only 
-  Southeast Arizona Medical Center - effective DYs 2 and 3 only 
-  White Mountain Regional Medical Center - effective DYs 2 and 3 only 
- Copper Queen Hospital – effective DYs 2 and 3 only 
 
B. Federally Qualified Health Center Lookalike (FQHC-LA) Uncompensated Care Cost 
Payments 
  

Avondale Family Health Center 
950 E. Van Buren, Avondale 85323 
623.344.6800 
 
El Mirage Family Health Center 
12428 W. Thunderbird, El Mirage 85335 
623.344.6500 
 
Glendale Family Health Center 
5141 W. Lamar St., Glendale 85301 
623.344.6700 
 
Maryvale Family Health Center 
4011 N. 51st Ave., Phoenix 85031 
623.344.6900 
 
Chandler Family Health Center 
811 S. Hamilton, Chandler 85225 
480.344.6100 
 
Guadalupe Family Health Center 
5825 E. Calle Guadalupe, Guadalupe 85283 
480.344.6000 
 
Mesa Family Health Center 
59 S. Hibbert, Mesa 85210 
480.344.6200 

Comprehensive Healthcare Center 
2525 E. Roosevelt St., Phoenix 85008 
602.344.1015 
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McDowell Healthcare Center 
1144 E. McDowell Rd., Phoenix 85006 
602.344.6550 
 
7th Avenue Family Health Center 
1205 S. 7th Ave., Phoenix 85007 
602.344.6600 
 
South Central Family Health Center 
33 W. Tamarisk St., Phoenix 85041 
602.344.6400 
 
Sunnyslope Family Health Center 
934 W. Hatcher, Phoenix 85021 
602.344.6300 
 
7th Avenue Walk In Clinic 
1201 S. 7th Ave.  
Phoenix 85007  
Phone: (602) 344-6655  

 
C. Physician Professional Service Uncompensated Care Cost Payments 
- Phoenix Children's Hospital 
- Maricopa Medical Center 
- University Physician’s Healthcare  
 
Non-Physician Practitioner Professional Service Uncompensated 
Care Cost Payments - effective DYs 2 and 3 
-  Maricopa Medical Center 
 
D.   City of Phoenix High Uncompensated Care Hospital Cost Payments: Hospital and 
Physician Professional Service Costs  
- Banner Estrella Medical Center 
- Banner Good Samaritan Medical Center 
- John C Lincoln‐Deer Valley Hospital 
- John C. Lincoln North Mountain Hospital 
- Maryvale Hospital Medical Center- Paradise Valley Hospital 
- Phoenix Baptist Hospital 
- Phoenix Children's Hospital 
- St Joseph's Hospital‐Phoenix 
- St Luke's Medical Center 
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Attachment K 
IHS and 638 Facilities Uncompensated Care Payment Methodologies 

 
The two methodologies outlined below have been approved for structuring a payment that will 
be made to IHS and 638 facilities that take in to account their uncompensated costs in furnishing 
specified types of care furnished by IHS and tribal 638 facilities, to Medicaid-eligible 
individuals, and other individuals with net family income at or below 100 percent of the Federal 
poverty level (FPL).   
 
Participating facilities must select one of the two possible options as described below in 
determining these payments to the facilities: 
 
Option 1 – Encounter Based Approach 
 

1. On a monthly basis, facilities will track services provided to individuals with net family 
income up to 100 percent of the FPL using the appropriate family size and income level 
limit as specified in the annual Federal Poverty Level tables issued by the U.S. 
Department of Health & Human Services. These services would include those that are no 
longer covered for Medicaid eligible individuals under the Arizona Medicaid State plan 
as well as services provided to individuals who are no longer Medicaid eligible, but under 
the 100 percent income threshold. 

2. The facilities will utilize the attached tracking documents in Exhibits 1 – 3 to record the 
service provided, the unit of service, the all-inclusive rate, and if the service was provided 
to an American Indian/Alaskan Native (AI/AN) or to a non-native.   

3. The facility will conduct a high-level income determination, which can include, but is not 
limited to self-attestation or the use of a recent pay stub. 

4. The tracking document, along with the cover letter signed by the facility CEO or CFO 
facility director certifying that the information contained in the tracking document is 
accurate, will be sent to AHCCCS which will pay the facility the rate AHCCCS would 
have otherwise paid for the recorded services and draw down the correct FMAP based on 
the facility’s breakdown of AI/AN versus non-native services. 

 
Option 2 – Historical Data Approach 
This approach is comprised of the following two steps that will be used to calculate the total 
dollar amount of uncompensated care that will be paid to IHS and 638 facilities on a prospective 
basis.  The steps are as follows: 

1) The State will calculate a per member per month (PMPM) rate for AI/AN childless adults 
enrolled in AHCCCS Acute Care Plan (AACP) using historical utilization data (July 1, 
2010 through June 30, 2011) for the services that were furnished in or by IHS/tribal 638 
facilities to the childless adult population (who are no longer covered under AHCCCS). 
This rate is multiplied by the total number of AI/AN childless adults that have been 
disenrolled from the program in that month since July 2011.  This PMPM will be 
adjusted on an annual basis to mirror the medical inflation adjustment applied to the all-
inclusive rate. 
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2) The State will calculate a second PMPM, using historical data, to reflect the services that 

it removed from the Medicaid State plan effective October 1, 2010, that were furnished in 
or by IHS/tribal 638 facilities to AHCCCS-enrolled individuals, and would multiply this 
rate by the total number of adult AI/ANs currently enrolled in the AHCCCS 
program.  This PMPM will be adjusted on an annual basis to mirror the medical inflation 
adjustment applied to the all-inclusive rate. 

 
Once this aggregate dollar amount has been computed using the steps 1 and 2 as outlined above, 
the State will disburse payments to the IHS and 638 facilities based on payments made to each 
facility for care provided to AI/AN childless adults from July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011.   
 
In addition, the State will annually review whether the PMPMs calculated in steps 1 and 2 above 
were accurate within a reasonable margin of error by comparing them to actual claims submitted 
under approach 1 by one or more facilities or, if no facilities elect approach 1, by reviewing 
actual records of services furnished by one or more facilities.  If the PMPM is not validated, the 
State will apply an adjustment factor for the following year. 
 
 
As part of this option, the non-Federal share for services provided to non-natives would be 
calculated based on the following. 

1.   After analyzing claims data from 2009-10, the State calculated a ratio of claims paid for 
currently covered Arizona Medicaid State plan services that were provided at IHS and 
638 facilities to non-natives to the total number of paid claims to IHS and 638 facilities.  
Using this ratio, the State calculated that approximately $2 million out of total claims 
paid to IHS facilities was for services provided to non-natives.  As such, the State will 
pay the non-Federal share of the $2 million. The State will review the claims data on an 
annual basis and will adjust the non-Federal share amount accordingly. 

2. The State will apply the ratio that was calculated of non-native costs to total IHS costs as 
described above to calculate the non-Federal portion of the eligibility and service PMPM 
payments as described above. 

  
Calculation for Cost of Services to Persons 
Ineligible for AHCCCS  

FY 2011 Total Paid 
      
90,000,000  

  
Average monthly membership  22,996   
  

per member per month (pmpm) 
                 
$326  

  
Monthly Payment Calculation – Ineligible 
Individuals  
March - Decrease in Native American Childless 
Adult coverage since Freeze  9,391   
  

March Eligibility Payment (PMPM * 9,391) 
        
$3,061,466  
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Monthly Payment Calculation – Services  

Adult Per Member Per Month Service Funding 
                
$15.11  

Total Number of AI/AN Adults Enrolled with 
AHCCCS 56,851  
  
May Services Payment $859,018.61 
  
Total May Payment to I.H.S and 638 Facilities 
(Eligibility + Services) $3,920,484.61         
  

Facility A - Allocation - 1% 
 
$39,204.85    

Facility B - Allocation - 5% 
 
$196,024.23       
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Exhibit 1 to Attachment K 

Option 1 Encounter Based Approach Cover Letter  
 

Summary of the Monthly Report to AHCCCS for the Option 1 Supplemental 
Payment  

 
 
 
Reporting Month:   
 
Facility Name:    
 
# of Adults under 100% FPL who are not Medicaid eligible to whom covered services was 
provided: 
 
 
# of visits that were provided to the above individuals for AHCCCS covered services: 
 
 
 
# of Medicaid individuals to whom services were provided that were eliminated from the 
Medicaid program in the 2010 & 2011 benefit reductions: 
 
 
# of visits that were provided to the Medicaid individuals for services that were eliminated from 
the Medicaid program in the 2010 & 2011 benefit reductions: 
 
 
 
I hereby attest that the information submitted is prepared in compliance with the Option 1 
payment methodology Desk Level Procedures and is current, complete, and accurate to the best 
of my knowledge and belief.  The expenditures included in this report are based on the 
accounting records of actual recorded expenditures, and are not based on estimates. I understand 
that payment of these claims will be from federal funds and whoever knowingly and willfully 
makes or causes to be made a false statement or representation on the reports may be prosecuted 
under the applicable federal and state laws.   
 
 
CEO or CFO Signature: 
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Exhibit 2 to Attachment K 

Option 1 Encounter Based Approach Tracking Sheet  
 
The spreadsheet below will be used in tracking uncompensated care costs associated with services provided to individuals who have 
net family income up to 100 percent of the FPL, but are not enrolled in the AHCCCS program. 
 

 
Facility Name:   
 

       
        

Name of Individual Receiving Services 
Income 
verified 

American 
Indian 

Y/N  
Service 

Date 
Service 

Provided 
Inpatient or 
Outpatient 

Service 
Rate 

Patient Account 
Number 
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Exhibit 3 to Attachment K 

Option 1 Encounter Based Approach Tracking Sheet  
 

The spreadsheet below will be used in tracking uncompensated care costs associated with services provided to AHCCCS beneficiaries 
that are no  longer covered under the Arizona Medicaid State plan. 
 
 
Facility Name:  
 

 
      
      

AHCCCS ID 
American 
Indian Y/N  

Service 
Date 

Service 
Provided 

Inpatient 
or 

Outpatient Service Rate Patient Account Number 
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